APPEAL NO. 992941

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act,
TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing
was held on November 10, 1999. The record closed December 6, 1999. The
hearing officer determined that respondent (claimant) sustained a compensable
occupational disease injury to her left foot, that she had good cause for failing to
report her injury until November 29, 1998, and that claimant had disability from
November 9, 1998, to February 2, 1999. Appellant (carrier) appeals, contending
that: (1) claimant did not sustain a work-related injury; (2) claimant did not have
good cause for failing to report her injury within 30 days; and (3) claimant did not
have disability due to her earnings after November 9, 1998. Claimant responds
that the Appeals Panel should affirm the hearing officer’s decision and order.

DECISION
We reverse and remand.

Carrier contends the hearing officer erred in determining that claimant
sustained a compensable occupational disease injury to her left foot. Carrier
asserts that claimant did not sustain damage or harm to her left foot in the course
and scope of her employment. Carrier contends that: (1) claimant’s testimony
was inconsistent with her transcribed statement regarding whether anything in
particular caused her foot pain on ; (2) claimant’s medical records
showed she had prior foot problems even though claimant denied that she did;
(3) claimant’s medical records indicated that she complained of pain in both feet
and related this to her shoes; (4) no medical records show that her left foot
problems were related to her work; (5) claimant’s problems were not due to
“overuse,” as stated by Dr. M, because claimant worked only 80 hours per
month; and (6) an injury from wearing uncomfortable shoes is not compensable
pursuant to Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 93420,
decided July 19, 1993.

The claimant in a workers’ compensation case has the burden to prove by
a preponderance of the evidence that he or she sustained a compensable injury
in the course and scope of employment. Johnson v. Employers Reinsurance
Corporation, 351 S.W.2d 936 (Tex. Civ. App.-Texarkana 1961, no writ). The
1989 Act defines "injury" as damage or harm to the physical structure of the body
and a disease or infection naturally resulting from the damage or harm. Section
401.011(26). The definition of "injury" includes occupational diseases. An
occupational disease is defined as "a disease arising out of and in the course of
employment that causes damage or harm to the physical structure of the body,"
but does not include "an ordinary disease of life to which the general public is
exposed outside of employment, unless that disease is an incident to a
compensable injury or occupational disease." Section 401.011(34).




The 1989 Act provides that the hearing officer is the sole judge of the
weight and credibility of the evidence, Section 410.165(a), including the medical
evidence. Where there is conflict in the evidence, the hearing officer resolves the
conflicts and determines what facts have been established. Texas Employers
Insurance Association v. Campos, 666 S.W.2d 286 (Tex. App.-Houston [14th
Dist.] 1984, no writ). As an appeals body, we will not substitute our judgment for
that of the hearing officer when the determination is not so against the great
weight and preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly
unjust. Cain v. Bain, 709 S.W.2d 175, 176 (Tex. 1986); Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 950456, decided May 9, 1995.

Claimant testified that she sustained an injury on , While working
as a flight attendant. She said her left foot began to hurt that day after she had to
use extra pressure with her foot to operate some carts that were not functioning
properly. She said the repeated act of using her foot in this manner all during

, caused her foot pain. Claimant said she thought the pain would go
away, but that her doctor told her on October 19, 1998, that she may have
plantar fasciitis and gave her injections in her foot. When she saw Dr. M on
November 9, 1998, he placed her in a short-leg, weight-bearing cast. Claimant
testified that at that time she realized that “this could be a serious injury.”
Claimant was inconsistent regarding when she reported her injury, although the
hearing officer determined that she reported it on November 29, 1998, and there
is evidence to support this determination. Claimant said she had injured her right
foot in an unrelated incident at home when she stepped on a jar.

The hearing officer determined that claimant injured her left foot at work
on , and that her injury was caused by repetitive activities that day. It
appears that this case involved a specific injury rather than an occupational
disease repetitive trauma injury. See Texas Workers’ Compensation
Commission Appeal No. 992851, decided January 27, 2000. We must remand
this case to the hearing officer for reconsideration of the issue regarding whether
the evidence establishes a specific injury rather than an occupational disease.
The resolution of this issue does impact the issue regarding timely notice,
because the date of injury would be different in a specific injury case.

Regarding carrier’s specific arguments about causation, the hearing officer
considered the evidence and resolved the injury issue in claimant's favor.
Escamilla v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 499 S.W.2d 758 (Tex. Civ. App.-
Amarillo 1973, no writ). There was evidence from Dr. M and from Dr. H that
claimant’s left foot condition is related to her work activities. Although there was
some inconsistency in the medical records regarding the exact mechanism of
injury, this was a factor for the hearing officer to consider in making her
determinations. The hearing officer considered whether claimant’s left foot
condition was caused by operation of the carts at work, and she determined what
facts were established. The hearing officer was the sole judge of the evidence in
this case. After reviewing the medical reports and the other evidence, we




conclude that the hearing officer's determination that claimant sustained an injury
in the course and scope of her employment is not so against the great weight
and preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust.
Cain, supra.

Carrier contends the hearing officer erred in determining that claimant had
good cause for failing to report her injury until November 29, 1998. Carrier
asserts that claimant did not have good cause for late reporting of her injury.

A claimant must report an occupational disease injury to his or her
employer within 30 days of the date the employee knew or should have known of
the condition and that it was work related. Section 409.001(a)(2). However, a
specific injury must generally be reported within 30 days of the date of the injury
itself. Good cause is a legal excuse for late notification; however, good cause
must continue to the date when the injured worker actually reports the injury.
See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 950148, decided
March 3, 1995.

Claimant testified that she knew her foot pain was work related and due to
operating the carts on , but that she thought the foot pain would go
away. She indicated that she thought her condition might be serious on
November 9, 1998, when Dr. M put her in a cast. However, it is also significant
that claimant said she decided that she needed to see a doctor regarding her
injury on October 19, 1998, and that she had injections in her foot that day. This
case was tried as an occupational disease case; however, the hearing officer did
not make a finding regarding an occupational disease date of injury, i.e. when
claimant knew or should have known that she may have a work-related injury.
The hearing officer stated that the repetitive trauma injury happened “on”

. There was evidence that claimant was treated by a doctor for her left
foot condition on October 19, 1998, and that it was put in a cast on November 9,
1998.

The hearing officer determined that claimant trivialized her injury and that
she did not report a work-related injury until November 29, 1998, for this reason.
The hearing officer determined that claimant had good cause for late reporting of
her injury. As noted above, good cause must generally exist up to the time of
reporting. We believe that the hearing officer committed reversible error in: (1)
failing to consider whether this is an occupational disease injury case and, if it is,
then failing to determine the date when claimant knew or should have known that
her injury may be work related; (2) failing to determine the date that claimant
knew or should have known that her injury was serious and not trivial; and (3)
failing to address the action or inaction of the claimant from the date of injury until
the date the claimant actually reported the injury. See Texas Workers’
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 981259, decided July 27, 1998. For
these reasons, we reverse the determinations regarding good cause and timely
reporting and remand these issues to the hearing officer for further consideration



and findings, based on the evidence already submitted, on timely notice, date of
injury, good cause, whether good cause continued to November 29, 1998, and, if
so, what constituted the good cause.

Carrier contends the hearing officer erred in determining that claimant was
unable to obtain or retain wages equivalent to her preinjury wage from November
9, 1998, to February 2, 1999. Carrier asserts that: (1) claimant did not miss any
time from work until after November 15, 1998, and earned $1,787.21 from
November 1, 1998, to November 15, 1998; (2) claimant “earned” $1,368.20 for
the period from November 16, 1998, to November 30, 1998; (3) claimant earned
$564.85 from November 15, 1998, to December 12, 1998, and $1,487.69 from
January 10, 1999, to February 6, 1999, while working as a nurse; and (4)
claimant failed to prove she had any period of disability.

Claimant testified that her foot was put in a cast and she was taken off
work from November 9, 1998, until February 2, 1999. Claimant said she worked
for the airline one day, November 15, 1998, even though she had been taken off
work, but that she regretted it because she was in pain. She said her supervisor
had told her she could not continue working after November 12, 1998, with the
cast on her foot. Claimant testified that she wanted to continue to work in a cast,
but she was not permitted to work. Claimant said she took vacation time from
her airline job for the remainder of November. She said she did not return to
work for the airline until February 3, 1999. Claimant said she worked about three
days per month at her other job doing nursing work, and that she continued to do
this after November 9, 1998. Dr. M noted in December 1998 that claimant was
unable to even stand more than four hours per day.

The hearing officer could still find from the evidence that, for some period
of time, claimant was unable to obtain and retain employment at wages
equivalent to the preinjury wage because she could not perform her airline work.
Regarding her earnings from the airline from November 16, 1998, to the end of
November, we note that claimant said she was on vacation. This was not
earnings for work claimant performed after November 16, 1998. See Texas
Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 941210, decided October 17,
1994. There is evidence to support a finding that claimant was unable to earn
her preinjury wage from November 16, 1998, to the end of November.

Regarding the beginning date of any disability, there was evidence that
claimant was unable to do her work at the airline after November 9, 1998.
However, claimant did work on November 15, 1998, and was paid for working
that day. For that reason, it appears that, if claimant did have a compensable
injury and she did, therefore, have disability, the disability would not have begun
to accrue on November 9, 1998. Therefore, we must remand this issue to the
hearing officer for reconsideration.



Because the failure without good cause to give timely notice of an injury
would mean the left foot injury is not compensable, we must reverse the
determination that the claimed injury was “compensable.” Because disability
depends on the existence of a compensable injury, we also reverse the
determination that claimant had “disability,” pending resolution of the
compensability issue.

We reverse the determinations that claimant sustained a compensable
injury, that she had disability, and that carrier is not relieved of liability in this case
and remand these issues to the hearing officer for reconsideration consistent with
this decision.

Regarding the hearing officer’s statement in the decision and order about
“offset” of liability because of claimant’s earnings from her concurrent
employment, we would note that carrier is not entitled to such an offset. See
Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 972678, decided
February 12, 1998; Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No.
91059, decided December 6, 1991.

Pending resolution of the remand, a final decision has not been made in
this case. However, since reversal and remand necessitate the issuance of a
new decision and order by the hearing officer, a party who wishes to appeal from
such new decision must file a request for review not later than 15 days after the
date on which such new decision is received from the Texas Workers’
Compensation Commission’s Division of Hearings, pursuant to Section 410.202.
See Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 92642, decided
January 20, 1993.
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