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APPEAL NO. 992035 
 
 

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on 
June 8, 1999.  The issues at the CCH were whether the claimant is entitled to supplemental 
income benefits (SIBS) for the eighth and ninth quarters.  The hearing officer determined 
that the claimant is entitled to SIBS for the eighth quarter and is not entitled to SIBS for the 
ninth quarter. 
 

On July 28, 1999, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's Fees 
(Order 1), covering services for the period from February 9, 1999, through June 8, 1999, 
15.10 hours out of 31.55 hours requested, for a total approved fee of $2,265.00 out of 
$4,732.50 requested, to be paid only from the claimant's benefits.  All disapproved items 
were disapproved for the reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl." 
 

According to the appellant's (attorney) appeal, she then contacted the Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission's (Commission) _______ field office and asked that 
Order 1 be rescinded to show that the fee is approved pursuant to Section 408.147(c), that 
the ______ field office allegedly rescinded Order 1 and issued another order (Order 2), but 
that the majority of the fees were declined for duplicate service and multiple reasons 
because the computer was registering Order 1. 
 

On August 16, 1999, (hearing officer 2) issued Order 2, covering services for the 
period from February 9, 1999, through June 8, 1999, approving 0.50 hours out of 31.55 
hours requested, for a total approved fee of $75.00 out of $4,732.50 requested, payable 
pursuant to Section 408.147(c) and Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 152.1(f) 
(Rule 152.1(f)).  The disapproved items were disapproved for the reason "Duplicate 
Service" or for "Multiple Reasons." 
 

The attorney's appeal includes a copy of a letter to her firm from (hearing officer 3), 
dated August 27, 1999, stating that Order 1 is amended so as to be payable pursuant to 
Section 408.147(c) and Rule 152.1(f) and that Order 2 is rescinded in its entirety.  While the 
attorney did not appeal either order within 15 days of receipt, she did file her appeal within 
15 days of receiving this letter, which was the final effective version of both Order 1 and 
Order 2. 
 
 DECISION 
 

We reverse Order 1 as amended and remand. 
 

We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard.  Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995.  The 
amendment to Order 1 correctly revised it so as to be payable by the carrier.  However, as 
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to the fees approved, the hearing officer's log text, as shown in the Attorney Fee 
Processing System, reads in part: 
 

REQUEST SUBMITTED WITHOUT JUSTIFICATION.  FEES EXCEEDING 
GUIDELINES WERE DENIED FOR THAT REASON. 

 
The burden of proof is on the attorney to prove the reasonableness of the requested hours. 
 Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951731, decided November 16, 
1995.  This is so even though the guidelines do not apply to attorney's fees paid by the 
carrier when the carrier has unsuccessfully contested a Commission determination of 
entitlement to SIBS.  Section 408.147(c); Rule 152.1(f).  The hearing officer abused his 
discretion in disapproving items for the reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl" without any 
indication as to how they were not reasonable and necessary.  Texas Workers' 
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 981333, decided August 3, 1998.   
 

We reverse Order 1 and remand for a hearing at which the attorney may show the 
reasonableness of the hours requested.  She should also apportion her fees between the 
quarter for which the claimant prevailed and the quarter for which the claimant did not 
prevail as to SIBS.  If the hearing officer denies any of the hours requested, he should 
indicate why he determines that they are not reasonable and necessary. 
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Pending resolution of the remand, a final decision has not been made in this case.  
However, since reversal and remand necessitate the issuance of a new decision and order 
by the hearing officer, a party who wishes to appeal from such new decision must file a 
request for review not later than 15 days after the date on which such new decision is 
received from the Commission's Division of Hearings, pursuant to Section 410.202.  See 
Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 92642, decided January 20, 1993. 
 
 
 

_____________________ 
Stark O. Sanders, Jr. 
Chief Appeals Judge 

 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Alan C. Ernst 
Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Dorian E. Ramirez 
Appeals Judge 


