APPEAL NO. 991946

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on
August 9, 1999. With regard to the issue at the CCH, he (the hearing officer) determined
that the certification of maximum medical improvement (MMI), and five percent impairment
rating (IR), assessed by Dr. T, on January 25, 1999, (the first certification) did not become
final pursuant to Rule 130.5(e) (Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 130.5(e)).
The appellant self-insured (referred to as “carrier” herein) appeals, seeks a reversal of the
decision and argues the respondent (claimant) did not timely dispute Dr. T's certification.
The claimant responds and seeks an affirmance of the decision.

DECISION
We affirm.

It was undisputed that claimant received a written notice of the first certification on
January 30, 1999, that it was the first certification of MMI and IR, and that claimant did not
personally contact the carrier or the Commission to dispute within 90 days. The claimant
testified that he took the first certification to his doctor, Dr. A, on February 2, 1999, and told
him that he disagreed with it. He indicated that Dr. A said he already disagreed with it and
that he did not have to do anything else in order to be sent to a designated doctor. Dr. A’s
office notes dated February 2, 1999, indicate that he and claimant discussed the first
certification and that Dr. A told claimant he disagreed with it. In a signed affidavit, an
employee of Dr. A stated that, “[claimant] was advised on February 2, 1999, that the
insurance company [sic] and the Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission were being
notified that [Dr. A] and [claimant] disagreed with and were disputing the [first certification].”

Dr. A checked the box on Dr. T's TWCC-69 indicating that he disagreed with the first
certification and sent a copy to the Commission. This was received by the Commission on
January 29, 1999.

The first IR assigned to an injured worker will become final if not disputed within 90
days after the doctor assigned it. Rule 130.5(e). The 90 days runs from the date the
parties receive written notice of the first certification. Texas Workers’ Compensation
Commission Appeal No. 960220, decided March 20, 1996. An employee's treating doctor
may affect a dispute of the first certification of MMI and IR if his actions in disputing the
certification is as the employee's agent and at the employee's behest. Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 94519, decided June 14, 1994. There must be
some level of involvement by the employee for an effective dispute and a treating doctor's
own actions, alone, do not affect a dispute. Texas Workers' Compensation Commission
Appeal No. 952151, decided February 5, 1996. A treating doctor's dispute of the initial
certification of MMI and IR is recognized as a claimant's dispute if the treating doctor is
authorized to do so by the claimant or if the claimant ratifies the dispute within the 90-day
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period. Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 961866, decided
November 6, 1996.

Whether claimant ratified a dispute affected by Dr. A was a question of fact for the
hearing officer to determine. The hearing officer, as finder of fact, is the sole judge of the
relevance and materiality of the evidence as well as of the weight and credibility that is to
be given the evidence. Section 410.165(a). There is conflicting evidence as to whether
claimant ratified and participated in the dispute of the first certification. It was for the
hearing officer, as trier of fact, to resolve the inconsistencies and conflicts in the evidence.
Garza v. Commercial Insurance Company of Newark, New Jersey, 508 S.W.2d 701 (Tex.
Civ. App.-Amarillo 1974, no writ). The trier of fact may believe all, part, or none of the
testimony of any witness. Aetna Insurance Company v. English, 204 S.W.2d 850 (Tex. Civ.
App.-Fort Worth 1947, no writ). We conclude that the hearing officer determinations are
not so against the great weight and preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly wrong
and manifestly unjust. Cain v. Bain, 709 S.W.2d 175, 176 (Tex. 1986). The determination
the first certification by Dr. T did not become final is not so against the great weight and
preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust.

Carrier contends that Dr. A’s medical office notes do not confirm that Dr. A told
claimant that he disputed on claimant’s behalf and that claimant would not have to do
anything further. However, there was evidence in the record from which the hearing officer
could determine that Dr. A and claimant met to discuss a dispute and that claimant adopted
Dr. A’s dispute as his own.

Carrier asserts that there was no dispute on claimant’s behalf because Dr. A did not
communicate to carrier or to the Commission that he was disputing “on claimant’s behalf.”
However, there is nothing in the statute or rule requiring such communication. Both require
that the first certification be disputed, and the hearing officer determined that the first
certification was disputed.

Carrier contends that only a party may dispute a first certification. We first note that
the statute and the 90-day rule do not specify who may dispute a first certification. The 90-
day rule states that “[t]he first impairment rating assigned to an employee is considered
final if the rating is not disputed within 90 days after the rating is assigned.” [Emphasis
added.] Further, the Appeals Panel has stated that a claimant’s treating doctor may
dispute on behalf of a claimant. In effect, then, this is the dispute of a party. It is merely
done by a third person on behalf of a party. The Appeals Panel has not stated that a
treating doctor’s unilateral dispute of a first certification is effective where the claimant was
not involved and did not approve of or ratify the dispute. We disagree that the Appeals
Panel’s interpretation regarding “disputes” and the 90-day rule is “plainly erroneous or
inconsistent with” the 90-day rule. Again, the 90-day rule does not specify who may
dispute the first certification.

Carrier asserts that the Appeals Panel has made a broad ad hoc exception to the
90-day rule by permitting a treating doctor to dispute on behalf of a claimant. If the 90-day
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rule had specified that only certain persons or entities may dispute, and then the Appeals
Panel permitted others not listed in the rule to dispute, then it would be arguable that the
Appeals Panel had created an “exception.” Such is not the case here and we reject
carrier’s contention.

Carrier appears to assert that the Commission should know immediately if there has
been a dispute of a first certification and that such communication to the Commission is
imperative and required. However, there are many cases where there has been a dispute
by a claimant, but this is not established until the parties had gone through the dispute
resolution process. In interpreting the 90-day rule, we considered the perceived need for
immediate notice of a dispute and also the need for the IR to be decided by an impartial
designated doctor where there has been a dispute regarding the first-certified IR. We note
that, when there is a dispute regarding an IR, it does not mean that the disputing party has
“won,” it merely means that an impartial designated doctor will then certify the claimant’s
IR.

Carrier contends that the hearing officer’s determination means that if a claimant
merely “thinks” he disputes a first certification, then this is effective as a dispute. Carrier
also asserts that the hearing officer's determination implies that a treating doctor’s
unilateral dispute, without involvement of the claimant, is also effective as a dispute. We
disagree and we do not so hold.

We affirm the hearing officer’s decision and order.

Judy Stephens
Appeals Judge

CONCUR:

Susan M. Kelley
Appeals Judge

Thomas A. Knapp
Appeals Judge



