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 This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. ' 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on 
November 18, 1998.  The issues at the CCH were injury, disability, timely notice of injury, 
and whether the carrier's contest of compensability was based on newly discovered 
evidence that could not reasonably have been discovered at an earlier date.  The hearing 
officer determined that the claimant sustained a compensable aggravation injury to his 
lumbar spine on ________; the claimant had resulting disability from August 6, 1998, 
through September 6, 1998; the claimant reported the injury to the employer within 30 days 
or, alternatively, had good cause for not reporting the injury until August 4, 1998, and did 
report it on that date; and the carrier's contest of compensability was not based on newly 
discovered evidence that could not reasonably have been discovered at an earlier date.   
 
 On May 10, 1999, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's Fees 
(Order), covering services for the period from November 16, 1998, through November 23, 
1998, approving 8.10 hours out of 16.60 hours requested, for a total approved fee, 
including expenses, of $923.65 out of $2,113.65 requested.  One item for preparing for the 
CCH was disapproved for the reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl," and two items for 
attending the CCH and for related travel time were disapproved for "Multiple Reasons."  
The appellant (attorney) appeals, reciting the attorney time involved and asking that the 
Appeals Panel reverse the Order and approve the disapproved items or remand to the 
hearing officer for further consideration.  The file contains no response from the carrier or 
the claimant. 
 

DECISION 
 
 We reverse and remand. 
 
 We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard.  Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995.  Tex. 
W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE ' 152.4(b) (Rule 152.4(b)) provides that an attorney 
may request, and the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission (Commission) may 
approve, a number of hours greater than those allowed by the guidelines if the attorney 
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Commission that the higher fee was justified under 
Sections 408.221 and 408.222.  Rule 152.3(a) requires that additional justification must be 
attached to the Application for Attorney's Fees (TWCC-152) for any fee which exceeds the 
guidelines.  The Attorney Fee Processing System (AFPS) indicates that the attorney 
submitted a justification text.  However, the justification text was not entered into the AFPS, 
which instead contains the notation "REC'D A LENGTHY LETTER."  This brief notation is of 
no help whatsoever to the Appeals Panel in determining whether the hearing officer abused 
his discretion in disapproving the items in dispute.  The AFPS also contains the following 
log text by the hearing officer: 
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TIME CLAIMED IN EXCESS OF GUIDES WAS DENIED.  THE TIME 
CLAIMED WAS NEITHER REASONABLE NOR NECESSARY UNDER THE 
CIRCUMSTANCES.  THE HOUR CLAIMED FOR TRAVEL EXPENSES WAS 
DENIED.  THE ATTORNEY'S OFFICE AND THE [CCH] WERE BOTH IN 
(CITY). 

 
The disapproved items were disapproved for exceeding the guidelines/being unreasonable 
or for multiple reasons.  Without having the attorney's justification text before us, along with 
a statement of the hearing officer's reasons for disapproving those items in view of that 
justification text, we cannot determine whether the hearing officer abused his discretion in 
disapproving those items.  We note that one disapproved item was for travel time, not travel 
expenses, as indicated in the hearing officer's log text.  While the same reason would justify 
disapproval of travel time, we do not know whether there was some explanation in the 
attorney's justification text for the travel time in question. 
 
 Having no copy of the justification text before us and thus being unable to determine 
whether the hearing officer abused his discretion in disapproving the items in question, we 
reverse and remand for a CCH. 
 
 Pending resolution of the remand, a final decision has not been made in this case.  
However, since reversal and remand necessitate the issuance of a new decision and order 
by the hearing officer, a party who wishes to appeal from such new decision must file a 
request for review not later than 15 days after the date on which such new decision is 
received from the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission's Division of Hearings, 
pursuant to Section 410.202.  See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 
92642, decided January 20, 1993. 
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