APPEAL NO. 990752

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on
January 4, 1999. The issue at the CCH was whether the claimant is entitled to
supplemental income benefits (SIBS) for the fifth compensable quarter, October 3, 1998,
through January 1, 1999. The hearing officer determined that the claimant is entitled to
SIBS for the fifth compensable quarter.

On March 17, 1999, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's
Fees, Sequence 17 (Order No. 1), covering services for the period from October 3, 1998,
through January 15, 1999, approving 20.80 hours out of 21.00 hours requested, for a total
approved fee of $3,020.00 out of $3,050.00 requested. Order No. 1 stated that it is to be
paid to the respondent (attorney 1) pursuant to Section 408.147(c) and Tex. W.C. Comm'n,
28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 152.1(f) (Rule 152.1(f)). By a letter dated April 2, 1999, from its
attorney (attorney 2), the carrier appealed "the attorney's fees awarded in the Commission
Order for Attorney's Fees dated March 17, 1999." The letter states that the carrier
"disputes the attorney's fees as not reasonable and in excess of the guidelines provided by
the [1989 Act] and adopted Commission [Texas Workers' Compensation Commission]
rules." The file contains no response from attorney 1 or the claimant.

DECISION
We affirm Order No. 1.

The carrier contends that the fees approved by Order No. 1 are not reasonable,
without stating why, and are in excess of the guidelines. Section 408.147(c) and Rule
152.1(f) provide that if a carrier contests a claimant's entitlement to SIBS or the amount of
SIBS due and the claimant prevails on any disputed issue, the carrier is liable for
reasonable and necessary attorney's fees as a result and the guidelines do not apply to
such an award of fees. They may, however, be considered reference points.

As to the reasonableness of the approved fees, the hearing officer approved time for
participation in the benefit review conference (BRC) which would have been within the
guidelines, had they been applicable. In fact, the hearing officer reduced the requested
1.50 hours for attending the BRC to 1.30 hours on the ground that the BRC lasted 60
minutes plus 30 minutes drive time. Since one hour and 30 minutes is 1.50 hours, she
should have approved the full amount requested. However, attorney 1 has not appealed
Order No. 1, so we will not correct this error. The hours requested for communications
would be within the guidelines for three of the months covered by the order and are over
the guidelines by only one hour as to the other month. The hours requested and approved
for informal resolution without Commission intervention would be within the guidelines.

The hours requested and approved for participation in the CCH amounts to the time
in the CCH plus 6.50 hours. While this is in excess of the guidelines, which provide for



actual time in the CCH plus 4.00 hours, Rule 152.4(c)(6), the guidelines do not apply and
the additional 2.50 hours does not appear on its face to be so excessive as to be an abuse
of discretion. The carrier offers no reasons why it believes the fees to be excessive. We
review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard. Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995.

Finding no abuse of discretion by the hearing officer in Order No. 1, we affirm Order
No. 1.
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