
APPEAL NO. 990450 
 
 
 This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. ' 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on 
October 5, 1998.  The issues at the CCH were injury and disability.  The hearing officer 
determined that the claimant did not sustain an injury in the course and scope of her 
employment on _______, and did not have disability.  On February 16, 1999, (pursuant to 
an Application for Attorney's Fees (TWCC-152) received February 9, 1999) the hearing 
officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's Fees February 16, 1999 (Order No. 3), 
covering services for the period from September 20, 1998, through December 2, 1998, 
approving 7.00 hours out of 13.60 hours, for a total approved fee, including expenses, of 
$799.85 out of $1,466.64  requested.  The disapproved hours were disapproved for the 
reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl," while two expense items were disapproved for the 
reasons "Exceeded Guidelines" and "Multiple Reasons," respectively.  The attorney 
appeals (the attorney's law firm styles its appeal as the carrier's request for review), merely 
listing the items which were disapproved, and asks that the Appeals Panel reverse Order 
No. 3 and render a decision approving all fees and expenses submitted or, in the 
alternative, remand for further consideration by the hearing officer.  The file contains no 
response from the carrier or the claimant. 
 

DECISION 
 
 We affirm. 
 
 We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard.  Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995.  A 
review of the Attorney Fee Processing System (AFPS) indicates that the attorney did file a 
justification text stating in broad categories what he did and indicating that the fees were 
reasonable and necessary.  The AFPS also shows the following log text by the hearing 
officer: 
 

THIS IS THE SECOND FEE APPLICATION IN THIS MATTER.  TIME 
CLAIMED FO[R] PREPARING FOR HEARING WAS REDUCED SINCE 
OVER SIX HOURS HAVE BEEN PRE[VI]OUSLY CLAIMED AND 
APPROVED AND THE ADDITIONAL TIME CLAIMED WAS NOT 
R[EA]SONABLE OR NECESSARY IN LIGHT OF THE ISSUES 
PRESENTED IN THIS MATTER[.]  TIME CLAIMED FOR REVIEWING 
RECORDS UNDER "COMMUNICATIONS" WAS LIKEW[IS]E DENIED.  
TIME SPENT IN HEARING WAS 1.5 HRS.  REASONABLE TRAVEL TIM[E] 
FROM TYLER TO PITTSBURG IS ONE HOUR EACH WAY, BASED UPON 
THE HEARING [O]FFICER'S EXPERIENCE.  TIME CLAIMED FOR 
ATTENDING HEARING WAS REDUCED [A]CCORDINGLY.  

 
 Two other orders on attorney's fees for the attorney in this case have been issued, 
Order No. 1,dated  February 5, 1999 (TWCC-152 received February 4, 1999), and Order 
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No. 2, dated February 24, 1999 (TWCC-152 received February 8, 1999).  Although Order 
No. 2 was issued after Order No. 3, we will nevertheless consider it since it had been 
received and was under consideration when Order No. 3 was issued.  In the category of 
participation in the CCH, Order No. 1 approved 3.80 hours, as requested, and Order No. 2 
approved 4.00 hours as requested, for a total of 7.80 hours.  In the category of 
communications for the month of September 1998, Order No. 1 approved 4.10 hours, as 
requested, and Order No. 2 approved 5.70 hours, as requested. 
 
 Order No. 3 approved 3.50 hours out of 5.50 hours requested for attending the CCH 
and disapproved the 2.00 hours requested for preparation for the CCH.  The Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission's (Commission) guidelines allow for participation in a 
CCH the time actually spent in the CCH plus 4.00 hours.  Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. 
ADMIN. CODE ' 152.4(c)(6) (Rule 152.4(c)(6)).  The three Orders taken together approved 
the actual time in the CCH (including travel time) plus 7.80 hours, a figure well in excess of 
the guidelines. 
 
 The guidelines allow 2.50 hours per month for communications.  Rule 152.4(c)(2).  
Order No. 3 disapproved two items for communications during the month of October 1998.  
Order No. 1 and Order No. 2 approved 4.10 hours and 5.70 hours, respectively, for 
communications during that month, a figure well in excess of the guidelines.  As to 
communications during the month of November 1998, Order No. 3 approved five items for 
a total of 2.30 hours and disapproved two items for a total of 0.80 hours.  While this is 0.20 
hours below the limit set by the guidelines, given that the three Orders approved 9.80 hours 
for the previous month, the approval of only 2.30 hours for November was not an abuse of 
discretion by the hearing officer. 
 
 The only other disapproved items were for travel expense for the CCH.  The hearing 
officer disapproved $3.25 in travel expense for CCH on September 30, 1998, for "Multiple 
Reasons" and approved only $31.36 out of $42.90 requested for travel expense for CCH on 
October 5, 1998, for the reason "Exceeded Guidelines."  The only travel expenses allowed 
by the guidelines are for attending a benefit review conference (BRC) or CCH.  Rules 
152.5(b)(1) and 152.5(c)(1).  The BRC in this case was held on August 13, 1998, and the 
CCH was held on October 5, 1998.  Travel expenses for September 30, 1998, were, 
therefore, properly disapproved.  Rule 152.1(b)(1) also provides that travel expenses  are 
to be paid at the rate set for state employees in the General Appropriations Act.  The 
attorney has not attempted to show, or allege, that the disapproved amount of $11.54 in the 
travel item for October 5, 1998, was allowable under the General Appropriations Act.  We 
find no abuse of discretion in the disapproval of this amount. 
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 Finding no abuse of discretion by the hearing officer, we affirm Order No. 3. 
 
 
 

____________________ 
Philip F. O'Neill 
Appeals Judge 

 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Thomas A. Knapp 
Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Tommy W. Lueders 
Appeals Judge 


