
APPEAL NO. 990196 
 
 
 This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. ' 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on 
November 6, 1998.  The issue at the CCH was whether the appellant (claimant) sustained 
a compensable injury, in the form of an occupational disease, on ______.  The hearing 
officer determined that the claimant did sustain a compensable injury, in the form of an 
occupational disease, on ______. 
 
 On January 20, 1999, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's 
Fees (Order), covering fees and services provided by the claimant's attorney for the period 
from October 15, 1998, through January 6, 1999, approving 5.00 hours out of 5.50 hours 
requested, for a total approved fee, including expenses, of $725.00 out of $800.00 
requested.  The claimant appeals.  She agrees that the respondent (attorney) should be 
paid his fees, but "not by the claimant since the benefit wages will only be half of her 
weekly working wages, and with a dependent child in school its going to be very critical 
during my time of recovery."  The file contains no response from the attorney or the carrier. 
 

DECISION 
 
 We affirm the Order.  
 
 While we understand the claimant's argument, Section 408.221(b) provides in 
relevant part that "[e]xcept as provided by Section 408.147(c), the [claimant's] attorney's 
fee shall be paid from the claimant's recovery."  Section 408.147(c) applies only to a case 
in which "an insurance carrier disputes a commission [Texas Workers' Compensation 
Commission] determination that an employee is entitled to supplemental income benefits 
[SIBS] or the amount of  [SIBS]  due  and  the  employee  prevails  on  any  disputed  issue. 
. . ."  Since this CCH did not include any issue of entitlement to or amount of SIBS, this 
exception does not apply and the attorney's fees are paid from the claimant's recovery.  
Section 408.221(c) lists the factors that the Commission shall consider in approving a fee 
and Section 408.221(h) limits the fee to 25% of the claimant's recovery.  These provisions 
of the 1989 Act do not permit the attorney's fees in this case to be paid by the carrier but 
require that the fees be paid from the claimant's recovery. 
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 Finding no abuse of discretion by the hearing officer, we affirm the Order. 
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