APPEAL NO. 990143

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on
October 23, 1998. The issues at the CCH were whether the claimed injury arose out of the
act of a third person, which was not directed at the claimant as an employee, or was the
result of horseplay; whether the claimant has sustained disability; and whether the
employer (self-insured or carrier) has extended a bona fide offer of employment to the
claimant. The claimant, who was a health care provider, was assaulted by the grandson of
a patient. The self-insured presented allegations that the grandson and the claimant were
having an affair, which the claimant denied. The hearing officer determined that the
claimant did not sustain a compensable injury on ; the claimant has sustained no
disability; and the self-insured extended a temporary bona fide offer of employment to the
claimant, which offer was effective from January 20 through February 27, 1998.

On January 13, 1999, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's
Fees (Order), covering services for the period from October 2 through October 28, 1998,
approving 15.00 hours out of 20.50 requested, for an approved fee, including expenses, of
$2,170.40 out of $3,239.93 requested. All of the hours disapproved were disapproved for
the reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonable." The expense item for travel expense for the CCH
was approved for $50.40 out of $54.88 requested, with the remaining $4.48 disapproved for
the reason "Exceeded Guidelines." All of the other expense items were disapproved for the
reason "Service Provided Unclear." The appellant (attorney) appealed, filing an
"ADDITIONAL JUSTIFICATION TEXT, OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE, CARRIER'S
APPLICATION FOR APPEALS PANEL REVIEW." The attorney contends that the Texas
Workers' Compensation Commission (Commission) abused its authority by reducing his
fees without explanation when he had filed an original justification text and asks that the
Appeals Panel approve the 5.5 hours of attorney's time which was originally denied. The
file contains no response from the carrier or the claimant.

DECISION
Finding no abuse of discretion by the hearing officer, we affirm.

We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard. Texas
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995. The
Attorney Fee Processing System (AFPS) shows the following justification text submitted by
the attorney:

AT THE REQUEST OF THE CARRIER THE UNDERSIGNED
PARTICIPATED AND AS[S]ISTED THE CARRIER IN INVESTIGATING
THIS CLAIM AND RE[PJRESENTING THE CARRIER'S INTERESTS
BEFORE THE [COMMISSION]. ALL THE HOURS REQUESTED WERE
REASONABLE AND NECESSARY [I]JN ASSISTING THE CARRIER TO
INVESTIGATE AND DEFEND THIS CLAIM BEFORE THE [COMMISSION]



PLEASE NOTE; AS THERE WER[E] MANY COMPLEX ISSUES INVOLVED
IN THIS CLAIM, ADDITIONAL TIME WAS NEEDE[D] TO KEEP THE
CARRIER INFORMED AS TO THE STATUS OF THIS CLAIM AND TO
BE[S]T REPRESENT THE CARRIER'S INTERESTS. TO THE EXTENT
THE ENCLOSED APPLICATION EXCEEDS THE MINIMUM GUIDELINES
SUCH SERVICES AND RELATED EXPENSES WERE REQUESTED BY
THE CARRIER AND SHOULD BE AWARDED.

The AFPS also shows the following log text entered by the hearing officer:

EXCEEDING GUIDELINES UNNECESSARY IN THIS CASE[.] EXPENSE
ITEMS DENIED AS APPEARING TO VIOLATE RULE 152.5(C)(2) [Tex.
W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 152.5(c)(2) (Rule 152.2(c)(2)].

The Appeals Panel has generally refused to consider evidence presented for the first
time on appeal. Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 93536, decided
August 12, 1993. In a like vein, we will not consider a supplemental justification text on
appeal which was not submitted to the hearing officer before she issued the Order;
evidence submitted for the first time on appeal is generally not considered absent some
compelling circumstances. Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 94606,
decided June 30, 1994. See also Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No.
971216, decided August 7, 1997 (Unpublished). The attorney cites Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 970756, decided June 5, 1997, and Texas
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 970770, decided June 13, 1997, for the
proposition that the Commission abuses its discretion by reducing attorney's fees when the
attorney has submitted a justification text. We note that in Appeal No. 970756, supra, the
hearing officer disapproved, inter alia, the item for the attorney in that case to attend the
CCH and the Appeals Panel approved that time plus two hours in excess of the guidelines.

In Appeal No. 970770, supra, the hearing officer's log text, in discussing his disapproval of
a certain time for research, commented that the date shown for the research was a Sunday
and that it had taken the hearing officer less time to do the research that had been
requested by the attorney. The Appeals Panel, in reversing, noted that the factors listed in
Sections 408.221 and 408.222 to be considered by the Commission in approving a fee did
not include the day of the week on which the attorney's labor was performed or the skill of
the hearing officer. In the case at hand, we note that much of the justification text originally
submitted to the hearing officer consisted of generic comments which did not differentiate
this case from the ordinary case to which the guidelines would apply. We note that in the
category of participation at the CCH the hearing officer approved 8.70 hours, which is 1.10
hours in excess of the guidelines while the attorney requested 6.60 hours in excess of the
guidelines. The hearing officer's log text comments, although expressed in terms of
exceeding the guidelines not being necessary in this case, indicate that, having presided at
the CCH and being familiar with the issues and the relative complexity of the case, she did
not conclude that further hours in excess of the guidelines were reasonable and necessary.

We do not determine that she abused her discretion in so concluding. The attorney's
original justification text also argues that any hours in excess of the guidelines were
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requested by the self-insured and therefore should be approved. Although a few previous
attorney's fee cases have expressed the opinion that a carrier is in the best position to
determine its attorney's fees, the provisions of Sections 408.221 and 408.222 and Rule
152.1 et seq. place that responsibility on the Commission.

As to the expense items, the attorney does not address them in his appeal or ask
that the Appeals Panel approve the disapproved expenses, asking only that the Appeals
Panel approve the disapproved attorney's hours. The expense items not having been
appealed, we will not address them in this decision.

Finding no abuse of discretion by the hearing officer, the Order is affirmed.
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