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 This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. ' 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  On December 3, 1998, a hearing was held.  
She closed the record on December 14, 1998, after providing appellant (claimant) 10 days 
to request a hearing after being absent on December 3, 1998; she then determined that 
claimant did not sustain a compensable injury, did not timely report an injury, and did not 
have disability.  She also found that claimant was not barred by an election of remedies.  
Claimant appeals, stating that he did contact the Texas Workers' Compensation 
Commission (Commission) within 10 days, and says he appeals.  The appeals file contains 
no reply from respondent (carrier).   
 

DECISION 
 
 We reverse and remand. 
 
 Claimant was not present at the hearing held on December 3, 1998.  His appeal 
states that he telephoned the Commission on December 11, 1998, within the 10 days 
provided to him in a letter from the hearing officer. 
 
 The appeals file contains a copy of a letter from the hearing officer to claimant dated 
December 3, 1998.  That letter tells claimant, "you may contact this Commission office 
within ten days of the date of this letter to request that the contested case hearing in this 
matter be reconvened to permit you to present evidence on the issue, and to show 
cause. . .  . ."  At the bottom of the letter claimant was told, "if you have any questions 
please contact the hearings clerk MW at . . . ."  The appeals file also contains a letter from 
claimant dated December 13, 1998, but also carrying what appears to be a fax dated at its 
top of "Dec 15 98 03:50p."  While 10 days from December 3, 1998, December 13, 1998, 
falls on a Sunday, the following Monday is December 14, 1998, and it appears that 
claimant's letter was not provided to the Commission by that time, especially since it is 
stamped as received on December 16, 1998. 
 
 Claimant's letter dated December 13, 1998, to the hearing officer begins by 
referencing a conversation he had with "MW’s” replacement" on December 11, 1998, 
adding that he told that replacement that his absence was unavoidable because he got lost 
in the woods. 
 
 The Appeals Panel is not a fact finder.  We do not know whether claimant's 
statement is accurate regarding his contact with the Commission on December 11, 1998.  
We do note that the hearing officer's letter does not say that his response must be in 
writing, but rather told claimant to "contact" the Commission.  Since the hearing officer 
closed the record on December 14th, it is conceivable that she did not have claimant's 
letter, apparently faxed on December 15th, at the time she wrote her decision.  We believe 
therefore that the best recourse is for the case to be remanded for another hearing. 
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 In addition to the reason set forth above, Texas Workers' Compensation 
Commission Appeal No. 962387, decided January 14, 1997, indicates that "after a single 
failure to appear" the hearing officer does not have authority to preclude the nonattending 
party from presenting evidence.  See also Texas Workers' Compensation Commission 
Appeal No. 960464, decided April 22, 1996, which referred to a process in which a party 
was given 10 days to request an opportunity to show cause; the Appeals Panel in that case 
commented that another procedure would be for the hearing officer to "affirmatively set" a 
hearing date, with written notice to both parties, at which time cause could be considered 
and, regardless of the outcome concerning cause, evidence on the merits could be 
presented.  Also see Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 970121, 
decided March 4, 1997, which also applied the "single failure to appear" criteria in 
remanding for another hearing.  Another hearing should be set at which time either party 
may present evidence, regardless of whether claimant's evidence relating to good cause is 
swallowed or not.  The Appeals Panel has not held that should claimant fail to appear for 
the next hearing set, after adequate notice has been given, that the hearing officer could 
not then issue a decision. 
 
 Pending resolution of the remand, a final decision has not been made in this case.  
However, since reversal and remand necessitate the issuance of a new decision and order 
by the hearing officer, a party who wishes to appeal from such new decision must file a 
request for review not later than 15 days after the date on which such new decision is 
received from the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission's Division of Hearings, 
pursuant to Section 410.202.  See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 
92642, decided January 20, 1993. 
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