
APPEAL NO. 990025 
 
 
 This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. ' 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on 
December 16, 1998.  The issues at the CCH were injury, disability, carrier waiver of contest 
of compensability, and average weekly wage (AWW).  The parties agreed orally on the 
record that: 
 

1. The Claimant sustained a compensable injury on ______. 
 

2. The Claimant did not sustain disability from July 22nd through October 
7, 1998, but the Claimant did have disability beginning on October 8, 
1998, and continuing through the date of the [CCH]. 

 
3. The Claimant's [AWW] was $584.80. 

 
4. The Carrier did not waive the right to contest the compensability of the 

claimed injury by not sufficiently contesting compensability within sixty 
days of being notified of the injury as per Rule 124.6 [Tex. W.C. 
Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE ' 124.6]. 

 
 On December 23, 1998, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for 
Attorney's Fees (Order) covering services for the period of December 1 through December 
16, 1998, approving .50 hours out of 4.50 hours requested, for a total approved fee of 
$75.00 out of $675.00 requested.  The appellant (attorney) appeals, contending that the 
hearing officer improperly denied CCH preparation time of four hours, presumably because 
the disputed issues were resolved at the CCH.  The attorney argues that since he had fully 
prepared for the CCH prior to the resolution of the issues, he should be entitled to an Order 
for the preparation time.  The file contains no response from the claimant or the carrier.  
 

DECISION 
 
 We reverse and render. 
 
 We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard.  Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995.  The 
decision of the hearing officer indicates that the agreement previously discussed was made 
orally on the record at the CCH.  The Order indicates that the attorney requested and the 
hearing officer approved .10 hours for attending the CCH.  The attorney indicates in his 
appeal that he fully prepared for the CCH prior to the agreement.  The amount of time 
requested by the attorney does not exceed the guidelines, Rule 152.4(c)(6), and does not 
appear to be excessive in view of the issues involved.  Since the agreement was not 
reached until the CCH itself and preparation for the CCH was thus necessary, Rule 
152.4(c)(6) is applicable rather than the one hour provided in Rule 152.4(c)(4).  We note 
that careful and complete preparation for a CCH may well be a factor in reaching an 
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agreement at the CCH.  We conclude that the hearing officer abused his discretion in 
denying the four hours in question. 
 
 We reverse the order and render a decision approving four additional hours for 
preparation for the CCH, for an additional approved fee of $600.00, resulting in a total 
approved fee of $675.00. 
 
 
 

____________________ 
Tommy W. Lueders 
Appeals Judge 

 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Philip F. O=Neill 
Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Judy L. Stephens 
Appeals Judge 


