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This appeal arises under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  On December 11, 1997, a contested case 
hearing (CCH) was held in (City), Texas, with (hearing officer 1) presiding as hearing 
officer 1.  Hearing officer 1 determined that the claimant is entitled to supplemental 
income benefits (SIBS) for the 15th compensable quarter.  That decision was affirmed 
in Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 980033, decided February 
20, 1998. 
 

On January 18, 1998 (hearing officer 2) issued "COMMISSION ORDER FOR 
ATTORNEY'S FEES" (Docket No.) (sequence 10), covering services from July 31 
through September 9, 1997.  Hearing officer 2 approved 2.25 hours out of 6.25 hours 
requested at a rate of $150.00 per hour rather than the $200.00 per hour requested, for 
a total approved fee of $337.50 out of $1,250.00 requested.  Hearing officer 2 
disapproved two items of August 27, 1997, one item of September 2, 1997, and two 
items of September 9, 1997, for the reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl." 
 

On January 29, 1998, hearing officer 1 issued "COMMISSION ORDER FOR 
ATTORNEY'S FEES" (Docket No.) (sequence 9), covering services from September 5 
through December 11, 1997.  Hearing officer 1 approved all 5.25 hours requested at a 
rate of $150.00 per hour rather than the $200.00 per hour requested, and approved all 
requested expenses, for a total approved fee of $819.70 out of $1,082.20 requested. 
 

Appellant (attorney) appeals both sequence 10 and sequence 9, contending that, 
under Section 408.147(c) and Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 152.1(f) 
(Rule 152.1(f)), the guidelines and the $150.00 per hour limit do not apply and that the 
requested fees, as to both rates and items, are reasonable.  Carrier responds that 
hearing officer 2 did not abuse her discretion in determining that the disapproved items 
exceeded the applicable guidelines or were otherwise not reasonable and necessary.  
Carrier also contends that hearing officer 2 did not abuse her discretion in determining 
that $150.00 per hour was a reasonable rate for attorney's services.  The file contains 
no response from the claimant. 
 
 DECISION 
 

Affirmed in part and reversed and remanded in part. 
 
We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard.  Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995. 
 

Dealing first with the issue of the requested fee of $200.00 per hour, the attorney 
is correct that the limitation in Rule 125.4(d)(A) of $150.00 per hour is not applicable in 
this case.  Under Rule 152.1(f), the attorney is entitled to "receive a reasonable and 
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necessary attorney's fee."  The attorney states in her appeal that "[t]he $200.00 per 
hour rate is reasonable in light of the complexity of the issues, as well as, the attorney's 
extensive expertise and tract [sic] record for managing successful SIBS cases through 
point of appeal."  The burden of proof in an attorney's fee case is on the attorney.  
While Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951731, decided 
November 16, 1995, discusses the burden of proving the reasonableness of the 
requested hours, the same principle would apply to the reasonableness of the hourly 
rate requested.  An application for a fee of $200.00 per hour does not, in itself, prove 
that that rule is reasonable.  SIBS cases are not at all uncommon and the case at hand 
involved only one quarter of SIBS.  We do not conclude that the hearing officers 
abused their discretion in approving a fee of $150.00 per hour. 
 

Dealing next with the two disapproved items of August 27, 1997, the Attorney 
Fee Processing System computer printout concerning sequence 10 shows the following 
hearing officer log text: 
 

HEARING WAS HELD ON JUNE 2, 1997.  ALL SERVICES 
REQUESTED FOR [CCH] WERE PERFORMED AFTER THIS DATE 
BEGINNING JULY 31, 1997, AND THUS WERE UNNECESSARY OR 
REASONABLE [SIC].  ATTORNEY HAS PROBABLY SUBMITTED FEES 
FOR APPEAL RATHER THAN [CCH] AND MAY WISH TO RESUBMIT.  

 
However, the decision and order of hearing officer 1 indicates that the CCH on 

the 15th quarter of SIBS was held on December 11, 1997.  Since the log text is 
obviously in error, we reverse sequence 10 insofar as it disapproves two items of 
August 27, 1997, and approve .75 hours at a rate of $150.00 per hour, for an additional 
approved fee of $112.50. 
 

We would do likewise with the three items for September 1997 which were 
disapproved in sequence 10, except that a document dated January 8,1998, has come 
to our attention, in which the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Texas certifies that the 
attorney "was suspended from the active rolls of the State Bar of Texas on September 
01, 1997, due to nonpayment of Texas Attorney Occupation Tax and/or associated 
penalties or interest and is not currently authorized to practice as an attorney and 
counselor at law in the STATE OF TEXAS."  This matter is not developed in the record 
before us. 
 

Rule 150.2(a) provides: 
 

An attorney who represents any party before the commission [Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission] shall be licensed to practice law by 
the State Bar of Texas in order to receive an attorney's fee. 

 
Rule 152.1(a) states: 
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To be eligible to earn a fee, an attorney representing any party shall hold 
an active license to practice law in Texas and not be currently under 
suspension for any reason. 

 
Rule 150.2(c) provides that an attorney may be disqualified after a hearing from 
representing any party before the Commission for being suspended or disbarred by the 
State Bar of Texas.  Rule 150.3(a)(3) provides that a person who is not an attorney or 
an adjuster for the carrier may provide services before the Commission, upon written 
authorization from the claimant, provided that "[n]o fee or remuneration shall be 
received either directly or indirectly from a claimant."  Thus, while the rules require a 
hearing before a suspended or disbarred attorney could be prohibited from representing 
a client before the Commission, he or she could not receive a fee for doing so in 
accordance with the above-cited rules.  We therefore remand sequence 10 for 
consideration of the suspension letter from the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Texas, 
which is attached hereto. 
 

We affirm sequence 9.  We reverse sequence 10 and remand for further 
consideration in light of the matters stated in this opinion.  
 
 
 

                                   
      

Stark O. Sanders, Jr. 
Chief Appeals Judge 
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Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
                                          
Tommy W. Lueders 
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