
 APPEAL NO. 93862 
 
 This appeal arises under the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Act, TEX. 
LAB. CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act) (formerly V.A.C.S., Article 8308-1.01 et 
seq.).  On June 9, 1993, a contested case hearing was held in (city), Texas, with (hearing 
officer) presiding as hearing officer.  The sole issue to be decided at the hearing was:  
What is the temporary income benefits (TIBS) rate for claimant LL under Article 8308-4.23 
(since codified as Section 408.103).  Two other issues reported from the benefit review 
conference were severed by agreement of the parties and were not considered at this 
hearing. 
 
   The hearing officer determined that the claimant is entitled to TIBS payments at the 
rate of $142.50 for the first 26 weeks following his injury, and at the rate of $133.00 per week 
thereafter, so long as the claimant had disability and had not reached maximum medical 
improvement (MMI).  The claimant was injured on (date of injury), while employed by Labor 
Force, a temporary employment service. 
 
  Appellant, carrier herein, contends that the hearing officer misapplied the law, and 
requests that we reverse the hearing officer's decision and render a decision that would limit 
claimant's total benefits to the amount of money he earned in the 12 months prior to his 
injury.  Claimant responds that the decision is supported by the law and the evidence and 
requests that we affirm the decision, and also argues that the carrier's appeal was untimely. 
 
 DECISION 
 
 The decision of the hearing officer is reversed and we render a new decision that 
claimant is entitled to TIBS at the rate of $133.00 per week, according to the rules of the 
Texas Workers' Compensation Commission (Commission).  Although the decision of the 
hearing officer indicated that she correctly determined to apply the statute and rule as 
interpreted by the Commission, she erred in that she failed to fully implement the steps of 
the applicable rule, Texas W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 129.2 (Rule 129.2) as 
to calculation of the weekly benefit due. 
   
 Claimant testified that he was injured (date of injury), while employed by employer 
and stationed at the location of (employer), where he had worked about four weeks prior to 
his injury.  The nature of the injury was not specified on the record; according to the 
claimant's testimony, he began to experience a condition, about three months after the 
injury, whereby the upper layers of his skin peel away from his fingers, leaving them sore.  
The claimant testified that the cause of this condition was not known to his physician, but 
that claimant had never experienced it prior to his injury.  He is unable to work as a result. 
  
 The hearing officer found that claimant earned $4.75 per hour, and that his average 
weekly wage (AWW) was $190.00.  He worked for less than 13 weeks for the employer 
prior to his date of injury.  (A wage statement submitted for a "similar employee" included 
time periods following the claimant's date of injury; thus, the hearing officer used a "fair, just 
and reasonable" calculation).  During some of the period of time in the 12 months prior to 
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his injury, the claimant was a student.  The hearing officer determined that, according to 
records from the Texas Employment Commission (TEC), the claimant earned $2755.15 
during the twelve months prior to his date of injury. 
 
   The hearing officer interpreted Article 8308-4.23(d) (now Section 408.103) and 
determined that the claimant was entitled to 75% of his AWW (0.75 x $190.00 = $142.50) 
for the first 26 weeks of disability and 70% of his AWW (0.70 x $190.00 = $133.00) thereafter 
until disability ends or MMI is reached.   
 
 ARGUMENT THAT CARRIER'S APPEAL WAS UNTIMELY 
 
 The carrier's appeal is timely filed.  A party that wishes to do so has fifteen days to 
appeal a decision from the date it is received from the Division of Hearings.  The claimant 
urges that this date was August 12, 1993, according to the date stamp on the hearing 
officer's decision, but this was the date that the decision was received by the Division of 
Hearings for distribution to the parties.  The Division of Hearings, according to Commission 
records, did not deliver the decision to the parties until September 13, 1993. The carrier 
received its copy of the decision on September 17, 1993, and filed its appeal within fifteen 
days of that date. 
 
 ARGUMENT THAT THE HEARING OFFICER INCORRECTLY COMPUTED 
 CLAIMANT'S TIBS RATE 
 
 The carrier argues that for workers who earned less than $8.50 per hour at the time 
of injury, the legislature has directed that the amount of total TIBs paid to those workers 
cannot exceed their total earnings for the previous twelve months.  
 
 Section 408.103 states: 
 
Section 408.103.  AMOUNT OF TEMPORARY INCOME BENEFITS.   
 
(a)Subject to Sections 408.061 and 408.0621, the amount of a temporary income 

benefit is equal to: 
 
(1)70 percent of the amount computed by subtracting the employee's weekly 

earnings after the injury from the employee's average weekly 
wage; or 

 
(2)for the first 26 weeks, 75 percent of the amount computed by subtracting the 

employee's weekly earnings after the injury from the 
employee's average weekly wage if the employee earns less 
than $8.50 an hour. 

 

                                            
    1Formerly Articles 8308-4.11 and 8308-4.12. 
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(b)A temporary income benefit under Subsection (a)(2) may not exceed the 
employee's actual earnings for the previous year.  It is presumed that 
the employee's actual earnings for the previous year are equal to: 

 
(1)the sum of the employee's wages as reported in the most recent four quarterly 

wage reports to the Texas Employment Commission divided by 
52; 

 
(2)the employee's wages in the single quarter of the most recent four quarters in 

which the employee's earnings were highest, divided by 13, if 
the commission finds that the employee's most recent four 
quarters' earnings reported in the Texas Employment 
Commission wage reports are not representative of the 
employee's usual earnings; or 

 
(3)the amount the commission determines from other credible evidence to be the 

actual earnings for the previous year if the Texas Employment 
Commission does not have a wage report reflecting at least one 
quarter's earnings because the employee worked outside the 
state during the previous year. 

 
(c)A presumption under Subsection (b) may be rebutted by other credible evidence 

of the employee's actual earnings2. 
 
This section of the 1989 Act is implemented by Rule 129.2, which states: 
 
Rule 129.2:  Calculation of Temporary Income Benefit for Employees Who 

Earn Less Than $8.50 Per Hour 
 
(a)An employee who earns less than $8.50 per hour shall have [TIBS] for the first 26 

weeks of entitlement computed as follows: 
 
(1)calculate the injured employee's benefits at 70% of the difference between the 

employee's average weekly wage and the employee's weekly 
earnings after the injury, and set aside the result; 

 
(2)then, calculate benefits for the injured employee at 75% of the difference between 

the employee's average weekly wage and the employee's 

                                            
    2We note that the four quarters of earnings reflected in the TEC statement vary widely, and claimant testified 

that he was a full-time student during some of the period in question. The hearing officer could have taken the 

earnings in the highest quarter, $1498.75, and from that derived average weekly earnings of $115.23, instead of 

the $53.37 she actually used.  The result doesn't change in this case, although the alternative available to the 

Commission, and presumably the court, could raise the amount of the "ceiling" that the carrier argues is imposed 

by this statute. 
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weekly earnings after the injury; 
 
(3)next, calculate the employee's actual average weekly earnings for the previous 

year, under the method described in the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act, § 4.23(d); 

 
(4)compare the results of paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection, and select the 

lower number; 
 
(5)next, compare the number selected in paragraph (4) of this subsection with the 

result of paragraph (1) of this subsection, and select the higher 
number; and 

 
(6)finally, compare the number found in paragraph (5) of this subsection with the 

minimum weekly benefit, in effect on the date of injury, under 
the Act, § 4.12.  The higher number is the weekly [TIBS] for the 
injured employee, not to exceed the maximum weekly benefit in 
effect on the date of the injury under the Act, § 4.11. 

 
(b)After the 26th week of eligibility until the end of the [TIBS] period, benefits for the 

injured employee shall be paid at the rate of 70% of the difference 
between the average weekly wage and the employee's weekly 
earnings after the injury. 

  
 The carrier argues that it was "legislative intent" to correct abuses under the Act, one 
of which is described by the carrier as "that a low wage-earning claimant could argue that 
they were totally and permanently disabled after a minor accident simply because they had 
little or no education.  They could continue to work at their previous job but nevertheless 
receive 401 weeks of benefits because they suffered a diminution in their loss of wage 
earning capacity."  Leaving aside the lack of any citation for such legislative intent, this 
argument is premised on concepts that have been done away with altogether by the 1989 
Act.  The payment of temporary income benefits in the 1989 Act (the sole benefit affected 
by the 12 month "ceiling") is based upon the existence of disability,3 not loss of earning 
capacity.  The carrier's argument also does not address the interpretation of the statute 
promulgated by the Commission through Rule 129.2. 

                                            
    3As defined in Section 401.011(16) 
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 Claimant's response correctly points out that the interpretation of the statute urged 
by carrier would lead to the irrational result that two persons who were substantially similarly 
situated with respect to not having worked the previous year could be treated differently 
based upon a penny per hour difference in earnings.  We agree with the claimant's 
argument that this is not the way in which this agency has interpreted the statute. 
 
 We believe instead that Rule 129.2 is consistent with both the letter and spirit of 
Section 408.103.   
 
 Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 93795, decided October 20, 
1993, is directly on point and has interpreted the statute, as follows: 
 
We do note there is a slight difference between the former Article 8308-4.23(d) and 

since codified Section 408.103, in that 4.23(d) simply states:  "The weekly 
[TIBS] under this subsection may not exceed 100 percent of the employee's 
actual earnings for the previous year."  Section 408.103(b), quoted above, 
makes clear that the TIBS under Subsection (a)(2), which is the section 
permitting 75% of the AWW for the first 26 weeks for employees earning less 
than $8.50, is modified by Section 408.103(b) insofar as they exceed the 
employee's actual earnings for the previous year.  In other words, Section 
408.103(b) serves as a disqualifier if 75% of the AWW would result in the 
excess of the employee's actual earnings the previous year.  We would also 
note that the entire section is "[s]ubject to Sections 408.061 (maximum weekly 
income benefits) and 408.062 (minimum weekly income benefits)."   

 
 When we apply the formula of Rule 129.2(a) to the fact situation in this case, the 
results are as follows: 
 
(1)the figure under this subsection is 70% of $190.00 = $133.00 
 
(2)is 75% of $190.00 = $142.50 
 
(3)the average weekly earnings for the previous year is $2,755.15 divided by 52= 

$53.37  
 
(4)take the lower of $142.50 and $53.37, which is $53.37 
 
(5)take the higher of $133.00 and $53.37, which is $133.00 
 
(6)The figure derived in (5) ($133.00) is more than the minimum weekly benefit in 

Article 8308-4.12 (Section 408.062), which was $68.00. 
 
 When Rule 129.2 was submitted in proposed form for public comment prior to 
implementation, one commentor suggested elimination of the steps in subsection (a)(1) and 
(6).  The Texas Workers' Compensation Commission (Commission) disagreed, stating "the 
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section plainly and clearly spells out the steps that should be followed in a way that the 
statute does not.  Moreover, the section resolves ambiguity in the [1989] Act that could 
result in artificially lower benefits for low income workers by providing a default to the 70% 
rate of benefits.  The Commission believes that the section will reduce inaccuracy in the 
calculation of [TIBS]."  16 Texas Register 123 (January 8, 1991).  We believe this case to 
be such an instance and the Commission clearly, both by the terms of Rule 129.2 and by 
the comment in the rule history, intended to provide a minimum of the 70% rate of the AWW.  
The rule also has the effect of implementing the annual wage limitation if the 75% would 
exceed the actual earnings for the previous year.  An agency is generally bound by a duly 
promulgated rule of the agency.  Gulf Land Co. v. Atlantic Refining Co., 131 S.W.2d 73 
(Tex. 1939). 
 
 Accordingly, we reverse the hearing officer's decision and render a new decision that 
the TIBS rate for claimant, pursuant to Section 408.103 and Rule 129.2, is $133.00 a week.  
Accrued but unpaid TIBS are to be paid in accordance with the 1989 Act and Commission 
Rules. 
 
 
 
                                       
        Susan M. Kelley 
        Appeals Judge 
 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
                               
Stark O. Sanders, Jr. 
Chief Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
                               
Joe Sebesta 
Appeals Judge 
    


