
 APPEAL NO. 93780 
 
 This appeal arises under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. CODE 
ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing was held in (city), Texas, on 
July 28, 1993, to determine the appellant's (hereinafter claimant) correct average weekly 
wage (AWW) for purposes of temporary income benefits.  The claimant seeks this panel's 
review of the hearing officer's determination of AWW based upon his wages earned for the 
13 weeks prior to his injury, as adjusted.  There was no response filed by the carrier.  
 
 DECISION 
 
 We affirm the decision and order of the hearing officer.  
 
 The claimant testified that he began working as a warehouseman for (employer), on 
(date of injury).  His hourly rate of pay was a little under $8.00 an hour, but pursuant to 
employer's policy he was hired as a "casual" or "part time"1 employee, on a probationary 
basis.  The import of this classification was that he did not get benefits and could not work 
any overtime; he said during that period of time he averaged around 39 hours per week.  
Toward the end of May 1992 he became "full time" and was assigned a number by employer 
which counted toward his seniority and meant he could work his way up to earning union 
wages.  The change to "full time" status also meant he was eligible to work overtime, and 
he stated that most "full time" employees were working 55 to 60 hours per week.  However, 
his hourly rate of pay did not change.  
 
 The claimant was injured on (date of injury).  Claimant testified that the Employer's 
Wage Statement for claimant which was made part of the record accurately reflected the 
hours and wages he worked for the 13-week period preceding his injury.  It shows that for 
the final two weeks of the period, after claimant had been moved to "full time" status, he 
worked 56 and 54.50 hours, respectively; prior to that time he worked anywhere from a low 
of 30.75 hours to a high of 46.50 hours per week.  He worked no hours the week of March 
15th, as he was away from work due to another, unrelated injury.  
 
 The 1989 Act, Section 408.041(a) (formerly Article 8308-4.10(a)) provides that, 
except as otherwise provided by that subtitle, the AWW of an employee who has worked for 
the employer for at least the 13 consecutive weeks immediately preceding an injury is 
computed by dividing the sum of the wages paid in those 13 weeks by 13.  At the hearing 
and on appeal the claimant contended, however, that his AWW should be determined with 
reference to Section 408.041(b) (formerly Article 8308-4.10(b)), which states that the AWW 
of an employee whose wage at the time of injury has not been fixed or cannot be determined 
or who has worked for the employer for less than the 13 weeks immediately preceding the 

                                            
    1The words "part time" and full time" are put in quotations because those are the phrases claimant used to 

distinguish his work status before and after he became eligible for overtime work, and to distinguish them from the 

concept of full and part time as defined in the appropriate Commission rule, Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. 

CODE § 128.3 (Rule 128.3).  It was claimant's testimony that even as a "part time" employee he generally worked 

in excess of 30 hours per week. 
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injury equals the usual wage that the employer pays a similar employee for similar services; 
or if a similar employee does not exist, the usual wage paid in that vicinity for the same or 
similar services.  The claimant's position was that his wages were not "fixed" pursuant to 
subsection (b) above, as evidenced by the fact that his number of hours (and hence his 
earnings) increased after he was made a "full time" employee.  Therefore, he argues, his 
AWW should be determined with reference to the wages of a same or similar "full time" 
employee. 
  
 The hearing officer determined that claimant was a full time employee as that term is 
used in Rule 128.3, finding that for the 13 weeks prior to his injury claimant regularly worked 
more than 30 hours per week for employer, and that his work schedule was comparable to 
other employees of employer who were not union employees.  Claimant challenges this 
finding as incorrect, stating that the wage statements of other non-union similar "full time" 
employees would show higher wages due to an increased number of hours worked.  
However, our review of the record indicates support for this finding, which was made for 
purposes of establishing claimant as a full time employee as defined by the appropriate rule.  
That having been done, the hearing officer proceeded to calculate claimant's AWW, also 
pursuant to the 1989 Act and Rule 128.3,2 by adding claimant's wages for the 13 weeks 
preceding the injury and dividing by 13.  We find the hearing officer's use of this method 
correct and compelled by the facts of this situation.  (In addition, the hearing officer credited 
claimant with an additional gross pay of $380.16 to cover the week in which claimant had 
been off work.)  The Act and the rules clearly state the method of calculation to be used 
when a claimant is a 13-week employee.  Contrary to claimant's assertion, his wages for 
the 13-week period were fixed in the sense that they were determinable, and there was thus 
no need to determine his AWW by reference to the same or similar employee method of 
Section 408-041(b), or any other method contained in the statute.  See, e.g., Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 92705, decided February 16, 1993.  The 
hearing officer correctly determined claimant's AWW based on the plain language of the 
statute and rules.  
 
 We accordingly affirm the hearing officer's decision and order.  
 
 
 
                                      
       Lynda H. Nesenholtz 

                                            
    2The claimant notes an ambiguity between Section 408.041(b), which speaks of an employee whose wage has 

not been fixed or cannot be determined or who has worked for the employer for less than 13 weeks preceding the 

injury, and Rule 128.3(d), which says "[i]f an employee has worked for 13 weeks or more prior to the date of the 

injury, or if the wage at time of injury has not been fixed or cannot be determined. . . ."  Despite this apparent 

inconsistency, the plain words of the statute clearly apply to claimant's situation in this case. 
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       Appeals Judge 
 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
 
                               
Susan M. Kelley 
Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
                               
Gary L. Kilgore 
Appeals Judge 


