APPEAL NO. 92670

This appeal arises under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act of 1989 (1989
Act), TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. arts. 8308-1.01 through 11.10 (Vernon Supp. 1992).
On November 18, 1992, a contested case hearing was held in (city), Texas, with (hearing
officer) presiding, to determine if the claimant could dispute her doctor's assessment that
she had reached maximum medical improvement (MMI) with a 9% impairment rating,
effective February 25, 1992. The claimant sustained an undisputed carpal tunnel injury to
her right hand on , and the carrier's position was that she had not timely
disputed the MMI finding and impairment rating. The hearing officer held that because
there had been no forms or reports submitted which indicated that claimant had reached
MMI or sustained impairment for her injury of , that she had not exceeded
her time limit and could still dispute her doctor's report.

The carrier has appealed, pointing out that the report filed by the claimant's doctor
clearly assesses impairment to the injured right extremity, regardless of the typographical
error used for the date of injury, and that the claimant, who was paid most of her
impairment income benefits before she disputed her doctor's report, has not made a timely
request within 90 days of receiving the report. The claimant did not file a response.

DECISION

We reverse the hearing officer's decision that the 90 day time period did not begin
to run and that the claimant may thus dispute the rating, and render a decision that the
claimant may not dispute the MMI certification and impairment rating rendered by her
doctor because it became final by operation of Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 Tex. ADMIN. CODE
§ 130.5(e) (Rule 130.5).

The hearing was very short, and both parties submitted most of their case in the
form of exhibits. The only issues reported from the benefit review conference were
whether the claimant could now dispute the certification of MMI or the 9% impairment
rating that a doctor, acting on her behalf, had rendered. There were no issues before the
hearing officer regarding the merits of that report.

The claimant stated that she had received a (prior date of injury) injury to her left
hand and wrist (carpal tunnel). She had been treated for that earlier injury by (Dr. C). On
, in the course and scope of employment for (employer), she sustained an
injury to her right wrist. She said that she was initially treated by the company doctors, (Dr.
B) and (Dr. S), and was diagnosed with a right hand sprain on (date). This report indicates
an anticipated MMI date of September 23, 1991. However, she continued to be treated for
three more months by Dr. B and Dr. S for an acute strain to the right hand and wrist. A
subsequent medical report (Form TWCC-64) filed by Dr. B or Dr. S, and dated November
14, 1991, indicates that claimant continued to experience pain and was referred to Dr. C
for orthopedic evaluation. Dr. B also apparently ordered EMG testing to be performed by
(Dr. CV).




The test report from Dr. CV indicates that he found indications that "would make
one suspicious of an early, mild median nerve carpal tunnel syndrome. | would suggest
clinical correlation. All other parameters of the right median nerve motor and sensory
study were within normal limits." This test report involved testing of the right extremity
only, and not the left.

The claimant first saw Dr. C on December 11, 1991. The record reflects that she
continued to seek treatment from Dr. C up to her final examination with him on February
25, 1992. She stated that she changed doctors to (Dr. N), but the record indicates that Dr.
N primarily has treated claimant for her left hand condition.

It is clear from reading his reports that Dr. C re-examined her left wrist. It is equally
clear that he noted that she had a new condition involving her right wrist, and he began to
treat it and run tests. His treatment and review of tests culminated in his report that
determined that the claimant had reached MMI effective February 25, 1992, and he
assessed a 9% whole body impairment rating (derived from 15% assigned to the right
extremity only).

Although the first document of the report is a TWCC-64 report form, Dr. C attached
two pages which ask, and answer, all questions from the TWCC-69 form that are not
printed on the TWCC-64. The TWCC-64 specifically incorporates these addenda. The
date of injury filled in on this form is (prior date of injury). However, the narrative
unequivocally attributed impairment to the right upper extremity. The narrative described
Dr. C's earlier treatment of claimant's left hand and arm, and noted that she had, by his
examination on December 11, 1991, developed tenosynovitis of the right wrist with carpal
tunnel syndrome of the right hand. He noted that he determined that she did not need
surgery. Dr. C's opinion indicated it is also based upon his review of EMG tests. On
November 6, 1992, Dr. C filled out a TWCC-69 form that contains the same information,
including the (prior) injury date.

The claimant said that she did not receive this report within seven days of his
examination, but she admitted that she had received it. She did not recall the date. The
copy she put into evidence appears to be date-stamped on March 11, 1992. Dr. C's report
indicated that he sent copies to the claimant and the carrier. The evidence indicates that
the carrier sent her a notice of termination of temporary income benefits (TIBs), and
initiation of payment of impairment income benefits (1IBs), accompanied by a copy of the
report. The notice sent by the carrier stated that it figured payment of [IBs based upon a
9% impairment rating and an MMI date of 2/25/92. This notice was sent out March 12,
1992. The carrier began payment of 27 weeks worth of 1I1Bs effective February 25, 1992.

On July 31, 1992, the claimant completed a notice of dispute of Dr. C's report. This
notice is date-stamped August 19, 1992 by the Commission field office handling the claim.
At the hearing, the claimant did not deny that she had disputed the claim in excess of 90



days, nor was an explanation furnished. She stated that her reason for disputing Dr. C's
report was that it was not filed with the Commission within seven days, as required by Rule
130.1(h). Her second reason was that she felt Dr. C had confused her injury
with her (prior) injury, because Dr. C used the wrong date on his report. She did not
present any medical information indicating that Dr. C's evaluation was wrong.

It has become clear that many claimants do not understand how they can reach
"maximum medical improvement" when they still continue to hurt and suffer from an injury.
"Maximum medical improvement” appears to mean complete recovery to the ordinary
person. But that is not what it means for purposes of workers' compensation benefits.
That term means, under Article 8308-1.03(32)(A) of the 1989 Act, the point at which further
material recovery or lasting improvement can no longer be reasonably anticipated,
according to reasonable medical probability. When the doctor finds MMI and assesses an
impairment, he agrees, in effect, that the injured worker is likely to continue to have effects,
and quite possibility pain, from the injury. However, he has determined, based upon his
medical judgment, that there will likely be no further substantial recovery from the injury.

There are many aspects of the 1989 Act that depend upon the date that MMI is
reached and the percentage of impairment. Article 8308-4.33(c) provides that settlements
as to impairment cannot be reached before an injured employee reaches MMI. Article
8308-4.321, which provides for acceleration of impairment income benefits, indicates that
the duration of benefits must be reduced to offset accelerated payments. The right of a
claimant to receive supplemental income benefits is determined in part by the percentage,
and duration, of impairment. Article 8308-4.28(b). A carrier is required to start payment of
[IBs within five days of receiving a certifying doctor's report, when it does not dispute it.
Article 8308-4.26(e); Rule 130.8. A carrier that refuses to pay impairment income benefits
within five days of receipt of a report of a doctor certifying MMI and impairment runs the
risk of an administrative penalty. Article 8308-4.26(e); 5.22(b). All of these provisions
require that some stability be accorded to MMI assessments and impairment ratings that
are not "disputed".

The Texas Workers' Compensation Commission, in Rule 130.5(e) which was
effective January 24, 1991, stated:

The first impairment rating assigned to an employee is considered final if the rating
is not disputed within 90 days after the rating is assigned.

This rule affords a method by which the parties may rely that an assessment of
impairment and MMI may safely be used to pay applicable benefits, by providing the time
limit in which such assessment will be open to dispute. On the other hand, the rule also
allows a liberal time frame within which the parties may ask for resolution of a dispute
through the designated doctor provisions of the Act. This rule applies with equal force to
the carrier and the claimant.



Although the 1989 Act contains no express deadline for raising these disputes, this
does not render the rule fatally defective. The Commission has the general grant of
authority to make rules to implement and enforce the Act. Article 8308-2.09(a). The
Commission has evidently determined the point at which both parties may rely on an MMI
and impairment rating to ensure stable payment of benefits. It is not up to the Appeals
Panel to second-guess the wisdom of this rule, nor do we have the power to invalidate it.
See Bullock v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 628 S.W.2d 754 (Tex. 1982); Article 6252-13a, § 12
(Texas Administrative Procedure and Texas Register Act).

We may, however, interpret agency rules to the facts at hand. Rule 130.5 does not
expressly refer to MMI. But an impairment rating cannot be assigned, and made final,
absent a certification of MMI. See Article 8308-4.26 (d). It would be inconsistent to
interpret the rule to bind a claimant or carrier to the percentage of impairment, but allow an
"end run" around this finality through an open-ended possibility of attack on the MMI. Such
an interpretation would read the rule out of existence. Therefore, in this case, the
impairment rating and MMI certification are intertwined, and either became final together,
or not. See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 92561, decided
December 4, 1992.

The evidence here indicates that the report was mailed by the carrier to the
claimant on March 12, 1992. It was the first impairment rating assigned to the claimant.
Whether the 90 day time limit were held to run from the date Dr. C assigned his rating, or
from the date claimant received notice of the impairment rating, it was exceeded here.
The uncontroverted evidence indicates that the report was mailed at least by March 12,
1992. Even if she did not receive it until the end of the month, her dispute was filed at
least another month after 90 days had expired.

Of course, the claimant did not assert that she filed her dispute within 90 days, and
the statement of her position in the benefit review conference report is that she was
unaware of the 90 day rule. (Left unanswered is why, if the claimant thought that the 9%
impairment rating was for her old injury, and not the new injury, she would continue to
accept 1IBs for over 20 weeks without protest). Both reasons given by the claimant for
disputing the report were present from the beginning of the 90 day time period, so, even if
there were a good cause exception to Rule 130.5(e), it would not be present here.

The hearing officer appears to recognize that Rule 130.5(e) potentially applies to
this case, because she finds the time limit did not begin to run because no impairment has
been assessed for the injury. We agree with the principal that an
assignment of impairment for an injury other than the compensable injury would not start
the 90-day deadline within which either the claimant or insurance carrier could dispute the
rating. However, those are not the facts here.




The hearing officer was clearly in error when she indicated that there was not
proper compliance with Rule 130.1 insofar as the TWCC-69 was not used. Dr. C used a
TWCC-64 and then, in his addenda, wrote out the questions from the TWCC-69 that the
64 does not contain, and answered them. The November 1992 TWCC-69 report is simply
the same information on a different form.

Further, it is crystal clear that the injury that Dr. C evaluated for impairment was the

injury. There isn't any indication that Dr. C was confused or rendered

impairment based upon earlier injury to the left extremity. His narrative makes clear that

the right extremity injury was a "new" condition he observed in December 1991. In this

context, the earlier date listed in the identifying information part of the form can be inferred

to have been taken from similar identifying information on his medical records relating to

the claimant, who he began treating in 1989 for her earlier injury. The conclusion that Dr.

C's report is insufficient to certify MMI and impairment for the injury, or that it

does not meet the requirements of Rule 130.1 because of the wrong injury date, is plainly
wrong under the facts of this case.

Therefore, the 90 day deadline of Rule 130.5 operated to finalize the 9%
impairment rating in this case. It may be that both the claimant and the carrier could have
asserted valid disputes that might have resulted in the 9% rating being set aside, had
either timely filed a dispute. If the carrier belatedly determined, for example, that 9% was a
high rating for a mild unilateral carpal tunnel, and had medical evidence in its favor, it
would nevertheless be precluded by the same rule from disputing the first, and in this
case, final impairment rating. The Commission has determined that 90 days is a sufficient
time frame for raising questions about the accuracy of a certification or impairment rating,
and there are no exceptions in the rule.

During the hearing, the claimant raised the question of why she should comply with
the rule if the doctor did not obey the seven day rule under Rule 130.1(h). The difference
is that, as we have pointed out in previous decisions, the Act provides that the result of not
filing a doctor's report on time is that an administrative penalty, under Article 8308-
10.03(c)(3), can be imposed. The penalty provided for does not include that the doctor's
opinion be disallowed as a professional opinion or certification of MMI. See Texas
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeals Panel Decision No. 92132, decided May
18, 1992. By contrast, the stated consequence of not disputing an impairment rating in 90
days is that it becomes final.



For these reasons, the hearing officer's determination that the claimant may still
dispute Dr. C's report is reversed, and a decision rendered that, by operation of Rule
130.5(e), the impairment rating and underlying certification of MMI became final.

Susan M. Kelley
Appeals Judge

CONCUR:

Stark O. Sanders, Jr.
Chief Appeals Judge

Joe Sebesta
Appeals Judge



