APPEAL NO. 92481

On August 3, 1992, a contested case hearing was held in (city), Texas, with (hearing
officer) presiding as the hearing officer. Respondent is an attorney. She represented
appellant in a workers' compensation claim under the provisions of TEX. REV. CIV. STAT.
ANN. art. 8308-1.01 et seq. (Vernon Supp. 1992) (1989 Act) from (date) to August 23, 1991.
A disability determination officer (DDO) approved attorney's fees for respondent in the
amount of $610.00. Appellant contested the attorney's fees approved by the DDO and
requested a hearing. After the hearing, the hearing officer determined that the approved
attorney's fees are fair and reasonable for the services rendered and ordered that the
attorney's fees as previously approved be paid to respondent.

Appellant disagrees with the hearing officer's decision contending that respondent
did not work on her case for the number of hours approved by the DDO. Respondent
asserts that the appeal was not timely filed and that a copy of the appeal was not served on
her. Respondent further asserts that the decision is supported by the evidence and
requests that we affirm the decision.

DECISION

We modify the decision and order of the hearing officer and, as modified, affirm.

Appellant's request for review does not contain a certificate of service showing that
the request was served on respondent as required by Article 8308-6.41(a) and Tex.
Workers' Comp. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE Sec. 143.3(a) and (b). The appeals
panel has viewed an appellant's failure to serve the other party as not affecting the timeliness
of the appeal but as extending the time for an opportunity for response until service is made.
See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 91120 (Docket No. redacted)
decided March 30, 1992. In this case, appellant's request for review was received by the
Texas Workers' Compensation Commission on September 8, 1992, and the clerk for the
appeals panel sent a copy of the request for review to respondent on September 9, 1992 by
facsimile transmission. The response is dated and postmarked October 2, 1992, and was
received by the Commission on October 5, 1992. The response was clearly not filed with
the Commission not later than the 15th day after the request for review was received by
respondent as required by Article 8308-6.41(a) and Rule 143.4(a). Therefore, the response
will not be considered on appeal. However, we have determined that appellant's request
for review was timely filed. The decision of the hearing officer was mailed to the parties on
August 19, 1992. Appellant's appeal is postmarked September 3, 1992, and was received
by the Commission on September 8, 1992. Allowing for mailing time as provided by Rules
102.5(h) and 143.3(c), the appeal was filed not later than the 15th day after the date of
receipt of the decision as required by Article 8308-6.41(a) and Rules 152.3(g) and 143.3(a).

In connection with her representation of appellant from (date) through August 23,
1991, respondent requested approval of 2.4 hours for attorney time, 7.4 hours for paralegal



time, and $5.00 in expenses. This amounted to a total fee of $691.00. The hours for which
approval was requested involved initial services, client conferences, and informal resolution
without Commission intervention. The DDO approved 2 hours for attorney time, 7 hours
for paralegal time, and $5.00 in expenses. The total approved fee was $610.00, which
amount was determined to be fair and reasonable by the hearing officer.

Appellant testified that she injured her back and neck at work on (date of injury) and
went to see respondent for legal representation on (date). Appellant said she signed an
agreement to have respondent represent her in her workers' compensation claim and that
she expected respondent to be her lawyer and represent her. However, she denied signing
an agreement that she introduced into evidence which provided that respondent would
receive as compensation an amount not in excess of the statutory fee of 25 percent.
Appellant said that the agreement she signed provided for attorney's fees only in the event
her case was settled. The latter agreement was not offered into evidence. Appellant
acknowledged that she began receiving workers' compensation benefits after she retained
respondent, that she visited respondent’s office and filled out workers' compensation forms,
and that she talked to respondent several times about her case. Appellant also said that
she was continuing to receive income benefits as of the date of the hearing.

The reasons appellant gave for contesting the fee approved by the DDO were that
she had a difficult time reaching respondent by telephone; that she had to do most of the
work on her case by herself; that she understood that respondent would not be paid unless
there was a settlement of her case, apparently referring to a lump sum settlement such as
she had received in a workers' compensation claim under the prior law; that respondent did
not explain the new workers' compensation law to her; and that respondent had loaned her
$200.00 to pay her rent. Appellant said that respondent did not help her at all "other than
get [appellant] on workers' comp.”

We note that under the 1989 Act, a claim for workers' compensation benefits is not
"settled" for a lump sum as was the practice under the prior workers' compensation law.
Article 8308-4.33(a) specifically provides that a settlement may not provide for payment of
any benefits in a lump sum except as provided in Article 8308-4.27 pertaining to
commutation of impairment income benefits. Other provisions of the 1989 Act provide that
an insurance carrier's liability for medical benefits may not be limited or terminated by
agreement or settlement and that income benefits are to be paid on a weekly basis as and
when they accrue, except that under certain circumstances impairment income benefits may
be commuted, and provisions are made for advancement of income benefits and
acceleration of impairment income benefits subject to specified requirements and
limitations. Articles 8308-4.21; 8308-4.27; 8308-4.32; 8308-4.321; 8308-4.61.

Article 8308-10.03(a) provides that an attorney who represents a claimant before the
Commission may not lend money to the claimant during the pendency of the workers'
compensation claim. A representative who violates the prohibition against loans may be
subject to the penalty and sanctions procedures set forth in Chapter B of Article 10 of the



1989 Act through Article 8308-10.07(12). However, we are not aware of any Commission
rule which provides for reduction or denial of attorney's fees for a violation of Article 8308-
10.03(a). See Article 8308-10.07(d).

Respondent testified in some detail concerning her work in handling appellant's
worker's compensation claim. According to respondent, time spent on the claim by her and
her paralegal included conferences and telephone calls with appellant, filing the claim, and
correspondence and telephone calls to and from the carrier, Commission, employer, and
health care providers. Respondent said that she and members of her office staff repeatedly
explained the provisions of the 1989 Act to appellant and that she gave appellant full legal
representation in connection with her claim. Respondent acknowledged that she loaned
appellant $200.00. She said that appellant terminated her services when she would not
loan her additional funds. The $200.00 loan is not reflected in the application for attorney's
fees. Itis addressed in a letter dated August 23, 1991, from respondent to appellant.

Pursuant to Article 8308-4.09, an attorney's fee for representing a claimant before
the Commission or court under the provisions of the 1989 Act must be approved by the
Commission or court. In approving an attorney's fee, the Commission must consider the
criteria set forth in Article 8308-4.09(c) and the provisions of Rule 152.4 which contains
guidelines for maximum hours for specific services performed by a claimant's attorney. An
attorney may request approval for a number of hours greater than those allowed by the
guidelines, but must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Commission that the higher fee
was justified by the effort necessary to preserve the client's interest, or the complexity of the
legal and factual issues involved. The guidelines allow one hour for the initial interview and
setting up the file, two hours for client conferences per month, and, in regard to resolving
disputes of compensability or amount of payment, the guidelines allow six hours for informal
resolution of all issues without Commission intervention. As part of the application for
attorney's fees, an attorney must submit a statement of hours expended on the case by
attorneys, paralegals, and law clerks. In this case, a total of two hours of attorney time and
seven hours of paralegal time was approved for legal services performed over the course
of almost seven months.

The hearing officer is the sole judge of the weight and credibility to be given the
evidence. Article 8308-6.34(e). We apply an abuse of discretion standard in reviewing an
order for attorney's fees. See Royal Insurance Company of America v. Goad, 677 S.W.2d
795, 802 (Tex. App.-Fort Worth 1984, writ ref'd n.r.e.); Smith v. City of Austin, 670 S.W.2d
743, 744 (Tex. App.-Tyler 1984, no writ); Texas Workers' Compensation Commission
Appeal No. 91010 (Docket No. redacted) decided September 4, 1991. Having reviewed
the record and the applicable provisions of the 1989 Act and Commission rules, we conclude
that the hearing officer did not abuse his discretion in determining that the attorney's fees
approved by the DDO are fair and reasonable for the services performed and in ordering
that the fees be paid to respondent. However, we modify that part of his order which orders
appellant to pay respondent the attorney's fees previously approved and ordered to be paid
because the 1989 Act provides that the attorney's fee shall be paid from the claimant's




recovery and that such fee is subject to a maximum of 25 percent of the claimant's recovery.
Article 8308-4.09(b). Therefore, we modify the decision and order of the hearing officer to
provide that respondent's attorney's fees as approved by the DDO are to be paid from
appellant's income benefits in an amount not to exceed 25 percent of each of appellant's
income benefit payments, including accrued benefits, if any, until the amount is paid.

As modified, the decision and order of the hearing officer are affirmed.
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