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On February 25, 1992, a contested case hearing was held in (city), Texas, with
(hearing officer) presiding. The claimant did not attend the hearing, and efforts to locate
him were unsuccessful. The carrier went forth and presented its defense. The hearing
officer determined that the claimant did not sustain a compensable injury in the course and
scope of his employment with (employer).

The issue in this appeal involves defense attorneys' fees approved by the hearing
officer in an order of February 27, 1992. Carrier claimed services for two attorneys and a
paralegal, totaling $1,950.00. The hearing officer approved a total of $847.50. No hours
claimed by the paralegal for carrier's law firm were approved.

DECISION

We order that additional fees for paralegal services up to and including
representation of the insurance carrier at the contested case hearing be approved. The
carrier will have to file a new affidavit for approval of fees that it may wish to claim related to
this appeal; those fees are not currently before this tribunal.

Because the order complained of was made by a contested case hearing officer, the
carrier is properly before this tribunal according to Texas W.C. Comm'n Rules, 28 TEX.
ADMIN. CODE Section 152.3(f) (Rule 152.3). Approval of reasonable and necessary
attorneys' fees for defense counsel is authorized by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act
(the 1989 Act), TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. Art. 8308-4.091(a). The Commission is
directed to consider analogous factors to those listed for approval of fees for claimant's
counsel, listed at Art. 8308-4.09(c). The Commission is also directed by the 1989 Act to
set actual guidelines for maximum fees for claimant's counsel, according to Art. 8308-
4.09(e), and has done so in Rule 152.4. However, these guidelines are also to be
considered in approving fees for defense counsel. See Rule 152.3(b); Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 91010, decided September 4, 1991.

Accordingly, applying the guidelines set forth in Rule 152.4, we observe that carrier
is in a situation in part of its own making, in that it failed to claim hours for "analogous”
services to which it was entitled. Carrier's attorneys expended time in initially setting up the
file, and in client conferences, yet no hours are claimed for file setup and only 0.8 hours
(approved by the hearing officer) are claimed for client conferences. Itis clear from reading
the affidavits which accompany the fee application that time was expended by the paralegal
in setting up the file and doing initial research. Further, if the adjuster for the carrier was a
witness; the paralegal also lists time spent in conference with witnesses, which would, in
part, be attributable to a "client conference" with the adjuster.

We note that there is nothing in the affidavits provided by the carrier's attorney or in
his testimony at the hearing claiming that this case was any more complicated than other
"course & scope" issues that typically come before the Commission, as provided for under



Rule 152.4(c). The carrier's attorney conceded at the hearing that he had probably
overestimated his time to attend the contested case hearing (claimed at 3.4 hours) by half
an hour; the hearing officer noted that it appeared to him that his time for the contested case
hearing would be two hours at the "outside,” but he ultimately approved 2.5 hours for this
service. To the extent that a general new law "learning curve" was claimed by the
attorneys, we would note that the hearing officer apparently gave the carrier's attorney some
benefit of the doubt and allowed some attorney time slightly in excess of the hours provided
under Rule 152.4(d).

It seems to us that reasonable and necessary fees of a defense law firm do involve
paralegal time, and that the failure to allow any time for the paralegal was an abuse of
discretion. In approving additional paralegal time, we will look solely to additional time
allowed by Rule 152.4(d). That rule provides for one hour of initial setup of the file, and two
maximum hours for client conferences per month. The paralegal conducted client
conferences. The attorney's office spent time on the case only during one month. As 0.8
hours for client conferences was already allowed to the senior attorney on the case, that
leaves 1.2 hours of paralegal time to be allowed using standards similar to those that would
be used for claimant's attorneys. Thus, an additional fee of 2.2 hours of paralegal time at
$50 per hour is approved.

In all other respects, we will defer to the judgment of the hearing officer insofar as his
assessment of reasonable and necessary fees in the region, and uphold his determination.
We would point out that the while the outcome was successful for carrier, the
nonappearance of the claimant certainly enhanced its chances of a victory. And, aside
from paralegal fees, the fees disallowed by the hearing officer are by and large for secondary
review of documents, for attention to a "possible" continuance, and for preparation of the fee
affidavit. The hearing officer could well have concluded that such services were not
necessary to presentation of the defense's case. We therefore reverse only that portion of
the hearing officer's decision to disallow all paralegal time claimed, and render an approval
for an additional 2.2 hours of paralegal time, or $110.00.
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