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TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 102 PRACTICES AND PROCEDURES--GENERAL PROVISIONS 

RULE §102.2 Gifts, Grants, and Donations 

(a) The commission may accept gifts, grants, and donations made to the Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission as follows:
(1) If the value of a gift or donation is $500 or more, the commissioners must, by a

majority vote at a public meeting, acknowledge the gift or donation, no later than the 
90th day after the date it is accepted. 
(2) The Executive Director may accept a gift or donation on behalf of the commission.

The Executive Director shall report all accepted gifts and donations to the 
commissioners. 
(3) The Commission may accept a grant from the Texas Workers' Compensation

Insurance Fund for the purpose of implementing steps to control and lower medical 
costs in the workers' compensation system and to ensure the delivery of quality medical 
care. The commission must additionally: 

(A) publish the name of the grantor and the purpose and conditions of the grant in
the Texas Register;
(B) provide a 20-day public comment period prior to acceptance of the grant; and
(C) acknowledge acceptance at a public meeting

(4) The Executive Director may accept all other grants on behalf of the Commission and
shall report all accepted grants to the Commissioners. 

(b) The acceptance or acknowledgment of a gift, grant, or donation made in accordance
with subsection (a)(1) or (a)(3) of this section must be reflected in the minutes of the
public meeting at which the gift, grant, or donation was accepted or acknowledged. The
minutes must include the name of the donor/grantor; a description of the gift, grant, or
donation; and a general statement of the purpose for which the gift, grant, or donation
will be used.

(c) The Executive Director shall forward all money or financial instruments received as a
gift, grant, or donation to the Comptroller of Public Accounts, for deposit in the
appropriate commission fund.

(d) The Executive Director shall, where appropriate, convert non-monetary gifts, grants,
and donations to cash.
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(e) A donor may direct the use of the gift, grant, or donation in writing. This direction 
will be followed by the commission, as nearly as practicable, and in accordance with 
state and federal law. 
 
(f) The Commission may not accept a gift or donation of $500 or more from a person 
who is a party to a contested case before the agency until the 30th day after the 
decision in the case becomes final under §2001.144 of the Texas Government Code. For 
purposes of this rule, "contested case" has the meaning assigned by §2001.003 of the 
Texas Government Code. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §102.2 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 6746; amended to be effective December 2, 1997, 22 TexReg 11691; amended 
to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2078 
 
RULE §102.3 Computation of Time 
 
(a) Due dates and time periods under this Act shall be computed as follows: 
  (1) computing a period of days. In counting a period of time measured by days, the 
first day is excluded and the last day is included. 
  (2) computing a period of months. If a number of months is to be computed by 
counting the months from a particular day, the period ends on the same numerical day 
in the concluding month as the day of the month from which the computation is begun, 
unless there are not that many days in the concluding month, in which case the period 
ends on the last day of that month. 
  (3) unless otherwise specified, if the last day of any period is not a working day, the 
period is extended to include the next day that is a working day. 
 
(b) A working day is any day, Monday-Friday, other than a national holiday as defined by 
Texas Government Code, §662.003(a) and the Friday after Thanksgiving Day, December 
24th and December 26th. Use in this title of the term "day," rather than "working day" 
shall mean a calendar day. 
 
(c) Normal business hours in the Texas workers' compensation system are 8:00 a.m. to 
5:00 p.m. Central Standard Time with the exception of the Commission's El Paso field 
office whose normal business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Mountain Standard Time. 
 
(d) Any written or telephonic communications received other than during normal 
business hours on working days are considered received at the beginning of normal 
business hours on the next working day. 
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(e) Unless otherwise specified by rule, any written or telephonic communications 
required to be filed by a specified time will be considered timely only if received prior to 
the end of normal business hours on the last permissible day of filing. 
 
(f) If there is a conflict between this rule and a specific provision of another rule that is 
applicable to a specific type of benefit, the other rule prevails. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §102.3 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 6747; amended to be effective August 29, 1999, 24 TexReg 6488; amended to be 
effective April 28, 2005, 30 TexReg 2396 
 
RULE §102.4 General Rules for Non-Division Communications 

 
(a) All written communications to a claimant (who is either an employee, an employee's 
legal beneficiary, or a subclaimant) must be sent to the most recent address or fax 
number supplied by the claimant. If an address has not been supplied by the claimant, 
the most recent address provided by the employer must be used. 
 
(b) After an insurance carrier, employer, or health care provider is notified in writing 
that a claimant is represented by an attorney or other representative, copies of all 
written communications related to the claim or to the claimant must be mailed or 
delivered to the representative as well as the claimant, unless the claimant requests 
delivery to the representative only. 
 
(c) Insurance carriers must provide a toll-free telephone number for receipt of 
communication from claimants or their representatives with a sufficient quantity of 
lines to service their volume of business. 
 
(d) Insurance carriers and health care providers must provide telephone numbers, fax 
numbers, and email addresses sufficient to service the volume of business for receiving 
required verbal and written communications on workers' compensation claims. 
 
(e) Insurance carriers must ensure effective and timely communication with claimants 
and other parties in the system. If a claimant is unable to communicate with an 
insurance carrier due to a language barrier, and the claimant is unable to provide a 
person that he or she trusts to serve as a translator, the insurance carrier must provide 
a means to translate except as needed for a division proceeding. The claimant must not 
be required to contract with or otherwise employ a translator. 
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(f) When a claimant contacts an insurance carrier and requests a response on their 
claim, the response must be verbally provided or sent in writing by the insurance carrier 
within five working days of receiving the request, unless the request is redundant or the 
response duplicates information previously provided. 
 
(g) Insurance carriers must employ or provide a sufficient number of personnel, 
including adjusters appropriately licensed by the Texas Department of Insurance, to 
meet their obligations under the Act and this title. 
 
(h) Unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, written communications 
will be deemed to have been sent on: 
  (1) the date received if sent by fax, personal delivery, or electronic transmission; or 

(2) the date postmarked if sent by mail through United States Postal Service regular 
mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the 
written communication or the date it was received minus five days. If the date received 
minus five days is a Sunday or legal holiday, the date deemed sent must be the next 
previous day that is not a Sunday or legal holiday. 

 
(i) An insurance carrier must maintain adjuster's notes on activities and verbal 
communications involved with the administration of a claim, with the exception of 
privileged attorney-client communications. The adjuster's notes must, at a minimum, 
include the date of the activity or communication, the identity of the insurance carrier 
staff involved in the contact, the person contacted by or contacting the insurance 
carrier, and a summary of the activity or communication. 
 
(j) An insurance carrier, employer, or health care provider that receives a written 
communication related to a workers' compensation claim must date stamp or 
otherwise note on the document the date the written communication was received. 
 
(k) Written communications include all records, reports, notices, filings, submissions, 
and other information contained either on paper or in an electronic format. 
 
(l) For purposes of this title, if a written communication is required to be filed with both 
the division and another person by the Act or division rules, the other person will be 
presumed to have received the written communication on the date the division 
received its copy, unless the other person noted the date of receipt as provided in 
subsection (j) of this section, or the means of delivery of the communication was 
different. In this situation, the other person has the burden of proving that they did not 
receive or timely receive the written communication. 
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(m) Electronic transmission is defined as transmission of information by fax, electronic 
mail, electronic data interchange (EDI), or any other similar method and does not 
include telephonic communication. 
 
(n) If the division receives an allegation that an insurance carrier or health care provider 
has failed to provide sufficient toll-free telephone numbers, telephone numbers, fax 
numbers, or email addresses, or that an insurance carrier has not provided a sufficient 
number of adjusters as required by this section, unless the violation appears to be 
willful or intentional, the division will not issue a monetary penalty or other sanctions 
before: 
  (1) notifying the alleged violator of the allegation; 
  (2) affording the alleged violator the opportunity to either disprove the allegation or 
provide mitigating information; and 

(3) if the violator is unable to disprove the allegation, issuing a written warning to the 
violator allowing a reasonable grace period of not less than 30 days to correct the 
noncompliance. The grace period may be less than 30 days if the noncompliance 
prevents the violator from fulfilling other obligations under this title. 

 
(o) A violation as described in subsection (n) will be considered willful or intentional if 
the violator has been advised of complaints such that the violator knew or should have 
known that the toll-free telephone numbers, telephone numbers, fax numbers, email 
addresses, or number of adjusters was insufficient, and the violator cannot establish 
that it made good faith efforts to correct the deficiency or if the violator otherwise 
exhibited willful or intentional conduct. 
 
(p) For purposes of determining the date of receipt for non-division written 
communications, unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, the division 
will deem the received date to be five days after the date mailed through United States 
Postal Service regular mail, or the date faxed or electronically transmitted. 
 
(q) This section is effective on adoption. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §102.4 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 114; amended to be effective August 29, 1999, 24 TexReg 6488; amended to be 
effective April 28, 2005, 30 TexReg 2396; amended to be effective March 9, 2022, 47 
TexReg 1093 
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RULE §102.5 General Rules for Written Communications to and from the Division 
 
(a) After the division is notified in writing that a claimant is represented by an attorney 
or other representative, all copies of written communications to the claimant will be sent 
to the representative as well as the claimant. Copies of settlements, notices setting 
benefit review conferences and hearings, and orders of the division will always be sent 
to the claimant regardless of representation status. All written communications to the 
claimant or claimant's representative will be sent to the most recent address or fax 
number supplied on either the employer's first report of injury, any verbal or written 
communication from the claimant, or any claim form filed by the insurance carrier 
through written notice or electronic transmission. 
 
(b) All written communications to people other than insurance carriers and claimants will 
be sent to the most recent address or fax number reported to the division by the 
intended recipient or, in the absence of an address or fax number supplied by the 
intended recipient, to an address or fax number identified by the division. 
 
(c) Unless otherwise specified by rule, written communications required to be filed with 
the division may be sent to the division headquarters or any division field office. 
 
(d) For purposes of determining the date of receipt for written communications sent by 
the division, which require the recipient to perform an action by a specific date after 
receipt unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, the division will deem 
the received date to be the earliest of: five days after the date mailed through United 
States Postal Service regular mail, the first working day after the date the written 
communication was placed in an insurance carrier's Austin representative's electronic 
box, or the date faxed or electronically transmitted as defined in subsection (h) of this 
section. 
 
(e) EDI and other required notices must be filed or submitted in the format, form, and 
manner prescribed by the division under §124.2 of this title (concerning Insurance 
Carrier Notification Requirements), and Chapter 134, Subchapter I of this title 
(concerning Medical Bill Reporting). 
 
(f) Unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, written communications 
received by the division will be deemed to have been sent on: 
  (1) the date received if sent by fax, personal delivery, or electronic transmission; or 

(2) the date postmarked if sent by United States Postal Service regular mail, or, if the 
postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written 
communication or the date it was received minus five days. If the date received minus 
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five days is a Sunday or legal holiday, the date deemed sent will be the next previous 
day that is not a Sunday or legal holiday. 

 
(g) Written communications include all records, reports, notices, filings, submissions, and 
other information contained either on paper or in an electronic format. 
 
(h) Electronic transmission is defined as transmission of information by fax, electronic 
mail, EDI, or any other similar method and does not include telephonic communication. 
 
(i) Subsection (e) is effective July 26, 2023. All other subsections are effective on 
adoption. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §102.5 adopted to be effective July 29, 1991, 16 
TexReg 3939; amended to be effective March 15, 1995, 20 TexReg 1418; amended to be 
effective August 29, 1999, 24 TexReg 6488; amended to be effective April 28, 2005, 30 
TexReg 2396; amended to be effective March 9, 2022, 47 TexReg 1093 
 
RULE §102.7 Abbreviations 
 
When used in this title, the following terms may be abbreviated as follows: 
  (1) Additional Lost Time - ALT; 
  (2) Average Weekly Wage - AWW; 
  (3) Benefit Review Conference - BRC; 
  (4) Contested Case Hearing (also Benefit Contested Case Hearing) - CCH. 
  (5) Death Benefits - DBs; 
  (6) Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation - division or 
DWC; 
  (7) Electronic Data Interchange - EDI 
  (8) Health Care Provider - provider or HCP; 
  (9) Impairment Income Benefits - IIBs; 
  (10) Impairment Rating - IR; 
  (11) Injured Employee - employee; 
  (12) Insurance Carrier - carrier; 
  (13) Lifetime Income Benefits - LIBs; 
  (14) Maximum Medical Improvement - MMI; 
  (15) Office of Injured Employee Counsel - OIEC; 
  (16) Post Injury Earnings (also Weekly Earnings After the Injury) - PIE; 
  (17) Required Medical Exam - RME; 
  (18) Return to Work - RTW; 
  (19) Supplemental Income Benefits - SIBs; 
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  (20) Temporary Income Benefits - TIBs; 
  (21) Texas Workers' Compensation Act - the Act or the Statute; and 
  (22) Texas Workers' Compensation Commission - TWCC or the Commission. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §102.7 adopted to be effective August 29, 1999, 24 
TexReg 6488; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 98 
 
RULE §102.8 Information Requested on Written Communications to the Division 
 
(a) Unless the division-prescribed form, format, or manner of a written communication 
specifies otherwise, all written communications to the division about an injured 
employee or claim for benefits must include the following information, if known: 
  (1) the injured employee's full name, date of injury, address, and Social Security 
number. If no Social Security number has been assigned, insert the numerical digits 
"999" followed by the claimant's birth date or if unknown, the claimant's date of injury 
listed by the month, day, and year (MMDDYY). Do not use "999" in place of a valid Social 
Security number to meet timeliness of reporting requirements; 
  (2) the name and address of the claimant, if other than the injured employee; 
  (3) the workers' compensation number assigned to the claim by the division; 
  (4) the employer's name and address; 
  (5) the employer's Federal Employer's Identification Number; 
  (6) the insurance carrier's name; 
  (7) the insurance carrier's policy number; and 

(8) the insurance carrier's claim number. 
 

(b) Written communications filed by claim EDI under §124.2 of this title (concerning 
Insurance Carrier Notification Requirements) must comply with the requirements of 
Chapter 124, Subchapter B of this title (concerning Insurance Carrier Claim Electronic 
Data Interchange Reporting to the Division). 
 
(c) Subsection (a) is effective on adoption. Subsection (b) is effective July 26, 2023. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §102.8 adopted to be effective October 1, 1992, 17 
TexReg 6361; amended to be effective March 15, 1995, 20 TexReg 1418; amended to be 
effective August 29, 1999, 24 TexReg 6488; amended to be effective December 12, 2013, 
38 TexReg 8910; amended to be effective March 9, 2022, 47 TexReg 1093 
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RULE §102.9 Submission of Information Requested by the Commission 
 
(a) In addition to information required by the Act or Commission rules, the Commission 
shall require those subject to the Act to provide information at such times and in such 
manner and format as necessary to effectively and efficiently administer the Act or 
Commission rules. This request for information shall: 
  (1) be communicated by telephone, electronically, or in writing; 
  (2) inform the participant of: 
    (A) where the information is to be sent; 
    (B) when the information must be submitted; and 
    (C) the specific information to be submitted. 
 
(b) If the request for information is communicated by telephone, the request must be 
followed up in writing before any order is issued pursuant to subsection (e) of this 
section. 
 
(c) Upon receipt of the request for information from the Commission, those subject to 
the Act will have a reasonable period of time to provide the requested information to 
the Commission considering factors that include: 
  (1) accessibility of the information; 
  (2) amount of information requested; 
  (3) any other circumstances affecting the person's ability to supply the requested 
information, such as the format in which the information is required to be provided. 
 
(d) In the absence of an emergency, the reasonable period for responding to the 
request for information shall not be less than one day if the requested information is 
needed to administer a benefit issue on a claim. For other requested information, the 
reasonable period for response shall not be less than three working days. 
(e) Failure to provide the information may result in a written order requested and issued 
by staff designated by the Executive Director to issue an order to produce the 
information. The written order shall be mailed through certified mail, return receipt 
requested, sent by personal delivery with receipt acknowledged, or for a carrier, placed 
in an Austin Representative Box with receipt acknowledged. A person receiving a written 
communication from the Commission which requests receipt acknowledgment shall 
accept and acknowledge receipt including the date of receipt in the manner prescribed 
by the Commission. 
(f) Nothing in this section limits the authority of the Executive Director to enter orders 
pursuant to the Act. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §102.9 adopted to be effective April 1, 1993, 18 
TexReg 1357; amended to be effective March 15, 1995, 20 TexReg 1418; amended to be 
effective August 29, 1999, 24 TexReg 6488 
 
RULE §102.10 Interest, General 
 
Unless otherwise specified by law, the term "interest" when applied to workers' 
compensation benefits shall mean simple interest (interest computed on the same 
amount of principal for each interest period). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §102.10 adopted to be effective March 14, 2001, 26 
TexReg 2031 
 
RULE §102.11 Electronic Formats for Electronic Claim Data Request and Report 
 
(a) The Division prescribes standard electronic formats by utilizing implementation 
guides for data requests and data reports for the purpose of exchanging data between 
the Division and insurance carriers, as defined in Labor Code §402.084. 
 
(b) In this section, the following definitions apply: 
  (1) Claim Data Request and Report Implementation Guide (Guide)--The division 
specification document for the Claim Data Request and the Claim Data Report that 
defines specific data requirements, data set transactions, data mapping, data edits, and 
fees per record available at www.tdi.texas.gov/wc. 
  (2) Claim Data Report--The electronic report generated by the Division in the format 
specified by the Guide. The report contains data for claims meeting confidence match 
criteria defined in the Guide. 
  (3) Claim Data Request--The electronic request submitted by a requester in the format 
specified by the Division in the Guide. 
  (4) Record--An electronic representation of one insured person containing a set of 
unique identifiers including the full name, date of birth, gender, and social security 
number, if available. Each set of individual identifiers included in a Claim Data Request 
represents a separate record. 

(5) Requester--An insurance carrier that has adopted an antifraud plan under Labor 
Code §402.084(b)(8) and qualifies as an insurance carrier under Labor Code §402.084(c-
1) or its authorized representative. 

 
(c) A Claim Data Request must contain the following elements: 
  (1) all fields required in the applicable Guide as defined in subsection (b) of this 
section; 
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  (2) complete, current, and correct values as described in the applicable Guide; and 
(3) records of persons who are or were valid members of the requesters' benefit 

programs and whose claims may be related to a workers' compensation claim. 
 

(d) A Claim Data Report must contain: 
  (1) all fields required in the applicable Guide; and 

(2) complete, current, and correct values as described in the applicable Guide. 
 

(e) A Claim Data Request may be submitted by a requester. 
 
(f) The Division will match the records submitted by a requester against the Division's 
claim data using a matching methodology published in the Guide. The search will 
include all claims on record with the Division relating to injuries sustained on or after 
September 1, 2002. For each record submitted, the Division will report: 
  (1) the existence of a positive match with one or more workers' compensation claims; 
or 

(2) the failure to match the record to any recorded workers' compensation claim. 
 

(g) File transfers between requesters and the Division shall be sent using secured file 
transfer protocol (SFTP) with access controlled by a unique username and password. 
 
(h) The data shall not be shared or disclosed to any other person or entity, except as 
necessary to document and pursue reimbursement with the appropriate workers' 
compensation carrier or claims administrator or through Division dispute resolution 
procedures. Requesters shall destroy all electronic or paper records related to Claim 
Data Requests that are not needed to pursue subclaimant status or recovery of 
reimbursement by an insurance carrier as defined by Labor Code §402.084(c-1). 
 
(i) A requester may submit a Claim Data Request once every 30 days for each covered 
individual. 
 
(j) Unless waived by the Division, the requester shall pay to the Division a fee for each 
record included in a request. The fee will be established in the Guide, but shall be no 
more than $.05 for each record included in the Claim Data Request. Claim Data Requests 
that include previously submitted requests for records would also be charged a fee of 
up to $.05 for each record. 
 
(k) Prior to submitting a Claim Data Request, the requester shall execute a trading 
partner agreement with the Division in the form and manner prescribed by the Division. 
The trading partner agreement shall contain: 
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  (1) a statement that the requester agrees to abide by all applicable federal and state 
laws and regulations; 
  (2) an agreement to submit only names and identifying information related to bona 
fide beneficiaries of the requester's benefit plans; 
  (3) an agreement to comply with Division standards for secure transfer and storage of 
workers' compensation claim information; 
  (4) an agreement to comply with Division standards regarding the confidentiality of 
workers' compensation claim information and the approved uses of that information; 
and 

(5) an agreement to pay applicable fees. 
 

(l) After a match of a record has been determined, the information may be used by the 
requester as the basis for identification and filing of a subclaim under Labor Code 
§409.009. When a match has been determined and a subclaim filed, the requester shall 
contact the injured employee who received the health care and is the subject of the 
subclaim. The requester shall provide the injured employee written notice, which 
includes the following: 
  (1) the name of the subclaimant; 
  (2) the dates of service; 
  (3) the name of the injured employee; 
  (4) a statement declaring, "As the injured employee in this matter, you will receive 
notice of all proceedings related to this matter and may participate in those 
proceedings. To determine whether to take any action in this matter, you may wish to 
consult with an attorney. You can also contact the Office of Injured Employee Counsel 
(OIEC) for ombudsman assistance."; and 

(5) the phone number and website address of OIEC. 
 

Source Note: The provisions of this §102.11 adopted to be effective December 31, 2006, 
31 TexReg 10310; amended to be effective March 14, 2023, 48 TexReg 1450 
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TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 104 GENERAL PROVISIONS--RULE-MAKING 

RULE §104.1 Contents of Rulemaking Petitions 

(a) Changes or additions to the Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, Part 2 may be
petitioned by an interested person under Government Code, §2001.021(d). Rulemaking
petitions shall be in the form of a letter that contains the following:
(1) a brief statement summarizing the proposed section;
(2) the text of the proposed section, in the exact form proposed for adoption;
(3) a statement setting forth the statutory reference that authorizes the proposed rule;
(4) a suggested effective date;
(5) any other matter which may be required by law;
(6) the petitioner's name, mailing address, and telephone number; and
(7) a statement that the petitioner is an interested person under Government Code,

§2001.021(d).

(b) The petitioner may also include a cost-benefit analysis, estimating the public benefit
expected as a result of adoption of the proposed section, and the probable economic
cost to persons required to comply with the proposed section. This provision is optional.

(c) The petition shall be filed with the commissioner by personal delivery, certified mail,
or by email to rulecomments@tdi.texas.gov.

(d) Within 60 days after the petition is submitted, the division shall either initiate
rulemaking procedures, or shall deny the petition and provide the petitioner with
reasons for denial in writing.

Source Note: The provisions of this §104.1 adopted to be effective March 18, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1366; amended to be effective March 10, 2016, 41 TexReg 1711 

Updated January 4, 2024 13

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=2&ti=28
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=3&ti=28&pt=2
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=28&pt=2&ch=104&rl=Y
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=104&rl=1


TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 109 WORKERS' COMPENSATION COVERAGE FOR STATE 

EMPLOYEES 

RULE §109.1 State Agencies: General Provisions 

(a) In administering and enforcing the applicable provisions of the Texas Labor Code as
set out in §501.002, a state agency shall act in the capacity of employer.

(b) In administering and enforcing the applicable provisions of the Texas Labor Code as
set out in §501.002, the State Office of Risk Management shall act in the capacity of
insurance carrier.

(c) As an employer, each state agency shall file, in the form and manner prescribed by
the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission (commission), a single administrative
address with the commission for the purpose of administering workers' compensation
claims. All workers' compensation claim notices or written communications to the
agency as an employer will be sent to the agency's single administrative address, unless
otherwise specified by rule. When the state agency's single administrative address
changes, the sate agency shall submit the new address at least 30 days prior to the
change, in the form and manner prescribed by the commission.

Source Note: The provisions of this §109.1 adopted to be effective February 2, 1996, 21 
TexReg 511; amended to be effective October 9, 2002, 27 TexReg 9348 
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TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 110 REQUIRED NOTICES OF COVERAGE 

SUBCHAPTER A CARRIER NOTICES 

RULE §110.1 Insurance Carrier Requirements for Notifying the Division of 
Insurance Coverage 

(a) An approved workers' compensation insurance policy, as referenced in Labor Code
§401.011(44)(A), includes a binder, which serves as evidence of a temporary agreement
that legally provides workers' compensation insurance coverage until the approved
insurance policy is issued or the binder is canceled.

(b) As used in this section, "workers' compensation insurance coverage information"
includes information regarding whether or not an employer has workers' compensation
insurance coverage and, if so, information about the method of workers' compensation
insurance coverage used.

(c) This rule applies to an insurance company, certified self-insurer, workers'
compensation self-insurance group under Labor Code Chapter 407A, and a political
subdivision. Certified Self-Insurers are also subject to requirements specified in Chapter
114 of this title (relating to Self-Insurance). Self-Insurance Groups are also subject to
requirements specified in Chapter 5, Subchapter G, Division 2 of this title (relating to
Group Self-Insurance Coverage). Self-insured political subdivisions are also subject to
requirements specified in §110.7 of this title (relating to Self-Insured Political Subdivision
Requirements for Notifying the Division of Election to Provide Medical Benefits).

(d) An insurance company, certified self-insurer, workers' compensation self-insurance
group under Labor Code Chapter 407A, and a political subdivision shall submit to the
division, or its designee, workers' compensation insurance coverage information in the
form and manner prescribed by the division. The division may designate and contract
with a data collection agency to collect and maintain insurance coverage information.

(e) Workers' compensation insurance coverage information for insured Texas employers
shall be provided to the division in accordance with subsection (d) of this rule as follows:
(1) by the insurance company, certified self-insurer, workers' compensation self-

insurance group under Labor Code Chapter 407A, and political subdivision, within 10 
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days after the effective date of coverage or endorsement and annually thereafter no 
later than 10 days after the anniversary date of coverage; 
(2) by the insurance company, 30 days prior to the date on which cancellation or non-

renewal becomes effective if the insurance company cancels the workers' compensation 
insurance coverage, does not renew the workers' compensation insurance coverage on 
the anniversary date, or cancels a binder before it issues a workers' compensation 
insurance policy; 
(3) by the insurance company, 10 days prior to the date on which the cancellation

becomes effective if the insurance company cancels an employer's workers' 
compensation insurance coverage in accordance with Labor Code, §406.008(a)(2); or 
(4) by the insurance company, within 10 days after receiving notice of the effective date

of termination from the covered employer because the employer switched workers' 
compensation insurance carriers. 

(f) Cancellation or non-renewal of a workers' compensation insurance policy by an
insurance company takes effect on the later of:
(1) the end of the workers' compensation insurance policy period; or
(2) the date the division and the employer receive the notification from the insurance

company of coverage cancellation or non-renewal and the later of: 
(A) the date 30 days after receipt of the notice required by Labor Code, §406.008(a)(1);
(B) the date 10 days after receipt of the notice required by Labor Code, §406.008(a)(2);

or 
(C) the effective date of the cancellation if later than the date in paragraph (1) or (2)

of this subsection. 

(g) "Claim administration contact" as it applies to this chapter is the person responsible
for identifying or confirming an employer's coverage information with the division. An
insurance company, a certified self-insurer, a workers' compensation self-insurance
group under Labor Code Chapter 407A, and a political subdivision shall file a notice with
the division of their designated claim administration contact not later than the 10th day
after the date on which the coverage or claim administration agreement takes effect. A
single administration address for the purpose of identifying or confirming an employer's
coverage status shall be provided. If the single claims administration contact address
changes, the new address shall be provided to the division at least 30 days in advance of
the change taking effect. This information shall be filed in the form and manner
prescribed by the division.

(h) An insurance company, certified self-insurer, workers' compensation self-insurance
group under Labor Code Chapter 407A, and a political subdivision may elect to have a
servicing agent process and file all coverage information, but the insurance company,
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certified self-insurer, workers' compensation self-insurance group under Labor Code 
Chapter 407A, or political subdivision remains responsible for meeting all filing 
requirements of this rule. 

(i) Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section, if an employer switches workers'
compensation insurance carriers, the original policy is considered canceled as of the
date the new coverage takes effect. Employers shall notify the prior insurance carrier of
the cancellation date of the original policy, in writing, within 10 days of the effective
date.

(j) This section is effective January 1, 2013.

Source Note: The provisions of this §110.1 adopted to be effective September 15, 1993, 
18 TexReg 5884; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2080; amended to 
be effective June 5, 2003, 28 TexReg 4284; amended to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 5577 

RULE §110.7 Self-Insured Political Subdivision Requirements for Notifying the 
Division of Election to Provide Medical Benefits 

(a) A health plan, for purposes of this section, is defined as a political subdivision
contracting with health care providers under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2).

(b) A political subdivision as defined by Labor Code §504.001(3) that self-insures either
individually or collectively and that pursuant to Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) elects to
provide medical benefits to its injured employees by directly contracting with health
care providers or by contracting through a health benefits pool established under Local
Government Code Chapter 172 shall provide to the division notice of the method by
which its employees will receive medical benefits. Political subdivisions are also subject
to requirements specified in §110.1 of this title (relating to Insurance Carrier
Requirements for Notifying the Division of Insurance Coverage).

(c) The notice of the method by which its employees will receive medical benefits
required by subsection (b) of this section shall be filed with the division in writing or
electronically and in the form and manner prescribed by the division. The notice shall
include:
(1) the name, address, and the federal employer identification number (FEIN) of the

political subdivision; 
(2) the political subdivision's contact information;
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(3) the name of the health plan elected under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) for the
political subdivision; 
(4) the contact information for the health plan elected under Labor Code

§504.053(b)(2); and
(5) the beginning and ending date(s) of the election under subsection (b) of this

section, as applicable. 

(d) A self-insured political subdivision that provides medical benefits to its injured
employees in the manner described by Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) as of the effective
date of this section shall provide the notice required by this section not later than
December 31, 2012.

(e) A self-insured political subdivision that begins to provide medical benefits to its
injured employees in the manner described by Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) after the
effective date of this section shall provide the notice required by this section not later
than the 30th day after the date the political subdivision begins to provide the medical
benefits in that manner.

(f) A self-insured political subdivision shall notify the division of any change in any
information required by this section not later than the 30th day after the date of the
change.

Source Note: The provisions of this §110.7 adopted to be effective August 2, 2012, 37 
TexReg 5577 

SUBCHAPTER B EMPLOYER NOTICES 

RULE §110.101 Covered and Non-Covered Employer Notices to Employees 

(a) In addition to the posted notice required by subsection (e) of this section, employers,
as defined by Labor Code §406.001, shall notify their employees of workers'
compensation insurance coverage status, in writing. This additional notice:
(1) shall be provided at the time an employee is hired, meaning when the employee is

required by federal law to complete both a W-4 form and an I-9 form or when a break 
in service has occurred and the employee is required by federal law to complete a W-4 
form on the first day the employee reports back to duty; 
(2) shall be provided to each employee, by an employer whose workers' compensation

insurance coverage is terminated or cancelled, not later than the 15th day after the date 
on which the termination or cancellation of coverage takes effect; 
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(3) shall be provided to each employee, by an employer who obtains workers'
compensation insurance coverage, not later than the 15th day after the date on which 
coverage takes effect, as necessary to allow the employee to elect to retain common law 
rights under Labor Code Chapter 406; 
(4) shall include the text required in the posted notice; and
(5) if the employer is covered by workers' compensation insurance (subscriber) or

becomes covered, whether by commercial insurance or through self-insurance as 
provided by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (Act), shall include the following 
statement: "You may elect to retain your common law right of action if, no later than five 
days after you begin employment or within five days after receiving written notice from 
the employer that the employer has obtained workers' compensation insurance 
coverage, you notify your employer in writing that you wish to retain your common law 
right to recover damages for personal injury. If you elect to retain your common law 
right of action, you cannot obtain workers' compensation income or medical benefits if 
you are injured." 

(b) Notices required to be posted by this rule shall be posted:
(1) by the non-subscribing employer as provided in subsection (c) of this section;
(2) by the employer who is terminating workers' compensation insurance coverage, at

the time the employer's termination of coverage takes effect, unless a new policy will 
maintain continuous coverage in which case the employees will be notified at the time 
the new workers' compensation insurance policy takes effect; 
(3) by the self-insurer as provided by the Act, who is withdrawing from self-insurance,

at the time the withdrawal takes effect; 
(4) by the employer who becomes covered either by a workers' compensation

insurance policy or through self-insurance as provided by the Act, at the time coverage 
or certification takes effect; and 
(5) by the employer whose workers' compensation insurance policy is canceled by the

insurance carrier, at the time the cancellation becomes effective if no new workers' 
compensation insurance policy is obtained. 

(c) On or after the effective date of this rule, notices shall contain the specific text
required by this rule. Any time the information regarding workers' compensation
insurance coverage status, insurance carrier, or third party administrator changes, the
notice shall be updated to reflect current information.

(d) An employer who recruits an employee in Texas to perform services outside of Texas,
actually hires outside of Texas, and has notices of workers' compensation insurance
coverage posted conspicuously at the place of hire and at the business location where
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the employee will perform services, is not required to provide the additional notice 
required in subsection (a) of this section to the employee. 
 
(e) Employers shall post notices in the workplace to inform employees about workers' 
compensation issues as required by this rule. These notices shall be posted in the 
personnel office, if the employer has a personnel office, and in the workplace where 
each employee is likely to see the notice on a regular basis. The notices shall be printed 
with a title in at least 26 point bold type, subject in at least 18 point bold type, and text 
in at least 16 point normal type, and shall include ENGLISH, SPANISH, and any other 
LANGUAGE common to the employer's employee population. The text for the notices 
shall be the text provided by the division on the sample notice without any additional 
words or changes. 
  (1) Employers insured through a commercial insurance company shall post the 
following notice: 
Attached Graphic 
  (2) Employers who become certified self-insurers under Labor Code Chapter 407 shall 
post the following notice: 
Attached Graphic 
  (3) Employers who are a member of a self-insurance group under Labor Code Chapter 
407A shall post the following notice: 
Attached Graphic 
  (4) Employers who are not covered by workers' compensation (non-subscriber) shall 
post the following notice: 
Attached Graphic 
 
(f) Failure to post or to provide notice as required in this rule is an administrative 
violation. 
 
(g) This section is effective January 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §110.101 adopted to be effective January 1, 1994, 
18 TexReg 9195; amended to be effective August 1, 2000, 25 TexReg 3986; amended to 
be effective January 1, 2013, 37 TexReg 5577 
 
RULE §110.103 Employer Requirements for Notifying the Division of Non-
Coverage 
 
(a) Applicability. This subsection applies to notices required to be submitted by non-
subscribing employers to the division before January 1, 2013. An employer, as defined 
by Labor Code §406.001, that does not have workers' compensation insurance coverage 
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(non-subscriber) and whose employees are not exempt from coverage under the 
Workers' Compensation Act (Act) shall provide the division a notice of non-coverage, in 
the form and manner prescribed by the division. The notice required by this subsection 
shall be provided, the earlier of the following: 
  (1) 30 days after receiving a division request for the filing of a notice of non-coverage 
and annually thereafter on the anniversary date of the original filing; or 
  (2) 30 days after hiring an employee who is subject to coverage under the Act, and 
annually thereafter on the anniversary date of the original filing. 
 
(b) Applicability. This subsection applies to notices required to be submitted by non-
subscribing employers to the division on or after January 1, 2013. 
  (1) A non-subscriber whose employees are not exempt from workers' compensation 
insurance coverage under the Act shall submit a notice of non-coverage to the division 
annually between February 1st and not later than April 30th of each calendar year. The 
period of the notice shall cover from May 1st of the same year the notice is submitted 
through the end of April of the subsequent year. 
  (2) In addition to the notice required by paragraph (1) of this subsection, a non-
subscriber shall submit to the division a notice of non-coverage not later than the 30th 
day after the date the employer hired its first employee who is subject to coverage 
under the Act, unless this due date falls within the same time period described by 
paragraph (1) of this subsection and the employer submits the notice within that time 
period. A non-subscriber shall also provide the division with a notice of non-coverage 
not later than the 10th day after receipt of a division request for the information. 
  (3) The notices required by paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection shall be filed with 
the division in writing or electronically in the form and manner prescribed by the 
division and shall contain: 
    (A) a statement that the employer does not have workers' compensation insurance 
coverage; 
    (B) a statement of whether the employer had a death, injuries that resulted in the 
injured employee's absence from work for more than one day, or knowledge of an 
occupational disease since the last report of no coverage; 
    (C) the employer's business name; 
    (D) the federal employer identification number (FEIN); 
    (E) the employer's business mailing address; 
    (F) the employer's business type; 
    (G) the employer's North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code(s); 
    (H) additional business locations (including name, FEIN, and address concerning each 
additional location); and 
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    (I) the date the form was completed and the name, title, telephone number, email 
address, and signature of the person providing the information required by this 
subsection. 
 
(c) Employers are responsible for timely and accurate notice under this section. A notice 
required by this section is considered filed with the division only when it accurately 
contains all of the data elements specified under subsection (b) of this section and is 
received by the division. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §110.103 adopted to be effective August 2, 2012, 37 
TexReg 5577 
 
RULE §110.105 Employer Requirements for Notifying the Division of Termination 
of Coverage 
 
(a) An employer, as defined by Labor Code §406.001, who terminates workers' 
compensation insurance coverage shall file written notice of the termination of coverage 
with the division not later than the 10th day after the date on which the employer 
notified the insurance carrier under Labor Code §406.007 to terminate the coverage. 
 
(b) The employer shall file the notice of termination required by subsection (a) of this 
section in the form and manner prescribed by the division. The notice shall contain: 
  (1) a statement of no workers' compensation insurance coverage, including policy 
termination effective date, policy number, insurance company name, date the 
termination notice was sent to the insurance company, and date employees were or will 
be notified; 
  (2) a statement of whether the employer had a death, injuries that resulted in the 
injured employee's absence from work for more than one day, or knowledge of an 
occupational disease since the last report of no coverage; 
  (3) the employer business name; 
  (4) the federal employer identification number (FEIN); 
  (5) the employer's business mailing address; 
  (6) the employer's business type; 
  (7) the employer's North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code; 
  (8) additional business locations (including name, FEIN, and address concerning each 
additional location); and 
  (9) the signature date and the name, title, telephone number, email address, and 
signature of the person providing the information required by this subsection. 
 
(c) Termination of coverage by an employer takes effect on the later of: 
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  (1) the 30th day after the date of filing the notice with the division under this section; 
or 
  (2) the cancellation date of the policy. 
 
(d) Coverage shall be extended until the date on which the termination of coverage 
takes effect and the employer is obligated for premiums due for that period. 
 
(e) Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section, if an employer switches 
workers' compensation insurance carriers, the original policy is considered canceled as 
of the date the new coverage takes effect. Employers shall notify the prior insurance 
carrier of the cancellation date of the original policy, in writing, within 10 days of the 
effective date. 
 
(f) This section is effective January 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §110.105 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 
37 TexReg 5577; amended to be effective April 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 2150 
 
RULE §110.108 Employer Notice Regarding Work-Related Exposure to 
Communicable Disease/HIV: Posting Requirements; Payment for Tests 
 
(a) Each employer covered by workers' compensation insurance, including state and 
political subdivision employers, which employ emergency medical service employees, 
paramedics, fire fighters, law enforcement officers or correctional officers must post the 
notice contained in subsection (d) of this section, in its workplace to inform employees 
about Health and Safety Code requirements which may affect qualifying for workers' 
compensation benefits following a work-related exposure to a reportable communicable 
disease. The notice shall be posted in the personnel office, if the employer has a 
personnel office, and in the workplace where employees are likely to read the notice on 
a regular basis. Specific guidance for employers and employees covered by this 
subsection is found in §122.3 of this title (relating to Exposure to Communicable 
Diseases: Reporting and Testing Requirements for Emergency Responders). 
 
(b) Each state agency must post the notice contained in subsection (d) of this section, in 
its workplace to inform employees about requirements which may affect qualifying for 
workers' compensation benefits following a work-related exposure to human 
immunodeficiency virus (HIV). The notice shall be posted in the personnel office and in 
the workplace where employees are likely to read the notice on a regular basis. Specific 
guidance for state employers and employees covered by this subsection is found in 
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§122.4 of this title (relating to State Employees: Exposed to Human Immunodeficiency 
Virus (HIV): Reporting and Testing Requirements). 
 
(c) The cost of testing for exposure to a reportable communicable disease for 
emergency medical service employees, paramedics, fire fighters, law enforcement 
officers and correctional officers shall be paid by the employer's workers' compensation 
insurance carrier, including state and political subdivision employers. 
 
(d) The following notice shall be printed with a title in at least 15 point bold type and 
the text in at least 14 point normal type, in English and Spanish or in English and any 
other language common to the employer's affected employee population. The text of 
the notice shall be as follows without any additional words or changes: 
Attached Graphic 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §110.108 adopted to be effective October 15, 1997, 
22 TexReg 9678; amended to be effective December 14, 2015, 40 TexReg 8899 
 
RULE §110.110 Reporting Requirements for Building or Construction Projects for 
Governmental Entities 
 
(a) The following words and terms, when used in this rule, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. Terms not defined in this rule 
shall have the meaning defined in the Texas Labor Code, if so defined. 
  (1) Certificate of coverage (certificate)--A copy of a certificate of insurance, a certificate 
of authority to self-insure issued by the division, or a workers' compensation coverage 
agreement (DWC Form-81, DWC Form-82, DWC Form-83, or DWC Form-84), showing 
statutory workers' compensation insurance coverage for the person's or entity's 
employees (including those subject to a coverage agreement) providing services on a 
project, for the duration of the project. 
  (2) Building or construction--Has the meaning defined in the Texas Labor Code, 
§406.096(e)(1). 
  (3) Contractor--A person bidding for or awarded a building or construction project by 
a governmental entity. 
  (4) Coverage--Workers' compensation insurance meeting the statutory requirements of 
the Texas Labor Code, §401.011(44). 
  (5) Coverage agreement--A written agreement on DWC Form-81, DWC Form-82, DWC 
Form-83, or DWC Form-84, filed with the Division of Workers' Compensation which 
establishes a relationship between the parties for purposes of the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act, pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, Chapter 406, Subchapters F and 
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G, as one of employer/employee and establishes who will be responsible for providing 
workers' compensation coverage for persons providing services on the project. 
  (6) Duration of the project--Includes the time from the beginning of work on the 
project until the work on the project has been completed and accepted by the 
governmental entity. 
  (7) Persons providing services on the project ("subcontractor" in §406.096 of the Act)--
With the exception of persons excluded under subsections (h) and (i) of this section, 
includes all persons or entities performing all or part of the services the contractor has 
undertaken to perform on the project, regardless of whether that person contracted 
directly with the contractor and regardless of whether that person has employees. This 
includes but is not limited to independent contractors, subcontractors, leasing 
companies, motor carriers, owner-operators, employees of any such entity, or 
employees of any entity furnishing persons to perform services on the project. "Services" 
includes but is not limited to providing, hauling, or delivering equipment or materials, or 
providing labor, transportation, or other service related to a project. "Services" does not 
include activities unrelated to the project, such as food/beverage vendors, office supply 
deliveries, and delivery of portable toilets. 
  (8) Project--Includes the provision of all services related to a building or construction 
contract for a governmental entity. 
 
(b) Providing or causing to be provided a certificate of coverage pursuant to this rule is 
a representation by the insured that all employees of the insured who are providing 
services on the project are covered by workers' compensation coverage, that the 
coverage is based on proper reporting of classification codes and payroll amounts, and 
that all coverage agreements have been filed with the appropriate insurance carrier or, 
in the case of a self-insured, with the division. Providing false or misleading certificates 
of coverage, or failing to provide or maintain required coverage, or failing to report any 
change that materially affects the provision of coverage may subject the contractor or 
other person providing services on the project to administrative penalties, criminal 
penalties, civil penalties, or other civil actions. 
 
(c) A governmental entity that enters into a building or construction contract on a 
project shall: 
  (1) include in the bid specifications, all the provisions of paragraph (7) of this 
subsection, using the language required by paragraph (7) of this subsection; 
  (2) as part of the contract, using the language required by paragraph (7) of this 
subsection, require the contractor to perform as required in subsection (d) of this 
section; 
  (3) obtain from the contractor a certificate of coverage for each person providing 
services on the project, prior to that person beginning work on the project; 
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  (4) obtain from the contractor a new certificate of coverage showing extension of 
coverage: 
    (A) before the end of the current coverage period, if the contractor's current 
certificate of coverage shows that the coverage period ends during the duration of the 
project; and 
    (B) no later than seven days after the expiration of the coverage for each other person 
providing services on the project whose current certificate shows that the coverage 
period ends during the duration of the project; 
  (5) retain certificates of coverage on file for the duration of the project and for three 
years thereafter; 
  (6) provide a copy of the certificates of coverage to the division upon request and to 
any person entitled to them by law; and 
  (7) use the language contained in the following figure for bid specifications and 
contracts, without any additional words or changes, except those required to 
accommodate the specific document in which they are contained or to impose stricter 
standards of documentation: 
Attached Graphic 
 
(d) A contractor shall: 
  (1) provide coverage for its employees providing services on a project, for the duration 
of the project based on proper reporting of classification codes and payroll amounts 
and filing of any coverage agreements; 
  (2) provide a certificate of coverage showing workers' compensation coverage to the 
governmental entity prior to beginning work on the project; 
  (3) provide the governmental entity, prior to the end of the coverage period, a new 
certificate of coverage showing extension of coverage, if the coverage period shown on 
the contractor's current certificate of coverage ends during the duration of the project; 
  (4) obtain from each person providing services on a project, and provide to the 
governmental entity: 
    (A) a certificate of coverage, prior to that person beginning work on the project, so 
the governmental entity will have on file certificates of coverage showing coverage for 
all persons providing services on the project; and 
    (B) no later than seven days after receipt by the contractor, a new certificate of 
coverage showing extension of coverage, if the coverage period shown on the current 
certificate of coverage ends during the duration of the project; 
  (5) retain all required certificates of coverage on file for the duration of the project and 
for one year thereafter; 
  (6) notify the governmental entity in writing by certified mail or personal delivery, 
within ten days after the contractor knew or should have known, of any change that 
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materially affects the provision of coverage of any person providing services on the 
project; 
  (7) post a notice on each project site informing all persons providing services on the 
project that they are required to be covered, and stating how a person may verify 
current coverage and report failure to provide coverage. This notice does not satisfy 
other posting requirements imposed by the Act or other division rules. This notice must 
be printed with a title in at least 30 point bold type and text in at least 19 point normal 
type, and shall be in both English and Spanish and any other language common to the 
worker population. The text for the notices shall be the following text provided by the 
division on the sample notice, without any additional words or changes: 
Attached Graphic 
  (8) contractually require each person with whom it contracts to provide services on a 
project to: 
    (A) provide coverage based on proper reporting of classification codes and payroll 
amounts and filing of any coverage agreements for all of its employees providing 
services on the project, for the duration of the project; 
    (B) provide a certificate of coverage to the contractor prior to that person beginning 
work on the project; 
    (C) include in all contracts to provide services on the project the language in 
subsection (e)(3) of this section; 
    (D) provide the contractor, prior to the end of the coverage period, a new certificate 
of coverage showing extension of coverage, if the coverage period shown on the 
current certificate of coverage ends during the duration of the project; 
    (E) obtain from each other person with whom it contracts, and provide to the 
contractor: 
      (i) a certificate of coverage, prior to the other person beginning work on the project; 
and 
      (ii) prior to the end of the coverage period, a new certificate of coverage showing 
extension of the coverage period, if the coverage period shown on the current certificate 
of coverage ends during the duration of the project; 
    (F) retain all required certificates of coverage on file for the duration of the project 
and for one year thereafter; 
    (G) notify the governmental entity in writing by certified mail or personal delivery, 
within ten days after the person knew or should have known, of any change that 
materially affects the provision of coverage of any person providing services on the 
project; and 
    (H) contractually require each other person with whom it contracts, to perform as 
required by subparagraphs (A) - (H) of this paragraph, with the certificate of coverage to 
be provided to the person for whom they are providing services. 
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(e) A person providing services on a project, other than a contractor, shall: 
  (1) provide coverage for its employees providing services on a project, for the duration 
of the project based on proper reporting of classification codes and payroll amounts 
and filing of any coverage agreements; 
  (2) provide a certificate of coverage as required by its contract to provide services on 
the project, prior to beginning work on the project; 
  (3) have the following language in its contract to provide services on the project: "By 
signing this contract or providing or causing to be provided a certificate of coverage, 
the person signing this contract is representing to the governmental entity that all 
employees of the person signing this contract who will provide services on the project 
will be covered by workers' compensation coverage for the duration of the project, that 
the coverage will be based on proper reporting of classification codes and payroll 
amounts, and that all coverage agreements will be filed with the appropriate insurance 
carrier or, in the case of a self-insured, with the division. Providing false or misleading 
information may subject the contractor to administrative penalties, criminal penalties, 
civil penalties, or other civil actions." 
  (4) provide the person for whom it is providing services on the project, prior to the end 
of the coverage period shown on its current certificate of coverage, a new certificate 
showing extension of coverage, if the coverage period shown on the certificate of 
coverage ends during the duration of the project; 
  (5) obtain from each person providing services on a project under contract to it, and 
provide as required by its contract: 
    (A) a certificate of coverage, prior to the other person beginning work on the project; 
and 
    (B) prior to the end of the coverage period, a new certificate of coverage showing 
extension of the coverage period, if the coverage period shown on the current certificate 
of coverage ends during the duration of the project; 
  (6) retain all required certificates of coverage on file for the duration of the project and 
for one year thereafter; 
  (7) notify the governmental entity in writing by certified mail or personal delivery, of 
any change that materially affects the provision of coverage of any person providing 
services on the project and send the notice within ten days after the person knew or 
should have known of the change; and 
  (8) contractually require each other person with whom it contracts to: 
    (A) provide coverage based on proper reporting of classification codes and payroll 
amounts and filing of any coverage agreements for all of its employees providing 
services on the project, for the duration of the project; 
    (B) provide a certificate of coverage to it prior to that other person beginning work on 
the project; 
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    (C) include in all contracts to provide services on the project the language in 
paragraph (3) of this subsection; 
    (D) provide, prior to the end of the coverage period, a new certificate of coverage 
showing extension of the coverage period, if the coverage period shown on the current 
certificate of coverage ends during the duration of the project; 
    (E) obtain from each other person under contract to it to provide services on the 
project, and provide as required by its contract: 
      (i) a certificate of coverage, prior to the other person beginning work on the project; 
and 
      (ii) prior to the end of the coverage period, a new certificate of coverage showing 
extension of the coverage period, if the coverage period shown on the current certificate 
of coverage ends during the duration of the contract; 
    (F) retain all required certificates of coverage on file for the duration of the project 
and for one year thereafter; 
    (G) notify the governmental entity in writing by certified mail or personal delivery, 
within ten days after the person knew or should have known, of any change that 
materially affects the provision of coverage of any person providing services on the 
project; and 
    (H) contractually require each person with whom it contracts, to perform as required 
by this subparagraph and subparagraphs (A) - (G) of this paragraph, with the certificate 
of coverage to be provided to the person for whom they are providing services. 
 
(f) If any provision of this rule or its application to any person or circumstance is held 
invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable. 
 
(g) This rule is applicable for building or construction contracts advertised for bid by a 
governmental entity on or after September 1, 1994. This rule is also applicable for those 
building or construction contracts entered into on or after September 1, 1994, which are 
not required by law to be advertised for bid. 
 
(h) The coverage requirement in this rule does not apply to motor carriers who are 
required pursuant to Texas Civil Statutes, Article 6675c, to register with the Texas 
Department of Transportation and who provide accidental insurance coverage pursuant 
to Texas Civil Statutes, Article 6675c, §4(j). 
 
(i) The coverage requirement in this rule does not apply to sole proprietors, partners, 
and corporate officers who meet the requirements of the Act, §406.097(c), and who are 
explicitly excluded from coverage in accordance with the Act, §406.097(a) (as added by 
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House Bill 1089, 74th Legislature, 1995, §1.20). This subsection applies only to sole 
proprietors, partners, and corporate executive officers who are excluded from coverage 
in an insurance policy or certificate of authority to self-insure that is delivered, issued for 
delivery, or renewed on or after January 1, 1996. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §110.110 adopted to be effective September 1, 
1994, 19 TexReg 5715; amended to be effective November 6, 1995, 20 TexReg 8609; 
amended to be effective December 14, 2015, 40 TexReg 8899 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 112 SCOPE OF LIABILITY FOR COMPENSATION 
 
RULE §112.101 Agreement Regarding Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage 
Between General Contractors and Subcontractors 
 
(a) An agreement between a general contractor and a subcontractor made in 
accordance with Texas Labor Code §406.123(a), (d), (e), or (l) must: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) state that the subcontractor and the subcontractor's employees are employees of 
the general contractor for the sole purpose of workers' compensation coverage; 
  (3) indicate whether the general contractor will make a deduction for the premiums; 
  (4) specify whether this is a blanket agreement or if it applies to a specific job location 
and, if so, list the location; 
  (5) contain the signatures of both parties; 
  (6) indicate the date the agreement was made, the term the agreement will be 
effective, and estimated number of workers affected by the agreement. 
 
(b) The workers' compensation insurance coverage provided by the general contractor 
under the agreement will take effect no sooner than the date the agreement was 
executed, and deductions for the premiums must not be made for coverage provided 
before that date. 
 
(c) If a person who is covered by a subcontractor agreement signed under this section is 
found to be an employee of the general contractor, the person: 
  (1) is covered under the general contractor's workers' compensation policy; and 
  (2) must receive a refund from the general contractor for all amounts improperly 
deducted as premium. 
 
(d) The general contractor must maintain the original and file a legible copy of the 
agreement with the general contractor's workers' compensation insurance carrier within 
10 days of the date of execution. An agreement is not considered filed if it is illegible or 
incomplete. If a general contractor and subcontractor enter into a written agreement in 
which the subcontractor assumes the responsibilities of an employer as provided in 
Texas Labor Code §406.122(b), the general contractor must provide a copy of the 
agreement to its insurance carrier within 10 days of execution. After January 1, 1993, a 
general contractor who is a certified self-insurer must file a copy of the agreement with 

Updated January 4, 2024 31

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=2&ti=28
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=3&ti=28&pt=2
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=28&pt=2&ch=112&rl=Y
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=112&rl=101
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=112&rl=101


the division within 10 days of the date of execution. The filing must be made in the form 
and manner prescribed by the division. 
(e) The general contractor must give the subcontractor's employees the notice required 
under Texas Labor Code §406.005 when such an agreement is made. 
 
(f) If a subcontractor makes an agreement in accordance with this rule, an employee of 
the subcontractor may elect to retain his common law rights as provided by the Texas 
Labor Code, §406.034. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §112.101 adopted to be effective February 27, 1991, 
16 TexReg 985; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2082; amended to 
be effective April 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 2151; amended to be effective February 10, 2021, 
46 Texreg 922 
 
RULE §112.102 Agreements between Motor Carriers and Owner Operators 
 
(a) A motor carrier and an owner operator may enter into an agreement which requires 
the owner operator to assume the responsibilities of an employer for the performance 
of work. 
 
(b) An agreement made under subsection (a) of this section must be made at or before 
the time the contract for the work is made and must: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) state that the owner operator assumes the responsibilities of an employer for the 
performance of work; 
  (3) contain the signatures of both parties; 
  (4) indicate the date the agreement was made, the term the agreement will be 
effective, the estimated number of workers affected by the agreement, the federal tax 
identification number of the parties; and 
  (5) be provided to the insurance carrier of the motor carrier within 10 days of 
execution. 
 
(c) A motor carrier and an owner operator may enter into an agreement under which the 
motor carrier provides workers' compensation insurance coverage to the owner 
operator and the owner operator's employees. 
 
(d) An agreement made under subsection (c) of this section must be made at or before 
the time the contract for the work is made and must: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) indicate whether the motor carrier will make a deduction for the premiums; 
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  (3) contain the signatures of both parties; 
  (4) indicate the date the agreement was made, the term the agreement will be 
effective, the estimated number of workers affected by the agreement, the federal tax 
identification number of the parties; and 
  (5) be filed with the insurance carrier of the motor carrier within 10 days of execution. 
 
(e) The workers' compensation insurance coverage provided by the motor carrier under 
the agreement must take effect no sooner than the date the agreement was executed, 
and deductions for the premiums must not be made for coverage provided before that 
date. 
 
(f) The motor carrier must be required to give the owner operator's employees the 
notice required under Texas Labor Code §406.005 when such an agreement is made. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §112.102 adopted to be effective February 27, 1991, 
16 TexReg 985; amended to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 TexReg 3230; amended to be 
effective April 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 2151; amended to be effective February 10, 2021, 46 
TexReg 922 
 
RULE §112.200 Definition of Residential Structures 
 
For purposes of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (the Act), §406.142, "residential 
structures" are buildings used as a family dwelling or multi-family dwelling, limited to a 
single-family residence, a duplex, a triplex, and a quadraplex. All other types of 
structures used for living purposes shall be considered commercial structures, and shall 
only be included within the scope of the Act, §406.142, if they do not exceed three 
stories or 20,000 square feet. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §112.200 adopted to be effective June 3, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2830; amended to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 TexReg 3230 
 
RULE §112.201 Agreement To Establish Employer-Employee Relationship for 
Certain Building and Construction Workers 
 
(a) This section applies only to building and construction projects as provided by the 
Texas Labor Code, §406.142. 
 
(b) An independent contractor and a hiring contractor, as defined in the Texas Labor 
Code, §406.141, may enter into a written agreement: 
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  (1) to allow the hiring contractor to withhold the cost of workers' compensation 
insurance from the contract price; and 
  (2) to stipulate that, for the sole purpose of providing workers' compensation 
insurance, the hiring contractor will be the employer of the independent contractor and 
the independent contractor's employees. 
(c) An agreement made under subsection (b) of this section shall be filed in the form 
and manner prescribed by the division. 
 
(d) The agreement shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) indicate whether the hiring contractor will make a deduction for the premiums; 
  (3) specify that the hiring contractor will be the employer of the independent 
contractor and the independent contractor's employees for the sole purpose of 
providing workers' compensation insurance; 
  (4) specify the location of the job sites subject to the contract and the agreement; 
  (5) contain the signatures of both parties; and 
  (6) indicate the date the agreement was made, the term the agreement will be 
effective, and the estimated number of employees affected by the agreement. 
 
(e) The workers' compensation insurance coverage provided by the hiring contractor 
under the agreement shall take effect no sooner than the date on which the agreement 
was executed and deductions for the premiums shall not be made for coverage 
provided prior to that date. 
 
(f) If a person who is covered by an independent contractor agreement signed under 
this section is found to be an employee of the hiring contractor, the person: 
  (1) is covered under the hiring contractor's workers' compensation policy; and 
  (2) shall receive a refund from the hiring contractor for all amounts improperly 
deducted as premium. 
 
(g) The hiring contractor must maintain the original and file a legible copy of the 
agreement with the hiring contractor's workers' compensation insurance carrier within 
10 days of the date of execution. An agreement is not considered filed if it is illegible or 
incomplete. 
 
(h) A hiring contractor electing to provide workers' compensation insurance coverage 
through an agreement under subsection (b) of this section shall be deemed to have 
accepted the rights and responsibilities of an employer imposed under the Act as of the 
effective date of the workers' compensation insurance coverage. 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 34



(i) If an independent contractor makes an agreement under this rule, the employee of 
the independent contractor may elect to retain his common law rights as provided by 
the Texas Labor Code, §406.034. 
 
(j) For purposes of the Texas Labor Code, §406.142, 20,000 square feet is measured on 
the outside perimeter of the structure. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §112.201 adopted to be effective February 26, 1991, 
16 TexReg 896; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2082; amended to 
be effective April 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 2151 
 
RULE §112.202 Joint Agreement To Affirm Independent Relationship for Certain 
Building and Construction Workers 
 
(a) An independent subcontractor and a hiring contractor may enter into an agreement 
which states that the subcontractor is an independent contractor and is not an 
employee of the hiring contractor. 
 
(b) The agreement shall be filed in the form and manner prescribed by the division and 
shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) state that the subcontractor meets the qualifications of an independent contractor 
under the Texas Labor Code, §406.141(2); 
  (3) state that the subcontractor is an independent contractor and is not an employee of 
the hiring contractor; 
  (4) contain the signatures of both parties; 
  (5) indicate the date the agreement was made; and 
  (6) state that: "Once this agreement is signed, the subcontractor and the 
subcontractor's employees shall not be entitled to workers' compensation coverage 
from the hiring contractor unless a subsequent written agreement is executed, and filed 
according to division rules, expressly stating that this agreement does not apply." 
 
(c) If a person who is covered by an independent contractor agreement signed under 
this section is found to be an employee of the hiring contractor, the person is covered 
under the hiring contractor's workers' compensation policy. 
 
(d) The hiring contractor shall maintain the original and file a legible copy of the 
agreement with the hiring contractor's workers' compensation insurance carrier, if any, 
within 10 days of the date of execution. An agreement is not considered filed if it is 
illegible or incomplete. 
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(e) If the agreement is made in compliance with subsections (a) through (d) of this 
section and a separate agreement has not been made in accordance with §112.201 of 
this title (relating to Agreement to Establish Employer-Employee Relationship for Certain 
Building and Construction Workers): 
  (1) the subcontractor and the subcontractor's employees shall not be entitled to 
workers' compensation coverage from the hiring contractor; and 
  (2) the hiring contractor's workers' compensation insurance carrier shall not require 
premiums to be paid by the hiring contractor for coverage of the independent 
contractor or the independent contractor's employees, helpers, or subcontractors. 
 
(f) An agreement signed under subsection (a) applies to each hiring agreement executed 
by the parties until the first anniversary of the date the agreement was filed with the 
hiring contractor's workers' compensation insurance carrier, unless a subsequent 
agreement is executed expressly stating that the agreement does not apply. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §112.202 adopted to be effective February 26, 1991, 
16 TexReg 896; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2082; amended to 
be effective April 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 2151 
 
RULE §112.203 Exception to Application of Agreement to Affirm Independent 
Relationship for Certain Building and Construction Workers 
 
(a) If a subsequent hiring agreement is made that expressly states that the joint 
statement made under §112.202 of this title (relating to Joint Agreement To Affirm 
Independent Relationship for Certain Building and Construction Workers) does not 
apply to that hiring agreement, the hiring contractor must maintain the original and file 
a legible copy of the agreement with the hiring contractor's insurance carrier. Nothing in 
this section otherwise nullifies the joint statement as it applies to other hiring 
agreements made during the term of the joint statement. 
 
(b) The notification must be filed in the form and manner prescribed by the division and 
must: 
  (1) specify the date the agreement to affirm an independent relationship was made; 
  (2) specify the parties to the agreement and the location of the job site(s); 
  (3) specify the date this agreement was made; 
  (4) contain the signatures of both parties. 
 
(c) If a person who is covered by an independent contractor agreement signed under 
this section is found to be an employee of the hiring contractor, the person: 
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  (1) is covered under the hiring contractor's workers' compensation policy; 
  (2) must receive a refund from the hiring contractor for all amounts improperly 
deducted as premium. 
 
(d) The notification must be provided in the form and manner prescribed by the division 
no later than 10 days from the date the subsequent hiring agreement was executed. An 
agreement is not considered filed if it is illegible or incomplete. 
 
RULE §112.301 Labor Agent's Notification of Coverage to Certain Farm or Ranch 
Employees 
 
(a) A labor agent must notify each person the labor agent contracts with to provide the 
services of migrant and seasonal workers whether or not the labor agent has workers' 
compensation insurance coverage. 
 
(b) The notification must be in writing and must be given at the time the contract for the 
services of the migrant or seasonal workers is made. The notification must be signed 
and dated by both parties and each party must retain a copy of the notice. 
 
(c) If the labor agent does have workers' compensation insurance coverage, the labor 
agent must present evidence of the workers' compensation insurance coverage to each 
person the agent contracts with to provide the services of migrant and seasonal 
workers. The evidence of coverage must be in writing and must be presented at the time 
the notification of coverage is made. Each party must retain a copy of the evidence of 
coverage with the copy of the notice. A certificate of insurance is considered adequate 
evidence of coverage. 
 
(d) The notice and evidence of coverage, if applicable, must be given each time a labor 
agent makes a contract with a person to provide migrant or seasonal workers. Any 
notice and evidence of coverage provided for a prior contract between the parties is 
considered insufficient to meet the requirements of this section. 
 
(e) If coverage is terminated during the period of the contract for employment, the labor 
agent must notify: 
  (1) the person with whom the agent contracted to provide the services of migrant and 
seasonal workers; and 
  (2) the migrant and seasonal workers affected that the workers' compensation 
insurance coverage has been terminated. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §112.301 adopted to be effective February 26, 1991, 
16 TexReg 899; amended to be effective February 10, 2021, 46 TexReg 922 
 
RULE §112.401 Election of Coverage by Certain Professional Athletes 
 
(a) A professional athlete employed by a franchise with workers' compensation 
insurance coverage and subject to Texas Labor Code §406.095 must elect to receive 
either the benefits available under the Act or the equivalent benefits available under the 
athlete's contract or collective bargaining agreement. The election must be made not 
later than the 15th day after the athlete sustains an injury in the course and scope of 
employment. If the athlete fails to make an election, the athlete will be presumed to 
have elected the option which provides the highest benefits. 
 
(b) When a contract is signed by a professional athlete, the employer must give the 
athlete a copy of the following statement: "(Name of employer) has workers' 
compensation coverage from (name of insurance carrier). If the benefits available to you 
under your contract and any applicable collective bargaining agreement are equivalent 
to or greater than those available to you under Texas Labor Code §406.095, you are 
required to elect whether to receive the benefits available to you under the Act or the 
benefits available to you under your contract and any applicable collective bargaining 
agreement. You must make this election no later than 15 days after sustaining an injury. 
If you elect to receive the benefits available to you under your contract and any 
applicable collective bargaining agreement, you cannot obtain workers' compensation 
income or medical benefits if you are injured. You can get more information about your 
workers' compensation rights and the benefits available to you under the Act from any 
office of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation, or by 
calling 1-800-252-7031." 
 
(c) The election must be in writing and must: 
  (1) indicate the date of the injury for which the election is being made; 
  (2) indicate whether the athlete elects to receive the benefits available under the Act or 
the benefits provided under the contract or agreement; and 
  (3) be signed by the athlete and the employer. 
 
(d) If the athlete elects to receive the benefits available under the Act, a legible copy of 
the election must be provided to the division in the form and manner prescribed by the 
division within 10 days of the date of execution. A copy must also be provided to the 
franchise's workers' compensation insurance carrier within 10 days of the date of 
execution. The franchise must maintain the original election and provide a copy to the 
athlete. 
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(e) If the athlete elects to receive the benefits available under the contract and any 
agreement, the election must be filed with the franchise's workers' compensation 
insurance carrier within 10 days of the date of execution. An agreement is not 
considered filed if it is illegible or incomplete. Both the athlete and the franchise must 
keep a copy of the election. 
 
(f) An election made under this section is irrevocable and binding on the athlete and the 
athlete's legal beneficiaries for a compensable injury incurred on the date specified in 
the election. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §112.401 adopted to be effective October 1, 1992, 
17 TexReg 6362; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2082; amended to 
be effective February 10, 2021, 46 TexReg 922 
 
RULE §112.402 Determination of Equivalent Benefits for Professional Athletes 
 
(a) Medical care available to a professional athlete subject to the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act (the Act), Texas Labor Code, §406.095, is equal to or greater than 
medical benefits under the Act if: 
  (1) the athlete is entitled to all health care reasonably required by the nature of the 
work-related injury as and when needed, including all health care that: 
    (A) cures or relieves the effects naturally resulting from the work-related injury; 
    (B) promotes recovery; or 
    (C) enhances the ability of the employee to return to or retain employment; and 
  (2) the employer's liability for health care is not limited or terminated in any way by the 
contract or collective bargaining agreement. 
 
(b) When the athlete is not eligible for lifetime income benefits or when the athlete's 
legal beneficiaries are not eligible for death benefits under the Act, weekly benefits 
available to a professional athlete subject to the Act, §406.095, are equal to or greater 
than the income benefits provided under the Act if the total amount of the payments 
provided for in the contract or collective bargaining agreement is equal to or greater 
than the maximum weekly benefit available under the Act multiplied by 104. 
 
(c) When the athlete is entitled to lifetime income benefits under the Act, weekly 
benefits available to a professional athlete subject to the Act, §406.095, are equal to or 
greater than the income benefits provided under the Act if equal to or greater than the 
maximum weekly benefit available under the Act. 
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(d) When the athlete's legal beneficiaries are entitled to death benefits under the Act, 
weekly benefits available to the legal beneficiaries of a professional athlete subject to 
the Act, §406.095, are equal to or greater than the death benefits provided under the 
Act if equal to or greater than the maximum weekly benefit available under the Act. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §112.402 adopted to be effective October 1, 1992, 
17 TexReg 6362; amended to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 TexReg 3231 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 114  SELF-INSURANCE 
 
RULE §114.1 Purpose 
 
(a) The provisions of this chapter are promulgated pursuant to Texas Labor Code, 
Chapter 407, to explain and enforce provisions related to the self-insuring of liability and 
to guarantee full and timely payment of compensation benefits by certified self-insurers. 
 
(b) The provisions of this chapter apply to private employers in the State of Texas. They 
do not apply to the state or to political subdivisions, as made clear by Texas Labor Code 
§401.011(6). 
 
(c) These rules provide guidance and requirements in addition to those requirements 
imposed by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and other division rules. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §114.1 adopted to be effective January 1, 1993, 17 
TexReg 7896; amended to be effective May 9, 2004, 29 TexReg 4186; amended to be 
effective January 6, 2019, 44 TexReg 99 
 
RULE §114.2 Definitions 
 
(a) The following words and terms are defined in the Texas Labor Code §407.001, and 
are used in this chapter: 
  (1) Association; 
  (2) Impaired employer; 
  (3) Incurred liabilities for compensation; and 
  (4) Qualified claims servicing contractor. 
 
(b) The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
  (1) Applicant--an employer that applies for an initial certificate of authority to self-
insure or, once initially certified, any subsequent certificate of authority to self-insure. 
  (2) Certificate--A certificate of authority to self-insure issued by the commissioner 
under Texas Labor Code §407.042, which entitles an employer to be a certified self-
insurer and is valid only for the persons, firms, or corporations named on the certificate. 
For a certificate of authority to self-insure delivered, issued for delivery, or renewed on 
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or after January 1, 1996, a sole proprietor, partner, or corporate executive officer of a 
business may be specifically excluded from coverage under Texas Labor Code §406.097. 
  (3) Certified self-insurer--A private employer that has been granted a certificate of 
authority to self-insure for payment of compensation, either currently or for a prior 
period except if withdrawn with an insuring agreement under Labor Code §407.045(a-1). 
  (4) Claims Contractor--A qualified claims servicing contractor. 
  (5) Division--The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation. 
  (6) Excess Insurance--Insurance that an employer purchases to pay claim costs that 
exceed the employer's retention amount up to a specified limit. 
  (7) Retention--All payments that must be paid by a certified self-insurer before an 
excess insurance policy will respond to a loss for claims filed under the Workers' 
Compensation Act including indemnity benefits, medical payments, death benefits, and 
all other related claims expenses not otherwise covered by insurance. 
  (8) Trust Fund--The Texas certified self-insurer guaranty trust fund created by the fee 
assessed by the Association for emergency payment of the compensation liabilities of 
an impaired employer. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §114.2 adopted to be effective January 1, 1993, 17 
TexReg 7896; amended to be effective November 6, 1995, 20 TexReg 8612; amended to 
be effective May 9, 2004, 29 TexReg 4186; amended to be effective January 6, 2019, 44 
TexReg 99 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 116 GENERAL PROVISIONS--SUBSEQUENT INJURY FUND 
 
RULE §116.11 Request for Reimbursement from the Subsequent Injury Fund 
 
(a) An insurance carrier may request: 
  (1) reimbursement from the Subsequent Injury Fund (SIF) under Labor Code 
§403.006(b)(2) for an overpayment of income, death, or medical benefits when the 
insurance carrier has made an unrecoupable overpayment pursuant to the decision of 
an administrative law judge, the Appeals Panel, or an interlocutory order, and that 
decision or order is reversed or modified by final arbitration, order, or decision of the 
commissioner, State Office of Administrative Hearings, or a court of last resort; 
  (2) reimbursement from the SIF under Labor Code §403.007(d) for death benefits paid 
to the SIF before a legal beneficiary was determined to be entitled to receive death 
benefits; 
  (3) for a compensable injury that occurs on or after July 1, 2002, reimbursement from 
the SIF for the amount of income benefits paid to an injured employee based on 
multiple employment and paid under Labor Code §408.042; 
  (4) for a compensable injury that occurs on or after September 1, 2007, reimbursement 
from the SIF for the amount of income, death benefits, or a combination paid to an 
injured employee or a legal beneficiary based on multiple employment and paid under 
Labor Code §408.042; 
  (5) reimbursement from the SIF, under Labor Code §408.0041(f) and (f-1), for an 
overpayment of benefits made by the insurance carrier based on the opinion of the 
designated doctor if that opinion is reversed or modified by a final arbitration award or 
a final order or decision of the commissioner or a court; or 
  (6) reimbursement from the SIF made in accordance with rules adopted by the 
commissioner under Labor Code §413.0141. For purposes of this subsection only, an 
injury is determined not to be compensable following: 
    (A) The final decision of the commissioner or the judgment of the court of last resort; 
or 
    (B) A claimant's failure to respond within one year of a timely dispute of 
compensability filed by an insurance carrier. In this instance only, the effective date of 
the determination of noncompensability is one year from the date the insurance carrier 
filed the dispute with the division. 
      (i) A determination under this paragraph does not constitute final adjudication. It 
does not preclude a party from pursuing their claim through the division's dispute 
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resolution process, and it does not permit a health care provider to pursue a private 
claim against the claimant. 
      (ii) If the claim is later determined to be compensable, the insurance carrier must 
reimburse the SIF for any initial pharmaceutical payment that the SIF previously 
reimbursed to the insurance carrier. The insurance carrier's reimbursement of the SIF 
must be paid within the timeframe the insurance carrier has to comply with the 
agreement, decision and order, or other judgment that found the claim to be 
compensable. 
 
(b) The amount of reimbursement the insurance carrier may be entitled to is equal to 
the amount of unrecoupable overpayments paid and does not include any amounts the 
insurance carrier overpaid voluntarily or as a result of its own errors. An unrecoupable 
overpayment of income or death benefits for the purpose of reimbursement from the 
SIF only includes those benefits that were overpaid by the insurance carrier pursuant to 
an interlocutory order, a designated doctor's opinion, or a decision, which were finally 
determined to be not owed and which, in the case of an overpayment of income or 
death benefits to the injured employee or legal beneficiary, were not recoverable or 
convertible from other income or death benefits. 
 
(c) To request reimbursement under subsection (a)(1) of this section for insurance carrier 
claims of benefit overpayments made under an interlocutory order or decision of the 
commissioner that is later reversed or modified by final arbitration, order, decision of 
the commissioner, the State Office of Administrative Hearings, or court of last resort, an 
insurance carrier must: 
  (1) submit the request electronically in the form and manner prescribed by the division; 
  (2) provide a claim-specific summary of the reason the insurance carrier is seeking 
reimbursement and the total amount of reimbursement requested, including how it was 
calculated; 
  (3) provide a detailed payment record showing the dates and amounts of the 
payments, payees, type of benefits and periods of benefits paid, all plain language 
notices (PLNs) about the payment of benefits, all certifications of maximum medical 
improvement and assignments of impairment rating, and documentation that shows the 
overpayment was unrecoupable as described in subsection (b) of this section, if 
applicable; 
  (4) provide the name, address, and federal employer identification number of the 
payee (insurance carrier) for any reimbursement that may be due; 
  (5) provide copies of all relevant orders and decisions (benefit review conference 
reports, interlocutory orders, contested case hearing decisions and orders, Appeals 
Panel decisions, and court orders) relating to the requested reimbursement and show 
which document is the final decision on the matter; 
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  (6) provide copies of all relevant reports and DWC forms the employer filed with the 
insurance carrier; and 
  (7) provide copies of all medical bills, preauthorization request documents, relevant 
independent review organization (IRO) decisions, medical fee dispute decisions, 
contested case hearing decisions and orders, Appeals Panel decisions, and court orders 
on medical disputes associated with the overpayment, if the request is based on an 
overpayment of medical benefits. 
 
(d) To request reimbursement under subsection (a)(2) of this section for reimbursement 
of death benefits paid to the SIF before a legal beneficiary is determined to be entitled 
to receive death benefits, an insurance carrier must: 
  (1) submit the request electronically in the form and manner prescribed by the division; 
  (2) provide a claim-specific summary of the reason the insurance carrier is seeking 
reimbursement and the total amount of reimbursement requested, including how it was 
calculated; 
  (3) provide a detailed payment record showing the dates and amounts of payments, 
payees, and periods of benefits paid; 
  (4) provide the name, address, and federal employer identification number of the 
payee (insurance carrier) for any reimbursement that may be due; 
  (5) provide the documentation the legal beneficiary submitted with the claim for death 
benefits under §122.100 of this title (relating to Claim for Death Benefits); and 
  (6) provide the final award of the commissioner or the final judgment of a court of 
competent jurisdiction determining that the legal beneficiary is entitled to the death 
benefits. 
 
(e) To request reimbursement under subsections (a)(3) or (4) of this section regarding 
multiple employment, the requester must submit the request on an annual basis for the 
payments made during the same or previous fiscal year. The fiscal year begins each 
September 1 and ends on August 31 of the next calendar year. For example, insurance 
carrier payments made during the fiscal year from September 1, 2009, through August 
31, 2010, must be submitted by August 31, 2011. Any claims for insurance carrier 
payments related to multiple employment that are not submitted within the required 
timeframe will not be reviewed for reimbursement. To request reimbursement under 
subsections (a)(3) or (4) of this section, an insurance carrier must: 
  (1) submit the request electronically in the form and manner prescribed by the division; 
  (2) provide a claim-specific summary of the reason the insurance carrier is seeking 
reimbursement and the total amount of reimbursement requested, including how it was 
calculated; 
  (3) provide a detailed payment record showing the dates and amounts of payments, 
payees, type of benefits and periods of benefits paid, all PLNs about the payment of 
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benefits, and documentation that shows the overpayment was unrecoupable as 
described in subsection (b) of this section, if applicable; 
  (4) provide the name, address, and federal employer identification number of the 
payee (insurance carrier) for any reimbursement that may be due; 
  (5) provide information documenting the injured employee's average weekly wage 
amounts paid from all nonclaim employment held at the time of the work-related injury 
under §122.5 of this title (relating to Employee's Multiple Employment Wage Statement); 
and 
  (6) provide information documenting the injured employee's average weekly wage 
amounts paid based on employment with the claim employer. 
 
(f) To request reimbursement under subsection (a)(5) of this section, for insurance carrier 
claims of benefit overpayments made pursuant to a designated doctor's opinion that is 
later reversed or modified by a final arbitration award or a final order or decision of the 
commissioner or a court, an insurance carrier must: 
  (1) submit the request electronically in the form and manner prescribed by the division; 
  (2) provide a claim-specific summary of the reason the insurance carrier is seeking 
reimbursement and the total amount of reimbursement requested, including how it was 
calculated; 
  (3) provide a detailed payment record showing the dates and amounts of payments, 
payees, type of benefits and periods of benefits paid, PLNs about the payment of 
benefits, and all certifications of maximum medical improvement and assignments of 
impairment rating; 
  (4) provide the name, address, and federal employer identification number of the 
payee (insurance carrier) for any reimbursement that may be due; 
  (5) provide copies of all relevant designated doctors' opinions (including responses to 
letters of clarification) and orders and decisions (IRO decisions, interlocutory orders, 
contested case hearing decisions and orders, arbitration awards, Appeals Panel 
decisions, and court orders) relating to the designated doctor's opinion and the 
payment made pursuant to the designated doctor's opinion for which reimbursement is 
being requested, and indicate which document is the final decision on the matter; 
  (6) provide copies of all relevant reports and DWC forms the employer filed with the 
insurance carrier; and 
  (7) provide copies of all medical bills and preauthorization request documents 
associated with an overpayment of medical benefits. 
 
(g) To request reimbursement under subsection (a)(6) of this section regarding initial 
pharmaceutical coverage, a requester must submit the request in the same or following 
fiscal year after a determination that the injury is not compensable. The fiscal year 
begins each September 1 and ends on August 31 of the next calendar year. For example, 
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if an injury is determined to be not compensable during the fiscal year from September 
1, 2009, through August 31, 2010, the request for reimbursement under Labor Code 
§413.0141 must be submitted by August 31, 2011. Any claims for insurance carrier 
payments related to initial pharmaceutical coverage that are not submitted within the 
required timeframe will not be reviewed for reimbursement. An insurance carrier must: 
  (1) submit the request electronically in the form and manner prescribed by the division; 
  (2) provide a claim-specific summary of the reason the insurance carrier is seeking 
reimbursement and the total amount of reimbursement requested; 
  (3) provide a detailed payment record showing the dates of payments, including 
documentation on dates of payment of initial pharmaceutical coverage (i.e., during the 
first seven days following the date of injury), payment amounts, and payees; 
  (4) provide the name, address, and federal employer identification number of the 
payee (insurance carrier) for any reimbursement that may be due; 
  (5) provide documentation that the pharmaceutical services were provided during the 
first seven days following the date of injury, not counting the actual date the injury 
occurred, and identify the prescribed pharmaceutical services; and 
  (6) provide documentation of: 
    (A) the final resolution of any dispute either from the commissioner or court of last 
resort that determines the injury is not compensable; or 
    (B) a claimant's failure to respond in accordance with subsection (a)(6)(B) of this 
section. 
 
(h) The prescribed forms under this section are on the division's website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/index.html. An insurance carrier seeking reimbursement from the 
SIF must timely provide to the SIF administrator by electronic transmission, as that term 
is used in §102.5(h) of this title (relating to General Rules for Written Communications to 
and from the Commission), all forms and documentation reasonably required by the SIF 
administrator to determine entitlement to reimbursement or payment from the SIF and 
the amount of reimbursement to which the insurance carrier is entitled. The insurance 
carrier must also provide notice to the SIF of any relevant pending dispute, litigation, or 
other information that may affect the request for reimbursement. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §116.11 adopted to be effective February 11, 1992, 
17 TexReg 689; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2090; amended to 
be effective August 15, 2002, 27 TexReg 7123; amended to be effective January 7, 2010, 
35 TexReg 100; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 102; amended to be 
effective February 11, 2021, 46 TexReg 925 
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RULE §116.12 Subsequent Injury Fund Payment/Reimbursement Schedule 
 
(a) Claims against the Subsequent Injury Fund (SIF) shall be paid in the following priority: 
  (1) claims by insurance carriers for reimbursement made pursuant to Labor Code 
§403.007 and §132.10(g) of this title (relating to Payment of Death Benefits to the 
Subsequent Injury Fund); 
  (2) claims by injured employees for lifetime benefits, as provided by Labor Code 
§408.162; 
  (3) claims by insurance carriers for reimbursement, made pursuant to Labor Code 
§§408.0041, 410.209, and 413.055 and §116.11 of this title (relating to Request for 
Reimbursement from the Subsequent Injury Fund); and 
  (4) claims by insurance carriers for reimbursement made pursuant to Labor Code 
§408.042(g) relating to multiple employment and those in accordance with division 
rule(s) adopted pursuant to Labor Code §413.0141. 
 
(b) The SIF uses the fiscal year September 1 through August 31. 
 
(c) Claims described in subsection (a) of this section should be reviewed and, if 
appropriate, paid in the fiscal quarter following the quarter in which the request was 
submitted and no later than one year following the submission. 
 
(d) In accordance with Labor Code §403.006(d), if the commissioner determines that 
partial payments of the claims described in subsection (a)(4) of this section are 
necessary, partial payments shall be calculated in the following manner: 
  (1) The total amount of completed eligible requests for reimbursement submitted 
under subsection (a)(4) of this section that are received during the previous fiscal year 
will be used to establish a baseline amount. 
  (2) The baseline amount will be divided by the total amount of SIF funding available as 
determined in accordance with the Labor Code. 
  (3) The resulting fraction will be equally applied to all claims submitted under 
subsection (a)(4) of this section to determine the partial reimbursement amount. 
  (4) If reimbursement requests are paid with partial payments, no further future 
recovery is available from the SIF for the non-reimbursed portion of that particular 
request. 
 
(e) If reimbursement requests are paid with partial payments, the SIF administrator shall, 
no later than October 30 of the following fiscal year, enter appropriate orders for claims 
described in subsection (a)(4) of this section. The order shall specify the amount the SIF 
shall pay to the insurance carrier. 
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(f) The SIF administrator will refrain from acting on an insurance carrier's request for 
reimbursement from the SIF until final resolution of all disputes affecting the request for 
reimbursement. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §116.12 adopted to be effective February 11, 1992, 
17 TexReg 689; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2090; amended to 
be effective August 15, 2002, 27 TexReg 7123; amended to be effective January 7, 2010, 
35 TexReg 100 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 120 COMPENSATION PROCEDURE—EMPLOYERS 
 
RULE §120.1 Employer's Record of Injuries 
 
(a) An employer shall keep a record of all injuries and fatal injuries to employees as 
reported to an employer, or otherwise made known to an employer. The record shall 
include: 
  (1) the name, address, date of birth, sex, wage, length of service, social security 
number, and occupation of the employee; 
  (2) the reported cause and nature of the injury, the part of the body affected, and a 
description of any equipment involved; 
  (3) the date, time, and location where the injury occurred; 
  (4) the name of the employee's immediate supervisor; 
  (5) the names of any witnesses (if known); 
  (6) the name and address of the treating health care provider, if known; and 
  (7) any voluntary benefits paid by the employer under the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act (Act), §4.06. 
 
(b) These records shall be open to inspection by the commission, upon at least five 
working days notice to the employer, at a reasonable time and place. 
 
(c) The employer shall retain a record of an injury until the expiration of five years from 
the last day of the year in which the injury occurred or the period of time required by 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration standards and regulations, whichever is 
greater. 
 
(d) An employer who does not maintain a record, or who refuses to make the record 
available to the commission, may be assessed an administrative penalty not to exceed 
$500. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §120.1 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 115 
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RULE §120.2 Employer's First Report of Injury and Notice of Injured Employee 
Rights and Responsibilities 
 
(a) The employer shall report to the employer's insurance carrier each death, each 
occupational disease of which the employer has received notice of injury or has 
knowledge, and each injury that results in more than one day's absence from work for 
the injured employee. As used in this section, the term "knowledge" includes receipt of 
written or oral information regarding diagnosis of an occupational disease, or the 
diagnosis of an occupational disease through direct examination or testing by a doctor 
employed by the employer. 
 
(b) The Division shall prescribe the form, format, and manner of the employer's first 
report of injury (report). The report shall contain: 
  (1) the information required by §120.1(a) of this title (relating to Employer's Record of 
Injuries); 
  (2) any additional information prescribed by the Division in accordance with the Labor 
Code §402.00128(b)(10); and 
  (3) the information necessary for an insurance carrier to electronically transmit a first 
report of injury to the Division. 
 
(c) The report shall be filed with the insurance carrier not later than the eighth day after 
having received notice of or having knowledge of an occupational disease or death, or 
not later than the eighth day after the employee's absence from work for more than one 
day due to a work-related injury. For purposes of this section, a report is filed when 
personally delivered, mailed, reported via tele-claims, electronically submitted, or sent 
via facsimile. 
 
(d) The employer shall provide a written copy of the report and a written copy of the 
Notice of Injured Employee Rights and Responsibilities in the Texas Workers' 
Compensation System (Notice of Rights and Responsibilities) adopted by the Public 
Counsel of the Office of Injured Employee Counsel (Public Counsel) to the injured 
employee by personal delivery, mail, electronic submission or facsimile. The Notice of 
Rights and Responsibilities shall be in English and Spanish, or in English and any other 
language common to the employee. The written report may be the report specified in 
subsection (b) of this section, or at a minimum shall contain the information listed in 
§120.1(a) of this title. 
 
(e) The Public Counsel shall adopt the Notice of Rights and Responsibilities after 
consultation with the Commissioner of Workers' Compensation. Until the Public Counsel 
adopts any new notice in accordance with Labor Code §404.109, the notice previously 
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adopted under this section shall remain in effect. A copy of the Notice of Rights and 
Responsibilities adopted by the Public Counsel shall be distributed through or provided 
at: 
  (1) the department's website at www.tdi.state.tx.us; 
  (2) the Office of Injured Employee Counsel's website at www.oiec.state.tx.us; 
  (3) The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation, 7551 
Metro Center Drive, Suite 100, Austin, Texas, 78744 or any office of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation; or 
  (4) The Office of Injured Employee Counsel, 7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100, Austin, 
Texas, 78744 or any office of the Office of Injured Employee Counsel. 
 
(f) The employer shall maintain a record of the date the copy of the report of injury and 
the date the Notice of Rights and Responsibilities were provided to the employee. The 
employer shall also maintain a record of the date the report of injury is filed with the 
insurance carrier. 
 
(g) If the insurance carrier has not received the report, the employer has the burden of 
proving that the report was filed within the required time frame. If the carrier receives 
the report by mail, it will be presumed that the report was mailed four days prior to the 
date received by the carrier. The employer has the burden of proving that good cause 
exists if the employer failed to timely file or provide the report. 
 
(h) A party who fails to comply with this section commits an administrative violation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §120.2 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 115; amended to be effective January 1, 1993, 17 TexReg 8295; amended to be 
effective December 4, 1995, 20 TexReg 9698; amended to be effective October 14, 2007, 
32 TexReg 7065; amended to be effective March 22, 2010, 35 TexReg 2188 
 
RULE §120.3 Employer's Supplemental Report of Injury 
 
(a) As used in this section, the term "employer" means the employer for whom the 
injured employee (employee) was working when injured and the filing requirements 
apply during the time the employee is entitled to temporary income benefits. The 
employer's duty to file reports required by this section continues until the employee 
reaches maximum medical improvement (MMI) or is no longer employed by the 
employer and the employer has made the report required by subsection (b) of this 
section. The employer may contact the insurance carrier (carrier) for information 
regarding the employee's MMI status. 
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(b) As provided in §129.4 of this title (relating to Adjustment of Temporary Income 
Benefit Amount), the employer shall file the Supplemental Report of Injury, in the form, 
format and manner prescribed by the Commission. The report shall be filed with the 
employer's carrier and provided to the employee within ten days after the end of each 
pay period in which the employee has a change in earnings as a result of the injury or 
within ten days after the employee resigns or is terminated. The requirement to report a 
change of earnings under this subsection includes reporting all post-injury earnings as 
that term is used in Chapter 129 of this title (relating to Temporary Income Benefits). 
 
(c) For injuries requiring an Employer's First Report of Injury, unless the information 
required in this subsection is provided on the Employer's First Report of Injury, the 
employer shall file the Supplemental Report of Injury with the employer's carrier and 
provide a copy to the employee within three days after: 
  (1) the employee begins to lose time from work as a result of the injury; 
  (2) the employee returns to work; or 
  (3) the employee, after returning to work, experiences an additional day(s) of disability 
as a result of the injury. 
 
(d) The employer shall file the supplemental report of injury with the carrier by personal 
delivery, telephone, facsimile or electronic transmission. The employer shall provide a 
copy of the report to the employee by facsimile or electronic transmission if the 
employee has identified a personal facsimile number or a personal email address to be 
used and the employer has the means of sending such a transmission. Otherwise the 
report shall be provided by personal delivery or sent by mail. 
 
(e) The employer shall maintain a record of the date the Supplemental Report of Injury is 
filed with the carrier and provided to the employee. If a report required by this section 
has not been received by the required recipient, the employer has the burden of proving 
that the report was filed within the required time frame. The employer has the burden of 
proving that good cause exists if the employer failed to file the report. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §120.3 adopted to be effective January 1, 1993, 17 
TexReg 8296; amended to be effective December 4, 1995, 20 TexReg 9698; amended to 
be effective December 26, 1999, 24 TexReg 11394 
 
RULE §120.4 Employer's Wage Statement 
 
(a) The employer is required to timely file a complete wage statement in the form and 
manner prescribed by the commission. As used in this section, the term "filed" means 
"received." 
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  (1) The wage statement shall be filed with the carrier, the claimant, and the claimant's 
representative (if any) within 30 days of the earliest of: 
    (A) the date the employer is notified that the employee is entitled to income benefits; 
    (B) the date of the employee's death as a result of a compensable injury. 
  (2) A subsequent wage statement shall be filed with the carrier, claimant, and the 
claimant's representative (if any) within seven days of a change in any wage information 
provided on the previous wage statement (such as because the employer has 
discontinued providing a nonpecuniary wage that was originally continued after the 
injury). 
  (3) The wage statement shall be filed with the commission within seven days of 
receiving a request from the commission. 
 
(b) The employer shall ensure timely delivery of the written wage statement, however, if 
agreed upon by the employer and the carrier, the wage statement filed with the carrier 
may be filed orally. The carrier may also agree to provide the wage statement to the 
claimant and the claimant's representative, if any. However, the employer remains 
responsible for ensuring timely delivery of the wage statement and the employer has 
the burden of proving that the wage statement was timely filed. Therefore, employers 
should file the wage statement by verifiable means and maintain a record of the: 
  (1) information provided; 
  (2) date filed; and 
  (3) means of filing with each recipient required to receive the report. 
 
(c) The wage statement shall include: 
  (1) the employee's name, address, and social security number; 
  (2) the date of the employer's hire of the employee; 
  (3) the date of injury; 
  (4) the employer's name, address, and federal tax identification number; 
  (5) an identification of the employment status (e.g. if the employee works full-time, 
part-time, etc.); 
  (6) the name of the person submitting the report; 
  (7) the wage information required by subsection (d) of this section; and 
  (8) a certification that the wage information provided includes all wage information 
required by subsection (d) of this section and that the information is complete and 
accurate. 
 
(d) The employer shall provide wage information in accordance with this subsection. 
  (1) Employers other than school districts shall report the employee's wage, as defined 
in §128.1 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage: General Provisions), earned by 
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the employee during the 13 weeks immediately preceding the date of injury and the 
number of hours the employee worked to earn the wages being reported. 
  (2) School district employers shall report the wages that would be deducted from the 
employee's salary if the employee were absent from work for one week and did not 
have personal leave available to compensate for the wages lost that week. 
    (A) For employees employed through a written contract, the employer shall report the 
full value of the contract that would be paid (including any stipend the employee was 
earning or scheduled to receive) if the employee were to fully complete the terms of the 
contract and: 
      (i) the number of days that the employee was required to work under that contract; 
or 
      (ii) the number of months that the employee was required to work under that 
contract (whichever is applicable). 
    (B) For employees who are NOT employed through a written contract, the employer 
shall report the pecuniary wages earned by the employee during the 13 weeks 
immediately preceding the date of injury and the number of hours the employee 
worked to earn the wages being reported. 
    (C) For all employees, the employer shall report the pecuniary wages earned by the 
employee in the 12 months immediately preceding the injury. 
  (3) This subsection applies if the employer is required to report 13 weeks of wage 
information under subsection (d)(1) or (d)(2)(B) of this section (i.e. it does not apply if 
the employee was an employee of a school district employed through a written 
contract). 
    (A) If the employee is paid on a monthly or a semi-monthly basis, the employer may 
provide the wages earned in the three months immediately preceding the injury; if the 
employee is paid on a biweekly basis, the employer may provide the wages earned in 
the 14 weeks immediately preceding the injury; otherwise the employer shall provide 
the wages earned in the 13 weeks immediately preceding the injury. 
    (B) If the employee was not employed for 13 continuous weeks before the date of 
injury and the employee was not employed by a school district through a written 
contract: 
      (i) the employer shall identify a similar employee performing similar services, as 
those terms are defined in §128.3 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage 
Calculation For Full-Time Employees, and For Temporary Income Benefits For All 
Employees), and list the wages of that similar employee; however if 
      (ii) the employer does not have a similar employee who has been employed for 13 
continuous weeks prior to the injured employee's date of injury, the employer shall 
provide the wages earned by the employee during the period the employee was 
employed. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §120.4 adopted to be effective May 16, 2002, 27 
TexReg 4027 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 122 COMPENSATION PROCEDURE—CLAIMANTS 
 
SUBCHAPTER A CLAIMS PROCEDURE FOR INJURED EMPLOYEES 
 
RULE §122.1 Notice to Employer of Injury or Occupational Disease 
 
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, an injured employee, or a person 
acting on that employee's behalf, shall notify an employer of an injury not later than the 
30th day after the date on which the injury occurs. The notice of injury should include 
the following information: 
  (1) the name, address, and telephone number (if any) of the injured employee; 
  (2) the date, time, and place the injury occurred; 
  (3) a description of the circumstances and the nature of the injury; 
  (4) the names of any witnesses (if known); 
  (5) the name and location of the health provider that has treated the employee for the 
injury; and 
  (6) the name of the person (if any) acting on behalf of the injured employee. 
 
(b) An employee whose injury results from an occupational disease, or a person acting 
on that employee's behalf, must give notice as required in subsection (a) of this section 
not later than the 30th day after the date on which the employee knew or should have 
known that the disease may be related to the employment. This notice must be given to 
the employer for whom the employee worked on the date of the last injurious exposure 
to the hazards of the disease. 
 
(c) Any notice to the employer may be given to any employee of the employer who 
holds a supervisory or management position. 
 
(d) Failure to notify the employer shall relieve the employer and the employer's 
insurance carrier from liability under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act unless: 
  (1) the employer, or person eligible to receive notice under subsection (c) of this 
section, or the insurance carrier, had actual knowledge of the injury; 
  (2) good cause exists for failure to give notice in a timely manner; or 
  (3) the employer or insurance carrier does not contest the claim. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §122.1 adopted to be effective January 28, 1991, 16 
TexReg 228 
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RULE §122.2 Injured Employee's Claim for Compensation 
 
(a) An injured employee, or a person acting on the injured employee's behalf, shall file 
with the commission a written claim for compensation within one year after the date of 
the injury's occurrence, except as provided in subsection (b) of this section. 
 
(b) An employee whose injury results from an occupational disease, or a person acting 
on that employee's behalf, shall file with the commission a written claim for 
compensation within one year after the date the employee knew or should have known 
that the disease was related to the employment. 
 
(c) The claim should be submitted to the commission either on paper or via electronic 
transmission, in the form, format, and manner prescribed by the commission, and 
should include the following: 
  (1) the name, address, telephone number (if any), occupation, wage, and social security 
number of the injured employee; 
  (2) the length of time the employee worked for the employer prior to the date of 
injury; 
  (3) the date, time, and location the injury occurred (or the date the employee knew or 
should have known that the occupational disease was related to the employment); 
  (4) a description of the circumstances and nature of the injury; 
  (5) the names of witnesses (if any); 
  (6) the name and location of the employer at the time of the injury (or, if the injury 
claimed is an occupational disease, the name and location of the employer at the time 
of the last injurious exposure to the hazards of the occupational disease); 
  (7) the name of the employee's immediate supervisor; 
  (8) the name and address of at least one health care provider that has treated the 
employee for the injury; and 
  (9) the identity of the person (if any) acting on behalf of the injured employee. 
 
(d) Failure to file a claim for compensation with the commission no later than one year 
from the incident shall relieve the employer and the employer's insurance carrier from 
liability under the Act unless: 
  (1) good cause exists for failure to file a claim in a timely manner; or 
  (2) the employer or insurance carrier does not contest the claim. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §122.2 adopted to be effective January 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 173; amended to be effective September 12, 2004, 29 TexReg 8560 
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RULE §122.3 Exposure to Communicable Diseases: Reporting and Testing 
Requirements for Emergency Responders 
 
(a) This section applies to all law enforcement officers, fire fighters, emergency medical 
service employees, paramedics, and correctional officers who are either state employees 
or employees covered under workers' compensation insurance (to include those who 
are providing services as a volunteer and are covered by workers' compensation 
insurance). 
 
(b) For purposes of this section "reportable disease" means communicable diseases and 
health conditions required to be reported to the Texas Department of Health by the 
Texas Health and Safety Code, §81.041, as amended, including: acquired immune 
deficiency syndrome (AIDS); amebiasis; anthrax; botulism--adult and infant; brucellosis; 
campylobacteriosis; chancroid; chickenpox; Chlamydia trachomatis infection; cholera; 
cryptosporidiosis; dengue; diphtheria; ehrlichiosis; encephalitis; Escherichia coli 0157:H7; 
gonorrhea; Hansen's disease (leprosy); Heamophilus influenzae type b infection, 
invasive; hantavirus infection; hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS); hepatitis, acute viral; 
human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection; legionellosis; listeriosis; Lyme disease; 
malaria; measles (Rubeola); meningitis; meningococcal infection, invasive; mumps; 
pertussis; plague; poliomyelitis, acute paralytic; rabies in man; relapsing fever; Rocky 
Mountain spotted fever; rubella (including congenital); salmonellosis, including typhoid 
fever; shigellosis; streptococcal disease, invasive Group A; syphilis; tetanus; trichinosis; 
tuberculosis; tuberculosis infection in persons less than 15 years of age; typhus; Vibrio 
infection; viral hemorrhagic fevers; and yellow fever. This list of diseases may change 
from time to time. To determine the most current list of reportable diseases and 
exposure criteria refer to Texas Department of Health rules, 25 TAC Chapter 97, 
Communicable Diseases. 
 
(c) An employee listed in subsection (a) of this section will not be entitled to workers' 
compensation benefits for a reportable disease unless the employee: 
  (1) had a test performed within 10 days of an exposure to the reportable disease that 
indicated the absence of the reportable disease (Exposure criteria and testing protocol 
must conform to Texas Department of Health requirements. This rule does not prohibit 
a decision-maker's consideration of other factors.); and 
  (2) provided the employer with a sworn affidavit of the date and circumstances of the 
exposure and a copy of the results of the test required by paragraph (1) of this 
subsection. 
 
(d) The employer's insurance carrier, including state and political subdivision employers, 
shall be liable for the costs of test(s) required by subsection (c) of this section, regardless 
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of the results of the test(s), in addition to any other benefits required to be paid by the 
Texas Workers' Compensation Act or administrative rules. The cost of a state employee's 
testing, regardless of the results of the test, shall be paid from funds appropriated for 
payment of workers' compensation benefits to state employees. 
 
(e) Section 110.108 of this title (relating to Employer Notice Regarding Work-Related 
Exposure to Communicable Diseases/HIV: Posting Requirements; Payment for Tests) 
requires each employer with employees covered by this section to post the notice 
contained in subsection (d) of that section in its workplace to inform employees of the 
requirements of this section. 
 
(f) Emergency responders and employers of emergency responders should also refer to 
the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81 and Texas Department of Health rules, 25 
TAC Chapter 97, Communicable Diseases, to ensure compliance with all applicable 
requirements. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §122.3 adopted to be effective October 15, 1997, 22 
TexReg 9682 
 
RULE §122.4 State Employees Exposed to Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV): 
Reporting and Testing Requirements 
 
(a) This section applies to all employees of the state of Texas. 
 
(b) A state employee shall not be entitled to workers' compensation benefits for a work-
related exposure to human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection unless the employee: 
  (1) had a test performed within 10 days of an exposure to HIV that indicated the 
absence of HIV infection (Exposure criteria and testing protocol must conform to Texas 
Department of Health requirements.); and 
  (2) provided the employer with a written statement of the date and circumstances of 
the exposure to HIV and a copy of the results of the test required by paragraph (1) of 
this subsection. 
 
(c) The cost of a state employee's test(s) required by subsection (b) of this section, 
regardless of the results of the test(s), shall be paid from funds appropriated for 
payment of workers' compensation benefits to state employees, in addition to any other 
benefits required to be paid by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act or administrative 
rules. 
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(d) Section 110.108 of this title (relating to Employer Notice Regarding Work Related 
Exposure to Communicable Disease/HIV: Posting Requirements; Payment for Tests) 
requires each state agency to post the notice contained in subsection (d) of that section 
in its workplace to inform employees of the requirements of this section. 
 
(e) State employers and state employees should also refer to the Texas Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 85 and Texas Department of Health rules, 25 TAC Chapter 97, 
Communicable Diseases, to ensure compliance with all applicable requirements. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §122.4 adopted to be effective October 15, 1997, 22 
TexReg 9682 
 
RULE §122.5 Employee's Multiple Employment Wage Statement 
 
(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, will have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
  (1) Claim Employer -- Employer with whom the claimant filed a claim for workers' 
compensation benefits and for whom the injured employee (employee) was working at 
the time of the on-the-job injury. 
  (2) Non-Claim Employers -- Employers other than the claim employer by whom the 
employee was employed at the time of the on-the-job injury. 
 
(b) For an injury which occurs on or after July 1, 2002, a claimant may file a Multiple 
Employment Wage Statement for each employer the employee was working for on the 
date of injury. 
 
(c) If a claimant who is permitted by subsection (b) of this section chooses to file a 
Multiple Employment Wage Statement, it is the claimant's responsibility to obtain the 
required wage information from the Non-Claim Employer(s), providing any necessary 
corrections to the wage information, and filing the information on the Multiple 
Employment Wage Statement with the insurance carrier and commission. The carrier is 
not required to make an adjustment to AWW until the employee provides a complete 
Multiple Employment Wage Statement as described in subsections (d) and (e) of this 
section. 
 
(d) The Multiple Employment Wage Statement shall include: 
  (1) the employee's name, address, and social security number; 
  (2) the date of the Non-Claim Employer's hire of the employee; 
  (3) the date of injury; 
  (4) the Non-Claim Employer's name, address, and federal tax identification number; 
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  (5) the name and phone number of a person at the Non-Claim Employer who can be 
contacted to verify the wage information (unless the wage information was not provided 
by a person at the Non-Claim Employer - such as if the wage information came from the 
Texas Workforce Commission or the employee's pay stubs); 
  (6) the wage information required by subsection (e) of this section with documentation 
that supports the wage information being reported; and 
  (7) a certification that the wage information provided includes all wage information 
required by subsection (e) of this section and that the information is complete and 
accurate. 
 
(e) The wage information required to be provided in a Multiple Employment Wage 
Statement includes the employee's Non-Claim Employer wages, as defined in §128.1 of 
this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage: General Provisions), earned during the 13 
weeks immediately preceding the date of injury and the number of hours the employee 
worked to earn the wages being reported. The wages are limited to those reportable for 
federal income tax purposes. 
  (1) If the employee is paid by the Non-Claim Employer: 
    (A) on a monthly or a semi-monthly basis, the claimant may provide the wages 
earned in the three months immediately preceding the injury; 
    (B) on a biweekly basis, the claimant may provide the wages earned in the 14 weeks 
immediately preceding the injury; 
    (C) on other than a monthly, semi-monthly, or biweekly basis, the claimant shall 
provide the wages earned in the 13 weeks immediately preceding the injury. 
  (2) If the employee was not employed for 13 continuous weeks before the date of 
injury: 
    (A) the claimant shall report the wages of a similar employee performing similar 
services, as those terms are defined in §128.3 of this title (relating to Average Weekly 
Wage Calculation For Full-Time Employees, and For Temporary Income Benefits For All 
Employees); or 
    (B) if the Non-Claim Employer does not have a similar employee who has been 
employed for 13 continuous weeks prior to the employee's date of injury (or the 
claimant is unable to obtain the wage information on a similar employee), the claimant 
shall provide the wages earned by the employee during the period the employee was 
employed. 
 
(f) Employees who file Multiple Employment Wage Statements are required to report all 
changes in employment status and/or earnings at the Non-Claim Employer to the carrier 
until the employee reaches Maximum Medical Improvement. 
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  (1) The employee shall report all changes in employment status at the Non-Claim 
Employer including termination or resignation within 7 days of the date the change 
takes place. 
  (2) The employee shall report within 7 days of the end of the pay period in which a 
change in earnings at the Non-Claim Employer related to the compensable injury took 
place. This would include both reductions and increases in wages as compared to the 
prior week as long as the difference was caused by the compensable injury such as 
because the employee's ability to work changed or the employer was more or less able 
to provide work that met the employee's work restrictions. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §122.5 adopted to be effective May 16, 2002, 27 
TexReg 4032 
 
SUBCHAPTER B CLAIMS PROCEDURE FOR BENEFICIARIES OF INJURED EMPLOYEES 
 
RULE §122.100 Claim for Death Benefits 
 
(a) Filing. For a legal beneficiary, other than the subsequent injury fund, to receive the 
benefits available because of the death of an employee that results from a compensable 
injury, a person must file a written claim for death benefits within one year after the date 
of the employee's death. 
 
(b) An insurance carrier that receives a claim for death benefits under this section must 
comply with §124.8 of this title (relating to Receipt, Records, and Notice of Death or 
Claim for Death Benefits). 
 
(c) Form and information requirements. The claim should be submitted to the division or 
insurance carrier either on paper or via electronic transmission, in the form, format, and 
manner prescribed by the division, and should include the following: 
  (1) the potential beneficiary's name, address, telephone number (if any), Social Security 
number, and relationship to the deceased employee; 
  (2) the deceased employee's name, last address, Social Security number (if known), and 
workers' compensation claim number (if any); and 
  (3) other information, as follows: 
    (A) a description of the circumstances and nature of the injury (if known); 
    (B) the name and location of the employer at the time of the injury; 
    (C) the date of the compensable injury, and date of death; and 
    (D) other known legal beneficiaries. 
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(d) Required documents. A potential beneficiary must file with the division or insurance 
carrier a copy of the deceased employee's death certificate and any additional 
documentation or other evidence that establishes that the potential beneficiary is a legal 
beneficiary of the deceased employee. The required documents or additional evidence 
may be filed separately either on paper or by electronic transmission, as defined in 
§102.5(h) of this title. 
 
(e) One claim per person. Each person must file a separate claim for death benefits, 
unless the claim expressly includes or is made on behalf of another person. 
 
(f) Deadline. Failure to file a claim for death benefits within one year after the date of the 
employee's death bars the claim of a legal beneficiary, other than the subsequent injury 
fund, unless: 
  (1) that legal beneficiary is a minor or otherwise legally incompetent; 
  (2) except as provided by paragraph (3) of this subsection, good cause exists for failure 
to file the claim on time; or 

(3) for a legal beneficiary who is an eligible parent as defined by §132.6(e) of this title 
(relating to Eligibility of Other Surviving Dependents and Eligible Parents To Receive 
Death Benefits), the parent submits proof satisfactory to the commissioner of a 
compelling reason for the delay in filing the claim for death benefits 

 
Source Note: The provisions of this §122.100 adopted to be effective January 25, 1991, 
16 TexReg 174; amended to be effective September 12, 2004, 29 TexReg 8560; amended 
to be effective October 12, 2008, 33 TexReg 8393; amended to be effective March 21, 
2010, 35 TexReg 2190; amended to be effective December 11, 2023, 48 TexReg 7172 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 124 INSURANCE CARRIERS: NOTICES, PAYMENTS, AND REPORTING 
 
SUBCHAPTER A INSURANCE CARRIERS: REQUIRED NOTICES AND MODES OF 
PAYMENT 
 
RULE §124.1 Notice of Injury 
 
(a) Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c) of this section, written notice of injury, 
as used in the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, §409.021, consists of the insurance 
carrier's earliest receipt of: 
  (1) the Employer's First Report of Injury as described in §120.2 of this title (relating to 
Employer's First Report of Injury); 
  (2) the notification provided by the Commission under subsection (e) of this section; or 
  (3) if no Employer's First Report of Injury has been filed, any other communication 
regardless of source, which fairly informs the carrier of the name of the injured 
employee, the identity of the employer, the approximate date of the injury and 
information which asserts the injury is work related. 
 
(b) Written notice of injury for a certified self-insurer is received on the date the 
qualified claims servicing contractor designated by the self-insurer under Texas Labor 
Code §407.061(c) receives the notice. 
 
(c) Written notice of injury for a political subdivision that self-insures under Texas Labor 
Code §504.011, either individually or through an interlocal agreement with other 
political subdivisions, is received on the date the intergovernmental risk pool or other 
entity responsible for administering the claim receives the notice. 
 
(d) The carrier shall immediately create a written record on paper or in an electronic 
format of the earliest notice of injury as defined in subsection (a) of this section that is 
not received in writing. The date of receipt of a written notice of injury shall be deemed 
to be the earliest date the carrier receives the information identified in subsections 
(a)(1), (2), or (3) of this section. Upon request of the Commission, a carrier shall provide 
an affidavit indicating the receipt or non-receipt of a notice of injury received and the 
receipt date. 
 
(e) The Commission shall furnish written notification to the carrier when a source other 
than the carrier reports: 

Updated January 4, 2024 65

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=2&ti=28
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=3&ti=28&pt=2
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=28&pt=2&ch=124&rl=Y
https://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/rules/adopted/documents/ao1240222.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=124&rl=1


  (1) an injury that may cause the employee eight days or more of disability or has 
resulted in an impairment; 
  (2) a death; or 
  (3) an occupational disease. 
 
(f) If a carrier is notified of an injury for which it has not received an Employer's First 
Report of Injury, from the employer, the carrier shall contact the employer regarding the 
injury within seven days of notification. 
 
(g) Subsections (b) and (c) of this section apply only to compensable injuries with a date 
of injury on or after September 1, 2003. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §124.1 adopted to be effective August 29, 1999, 24 
TexReg 6503; amended to be effective March 14, 2004, 29 TexReg 2321 
 
RULE §124.2 Insurance Carrier Reporting and Notification Requirements 
 
(a) An insurance carrier must notify the division and the claimant of actions taken on or 
events occurring in a claim as required by this title. 
 
(b) The insurance carrier must electronically file, as that term is used in §102.5(e) of this 
title (concerning General Rules for Written Communications to and from the Division) 
with the division, according to the requirements in Subchapter B of this title (concerning 
Insurance Carrier Claim Electronic Data Interchange Reporting to the Division): 
  (1) the information from the original Employer's First Report of Injury; the insurance 
carrier's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN); and the policy number, policy 
effective date, and policy expiration date reported under §110.1 of this title (concerning 
Insurance Carrier Requirements for Notifying the Division of Insurance Coverage) for the 
employer associated with the claim, not later than the seventh day after the later of: 
    (A) receipt of a required report where there is lost time from work, an occupational 
disease, or a fatality; or 
    (B) notification of lost time if the employer made the Employer's First Report of Injury 
before the employee experienced absence from work as a result of the injury; 
  (2) information about an acquired claim no later than the 37th day after the acquiring 
claim administrator has knowledge of claim-specific information from the previous claim 
administrator; 
  (3) any correction of an electronic record accepted with errors, as provided in §102.5(e) 
of this title (concerning General Rules for Written Communications to and from the 
Division), within 30 days of the notification from the division detailed in §124.104(b) of 
this title (concerning Reporting Requirements); 
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  (4) information about a compensable death with no beneficiary no later than the 10th 
day after determining that an employee whose injury resulted in death had no legal 
beneficiary; and 

(5) a change in an electronic record initiated by the insurance carrier, the coverage 
information required by paragraph (1) of this subsection if not available when the First 
Report of Injury was submitted to the division, and any change in a claimant or 
employer mailing address within seven days of receiving the new address. 

 
(c) The insurance carrier must notify the division and the claimant of its denial of a claim 
based on noncompensability or lack of coverage in accordance with this section and as 
otherwise provided by this title. 
 
(d) The insurance carrier must notify the division and the claimant of the following: 
  (1) first payment of indemnity benefits on a claim within 10 days of making the first 
payment; 
  (2) first payment of indemnity benefits on an acquired claim within 10 days of making 
the first payment; 
  (3) a change in the net benefit payment amount without a change to the benefit type 
within 10 days of making the first payment reflecting the change; 
  (4) a change from one income benefit type to another or to death benefits within 10 
days of making the first payment reflecting the change; 
  (5) resumption of payment of income or death benefits within 10 days of making the 
first payment; 
  (6) termination or suspension of income or death benefits within 10 days of making the 
last payment for the benefits; 
  (7) employer continuation of salary, as defined in §129.1(1) (concerning Definitions for 
Temporary Income Benefits) of this title, equal to or exceeding the employee's average 
weekly wage as defined by this title within: 
    (A) seven days of receiving the information that salary would be continued in lieu of 
the insurance carrier initiating temporary income benefits; 
    (B) ten days of making the last payment of temporary income benefits due to the 
employer's salary continuation; or 
    (C) ten days of resuming payment of the employer's salary continuation; 
  (8) lump sum payment of income or death benefits within 10 days of making the 
payment; or 

(9) refusal to pay accrued income benefits due to dispute of disability. 
 

(e) If an insurance carrier receives a written notice of injury for a disease or illness 
identified by Texas Government Code, Chapter 607, Subchapter B (relating to Diseases 
or Illnesses Suffered by Firefighters, Peace Officers, and Emergency Medical 
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Technicians), the insurance carrier must take one of the following actions no later than 
the 15th day after receiving the notice of injury: 
  (1) initiate benefits as required by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and the 
division's rules; 
  (2) file a notice of denial as described in this section; or 

(3) provide the claimant and the division with notice as required under Labor Code 
§409.021(a-3) (Notice of Continuing Investigation) for a claim for benefits received on or 
after June 10, 2019. 

 
(f) When applying subsection (e) of this section and Government Code, Chapter 607, 
Subchapter B, a "claim for benefits" means the first written notice of injury as provided 
in §124.1 of this title (concerning Notice of Injury). 
 
(g) The insurance carrier must issue a Notice of Continuing Investigation as a plain 
language notice in the form and manner prescribed by the division. The notification 
requirements of this section are not considered complete until a copy of the notice 
provided to the claimant is received by the division. 
  (1) A Notice of Continuing Investigation must include the following: 
    (A) a statement describing all steps taken by the insurance carrier to investigate the 
disease or illness before the notice was given; 
    (B) a list of any claim-specific evidence, releases, or documentation the insurance 
carrier reasonably believes is both relevant and necessary to complete its investigation; 
and 
    (C) contact information for the adjuster, including the adjuster's email address, fax 
number, and telephone number. 
  (2) An insurance carrier must provide a reasonable amount of time for a claimant to 
respond to the notice. 
  (3) The notice may not include a request for additional diagnostic testing, mental 
health records, generic requests (such as "the claimant's medical records"), or requests 
for records that are not directly related to either the disease or illness or eligibility for 
application of a statutory presumption. 

(4) Notwithstanding the issuance of a Notice of Continuing Investigation, an insurance 
carrier must continue taking reasonable steps to acquire claim-specific information 
necessary to complete its investigation of the claim. 

 
(h) Notification to the claimant as required by subsections (c) - (e) of this section 
requires the insurance carrier to use plain language notices in the form and manner 
prescribed by the division. These notices must provide a full and complete statement 
describing the insurance carrier's action and rationale. The statement must contain 
sufficient claim-specific substantive information to enable the claimant to understand 
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the insurance carrier's position or action taken on the claim. A generic statement that 
simply states the insurance carrier's position with phrases such as "employee returned to 
work," "adjusted for light duty," "liability is in question," "compensability in dispute," 
"under investigation," or other similar phrases with no further description of the factual 
basis for the action taken does not satisfy the requirements of this section. 
 
(i) In addition to the denial notice requirements in subsection (h), if the insurance carrier 
receives a written notice of injury for a disease or illness identified by Texas Government 
Code, Chapter 607, Subchapter B (relating to Diseases or Illnesses Suffered by 
Firefighters, Peace Officers, and Emergency Medical Technicians), the denial must also 
include the following: 
  (1) if the insurance carrier asserts that a statutory presumption does not apply, a 
statement explaining why and describing the claim-specific information that the 
insurance carrier reviewed; 
  (2) alternatively, based on its investigation, if the insurance carrier concludes that a 
statutory presumption applies, but a notice of denial will be issued, a statement 
explaining why and describing the claim-specific information reviewed before issuing 
the notice that supports a reasonable belief that risk factors, accidents, hazards, or other 
causes not associated with their employment were a substantial factor in bringing about 
the injured employee's disease or illness, without which the disease or illness would not 
have occurred; and 

(3) if the insurance carrier provided a timely Notice of Continuing Investigation as 
permitted by law, the denial notice must also include a statement describing whether 
the claimant provided a timely response to the notice. 

 
(j) Notification to the division as required by subsections (b) - (e) of this section requires 
the insurance carrier to use electronic filing, as that term is used in §102.5(e) of this title 
(concerning General Rules for Written Communications to and from the Division) with 
the division, according to the requirements in Subchapter B of this title (concerning 
Insurance Carrier Claim Electronic Data Interchange Reporting to the Division). 
  (1) In addition to the electronic filing requirements of this subsection, when an 
insurance carrier notifies the division of a denial, Notice of Continuing Investigation, or 
dispute of disability as required by this section, it must provide the division a written 
copy of the notice provided to the claimant as described under subsections (g) - (i) and 
(k) of this section, as applicable. 

(2) The notification requirements of this section are not considered completed until the 
copy of the notice provided to the claimant is received by the division. 

 
(k) Notification to the division and the claimant of a dispute of disability, extent of injury, 
or eligibility of a claimant to receive death benefits must be made as otherwise 
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prescribed by this title and requires the insurance carrier to use plain language notices 
in the form and manner prescribed by the division. These notices must provide a full and 
complete statement describing the insurance carrier's action and its reasons for such 
action. The statement must contain sufficient claim-specific substantive information to 
enable the claimant to understand the insurance carrier's position or action taken on the 
claim. A generic statement that simply states the insurance carrier's position with 
phrases such as "no medical evidence to support disability," "not part of compensable 
injury," "liability is in question," "under investigation," "eligibility questioned," or other 
similar phrases with no further description of the factual basis for the action taken does 
not satisfy the requirements of this section. 
 
(l) Except as otherwise provided by this title, insurance carriers must not provide notices 
to the division that explain that: 
  (1) benefits will be paid as they accrue; 
  (2) a wage statement has been requested; 
  (3) temporary income benefits are not due because there is no lost time; 
  (4) the insurance carrier is disputing some or all medical treatment as not reasonable 
or necessary; 
  (5) compensability is not denied, but the insurance carrier disputes the existence of 
disability (if there are no indications of lost time or disability and the employee is not 
claiming disability); or 

(6) future medical benefits are disputed (notices of which must not be provided to 
anyone in the system). 

 
(m) Notifications to the claimant and the claimant's representative must be filed by fax 
or electronic transmission unless the recipient does not have the means to receive such 
a transmission, in which case, the notifications must be personally delivered or sent by 
mail. 
 
(n) Each insurance carrier must provide to the division, through its Austin representative 
in the form and manner prescribed by the division, the contact information for all 
workers' compensation claim service administration functions performed by the 
insurance carrier either directly or through third parties. 
  (1) The contact information for each function must include mailing address, telephone 
number, fax number, and email address, as appropriate. This contact information may 
be provided either in the form of a single Uniform Resource Locator (URL) for a web 
page created and maintained by the insurance carrier that contains the required 
information or through an online submission to the division. The claim service 
administration functions requiring contact information to be reported are: 
    (A) coverage verification (policy issuance and effective dates of the policy); 
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    (B) claim adjustment; 
    (C) medical billing; 
    (D) pharmacy billing (if different from medical billing); 
    (E) preauthorization; and 
    (F) workers' compensation health care network. 
  (2) If the web page option is used, the page must contain the date it was last updated 
and an email address or other contact information a user may report problems or 
inaccuracies to. 

(3) The insurance carrier must update the contact information or URL within 10 
working days after any such change is made. 

 
(o) All notices to a claimant required under this section must be stated in plain language 
and in no less than 12-point font. This subsection applies to notices sent on or after 
April 1, 2020. 
 
(p) The section is effective July 26, 2023. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §124.2 adopted to be effective August 29, 1999, 24 
TexReg 6503; amended to be effective June 5, 2003, 28 TexReg 4285; amended to be 
effective January 12, 2020, 45 TexReg 348; amended to be effective July 26, 2023, 47 
TexReg 1095 
 
RULE §124.3 Investigation of an Injury and Notice of Denial or Dispute 
 
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, upon receipt of written notice of 
injury as provided in §124.1 of this title (relating to Notice of Injury) the insurance carrier 
shall conduct an investigation relating to the compensability of the injury, the insurance 
carrier's liability for the injury, and the accrual of benefits. If the insurance carrier 
believes that it is not liable for the injury or that the injury was not compensable, the 
insurance carrier shall file the notice of denial of a claim (Notice of Denial) in the form 
and manner required by Labor Code §409.022 (relating to Refusal to Pay Benefits; 
Notice; Administrative Violation) and §124.2 of this title (concerning Insurance Carrier 
Reporting and Notification Requirements). 
  (1) If the insurance carrier does not file a Notice of Denial by the 15th day after receipt 
of the written notice of injury or does not file a Notice of Continuing Investigation as 
described under Labor Code §409.021(a-3) (relating to Initiation of Benefits; Insurance 
Carrier's Refusal; Administrative Violation), the insurance carrier is liable for any benefits 
that accrue and shall initiate benefits in accordance with this section. 
  (2) If the insurance carrier files a Notice of Denial after the 15th day but on or before 
the 60th day after receipt of written notice of the injury: 
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    (A) The insurance carrier is liable for and shall pay all income benefits that had 
accrued and were payable prior to the date the insurance carrier filed the Notice of 
Denial and only then is it permitted to suspend payment of benefits; and 
    (B) The insurance carrier is liable for and shall pay for all medical services, in 
accordance with the Act and rules, provided prior to the filing of the Notice of Denial. 
  (3) The insurance carrier shall not file notice with the division that benefits will be paid 
as and when they accrue with the division. 
  (4) An insurance carrier's failure to file a Notice of Denial or a Notice of Continuing 
Investigation by the 15th day after it receives written notice of an injury constitutes the 
insurance carrier's acceptance of the claim as a compensable injury, subject to the 
insurance carrier's ability to contest compensability on or before the 60th day after 
receipt of written notice of the injury. In the event of such a failure, the insurance carrier 
is liable for and shall pay all income and medical benefits that have accrued or become 
payable, subject to the insurance carrier's right to contest compensability on or before 
the 60th day. 
  (5) The insurance carrier commits an administrative violation if, not later than the 15th 
day after it receives written notice of the injury, it does not begin to pay benefits as 
required, file a Notice of Denial of the compensability of a claim, or file a Notice of 
Continuing Investigation in the form and manner required by §124.2 of this title. The 
division will send periodic notifications to all insurance carriers regarding the amount of 
penalties owed and the proper way to submit and document the payments. 
 
(b) Except as provided by subsection (c), the insurance carrier waives the right to contest 
compensability of or liability for the injury, if it does not contest compensability on or 
before the 60th day after the date on which the insurance carrier receives written notice 
of the injury. 
 
(c) If the insurance carrier wants to deny compensability of or liability for the injury after 
the 60th day after it received written notice of the injury: 
  (1) the insurance carrier must establish that it is basing its denial on evidence that 
could not have reasonably been discovered earlier; and 
  (2) the insurance carrier is liable for and shall pay all benefits that were payable prior to 
and after filing the Notice of Denial until the division has made a finding that the 
evidence could not have been reasonably discovered earlier. 
 
(d) If the claim involves the death of an injured employee, investigations, denials of 
compensability or liability, and disputes of the eligibility of a potential beneficiary to 
receive death benefits are governed by §132.17 of this title (concerning Denial, Dispute, 
and Payment of Death Benefits). Notwithstanding §132.17(f)(1) and (2) of this title, the 
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insurance carrier may issue a Notice of Continuing Investigation in accordance with the 
provisions of §124.2(f) and this section. 
 
(e) Notwithstanding §132.13 of this title (concerning Burial Benefits), if an insurance 
carrier has issued a Notice of Continuing Investigation in accordance with the provisions 
of §124.2(f) and this section, the insurance carrier shall either pay or deny a claim for 
burial benefits within seven days from the date the insurance carrier either initiated 
benefits or filed a notice of denial in accordance with §124.2(f) of this title. 
 
(f) Labor Code §409.021 and subsection (a) of this section do not apply to disputes of 
extent of injury. If an insurance carrier receives a medical bill that involves treatment(s) 
or service(s) that the insurance carrier believes is not related to the compensable injury, 
the insurance carrier shall file a notice of dispute of extent of injury (notice of dispute). 
The notice of dispute shall be filed in accordance with §124.2 of this title and be filed 
not later than the earlier of: 
  (1) the date the insurance carrier denied the medical bill; or 
  (2) the due date for the insurance carrier to pay or deny the medical bill as provided in 
Chapter 133 of this title (concerning General Medical Provisions). 
 
(g) If the insurance carrier receives a written notice of injury for a disease or illness 
identified by Texas Government Code, Chapter 607, Subchapter B (relating to Diseases 
or Illnesses Suffered by Firefighters, Peace Officers, and Emergency Medical 
Technicians), it shall investigate the applicability of the statutory presumption as well as 
compensability of the injury, liability for the injury, and the accrual of benefits. 
  (1) A claimant is not required to expressly claim the applicability of a statutory 
presumption in order for the statutory presumption to apply. 
  (2) A presumption under Government Code, Chapter 607, Subchapter B, is claimed 
upon an insurance carrier's receipt of a written notice of injury which identifies: 
    (A) the injured or deceased employee's occupation as a firefighter, peace officer, or 
emergency medical technician, and 
    (B) the injured or deceased employee's disease or illness is a medical condition 
identified by Subchapter B. 
  (3) A determination that the statutory presumption does not apply does not relieve the 
insurance carrier of its continuing obligation to conduct a reasonable investigation 
relating to the compensability of the injury, liability for the injury, and accrual of 
benefits. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §124.3 adopted to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 
TexReg 2096; amended to be effective March 14, 2004, 29 TexReg 2322; amended to be 
effective January 12, 2020, 45 TexReg 348 
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RULE §124.5 Mode of Payment Made by Insurance Carriers 
 
(a) The insurance carrier shall make all medical benefit and burial payments by: 
  (1) check or other readily negotiable instrument; or 
  (2) electronic transfer by mutual agreement to an account designated in writing by the 
payee. 
 
(b) Except as provided by §126.2 of this title (relating to Payment of Benefits to Minors), 
insurance carriers shall make all payments of income or death benefits by: 
  (1) check or other readily negotiable instrument to the order of the claimant; or 
  (2) electronic transfer if required to under subsection (f) of this section or by mutual 
agreement between the insurance carrier and the claimant including an access card 
under §124.6 of this title (relating to Electronic Transfer Payments Made Through an 
Access Card). 
 
(c) An insurance carrier that routinely pays benefits by check or other negotiable 
instrument to the claimant drawn on an out-of-state financial institution shall 
accompany each instrument with written information about the insurance carrier's office 
location and telephone number where the claimant may call, at the insurance carrier's 
expense, to obtain help with cashing the instrument, if necessary. 
 
(d) A claimant may request that the insurance carrier make benefit payments by 
electronic transfer to a personal bank account by providing the insurance carrier in 
writing: the name and routing transit number of the financial institution and the account 
number and type of account that the claimant wants the benefits electronically 
transferred to. The insurance carrier shall provide the claimant with a form to fill out the 
information required by this subsection within seven days of receiving a request for such 
a form from the claimant. 
 
(e) Subsections (f) - (i) of this section apply to income or death benefit payments due on 
or after September 1, 2000. 
 
(f) Unless relieved by subsection (g) of this section, the insurance carrier shall make 
income or death benefit payments by electronic transfer if the claimant: 
  (1) requests in writing that payment be made by electronic transfer; 
  (2) provides the information required by subsection (d) of this section; and 
  (3) is reasonably expected to be entitled to receive income or death benefits for a 
period of eight weeks or more from the point that paragraphs (1) and (2) of this 
subsection are satisfied. 

Updated January 4, 2024 74

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=124&rl=5


  (4) This subsection does not apply to electronic transfer payments made through an 
access card under §124.6 of this title. 
 
(g) An insurance carrier is relieved of the responsibility to make payment of temporary 
income benefits, impairment income benefits, and supplemental income benefits by 
electronic transfer if the mode of payment has been switched at the request of the 
claimant three times after initially changing to electronic payments. 
 
(h) The insurance carrier shall initiate payment by electronic transfer starting with the 
first income or death benefit payment due on or after the 21st day after the 
requirements of subsection (f) of this section are met but shall continue to timely make 
payments by check until the insurance carrier initiates benefit delivery by electronic 
transfer. 
 
(i) If the claimant has previously been receiving income or death benefit payments by 
electronic transfer and wants to receive benefits by check, the insurance carrier shall 
initiate income or death benefit delivery by check starting with the first benefit payment 
due to the claimant on or after the 7th day after receiving a written request. 
 
(j) Effective date. Unless otherwise specified, this section is effective for income or death 
benefit payments due on or after June 1, 2015. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §124.5 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 116; amended to be effective November 28, 1999, 24 TexReg 10333; amended 
to be effective June 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 332 
 
RULE §124.6 Electronic Transfer Payments Made Through an Access Card 
 
(a) Access card. In this chapter, access card means any card or other payment method 
that may be used by a claimant to initiate an electric fund transfer from an insurance 
carrier's bank account. The term "access card" does not include stored value cards or 
prepaid cards that store funds directly on the card and that are not linked to an 
insurance carrier's bank account. 
 
(b) Mutual agreement. An insurance carrier may pay income or death benefits through 
an access card to a claimant if there is written mutual agreement signed by the 
insurance carrier and the claimant. The insurance carrier shall maintain accurate records 
of the mutual agreement for, at a minimum, 401 weeks from the date of injury. The 
written mutual agreement shall contain an acknowledgement that the claimant received 
and agreed to the written disclosure in subsection (f) of this section. 
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(c) Agent of the insurance carrier. Any person with whom an insurance carrier utilizes or 
contracts for the purpose of providing service or fulfilling duties under this section is an 
agent of the insurance carrier under §180.1(3) of this title (relating to Definitions). 
 
(d) Requirements and prohibited fees. An insurance carrier shall: 
  (1) permit the claimant to withdraw the entire amount of the balance of an access card 
in one transaction; 
  (2) not reduce income or death benefits paid to a claimant through an access card for 
the following fees, surcharges, and adjustments: 
    (A) overdraft services under which a financial institution pays a transaction (including 
a check or other item) when the claimant has insufficient or unavailable funds in the 
account; 
    (B) ATM withdrawal or a point of sale purchase for more than the card holds and the 
transaction is denied; 
    (C) ATM balance inquiries; 
    (D) withdrawing money from network ATMs; 
    (E) withdrawing money from a teller; 
    (F) customer service calls; 
    (G) activating the card; 
    (H) fees for card inactivity; 
    (I) closing account; 
    (J) access card replacement through standard mail; 
    (K) withdrawing the entire payment in one transaction; 
    (L) point of sale purchases; or 
    (M) any other fees or charges that are not authorized under subsection (e) of this 
section. 
 
(e) Permitted fees. The claimant may be charged for the following: 
  (1) access card replacement through an expedited mail service; 
  (2) international transaction fees; and 
  (3) out-of-network ATM fees. 
 
(f) Required disclosure. Insurance carriers shall provide a written disclosure to the 
claimant contemporaneously with the written mutual agreement under subsection (a) of 
this section. The written disclosure shall include: 
  (1) a summary of the claimant's liability for unauthorized electronic fund transfers; 
  (2) the telephone number and address of the person or office to be notified when the 
claimant believes that an unauthorized electronic fund transfer has been or may be 
made; 
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  (3) the type of electronic fund transfers that the claimant may make and any limitations 
on the frequency of transfers; 
  (4) any fees imposed for electronic fund transfers or for the right to make transfers 
including a statement that fees may be imposed by ATM operator that is out-of-
network; 
  (5) fees for expedited card replacement or international transaction fees will be 
removed from the balance maintained in the bank account linked to the access card; 
  (6) a summary of the claimant's right to receipts and periodic statements; 
  (7) all bank locations and network ATMs in the United States where the claimant may 
access his or her funds at no cost; 
  (8) a statement informing the claimant that they have a right to receive payments 
directly into their personal bank account through direct deposit. 
 
(g) Plain language requirement. An insurance carrier shall provide a written disclosure 
and notice of term or condition changes under this section that: 
  (1) are printed in not less than 12-point font; 
  (2) include the full text in English, Spanish, and any other language common to the 
claimant population; 
  (3) are written in a clear and coherent manner and wherever practical, words with 
common and everyday meaning shall be used to facilitate readability; and 
  (4) are appropriately divided and captioned in a meaningful sequence such that each 
section contains an underlined, boldfaced, or otherwise conspicuous title or caption at 
the beginning of the section that indicates the nature of the subject matter included in 
or covered by the section. 
 
(h) Access card information. An access card issued to the claimant under the section: 
  (1) shall not bear any information that could reasonably identify the claimant as a 
participant in the workers' compensation system. 
  (2) shall include on the front or back of the access card a toll-free customer service 
number and website address. Customer service personnel shall be available by phone 
Monday through Friday, during normal business hours as outlined in §102.3 of this title 
(relating to Computation of Time). 
 
(i) Written notice of term or condition changes. The insurance carrier shall provide a 
written notice to the claimant at least 21 days before the effective date of any change in 
a term or condition of the mutual agreement or disclosure, including terminating the 
access card program, increased fees, or liability for unauthorized electronic fund 
transfers. Any terms or conditions that violate the requirements of this section are null 
and void and may result in administrative penalties for the insurance carrier. An 
insurance carrier shall provide a written notice of term or condition changes that: 
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  (1) provides a comparison of the current terms and the changes; and 
  (2) references the claimant's ability to request a change in payment outlined in 
§124.5(i) of this title (relating to Mode of Payment Made by Carriers). 
 
(j) Account closure. An insurance carrier may close the account by issuing a check to the 
claimant with the remaining balance of the access card if the account has been inactive 
for 12 months or longer. 
 
(k) Recoupment of payment. The insurance carrier shall not remove money from the 
claimant's account or access card except to remove permitted fees under subsection (e) 
of this section or to close the account for inactivity of a period of 12 months or more. An 
insurance carrier seeking to recoup overpayments shall follow the procedures outlined 
in §126.16 of this title (relating to Procedures for Recouping Overpayments of Income 
Benefits). 
 
(l) Paid date. An insurance carrier is considered to have made an income or death 
benefit payment the date the payment is available on the claimant's access card. 
 
(m) No granting of rights. Nothing in the section shall be construed to grant any rights 
otherwise prohibited under federal law. 
 
(n) Effective date. This section is effective for income or death benefit payments due on 
or after June 1, 2015. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §124.6 adopted to be effective June 1, 2015, 40 
TexReg 332 
 
RULE §124.7 Initial Payment of Temporary Income Benefits 
 
(a) As used in this section, the following terms have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: "Accrual date" means the day an injured worker's 
income benefits begin to accrue. "Day of disability" means a day when the worker is 
unable to obtain and retain employment at wages equivalent to the pre-injury wage 
because of a compensable injury. Intermittent days of disability shall be cumulated to 
calculate the accrual date. 
 
(b) An injured worker's accrual date is the worker's eighth day of disability. 
 
(c) A carrier who has received written notice of an injury and has not disputed the claim 
shall initiate income benefits no later than the seventh day after the accrual date. 
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(d) Nothing in this section is intended to limit a carrier's discretion to initiate payment of 
temporary income benefits before the time limit established in subsection (c) of this 
section. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §124.7 adopted to be effective September 30, 1991, 
16 TexReg 5071; amended to be effective March 1, 1993, 18 TexReg 472; amended to be 
effective June 5, 2003, 28 TexReg 4290 
 
RULE §124.8 Receipt, Records, and Notice of Death or Claim for Death Benefits 
 
(a) Definition. In this section, "claim for death benefits" means a claim that is filed under 
Chapter 122, Subchapter B, §122.100 of this title. 
 
(b) General requirements. An insurance carrier that receives a notice of death in 
accordance with §132.17 of this title, or a claim for death benefits must comply with all 
of the requirements in this chapter. 
 
(c) Recordkeeping and notice. An insurance carrier in subsection (b) of this section must: 
  (1) send the division a copy of the plain-language notice that the insurance carrier 
must provide to the potential beneficiary under §132.17 of this title. 
  (2) on receiving a claim for death benefits, create and maintain a record documenting 
receipt of the claim for death benefits. The record must include all of the information in 
the claim for death benefits. The insurance carrier must maintain the record in 
accordance with Chapter 102, §102.4 of this title. 
(3) send the division a copy of a claim for death benefits the insurance carrier receives 

from the potential beneficiary not later than the seventh day after receiving it and 
include any other documents and information the insurance carrier received. 
 

Source Note: The provisions of this §124.8 adopted to be effective December 11, 2023, 
48 TexReg 7174 
 

SUBCHAPTER B INSURANCE CARRIER CLAIM ELECTRONIC DATA INTERCHANGE 
REPORTING TO THE DIVISION 
 
RULE §124.100 Applicability 
 
(a) This subchapter applies to any claim transactions required to be reported to the 
division under §124.105 on or after July 26, 2023. 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 126 GENERAL PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL BENEFITS 
 
RULE §126.1 Definitions Applicable to All Benefits 
 
The following terms shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 
 
  (1) Employer Initiation of Benefits - Money paid by an employer to the employee to 
compensate the employee for lost wages or paid by the employer for medical expenses 
during a period in which the carrier has either: 
    (A) contested compensability of the injury; 
    (B) contested liability for the injury; or 
    (C) has not completed its initial investigation of the injury which is limited to seven 
days after the carrier receives first written notice of the injury as defined in §124.1 of this 
title (relating to Notice of Injury). 
 
  (2) Nonpecuniary Wages--Wages paid to an employee in a form other than money. 
Examples of nonpecuniary wages include but are not limited to: 
    (A) Health insurance premiums; 
    (B) Laundry/cleaning; 
    (C) Clothing/uniforms; 
    (D) Lodging/housing/rent; 
    (E) Payment of professional license fees; 
    (F) Food/Meals; and 
    (G) Provision of a vehicle/fuel. 
 
  (3) Pecuniary Wages--Wages paid to an employee in the form of money. Examples of 
pecuniary wages include, but are not limited to: 
    (A) Hourly, weekly, biweekly, monthly (etc.) wages; 
    (B) Salary; 
    (C) Piecework compensation; 
    (D) Any monetary allowance such as for health insurance premiums, vehicle/fuel, 
food/meals, clothing/uniforms, laundry/cleaning, or lodging/housing/rent; 
    (E) Monetary bonuses earned or accrued by the employee; and 
    (F) Commissions. 
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  (4) Unrecoupable overpayment--The amount of benefits paid by the carrier to the 
claimant which were not owed and which were not recoverable or convertible from 
other income benefits. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.1 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11399 
 
RULE §126.2 Payment of Benefits to Minors 
 
(a) If an injured employee is a minor, benefits will be paid by the carrier to the custodial 
parent or guardian, for the use and benefits of the minor, until the minor turns 18 year 
of age, except as otherwise provided in this section. 
 
(b) If a court-ordered relationship that affects the minor exists and is brought to the 
attention of the carrier or the commission, the carrier will pay benefits in accordance 
with that order. 
 
(c) A parent, managing conservator, or guardian may agree, in writing, for direct 
payment of benefits to the minor. 
 
(d) An injured employee who is a minor may petition the commission for direct payment 
of benefits. The carrier shall pay benefits directly to the minor if so ordered by the 
executive director, after a hearing, and a reasonable attempt is made to locate the 
parent or guardian for purpose of the hearing. 
 
(e) When the carrier and commission receive proof that a minor has attained the age of 
18 years, or that a guardianship has ended, benefits will be paid directly to the injured 
employee. 
 
(f) This section will also apply to payment of death benefits to legal beneficiaries who 
are minors. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.2 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 6747 
 
RULE §126.3 Payment of Benefits to Legally Incompetent Persons 
 
(a) Benefits for an injured employee found to be legally incompetent shall be paid by 
the carrier to the court-appointed guardian for the use and benefit of the injured 
employee, in accordance with the terms of any court order. 
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(b) If the carrier and the commission receive a certified copy of the court order declaring 
the injured employee legally competent, benefits shall once again be paid directly to the 
injured employee. 
 
(c) The Ombudsman Program may provide information to the parties to a claim about 
available options if no court has declared an employee to be legally incompetent. 
 
(d) This rule will also apply to payment of death benefits to legally incompetent 
beneficiaries of deceased employees.  
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.3 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 6747 
 
RULE §126.4 Advance of Benefits Based on Financial Hardship 
 
(a) An injured employee seeking an advance of income benefits based on financial 
hardship shall submit a written application to the Commission in the form and manner 
prescribed by the Commission that states the basis for the hardship The application 
must state the employee understands that if an advance is granted the amount of future 
weekly benefit payments will be reduced as directed by the Commission. 
 
(b) The Commission shall forward a copy of the employee's application to the insurance 
carrier and shall consider the employee's application and may order an advance if it 
determines that both a hardship exists for the employee and the employee is likely to be 
entitled to income benefits sufficient to cover the amount of the advance. 
 
(c) An advance will not be granted to an employee whose combined post-injury 
earnings, as defined by §129.2 of this title (relating to Entitlement to Temporary Income 
Benefits), and income benefits under this Act equals or exceeds 90% of the employee's 
net pre-injury wage. In the absence of specific evidence to the contrary, the net pre-
injury wage of an employee shall be presumed to be 80% of the average weekly wage, 
for this section. 
 
(d) The Commission shall notify the carrier and the employee in writing when an 
advance is ordered. The notice shall include the amount of the advance to be paid; this 
amount shall not exceed four times the maximum weekly benefit for temporary income 
benefits as computed under the Act, §408.061(a). The carrier shall pay an advance 
ordered by the Commission within seven days of the receipt of notice from the 
Commission by the carrier's Austin representative. 
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(e) After the carrier has paid an advance, it shall reduce the amount of the weekly 
income benefits in an amount set by the Commission, which takes into account the 
amount advanced and the number of weeks that benefits are likely to be paid in the 
future. The weekly benefits may be paid in this reduced amount until the carrier has 
recouped the amount advanced. 
 
(f) The total amount of benefits paid to the employee through weekly payments and 
advances based on hardship shall not exceed the amount the employee would have 
received under a normal payment schedule. No more than three advances shall be 
granted based on the same injury. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.4 adopted to be effective January 30, 1991, 16 
TexReg 313; amended to be effective December 26, 1999, 24 TexReg 11399 
 
RULE §126.5 Entitlement and Procedure for Requesting Required Medical 
Examinations 
 
(a) A doctor who has contracted with or is employed by an authorized workers' 
compensation health care network established under Insurance Code Chapter 1305, 
(network doctor) may not perform a required medical examination, as those terms are 
used under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (the Act), for an employee receiving 
medical care through the same network. It is the responsibility of the requesting party to 
ensure the doctor selected does not have a disqualifying association. 
 
(b) The Division may authorize a required medical examination (RME) for any reason set 
forth in the Act, Texas Labor Code §408.004, §408.0041, or §408.151 at the request of the 
insurance carrier (carrier). The request shall be made in the form and manner prescribed 
by the Division. A carrier is not entitled to take action with respect to benefits based on, 
and the Division shall not consider, a report of an RME doctor that was not approved or 
obtained in accordance with this section. 
 
(c) Carriers are entitled to RMEs by a doctor of their choice in accordance with this 
subsection as follows: 
  (1) Pursuant to Texas Labor Code §408.004, once every 180 days, to resolve any 
questions about the appropriateness of the health care received by the injured 
employee (employee). The carrier's first RME may be requested at any time after the 
date of injury. A subsequent examination may be requested once every 180 days after 
the first examination and must be performed by the same doctor unless otherwise 
approved by the Division. This paragraph only applies to requests for required medical 
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examinations of employees not receiving medical treatment through an authorized 
workers' compensation health care network. 
  (2) For the purpose of evaluating a designated doctor's determination on the issues 
listed under Labor Code §408.0041, a carrier is entitled to an examination under this 
subsection only after a Designated Doctor exam under §126.7 of this title (relating to 
Designated Doctor Examinations: Requests and General Procedures). 
  (3) For the purpose of evaluating a designated doctor's determination pursuant to 
Texas Labor Code §408.151, to determine if the employee's medical condition resulting 
from the compensable injury has improved sufficiently to allow the employee to return 
to work. For the purposes of this paragraph, the carrier may not require an employee to 
submit to an RME more than once per year if: 
    (A) an employee is receiving supplemental income benefits on or after the second 
anniversary of the date of the employee's initial entitlement to supplemental income 
benefits, and 
    (B) in the year preceding the request for the RME, the employee's medical condition 
resulting from the compensable injury had not improved sufficiently to allow the 
employee to return to work during that year. 
 
(d) The doctor selected to perform an RME must be on the Division's approved doctors 
list and, if the purpose of the examination is to evaluate maximum medical impairment 
(MMI) and/or permanent impairment following a designated doctor examination, be 
authorized to assign impairment ratings under §130.1(a) of this title (relating to 
Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of Permanent 
Impairment). 
 
(e) Except for an examination under subsection (c)(2) and (3) of this section, the Division 
shall not require an employee to submit to a medical examination at the carrier's 
request until the carrier has made an attempt to obtain the agreement of the employee 
for the examination as required by this subsection. The carrier shall notify the Division in 
the form and manner prescribed by the Division of any agreement or non-agreement by 
the employee regarding the requested examination. An examination of an employee by 
a doctor selected by the carrier shall be requested as follows: 
  (1) Prior to requesting an RME from the Division, the carrier shall send a copy of the 
request to the employee and the employee's representative (if any) in the manner 
prescribed by subsection (g) of this section in an attempt to obtain the employee's 
agreement to the examination. 
  (2) The carrier shall give the employee 15 days to agree to the examination. The 15-day 
period begins on the date the carrier sends the request to the employee and the 
employee's representative (if any). Though the employee has 15 days to respond to the 
request, the carrier is not prohibited from contacting the employee or the employee's 
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representative (if any) by telephone to discuss the request and obtain the employee's or 
the representative's response. 
  (3) The carrier shall send the request to the Division after either obtaining the 
employee's answer to the request or when the employee fails to respond after the 15-
day period. 
 
(f) The carrier shall send a copy of the request for a required medical examination 
required by subsection (e) of this section to the employee and the employee's 
representative (if any) by facsimile or electronic transmission if the carrier has been 
provided with a facsimile number or email address for the recipient, otherwise, the 
carrier shall send the request by other verifiable means. 
 
(g) The carrier shall maintain copies of the request for a required medical examination 
and shall also maintain verifiable proof of successful transmission of the information. For 
these purposes, verifiable proof includes, but is not limited to, a facsimile confirmation 
sheet, certified mail return receipt, delivery confirmation from the postal or delivery 
service, or a copy of the electronic submission. 
 
(h) This section is effective on January 1, 2007 and a request for an RME under this 
section may be made on or after January 1, 2007. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.5 adopted to be effective January 30, 1991, 16 
TexReg 313; amended to be effective January 1, 1998, 22 TexReg 11693; amended to be 
effective December 26, 1999, 24 TexReg 11399; amended to be effective January 2, 
2002, 26 TexReg 10899; amended to be effective January 1, 2007, 31 TexReg 6351 
 
RULE §126.6 Required Medical Examination 
 
(a) When a request is made by the insurance carrier (carrier), or the Division, for a 
medical examination, the Division shall determine if an examination should occur. The 
Division shall grant or deny the request within seven days of the date the request is 
received by the Division. A copy of the action of the Division shall be sent to the injured 
employee (employee), the employee's representative (if any), and the carrier. The notice 
shall explain the circumstances under which an employee may experience loss of 
benefits and penalty exposure for failing to attend the examination as well as the need 
to reschedule a missed examination. An agreement between the parties for an 
examination under §126.5 of this title (relating to Entitlement and Procedure for 
Requesting Required Medical Examinations) that the carrier has a right to has the same 
effect as the action of the Division. 
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(b) All examinations required under this section must be scheduled to occur within 30 
days after receipt of the notice, with at least 10 days notice to the employee and the 
employee's representative (if any). If a scheduling conflict exists, the employee and the 
doctor shall contact each other. The doctor or the employee who has the scheduling 
conflict must make contact at least 24 hours prior to the appointment. The 24-hour 
requirement will be waived in an emergency situation (such as a death in the immediate 
family or a medical emergency). The rescheduled examination shall be set for a date 
within seven days of the originally scheduled examination, unless an extension is agreed 
upon by the employee and doctor. The extension may not be to a date later than the 
30th day after the originally scheduled examination. In this event, the examining doctor 
shall notify the carrier and the 10 days notice requirement does not apply to a 
rescheduled examination. 
 
(c) The employee's treating doctor may be present at an examination scheduled with a 
doctor selected by the carrier. The employee's treating doctor may observe the conduct 
of the examination, and may consult with the examining doctor about the course of the 
employee's treatment. The employee's treating doctor shall not otherwise participate in, 
impede, or advise the employee not to cooperate with the examination. In initially 
scheduling the examination, a reasonable attempt shall be made to accommodate the 
schedule of the treating doctor if the employee wants the treating doctor to attend the 
examination and the treating doctor is willing to do so. However, once an examination is 
scheduled based on the treating doctor's availability, the examination shall not be 
delayed, canceled, or rescheduled due to the treating doctor's scheduling conflicts 
unless: 
  (1) the required medical examination (RME) doctor agrees to the rescheduling; or 
  (2) the examination was canceled by the RME doctor. 
 
(d) If the RME doctor, selected by a carrier, refuses to allow the treating doctor to attend 
the examination, the carrier shall cancel the appointment and request that another 
doctor be approved for the RME. If reasonable notice is not provided to the employee 
and the employee's representative (if any), the carrier shall be liable for any reasonable 
travel expenses incurred by the employee and for the payment for the treating doctor's 
attendance at a refused appointment. This subsection shall not apply to situations where 
the treating doctor is not able to attend the examination due to any form of scheduling 
conflict. 
 
(e) An RME doctor, selected by the carrier or the Division, who conducts an examination 
regarding the appropriateness of the health care received by the employee, shall 
complete a medical report that includes objective findings of the examination and an 
analysis that explains how the medical condition and objective findings lead to the 
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conclusion reached by the doctor. In addition, the RME doctor shall file the report with 
the insurance carrier by facsimile or electronic transmission, and shall file the report with 
the employee and the employee's representative (if any) by facsimile or by electronic 
transmission if the RME doctor has been provided with a facsimile number or email 
address for the recipient, otherwise, the RME doctor shall send the report by other 
verifiable means. Written notice is verifiable when it is provided from any source in a 
manner that reasonably confirms delivery to the party. This may include an 
acknowledged receipt by the injured employee or insurance carrier, a statement of 
personal delivery, confirmed by e-mail, confirmed delivery by facsimile, or some other 
confirmed delivery to the home or business address. The goal of this requirement is not 
to regulate how a system participant makes delivery of a report or other information to 
another system participant, but to ensure that the system participant filing the report or 
providing the information has verifiable proof that it was delivered. 
 
(f) An RME doctor who, subsequent to a designated doctor's examination, determines 
the employee has reached maximum medical improvement (MMI) or who assigns an 
impairment rating, shall complete and file the report as required by §130.1 and §130.3 of 
this title (relating to Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment and Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and 
Evaluation of Permanent Impairment by Doctor Other than the Treating Doctor). 
Otherwise, the RME doctor shall not certify MMI or assign an impairment rating. If the 
RME doctor disagrees with the designated doctor's opinion regarding MMI, the RME 
doctor's report shall explain why the RME doctor believes the designated doctor was 
mistaken or why the designated doctor's opinion is no longer valid. Other reports shall 
be completed in the form and manner prescribed by the Division and shall be sent to 
the carrier, the employee, the employee's representative, if any, the treating doctor, and 
Division no later than 10 days after the examination. 
 
(g) An RME doctor who, subsequent to a designated doctor's examination, determines 
that the employee can return to work immediately with or without restrictions is 
required to file a Work Status Report, as described in §129.5 of this title (relating to 
Work Status Reports) within seven days of the date of the examination of the employee. 
This report shall be filed with the treating doctor and the carrier by facsimile or 
electronic transmission. In addition, the RME doctor shall file the report with the 
employee and the employee's representative (if any) by facsimile or by electronic 
transmission if the RME doctor has been provided with a facsimile number or email 
address for the recipient, otherwise, the RME doctor shall send the report by other 
verifiable means. 
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(h) An RME doctor who, subsequent to a designated doctor's examination, addresses 
issues other than those listed in subsections (f) and (g) of this section, shall file a 
narrative report within seven days of the date of the examination of the employee. This 
report shall be filed with the treating doctor and the carrier by facsimile or electronic 
transmission. In addition, the RME doctor shall file the report with the employee and the 
employee's representative (if any) by facsimile or by electronic transmission if the RME 
doctor has been provided with a facsimile number or email address for the recipient, 
otherwise, the RME doctor shall send the report by other verifiable means. 
 
(i) A doctor who conducts an examination solely under the authority of this rule shall not 
be considered a designated doctor under the Labor Code §408.0041, §408.122 or 
§408.125. Examinations with a designated doctor are not subject to any limitations 
under the provisions for RMEs. 
 
(j) A carrier may suspend temporary income benefits (TIBs) if an employee, without good 
cause, fails to attend an RME required pursuant to Labor Code §408.0041(f). 
  (1) In the absence of a finding by the Division to the contrary, a carrier may presume 
that the employee did not have good cause to fail to attend the examination if by the 
day the examination was originally scheduled to occur the employee has both: 
    (A) failed to submit to the examination; and 
    (B) failed to contact the RME doctor's office to reschedule the examination in 
accordance with subsection (b) of this section. 
  (2) If, after the carrier suspends TIBs pursuant to this section, the employee contacts 
the RME doctor to reschedule the examination, the RME doctor shall reschedule the 
examination as soon as possible, but not later than the 30th day after the employee 
contacted the doctor. The insurance carrier shall re-initiate TIBs effective as of the date 
the employee submitted to the examination. The re-initiation of TIBs shall occur no later 
than the seventh day following: 
    (A) the date the carrier was notified that the employee attended the examination; or 
    (B) the date that the carrier was notified that the Division found that the employee 
had good cause for not attending the examination. 
  (3) An employee is not entitled to TIBs for a period during which the carrier was 
entitled to suspend benefits pursuant to this section unless the employee later submits 
to the examination and the Division finds or the carrier determines that the employee 
had good cause to fail to attend the appointment. 
 
(k) An employee who, without good cause, fails or refuses to appear at the time 
scheduled for an examination authorized by this section may be assessed an 
administrative penalty under Labor Code §408.004 and §408.0041. An employee who 
fails to submit to an examination at the carrier's request when the carrier selected 
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doctor refuses to allow the treating doctor to attend the examination or when the RME 
doctor cancels the examination does not commit an administrative violation. 
 
(l) The Division shall require examinations requiring travel of up to 75 miles from the 
employee's residence, unless the treating doctor certifies that such travel may be 
harmful to the employee's recovery. Travel over 75 miles may be authorized if good 
cause exists to support such travel. The carrier shall pay reasonable travel expenses 
incurred by the employee in submitting to any required medical examination, as 
specified in Chapter 134 of this title (relating to Benefits--Guidelines For Medical Service, 
Charges, and Payments). 
 
(m) This section is effective on January 1, 2007 and a request for an RME under this 
section may be made on or after January 1, 2007. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.6 adopted to be effective January 30, 1991, 16 
TexReg 313; amended to be effective January 1, 1998, 22 TexReg 11693; amended to be 
effective December 26, 1999, 24 TexReg 11399; amended to be effective January 2, 
2002, 26 TexReg 10899; amended to be effective January 1, 2007, 31 TexReg 6351 
 
RULE §126.8 Commission Approved Doctor List 
 
(a) On or after January 1, 1993, except in emergency situations, injured employees must 
receive medical treatment from a doctor on the commission approved doctor list (the 
list). This list initially includes all doctors licensed in Texas on or after January 1, 1993, 
and doctors licensed in other jurisdictions who have been added to the list by the 
commission. 
 
(b) Doctors licensed in other jurisdictions may ask to be added to the list by submitting 
a written request containing information prescribed by the commission. Unless the 
doctor has been deleted from the list by the commission, a carrier shall not withhold 
reimbursement to doctors licensed in other jurisdictions when the only reason for 
nonpayment is that the doctor is not presently on the list. 
 
(c) This section is no longer effective on or after September 1, 2003. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.8 adopted to be effective July 1, 1993, 18 
TexReg 3755; amended to be effective June 7, 2001, 26 TexReg 3941; amended to be 
effective March 14, 2002, 27 TexReg 1810  
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RULE §126.9 Choice of Treating Doctor and Liability for Payment 
 
(a) The injured employee is entitled to the employee's initial choice of treating doctor 
from the list of doctors approved by the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission. As 
of January 1, 1993, any change in treating doctor after the initial choice requires 
approval from the commission. The term "doctor," as used in this section, has the 
meaning defined in Texas Civil Statutes, Article 8308-1.03(17). 
 
(b) The commission shall include, with the information mailed to the employee as 
required by the Act, §5.09, the requirements related to the selection of a treating doctor 
from the commission-approved doctor list and to changing treating doctors as 
described in this section. 
 
(c) The first doctor who provides health care to an injured employee shall be known as 
the injured employee's initial choice of treating doctor. The following do not constitute 
an initial choice of treating doctor: 
  (1) a doctor salaried by the employer; 
  (2) a doctor recommended by the carrier or employer, unless the injured employee 
continues, without good cause as determined by the commission, to receive treatment 
from the doctor for a period of more than 60 days; or 
  (3) any doctor providing emergency care unless the injured employee receives 
treatment from the doctor for other than follow-up care related to the emergency 
treatment. 
 
(d) If an injured employee wants to change treating doctors, other than exceptions as 
described in Texas Civil Statutes, Article 8308-4.64, or removal of the doctor from the 
list, the employee shall submit to the field office handling the claim, reasons why the 
current treating doctor is unacceptable. Unless medical necessity exists for an immediate 
change, the submission shall be in writing on a form prescribed by the commission. If 
the need for an immediate change exists, then the injured employee may notify the field 
office by telephone. Injured employees who change doctors because the doctor is 
removed from the list or for one of the exceptions listed in Texas Civil Statutes, Article 
8308-4.64, shall immediately notify the commission of the change in the form and 
format prescribed by the commission. 
 
(e) Reasons for approving a change in treating doctor include, but are not limited to: 
  (1) the reasons listed in Texas Civil Statutes, Article 8308-4.63(d); and 
  (2) the selected doctor chooses not to be responsible for coordinating injured 
employee's health care as described in §133.3 of this title (relating to Responsibilities of 
Treating Doctor). 
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(f) The commission shall issue an order approving or denying a change of doctor 
request. This order shall be issued within 10 days after receiving the request and, if a 
change is approved, shall include an order for the insurance carrier to pay for treatment 
provided by the approved doctor unless superseded by a subsequent order. 
 
(g) With good cause, the injured employee or carrier may dispute the order regarding a 
change to an alternate treating doctor within 10 days after receiving the order. That 
dispute will be handled through the dispute resolution process described in Chapters 
140-143 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution/General Provisions, Benefit Review 
Conference, Benefit Contested Case Hearing, and Review by the Appeals Panel). 
 
(h) The commission may, after holding a benefit contested case hearing as provided by 
Chapter 142 of this title (relating to Benefit Contested Case Hearing), relieve the carrier 
of liability for health care furnished by a doctor or health care provider at the doctor's 
direction if: 
  (1) the doctor chosen by the employee is not on the list at the time the medical 
treatments or services are rendered; or 
  (2) the employee failed to comply with commission rules regarding a change in 
treating doctor. 
 
(i) If the carrier is relieved of liability for the costs of health care, the employee may be 
billed for medical treatments or services provided the health care provider billing the 
employee had no knowledge of the violation by the employee at the time the medical 
treatments or services were rendered. 
 
(j) The commission shall relieve the carrier of liability by an order which identifies the 
health care provider(s) and expressly states the time period for which the carrier is 
relieved of liability and whether the health care provider may submit the bill to the 
employee for those treatments or services. Provided, however, that a doctor removed 
from the list may not seek reimbursement under workers' compensation for treatments 
or services rendered. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.9 adopted to be effective July 1, 1993, 18 
TexReg 3755 
 
RULE §126.11 Extension of the Date of Maximum Medical Improvement for Spinal 
Surgery 
 
(a) The commission may approve an extension of the date of maximum medical 
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improvement, subject to subsection (f) of this section, if the injured employee has had 
spinal surgery or has been approved for spinal surgery in accordance with §134.600 of 
this title (relating to Preauthorization, Concurrent Review, and Voluntary Certification of 
Health Care), 12 weeks or less before the expiration of 104 weeks from the date income 
benefits began to accrue. Only one extension of the date of maximum medical 
improvement pursuant to this section may be granted. Approval for spinal surgery is 
either the notification from the insurance carrier (carrier) that the spinal surgery has 
been preauthorized or a decision from the appeal process finding the insurance carrier 
liable for the reasonable costs of spinal surgery. Any extension of the date of maximum 
medical improvement ordered by the commission must be to a specific and certain date. 
 
(b) Upon application by either the injured employee or the insurance carrier, the 
commission may by order extend the date of maximum medical improvement past the 
period of 104 weeks from the date income benefits began to accrue as described in the 
Texas Labor Code, §401.011(30)(B). The request shall be made in the form and manner 
prescribed by the commission. The commission shall issue an order approving or 
denying the request for an extension of the date of maximum medical improvement 
within ten days of the date the request is received by the commission. 
 
(c) Prior to submission to the commission of a request for an extension of the date of 
maximum medical improvement, the requestor shall request from the treating doctor or 
surgeon the information listed in subsection (f) of this section. The request shall also be 
sent to the injured employee, the injured employee's representative, and the insurance 
carrier by first class mail on the same day it is submitted to the treating doctor or 
surgeon. The treating doctor or surgeon shall provide to the injured employee, the 
injured employee's representative, and the insurance carrier the information requested 
in subsection (f) of this section within ten days of the date the request is received. If the 
requesting party has not received the information from the treating doctor or surgeon 
within 15 days, the request may be submitted to the commission without this 
information. 
 
(d) After the actions in subsection (c) have been completed, a request for an extension 
of the date of maximum medical improvement shall be filed at the commission field 
office managing the claim by personal delivery or first class mail. A request is deemed 
filed upon receipt at the appropriate field office. In addition, the request shall be sent to 
the injured employee, the injured employee's representative, and the insurance carrier 
on the same date it is sent to the commission. If the information from the treating 
doctor or surgeon is absent when the request is received, commission staff may invoke 
the provisions of §102.9 of this title (relating to Submission of Information Requested by 
the Commission) to secure any necessary information. 
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(e) A request for an extension of the date of maximum medical improvement shall be 
filed no earlier than 12 weeks before the expiration of 104 weeks after the date income 
benefits began to accrue. The commission shall deny any request for an extension of the 
date of maximum medical improvement that is received by the commission prior to 12 
weeks before the expiration of 104 weeks after the date income benefits began to 
accrue or is received on or after the expiration of 110 weeks from the date income 
benefits began to accrue. 
 
(f) In making the determination to approve or deny a request for an extension of the 
date of maximum medical improvement, the commission shall consider: 
  (1) typical recovery times for the specific spinal surgery procedure; 
  (2) projected date and information regarding when the condition may be medically 
stable as provided by the treating doctor or the surgeon; 
  (3) case specific information regarding any extenuating circumstances that may have 
resulted in variances from conservative treatment protocols and time frames that may 
impact recovery times as provided by the treating doctor or the surgeon; 
  (4) information from any source regarding intentional or non-intentional delays in 
securing the surgery or medical treatment for the compensable injury; 
  (5) any pending, unresolved disputes regarding the date of maximum medical 
improvement; and 
  (6) any pertinent information provided by the insurance carrier, injured employee, 
and/or the injured employee's representative regarding the extension being requested 
under this section. 
 
(g) An injured employee or an insurance carrier may dispute the approval, denial, or the 
length of the extension granted by the commission order by filing a request for a 
benefit review conference in accordance with §141.1 of this title (relating to Requesting 
and Setting a Benefit Review Conference) no later than ten days after the date the order 
is received. Any proceedings and further appeals shall be conducted in accordance with 
Chapters 140-143 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution/General Provisions, Benefit 
Review Conference, Benefit Contested Case Hearing, and Review by the Appeals Panel). 
Any agreement which resolves a dispute regarding extension of the date of maximum 
medical improvement in accordance with this section shall be in writing and approved 
by the commission. Approval shall not be granted if any party rescinds the agreement 
by notifying the commission within three working days of signing the agreement. 
 
(h) If a request for benefit review conference is not received by the commission within 
ten days after the date the order granting or denying the extension was received by the 
disputing party, the parties waive their right to dispute the commission order. In the 
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event that an order is timely disputed, the order shall remain binding pending final 
resolution of the dispute. 
 
(i) If the injured employee is certified by a doctor to have reached maximum medical 
improvement between the date the extension order was issued and the extended date 
of maximum medical improvement specified in the order, any dispute regarding the 
date of maximum medical improvement shall be resolved through the selection of a 
designated doctor consistent with the provisions of the Texas Labor Code, §408.122, 
concerning Eligibility for Impairment Income Benefits; Designated Doctor, and §130.6 of 
this title (relating to Designated Doctor; General Provisions). If the certification of 
maximum medical improvement during this time period is not disputed and the date 
certified is prior to the date of maximum medical improvement specified in the order for 
the extension, the date of maximum medical improvement from that certification shall 
apply. If the certification was timely disputed and the resolution of such a dispute 
determines that the injured employee reached maximum medical improvement at a 
date which is different than the date of maximum medical improvement specified in the 
order for the extension, the earlier date shall apply. 
 
(j) In the event that the extension of the date of maximum medical improvement is 
granted based on a finding of liability for spinal surgery within the 12 week period and a 
party appeals the preauthorized approval to a benefit contested case hearing, any 
extension of the date of maximum medical improvement ordered by the commission 
shall be conditional pending final decision under the commission's jurisdiction of the 
liability for spinal surgery. If spinal surgery is not performed within six weeks after the 
date the final decision of the commission is issued, the order for the extension of the 
date of maximum medical improvement shall be null and void. 
 
(k) This section applies only to compensable claims with a date of injury on or after 
January 1, 1998. This section does not apply to an employee who has reached maximum 
medical improvement prior to requesting an extension under this section. An employee 
has reached maximum medical improvement in accordance with the Texas Labor Code, 
§401.011(30)(A), when either a finding of the date of maximum medical improvement is 
not disputed, or the date of maximum medical improvement has been finally resolved. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.11 adopted to be effective January 29, 1998, 
23 TexReg 552; amended to be effective June 5, 2003, 28 TexReg 4291 
 
RULE §126.12 Payment of Interest on Accrued but Unpaid Income Benefits 
 
(a) Accrued but unpaid income benefits are those benefits which either: 

Updated January 4, 2024 94

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=126&rl=12


  (1) have accrued during a period of dispute over insurance carrier (carrier) liability for 
the claim or injured employee entitlement to the benefits; or 
  (2) have not been paid by the date the carrier was required to pay them. 
 
(b) Carriers shall include simple interest in all payments for accrued but unpaid income 
benefits. 
 
(c) Income benefits accrue in either weekly or monthly pay periods, as otherwise 
provided by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and this title, and interest shall be 
calculated separately for each pay period based on the length of time the benefits for 
that pay period remained accrued and unpaid. 
  (1) For pay periods in which benefits accrued while in dispute as provided in subsection 
(a)(1) of this section, the carrier shall pay interest for number of days between the 
seventh day after the day the benefits accrued and the day the payment was made. 
  (2) For pay periods in which benefits accrued and were paid late by the carrier as 
provided in subsection (a)(2) of this section, the carrier shall pay interest for the number 
of days between the due date for the payment and the date the payment was made. 
 
(d) The rate of interest to be paid on accrued but unpaid income benefits by carriers will 
be the rate calculated in accordance with the Texas Labor Code, §401.023 and in effect 
on the date the payment was made. 
 
(e) The following method shall be used to calculate the simple interest to be paid: 
  (1) multiply the rate of interest by the amount in question (to create annual amount of 
interest); 
  (2) divide the annual amount of interest by 365 (to create daily interest amount); then 
  (3) multiply daily interest amount by the number of days of interest that are owed. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.12 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11399 
 
RULE §126.13 Employer Initiation of Benefits and Reimbursement 
 
(a) Applicability 
  (1) This section applies only to the employer initiation of benefits as described in 
subsection (a)(2) of this section. Employer payments made after the insurance carrier has 
accepted or been found to be liable for a claim such as salary continuation, as defined in 
§129.1 (relating to Definitions for Temporary Income Benefits), are covered by Chapter 
129 of this title (relating to Temporary Income Benefits). 

Updated January 4, 2024 95

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=126&rl=13


  (2) An employer may initiate benefits including medical benefits to compensate an 
employee during a period in which the carrier has: 
    (A) contested compensability of the injury; 
    (B) contested liability for the injury; or 
    (C) has not completed its initial investigation of the injury, which is limited to seven 
days after the carrier receives first written notice of the injury as defined in §124.1 of this 
title (relating to Notice of Injury). 
 
(b) Employer Entitlement to Reimbursement 
  (1) An employer who initiates benefits as provided in subsection (a)(2) of this section is 
entitled to reimbursement from the carrier if the employer timely reported the injury to 
the carrier in compliance with §120.2 (relating to Employer's First Report of Injury). 
  (2) An employer who is entitled to reimbursement as provided in subsection (b)(1) of 
this section is entitled to the amount of those benefits which otherwise would have 
been paid by the carrier had the carrier immediately accepted compensability for the 
injury and began payment of income and medical benefits. 
    (A) For an employer initiation of indemnity benefits, the amount of reimbursement 
that the employer is entitled to is the amount that would have been paid by the carrier 
in income benefits. Chapters 128, (relating to Benefits - Calculation of Average Weekly 
Wage), 129 (relating to Benefits - Temporary Income Benefits), 130 (relating to Benefits - 
Impairment & Supplemental Income Benefits), and 131 (relating to Calculation of 
Lifetime Income Benefits) of this title govern carrier payments of income benefits. 
    (B) For an employer initiation of medical benefits, the amount of reimbursement that 
the employer is entitled to is the amount that would have been paid by the carrier in 
medical benefits. An employer is not entitled to and shall not seek reimbursement from 
either the carrier or the employee for amounts paid to a health care provider which are: 
      (i) in excess of the Commission's fee guidelines; 
      (ii) for treatment(s) or service(s) which was not reasonable or medically necessary; or 
      (iii) for treatment(s) or service(s) which was not related to the compensable injury. 
  (3) An employer who is entitled to reimbursement under subsection (b)(1) of this 
section but who paid more benefits to the employee than the carrier was required to 
pay in income benefits is entitled to be reimbursed for the difference if the employer 
initiated the benefits with the agreement of the employee and the agreement 
authorized the reimbursement of this difference. The difference is reimbursable out of 
impairment income benefits (IIBs) that the employee becomes entitled to, if any. 
  (4) An employer is not entitled to and shall not seek reimbursement from the 
employee for any benefits initiated by the employer which are not reimbursed under 
subsection (c) of this section. 
 
(c) Reporting and Reimbursement Process 
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  (1) An employer who initiates payment of benefits as provided in subsection (a) of this 
section shall report the initiation of benefits to the carrier within seven days of this 
initiation. 
  (2) A carrier who is notified by an employer that the employer has initiated benefits as 
provided in subsection (c)(1) of this section shall notify the employer in writing within 
seven days of the carrier either accepting or being found to be liable for a claim. 
  (3) Within seven days of being notified by the carrier that the carrier has accepted or 
been found liable for a claim, the employer shall report to the carrier in the form and 
manner prescribed by the Commission the amount of any benefits provided to the 
employee. 
  (4) A carrier who receives a report of benefits initiated by the employer as described in 
this section shall, not later than the seventh day after the carrier receives the report, 
reimburse the employer the compensation that the carrier would have otherwise paid. 
  (5) The carrier shall pay the employer a reimbursement out of IIBs as provided in 
subsection (b)(3) of this section in lump sum and shall apportion this amount equally 
across the employee's remaining weekly IIBs payments. The carrier shall pay this 
reimbursement in a lump sum not later than the seventh day after the later of: 
    (A) the date the carrier receives a certification of MMI with an impairment rating of 
greater than 0%; or 
    (B) the date an impairment rating dispute is resolved by a designated doctor's 
opinion, agreement, or final adjudication. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.13 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11399 
 
RULE §126.14 Treating Doctor Examination to Define the Compensable Injury 
 
(a) On request of the insurance carrier, an injured employee is required to submit to a 
single examination per workers' compensation claim for the purpose of defining the 
compensable injury. The examination: 
  (1) shall not be requested prior to the eighth day after the date of injury, and 
  (2) shall be scheduled to occur no earlier than 15 days and no later than 30 days from 
the date the notice of examination is sent to the injured employee. 
 
(b) The insurance carrier shall schedule the examination with the injured employee's 
treating doctor. If a request to change treating doctor has been filed by the injured 
employee, the insurance carrier shall not schedule this examination until after the 
treating doctor change has been processed. 
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  (1) An insurance carrier that schedules the examination with a doctor other than the 
injured employee's treating doctor shall be liable for reimbursement of the examination 
and testing. 
  (2) The examination findings may only be used to define the compensable injury when 
provided by the treating doctor of record at the time the notice of examination was sent 
to the injured employee. The report by a doctor other than the treating doctor of record 
at the time the notice of examination was sent shall not be used for the purpose of 
defining the compensable injury. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier shall send the injured employee a written notice of examination. 
A copy of a notice of examination shall be sent to the injured employee's representative 
(if any). The notice of examination, at a minimum, shall include: 
  (1) general information identifying the claim; 
  (2) the name of the treating doctor; 
  (3) the date, time, and the location of the scheduled examination with the treating 
doctor named; and 
  (4) the following statements in a bold font equal to the font size in the main body of 
the notice: 
    (A) The insurance carrier requests that you, the injured employee, attend a single 
examination for this workers' compensation claim for the sole purpose of defining the 
injuries and diagnoses that resulted from the work-related incident or activities. Section 
408.0042 of the Labor Code requires you to attend. 
    (B) If the doctor named in this notice is not your treating doctor, immediately contact 
the insurance carrier (add name and phone number of contact person) or the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation. You are not required to 
attend this examination with a doctor other than your treating doctor, unless the doctor 
was your treating doctor on the day the notice of examination was sent to you. Once 
you receive notice of this examination, you should not request to change treating 
doctor until after the examination has been conducted. 
    (C) You are responsible for contacting your doctor to reschedule the examination if 
you have a conflict with the date and time that has been scheduled for you. The 
rescheduled examination shall take place within seven days of the originally scheduled 
date or the doctor's first available appointment date. If you fail to attend the 
examination at the time scheduled or rescheduled without good cause, an 
administrative penalty may be assessed. 
 
(d) If a scheduling conflict exists, the injured employee shall immediately contact the 
treating doctor to reschedule the examination. The examination must be rescheduled to 
take place within seven working days of the original examination or the doctor's first 
available appointment date. 
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(e) An injured employee who fails or refuses to appear at the time scheduled for an 
examination may be assessed an administrative penalty unless good cause exists for 
such failure. An injured employee who fails to submit to an examination at the insurance 
carrier's request does not commit an administrative violation if the doctor named on the 
notice of examination is not the injured employee's treating doctor. 
 
(f) The treating doctor shall submit a narrative report after the conclusion of the 
examination. The report shall contain, at a minimum: 
  (1) general information that identifies the claim; 
  (2) a description of the mechanism of injury; 
  (3) a list of all specific, confirmed diagnoses, including ICD-9 codes and the narrative 
description, that the doctor considers to be related to the compensable injury. The 
explanation shall describe how the mechanism of injury is a cause of each diagnosis. If 
the doctor identifies an aggravation of any pre-existing condition, including an ordinary 
disease of life, the explanation shall describe how the mechanism of injury caused a 
worsening, acceleration, or exacerbation of that pre-existing condition; and 
  (4) a list of each diagnostic test performed, if required to establish a diagnosis, 
including an explanation of why it was appropriate to perform each test to define the 
compensable injury. 
 
(g) Any diagnostic testing necessary to define the compensable injury shall be 
performed no later than 10 working days after the examination and is not subject to the 
preauthorization requirements of either §134.600 of this title (relating to 
Preauthorization, Concurrent Review, and Voluntary Certification of Health Care) or a 
worker's compensation health care network under Insurance Code Chapter 1305 or 
Chapter 10 of this title (relating to Workers' Compensation Health Care Networks). 
 
(h) The treating doctor shall submit a copy of the narrative report to the insurance 
carrier, the injured employee, and the injured employee's representative (if any) no later 
than 10 days after the conclusion of the examination. If diagnostic testing is required to 
define the compensable injury, the filing of the report is extended to seven days after 
the conclusion of the testing. 
 
(i) A treating doctor may bill, and the insurance carrier shall reimburse, for an 
examination performed under this section. 
  (1) Treating doctors shall bill for the examination using the Healthcare Common 
Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Level I code, Evaluation and Management Section, 
for work-related or medical disability evaluation services performed by a treating 
physician. A Division modifier of "TX" shall be added to the Level I code. 
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  (2) Reimbursement for the examination shall be $350. Reimbursement for the report is 
included in the examination fee. Doctors are not required to submit a copy of the report 
with the bill if the report was previously provided to the insurance carrier. 
  (3) Testing necessary to define the compensable injury shall be billed using the 
appropriate billing codes and reimbursed in addition to the examination fee. 
Reimbursement for testing shall not be retrospectively reviewed on the basis of 
compensability if the doctor has documented a rationale for why the testing was 
necessary for defining the compensable injury. 
 
(j) An insurance carrier shall review the injuries and diagnoses identified in the treating 
doctor's report. If a specific injury or diagnosis is not accepted as part of the 
compensable injury, the insurance carrier shall file a denial in accordance with §124.2 of 
this title (relating to Carrier Reporting and Notification Requirements) within the later of 
60 days after the date written notice of the injury is received or within 10 working days 
of receipt of the treating doctor's report. In addition to the distribution requirements 
outlined in §124.2 of this title, a copy of the written denial shall be sent to the treating 
doctor by fax or electronic transmission unless the recipient does not have the means to 
receive such transmission in which case the notice shall be personally delivered or sent 
by mail. 
  (1) A compensable injury established as a result of a waiver determination under Labor 
Code §409.021, is not affected by a definition of the compensable injury under 
§408.0042. 
  (2) The insurance carrier shall not deny reimbursement for treatment of any injury or 
diagnosis listed in the treating doctor's report on the basis of compensability or 
relatedness prior to filing a denial as required by §124.2 of this title. 
 
(k) The injured employee may initiate a request for a benefit review conference in 
accordance with Labor Code §410.023 and §141.1 of this title (relating to Requesting 
and Setting a Benefit Review Conference) upon receiving a denial regarding specific 
injuries or diagnoses. 
 
(l) If the insurance carrier denies an injury or diagnosis identified in this examination, all 
treatment for that injury or diagnosis must be preauthorized prior to treatment 
occurring. For the treating doctor, the insurance carrier's denial is effective on the date 
the written notice of denial is received by the doctor. The preauthorization requirement 
continues until the injury or diagnosis is determined to be part of the compensable 
injury through dispute resolution or agreement of the parties. 
 
(m) A health care provider may request a benefit review conference, in accordance with 
§141.1 of this title, to address an extent of injury question if a request for 
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preauthorization has been denied for treatment of an injury or diagnosis that was 
denied as unrelated to the compensable injury under this section; unless: 
  (1) the injured employee has already requested a benefit review conference to pursue 
the extent of injury denial, or 
  (2) an agreement, filed in accordance with §147.4 of this title (relating to Filing 
Agreements with the Commission, Effective Dates) has been entered into by the 
insurance carrier and injured employee establishing the insurance carrier's liability on 
the disputed issues. 
 
(n) Once the treating doctor has defined the compensable injury and the insurance 
carrier has accepted injuries or diagnoses as related, the insurance carrier shall not 
review treatment of the accepted injuries and diagnoses for compensability. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.14 adopted to be effective July 9, 2006, 31 
TexReg 5458 
 
RULE §126.15 Procedures for Resolution of Underpayments of Income Benefits 
 
(a) This section applies to insurance carrier underpayment of income benefits. It does 
not apply to: 
  (1) insurance carrier underpayment of death, burial, or medical benefits; or 
  (2) redesignation of income benefits. 
 
(b) If the insurance carrier determines on its own that an underpayment of income 
benefits has occurred, the insurance carrier shall pay the full amount of the 
underpayment with interest on accrued but unpaid benefits in accordance with Chapter 
408, Labor Code, applicable division rules related to payment of benefits, §102.10 of this 
title (relating to Interest, General), and §126.12 of this title (relating to Payment of 
Interest on Accrued but Unpaid Income Benefits) within seven days of the 
determination. 
 
(c) If an injured employee determines that the injured employee has received less than 
the correct amount owed in income benefits and the injured employee wishes to resolve 
the underpayment under this section, the injured employee must notify the insurance 
carrier in writing to request the additional amount. The notice must include an 
explanation and information that supports the injured employee's determination of the 
underpayment. 
 
(d) If the insurance carrier agrees with the injured employee that there has been an 
underpayment of income benefits, the insurance carrier shall pay the full amount of the 
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underpayment with interest on accrued but unpaid benefits in accordance with Chapter 
408, Labor Code, applicable division rules related to payment of benefits, §102.10 of this 
title, and §126.12 of this title within seven days of receipt of the notice from the injured 
employee. 
 
(e) If the insurance carrier disagrees that there has been an underpayment of income 
benefits, the insurance carrier must, within seven days of receipt of the notice from the 
injured employee, provide the injured employee with written notice of its determination. 
The insurance carrier notice must be in plain language, in English or Spanish, as 
appropriate, and include the reasons for the insurance carrier's determination, and a 
statement that the injured employee may request dispute resolution through the 
dispute resolution processes outlined in Chapters 140 - 144 and 147 of this title (relating 
to Dispute Resolution), including expedited dispute resolution. 
 
(f) The insurance carrier must provide notice to the injured employee and the division of 
any change in the payment of an injured employee's income benefits in accordance with 
the requirements of §124.2 of this title (relating to Carrier Reporting and Notification 
Requirements). 
 
(g) If an insurance carrier disagrees that there has been an underpayment of income 
benefits, the injured employee may request dispute resolution through the dispute 
resolution processes outlined in Chapters 140 - 144 and 147 of this title, including 
expedited dispute resolution. 
 
(h) This section does not affect the division's authority to identify and take action on 
underpayments on its own motion. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.15 adopted to be effective January 1, 2012, 36 
TexReg 8854 
 
RULE §126.16 Procedures for Recouping Overpayments of Income Benefits 
 
(a) This section applies to insurance carrier overpayment of income benefits. It does not 
apply to: 
  (1) insurance carrier overpayment of death, burial, or medical benefits; 
  (2) redesignation of income benefits; or 
  (3) repayments pursuant to Labor Code §415.008. 
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(b) If an insurance carrier determines that it has overpaid income benefits to an injured 
employee, the insurance carrier may recoup the overpayment from future income 
benefit payments as follows: 
  (1) The insurance carrier must notify the injured employee in writing that it will begin 
withholding benefits to recoup an overpayment. The notice must be in plain language 
and in English or Spanish, as appropriate. The notice must also include the reason for 
the overpayment; the amount of the overpayment to be recouped from future income 
benefit payments; the date recoupment will begin; and relevant documentation that 
supports the insurance carrier's determination of an overpayment, such as a wage 
statement or a supplemental report of injury. The notice must also advise the injured 
employee that if the injured employee disagrees that there has been an overpayment, 
the injured employee may request dispute resolution through the dispute resolution 
processes outlined in Chapters 140 - 144 and 147 of this title (relating to Dispute 
Resolution), including expedited dispute resolution. The insurance carrier may not begin 
recoupment of the overpayment earlier than the second income benefit payment made 
after the written notice has been sent to the injured employee. 
  (2) If the injured employee's income benefits are not concurrently being reduced to 
pay approved attorney's fees or to recoup a division approved advance, the insurance 
carrier may recoup the overpayment under this subsection in an amount not to exceed 
25% of the income benefit payment to which the injured employee is entitled, except as 
provided by subsection (c) of this section. 
  (3) If the injured employee's income benefits are concurrently being reduced to pay 
approved attorney's fees or to recoup a division approved advance, the insurance carrier 
may recoup the overpayment under this subsection in an amount not to exceed 10% of 
the income benefit payment to which the injured employee is entitled, except as 
provided by subsection (c) of this section. 
 
(c) If the insurance carrier wishes to recoup the overpayment in an amount greater than 
that permitted by subsection (b) of this section, the insurance carrier must attempt to 
enter into a written agreement with the injured employee and, if unable to do so, 
request dispute resolution through the dispute resolution processes outlined in 
Chapters 140 - 144 and 147 of this title. If the injured employee wishes to provide for 
recoupment of the overpayment in an amount less than the percentage chosen by the 
insurance carrier, the injured employee must attempt to enter into a written agreement 
with the insurance carrier and, if unable to do so, request dispute resolution through the 
dispute resolution processes outlined in Chapters 140 - 144 and 147 of this title. 
 
(d) In determining whether to approve an increase or decrease in the recoupment rate, 
the division must consider the cause of the overpayment and minimize the financial 
hardship that may reasonably be created for the injured employee. 
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(e) The insurance carrier must provide notice to the injured employee and the division of 
any change in the payment of an injured employee's income benefits in accordance with 
the requirements of §124.2 of this title (relating to Carrier Reporting and Notification 
Requirements). The insurance carrier's notice to the injured employee must identify the 
amount that was overpaid. 
 
(f) This section does not create an entitlement for an insurance carrier to seek 
reimbursement from the Subsequent Injury Fund except as provided by Labor Code 
§§403.006, 408.0041, 410.209, and applicable division rules. 
 
(g) If an injured employee does not agree that the injured employee has received an 
overpayment of income benefits, the injured employee may request dispute resolution 
through the dispute resolution processes outlined in Chapters 140 - 144 and 147 of this 
title, including expedited dispute resolution. 
 
(h) This section does not affect the division's authority to identify and take action on 
overpayments on its own motion. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.16 adopted to be effective January 1, 2012, 36 
TexReg 8854 
 
RULE §126.17 Guidelines for Examination by a Treating Doctor or Referral Doctor 
After a Designated Doctor Examination to Address Issues Other Than Certification 
of Maximum Medical Improvement and the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment 
 
(a) An examination by the injured employee's treating doctor or another doctor to 
whom the injured employee is referred by the treating doctor to determine any issue 
other than certification of maximum medical improvement and the evaluation of 
permanent impairment may be appropriate after a designated doctor examination if: 
  (1) the designated doctor issued an opinion on the issue; 
  (2) the injured employee is not satisfied with the designated doctor's opinion; and 
  (3) the treating doctor or the referral doctor has not already provided the injured 
employee with a written report that meets the standard described by subsection (b) of 
this section on the issue addressed by the designated doctor. 
 
(b) The treating doctor or the referral doctor shall complete a narrative report. The 
report should include objective findings of the examination and an analysis that explains 
how the objective findings lead to the conclusion reached by the doctor. This report 
shall be filed with the insurance carrier, the injured employee and the injured 

Updated January 4, 2024 104

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=126&rl=17
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=126&rl=17
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=126&rl=17


employee's representative. Notwithstanding §129.5 of this title (relating to Work Status 
Reports), if the treating doctor or the referral doctor examines the injured employee to 
address an issue relating to return to work, the doctor must also file a Work Status 
Report. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier shall reimburse the injured employee for all reasonable travel 
expenses as specified in Chapter 134, Subchapter B of this title (relating to 
Miscellaneous Reimbursement) for attending an appropriate medical examination. 
 
(d) Nothing in this section is construed to limit or prohibit the injured employee from 
obtaining reasonable and necessary medical care for the compensable injury or from 
obtaining a written report from a treating doctor or a referral doctor on any issue under 
Labor Code §408.0041(a)(3) - (6) prior to a designated doctor examination. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §126.17 adopted to be effective January 6, 2013, 37 
TexReg 10215 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 127 DESIGNATED DOCTOR PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS 
SUBCHAPTER A DESIGNATED DOCTOR SCHEDULING AND EXAMINATIONS 
 
RULE §127.1 Requesting Designated Doctor Examinations 
 
(a) Initiating an examination. At the request of the insurance carrier, an injured 
employee, the injured employee's representative, or on its own motion, the division may 
order a medical examination by a designated doctor to resolve questions about: 
  (1) the impairment caused by the injured employee's compensable injury; 
  (2) the attainment of maximum medical improvement (MMI); 
  (3) the extent of the injured employee's compensable injury; 
  (4) whether the injured employee's disability is a direct result of the work-related injury; 
  (5) the ability of the injured employee to return to work; or 

(6) issues similar to those described by paragraphs (1) - (5) of this subsection. 
 

(b) Requirements for a request. To request a designated doctor examination, a requester 
must: 
  (1) provide a specific reason for the examination; 
  (2) report the injured employee's current diagnosis or diagnoses and body part or 
body parts affected by the injury; 
  (3) provide general information about the identity of the requester, injured employee, 
treating doctor, and insurance carrier; 
  (4) identify the workers' compensation health care network certified under Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305 through which the injured employee is receiving treatment, if 
applicable; 
  (5) identify whether the claim involves medical benefits provided through a political 
subdivision under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) and the name of the health plan, if 
applicable; 
  (6) submit the request on the form prescribed by the division under this section. A 
copy of the prescribed form is: 
    (A) on the division's website at www.tdi.texas.gov/wc; or 
    (B) at the division's headquarters in Austin, Texas, or any division field office location; 
  (7) submit the request to the division and a copy of the request to each party listed in 
subsection (a) of this section who did not request the designated doctor examination; 
  (8) provide all information listed in subparagraphs (A) - (G) of this paragraph that 
applies to the type of examination the requester seeks: 
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    (A) if the requester seeks an examination on the attainment of MMI, include the 
statutory date of MMI, if any; 
    (B) if the requester seeks an examination on the impairment rating of the injured 
employee, include the date of MMI that has been determined to be valid by a final 
decision of the division or a court or by agreement of the parties, if any; 
    (C) if the requester seeks an examination on the extent of the compensable injury, 
include a description of the accident or incident that caused the claimed injury and a list 
of all injuries in question; 
    (D) if the requester seeks an examination on whether the injured employee's disability 
is a direct result of the work-related injury, include the beginning and ending dates for 
the claimed periods of disability and state if the injured employee is either not working 
or is earning less than pre-injury wages as defined by Labor Code §401.011(16); 
    (E) if the requester seeks an examination on the injured employee's ability to return to 
work in any capacity and the activities the injured employee can perform, include the 
beginning and ending dates for the periods to be addressed. If no dates are included, 
the designated doctor must examine the injured employee's work status as of the date 
of the examination; 
    (F) if the requester seeks an examination to determine whether an injured employee 
entitled to supplemental income benefits may return to work in any capacity for the 
identified period, include the beginning and ending dates for the qualifying periods to 
be addressed and whether this period involves the ninth quarter or a subsequent 
quarter of supplemental income benefits; 
    (G) if the requester seeks an examination on topics under subsection (a)(6) of this 
section, specify the issue in sufficient detail for the designated doctor to identify and 
answer the questions; and 

(9) provide a signature to attest that every reasonable effort has been made to ensure 
the accuracy and completeness of the information in the request. 

 
(c) Scheduling an examination within 60 days. The division will not schedule a 
designated doctor examination within 60 days of the most recent designated doctor 
examination absent a showing of good cause. 
  (1) Good cause requires the requester to show that the requested examination is 
reasonably necessary to resolve the submitted questions and that it will affect 
entitlement to benefits. 

(2) If the requester already asked for an examination on the claim, they must also show 
that the submitted questions could not reasonably have been included in the previous 
examination. 
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(d) Denial of a request. The division will determine whether good cause exists on a case-
by-case basis. The division will deny a request for a designated doctor examination and 
provide a written explanation for the denial to the requester if: 
  (1) the request does not comply with any of the requirements of subsection (b) or (c) of 
this section; 
  (2) the request would require the division to schedule an examination that violates 
Labor Code §§408.0041, 408.123, or 408.151; 
  (3) there is an unresolved dispute about compensability reported under §124.2 of this 
title (relating to Insurance Carrier Reporting and Notification Requirements); or 

(4) the request lacks any legal or factual basis that would reasonably merit approval. 
 

(e) Examination ordered during a dispute. During a dispute on the compensability of a 
claim as a whole, if a division administrative law judge or benefit review officer 
determines that an expert medical opinion would be necessary to resolve a dispute 
about whether the claimed injury resulted from the claimed incident, the administrative 
law judge or benefit review officer may order the injured employee to attend a 
designated doctor examination to address that issue. 
 
(f) Disputes about designated doctor requests. The dispute resolution processes in 
Chapters 140 - 144 and 147 of this title (relating to dispute resolution processes, 
proceedings, and procedures) govern disputes about designated doctor requests. 
  (1) The insurance carrier, an injured employee, or the injured employee's representative 
may dispute the division's approval or denial of a designated doctor examination 
request. 
  (2) Until the division has either approved or denied the request, a party may not 
dispute the designated doctor examination request itself or the accuracy of any 
information on the request. 
  (3) To dispute an approved or denied request for a designated doctor examination, a 
party may seek an expedited contested case hearing under §140.3 of this title (relating 
to Expedited Proceedings). The party must file the request within three working days of 
receiving the order under §127.5(b) of this title (relating to Scheduling Designated 
Doctor Appointments). 
  (4) If the division receives and approves a timely request for expedited proceedings to 
dispute a designated doctor examination, the division will stay the disputed examination 
pending the outcome of the expedited contested case hearing. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.1 adopted to be effective February 1, 2011, 35 
TexReg 11324; amended to be effective September 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended 
to be effective November 4, 2018, 43 TexReg 7149; amended to be effective April 30, 
2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
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RULE §127.5 Scheduling Designated Doctor Appointments 
 
(a) Order assigning a designated doctor. Within 10 days after approving a valid request, 
the division will issue an order that assigns a designated doctor and will notify the 
designated doctor, the treating doctor, if any, the injured employee, the injured 
employee's representative, if any, and the insurance carrier that the designated doctor is 
directed to examine the injured employee. The order will: 
  (1) indicate the designated doctor's name, license number, examination address, fax 
number, telephone number, and the date and time of the examination or the date range 
for the examination to be conducted; 
  (2) explain the purpose of the designated doctor examination; 
  (3) require the injured employee to submit to an examination by the designated 
doctor; 
  (4) require the designated doctor to perform the examination at the indicated 
examination address; and 

(5) require the treating doctor, if any, and insurance carrier to forward all medical 
records to the designated doctor in compliance with §127.10(a)(3) of this title (relating 
to General Procedures for Designated Doctor Examinations). 

 
(b) Change of examination address. The examination address indicated on the order in 
subsection (a)(4) of this section may not be changed by any party or by an agreement of 
any parties without good cause and the division's approval. 
 
(c) Availability of designated doctor. Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, 
the division will select the next available doctor on the designated doctor list for a 
medical examination requested under §127.1 of this title (relating to Requesting 
Designated Doctor Examinations). A designated doctor is available to perform an 
examination at any address the doctor has filed with the division if the doctor: 
  (1) does not have any disqualifying associations as described in §127.140 of this title 
(relating to Disqualifying Associations); 
  (2) is appropriately qualified to perform the examination in accordance with §127.130 
of this title (relating to Qualification Standards for Designated Doctor Examinations); 
  (3) is certified on the day the examination is offered and has not failed to timely file for 
renewal under §127.100 of this title (relating to Designated Doctor Certification), if 
applicable; 
  (4) has not treated or examined the injured employee in a different health care 
provider role: 
    (A) within the past 12 months; or 
    (B) for a medical condition being evaluated in the designated doctor examination. 

Updated January 4, 2024 109

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=127&rl=5


(d) Designated doctor lists. To select the next available doctor, the division will maintain 
two independent designated doctor lists for each county in Texas. 
  (1) One list will consist of designated doctors qualified to perform examinations under 
§127.130(b)(1) - (4) of this title. 
  (2) The other list will consist of designated doctors qualified to perform examinations 
under §127.130(b)(5) - (9) of this title. 
  (3) Nothing in this section prevents a qualified designated doctor from being on both 
lists. 
  (4) A designated doctor will be added to the appropriate designated doctor list for the 
county of each address the doctor has filed with the division. 
  (5) When a designated doctor adds an address for a county the doctor is not currently 
listed in, the doctor will be placed at the bottom of the appropriate list for that county. 

(6) When a designated doctor removes the only address for a county the doctor is 
currently listed in, the designated doctor will be removed from the list for that county. 

 
(e) Assignment of designated doctor examinations. Except as provided in subsection (f) 
of this section, the division will assign designated doctor examinations as follows: 
  (1) Each working day, all examination requests within a county will be sorted and 
distributed to the appropriate list based on the designated doctor qualification 
standards. 
  (2) Depending on the volume of requested examinations, the division will assign up to 
five examinations to the next available designated doctor at the top of the appropriate 
list. 
  (3) An examination assignment moves the designated doctor receiving the assignment 
to the bottom of the list from which the designated doctor was selected. Receipt of an 
assignment on one list does not change a designated doctor's position on the other list. 

(4) The division may choose not to offer a designated doctor an examination if it is 
reasonably probable that the designated doctor will not be certified on the date of the 
examination. 

 
(f) Exemptions. Nothing in this section prevents the division from exempting a 
designated doctor from the applicable qualification standard under §127.130(d) of this 
title. If there is no available designated doctor in the county of the injured employee, the 
division may assign a designated doctor as necessary. 
 
(g) Subsequent examinations. If the division has previously assigned a designated doctor 
to the claim at the time a request is made, the division will assign the same doctor to a 
subsequent examination for that claim unless the division has authorized or required the 
doctor to stop providing services on the claim in accordance with §127.130 of this title. 
Examinations under this subsection must be conducted at the same examination 
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address as the designated doctor's previous examination of the injured employee or at 
another examination address approved by the division. 
 
(h) Mutual agreement required to reschedule. The designated doctor's office and the 
injured employee must contact each other if there is a scheduling conflict. The 
designated doctor or the injured employee who has the scheduling conflict must 
contact the other at least one working day before the appointment. The one working 
day requirement is waived in an emergency situation. An examination cannot be 
rescheduled without the mutual agreement of the designated doctor and the injured 
employee. The designated doctor must maintain and document: 
  (1) the date and time of the designated doctor examination listed on the division's 
order; 
  (2) the date and time of the agreement to reschedule with the injured employee; 
  (3) how contact was made to reschedule, indicating the telephone number, fax 
number, or email used to make contact; 
  (4) the reason for the scheduling conflict; and 

(5) the date and time of the rescheduled designated doctor examination. 
 

(i) Documentation required. Failure to document and maintain the information in 
subsection (h) of this section creates a rebuttable presumption that the examination was 
rescheduled without mutual agreement of the designated doctor and injured employee. 
 
(j) Rescheduling timeframes. The rescheduled examination must be set to occur no later 
than 21 days after the originally scheduled examination date. It may not be rescheduled 
to occur before the originally scheduled examination date. 
  (1) Within one working day of rescheduling, the designated doctor must provide the 
time and date of the rescheduled examination to the division, the injured employee or 
the injured employee's representative, if any, the injured employee's treating doctor, 
and the insurance carrier. 
  (2) If the examination cannot be rescheduled to occur within 21 days of the originally 
scheduled examination date, or if the injured employee fails to attend the rescheduled 
examination, the designated doctor must notify the division within 21 days of the 
originally scheduled examination date. 

(3) After receiving this notice, the division may select a new designated doctor. 
 

Source Note: The provisions of this §127.5 adopted to be effective February 1, 2011, 35 
TexReg 11324; amended to be effective September 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended 
to be effective November 4, 2018, 43 TexReg 7149; amended to be effective April 30, 
2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
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RULE §127.10 General Procedures for Designated Doctor Examinations 
 
(a) Authorization to receive documents. The designated doctor is authorized under 
Labor Code §408.0041(c) to receive the injured employee's confidential medical records 
and analyses of the injured employee's medical condition, functional abilities, and 
return-to-work opportunities without a signed release from the injured employee to 
help resolve a dispute under this subchapter. The following requirements apply to the 
designated doctor's receipt of medical records and analyses: 
  (1) The treating doctor and insurance carrier must provide the designated doctor 
copies of all the injured employee's medical records in their possession relating to the 
medical condition to be evaluated by the designated doctor. 
    (A) For subsequent examinations with the same designated doctor, the treating 
doctor and insurance carrier must provide only those medical records not previously 
sent. 
    (B) The cost of copying must be reimbursed in accordance with §134.120 of this title 
(relating to Reimbursement for Medical Documentation). 
  (2) The treating doctor and insurance carrier may also send the designated doctor an 
analysis of the injured employee's medical condition, functional abilities, and return-to-
work opportunities. 
    (A) The analysis sent by any party may only cover the injured employee's medical 
condition, functional abilities, and return-to-work opportunities as provided in Labor 
Code §408.0041. The analysis may include supporting information, such as videotaped 
activities of the injured employee and marked copies of medical records. 
    (B) If the insurance carrier sends an analysis to the designated doctor, the insurance 
carrier must send a copy to the treating doctor, the injured employee, and the injured 
employee's representative, if any. 
    (C) If the treating doctor sends an analysis to the designated doctor, the treating 
doctor must send a copy to the insurance carrier, the injured employee, and the injured 
employee's representative, if any. 
  (3) The treating doctor and insurance carrier must ensure that the designated doctor 
receives the required records and analyses (if any) no later than three working days 
before the date of the designated doctor examination. 
    (A) If the designated doctor has not received the medical records or any part of them 
at least three working days before the examination, the designated doctor must report 
this violation to the division within one working day of not timely receiving the records. 
    (B) Once notified, the division will take action necessary to ensure that the designated 
doctor receives the records. 
    (C) If the designated doctor does not receive the medical records within one working 
day of the examination or does not have sufficient time to review the late medical 
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records before the examination, the designated doctor must reschedule the examination 
to occur no later than 21 days after receiving the records. 
 
(b) Requirement to review information. Before examining an injured employee, the 
designated doctor must review the injured employee's medical records, including any 
analysis of the injured employee's medical condition, functional abilities, and return to 
work opportunities that the insurance carrier and treating doctor provide in accordance 
with subsection (a) of this section, and any materials the division submits to the doctor. 
  (1) The designated doctor must also review the injured employee's medical condition, 
history, and any medical records the injured employee provides and must perform a 
complete physical examination of the injured employee. 

(2) The designated doctor must give the medical records reviewed the weight the 
designated doctor determines to be appropriate. 

 
(c) Additional testing and referrals. The designated doctor must perform additional 
testing when necessary to resolve the issue in question. The designated doctor must 
also refer an injured employee to other health care providers when the referral is 
necessary to resolve the issue in question, and the designated doctor is not qualified to 
fully resolve it. 
  (1) Any additional testing or referrals required for the evaluation are not subject to 
preauthorization requirements. 
  (2) Payment for additional testing or referrals that the designated doctor has 
determined are necessary under this subsection must not be denied prospectively or 
retrospectively, regardless of any potential disagreements about medical necessity, 
extent of injury, or compensability. 
  (3) Any additional testing or referrals required for the evaluation are subject to the 
requirements of §180.24 of this title (relating to Financial Disclosure). 
  (4) Any additional testing or referrals required for the evaluation of an injured 
employee under a certified workers' compensation network under Insurance Code 
Chapter 1305 or a political subdivision under Labor Code §504.053(b): 
    (A) are not required to use a provider in the same network as the injured employee; 
and 
    (B) are not subject to the network or out-of-network restrictions in Insurance Code 
§1305.101 (relating to Providing or Arranging for Health Care). 
  (5) Any additional testing or referral examination and the designated doctor's report 
must be completed within 15 working days of the designated doctor's physical 
examination of the injured employee unless the designated doctor receives division 
approval for additional time before the 15 working days expire. 

(6) If the injured employee fails or refuses to attend the designated doctor's requested 
additional testing or referral examination within 15 working days or within the additional 
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time the division approved, the designated doctor must complete the report based on 
the designated doctor's examination of the injured employee, the medical records 
received, and other information available to the doctor and indicate the injured 
employee's failure or refusal to attend the testing or referral examination in the report. 

 
(d) MMI and impairment ratings. Any evaluation relating to either MMI, an impairment 
rating, or both, must be conducted in accordance with §130.1 of this title (relating to 
Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of Permanent 
Impairment). For examinations conducted under this subsection on or after June 5, 2023, 
the designated doctor may provide multiple certifications of MMI and impairment 
ratings only when directed by the division. 
 
(e) Reports on MMI and impairment ratings. A designated doctor who determines the 
injured employee has reached MMI, assigns an impairment rating, or determines the 
injured employee has not reached MMI, must complete and file a report as required by 
§130.1 and §130.3 of this title (relating to Certification of Maximum Medical 
Improvement and Evaluation of Permanent Impairment by a Doctor Other than the 
Treating Doctor). 
  (1) If the designated doctor provides multiple certifications of MMI and impairment 
ratings, the designated doctor must file a Report of Medical Evaluation under §130.1(d) 
of this title for each assigned impairment rating and a designated doctor examination 
data report under §127.220 of this title (relating to the Designated Doctor Reports) for 
the doctor's extent of injury determination. 
  (2) The designated doctor must submit only one narrative report required by 
§130.1(d)(1)(B) of this title on all assigned impairment ratings and extent of injury 
findings. 

(3) All designated doctor narrative reports submitted under this subsection must 
comply with the requirements of §127.220(a) of this title (relating to Designated Doctor 
Reports). 

 
(f) Reports on return to work. A designated doctor who examines an injured employee 
for any question relating to return to work must complete a Work Status Report that 
complies with §129.5 of this title (relating to Work Status Reports) and a narrative report 
that complies with the requirements of §127.220(a) of this title. The designated doctor 
must file the work status report and the narrative report together within seven working 
days of the date the designated doctor examines the injured employee. 
  (1) The designated doctor must file the reports with the treating doctor, the division, 
and the insurance carrier by fax or electronic transmission. 
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  (2) The designated doctor must file the reports with the injured employee and the 
injured employee's representative (if any) by fax or electronic transmission if the 
designated doctor has a fax number or email for the recipient. 

(3) If the designated doctor has no fax number or email for a recipient, the designated 
doctor must send them the reports by other verifiable means. 

 
(g) Report on other issues. A designated doctor who resolves questions on issues other 
than those listed in subsections (d), (e), and (f) of this section must file a designated 
doctor examination data report that complies with §127.220(c) of this title and a 
narrative report that complies with §127.220(a) of this title within seven working days of 
the date the designated doctor examines the injured employee. 
  (1) The designated doctor must file these reports with the treating doctor, the division, 
and the insurance carrier by fax or electronic transmission. 
  (2) The designated doctor must provide these reports to the injured employee and the 
injured employee's representative (if any) by fax or electronic transmission if the 
designated doctor has a fax number or email for the recipient. 

(3) If no fax number or email is provided for the recipient, the designated doctor must 
send the reports by other verifiable means. 

 
(h) Presumptive weight. The designated doctor's report is given presumptive weight on 
the issue or issues the designated doctor was properly appointed to address, unless the 
preponderance of the evidence is to the contrary. 
 
(i) Payment of benefits during dispute. The insurance carrier must pay all benefits, 
including medical benefits, in accordance with the designated doctor's report for the 
issue or issues in dispute. 
  (1) If the designated doctor provides multiple certifications of MMI and impairment 
ratings, the insurance carrier must pay benefits based on the conditions to which the 
designated doctor determines the compensable injury extends. 
  (2) For medical benefits, the insurance carrier has 21 days from receipt of the 
designated doctor's report to reprocess all medical bills previously denied for reasons 
inconsistent with the designated doctor's findings. By the end of this period, insurance 
carriers must pay these medical bills in accordance with the Labor Code and Chapters 
133 and 134 of this title. 

(3) The insurance carrier must pay all other benefits no later than five days after 
receiving the report. 

 
(j) Record retention. The designated doctor must maintain accurate records for, at a 
minimum, five years from the anniversary date of the date of the designated doctor's 
last examination of the injured employee. 
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  (1) This requirement does not reduce or replace any other record retention 
requirements imposed on a designated doctor by an appropriate licensing board. 
  (2) These records must include the injured employee's medical records, any analysis the 
insurance carrier or treating doctor submits (including supporting information), reports 
the designated doctor generates as a result of the examination, and narratives the 
insurance carrier and treating doctor provide, to reflect: 
    (A) the date and time of any designated doctor appointments scheduled with an 
injured employee; 
    (B) the circumstances for a cancellation, no-show, or other situation where the 
examination did not occur as initially scheduled or rescheduled, and if applicable, 
documentation of the agreement to reschedule the examination and the notice that the 
doctor provided to the division, the injured employee's treating doctor, and the 
insurance carrier within 24 hours of rescheduling an appointment; 
    (C) the date of the examination; 
    (D) the date the designated doctor received medical records from the treating doctor 
or any other person; 
    (E) the date the designated doctor submitted the reports described in subsections (d), 
(e), and (f) of this section to all required parties and documentation that these reports 
were submitted to the division, treating doctor, and insurance carrier by fax or electronic 
transmission and to other required parties by verifiable means; 
    (F) if applicable, the names of any referral health care providers the designated doctor 
used, the dates of referral health care provider appointments, and the reason the 
designated doctor referred them; and 
    (G) if applicable, the date the doctor contacted the division for assistance in getting 
medical records from the insurance carrier or treating doctor. 
 
(k) Dispute resolution. Parties may dispute any entitlement to benefits affected by a 
designated doctor's report through the dispute resolution processes outlined in 
Chapters 140-144 and 147 of this title (relating to dispute resolution processes, 
proceedings, and procedures). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.10 adopted to be effective February 1, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11324; amended to be effective September 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 5422; 
amended to be effective November 4, 2018, 43 TexReg 7149; amended to be effective 
April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
 
RULE §127.15 Undue Influence on a Designated Doctor 
 
(a) Communication about medical condition or history. To avoid undue influence on the 
designated doctor: 
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  (1) except as provided by §127.10(a) of this title (relating to General Procedures for 
Designated Doctor Examinations), only the injured employee or appropriate division 
staff may communicate with the designated doctor about the injured employee's 
medical condition or history before the designated doctor examines the injured 
employee; 
  (2) after the examination is completed, only appropriate division staff may 
communicate with the designated doctor about the injured employee's medical 
condition or history; and 
  (3) the designated doctor may initiate communication with: 
    (A) any health care provider who previously treated or examined the injured 
employee for the work-related injury; or 
    (B) a peer review doctor that the insurance carrier identifies as having reviewed the 
injured employee's claim or any information about that claim. 
 
(b) Communication about administrative matters. The insurance carrier, treating doctor, 
injured employee, or injured employee's representative, if any, may contact the 
designated doctor's office to ask about administrative matters, including, but not limited 
to, whether the designated doctor received the records, whether the exam took place, or 
whether the designated doctor has filed the report, or other similar matters. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.15 adopted to be effective February 1, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11324; amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
 
RULE §127.20 Requesting a Letter of Clarification Regarding Designated Doctor 
Reports 
 
(a) Filing a clarification request. Parties may file a request with the division for 
clarification of the designated doctor's report. 
  (1) The requesting party must provide copies of the request to all parties. 
  (2) The division may contact the designated doctor if it determines that clarification is 
necessary to resolve an issue regarding the designated doctor's report. 
  (3) Parties may only request clarification on issues already addressed by the designated 
doctor's report or on issues that the designated doctor was ordered to address but did 
not. 

(4) A designated doctor must only respond to the questions or requests submitted to 
the designated doctor in the request for clarification and must not reconsider their 
previous decision, issue a new or amended decision, or provide clarification on their 
previous decision. 

 
(b) Requirements. Requests for clarification must: 
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  (1) include the name of the designated doctor, the reason for the examination, the 
date of the examination, and the requester's name and signature; 
  (2) explain why clarification of the designated doctor's report is necessary and 
appropriate to resolve a future or pending dispute; 
  (3) include questions for the designated doctor to answer that are not inflammatory or 
leading; and 

(4) provide any medical records that were not previously provided to the designated 
doctor and explain why these records are necessary for the designated doctor to 
respond to the request for clarification. 

 
(c) Requests by the division. At its discretion, the division may also request clarification 
from the designated doctor on any issue or issues. 
 
(d) Responses to requests. To respond to a request for clarification, the designated 
doctor must be on the division's designated doctor list on the date of the request. 
  (1) The designated doctor must respond in writing to the request for clarification within 
five working days of receipt and send copies of the response to the parties listed in 
§127.10(g) of this title (relating to General Procedures for Designated Doctor 
Examinations). 
  (2) If the designated doctor must reexamine the injured employee to respond to the 
request for clarification, the doctor must: 
    (A) respond to the request for clarification in writing, advising of the need for an 
additional examination within five working days of receiving the request and provide 
copies of the response to the parties specified in §127.10(g) of this title; 
    (B) conduct the reexamination within 21 days from the date the division issues the 
order for the reexamination at the same address as the original examination; and 
    (C) respond in writing to the request for clarification based on the additional 
examination within seven working days of the examination and provide copies of the 
response to the parties specified in §127.10(g) of this title. 
 
(e) Administrative violation. Any refusal or failure by a designated doctor to conduct a 
reexamination that is necessary to respond to a request for clarification is an 
administrative violation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.20 adopted to be effective February 1, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11324; amended to be effective September 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 5422; 
amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
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RULE §127.25 Failure to Attend a Designated Doctor Examination 
 
(a) Suspension of benefits. An insurance carrier may suspend temporary income benefits 
(TIBs) if an injured employee fails, without good cause, to attend a designated doctor 
examination or a referral examination under §127.10(c) of this title. 
 
(b) No good cause. If there is no division finding that good cause exists, an insurance 
carrier may presume that the injured employee did not have good cause to fail to 
attend the examination if, by the day the examination was originally scheduled to occur, 
the injured employee has both: 
  (1) failed to submit to the examination; and 
  (2) failed to contact the designated doctor's office to reschedule the examination. 
(c) Rescheduling timeframe. If the injured employee contacts the designated doctor 
within 21 days of the scheduled date of the missed examination to reschedule the 
examination, the designated doctor must schedule the examination to occur as soon as 
possible, but no later than 21 days after the injured employee contacted the doctor. 
 
(d) New examination request required. If the injured employee fails to contact the 
designated doctor within 21 days of the missed examination date but wishes to 
reschedule the examination, the injured employee must request a new examination 
under §127.1 of this title (relating to Requesting Designated Doctor Examinations). 
 
(e) Reinitiation of benefits. The insurance carrier must reinstate TIBs effective on the date 
the injured employee submitted to the rescheduled examination under subsection (c) of 
this section or the date the examination was scheduled at the injured employee's 
request under subsection (d) of this section, unless the designated doctor's report 
indicates that the injured employee has reached MMI or is otherwise not eligible for 
income benefits. The reinitiation of TIBs must occur no later than the seventh day 
following: 
  (1) the date the insurance carrier was notified that the injured employee submitted to 
the examination; or 

(2) the date the insurance carrier was notified that the division found the injured 
employee had good cause for not attending the examination. 

 
(f) Benefits during suspension. An injured employee is not entitled to TIBs during the 
period when the insurance carrier suspended benefits under this section unless the 
injured employee later submits to the examination, and: 
  (1) the division finds that the injured employee had good cause for not attending the 
examination; or 
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(2) the insurance carrier determines that the injured employee had good cause for not 
attending the examination. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §127.25 adopted to be effective February 1, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11324; amended to be effective September 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 5422; 
amended to be effective Aprl 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 

SUBCHAPTER B DESIGNATED DOCTOR CERTIFICATION, RENEWAL, AND 
QUALIFICATIONS 

RULE §127.100 Designated Doctor Certification 

(a) Qualifications to get or renew certification. The division will not assign examinations 
to a designated doctor who does not meet all requirements for certification or renewal. 
All designated doctors must:

(1) Have a complete designated doctor certification application as described in 
subsection (b) of this section on file with the division. 

(2) Complete all division-required trainings within 12 months of the date of application 
and have current documentation confirming their completion on file with the division. 

(3) Pass all division-required testing on the specific duties of a designated doctor 
under the Labor Code and division rules and have current documentation confirming 
their passage on file with the division. Required testing must have been completed on 
or after May 13, 2013, and includes demonstrated proficient knowledge of the currently 
adopted edition of: 

(A) the American Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent 
Impairment; and 

(B) the division's adopted:
(i) treatment guidelines; and
(ii) return-to-work guidelines.

(4) Have maintained an active practice for at least three years during the doctor's
career. For the purposes of this subsection, a doctor has an active practice if the doctor 
maintains or has maintained routine office hours of at least 20 hours per week for 40 
weeks per year to treat patients. 

(5) For the duration of the doctor's term as a designated doctor:
(A) be licensed in Texas;
(B) own or subscribe to the current edition of the American Medical Association

Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment adopted by the division to assign 
impairment ratings and all return-to-work and treatment guidelines adopted by the 
division; and 
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    (C) comply with financial disclosure requirements in §180.24 (relating to Financial 
Disclosure) of this title. 
 
(b) Application. To be considered complete, an application for certification must include, 
and a renewal application must update or confirm: 
  (1) contact information for the doctor; 
  (2) information on the doctor's education; 
  (3) a description of the doctor's license or licenses, certifications, and professional 
specialty, if any; 
  (4) a description of the doctor's work history and hospital or other health care provider 
affiliations; 
  (5) a description of any affiliations the doctor has with a workers' compensation health 
care network certified under Insurance Code Chapter 1305 or political subdivision under 
Labor Code §504.053(b)(2); 
  (6) information on the doctor's current practice locations; 
  (7) detailed answers to disclosure questions on the doctor's professional background, 
education, training, and fitness to perform the duties of a designated doctor, including 
disclosure and summary of any disciplinary actions taken against the doctor by any state 
licensing board or other appropriate state or federal agency; 
  (8) the identity of any person the doctor has contracted with to assist in performing or 
administering the doctor's designated doctor duties; 
  (9) an attestation that: 
    (A) all information provided in the application is accurate and complete to the best of 
the doctor's knowledge; 
    (B) the doctor will inform the division of any changes to this information as required 
by §127.200(a)(8) of this title (relating to Duties of a Designated Doctor); and 
    (C) the doctor will consent to any on-site visits, as provided by §127.200(a)(15) of this 
title, by the division at facilities that the designated doctor uses or intends to use to 
perform designated doctor examinations for the duration of the doctor's certification. 
 
(c) Retesting. If a doctor passes a division-required test, the doctor may not retest within 
a twelve-month period. If a doctor fails a division-required test, the doctor may not 
retest more than three times within a six-month period. 
  (1) After the first or second attempt, the doctor must wait 14 days before retaking the 
test. 

(2) After the third attempt, the doctor must wait six months before retaking the test. 
 

(d) Additional certification testing. On receipt of an application for designated doctor 
certification renewal, the division may require a designated doctor to complete 
additional certification testing to demonstrate proficient knowledge on the specific 
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duties of a designated doctor under the Labor Code and division rules. Examples of 
circumstances that may require additional certification testing include, but are not 
limited to, individual need for retesting based on substandard performance, changes in 
the duties of a designated doctor, updates to the guidelines, and legislative changes. 
 
(e) Notice of approval, denial, suspension, or revocation. The division will notify a doctor 
in writing of the commissioner's approval or denial of the doctor's application to be 
certified or renewed as a designated doctor; or of the division's suspension or 
revocation of the doctor's certification. 
 
(f) Term and qualification. Approvals certify a doctor for a term of two years and will 
include: 
  (1) the effective date of the certification; 
  (2) the expiration date of the certification; and 

(3) the designated doctor's examination qualifications under §127.130 of this title 
(relating to Qualification Standards for Designated Doctor Examinations). 

 
(g) Renewal. A designated doctor who seeks to renew their certification immediately 
after their current term expires, without interruption, must apply for certification no later 
than 45 days before the end of the term. 
  (1) If the division does not receive all of the information required under subsection 
(b)(1) - (9) above no later than 45 days before the end of the designated doctor's term, 
the division will not assign examinations to the designated doctor during the last 45 
days of an expiring term. 

(2) The designated doctor may still provide services on claims the division had 
previously assigned to them during this 45-day period. 

 
(h) Approval of renewal application with restrictions. An application for renewal may be 
approved with restrictions. The division may restrict a designated doctor's certification 
until the doctor complies with the requirements in the designated doctor's approval of 
certification. Designated doctors whose certification is restricted may dispute the 
restriction through the procedure described in subsection (k) of this section. 
 
(i) Adverse certification actions. The division may deny, suspend, or revoke a designated 
doctor's certification for any of the following reasons: 
  (1) if the doctor did not submit a complete application for certification as required 
under subsection (b) of this section; 
  (2) for having a relevant restriction on their practice imposed by a state licensing 
board, certification authority, or other appropriate state or federal agency, including the 
division; 
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  (3) if the doctor failed to update their application for certification properly; or 
  (4) for other activities, events, or occurrences that the commissioner determines 
warrant denial of a doctor's application for certification as a designated doctor, 
including, but not limited to: 
    (A) the quality of the designated doctor's past reports; 
    (B) the designated doctor's history of complaints; 
    (C) excess requests for deferral from the designated doctor list by the designated 
doctor; 
    (D) a pattern of overturned reports by the division or a court; 
    (E) a demonstrated lack of ability to apply or properly consider the American Medical 
Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment adopted by the division 
to assign impairment ratings and all return-to-work and treatment guidelines adopted 
by the division; 
    (F) a demonstrated lack of ability to consistently perform designated doctor 
examinations in a timely manner; 
    (G) a demonstrated failure to identify disqualifying associations; 
    (H) a demonstrated lack of ability to ensure the confidentiality of injured employee 
medical records and claim information provided to or generated by a designated 
doctor; 
    (I) a history of unnecessary referral examinations or testing; 
    (J) a failure to comply with the requirements of §180.24 of this title (relating to 
Financial Disclosure) when they requested referral examinations or additional testing; 
    (K) applying for certification less than a year from denial of a previous designated 
doctor certification application; or 
    (L) any grounds that would allow the division to sanction a health care provider under 
the Labor Code or division rules. 
 
(j) Response to denial of certification. Within 15 working days after receiving a written 
denial, a doctor may file a written response with the division addressing the reasons the 
division gave to the doctor for its denial. 
  (1) If the division does not receive a written response by the 15th working day after the 
date the doctor received the notice, the denial will be final effective the next day. The 
division will not send further notice. 
  (2) If the division timely receives a written response that disagrees with the denial, the 
division will review the response and notify the doctor in writing of the commissioner's 
final decision. 
    (A) If the final decision is still a denial, the division's final notice will provide the 
reasons the doctor's response did not change the commissioner's decision to deny the 
doctor's application for certification as a designated doctor. 
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    (B) The denial will be effective the day after the doctor receives notice of the denial, 
unless the notice specifies otherwise. 
 
(k) Request for informal conference. A designated doctor whose renewal application is 
denied, or whose certification is suspended or revoked, may either respond in writing 
using the procedure in subsection (j) of this section or submit a written request for an 
informal conference before the division to address those reasons. 
  (1) If the division does not receive a written request for an informal conference by the 
15th working day after the date the doctor received the notice, the denial, suspension, 
or revocation will be final effective the next day. The division will not send further notice. 
  (2) If the division timely receives a written request for an informal conference, it will set 
the informal conference to occur no later than 31 days after it received the request. 
    (A) At the informal conference, the designated doctor may present evidence that 
addresses the reasons the doctor was denied certification, or the reasons the doctor's 
certification was suspended or revoked, to the commissioner's designated 
representatives. 
    (B) The designated doctor may have an attorney present. 
    (C) At the end of the informal conference, the commissioner's designated 
representatives will provide the designated doctor with their final recommendation on 
the doctor's certification. 
      (i) If the final recommendation is still a denial, suspension, or revocation, the 
commissioner's designated representatives will provide the reasons for not certifying the 
doctor as a designated doctor. 
      (ii) After the informal conference, the commissioner's designated representatives will 
send their final recommendation to the commissioner, who will review it and all 
evidence presented at the informal conference and make a final decision. 
      (iii) The division will notify the designated doctor of the commissioner's final 
decision in writing. 
      (iv) The decision will be effective the day after the doctor receives notice of the 
decision, unless the notice specifies otherwise. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.100 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended to be effective November 4, 2018, 43 TexReg 7149; 
amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
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RULE §127.120 Exception to Certification as a Designated Doctor for Out-of-State 
Doctors  
 
If the injured employee is temporarily located or resides out of state, the division may 
waive any of the requirements in this chapter for an out-of-state doctor to serve as a 
designated doctor to help timely resolve a dispute or perform a particular examination. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.120 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
 
RULE §127.130 Qualification Standards for Designated Doctor Examinations 
 
a) Applicability. This section applies to designated doctor assignments made on or after 
June 5, 2023. 
 
(b) Qualification standards by type of injury or diagnosis. A designated doctor is 
qualified to perform a designated doctor examination on an injured employee if the 
designated doctor meets the appropriate qualification standard for the area of the body 
affected by the injury and the injured employee's diagnosis and has no disqualifying 
associations under §127.140 of this title (relating to Disqualifying Associations). A 
designated doctor's qualification standards are as follows: 
  (1) To examine injuries and diagnoses relating to the hand and upper extremities, a 
designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, or doctor 
of chiropractic. 
  (2) To examine injuries and diagnoses relating to the lower extremities excluding feet, a 
designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, or doctor 
of chiropractic. 
  (3) To examine injuries and diagnoses relating to the spine and musculoskeletal 
structures of the torso, a designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor, doctor 
of osteopathy, or doctor of chiropractic. 
  (4) To examine injuries and diagnoses relating to feet, including toes and heel, a 
designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, doctor of 
chiropractic, or doctor of podiatric medicine. 
  (5) To examine injuries and diagnoses relating to the teeth and jaw, including a 
temporomandibular joint, a designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor, 
doctor of osteopathy, or doctor of dental surgery. 
  (6) To examine injuries and diagnoses relating to the eyes, including the eye and 
adnexal structures of the eye, a designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor, 
doctor of osteopathy, or doctor of optometry. 
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  (7) To examine injuries and diagnoses relating to mental and behavioral disorders, a 
designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy. 
  (8) A designated doctor must be a licensed medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy to 
examine injuries and diagnoses relating to other body areas or systems, including, but 
not limited to: 
    (A) internal systems; 
    (B) ear, nose, and throat; 
    (C) head and face; 
    (D) skin; 
    (E) cuts to skin involving underlying structures; 
    (F) non-musculoskeletal structures of the torso; 
    (G) hernia; 
    (H) respiratory; 
    (I) endocrine; 
    (J) hematopoietic; and 
    (K) urologic. 
  (9) Notwithstanding paragraphs (1) - (8) of this subsection, a designated doctor must 
be a licensed medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy with the required board 
certification to examine any of the following diagnoses. 
    (A) For purposes of this section, a designated doctor is "board-certified" in a required 
specialty or subspecialty, as applicable, if they hold or previously held: 
      (i) a general certificate in the required specialty or a subspecialty certificate in the 
required subspecialty from the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS); or 
      (ii) a primary certificate in the required specialty and a certificate of special 
qualifications or certificate of added qualifications in the required subspecialty from the 
American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOABOS). 
    (B) To examine traumatic brain injuries, including concussion and post-concussion 
syndrome, a designated doctor must be board-certified by the ABMS or AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
        (I) neurological surgery; 
        (II) neurology; 
        (III) physical medicine and rehabilitation; 
        (IV) psychiatry; 
        (V) orthopaedic surgery; 
        (VI) occupational medicine; 
        (VII) dermatology; 
        (VIII) plastic surgery; 
        (IX) surgery; 
        (X) anesthesiology with a subspecialty in pain medicine; 
        (XI) emergency medicine; 
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        (XII) internal medicine; 
        (XIII) thoracic and cardiac surgery; or 
        (XIV) family medicine. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) neurological surgery; 
        (II) neurology; 
        (III) physical medicine and rehabilitation; 
        (IV) psychiatry; 
        (V) orthopedic surgery; 
        (VI) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; 
        (VII) preventive medicine/occupational; 
        (VIII) dermatology; 
        (IX) plastic and reconstructive surgery; 
        (X) surgery (general); 
        (XI) anesthesiology with certificate of added qualifications in pain management; 
        (XII) emergency medicine; 
        (XIII) internal medicine; 
        (XIV) thoracic and cardiovascular surgery; or 
        (XV) family practice and osteopathic manipulative treatment. 
    (C) To examine spinal cord injuries and diagnoses, including a spinal fracture with 
documented neurological injury, or vascular injury, more than one spinal fracture, or 
cauda equina syndrome, a designated doctor must be board-certified by the ABMS or 
AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
        (I) neurological surgery; 
        (II) neurology; 
        (III) physical medicine and rehabilitation; 
        (IV) orthopaedic surgery; or 
        (V) occupational medicine. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) neurological surgery; 
        (II) neurology; 
        (III) physical medicine and rehabilitation; 
        (IV) orthopedic surgery; 
        (V) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; or 
        (VI) preventive medicine/occupational. 
    (D) To examine severe burns, including chemical burns defined as deep partial or full 
thickness burns, also known as second, third, or fourth-degree burns, a designated 
doctor must be board-certified by the ABMS or AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
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        (I) dermatology; 
        (II) physical medicine and rehabilitation; 
        (III) plastic surgery; 
        (IV) orthopaedic surgery; 
        (V) surgery; or 
        (VI) occupational medicine. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) dermatology; 
        (II) physical medicine and rehabilitation; 
        (III) plastic and reconstructive surgery; 
        (IV) orthopedic surgery; 
        (V) surgery (general); 
        (VI) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; or 
        (VII) preventive medicine/occupational. 
    (E) To examine complex regional pain syndrome (reflex sympathetic dystrophy), a 
designated doctor must be board-certified by the ABMS or AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
        (I) neurological surgery; 
        (II) neurology; 
        (III) orthopaedic surgery; 
        (IV) plastic surgery; 
        (V) anesthesiology with a subspecialty in pain medicine; 
        (VI) occupational medicine; or 
        (VII) physical medicine and rehabilitation. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) neurological surgery; 
        (II) neurology; 
        (III) orthopedic surgery; 
        (IV) plastic surgery; 
        (V) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; 
        (VI) preventive medicine/occupational; 
        (VII) anesthesiology with certificate of added qualifications in pain management; or 
        (VIII) physical medicine and rehabilitation. 
    (F) To examine any joint dislocation, one or more fractures with vascular injury, one or 
more pelvis fractures, or multiple rib fractures, a designated doctor must be board-
certified by the ABMS or AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
        (I) emergency medicine; 
        (II) orthopaedic surgery; 
        (III) plastic surgery; 
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        (IV) physical medicine and rehabilitation; or 
        (V) occupational medicine. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) emergency medicine; 
        (II) orthopedic surgery; 
        (III) plastic surgery; 
        (IV) physical medicine and rehabilitation; 
        (V) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; or 
        (VI) preventive medicine/occupational. 
    (G) To examine complicated infectious diseases requiring hospitalization or prolonged 
intravenous antibiotics, including blood borne pathogens, a designated doctor must be 
board-certified by the ABMS or AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
        (I) internal medicine; or 
        (II) occupational medicine. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) internal medicine; 
        (II) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; or 
        (III) preventive medicine/occupational. 
    (H) To examine chemical exposure, excluding chemical burns, a designated doctor 
must be board-certified by the ABMS or AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
        (I) internal medicine; 
        (II) emergency medicine; or 
        (III) occupational medicine. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) internal medicine; 
        (II) emergency medicine; 
        (III) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; or 
        (IV) preventive medicine/occupational. 
    (I) To examine heart or cardiovascular conditions, a designated doctor must be board-
certified by the ABMS or AOABOS. 
      (i) Qualifying ABMS certifications are: 
        (I) internal medicine; 
        (II) emergency medicine; 
        (III) occupational medicine; 
        (IV) thoracic and cardiac surgery; or 
        (V) family medicine. 
      (ii) Qualifying AOABOS certifications are: 
        (I) internal medicine; 
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        (II) emergency medicine; 
        (III) preventive medicine/occupational-environmental medicine; 
        (IV) preventive medicine/occupational; 
        (V) thoracic and cardiovascular surgery; or 
        (VI) family practice and osteopathic manipulative treatment. 
 
(c) Qualification to perform initial examination. To be qualified to perform an initial 
examination on an injured employee, a designated doctor, other than a chiropractor, 
must be qualified under Labor Code §408.0043. A designated doctor who is a 
chiropractor must be qualified to perform an initial designated doctor examination 
under Labor Code §408.0045. 
 
(d) Exemption from qualification standards. If a designated doctor is not available with 
the qualifications listed in subsections (b)(9)(A) - (I), the division may exempt a medical 
doctor or doctor of osteopathy from any of the qualification standards specified in this 
chapter to serve as a designated doctor to help timely resolve a dispute or perform a 
particular examination. 
 
(e) Continuity of examinations. A designated doctor who performs an initial designated 
doctor examination of an injured employee and meets the appropriate qualification 
standard to perform that examination under subsection (b) of this section will remain 
assigned to that claim and perform all subsequent examinations of that injured 
employee unless the division authorizes or requires the designated doctor to 
discontinue providing services on that claim. 
 
(f) Removal of designated doctor from a claim. The division may authorize a designated 
doctor to stop providing services on a claim if the doctor does any of the following: 
  (1) decides to stop practicing in the workers' compensation system. 
  (2) decides to stop practicing as a designated doctor in the workers' compensation 
system. 
  (3) relocates their residence or practice. 

(4) asks the division to indefinitely defer the doctor's availability on the designated 
doctor list. 

(5) determines that examining the injured employee would exceed the scope of 
practice authorized by their license. The division's assignment of a designated doctor 
exam does not alter the scope of practice authorized by the designated doctor's 
professional license. Section 127.200(a)(12) of this title requires a designated doctor to 
notify the division if continuing to participate on a claim would exceed their scope of 
practice. 
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(6) can otherwise demonstrate to the division that their continued service on the claim 
would be impracticable or could impair the quality of examinations performed on the 
claim. 

 
(g) Prohibition. The division will prohibit a designated doctor from providing services on 
a claim if: 

(1) the doctor has failed to become certified as a designated doctor; 
(2) the doctor no longer meets the appropriate qualification standard under subsection 

(b) of this section to perform examinations on the claim; 
(3) the doctor has a disqualifying association specified in §127.140 of this title that is 

relevant to the claim; 
(4) the doctor has repeatedly failed to respond to division appointment, clarification, or 

document requests or other division inquiries about the claim; 
(5) the doctor's continued service on the claim could endanger the health, safety, or 

welfare of either the injured employee or doctor; or 
(6) the division has revoked or suspended the designated doctor's certification. 
 

(h) License revoked or suspended. The division will prohibit a designated doctor from 
performing examinations on all new or existing claims if the designated doctor's license 
has been revoked or suspended, and the suspension has not been probated by an 
appropriate licensing authority. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.130 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended to be effective November 4, 2018, 43 TexReg 7149; 
amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 

 
RULE §127.140 Disqualifying Associations 
 
(a) Definition. A disqualifying association is any association that may reasonably be 
perceived as having potential to influence the conduct or decision of a designated 
doctor. Disqualifying associations may include: 
  (1) receipt of income, compensation, or payment of any kind not related to health care 
the doctor provides; 
  (2) shared investment or ownership interest; 
  (3) contracts or agreements that provide incentives, such as referral fees, payments 
based on volume or value, and waiver of beneficiary coinsurance and deductible 
amounts; 
  (4) contracts or agreements for space or equipment rentals, personnel services, 
management contracts, referral services, billing services agents, documentation 
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management or storage services or warranties, or any other services related to 
managing or operating the doctor's practice; 
  (5) personal or family relationships; 
  (6) a contract with the same workers' compensation health care network certified under 
Insurance Code Chapter 1305 or a contract with the same political subdivision or 
political subdivision health plan under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) that is responsible for 
providing medical benefits to the injured employee; or 

(7) any other financial arrangement that would require disclosure under the Labor 
Code, the Insurance Code, or applicable rules, or any other association with the injured 
employee, the employer, or insurance carrier that may give the appearance of 
preventing the designated doctor from rendering an unbiased opinion. 

 
(b) Disqualification of agent. A designated doctor also has a disqualifying association 
relevant to an examination or claim if an agent of the designated doctor has an 
association relevant to the claim that would constitute a disqualifying association under 
subsection (a) of this section. 
 
(c) Prohibition. A designated doctor must not perform an examination if that doctor has 
a disqualifying association relevant to that claim. 
  (1) If a designated doctor learns of a disqualifying association relevant to a claim after 
accepting the examination, the designated doctor must notify the division of that 
disqualifying association within two working days of learning of the disqualifying 
association. 

(2) A designated doctor who performs an examination even though the doctor has a 
disqualifying association relevant to that claim commits an administrative violation. 

 
(d) Notice required. Within five days of receiving the division's order of designated 
doctor examination under §127.5(b) of this title (relating to Scheduling Designated 
Doctor Appointments), insurance carriers must notify the division of any disqualifying 
associations between the designated doctor and injured employee because of the 
network affiliations described under subsection (a)(6) of this section. 
 
(e) Effect of disqualifying association. If the division determines that a designated doctor 
with a disqualifying association performed a designated doctor examination, all reports 
produced by that designated doctor as a result of that examination are stripped of their 
presumptive weight. 
 
(f) Disputes about disqualifying associations. A party that seeks to dispute the selection 
of a designated doctor for a particular examination based on a disqualifying association 
or dispute the presumptive weight of a designated doctor's report based on a 

Updated January 4, 2024 132



disqualifying association must do so through the division's dispute resolution processes 
in Labor Code Chapter 410 and Chapters 140-144 and 147 of this title (relating to 
dispute resolution processes, proceedings, and procedures). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.140 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended to be effective November 4, 2018, 43 TexReg 7149; 
amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
 
SUBCHAPTER C DESIGNATED DOCTOR DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
 
RULE §127.200 Duties of a Designated Doctor 
 
(a) Duties. All designated doctors must: 
  (1) Perform designated doctor examinations in a facility: 
    (A) currently used and properly equipped for medical examinations or other similar 
health care services; and 
    (B) that ensures safety, privacy, and accessibility for injured employees, injured 
employee medical records, and other records containing confidential claim information. 
  (2) Ensure the confidentiality of medical records, analyses, and forms provided to or 
generated by the designated doctor in the doctor's capacity as a designated doctor for 
the duration of the retention period specified in §127.10(i) of this title (relating to 
General Procedures for Designated Doctor Examinations) and ensure the destruction of 
these medical records after both this retention period expires and the designated doctor 
determines the information is no longer needed. 
  (3) Ensure that all agreements with persons that permit those parties to perform 
designated doctor administrative duties, including, but not limited to, billing and 
scheduling duties, on the designated doctor's behalf: 
    (A) are in writing and signed by the designated doctor and the persons with whom 
the designated doctor is contracting; 
    (B) define the administrative duties that the person may perform on behalf of the 
designated doctor; 
    (C) require the persons to comply with all confidentiality provisions of the Labor Code 
and other applicable laws; 
    (D) comply with all medical billing and payment requirements under Chapter 133 of 
this title (relating to General Medical Provisions); 
    (E) do not constitute an improper inducement relating to the delivery of benefits to 
an injured employee under Labor Code §415.0036 and §180.25 of this title (relating to 
Improper Inducements, Influence and Threats); and 
    (F) are made available to the division on request. 
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  (4) Notify the division in writing and in advance if the designated doctor voluntarily 
defers their availability to receive any offers of examinations for personal or other 
reasons. The notice must specify the duration and reason for the deferral. 
  (5) Notify the division in writing and in advance if the designated doctor no longer 
wishes to practice as a designated doctor before the doctor's current certification as a 
designated doctor expires. A designated doctor who no longer wishes to practice before 
their current certification expires must expressly surrender their certification in a signed, 
written statement to the division. 
  (6) Be physically present in the same room as the injured employee for the designated 
doctor examination or any other health care service provided to the injured employee 
that is not referred to another health care provider under §127.10(c) of this title. 
  (7) Apply the appropriate edition of the American Medical Association Guides to the 
Evaluation of Permanent Impairment and division-adopted return-to-work guidelines 
under §137.10 (relating to Return to Work Guidelines) and consider division-adopted 
treatment guidelines under §137.100 (relating to Treatment Guidelines) or other 
evidence-based medicine when appropriate. 
  (8) Provide the division with updated information within 10 working days of a change 
in any information they provide to the division on their application for certification. 
  (9) Maintain a professional and courteous demeanor when performing the duties of a 
designated doctor, including, but not limited to, explaining the purpose of a designated 
doctor examination to an injured employee at the beginning of the examination and 
using non-inflammatory, appropriate language in all reports and documents they 
produce. 
  (10) Bill for designated doctor examinations and receive payment for those 
examinations in accordance with Chapters 133 and 134 of this title (relating to Benefits--
Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges, and Payments). 
  (11) Respond timely to all division appointments, clarifications, document requests, or 
other division inquiries. 
  (12) Notify the division if their continued participation on a claim they have already 
been assigned would exceed the scope of practice authorized by their license. 
  (13) Not perform required medical examinations, utilization reviews, or peer reviews on 
a claim they have been assigned as a designated doctor. 
  (14) Identify themselves at the beginning of every designated doctor examination. 
  (15) Consent to and cooperate during any on-site visits by the division under §180.4 of 
this title (relating to On-Site Visits). 
    (A) Notwithstanding §180.4(e)(2) of this title, the division's purpose for these visits is 
to ensure the designated doctor's compliance with the Labor Code and applicable 
division rules. 
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    (B) The notice provided to the designated doctor under §180.4 of this title, either in 
advance or at the time of the on-site visit, will specify the duties the division will 
investigate during that visit. 
  (16) Cooperate with all division compliance audits and quality reviews. 
  (17) Complete required training or pass required testing detailed in the designated 
doctor's approval of certification. 

(18) Comply with all applicable laws and rules. 
 

(b) Agents. For the purposes of this chapter, Chapter 180 of this title (relating to 
Monitoring and Enforcement), and all other applicable laws and division rules, any 
person with whom a designated doctor contracts or otherwise permits to perform 
designated doctor administrative duties on behalf of the designated doctor qualifies as 
the doctor's "agent" as defined under §180.1 of this title (relating to Definitions). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.200 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
 
RULE §127.210 Designated Doctor Administrative Violations 
 
(a) Grounds for sanctions. In addition to the grounds for issuing sanctions against a 
doctor under §180.26 of this title (relating to Criteria for Imposing, Recommending and 
Determining Sanctions; Other Remedies), other division rules, or the Labor Code, the 
commissioner may revoke or suspend a designated doctor's certification as a 
designated doctor or sanction a designated doctor for noncompliance with 
requirements of this chapter for: 
  (1) refusing four times within a 90-day period to accept or perform a division-offered 
appointment or division-ordered appointment for which the doctor is qualified and that 
relates to a claim to which the doctor has not been previously assigned; 
  (2) refusing four consecutive times to perform a division-offered appointment within 
the required time frames or a division-ordered appointment for which the doctor is 
qualified and relates to a claim the doctor has not been previously assigned to; 
  (3) failing to attend a designated doctor examination; 
  (4) not complying with the rescheduling requirements of this chapter; 
  (5) refusing at any time to accept or perform a division-offered appointment or 
division-ordered appointment that relates to a claim on which the doctor has previously 
performed an examination; 
  (6) misrepresenting or omitting pertinent facts in medical evaluation and narrative 
reports; 
  (7) submitting unnecessary referrals to other health care providers to answer any 
question that the division submits to the designated doctor; 
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  (8) ordering or performing unnecessary testing of an injured employee as part of a 
designated doctor's examination; 
  (9) submitting inaccurate or inappropriate reports due to insufficient medical history or 
physical examination and analysis of medical records; 
  (10) submitting designated doctor reports that fail to include all elements required by 
§127.220 of this title (relating to Designated Doctor Reports), §127.10 of this title 
(relating to General Procedures for Designated Doctor Examinations), and other division 
rules; 
  (11) failing to timely respond to a request for clarification from the division about an 
examination or any other information the division requests; 
  (12) failing to successfully complete training and testing requirements as specified in 
§127.100 of this title (relating to Designated Doctor Certification); 
  (13) self-referring, including referring to another health care provider with whom the 
designated doctor has a disqualifying association, for treatment or becoming the 
employee's treating doctor for the medical condition the designated doctor evaluated; 
  (14) behaving in an abusive or assaultive manner toward an injured employee, the 
division, or other system participant; 
  (15) failing to maintain the confidentiality of patient medical and claim file information; 
  (16) performing a designated doctor examination that the division did not order the 
doctor to perform; 
  (17) failing to complete required training or pass required testing detailed in the 
designated doctor's approval of certification; or 

(18) violating other applicable statutes or rules while serving as a designated doctor. 
 

(b) Responsibility for agents' actions. Designated doctors are liable for all administrative 
violations committed by their agents on the designated doctor's behalf under this 
section, other division rules, or any other applicable law. 
 
(c) Notification and appeal. The process for notification and opportunity for appeal of a 
sanction is governed by §180.27 of this title (relating to Restoration) except that 
suspension, revocation, or other sanctions relating to a designated doctor's certification 
will be in effect during the pendency of any appeal. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §127.210 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
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RULE §127.220 Designated Doctor Reports 
 
(a) Format and submission. Designated doctor narrative reports must be filed in the 
form and manner required by the division. At a minimum, they must do all of the 
following: 
  (1) Identify the question or questions the division ordered to be addressed by the 
designated doctor examination. 
  (2) Provide a clearly defined answer for each question to be addressed by the 
designated doctor examination and only for each of those questions. 
  (3) Sufficiently explain how the designated doctor determined the answer to each 
question within a reasonable degree of medical probability. 
  (4) Demonstrate, as appropriate, application or consideration of the American Medical 
Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, division-adopted 
return-to-work and treatment guidelines, and other evidence-based medicine, if 
available. 
  (5) Include general information about the identity of the designated doctor, injured 
employee, employer, treating doctor, and insurance carrier. 
  (6) State the date of the examination and the address where it took place. 
  (7) Summarize any additional testing conducted or referrals made as part of the 
evaluation, including: 
    (A) the identity of any health care providers to which the designated doctor referred 
the injured employee under §127.10(c) of this title (relating to General Procedures for 
Designated Doctor Examinations); 
    (B) the types of tests conducted or referrals made; 
    (C) the dates the testing or referral examinations occurred; 
    (D) an explanation of why the testing or referral was necessary to resolve a question 
at issue in the examination; and 
    (E) the date the testing or referral examination was completed. 
  (8) Include a narrative description of the medical history, physical examination, and 
medical decisions the designated doctor made, including the time the designated 
doctor began taking the medical history of the injured employee, physically examined 
the employee, and engaged in medical decision making, and the time the designated 
doctor completed these tasks. 
  (9) List the specific medical records or other documents the designated doctor 
reviewed as part of the evaluation, including the dates of those documents and which 
medical records were provided by the injured employee. 
  (10) Provide the total amount of time required for the designated doctor to review the 
medical records. 
  (11) Be signed by the designated doctor who performed the examination. 
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  (12) Include a statement that there is no known disqualifying association as described 
in §127.140 of this title (relating to Disqualifying Associations) between the designated 
doctor and the injured employee, the injured employee's treating doctor, the insurance 
carrier, the insurance carrier's certified workers' compensation health care network, or a 
network established under Labor Code Chapter 504. 
  (13) Certify the date that the report was sent to all recipients as required and in the 
manner required by §127.10 of this title. 

(14) Indicate on the report that the designated doctor reviewed and approved the final 
version of the report. 

 
(b) Additional forms required. Designated doctors who perform examinations under 
§127.10(d) or (e) of this title must also complete and file the division forms required by 
those subsections with their narrative reports. Designated doctors must complete and 
file these forms in the manner required by applicable division rules. 
(c) Designated doctor examination data report. Designated doctors who perform 
examinations under §127.10(f) of this title must, in addition to filing a narrative report 
that complies with subsection (a) of this section, also file a designated doctor 
examination data report in the form and manner required by the division. A designated 
doctor examination data report must: 
  (1) include general information regarding the identity of the designated doctor, injured 
employee, insurance carrier, as well as the identity of the certified workers' 
compensation health care network under Insurance Code Chapter 1305, if applicable, or 
whether the injured employee is receiving medical benefits through a political 
subdivision health care plan under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) and the identity of that 
plan, if applicable; 
  (2) identify the question or questions the division ordered to be addressed by the 
designated doctor examination; 
  (3) provide a clearly defined answer for each question to be addressed by the 
designated doctor examination and only for each of those questions. For extent of injury 
examinations, the designated doctor should also provide, for informational purposes 
only, a diagnosis code for each disputed injury; 
  (4) state the date of the examination, the time the examination began, and the address 
where the examination took place; 
  (5) list any additional testing conducted or referrals made as part of the evaluation, 
including the identity of any healthcare providers to which the designated doctor 
referred the injured employee under §127.10(c) of this title, the types of tests conducted 
or referrals made and the dates the testing or referral examinations occurred; and 

(6) be signed by the designated doctor who performed the examination. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §127.220 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 5422; amended to be effective November 4, 2018, 43 TexReg 7149; 
amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 TexReg 2123 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 128 BENEFITS--CALCULATION OF AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE 
 
RULE §128.1 Average Weekly Wage: General Provisions 
 
(a) The average weekly wage (AWW) calculation for an injured employee (employee) 
shall be calculated depending on whether the employee was employed in one of the 
following five courses of employment: 
  (1) full-time (see §128.3 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculation for 
Full-Time Employees, And For Temporary Income Benefits For All Employees)); 
  (2) part-time (see §128.4 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculation For 
Part-Time Employees)); 
  (3) seasonal (see §128.5 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculation for 
Seasonal Employees)); 
  (4) school district employed (see §128.7 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage 
for School District Employees)); and 
  (5) multiple employment (see Texas Labor Code §408.042 and subsection (h) of this 
section). 
 
(b) Except as provided by §128.7, an employee's wage, for the purpose of calculating the 
AWW, shall include: 
  (1) all pecuniary wages (as defined by §126.1 of this title (relating to Definitions 
Applicable to All Benefits)) paid by the employer to the employee even if the employer 
has continued to provide the wages after the date of injury (in which case these wages 
could be considered post-injury earnings under §129.2 of this title (relating to 
Entitlement to Temporary Income Benefits)); and 
  (2) all nonpecuniary wages (as defined by §126.1 of this title) paid by the employer to 
the employee prior to the compensable injury but not continued by the employer after 
the injury (though only during a period in which the employer has discontinued 
providing the wages). 
 
(c) An employee's wage, for the purpose of calculating the AWW, shall not include: 
  (1) payments made by an employer to reimburse the employee for the use of the 
employee's equipment, for paying helpers, for reimbursing actual expenses related to 
employment such as travel related expenses (e.g. meals, lodging, transportation, 
parking, tolls, and porters), or reimbursing mileage up to the state rate for mileage; or 
  (2) any nonpecuniary wages continued by the employer after the compensable injury. 
However, except as provided by §128.7 of this title and Texas Labor Code §408.042(e), if 
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the employer discontinues providing nonpecuniary wages, the AWW shall be 
recalculated and these discontinued nonpecuniary wages shall be included. 
 
(d) The AWW shall be calculated using gross wages. 
 
(e) If a carrier determines or is notified that the employee's AWW is different than what 
the carrier had previously determined (either as a result of subsection (c)(2) of this 
section, receipt of an updated wage statement, or by operation of other adjustments 
permitted/required under this title), the carrier shall adjust the AWW and begin payment 
of benefits based upon the adjusted AWW no later than the first payment due at least 
seven days following the date the carrier receives the new information regarding the 
AWW. 
 
(f) The carrier shall provide notice to the employee and the division of any adjustments 
to the AWW and its affect on benefits in accordance with the requirements of §124.2 of 
this title (relating to Carrier Reporting and Notification Requirements). 
 
(g) Additional adjustments to the AWW may be made in specific circumstances for 
seasonal employees and school district employees (see §128.5 and §128.7 of this title, 
respectively), and for employees who are also minors, apprentices, trainees, or students 
on the date of injury (see §128.6 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage 
Adjustment For Certain Employees Who Are Also Minors, Apprentices, Trainees, or 
Students)). 
 
(h) For employees injured on or after July 1, 2002, who are employed by more than one 
employer on the date of injury and the employee submits the wage information from 
the other employer(s) in the form and manner prescribed by §122.5 of this title (relating 
to Employee's Multiple Employment Wage Statement), the carrier shall calculate the 
AWW using the wages from all the employers in accordance with this section. The 
employee's AWW shall be the sum of the AWWs for each employer. 
  (1) The portion of the AWW that is based upon employment with the "Claim Employer" 
(as the term is defined in §122.5 of this title) shall be calculated in accordance with the 
rule in this chapter which would be used to calculate the employee's AWW if the 
employee did not have multiple employment. 
    (A) This portion of the AWW may be different for calculating Temporary Income 
Benefits (TIBs) than it is for calculating other types of benefits as provided in other 
sections of this title (such as where the wages may be adjusted for a part-time employee 
under §128.4 of this title). 

Updated January 4, 2024 141



    (B) This portion of the AWW shall be adjusted if the Claim Employer discontinues 
providing a nonpecuniary wage that the employer had previously continued after the 
date of injury. 
  (2) The portion of the employee's AWW based upon employment with each "Non-
Claim Employer" (as the term is defined in §122.5 of this title) shall be calculated in 
accordance with §128.3 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculations for 
Full-Time Employees, and for Temporary Income Benefits for All Employees) except that 
the employee's wages from the Non-Claim Employer(s) shall only include those wages 
that are reportable for federal income tax purposes. 
    (A) This portion of the AWW of an employee whose employment was limited by the 
Non-Claim Employer to less than full-time but whose employment was not so limited as 
a regular course of conduct shall be adjusted to the weekly wage level the employee 
would have attained by working a full-time workweek at the employee's average rate of 
pay. 
    (B) Once calculated correctly, the portion of the AWW based upon employment with 
the Non-Claim Employer(s) does not vary by benefit type. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §128.1 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 118; amended to be effective May 16, 2002, 27 TexReg 4036; amended to be 
effective January 1, 2012, 36 TexReg 8860 
 
RULE §128.2 Carrier Presumption of Employee's Average Weekly Wage 
 
(a) An insurance carrier (carrier) shall promptly initiate the payment of income benefits 
as required by the Workers' Compensation Act (Act). To expedite payment, the carrier 
shall presume that multiplying the employee's hourly rate times the average number of 
hours in the employee's standard work week, or, if such information is not available, that 
the employer's last payment to the employee for personal services based on a full 
week's work (a partial work week shall be prorated for a full week) accurately reflects the 
employee's average weekly wage (AWW) until: 
  (1) the employer files a complete wage statement required by §120.4 of this title 
(relating to Employer's Wage Statement); or 
  (2) the correct AWW is determined by other evidence (such as that described in 
subsections (b) and (c) of this section), if the employer does not file a complete wage 
statement or if the employee files an Employee's Multiple Employment Wage Statement 
in accordance with §122.5 of this title (relating to Employee's Multiple Employment 
Wage Statement). 
 
(b) In the absence of a properly completed wage statement, the carrier shall calculate 
the correct wage by using available wage information in a manner which is fair, just, and 
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reasonable, and which involves a methodology that allows the closest approximation of 
a calculation based upon a 13 week average as required by this chapter (for example, 
pecuniary wages would be included regardless of whether the employer continues them 
and earnings after the date of injury would not be included). Subsection (c) of this 
section provides examples of how to do this. 
 
(c) This subsection provides a non-inclusive list of methods that carriers can use to 
calculate the correct AWW using evidence other than a complete wage statement. There 
may be other, similar but unlisted methods that are also appropriate in a given situation. 
  (1) For a salaried employee, paid on monthly or semi-monthly basis, whose salary has 
not changed in the 13 weeks prior to the compensable injury, the carrier may presume 
that the AWW is equal to 3 months of wages divided by 13. 
  (2) For an employee on whom the carrier receives 14 weeks of wage information but is 
unable to identify the amount of the wages paid in the 14th week (thus leaving 13 
usable weeks), the carrier may presume that the AWW is equal to the 14 weeks of wages 
divided by 14. 
  (3) For an employee on whom the carrier receives less than 13 weeks of wage 
information because the employee was not employed with the employer for 13 weeks 
prior to the injury, the carrier may presume that the AWW is equal to the amount of 
wages paid divided by the number of weeks for which the wages were earned. 
 
(d) Upon receipt of a properly completed wage statement the carrier shall recalculate 
the AWW in accordance with the applicable rule(s). 
 
(e) If, at the time that income or death benefits first accrue, the carrier has not received a 
complete wage statement as required by §120.4 of this title (relating to Employer's 
Wage Statement), the carrier shall notify the employer that the wage statement is now 
required under the Statute and Rules. 
 
(f) If a carrier receives a wage statement that indicates that the employee was provided 
nonpecuniary wages prior to the date of injury but that does not indicate whether the 
employer is going to continue them or not, the carrier shall assume that the 
nonpecuniary wages are not being continued by the employer until and unless the 
carrier is able to verify that the nonpecuniary wages are being continued by the 
employer. 
 
(g) In the event that the claimant or the carrier believes that the AWW computed by 
following the calculations in this rule does not reflect the true AWW, the claimant and 
carrier may enter into a written agreement on the AWW or request a benefit review 
conference. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §128.2 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 15 
TexReg 118; amended to be effective September 1, 1993, 18 TexReg 5213; amended to 
be effective May 16, 2002, 27 TexReg 4036 
 
RULE §128.3 Average Weekly Wage Calculation for Full-Time Employees, and for 
Temporary Income Benefits for All Employees 
 
(a) All income benefits for full-time employees are based upon an average weekly wage 
calculated according to this rule. A full-time employee is one who regularly works at 
least 30 hours per week and that schedule is comparable to other employees of that 
company and/or other employees in the same business or vicinity who are considered 
full-time. 
 
(b) Temporary income benefits are based on an average weekly wage which is 
calculated according to this rule for all employees. However, the average weekly wage 
for determining temporary income benefits of seasonal employees may be periodically 
adjusted as set out in §128.5(c) of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage 
Calculation for Seasonal Employees). 
 
(c) The average weekly wage for impairment income, supplemental income, lifetime 
income, and death benefits shall be calculated according to this section concerning full-
time employees, §128.4 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculation for 
Part-Time Employees), or §128.5 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage 
Calculation for Seasonal Employees). The average weekly wage for an employee who is 
also a minor, an apprentice, a trainee, or a student shall be adjusted for determining 
these income benefits (but not temporary income benefits), according to the procedure 
described in §128.6 of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Adjustment for 
Certain Employees Who Are Also Minors, Apprentices, Trainees, or Students). 
(d) If an employee has worked for 13 weeks or more prior to the date of injury, or if the 
wage at time of injury has not been fixed or cannot be determined, the wages paid to 
the employee for 13 weeks immediately preceding the injury are added together and 
divided by 13. The quotient is the average weekly wage for that employee. 
 
(e) If an employee has worked for less than 13 weeks prior to the date of injury, the 
wages paid to that employee are not considered. Instead, the wages used for the 
average weekly wage calculation are those paid by the employer to a similar employee 
who performs similar services, but who earned wages for at least 13 weeks. If there is no 
similar employee at the employer's business, the calculation is based on wages paid to a 
similar employee who performed similar services in the same vicinity, for at least 13 
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weeks. When a similar employee is identified, the wages paid to that person for the 13 
weeks immediately preceding the injury are added together, and divided by 13. The 
quotient is the average weekly wage for the injured employee. 

(f) For purposes of computing average weekly wage under subsection (e) of this section,
the following definitions apply:
(1) a similar employee is a person with training, experience, and skills and wages that

are comparable to the injured employee. Age, gender, and race shall not be considered; 
(2) similar services are tasks performed or services rendered that are comparable in

nature to, and in the same class as, those performed by the injured employee, and that 
are comparable in the number of hours normally worked. 

(g) If the methods set forth in this rule cannot be applied reasonably due to the 
irregularity of the employment or, if the employee has lost time from work, without 
remuneration, during the said 13-week period due to illness, weather, or other cause 
beyond the control of the employee, the commission may determine the employee's 
average weekly wage by any method that it considers fair, just, and reasonable to all 
parties and consistent with the methods established under this section.

Source Note: The provisions of this §128.3 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 118

RULE §128.4 Average Weekly Wage Calculation for Part-Time Employees 

(a) The average weekly wage used to determine temporary income benefits for all part-
time employees shall be calculated according to the basic calculation described in
§128.3(d), (e), or (g) of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculation for Full-
Time Employees, and for Temporary Income Benefits for All Employees).
(b) For purposes of calculating average weekly wage for all other income and death
benefits, part-time employees are considered in two different categories: those who
worked part-time as a regular course of conduct, and those who did not. A "regular
course of conduct" for part-time work shall be determined by reviewing the work history
of the employee for the 12-month period preceding the injury. If the employee only
worked part-time during that period, the employee is presumed to have worked part-
time as a regular course of conduct unless such presumption is rebutted by credible
evidence.

(c) For an employee who worked part-time as a regular course of conduct, §128.3(d), (e),
or (g) of this title (relating to Average Weekly Calculation for Full-Time Employees, and
for Temporary Income Benefits for All Employees) shall be used to calculate average
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weekly wage to determine impairment income, supplemental income, lifetime income, 
and death benefits. 

(d) The average weekly wage for a part-time employee who did not work part-time as a
regular course of conduct shall be calculated by using one of the two methods in
subsection (e) or (f) of this section, depending upon the length of time the person was
employed.

(e) For an employee who worked for the employer for 13 or more consecutive weeks
before the date of injury, the person calculating benefits shall derive the average weekly
part-time wage, and then adjust upward to a full-time average weekly wage, by this
method:
(1) add together the wages for the 13 weeks immediately preceding the date of injury 

and divide the total by 13; 
(2) then add together the number of hours worked by the employee during the same 

13 weeks, and divide the total hours by 13 to calculate the average weekly number of 
hours worked. The adjustment factor is the ratio of the number of full-time hours 
generally worked by similar employees in the same employment, over the average 
weekly number of hours worked by the injured employee. (Example: if the usual full-
time hours for the employment is 40, and the average number of hours worked by the 
injured part-time employee is 30, then the adjustment factor derived is 40/30, or 1.334.) 
For purposes of the adjustment factor, it shall be presumed that a full-time work week is 
40 hours, unless and until evidence establishes that use of a different number of hours 
would be more just; 
(3) finally, multiply the result of paragraph (1) of this subsection by the adjustment

factor derived in paragraph (2) of this subsection; the product is the average weekly 
wage for this injured employee. 

(f) For an employee who worked for the employer less than 13 weeks or whose wage at 
the time of injury cannot be fixed or determined, the average weekly wage will be 
calculated by using the method described in §128.3(e) of this title (relating to Average 
Weekly Wage Calculation for Full-Time Employees, and for Temporary Income Benefits 
for All Employees), based upon identification of a similar employee performing similar 
employment full-time.

Source Note: The provisions of this §128.4 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 118

RULE §128.5 Average Weekly Wage Calculation for Seasonal Employees 
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(a) A seasonal employee is an employee who as a regular course of conduct engages in
seasonal or cyclical employment which may or may not be agricultural in nature, that
does not continue throughout the year.

(b) The average weekly wage used to determine temporary income benefits for seasonal
employees shall be determined according to the procedure described in §128.3(d) or (e)
of this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculation for Full-Time Employees, and
for Temporary Income Benefits for All Employees), subject to the periodic adjustment
described in this rule.

(c) The average weekly wage for computing temporary income benefits may be
increased or decreased to more accurately reflect the seasonal nature of the
employment, if such an adjustment would more accurately reflect the wages the
employee could reasonably have expected to earn during the period that temporary
income benefits are paid. Evidence of earnings shall be submitted at the time an
adjustment is requested. The evidence should include proof of the employee's earnings
in corresponding time periods of previous years. In case of a dispute, the commission
shall set a benefit review conference to consider whether an adjustment should be
made.

(d) The average weekly wage used to determine impairment income benefits, lifetime
income benefits, supplemental income benefits, or death benefits for a seasonal
employee shall be calculated by:
(1) adding together the total wages received by the employee in the 12 months 

preceding the date of injury and dividing the result by 50; or 
(2) if it is impractical to compute the average weekly wage as provided by paragraph 

(1) of this subsection, another fair, just, and reasonable method as determined in a 
benefit review conference if requested by the person claiming income benefits or the 
insurance carrier.

Source Note: The provisions of this §128.5 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 118 

RULE §128.6 Average Weekly Wage Adjustment for Certain Employees Who Are 
Also Minors, Apprentices, Trainees, or Students 

(a) In order to adjust average weekly wage under this rule, for purposes of computing 
impairment income, supplemental income, lifetime income, and death benefits, an 
injured employee must come within one of the following definitions, on the date of 
injury:
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  (1) a minor is an employee less than 18 years of age and not emancipated by marriage 
or judicial action, and is also an apprentice, trainee, or student; 
  (2) an apprentice is an employee learning a skilled trade or art by practical experience 
under the direction of a skilled crafts person or artisan; 
  (3) a trainee is an employee undergoing systematic instruction and practice in some 
art, trade, or profession with a view towards proficiency in it; and 
  (4) a student is an employee enrolled in a course of study or instruction in a high 
school, college, university, or other institute of higher education or technical training. 
 
(b) The average weekly wage used to determine temporary income benefits for a minor, 
apprentice, trainee, or student shall be computed according to §128.3 of this title 
(relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculation for Full-Time Employees and for 
Temporary Income Benefits for All Employees), and may not be adjusted. The basic 
average weekly wage for other income and death benefits shall be calculated depending 
upon whether the employee worked full-time, part-time, or as a seasonal employee, and 
may be adjusted as described in this section. 
 
(c) The average weekly wage of an employee who is less than 18 years of a age, but not 
a minor as defined in this section, shall not be adjusted. 
 
(d) The average weekly wage used to determine impairment income benefits, 
supplemental income benefits, lifetime income benefits, or death benefits for an 
employee defined under subsection (a) of this section shall be adjusted on the basis of 
this rule if the employee also proves that: 
  (1) the employee's employment or earnings at the time of the injury were limited 
primarily because of apprenticeship, continuing formal training, or education that can 
be reasonably calculated to enhance the employee's future wages; and 
  (2) the employee's wages would reasonably be expected to change during the period 
for which the impairment income, supplemental income, lifetime income, and death 
benefits are payable not to exceed three years after the date of injury. 
 
(e) An insurance carrier and the person claiming income benefits may agree to adjust 
the average weekly wage used to compute impairment income benefits, lifetime income 
benefits, supplemental income benefits, or death benefits for an employee who meets 
the requirements of subsections (a) and (d) of this section. The adjustment shall not 
reflect the level of the expected wages for a period in excess of three years after the 
date of injury. 
 
(f) If an insurance carrier and the person claiming income benefits dispute the need for, 
or the amount of, an adjustment for expected wage levels, the commission shall 

Updated January 4, 2024 148



schedule a benefit review conference. The commission shall then consider the evidence 
submitted by the insurance carrier and the claimant. Objective, documentary, or expert 
evidence is favored over testimony of interested parties, in determining an expected 
wage level which is fair and just. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §128.6 adopted to be effective January 11, 1991, 16 
TexReg 118 

RULE §128.7 Average Weekly Wage for School District Employees 

(a) This rule applies only to school district employees injured on or after December 1,
2001. The calculations in this rule apply to the portion of the employee's average weekly
wage (AWW) based upon the employee's employment with the school district where the
school district is the "Claim Employer" as that term is used in §122.5 of this title (relating
to Employee's Multiple Employment Wage Statement). The AWW of a school district
employee injured before December 1, 2001, is computed using the law and commission
rules in effect on the date of the injury.

(b) For determining the amount of temporary income benefits of school district
employees under Texas Labor Code Chapter 504, the AWW is computed on the basis of
wages earned in a week. "Wages earned in a week" are equal to the amount that would
be deducted from an employee's salary if the employee were absent from work for one
week and the employee did not have personal leave available to compensate the
employee for lost wages for that week. For this calculation "wages" includes only
pecuniary wages.

(c) For determining the amount of temporary income benefits of a school district
employee, the AWW shall be computed as follows.
(1) For a school district employee working under a written contract with the school

district, the AWW shall be computed by dividing the amount the employee would have 
been paid had the employee fully completed the terms of the contract (including any 
stipend the employee was earning or scheduled to receive under the contract) by: 

(A) the number of days that the employee was required to work under that contract
and multiplied by five (if the contract has specified the number of work days); or 

(B) the number of months that the contract was to cover and then dividing the result
by 4.34821. 
(2) For a school district employee who is employed on a non-written contract basis (i.e.

hourly, daily, salaried, or other basis), the AWW shall be computed by dividing the total 
gross wages earned in the previous 13-week period immediately preceding the date of 
injury by 13. 
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(d) The AWW for computing temporary income benefits may be increased or decreased
to more accurately reflect wages the school district employee reasonably could expect
to earn during the period for which temporary income benefits are paid.
(1) An insurance carrier (carrier) may adjust the AWW based on evidence of earnings.
(2) A school district employee may request adjustments by submitting evidence of

earnings to the carrier. 
(3) For a period a school district employee would not have earned wages, the AWW

may be adjusted to zero and no minimum benefit payment may be required. 

(e) For determining the amount of impairment income benefits, lifetime income
benefits, supplemental income benefits, or death benefits, the AWW shall be computed
in accordance with this subsection using only pecuniary wages.
(1) The carrier shall add together the total wages earned by the school district

employee during the 12 months immediately preceding the injury and dividing the 
result by 50 weeks. 
(2) If the school district employee provides wage information from other employers for

whom the employee worked in the 12 months immediately preceding the injury, these 
wages shall be included in the calculation of the AWW. Note that for injuries on or after 
July 1, 2002, the effect of wages from a Non-Claim Employer (as the term is defined in 
§122.5 of this title (relating to Employee's Multiple Employment Wage Statement)) on
the employee's AWW is governed by §128.1(h)(2) of this title (relating to Average
Weekly Wage: General Provisions).

(f) In the event the school district employee and/or carrier believes that the AWW
computed based on the calculations in this rule does not reflect the true AWW, the
employee and carrier may enter into a written agreement regarding the AWW or
request a benefit review conference.

Source Note: The provisions of this §128.7 adopted to be effective May 16, 2002, 27 
TexReg 4036 

Updated January 4, 2024 150



TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 129 INCOME BENEFITS--TEMPORARY INCOME BENEFITS 

RULE §129.1 Definitions for Temporary Income Benefits 

The following terms shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

(1) Salary Continuation (also Wage Continuation)--Monies paid by the employer to
compensate the injured employee (employee) for wages lost as a result of a 
compensable injury. Salary continuation does not include monies paid to an employee 
as compensation for work such as wages paid while an employee is on modified duty. 
(2) Salary Supplementation (also Wage Supplementation)--Monies paid by the

employer to supplement the amount of income benefits an insurance carrier pays to an 
employee with a compensable injury. This includes monies paid to the employee based 
on the employee's voluntary use of sick leave or annual leave in a supplementary 
manner. 
(3) Weekly Earnings After the Injury--Post-Injury Earnings (PIE), further described in

§129.2 of this title (relating to Entitlement to Temporary Income Benefits).

Source Note: The provisions of this §129.1 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11420 

RULE §129.2 Entitlement to Temporary Income Benefits 

(a) Once temporary income benefits (TIBs) accrue, an injured employee (employee) is
entitled to TIBs to compensate the employee for lost wages due to the compensable
injury during a period in which the employee has disability and has not reached
maximum medical improvement.

(b) Lost wages are the difference between the employee's gross average weekly wage
(AWW) and the employee's gross Post-Injury Earnings (PIE). If the employee's PIE equals
or exceeds the employee's AWW, the employee has no lost wages.

(c) PIE shall include, but not be limited to, the documented weekly amount of:
(1) all pecuniary wages paid to the employee after the date of injury including wages

based on work performed while on modified duty and pecuniary fringe benefits which 
are paid to the employee whether the employee has returned to work or not; 
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  (2) any employee contribution to benefits such as health insurance that the employee 
normally pays but that the employer agrees to pay for the employee in order to 
continue the benefits (which does not include the portion of the benefits that the 
employer normally pays for); 
  (3) the weekly amount of any wages offered as part of a bona fide job offer which is 
not accepted by the employee which the insurance carrier (carrier) is permitted to deem 
to be PIE under §129.6 of this title (relating to Bona Fide Offers of Employment); 
  (4) the value of any full days of accrued sick leave or accrued annual leave that the 
employee has voluntarily elected to use after the date of injury; 
  (5) the value of any partial days of accrued sick leave or accrued annual leave that the 
employee has voluntarily elected to use after the date of injury that, when combined 
with the employee's TIBs, exceeds the AWW; and 
  (6) any monies paid to the employee by the employer as salary continuation based on : 
    (A) a contractual obligation between the employer and the employee including 
through a collective bargaining agreement; 
    (B) an employer policy; or 
    (C) a written agreement with the employee. 
 
(d) PIE shall not include: 
  (1) any non-pecuniary wages paid to the employee by the employer after the injury; 
  (2) any accrued sick leave or accrued annual leave that the employee did not 
voluntarily elect to use; 
  (3) any wages paid by the employer as salary supplementation as provided by Texas 
Labor Code, §408.003(a)(2); 
  (4) any moneys paid by the employer which would otherwise be considered PIE under 
subsection (c) of this section but which the employer attempts or intends to seek 
reimbursement from the employee or carrier; or 
  (5) any money paid to an employee under an indemnity disability program paid for by 
the employee separate from workers' compensation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §129.2 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11420 
 
RULE §129.3 Amount of Temporary Income Benefits  
 
(a) The insurance carrier (carrier) shall pay an injured employee (employee) the 
temporary income benefits (TIBs) the employee is entitled to in accordance with this 
chapter. 
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(b) The carrier shall determine whether the employee earns less than $8.50 per hour for 
a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury before September 1, 2015, or less 
than $10 per hour for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury on or after 
September 1, 2015, as follows: 
  (1) Once the carrier has received the Wage Statement required by this title, the carrier 
shall divide the average weekly wage (AWW) calculated from the Wage Statement by 
the average number of hours worked. The average hours worked is the total gross hours 
reported worked on the Wage Statement divided by the period in which the hours were 
worked; 
  (2) If the carrier has not received the Wage Statement, but has received the Employer's 
First Report of Injury, the carrier shall use the wage information provided by the 
employer through the first report; or 
  (3) If the carrier has not received the information necessary to perform the calculations 
required by subsection (b)(1) or (2) of this section, the carrier shall use wage information 
provided by the employee until the necessary information is obtained from the 
employer. 
 
(c) The carrier shall calculate the AWW in accordance with Chapter 128 of this title 
(relating to Calculation of Average Weekly Wage) and shall calculate the Post-Injury 
Earnings (PIE) in accordance with §129.2 of this title (relating to Entitlement to 
Temporary Income Benefits). In determining the PIE, the carrier shall base its calculations 
on specific wage information reported by the employer and/or the employee. A generic 
statement by the employer indicating the employer is "continuing full salary" or "the 
employee is earning full salary" is not adequate documentation to be considered PIE. 
(d) The carrier shall calculate the employee's lost wages by subtracting the PIE from the 
AWW (or AWW - PIE). 
 
(e) The amount of TIBs an employee is entitled to is based on the lost wages. If the 
employee's PIE equals or exceeds the employee's AWW, the employee has no lost 
wages and the carrier shall not pay TIBs. 
 
(f) Subject to the minimum and maximum TIBs rates as provided in subsection (g) of this 
section, an employee is entitled to TIBs as follows: 
  (1) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury before September 1, 2015, 
    (A) an employee who earns $8.50 or more per hour is entitled to TIBs in the amount 
of 70% of the lost wages; or 
    (B) an employee who earns less than $8.50 per hour is entitled to TIBs as follows: 
      (i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and 
      (ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter; and 
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  (2) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury on or after September 1, 
2015, 
    (A) an employee who earns $10 or more per hour is entitled to TIBs in the amount of 
70% of the lost wages; or 
    (B) an employee who earns less than $10 per hour is entitled to TIBs as follows: 
      (i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and 
      (ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter. 
 
(g) The carrier shall pay the TIBs in the amount calculated in subsection (f) of this 
section, unless: 
  (1) this amount is greater than the maximum weekly TIBs rate computed in accordance 
with Texas Labor Code, §408.061, in which case the carrier shall pay the maximum 
weekly TIBs rate; or 
  (2) this amount, when added to the employee's PIE, is less than the minimum weekly 
TIBs rate computed in accordance with Texas Labor Code, §408.062, in which case the 
carrier shall pay the minimum weekly TIBs rate. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §129.3 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11420; amended to be effective February 28, 2016, 41 TexReg 1249 
 
RULE §129.4 Adjustment of Temporary Income Benefit Amount 
 
(a) The insurance carrier shall adjust the weekly amount of temporary income benefits 
paid to the injured employee as necessary to match the fluctuations in the employee's 
weekly earnings after the injury. 
 
(b) If a seasonal employee's average weekly wage is adjusted, as described in §128.5 of 
this title (relating to Average Weekly Wage Calculations for Seasonal Employees), the 
carrier shall adjust the temporary income benefits paid to the seasonal employee. 
 
(c) If the injured employee is still employed by the employer at the time of injury, the 
employer is responsible for informing the carrier of changes in the employee's weekly 
earnings after an injury, on Form TWCC 6, Supplemental Report of Injury, within 10 days 
after the end of each pay period, as provided by §120.3 of this title (relating to 
Employer's Supplemental Report of Injury). 
 
(d) If the employee is no longer employed by the employer, the employee is responsible 
to provide information to the insurance carrier about the existence or amount of any 
earnings, or any offers of employment. The employee may use Form TWCC 6, 
Supplemental Report of Injury, for this purpose. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §129.4 adopted to be effective January 24, 1991, 16 
TexReg 175; amended to be effective April 3, 1992, 17 TexReg 2129 

RULE §129.5 Work Status Reports 

(a) As used in this section:
(1) the term "doctor" means either the treating doctor or a referral doctor, as defined

by §180.22(c) and (e) of this title (relating to Health Care Provider Roles and 
Responsibilities); 
(2) "substantial change in activity restrictions" means a change in activity restrictions

caused by a change in the injured employee's medical condition which either prevents 
the injured employee from working under the previous restrictions or which allows the 
injured employee to work in an expanded and more strenuous capacity than the prior 
restrictions permitted (approaching the injured employee's normal job); 
(3) "change in work status" means a change in the injured employee's work status from

one of the three choices listed in subsection (a)(4) of this section to another of the 
choices in that subsection; and 
(4) the term "work status" refers to whether the injured employee's medical condition:

(A) allows the injured employee to return to work without restrictions (which is not
equivalent to maximum medical improvement); 

(B) allows the injured employee to return to work with restrictions; or
(C) prevents the injured employee from returning to work.

(b) If authorized under their licensing act, a treating doctor may delegate authority to
complete, sign, and file a work status report to a licensed physician assistant or a
licensed advanced practice registered nurse as authorized under Texas Labor Code
§408.025(a-1). The delegating treating doctor is responsible for the acts of the physician
assistant and the advanced practice registered nurse under this subsection.

(c) The doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered
nurse shall file a Work Status Report in the form and manner prescribed by the division.

(d) The doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered
nurse shall be considered to have filed a complete Work Status Report if the report is
filed in the form and manner prescribed by the division, signed, and contains at
minimum:
(1) identification of the injured employee's work status;
(2) effective dates and estimated expiration dates of current work status and

restrictions (an expected expiration date is not binding and may be adjusted in future 
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Work Status Reports, as appropriate, based on the condition and progress of the injured 
employee); 
  (3) identification of any applicable activity restrictions; 
  (4) an explanation of how the injured employee's workers' compensation injury 
prevents the injured employee from returning to work (if the doctor believes that the 
injured employee is prevented from returning to work); and 
  (5) general information that identifies key information about the claim (as prescribed 
on the report). 
 
(e) The doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered 
nurse shall file the Work Status Report: 
  (1) after the initial examination of the injured employee, regardless of the injured 
employee's work status; 
  (2) when the injured employee experiences a change in work status or a substantial 
change in activity restrictions; and 
  (3) on the schedule requested by the insurance carrier, its agent, or the employer 
requesting the report through its insurance carrier, which shall not exceed one report 
every two weeks and which shall be based upon the doctor's, delegated physician 
assistant's, or delegated advanced practice registered nurse's scheduled appointments 
with the injured employee. 
 
(f) The Work Status Report filed as required by subsection (e) of this section shall be 
provided to the injured employee at the time of the examination by hand delivery or 
electronic transmission if the injured employee agrees to receive the report by electronic 
transmission, and shall be sent, not later than the end of the second working day after 
the date of examination, to the insurance carrier and the employer. 
 
(g) In addition to the requirements under subsection (e) of this section, the treating 
doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered nurse 
shall file the Work Status Report with the insurance carrier, employer, and injured 
employee within seven days of the day of receipt of: 
  (1) functional job descriptions from the employer listing available modified duty 
positions that the employer is able to offer the injured employee as provided by 
§129.6(a) of this title (relating to Bona Fide Offers of Employment); or 
  (2) a required medical examination doctor's Work Status Report that indicates that the 
injured employee can return to work with or without restrictions. 
 
(h) Filing the Work Status Report as required by subsection (g) of this section does not 
require a new examination of the injured employee. 
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(i) The doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered 
nurse shall file the Work Status Report as follows: 
  (1) A report filed with the insurance carrier or its agent shall be filed by electronic 
transmission; 
  (2) A report filed with the employer shall be filed by electronic transmission if the 
doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered nurse 
has been provided the employer's facsimile number or email address; otherwise, the 
report shall be filed by personal delivery or mail; and 
  (3) A report filed with the injured employee shall be hand delivered to the injured 
employee or delivered by electronic transmission if the injured employee agrees to 
receive the report by electronic transmission, unless the report is being filed pursuant to 
subsection (g) of this section and the doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated 
advanced practice registered nurse is not scheduled to see the injured employee by the 
due date to send the report. In this case, the doctor, delegated physician assistant, or 
delegated advanced practice registered nurse shall file the report with the injured 
employee by electronic transmission if the doctor, delegated physician assistant, or 
delegated advanced practice registered nurse has been provided the injured employee's 
facsimile number or email address; otherwise, the report shall be filed by mail. 
 
(j) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, a doctor, delegated physician 
assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered nurse may bill for, and an insurance 
carrier shall reimburse, filing a complete Work Status Report required under this section 
or for providing a subsequent copy of a Work Status Report which was previously filed 
because the insurance carrier, its agent, or the employer through its insurance carrier 
asks for an extra copy. The amount of reimbursement shall be $15. A doctor, delegated 
physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered nurse shall not bill in 
excess of $15 and shall not bill or be entitled to reimbursement for a Work Status 
Report which is not reimbursable under this section. Doctors, delegated physician 
assistants, or delegated advanced practice registered nurses are not required to submit 
a copy of the report being billed for with the bill if the report was previously provided. 
Doctors, delegated physician assistants, or delegated advanced practice registered 
nurses billing for Work Status Reports as permitted by this section shall do so as follows: 
  (1) CPT code "99080" with modifier "73" shall be used when the doctor, delegated 
physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice registered nurse is billing for a 
report required under subsections (e)(1), (e)(2), and (g) of this section; 
  (2) CPT code "99080" with modifiers "73" and "RR" (for "requested report") shall be 
used when the doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice 
registered nurse is billing for an additional report requested by or through the insurance 
carrier under subsection (e)(3) of this section; and 
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  (3) CPT code "99080" with modifiers "73" and "EC" (for "extra copy") shall be used 
when the doctor, delegated physician assistant, or delegated advanced practice 
registered nurse is billing for an extra copy of a previously filed report requested by or 
through the insurance carrier. 
 
(k) As provided in §126.6(g) of this title (relating to Order for Required Medical 
Examinations), a doctor who conducts a required medical examination in which the 
doctor determines that the injured employee can return to work immediately with or 
without restrictions shall file the Work Status Report required by this section, but shall 
do so in accordance with the requirements of §126.6(g). 
 
RULE §129.6 Bona Fide Offers of Employment 
 
(a) An employer or insurance carrier (carrier) may request the treating doctor provide a 
Work Status Report by providing the treating doctor a set of functional job descriptions 
which list modified duty positions which the employer has available for the injured 
employee (employee) to work. The functional job descriptions must include descriptions 
of the physical and time requirements of the positions. 
 
(b) An employer may offer an employee a modified duty position which has restricted 
duties which are within the employee's work abilities as determined by the employee's 
treating doctor. In the absence of a Work Status Report by the treating doctor an offer 
of employment may be made based on another doctor's assessment of the employee's 
work status provided that the doctor made the assessment based on an actual physical 
examination of the employee performed by that doctor and provided that the treating 
doctor has not indicated disagreement with the restrictions identified by the other 
doctor. 
 
(c) An employer's offer of modified duty shall be made to the employee in writing and in 
the form and manner prescribed by the Commission. A copy of the Work Status Report 
on which the offer is being based shall be included with the offer as well as the 
following information: 
  (1) the location at which the employee will be working; 
  (2) the schedule the employee will be working; 
  (3) the wages that the employee will be paid; 
  (4) a description of the physical and time requirements that the position will entail; and 
  (5) a statement that the employer will only assign tasks consistent with the employee's 
physical abilities, knowledge, and skills and will provide training if necessary. 
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(d) A carrier may deem an offer of modified duty to be a bona fide offer of employment 
if: 
  (1) it has written copies of the Work Status Report and the offer; and 
  (2) the offer: 
    (A) is for a job at a location which is geographically accessible as provided in 
subsection (e) of this section; 
    (B) is consistent with the doctor's certification of the employee's work abilities, as 
provided in subsection (f) of this section; and 
    (C) was communicated to the employee in writing, in the form and manner prescribed 
by the Commission and included all the information required by subsection (c) of this 
section. 
 
(e) In evaluating whether a work location is geographically accessible the carrier shall at 
minimum consider: 
  (1) the affect that the employee's physical limitations have on the employee's ability to 
travel; 
  (2) the distance that the employee will have to travel; 
  (3) the availability of transportation; and 
  (4) whether the offered work schedule is similar to the employee's work schedule prior 
to the injury. 
 
(f) The following is the order of preference that shall be used by carriers evaluating an 
offer of employment: 
  (1) the opinion of a doctor selected by the Commission to evaluate the employee's 
work status; 
  (2) the opinion of the treating doctor; 
  (3) opinion of a doctor who is providing regular treatment as a referral doctor based 
on the treating doctor's referral; 
  (4) opinion of a doctor who evaluated the employee as a consulting doctor based on 
the treating doctor's request; and 
  (5) the opinion of any other doctor based on an actual physical examination of the 
employee performed by that doctor. 
 
(g) A carrier may deem the wages offered by an employer through a bona fide offer of 
employment to be Post-Injury Earnings (PIE), as outlined in §129.2 of this title (relating 
to Entitlement to Temporary Income Benefits), on the earlier of the date the employee 
rejects the offer or the seventh day after the employee receives the offer of modified 
duty unless the employee's treating doctor notifies the carrier that the offer made by 
the employer is not consistent with the employee's work restrictions. For the purposes 
of this section, if the offer of modified duty was made by mail, an employee is deemed 
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to have received the offer from the employer five days after it was mailed. The wages 
the carrier may deem to be PIE are those that would have been paid on or after the date 
the carrier is permitted to deem the offered wages as PIE. 
 
(h) Nothing in this section should be interpreted as limiting the right of an employee or 
a carrier to request a benefit review conference relating to an offer of employment. The 
Commission will find an offer to be bona fide if it is reasonable, geographically 
accessible, and meets the requirements of subsections (b) and (c) of this section. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §129.6 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11420 
 
RULE §129.7 Non-Reimbursable Employer Payments 
 
(a) An employer who pays an injured employee (employee) salary continuation is not 
entitled to and shall not seek reimbursement from the employee or the insurance carrier 
(carrier). 
 
(b) An employer who pays an employee salary supplementation to supplement income 
benefits paid by the carrier is not entitled to and shall not seek reimbursement from the 
employee or the carrier. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §129.7 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11420 
 
RULE §129.11 Agreement for Monthly Payment of Temporary Income Benefits 
 
(a) Upon the request of an injured employee, the insurance carrier and an injured 
employee entitled to temporary income benefits (TIBs) may agree to change the 
frequency of TIBs payments from the standard weekly period to a monthly period. The 
agreement to change the payment frequency must be in writing and is only required to 
be filed with the division if the division requests a copy. To relieve the insurance carrier 
of the responsibility to pay TIBs weekly, a valid written agreement must include the 
following terms and conditions: 
  (1) the agreement for the monthly payment of TIBs shall be effective the first calendar 
day of the month following the month in which the written agreement was entered into 
by the insurance carrier and the injured employee; 
  (2) monthly TIBs payment shall be issued on or before the seventh day of the month 
following the month for which benefits are due; 
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  (3) weekly TIBs payments shall continue through the end of the month in which the 
agreement was signed; 
  (4) payment of the last week of TIBs to transition from weekly payment of TIBs to 
monthly payments shall be prorated to the end of the month to ensure the injured 
employee receives TIBs through the last day of the month; and 
  (5) if less than the maximum weekly compensation rate in effect on the date of the 
compensable injury is being paid, a completed Employer's Wage Statement must be 
included with the injured employee's copy of the written agreement. 
 
(b) To calculate the amount of monthly TIBs to pay, the carrier shall determine the 
average monthly wage by multiplying the average weekly wage by 4.34821 and 
subtracting any Post-Injury Earnings the employee earned during the month for which 
the employee was entitled to TIBs to determine the lost wages. The carrier shall then pay 
the employee in monthly TIBs as follows: 
  (1) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury before September 1, 2015, 
    (A) if the employee earns $8.50 per hour or more, the carrier shall pay 70% of the lost 
wages; or 
    (B) if the employee earns less than $8.50 per hour, the carrier shall pay: 
      (i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and 
      (ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter; and 
  (2) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury on or after September 1, 
2015, 
    (A) if the employee earns $10 per hour or more, the carrier shall pay 70% of the lost 
wages; or 
    (B) if the employee earns less than $10 per hour, the carrier shall pay: 
      (i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and 
      (ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter. 
 
(c) Entering into an agreement under this section does not prohibit any party to the 
claim from raising disputes over periods, amounts of, or entitlement to TIBs. Disputes 
must be raised as and when they arise. 
 
(d) The agreement for the monthly payment of TIBs shall expire upon the suspension or 
termination of TIBs in accordance with the Act and division rules. The last monthly 
payment shall be prorated to ensure the insurance carrier pays the appropriate amount 
of TIBs. 
 
(e) At any time after signing the agreement for the monthly payment of TIBs, the injured 
employee or the insurance carrier may notify the other party in writing that it no longer 
agrees to the monthly payment of TIBs. In this case, the insurance carrier shall pay all 
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accrued but unpaid TIBs at the end of the current monthly cycle and shall continue to 
pay TIBs weekly as and when they accrue and are due. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §129.11 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11439; amended to be effective February 28, 2016, 41 TexReg 1249 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 130  IMPAIRMENT AND SUPPLEMENTAL INCOME BENEFITS 
SUBCHAPTER A  IMPAIRMENT INCOME BENEFITS 
 
RULE §130.1 Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment 
 
(a) Authorized Doctor. 
  (1) Only an authorized doctor may certify maximum medical improvement (MMI), 
determine whether there is permanent impairment, and assign an impairment rating if 
there is permanent impairment. 
    (A) Doctors serving in the following roles may be authorized as provided in 
subsection (a)(1)(B) of this section. 
      (i) the treating doctor (or a doctor to whom the treating doctor has referred the 
injured employee for evaluation of MMI and/or permanent whole body impairment in 
the place of the treating doctor, in which case the treating doctor is not authorized); 
      (ii) a designated doctor; or 
      (iii) a required medical examination (RME) doctor selected by the insurance carrier 
and approved by the division to evaluate MMI and/or permanent whole body 
impairment after a designated doctor has performed such an evaluation. 
    (B) Prior to September 1, 2003 a doctor serving in one of the roles described in 
subsection (a)(1)(A) of this subsection is authorized to determine whether an injured 
employee has permanent impairment, assign an impairment rating, and certify MMI. On 
or after September 1, 2003, a doctor serving in one of the roles described in subsection 
(a)(1)(A) of this section is authorized as follows: 
      (i) a doctor whom the division has certified to assign impairment ratings or 
otherwise given specific permission by exception to, is authorized to determine whether 
an injured employee has permanent impairment, assign an impairment rating, and 
certify MMI; and 
      (ii) a doctor whom the division has not certified to assign impairment ratings or 
otherwise given specific permission by exception to is only authorized to determine 
whether an injured employee has permanent impairment and, in the event that the 
injured employee has no impairment, certify MMI. 
  (2) Doctors who are not authorized shall not make findings of permanent impairment, 
certify MMI, or assign impairment ratings and shall not be reimbursed for the 
examination, certification, or report if one does so. A certification of MMI, finding of 
permanent impairment, and/or impairment rating assigned by an unauthorized doctor 
are invalid. If a treating doctor finds that the injured employee has permanent 
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impairment but is not authorized to assign an impairment rating, the doctor is also not 
authorized to certify MMI and shall refer the injured employee to a doctor who is so 
authorized. 
  (3) A doctor who is authorized under this subsection to certify MMI, determine whether 
permanent impairment exists, and assign an impairment rating and who does, shall be 
referred to as the "certifying doctor." 
 
(b) Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement. 
  (1) Maximum medical improvement (MMI) is: 
    (A) the earliest date after which, based on reasonable medical probability, further 
material recovery from or lasting improvement to an injury can no longer reasonably be 
anticipated; 
    (B) the expiration of 104 weeks from the date on which income benefits begin to 
accrue; or 
    (C) the date determined as provided by Texas Labor Code §408.104. 
  (2) MMI must be certified before an impairment rating is assigned and the impairment 
rating must be assigned for the injured employee's condition on the date of MMI. An 
impairment rating is invalid if it is based on the injured employee's condition on a date 
that is not the MMI date. An impairment rating and the corresponding MMI date must 
be included in the Report of Medical Evaluation to be valid. 
  (3) Certification of MMI is a finding made by an authorized doctor that an injured 
employee has reached MMI as defined in subsection (b)(1) of this section. 
  (4) To certify MMI the certifying doctor shall: 
    (A) review medical records; 
    (B) perform a complete medical examination of the injured employee for the explicit 
purpose of determining MMI (certifying examination); 
    (C) assign a specific date at which MMI was reached. 
      (i) The date of MMI may not be prospective or conditional. 
      (ii) The date of MMI may be retrospective to the date of the certifying exam. 
    (D) Complete and submit required reports and documentation. 
 
(c) Assignment of Impairment Rating. 
  (1) An impairment rating is the percentage of permanent impairment of the whole 
body resulting from the current compensable injury. A zero percent impairment may be 
a valid rating. 
  (2) A doctor who certifies that an injured employee has reached MMI shall assign an 
impairment rating for the current compensable injury using the rating criteria contained 
in the appropriate edition of the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent 
Impairment, published by the American Medical Association (AMA Guides). 
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    (A) The appropriate edition of the AMA Guides to use for all certifying examinations 
conducted before October 15, 2001 is the third edition, second printing, dated February, 
1989. 
    (B) The appropriate edition of the AMA Guides to use for certifying examinations 
conducted on or after October 15, 2001 is: 
      (i) the fourth edition of the AMA Guides (1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th printing, including 
corrections and changes as issued by the AMA prior to May 16, 2000). If a subsequent 
printing(s) of the fourth edition of the AMA Guides occurs, and it contains no 
substantive changes from the previous printing, the division by vote at a public meeting 
may authorize the use of the subsequent printing(s); or 
      (ii) the third edition, second printing, dated February, 1989 if, at the time of the 
certifying examination, there is a certification of MMI by a doctor pursuant to subsection  
 
(b) of this section made prior to October 15, 2001 which has not been previously 
withdrawn through agreement of the parties or previously overturned by a final 
decision. 
    (C) This subsection shall be implemented to ensure that in the event of an impairment 
rating dispute, only ratings using the appropriate edition of the AMA Guides shall be 
considered. Impairment ratings assigned using the wrong edition of the AMA Guides 
shall not be considered valid. 
  (3) Assignment of an impairment rating for the current compensable injury shall be 
based on the injured employee's condition on the MMI date considering the medical 
record and the certifying examination. An impairment rating is invalid if it is based on 
the injured employee's condition on a date that is not the MMI date. An impairment 
rating and the corresponding MMI date must be included in the Report of Medical 
Evaluation to be valid. The doctor assigning the impairment rating shall: 
    (A) identify objective clinical or laboratory findings of permanent impairment for the 
current compensable injury; 
    (B) document specific laboratory or clinical findings of an impairment; 
    (C) analyze specific clinical and laboratory findings of an impairment; 
    (D) compare the results of the analysis with the impairment criteria and provide the 
following: 
      (i) A description and explanation of specific clinical findings related to each 
impairment, including zero percent (0%) impairment ratings; and 
      (ii) A description of how the findings relate to and compare with the criteria 
described in the applicable chapter of the AMA Guides. The doctor's inability to obtain 
required measurements must be explained. 
    (E) assign one whole body impairment rating for the current compensable injury; 
    (F) be responsible for referring the injured employee to another doctor or health care 
provider for testing, or evaluation, if additional medical information is required. The 
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certifying doctor is responsible for incorporating all additional information obtained into 
the report required by this rule: 
      (i) Additional information must be documented and incorporated into the 
impairment rating and acknowledged in the required report. 
      (ii) If the additional information is not consistent with the clinical findings of the 
certifying doctor, then the documentation must clearly explain why the information is 
not being used as part of the impairment rating. 
  (4) After September 1, 2003, if range of motion, sensory, and strength testing required 
by the AMA Guides is not performed by the certifying doctor, the testing shall be 
performed by a health care practitioner, who within the two years prior to the date the 
injured employee is evaluated, has had the impairment rating training module required 
by §180.23 (relating to Division Required Training for Doctors) for a doctor to be 
certified to assign impairment ratings. It is the responsibility of the certifying doctor to 
ensure the requirements of this subsection are complied with. 
  (5) If an impairment rating is assigned in violation of subsection (c)(4), the rating is 
invalid and the evaluation and report are not reimbursable. A provider that is paid for an 
evaluation and/or report that is invalid under this subsection shall refund the payment 
to the insurance carrier. 
 
(d) Reporting. 
  (1) Certification of MMI, determination of permanent impairment, and assignment of 
an impairment rating (if permanent impairment exists) for the current compensable 
injury requires completion, signing, and submission of the Report of Medical Evaluation 
and a narrative report. 
    (A) The Report of Medical Evaluation must be signed by the certifying doctor. The 
certifying doctor may use a rubber stamp signature or an electronic facsimile signature 
of the certifying doctor's personal signature. 
    (B) The Report of Medical Evaluation includes an attached narrative report. The 
narrative report must include the following: 
      (i) date of the certifying examination; 
      (ii) date of MMI; 
      (iii) findings of the certifying examination, including both normal and abnormal 
findings related to the compensable injury and an explanation of the analysis performed 
to find whether MMI was reached; 
      (iv) narrative history of the medical condition that outlines the course of the injury 
and correlates the injury to the medical treatment; 
      (v) current clinical status; 
      (vi) diagnosis and clinical findings of permanent impairment as stated in subsection 
(c)(3); 
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      (vii) the edition of the AMA Guides that was used in assigning the impairment rating 
(if the injured employee has permanent impairment); and 
      (viii) a copy of the authorization if, after September 1, 2003, the doctor received 
authorization to assign an impairment rating and certify MMI by exception granted from 
the division. 
  (2) A Report of Medical Evaluation under this rule shall be filed with the division, 
injured employee, injured employee's representative, and the insurance carrier no later 
than the seventh working day after the later of: 
    (A) date of the certifying examination; or 
    (B) the receipt of all of the medical information required by this section. 
  (3) The report required to be filed under this section shall be filed as follows: 
    (A) The Report of Medical Evaluation shall be filed with the insurance carrier by 
facsimile or electronic transmission; and 
    (B) The Report of Medical Evaluation shall be filed with the division, the injured 
employee and the injured employee's representative by facsimile or electronic 
transmission if the doctor has been provided the recipient's facsimile number or email 
address; otherwise, the report shall be filed by other verifiable means. 
 
(e) Documentation. The certifying doctor shall maintain the original copy of the Report 
of Medical Evaluation and narrative as well as documentation of: 
  (1) the date of the examination; 
  (2) the date any medical records necessary to make the certification of MMI were 
received, and from whom the medical records were received; and 
  (3) the date, addressees, and means of delivery that reports required under this section 
were transmitted or mailed by the certifying doctor. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §130.1 adopted to be effective June 7, 2000, 25 
TexReg 5352; amended to be effective January 2, 2002, 26 TexReg 10910; amended to 
be effective March 14, 2004, 29 TexReg 2328; amended to be effective August 25, 2013, 
38 TexReg 5263 
 
RULE §130.2 Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment by the Treating Doctor 
 
(a) A treating doctor shall either examine the injured employee (employee) and 
determine if the employee has any permanent impairment as a result of the 
compensable injury as soon as the doctor anticipates that the employee will have no 
further material recovery from or lasting improvement to the work-related injury or 
illness, based on reasonable medical probability, or have another authorized doctor do 
so. 
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  (1) A treating doctor who finds that the employee has permanent impairment but who 
is not authorized to assign impairment ratings as provided in §130.1 of this title (relating 
to Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of Permanent 
Impairment), shall make a referral to a doctor who is authorized to do so on behalf of 
the treating doctor. Even if the treating doctor is so authorized, the doctor may choose 
to have another authorized doctor evaluate the employee for maximum medical 
improvement (MMI) and impairment in the place of the treating doctor. However, this 
evaluation shall be considered to be the report of the treating doctor. 
  (2) Other than subsections (c) and (d) of this section, nothing in this section requires a 
treating doctor to schedule an examination if the employee has been released from 
treatment and is not receiving temporary income benefits (TIBs). For example, when the 
patient is treated and released without further treatment for a minor injury, the treating 
doctor is not required to schedule and conduct an examination for MMI and permanent 
impairment. 
  (3) At the conclusion of an examination in which the treating doctor, or the certifying 
doctor in the event that the treating doctor is not authorized to certify MMI and assign 
an impairment rating, determines that the employee has reached maximum medical 
improvement and assigns an impairment rating, the doctor shall provide the employee 
with a written notice that the certification may be disputed. The notice shall be provided 
as a separate document included with the Report of Medical Evaluation provided in 
accordance with §130.1 of this title. The notice must be provided in English, Spanish, or 
other language common to the employee, and shall include the following information: 
    (A) the date of maximum medical improvement; 
    (B) the assigned impairment rating; 
    (C) a statement that the impairment rating may become final if not disputed within 90 
days, and if the employee, or the employee's representative, disagrees with the 
certification, they may dispute the certification by contacting the Division of Workers' 
Compensation and requesting a benefit review conference; 
    (D) the address and phone number of the local field office of the Division of Workers' 
Compensation (Division); and 
    (E) a statement that the employee may contact the Division for more information at 
1-800-252-7031. 
 
(b) A certification of MMI and assignment of an impairment rating shall be performed 
and reported in accordance with the requirements of §130.1 of this title. 
 
(c) The Division shall mail a notice to a treating doctor, the employee, the employee's 
representative, if any, and the insurance carrier on the expiration of 98 weeks from the 
date the employee's TIBs began to accrue if the employee is still receiving TIBSs. The 
Division's notice shall advise the treating doctor of the requirements under Chapter 408, 
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Subchapter G of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, and this section, and require 
that an impairment rating report be mailed to the Division no later than 104 weeks from 
the date TIBs began to accrue. 
 
(d) Upon receipt of the Division's notice required in subsection (c) of this section, the 
treating doctor shall schedule and conduct an examination of the employee in 
accordance with §130.1 of this title to certify a MMI date (if earlier than the statutory 
MMI date as defined in §130.4 of this title (relating to Presumption that Maximum 
Medical Improvement (MMI) has been Reached and Resolution when MMI has not been 
Certified) and to assign an impairment rating. A treating doctor who is not authorized to 
certify MMI and assign impairment ratings, shall make a referral to a doctor who is 
authorized to do so on behalf of the treating doctor. 
 
(e) If the carrier has not received a report of medical evaluation by the date of statutory 
MMI: 
  (1) the carrier may suspend TIBs and is not required to initiate impairment income 
benefits (IIBs) until such time as it receives a report of an impairment rating assigned in 
accordance with §130.1 of this title; 
  (2) the carrier or the employee may request the appointment of a designated doctor 
under §126.7 of this title (relating to Designated Doctor Examinations: Requests and 
General Procedures); and/or 
  (3) a carrier may make a reasonable assessment of what it believes the true impairment 
rating should be and, if it does so, shall initiate IIBs within five days of making the 
assessment. The carrier shall continue to pay IIBs until the assessment is paid in full or is 
superceded by an impairment rating assigned in accordance with §130.1 of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §130.2 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1194; amended to be effective January 2, 2002, 26 TexReg 10910; amended to 
be effective January 1, 2007, 31 TexReg 6366 
 
RULE §130.3 Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment by a Doctor other than the Treating Doctor 
 
(a) A doctor, other than a treating doctor, who is authorized to certify that an employee 
has reached maximum medical improvement (MMI), must do so in accordance with 
§130.1 of this title (relating to Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and 
Evaluation of Permanent Impairment). In addition to complying with the filing 
requirements of §130.1, the certifying doctor shall file a copy of the Report of Medical 
Evaluation and the narrative with the treating doctor within the same timeframes for 
filing with the other persons that §130.1 requires. 
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(b) Upon receipt of the report identified in subsection (a) of this section, the treating 
doctor shall: 
  (1) indicate on the report either agreement or disagreement with the certification of 
maximum medical improvement and with the impairment rating assigned by the 
certifying doctor, and, in the case of a disagreement, explain the reasons for this 
disagreement; and 
  (2) within seven days of receipt, send a signed copy of the report indicating agreement 
or disagreement and including any required explanation to the commission, the 
employee and the employee's representative (if any), and the carrier. 
 
(c) A treating doctor's agreement or disagreement under subsection (b) of this section 
does not require a separate examination of the employee prior to the issuance of the 
opinion and shall not be considered a certification as that term is used in §130.1 of this 
title. 
 
(d) The reports required under this section to be filed with a doctor and carrier shall be 
filed by facsimile or electronic transmission. In addition, the doctor shall file the report 
with the employee and the employee's representative by facsimile or electronic 
transmission if the doctor has been provided the employer's facsimile number or email 
address; otherwise, the report shall be sent by other verifiable means. 
 
(e) A doctor required to file a report under this section shall maintain the original copy 
of the Report of Medical Evaluation and narrative and documentation of the date, 
addressees, facsimile numbers/email addresses and means of delivery that the reports 
required under this section were transmitted or mailed including proof of successful 
transmission. In addition: 
  (1) a certifying doctor shall maintain documentation of: 
    (A) The date of the examination of the employee; and 
    (B) The date any medical records necessary to make the certification of MMI were 
received, and from whom the medical records were received; and 
  (2) a treating doctor who receives the certifying doctor's report shall maintain 
documentation of the date the report was received and the means by which the report 
was delivered to the treating doctor. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §130.3 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1194; amended to be effective December 26, 1999, 24 TexReg 11442; amended 
to be effective January 2, 2002, 26 TexReg 10910 
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RULE §130.4 Presumption that Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) has been 
Reached and Resolution when MMI has not been Certified 
 
(a) This section does not apply if statutory maximum medical improvement (MMI) has 
been reached. Statutory MMI is the later of: 
  (1) the end of the 104th week after the date that temporary income benefits (TIBs) 
began to accrue; or 
  (2) the date to which MMI was extended by the commission through operation of 
Texas Labor Code §408.104. 
 
(b) If there has not been a certification in accordance with §130.1 of this title (relating to 
Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of Permanent 
Impairment) that an injured employee has reached MMI, an insurance carrier (carrier) 
may follow the procedure outlined in this section to resolve whether an employee has 
reached MMI. The carrier shall presume, only for purposes of invoking this procedure, 
that an employee has reached MMI, if: 
  (1) it appears that the employee has failed to attend two or more consecutively 
scheduled health care appointments and the number of days between the two 
examinations is greater than 60 except for laminectomy, spinal fusion or diskectomy in 
which case the number of days between the two examinations is greater than 90; 
  (2) the treating doctor has examined the employee at least twice for the same 
compensable injury after the date on which TIBs began to accrue, and the doctor's 
medical reports as filed with the insurance carrier for all examinations and reports 
conducted after the first of the two examinations, indicate a lack of medical 
improvement in the employees condition since the date of the first of the two 
examinations; 
  (3) the employee was previously found not to be at MMI by a designated doctor but 
the employee has reached the date the designated doctor estimated that the employee 
would reach MMI; or 
  (4) the employee is four weeks past the point that the claim has become a Work 
Release Outlier Claim as defined by commission rule. 
 
(c) A carrier permitted by subsection (b) of this section to invoke this procedure may 
request the treating doctor to provide a report on the employee's medical status as it 
relates to MMI. Note - nothing in this section prohibits the carrier from contacting the 
treating doctor about whether the employee has reached MMI. 
 
(d) The treating doctor shall evaluate the employee's condition within 14 days of 
receiving the request from the carrier under subsection (c) of this section. The evaluation 
shall be conducted in accordance with §130.1 of this title and the report filed within 
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seven working days of the date of the examination. If the treating doctor determines 
that the employee has permanent impairment but is not authorized to certify MMI or 
assign an impairment rating, the doctor shall refer the employee to a doctor who is so 
authorized and this doctor shall comply with the requirements of this section, §130.1 
and §130.3 of this title (relating to Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and 
Evaluation of Permanent Impairment and Certification of Maximum Medical 
Improvement by Doctor Other Than Treating Doctor). 

(e) If the treating doctor fails to respond as required by this rule, or if the treating doctor
certifies that the employee has not reached MMI, the carrier may request a designated
doctor under §130.5 (relating to Entitlement and Procedure for Requesting Designated
Doctor Examinations Related to Maximum Medical Improvement and Impairment
Rating).

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.4 adopted to be effective March 8, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1296; amended to be effective January 2, 2002, 26 TexReg 10910 

RULE §130.7 Acceleration of Impairment Income Benefits 

(a) An employee seeking an acceleration of impairment income benefits shall submit a
request in writing to commission, on a form prescribed by the commission, and send a
copy to the insurance carrier. The form shall explain subsection (d) of this section.

(b) The commission shall approve the request for acceleration of impairment benefits
pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, §4.321. The commission shall notify
the insurance carrier when a request for acceleration is approved, and of the amount
and number of accelerated payments which shall be made.

(c) The insurance carrier shall initiate the accelerated payment schedule no later than
seven days after receiving notice of the commission's approval.

(d) Acceleration of payment of impairment income benefits does not reduce the
impairment period for purposes of the date that entitlement to supplemental income
benefits begins.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.7 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1194
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RULE §130.8 Initiating Payment of Impairment Income Benefits 

(a) Impairment income benefits accrue on the day after the injured employee reaches
maximum medical improvement, regardless of whether the employee has suffered
seven or more days of disability.

(b) When the date of maximum medical improvement is not disputed, the carrier shall
initiate payment of impairment income benefits on or before the fifth day after:
(1) the date of receipt of the employee's treating doctor's medical evaluation report, as

described in §130.1 of this title (relating to Reports of Medical Evaluation: Maximum 
Medical Improvement and Permanent Impairment); or 
(2) the last day of the 104th week after the employee's accrual date, as defined in

§124.7 of this title (relating to Initial Payment of Temporary Income Benefits).

(c) When the date of maximum medical improvement is disputed, the carrier shall
initiate payment of impairment income benefits on or before the fifth day after:
(1) the date of entry of an interlocutory order to begin payment of impairment income

benefits; 
(2) the date of execution of an agreement on a dispute over date of maximum medical 

improvement; or 
(3) the date of receipt of a commission-approved settlement of a dispute over date of 

maximum medical improvement. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.8 adopted to be effective February 11, 1992, 17 
TexReg 689

RULE §130.11 Agreement for Monthly Payment of Impairment Income Benefits 

(a) Upon the request of the injured employee, the insurance carrier and an employee 
entitled to impairment income benefits (IIBs) may agree to change the frequency of IIBs 
payments from the standard weekly period to a monthly period. The agreement to 
change the payment frequency must be in writing and is only required to be filed with 
the Commission if the Commission requests a copy. To relieve the insurance carrier of 
the responsibility to pay IIBs weekly, a valid written agreement must include the 
following terms and conditions:
(1) the agreement for the monthly payment of IIBs payments shall be effective the first 

calendar day of the month following the month in which the written agreement was 
entered into by the insurance carrier and the injured employee; 
(2) monthly IIBs payment shall be issued on or before the seventh day of the month for 

which benefits are due; 
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(3) weekly IIBs payments shall continue through the end of the month in which the
agreement was signed.; 
(4) payment of the last week of IIBs to transition from weekly payment of IIBs to

monthly payments shall be prorated to the end of the month to ensure the injured 
employee receives IIBs through the last day of the month; 
(5) if less than the maximum weekly compensation rate in effect on the date of the

compensable injury is being paid, a completed Employer's Wage Statement must be 
included with the injured employee's copy of the written agreement; 
(6) the monthly benefit amount shall be equal to the weekly compensation rate for IIBs

that the injured employee is entitled to multiplied by 4.34821; and 
(7) the impairment rating and source of the impairment rating upon which payment of

IIBs is being based. 

(b) An injured employee and insurance carrier may not agree to the monthly payment of
IIBs until the impairment rating has been agreed to or has become final. The entering
into an agreement under this section may not be used for the purpose of finalizing an
impairment rating.

(c) The agreement for the monthly payment of IIBs shall expire upon the suspension or
termination of IIBs in accordance with the Act and Commission rules. The last monthly
payment shall be prorated to ensure the insurance carrier pays the appropriate amount
of IIBs.

(d) At any time after signing the agreement for the monthly payment of IIBs, the injured
employee or the insurance carrier may notify the other party in writing that it no longer
agrees to the monthly payment of IIBs. In this case, the insurance carrier shall pay all
accrued but unpaid IIBs at the end of the current monthly cycle and shall continue
paying IIBs weekly as and when they accrue and are due.

(e) Effective Date. This section applies only to agreements entered into on or after
January 1, 2000, for payment of IIBs under the provisions of the Act.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.11 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11447 

RULE §130.12 Finality of the First Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement 
and/or First Assignment of Impairment Rating 

(a) The certifications and assignments that may become final are:
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  (1) The first valid certification of MMI and/or IR assigned or determination of no 
impairment; 
  (2) The first valid assignment of IR after the expiration of 104 weeks from the date 
income benefits begin to accrue or the expiration date of any extension under Section 
408.104, if the employee has not been certified as having reached MMI; or 
  (3) The first valid subsequent certification of MMI and/or assignment of an IR or 
determination of no impairment received after the date a certification of MMI and/or 
assignment of an IR or determination of no impairment is overturned, modified or 
withdrawn by agreement of the parties or by a final decision of the commission or a 
court. 
  (4) A designated doctor may provide multiple IRs if there is a dispute over extent of 
injury. Whichever rating from the designated doctor applies to the compensable injury 
once an extent of injury (EOI) dispute has been resolved may become final if not 
disputed. An EOI dispute does not constitute a dispute of the MMI/IR for purposes of 
finality under this subsection. 
(b) A first MMI/IR certification must be disputed within 90 days of delivery of written 
notice through verifiable means, including IRs related to EOI disputes. The notice must 
contain a copy of a valid Form TWCC 69, Report of Medical Evaluation, as described in 
subsection (c). The 90-day period begins on the day after the written notice is delivered 
to the party wishing to dispute a certification of MMI or an IR assignment, or both. The 
90-day period may not be extended. 
  (1) Only an insurance carrier, an injured employee, or an injured employee's attorney or 
employee representative under 150.3(a) may dispute a first certification of MMI or 
assigned IR under §141.1 (related to Requesting and Setting a Benefit Review 
Conference) or by requesting the appointment of a designated doctor, if one has not 
been appointed. 
  (2) Use of the TWCC 69's non-concurrence section is not a prescribed form and 
manner for a dispute. 
  (3) A dispute may not be revoked or withdrawn to allow the first valid certification of 
MMI and/or the first valid assignment of IR to become final except by agreement of the 
parties. 
  (4) The first certification of maximum medical improvement and/or impairment rating 
may be disputed after the 90-day period as provided in §408.123(e) of the Texas Labor 
Code. 
 
(c) A certification of MMI and/or IR assigned as described in subsection (a) must be on a 
Form TWCC 69, Report of Medical Evaluation. The certification on the Form TWCC 69 is 
valid if: 
  (1) There is an MMI date that is not prospective; 
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(2) There is an impairment determination of either no impairment or a percentage
impairment rating assigned; and 
(3) There is the signature of the certifying doctor who is authorized by the Commission

under §130.1(a) to make the assigned impairment determination. 

(d) This section applies only to those claims with initial MMI/IR certifications made on or
after June 18, 2003.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.12 adopted to be effective March 14, 2004, 29 
TexReg 2328 

SUBCHAPTER B SUPPLEMENTAL INCOME BENEFITS 

RULE §130.100 Applicability 

(a) Effectiveness. Entitlement or non-entitlement to supplemental income benefits shall
be determined in accordance with the rules in effect on the date a qualifying period
begins.

(b) Claims Service. Sections 130.101 - 130.109 of this chapter (relating to Impairment
and Supplemental Income Benefits) define certain aspects of claims service under the
provisions of Texas Labor Code, §406.010.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.100 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399 

RULE §130.101 Definitions 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Application for Supplemental Income Benefits--The Division form required pursuant
to Labor Code §408.143(b) containing the following information: 

(A) a statement, with supporting payroll documentation, that the employee has
earned less than 80% of the employee's average weekly wage as a direct result of the 
impairment from the compensable injury; 

(B) the amount of the employee's wages during the qualifying period;
(C) a statement, with supporting documentation, that the employee has complied

with Labor Code §408.1415 and this subchapter; and 
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    (D) for self-employed individuals, copies of all supporting documentation to establish 
the amount of self-employment income earned during the qualifying period and any 
other pertinent documentation of efforts to establish or maintain a self-employed 
enterprise during the qualifying period. 
  (2) First Quarter--The 13 weeks beginning on the day after the last day of the 
impairment income benefits period. 
 
  (3) Impairment income benefits period--The number of weeks computed under Labor 
Code §408.121 for which the injured employee is entitled to receive impairment income 
benefits, starting with the day after the date the employee reached maximum medical 
improvement. 
 
  (4) Qualifying period--A period of time for which the employee's activities and wages 
are reviewed to determine eligibility for supplemental income benefits. The qualifying 
period ends on the 14th day before the beginning date of the quarter and consists of 
the 13 previous consecutive weeks. In accordance with §130.100(a) of this title (relating 
to Applicability), a qualifying period that begins on or after July 1, 2009, is subject to the 
provisions of this subchapter, and a qualifying period that begins prior to July 1, 2009, 
remains subject to the rules in effect on the date the qualifying period begins. 
 
  (5) Reviewing authority--The person who reviews the Application for Supplemental 
Income Benefits and other information to make the determination of entitlement or 
non-entitlement to supplemental income benefits including Division staff for the first 
quarter determination and the insurance adjuster for subsequent quarter 
determinations. 
 
  (6) Subsequent Quarter--A 13-week period beginning on the day after the last day of a 
previous quarter. The term subsequent quarter applies to all quarters after the first 
quarter. 
 
  (7) Vocational Rehabilitation Services--Services which can reasonably be expected to 
benefit the employee in terms of employability including, but not limited to, 
identification of the employee's physical and vocational abilities, training, physical or 
mental restoration, vocational assessment, transferable skills assessment, development 
of and modifications to an individualized vocational rehabilitation plan, or other services 
necessary to enable an injured employee to become employed in an occupation that is 
reasonably consistent with his or her strengths, physical abilities including ability to 
travel, educational abilities, interest, and pre-injury income level. 
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(8) Vocational rehabilitation program--Any program, provided by the Texas Workforce
Commission (TWC), a comparable federally-funded rehabilitation program in another 
state under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, or a private provider of 
vocational rehabilitation services, for the provision of vocational rehabilitation services 
designed to assist the injured employee to return to work that includes a vocational 
rehabilitation plan. A vocational rehabilitation plan, also known as an Individual Plan for 
Employment at TWC, includes, at a minimum, an employment goal, any intermediate 
goals, a description of the services to be provided or arranged, the start and end dates 
of the described services, and the injured employee's responsibilities for the successful 
completion of the plan. 

(9) Wages--All forms of remuneration payable for personal services rendered during
the qualifying period as defined in Labor Code §401.011(43), including the wages of a 
bona fide offer of employment which was not accepted. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.101 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective November 28, 1999, 24 TexReg 10339; 
amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138; amended to be effective April 15, 
2018, 43 TexReg 2153 

RULE §130.102 Eligibility for Supplemental Income Benefits; Amount 

(a) General. An injured employee is not entitled to supplemental income benefits until
the expiration of the impairment income benefit period.

(b) Eligibility Criteria. An injured employee who has an impairment rating of 15% or
greater, who has not commuted any impairment income benefits, who has not
permanently lost entitlement to supplemental income benefits and who has completed
and filed an Application for Supplemental Income Benefits in accordance with this
subchapter is eligible to receive supplemental income benefits if, during the qualifying
period, the injured employee:
(1) has earned less than 80% of the injured employee's average weekly wage as a direct

result of the impairment from the compensable injury; and 
(2) has demonstrated an active effort to obtain employment in accordance with Labor

Code §408.1415 and this section. 

(c) Direct Result. An injured employee has earned less than 80% of the injured
employee's average weekly wage as a direct result of the impairment from the
compensable injury if the impairment from the compensable injury is a cause of the
reduced earnings.
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(d) Work Search Requirements. 
  (1) An injured employee demonstrates an active effort to obtain employment by 
meeting at least one or any combination of the following work search requirements 
each week during the entire qualifying period: 
    (A) has returned to work in a position which is commensurate with the injured 
employee's ability to work; 
    (B) has actively participated in a vocational rehabilitation program as defined in 
§130.101 of this title (relating to Definitions); 
    (C) has actively participated in work search efforts conducted through the Texas 
Workforce Commission (TWC); 
    (D) has performed active work search efforts documented by job applications; or 
    (E) has been unable to perform any type of work in any capacity, has provided a 
narrative report from a doctor which specifically explains how the injury causes a total 
inability to work, and no other records show that the injured employee is able to return 
to work. 
  (2) An injured employee who has not met at least one of the work search requirements 
in any week during the qualifying period is not entitled to SIBs unless the injured 
employee can demonstrate that he or she had reasonable grounds for failing to comply 
with the work search requirements under this section. 
 
(e) Vocational Rehabilitation. As provided in subsection (d)(1)(B) of this section, 
regarding active participation in a vocational rehabilitation program, an injured 
employee shall provide documentation sufficient to establish that he or she has actively 
participated in a vocational rehabilitation program during the qualifying period.  
 
(f) Work Search Efforts. As provided in subsection (d)(1)(C) and (D) of this section 
regarding active participation in work search efforts and active work search efforts, an 
injured employee shall provide documentation sufficient to establish that he or she has, 
each week during the qualifying period, made the minimum number of job applications 
and or work search contacts consistent with the work search contacts established by 
TWC which are required for unemployment compensation in the injured employee's 
county of residence pursuant to the TWC Local Workforce Development Board 
requirements. If the required number of work search contacts changes during a 
qualifying period, the lesser number of work search contacts shall be the required 
minimum number of contacts for that period. If residing out of state, the minimum 
number of work search contacts required will be the number required by the public 
employment service in accordance with applicable unemployment compensation laws 
for the injured employee's place of residence. 
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(g) Calculation of amount. Subject to any approved reduction for the effects of
contribution, the monthly supplemental income benefit payment is calculated quarterly
as follows:
(1) multiply the injured employee's average weekly wage by 80% (.80);
(2) add the injured employee's wages for all 13 weeks of the qualifying period;
(3) divide the total wages by 13;
(4) subtract this figure from the result of paragraph (1) of this subsection;
(5) multiply the difference by 80% (.80);
(6) if the resulting amount is greater than the maximum rate under the Act, Labor

Code, §408.061, use the maximum rate; and 
(7) multiply the result by 4.34821.

(h) Maximum Medical Improvement and Impairment Rating Disputes. If there is no
pending dispute regarding the date of maximum medical improvement or the
impairment rating prior to the expiration of the first quarter, the date of maximum
medical improvement and the impairment rating shall be final and binding.

(i) Services Provided by a Carrier Through a Private Provider of Vocational Rehabilitation
Services. The insurance carrier is responsible for reasonable travel expenses incurred by
the injured employee if the employee is required to travel in excess of 20 miles one way
from the injured employee's residence to obtain vocational rehabilitation services from a
private provider.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.102 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective November 28, 1999, 24 TexReg 10339; 
amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138; amended to be effective April 15, 
2018, 43 TexReg 2153 

RULE §130.103 Determination of Entitlement or Non-entitlement for the First 
Quarter 

(a) Division Determination. For each injured employee with an impairment rating of 15%
or greater, and who has not commuted any impairment income benefits, the Division
will make the determination of entitlement or non-entitlement for the first quarter of
supplemental income benefits. This determination shall be made not later than the last
day of the impairment income benefit period and the notice of determination shall be
sent to the injured employee and the insurance carrier by first class mail, electronic
transmission, or personal delivery.
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(b) Determination of Entitlement. If the Division determines that the injured employee is
entitled to supplemental income benefits for the first quarter, the notice of
determination shall include:
(1) the beginning and end dates of the first quarter;
(2) the amount of the monthly payments;
(3) the amount of the wages used to calculate the monthly payment;
(4) instructions for the parties of the procedures for contesting the Division's

determination as provided by §130.108 of this title (relating to Contesting Entitlement or 
Amount of Supplemental Income Benefits; Attorney Fees); and 
(5) an Application for Supplemental Income Benefits, filing instructions, a filing

schedule, and a description of the consequences of failing to timely file. 

(c) Determination of non-entitlement. If the Division determines that the injured
employee is not entitled to supplemental income benefits for the first quarter, the notice
of determination shall include:
(1) the grounds for this determination;
(2) the beginning and end dates of the first quarter;
(3) instructions for the parties of the procedures for contesting the Division's

determination as provided by §130.108 of this title (relating to Contesting Entitlement to 
Supplemental Income Benefits); and 
(4) an Application for Supplemental Income Benefits, filing instructions, a filing

schedule, and a description of the consequences of failing to timely file. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.103 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective November 28, 1999, 24 TexReg 10339; 
amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138 

RULE §130.104 Determination of Entitlement or Non-entitlement for Subsequent 
Quarters 

(a) Subsequent Quarter Determination. After the Division has made a determination of
entitlement or non-entitlement for supplemental income benefits for the first quarter,
the insurance carrier shall make determinations for subsequent quarters consistent with
the provisions contained in §130.102 of this title (relating to Eligibility for Supplemental
Income Benefits; Amount). The insurance carrier shall issue a determination of
entitlement or non-entitlement within 10 days after receipt of the Application for
Supplemental Income Benefits for a subsequent quarter.

(b) Application for Supplemental Income Benefits. An injured employee claiming
entitlement to supplemental income benefits for a subsequent quarter must send the
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insurance carrier an Application for Supplemental Income Benefits as required under this 
section. With the first monthly payment of supplemental income benefits for any eligible 
quarter and with any insurance carrier determination of non-entitlement, the insurance 
carrier shall send the injured employee a copy of the Application for Supplemental 
Income Benefits and the proper address to file the subsequent application. On the 
Application for Supplemental Income Benefits sent by the insurance carrier, the 
insurance carrier shall include: 
  (1) the number of the applicable quarter; 
  (2) the dates of the qualifying period; 
  (3) the dates of the quarter; 
  (4) the deadline for filing the application with the insurance carrier; and 
  (5) the minimum number of work search efforts required by §130.102(d)(1) and (f) of 
this title (relating to Eligibility for Supplemental Income Benefits; Amount) during the 
next qualifying period. 
 
(c) Filing the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits. The employee shall file the 
Application for Supplemental Income Benefits and any applicable documentation with 
the insurance carrier by first class mail, personal delivery or electronic transmission. 
Except as otherwise provided in this section, the Application for Supplemental Income 
Benefits shall be filed no later than seven days before, and no earlier than 20 days 
before, the beginning of the quarter for which the injured employee is applying for 
supplemental income benefits. If the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits is 
received by the insurance carrier more than 20 days before the beginning of the quarter, 
the insurance carrier shall return the form to the injured employee with detailed 
instructions on when the form is required to be filed. Any form returned to the injured 
employee because the form was filed early shall not be subject to the provisions of 
§130.108 of this title (relating to Contesting Entitlement to Supplemental Income 
Benefits). 
 
(d) Date-Stamp. Upon receipt, the insurance carrier shall date-stamp all Application for 
Supplemental Income Benefits forms with the date the insurance carrier received the 
form. 
 
(e) Notice of Determination. Upon making subsequent quarter determinations, the 
insurance carrier shall issue a notice of determination to the injured employee. The 
notice shall be sent by first class mail, personal delivery or electronic transmission and 
shall contain all the information required in the Notice of Entitlement or Non-
entitlement portion of the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits. The notice of 
determination of non-entitlement shall contain sufficient claim specific information to 
enable the employee to understand the reason for the insurance carrier's determination. 
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A generic statement such as "failure to satisfy the compliance standards of Labor Code 
§408.1415", "not a direct result", or similar phrases without further explanation does not
satisfy the requirements of this section.

(f) Accrual date. If the injured employee is entitled to supplemental income benefits for
a subsequent quarter, the benefits begin to accrue on the later of:
(1) the first day of the applicable quarter; or
(2) the date the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits is received by the

insurance carrier, subject to the provisions of §130.105 of this title (relating to Failure to 
Timely File Application for Supplemental Income Benefits; Subsequent Quarters). 
(g) Changes in Amount. A change in the monthly amount of supplemental income
benefits from one quarter to the next does not constitute a dispute subject to §130.108
of this title (relating to Contesting Entitlement to Supplemental Income Benefits). An
insurance carrier that does not contest the entitlement to supplemental income benefits
for a subsequent quarter, but determines a different monthly amount is due, shall:
(1) send the notice as required in subsection (e) of this section;
(2) include instructions about the procedures for contesting the insurance carrier's

determination as provided by §130.108 of this title (relating to Contesting Entitlement to 
Supplemental Income Benefits); and 
(3) issue payment based on the newly calculated amount.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.104 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138 

RULE §130.105 Failure to Timely File Application for Supplemental Income 
Benefits; Subsequent Quarters 

(a) Failure to timely file. An injured employee who does not timely file an Application for
Supplemental Income Benefits with the insurance carrier shall not receive supplemental
income benefits for the period of time between the beginning date of the quarter and
the date on which the form was received by the insurance carrier, unless the following
apply:
(1) the failure of the insurance carrier to timely mail the form to the injured employee

as provided by §130.104 of this title (relating to Determination of Entitlement or Non-
entitlement for Subsequent Quarters); 
(2) the failure of the Division to issue a determination of entitlement or non-

entitlement for the first quarter and the quarter applied for immediately follows the first 
quarter; or 
(3) a finding of an impairment rating of 15% or greater in an administrative or judicial

proceeding when the previous impairment rating was less than 15%. 
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(b) Calculation. If the injured employee has failed to timely file the Application for
Supplemental Income Benefits and none of the exceptions listed in subsection (a) of this
section apply, the payment of supplemental income benefits for that particular payment
period shall be prorated as follows:
(1) divide the weekly amount of supplemental income benefits (as calculated pursuant

to §130.102(g)(5) and (6) of this title (relating to Eligibility for Supplemental Income 
Benefits; Amount) by seven to determine the daily rate; 
(2) calculate the number of days between the date the Application for Supplemental

Income Benefits was received and the end of that particular payment period; and 
(3) multiply the number of days and the daily rate to determine the amount of the

payment. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.105 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138 

RULE §130.106 Loss of Entitlement to Supplemental Income Benefits 

(a) 12-Month Provision. Except as provided in §130.109 of this title (relating to
Reinstatement of Entitlement if Discharged with Intent to Deprive of Supplemental
Income Benefits), an injured employee who is not entitled to supplemental income
benefits for a period of four consecutive quarters permanently loses entitlement to such
benefits.

(b) 401-Week Provision. An injured employee permanently loses entitlement to
supplemental income benefits upon the expiration of the 401-week period calculated
pursuant to Labor Code §408.083. Except for situations where the injured employee has
previously permanently lost entitlement to supplemental income benefits, the insurance
carrier shall send two notices to the injured employee prior to the expiration of the 401-
week period if the injured employee has submitted an Application for Supplemental
Income Benefits during the 12 months immediately preceding the expiration of the 401-
week period. This notification shall be in the form and manner prescribed by the
Division and shall be sent:
(1) no later than four months prior to the expiration of the 401-week period; and
(2) one month prior to the expiration of the 401-week period.

(c) Refusal of Vocational Rehabilitation Services. An injured employee, in a vocational
rehabilitation program as defined in §130.101(8) of this title (relating to Definitions), who
refuses vocational rehabilitation services or refuses to cooperate with services provided
at any time during a qualifying period is not entitled to supplemental income benefits
for the related quarter.

Updated January 4, 2024 184

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=130&rl=106


Source Note: The provisions of this §130.106 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138 

RULE §130.107 Payment of Supplemental Income Benefits 

(a) First Quarter. After the Division's initial determination of entitlement, the insurance
carrier shall pay supplemental income benefits as follows:
(1) the first payment shall be made on or before the tenth day after the day on which

the insurance carrier received the Division determination of entitlement or the seventh 
day of the quarter, whichever is later; 
(2) the second payment shall be made on or before the 37th day of the first quarter;

and 
(3) the last payment shall be made on or before the 67th day of the first quarter.

(b) Subsequent Quarters. For subsequent quarters, the insurance carrier shall pay
supplemental income benefits as follows:
(1) the first payment shall be made on or before the tenth day after the day on which

the insurance carrier received the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits, or the 
seventh day of the quarter, whichever is later; 
(2) the second payment shall be made on or before the 37th day of the quarter; and
(3) the last payment shall be made on or before the 67th day of the quarter.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.107 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138 

RULE §130.108 Contesting Entitlement or Amount of Supplemental Income 
Benefits; Attorney Fees 

(a) Injured Employee Disputes. An injured employee may contest the determination by
the Division or the insurance carrier regarding non-entitlement to, or the amount of,
supplemental income benefits by requesting a benefit review conference as provided by
Chapter 141 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--Benefit Review Conference).

(b) Insurance Carrier Dispute; First Quarter. If an insurance carrier disputes a Division
finding of entitlement to, or amount of, supplemental income benefits for the first
quarter, the insurance carrier shall request a benefit review conference as provided by
Chapter 141 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--Benefit Review Conference)
within 10 days after receiving the Division determination of entitlement. An insurance
carrier waives the right to contest the Division determination of entitlement to, or
amount of, supplemental income benefits for the first quarter if the request is not
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received by the Division within 10 days after the date the insurance carrier received the 
determination. 

(c) Insurance Carrier Dispute; Subsequent Quarter With Prior Payment. If an insurance
carrier disputes entitlement to a subsequent quarter and the insurance carrier has paid
supplemental income benefits during the quarter immediately preceding the quarter for
which the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits is filed, the insurance carrier
shall dispute entitlement to the subsequent quarter by requesting a benefit review
conference as provided by Chapter 141 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--
Benefit Review Conference) within 10 days after receiving the Application for
Supplemental Income Benefits. An insurance carrier waives the right to contest the
entitlement to supplemental income benefits for the subsequent quarter if the request is
not received by the Division within 10 days after the date the insurance carrier received
the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits. The insurance carrier does not waive
the right to contest entitlement to supplemental income benefits if the insurance carrier
has returned the injured employee's Application for Supplemental Income Benefits
pursuant to §130.104(c) of this title (relating to Determination of Entitlement or Non-
entitlement for Subsequent Quarters).

(d) Insurance Carrier Disputes; Subsequent Quarter Without Prior Payment. If an
insurance carrier disputes entitlement to a subsequent quarter and the insurance carrier
did not pay supplemental income benefits during the quarter immediately preceding
the quarter for which the Application for Supplemental Income Benefits is filed, the
insurance carrier shall send the determination to the injured employee within 10 days of
the date the form was filed with the insurance carrier and include the reasons for the
insurance carrier's finding of non-entitlement and instructions about the procedures for
contesting the insurance carrier's determination as provided by subsection (a) of this
section.

(e) Liability. An insurance carrier who unsuccessfully contests a Division determination of
entitlement to supplemental income benefits is liable for:
(1) all accrued, unpaid supplemental income benefits, and interest on that amount; and
(2) reasonable and necessary attorney's fees incurred by the injured employee as a

result of the insurance carrier's dispute which have been ordered by the Division or 
court. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.108 adopted to be effective January 31, 1999, 
24 TexReg 399; amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138 
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RULE §130.109 Reinstatement of Entitlement if Discharged with Intent to Deprive 
of Supplemental Income Benefits 

(a) An injured employee who has lost entitlement to supplemental income benefits
under §130.106(a) of this title (relating to Loss of Entitlement to Supplemental Income
Benefits), and is discharged from employment within 12 months of losing entitlement,
will become re-entitled if the employer discharged the injured employee with intent to
deprive the injured employee of supplemental income benefits.

(b) An injured employee seeking reinstated supplemental income benefits under this
section shall request a benefit contested case hearing, as provided by Chapter 142 of
this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--Benefit Contested Case Hearing).

(c) The injured employee bears the burden of proof of discharge with intent to deprive.

(d) Supplemental income benefits reinstated under this section begin to accrue on the
day after the injured employee's discharge.

Source Note: The provisions of this §130.109 adopted to be effective April 17, 1992, 17 
TexReg 2400; amended to be effective July 1, 2009, 34 TexReg 2138 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 131 BENEFITS--LIFETIME INCOME BENEFITS 
 
RULE §131.1 Initiation of Lifetime Income Benefits; Notice of Denial 
 
(a) The insurance carrier shall initiate the payment of lifetime income benefits without a 
final decision, order, or other action of the commissioner if an injured employee meets 
the eligibility criteria for lifetime income benefits listed under Labor Code §408.161 as a 
result of the compensable injury. 
 
(b) An injured employee may submit a written request for lifetime income benefits to 
the insurance carrier. The insurance carrier shall either initiate lifetime income benefits 
or deny the injured employee's eligibility for lifetime income benefits considering all of 
the eligibility criteria listed under Labor Code §408.161 within 60 days from the receipt 
of the injured employee's written request. An insurance carrier's failure to respond to 
the request for lifetime income benefits within the timeframes described in this 
subsection does not constitute a waiver of the insurance carrier's right to dispute the 
injured employee's eligibility for lifetime income benefits. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier shall make the first payment of lifetime income benefits on or 
before the 15th day after the date the insurance carrier reasonably believes that the 
injured employee is eligible for lifetime income benefits as a result of the compensable 
injury. The initiation of lifetime income benefits without a final decision, order, or other 
action of the commissioner does not waive the insurance carrier's right to contest the 
compensability of the injury in accordance with Labor Code §409.021(c). 
 
(d) If the injured employee submits a written request for lifetime income benefits and 
the insurance carrier denies that the injured employee is eligible for lifetime income 
benefits, the insurance carrier shall deny eligibility by sending a plain language notice of 
denial of eligibility to the division, the injured employee, and the injured employee's 
representative, if any, in the form and manner prescribed by the division up to the 60th 
day after receipt of the written request. The notice of denial of eligibility shall include: 
  (1) a full and complete statement describing the insurance carrier's reasons for denial. 
The statement must contain sufficient claim-specific substantive information to enable 
the injured employee to understand the insurance carrier's position or action taken 
under the claim. A generic statement that simply states the insurance carrier's position 
with phrases such as "not part of compensable injury," "not meeting criteria," "liability is 
in question," "under investigation," "eligibility questioned," or other similar phrases with 
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no further description of the factual basis for the denial does not satisfy the 
requirements of paragraph (1) of this subsection; 
(2) contact information including the adjuster's name, toll-free telephone and fax

numbers, and email address; and 
(3) a statement informing the injured employee of his or her right to request a benefit

review conference to resolve the dispute. 

(e) An injured employee may contest the insurance carrier's denial of eligibility for
lifetime income benefits or failure to respond to the written request for lifetime income
benefits by requesting a benefit review conference as provided by Chapter 141 of this
title (relating to Dispute Resolution--Benefit Review Conference).

(f) Nothing in this section is intended to limit any insurance carrier's duty to initiate
payment of lifetime income benefits before the time limit established in subsection (c)
of this section.

(g) Effective date. This section is effective on June 1, 2015.

Source Note: The provisions of this §131.1 adopted to be effective June 1, 2015, 40 
TexReg 929 

RULE §131.2 Calculation of Lifetime Income Benefits 

(a) Lifetime income benefits shall be calculated by multiplying the employee's average 
weekly wage by .75. The lifetime income benefit payable each week under this formula 
shall not exceed the weekly maximum benefit under the Workers' Compensation Act, 
§4.11, for the first year of benefits.

(b) Each year on the anniversary date of the day lifetime income benefits began to 
accrue, the amount of those benefits being paid shall be increased by 3.0%. The 
employee is entitled to the annual increase without regard to the limits imposed by the 
maximum weekly benefit. The increase shall be paid without further action by the 
commission.

Source Note: The provisions of this §131.2 adopted to be effective April 15, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1885

RULE §131.3 Carrier's Petition for Payment of Benefits by the Subsequent Injury 
Fund 
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(a) When an insurance carrier reasonably believes that an injured employee may be
eligible for lifetime benefits from the subsequent injury fund, the insurance carrier shall
petition the commission for payment of lifetime income benefits from the subsequent
injury fund. The petition shall be in writing and contain the following:
(1) the employee's name and social security number;
(2) the date of each injury;
(3) the workers' compensation number assigned to the claim (if any) for each injury;
(4) the name and address of the employer for whom the employee was working at the

time of each injury; and 
(5) any information upon which the carrier bases its request.

(b) The commission shall order the payment of lifetime income benefits from the
subsequent injury fund if it finds that the effects of the two injuries combined entitle the
employee to lifetime income benefits.

(c) The insurance carrier shall pay to the employee weekly benefits as ordered by the
commission.

(d) The subsequent injury fund shall compensate the employee for the remaining
lifetime income benefits for which the insurance carrier is not liable.

Source Note: The provisions of this §131.3 adopted to be effective April 15, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1885

RULE §131.4 Change in Payment Period; Purchase of Annuity for Lifetime Income 
Benefits 

(a) Upon the request of an injured employee entitled to lifetime income benefits (LIBs) 
as defined in the Act, the insurance carrier and an injured employee may agree to 
change the frequency of LIBs payments from the standard weekly period to a monthly 
period. The agreement to change the payment frequency must be in writing and is only 
required to be filed with the Commission if the Commission requests a copy. To relieve 
the insurance carrier of the responsibility to pay LIBs weekly a valid written agreement 
must include the following terms and conditions:
(1) the agreement for the monthly payment of LIBs shall be effective the first calendar 

day of the month following the month in which the written agreement was entered into 
by the insurance carrier and the injured employee; 
(2) monthly LIBs shall be issued on or before the seventh day of the month for which 

benefits are due; 
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  (3) weekly LIBs payments shall continue through the end of the month in which the 
agreement was signed; 
  (4) payment of the last week of LIBs to transition from weekly payment of LIBs to 
monthly payments shall be prorated to the end of the month to ensure the injured 
employee receives LIBs through the last day of the month; 
  (5) the monthly compensation rate shall be calculated by multiplying the weekly 
compensation rate by 4.34821; 
  (6) if less than the maximum weekly compensation rate in effect on the date of the 
compensable injury is being paid, a completed Employer's Wage Statement must be 
included with the injured employee's copy of the written agreement; and 
  (7) A clear statement regarding the due date of the annual three percent increase in 
LIBs must be included. 
 
(b) At any time after signing the agreement for the monthly payment of LIBs, the injured 
employee or the insurance carrier may notify the other party in writing that it no longer 
agrees to the monthly payment of LIBs. In this case, the insurance carrier shall pay all 
accrued but unpaid LIBs at the end of the current monthly cycle and shall continue to 
pay LIBs weekly as and when they accrue and are due. The last monthly payment shall 
be prorated to ensure the insurance carrier pays the appropriate amount of LIBs. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier and the injured employee entitled to LIBs may agree that the 
carrier will purchase an annuity for payment of LIBs. An application for payment of LIBs 
by annuity must be submitted to the Commission for approval in the form, format, and 
manner required by the Commission. If less than the maximum weekly compensation 
rate in effect on the date of the compensable injury is being paid, a complete 
Employer's Wage Statement must be included with the application. 
 
(d) An annuity for the payment of LIBs shall meet the following terms and conditions. 
  (1) LIBs payments shall be initiated no later than the 45th day after the date the written 
agreement was approved by the Commission. 
  (2) The company providing an annuity for the payment of LIBs must be licensed to do 
business in Texas and must have a current A. M. Best rating of B+ or better or have a 
Standard & Poor's rating of claims paying ability of A or better. 
  (3) The workers' compensation insurance carrier must guarantee the payments 
provided by the annuity company in the event of default. 
  (4) The annuity contract must include funds for payment of the annual three percent 
increase in LIBs required by the Act, compounded annually. 
  (5) The injured employee, or guardian if applicable, shall not be allowed to assign the 
right to receive LIBs from an annuity. All LIBs must be paid to the order of the injured 
employee or the legal guardian, if applicable. 
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(6) An annuity cannot be purchased to fund the payment of medical costs incurred by
an injured employee entitled to LIBs. 
(7) The annuity company shall pay LIBs either weekly or monthly as indicated in the

application for payment of LIBs by annuity. 
(8) If monthly payments are agreed to by the insurance carrier and the injured

employee, the transition from weekly to monthly benefits paid by annuity shall be the 
same as that for LIBs paid by the responsible insurance carrier set out in subsection (a) 
of this section. 

(e) This section applies only to agreements entered into on or after January 1, 2000, for
payment of LIBs under the provisions of the Act.

Source Note: The provisions of this §131.4 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11449 
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TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 132 DEATH BENEFITS--DEATH AND BURIAL BENEFITS 

RULE §132.1  Calculation of Death Benefits 

Death benefits shall be computed by multiplying the employee's average weekly wage 
by .75. The amount paid shall not exceed 100% of the state average weekly wage as 
determined by the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission and in effect on the date 
of injury. A claim for death benefits shall be filed as required by §122.100 of this title 
(relating to Claim for Death Benefits). 

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.1 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023 

RULE §132.2 Determination of Facts of Dependent Status 

(a) This section applies to a person who claims death benefits as a dependent of the
deceased employee.

(b) A benefit which flowed from a deceased employee, at the time of death, on an
established basis in at least monthly intervals to the person claiming to be dependent, is
presumed to be a regular or recurring economic benefit. This presumption may be
overcome by credible evidence. The burden is on the claimant to prove that benefits,
which flowed less frequently than once a month, were regular or recurring at the time of
the employee's death.

(c) It shall be presumed that an economic benefit, whose value was equal to or greater
than 20% of the person's net resources in the period (see subsection (d) of this section)
for which the benefit was paid, is an economic benefit which contributed substantially to
the person's welfare and livelihood. This presumption may be overcome by credible
evidence. The burden is on the claimant to prove that benefits whose value was less
than 20% of the person's net resources contributed significantly to the person's welfare
and livelihood.

(d) Net resources for the purpose of subsection (b) of this section are 100% of all wage
and salary income and all other income including nonpecuniary income and all income
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of the individual's spouse, less 100% of social security taxes and federal income tax 
withholding. 

(e) The person claiming to be a dependent shall furnish sufficient information to enable
the commission to accurately identify the net resources and to establish the existence of
the economic benefit claimed. This information may include, but is not limited to, tax
returns, a financial statement of the individual, and check stubs.

(f) If an economic benefit was provided in the form of goods and services, the value shall
be the market value of the same or similar goods and services in the same vicinity.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.2 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023

RULE §132.3 Eligibility of Spouse To Receive Death Benefits 

(a) The surviving spouse is entitled to receive death benefits, unless subsection (b) of
this section applies. The surviving spouse shall submit a certified copy of the marriage
license, or satisfactory evidence of common-law marriage to the deceased employee, to
the insurance carrier.

(b) A surviving spouse who abandoned the employee, without good cause for more
than one year immediately preceding the death, shall be ineligible to receive death
benefits. The surviving spouse shall be deemed to have abandoned the employee if the
surviving spouse and the employee had not been living in the same household for more
than one year preceding the employee's death unless the spouse is:
(1) hospitalized;
(2) in a nursing home; or
(3) living apart due to career choices, military duty, or other reasons where it is

established their separation is not due to the pending breakup of the marriage. The 
burden is on a person who opposes the claim of a surviving spouse to prove the spouse 
abandoned the deceased employee. 

(c) If more than one person claims to be the surviving spouse of the deceased 
employee, the commission shall presume the most recent spouse is the surviving 
spouse. This presumption may be rebutted by an individual who presents proof of a 
prior valid marriage to the deceased employee.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.3 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023
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RULE §132.4 Eligibility of a Child To Receive Death Benefits 

(a) A child eligible for death benefits is the son or daughter of a deceased employee,
including an adoptive child, and including a dependent stepchild, who meets any of the
conditions set out in the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (the Act), §4.42(g)(2).

(b) A person claiming benefits as the biological or adoptive son or daughter of a
deceased employee shall submit proof of relationship to the deceased employee to the
carrier or along with the claim for death benefits. The claimant shall submit a certified
copy of the claimant's birth certificate or decree of adoption. If these documents do not
exist, the claimant shall submit other proof of relationship, such as baptismal records,
court orders establishing paternity, voluntary admissions of paternity, or affidavits of
persons who have personal knowledge of the relationship to the deceased employee.

(c) If there are two parents listed on the claimant's birth certificate, but deceased
employee is not listed, the claimant is presumed to be the child of the parents actually
named and is presumed not eligible to receive death benefits. The presumption may be
rebutted by credible evidence.

(d) A person claiming benefits as the dependent stepchild of the deceased employee
shall prove that the employee was married to a parent of the claimant, and must also
establish dependent status as set out in §132.2 of this title (relating to Determination of
Facts of Dependent Status).
(e) A child under 18 years of age, who is married or has been emancipated from the
disabilities of minority at the time of the employee's death, shall not be eligible to
receive benefits as a minor under the Act, §4.42(g)(2)(A).

(f) A child who is a full-time student at the time of the employee's death and is less than
25 years old shall submit evidence of enrollment at an accredited educational institution.
A child shall only be considered a full-time student if the child meets the educational
institution's requirements for a full-time student in the child's course of study.

(g) An adult child claiming eligibility to receive benefits under the Act, §4.42(g)(2), shall
be required to establish dependent status as set out in §132.2 of this title (relating to
Determination of Facts of Dependent Status). A physically or mentally handicapped child
also shall submit medical evidence of the handicap.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.4 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023 
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RULE §132.5 Eligibility of a Grandchild To Receive Death Benefits 

(a) A grandchild who was dependent on the deceased employee on the day of death
shall be entitled to receive death benefits, unless the grandchild's own parent is eligible
for benefits.

(b) A person claiming to be an eligible grandchild shall submit proof of the relationship
to the deceased employee to the carrier or along with the claim for death benefits. The
claimant shall submit a certified copy of the claimant's birth certificate or decree of
adoption, and a certified copy of the birth certificate or decree of adoption of the parent
who was a child of the deceased employee. If these documents do not exist, the
claimant shall submit other proof of relationship, such as baptismal records, court orders
establishing paternity, voluntary admissions of paternity, or affidavits of persons who
have personal knowledge of the relationship to the deceased employee. In addition, the
claimant must present evidence of dependent status on the deceased employee as
defined by §132.2 of this title (relating to Determination of Facts of Dependent Status).

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.5 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023 

RULE §132.6 Eligibility of Other Surviving Dependents and Eligible Parents To 
Receive Death Benefits 

(a) A parent, stepparent, sibling, or grandparent of a deceased employee who was
dependent on the employee on the day of death is entitled to receive death benefits,
only if there is no eligible spouse, child, or grandchild.
(b) A surviving eligible parent is entitled to receive death benefits only if there is no
eligible spouse, no eligible child, and no eligible grandchild, and there are no surviving
dependents of the deceased employee who are parents, siblings, or grandparents of the
deceased.

(c) A person claiming to be a beneficiary under subsection (a) or (b) of this section is
required to present proof of the relationship to the deceased employee to the insurance
carrier or along with the claim for death benefits. The evidence presented as proof of a
relationship shall include certified copies of applicable birth certificates, or decrees of
adoption, or proof of marriage. If these documents do not exist, the claimant shall
submit other proof of relationship, such as baptismal records, court orders establishing
paternity, voluntary admissions of paternity, or affidavits of persons who have personal
knowledge of the relationship to the deceased employee. A person claiming to be a
beneficiary under subsection (a) of this section shall submit evidence of dependence on
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the deceased employee as defined in §132.2 of this title (relating to Determination of 
Facts of Dependent Status). A person claiming to be a beneficiary under subsection (b) 
of this section shall designate all eligible parents on the claim for death benefits. An 
insurance carrier is not liable for payment to any eligible parent not designated on the 
claim for death benefits. A person claiming to be a beneficiary under subsection (b) of 
this section who is required to receive burial benefits in order to qualify as an eligible 
parent as provided in subsection (e) of this section shall also submit proof of receipt of 
burial benefits unless the claim for burial benefits is filed with the insurance carrier 
pursuant to §132.13 of this title (relating to Burial Benefits) at the same time the claim 
for death benefits is filed with the division or the claim for burial benefits has been filed 
with the insurance carrier but is still pending at the time the claim for death benefits is 
filed with the division. 

(d) The term "sibling" means a brother or sister who shares at least one parent, through
birth or adoption, with the deceased employee.

(e) For a compensable injury occurring on or after September 1, 2007 but prior to
September 1, 2009 that results in the death of the employee, the term "eligible parent"
means the mother or the father of a deceased employee, including an adoptive parent
or a stepparent, who receives burial benefits under §132.13 of this title, but does not
include a parent whose parental rights have been terminated.

(f) For a compensable injury occurring on or after September 1, 2009 that results in the
death of the employee, the term "eligible parent" means the mother or the father of a
deceased employee, including an adoptive parent or a stepparent, but does not include
a parent whose parental rights have been terminated.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.6 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023; amended to be effective October 12, 2008, 33 TexReg 8395; amended to 
be effective March 21, 2010, 35 TexReg 2191 

RULE §132.7 Duration of Death Benefits for Eligible Spouse 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a spouse who is determined
eligible for death benefits is entitled to receive benefits until the date of the spouse's
death or until remarriage. The insurance carrier shall notify the eligible spouse of the
requirements of this section within 60 days of initiating benefits to that spouse.

(b) An eligible spouse who enters into a ceremonial or informal marriage is entitled to
receive a lump-sum payment of 104 weeks of death benefits.
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(c) An eligible spouse shall notify the division and the insurance carrier in writing within
30 days of the date of remarriage. The notice shall include the name and social security
number of the deceased employee, the date of death, the workers' compensation claim
file number, and the date of remarriage.

(d) The amount of the lump-sum payment shall be calculated by multiplying the amount
paid to the spouse the week prior to the remarriage by 104. If the insurance carrier paid
any weekly benefits to the eligible spouse after the remarriage, the total amount of such
payments shall be deducted from the amount of the commuted payment.

(e) An eligible spouse who knowingly accepts death benefits after remarriage in excess
of the amount allowed by this section, and who does not notify the division or the
insurance carrier of remarriage, may be subject to administrative penalties.

(f) An eligible spouse who remarries is eligible for death benefits for life if the employee
was a first responder, as defined by Labor Code §504.055, or an individual described by
Government Code §615.003(1) or Labor Code §501.001(5)(F), who died as a result of an
injury in the course and scope of employment or while providing services as a volunteer.
Subsections (b) - (e) of this section do not apply to an eligible spouse under this
subsection. This subsection applies to:
(1) Eligible spouses of first responders, as defined by Labor Code §504.055:

(A) who remarry on or after September 1, 2017; and
(B) who remarried between September 1, 2015, and August 31, 2017, if the claim is

based on a compensable injury that occurred on or after September 1, 2015; and 
(2) Eligible spouses of individuals, as defined by Government Code §615.003(1) or

Labor Code §501.001(5)(F), who remarry on or after September 1, 2019. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.7 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023; amended to be effective March 20, 2016, 41 TexReg 1857; amended to be 
effective December 20, 2018, 43 TexReg 8125; amended to be effective September 8, 
2020, 45 TexReg 6237 

RULE §132.8 Duration of Death Benefits for an Eligible Child 

(a) A child, who is eligible to receive death benefits because the child is a minor on the
date of the employee's death, is entitled to receive benefits until the date on which the
child turns 18. However, if the child is enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited
educational institution on that date, benefits continue as described in subsection (b) of
this section.
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(b) A child, who is eligible to receive death benefits as a full-time student in an
accredited educational institution on the date of the employee's death or on the child's
18th birthday, is entitled to receive benefits until the earliest of:
(1) the date on which the child ceases, for the second consecutive semester (excluding

summer semesters), to be enrolled as a full-time student; 
(2) the date on which the child turns 25; or
(3) the date on which the child dies.

(c) The insurance carrier may request proof that a child eligible for benefits is enrolled as
a full-time student in an accredited educational institution; the child shall furnish such
proof within 20 days of receiving such request.

(d) A child, who is eligible to receive death benefits because the child had a mental or
physical handicap and was dependent on the employee because of the handicap on the
date of the employee's death, is entitled to receive benefits until the earlier of:
(1) the date on which the child is no longer handicapped; or
(2) the date on which the child dies.

(e) Once each year, the insurance carrier may request proof that a child eligible under
subsection (d) of this section is still mentally or physically handicapped. The carrier shall
pay all reasonable medical and travel related expenses incurred in obtaining the
requested proof.
(f) A child, who is otherwise eligible to receive benefits because the child was dependent
on the employee on the date of the employee's death, is entitled to receive benefits
until the earlier of:
(1) the date on which the child dies; or
(2) the expiration of 364 weeks of death benefit payments.

(g) A person who knowingly or intentionally continues to receive benefits as an eligible 
child or on behalf of an eligible child when the person is no longer entitled to receive 
them, or who knowingly fails to disclose the facts of ineligibility to the carrier or the 
commission, may be assessed administrative penalties under the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act, §10.04.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.8 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023
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RULE §132.9 Duration of Death Benefits for an Eligible Grandchild, Eligible 
Dependent, and Eligible Parent 

(a) A grandchild, who is eligible to receive death benefits and is a minor at the time of
the employee's death, is entitled to receive benefits until the earlier of:
(1) the date on which the grandchild turns 18; or
(2) the date of death of the grandchild.

(b) A grandchild, who is eligible to receive death benefits and is not a minor at the time
of the employee's death, is entitled to receive benefits until the earlier of:
(1) the date of death of the grandchild; or
(2) the expiration of 364 weeks of death benefit payments.

(c) Any other dependent, including a parent, stepparent, sibling, or grandparent of the
deceased employee, who is entitled to death benefits shall receive benefits until the
earlier of:
(1) the date of death of the beneficiary; or
(2) the expiration of 364 weeks of death benefit payments.

(d) An eligible parent who is entitled to receive death benefits shall receive benefits until
the earlier of:
(1) the date the eligible parent dies; or
(2) the date of the expiration of 104 weeks of death benefit payments.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.9 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023; amended to be effective October 12, 2008, 33 TexReg 8395 

RULE §132.10 Payment of Death Benefits to the Subsequent Injury Fund 

(a) If a compensable death occurs and the carrier's investigation, as described in §132.17
of this title (relating to Denial, Dispute, and Payment of Death Benefits), has confirmed
that the deceased employee has no legal beneficiaries, or if a claim for death benefits is
not made in a timely manner, the insurance carrier shall, without order from the
Commission, pay to the administrator of the Subsequent Injury Fund (SIF) an amount
equal to 364 weeks of death benefits for deposit in the SIF. This payment shall be
accompanied by the Employer's First Report of Injury and the Wage Statement.

(b) If, after a carrier has paid death benefits to all legal beneficiaries, all legal
beneficiaries cease to be eligible to receive death benefits prior to the carrier paying a
full 364 weeks of benefits, the carrier shall, without order from the Commission, pay the
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remainder of the 364 weeks of death benefits to the administrator of the SIF. The 
remainder to be paid to the SIF shall be computed by subtracting the total amount paid, 
including any applicable remarriage payment, from the 364 weeks of death benefits that 
the carrier is required to pay. This payment shall be accompanied by the Employer's First 
Report of Injury, the Wage Statement, a detailed payment record showing the dates of 
payments, the amounts of the payments, the payees, the periods of benefits paid, and 
any other documentation reasonably required by the SIF administrator. 
 
(c) The payments required by subsections (a) and (b) shall be made no later than the 
seventh day after the latest of: 
  (1) the day that there has been final adjudication that a death is compensable and/or 
that the carrier is liable for death benefits (if a denial of compensability or liability had 
been filed in accordance with §132.17 and §124.2 of this title (relating to Carrier 
Reporting and Notification Requirements and Denials)); 
  (2) the sixtieth day after the carrier received written notice of the injury; 
  (3) one year after the date of the employee's death, if no claims of beneficiary 
entitlement have been made; 
  (4) the day that beneficiary entitlement disputes are finally adjudicated with the 
beneficiary being found to not be entitled to death benefits; or 
  (5) the day that all previously eligible beneficiaries are no longer eligible to receive 
death benefits. 
 
(d) If a carrier has denied compensability of or liability for a death pursuant to §124.2 of 
this title and §132.17, and no claim of entitlement has been filed by a potential 
beneficiary by the 60th day after the date the carrier received written notice of the 
injury/death, the carrier shall provide to the SIF administrator within 14 days: copies of 
all reports, notices, witness statements, and investigation notes relating to the 
compensability of the death or the carrier's liability for payment of death benefits. 
 
(e) If a carrier has disputed compensability of or liability for a death and no claim of 
entitlement has been filed by a potential beneficiary by the 60th day after the date the 
carrier received written notice of the injury, the SIF may pursue the issue of 
compensability or liability through dispute resolution. 
 
(f) The carrier may elect to commute the amount to be paid under subsections (a) and 
(b) in a lump sum payment. If the carrier does not elect to commute benefits, the 
Commission may order that the death benefits payable to the SIF be commuted to a 
lump sum payment. The amount of a commuted payment shall be discounted at the 
rate established under §401.023 of the Act compounded annually. 
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(g) If, after the carrier has paid the death benefits to the SIF, a beneficiary makes a claim
for death benefits which the carrier accepts or a final award of the Commission or the
final judgment of a court of competent jurisdiction determines that the beneficiary is
entitled to the death benefits, the carrier shall pay benefits in accordance with the award
or order and request a refund for the amount overpaid to the SIF as provided in §116.11
(relating to Request for Reimbursement or Refund from the Subsequent Injury Fund).
(h) If no claim for death benefits is filed with the Commission on or before the first
anniversary of the death of the employee and the carrier's investigation has confirmed
that the deceased has no legal beneficiaries, it shall be presumed, for the purpose of this
section and §403.007 of the Act only, that no legal beneficiary survived the deceased
employee.

(i) The presumption created under subsection (h) of this section does not apply against
a minor beneficiary, or an incompetent beneficiary for whom no guardian has been
appointed.

(j) The SIF as a potential beneficiary in the case of any fatality may bring or enter into
any dispute as a party.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.10 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2106 

RULE §132.11 Distribution of Death Benefits 

(a) All of the death benefits shall be paid to the eligible spouse if the deceased
employee had no eligible children or eligible grandchildren.

(b) Death benefits shall be paid in equal shares to each eligible child per capita and to
each eligible grandchild per stirpes if there is no eligible spouse.

(c) If there is an eligible spouse and an eligible child or eligible grandchild, half of the
death benefits shall be paid to the eligible spouse. The remaining half shall be paid:
(1) if there are no eligible grandchildren, in equal shares to the eligible children;
(2) if there are no eligible children, per stirpes to the eligible grandchildren; or
(3) if there are eligible children and eligible grandchildren, the eligible children shall be

paid equal shares per capita and the eligible grandchildren shall be paid per stirpes. 

(d) If there is no eligible spouse, child, or grandchild, the death benefits shall be paid in
equal shares to any surviving dependents of the deceased employee who are parents,
siblings, or grandparents of the deceased. The amount to be paid to each surviving
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dependent shall be calculated by dividing the weekly death benefit by the number of 
surviving dependents. 

(e) If there is no eligible spouse, no eligible child, and no eligible grandchild, and there
are no surviving dependents of the deceased employee who are parents, siblings, or
grandparents of the deceased, the death benefits shall be paid in equal shares to
surviving eligible parents. The amount paid may not exceed one payment per household
and total payments may not exceed 104 weeks regardless of the number of surviving
eligible parents.

(f) If the deceased employee has no legal beneficiaries as defined by the rules and the
Texas Workers' Compensation Act, the death benefits shall be paid to the subsequent
injury fund, as set out in §132.10 of this title (relating to Payment of Death Benefits to
the Subsequent Injury Fund).

(g) The term "per stirpes" means that the grandchildren shall be entitled to share in only
the amount of benefits that the parent of those grandchildren would have received had
the parent been alive or otherwise eligible to receive death benefits.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.11 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023; amended to be effective October 12, 2008, 33 TexReg 8395; amended to 
be effective March 21, 2010, 35 TexReg 2191 

RULE §132.12 Redistribution of Death Benefits 

(a) Death benefits shall be redistributed if a legal beneficiary dies or becomes ineligible
to receive benefits. The benefits shall be redistributed to the remaining legal
beneficiaries eligible to receive death benefits at the time of death of the employee.

(b) If an eligible spouse becomes disqualified from continued payment of death benefits
because of remarriage, the amount of benefits paid to each remaining legal beneficiary
shall remain the same for 104 weeks. At the expiration of 104 weeks, the amount of
benefits paid to each remaining legal beneficiary shall be recalculated as provided in
§132.11 of this title (relating to Distribution of Death Benefits).

(c) If 364 weeks of death benefit payments have not been paid and the only remaining
legal beneficiary is the subsequent injury fund, the insurance carrier shall pay any
remaining amounts to the subsequent injury fund in accordance with §132.10 of this
title (relating to Payment of Death Benefits to the Subsequent Injury Fund).
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(d) In no case shall the insurance carrier pay an amount less than the weekly death 
benefit multiplied by 364, taking into consideration the discount rate set out in the 
Texas Workers' Compensation Act, §1.04, for a commuted payment to the subsequent 
injury fund in subsection (c) of this section.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.12 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023

RULE §132.13 Burial Benefits 

(a) When an employee has died as the result of a compensable injury, a person claiming
burial benefits shall file a request for payment of burial benefits and the bills showing
the amount of burial and transportation costs incurred. The request and the
documentation shall be filed with the insurance carrier within 12 months of the date of
death of the employee.

(b) The person who incurred liability for the costs of burial is entitled to receive the
lesser of:
(1) the actual costs incurred for reasonable burial expenses; or
(2) $2,500--if burial benefits are paid based on a compensable injury that occurs before

September 1, 1999; or 
(3) $6,000--if burial benefits are paid based on a compensable injury that occurs on or

after September 1, 1999 and before September 1, 2015; or 
(4) $10,000--if burial benefits are paid based on a compensable injury that occurs on or

after September 1, 2015. 

(c) The person who incurred liability for the costs of transporting the body of the
employee is entitled to be reimbursed for the reasonable cost of transportation if the
employee died away from the usual place of employment. The insurance carrier's
liability for transportation costs under this subsection shall not exceed the cost
equivalent to transporting the body from the place the employee died to the
employee's usual place of employment.

(d) The insurance carrier shall review each claim for burial benefits. The insurance carrier
must either pay or deny the claim within seven days of the date the claim was received
by the carrier. If the claim is denied, the insurance carrier must notify the person
claiming burial benefits and the division in writing of its denial and the facts supporting

the denial. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §132.13 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023; amended to be effective December 26, 1999, 24 TexReg 11452; amended 
to be effective March 20, 2016, 41 TexReg 1857 

RULE §132.14 Autopsy 

(a) In a claim for death benefits based on an occupational disease, an autopsy may be
requested by:
(1) an insurance carrier or the commission; or
(2) any legal beneficiary if the claim for benefits is denied.

(b) The request shall be submitted in writing to the commission with a copy delivered to
every other party. Any party that disputes the need for an autopsy shall request, within
10 days after an autopsy is requested, a contested case hearing in accordance with the
Texas Workers' Compensation Act, §6.31. A benefit review conference is not required
before the hearing is held.

(c) After opportunity for a hearing, the commission may order the legal beneficiaries of
the deceased employee to permit an autopsy if an autopsy is deemed necessary to
determine the cause of the employee's death.
(d) If an autopsy is ordered, a legal beneficiary is entitled to have a representative
present at the autopsy.

(e) The insurance carrier shall pay the costs of an autopsy ordered under this rule.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.14 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023

RULE §132.15 Definitions 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Accredited educational institution--An institution which provides a recognized 
course or courses of instruction and leads to the conference of a diploma, degree, or 
other recognized certification of completion at the conclusion of the course of study. 
The definition may include, but is not limited to, high schools, colleges and universities, 
and trade schools. 
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(2) Full-time student--A person enrolled in at least the minimum course load required 
to qualify as full-time at the particular educational institution and in the particular 
course of study. 
(3) Semester--The periods by which the educational institution divides its academic 

year. 

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.15 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7023

RULE §132.16 Change in Payment Periods; Purchase of Annuity for Death Benefits 

(a) Upon the request of the eligible beneficiaries, the insurance carrier and eligible 
beneficiaries entitled to death benefits may agree to change the frequency of death 
benefits payments from the standard weekly period to a monthly period. The agreement 
to change the payment frequency must be in writing. To relieve the insurance carrier of 
the responsibility to pay death benefits weekly:
(1) An application to change the frequency of payments must be submitted to the

Commission with the written agreement for approval in the form, format and manner 
required by the Commission 
(2) A separate application must be submitted to the Commission for each eligible 

beneficiary, and the application must state that a payment adjustment shall be made 
when there is a change in the individual beneficiary's eligibility status in accordance with 
the provisions of the Act. 
(3) If less than the maximum weekly death benefit in effect at the time of death is 

being paid, a completed Employer's Wage Statement (Form TWCC-3) must be filed with 
the application to change the payment period. 
(4) The written agreement for monthly payment of death benefits must include:

(A) the agreement for the monthly payment of death benefits will be effective the first
calendar day of the month following the month in which the written agreement was 
approved by the Commission; 

(B) payment of monthly death benefits shall be issued on or before the seventh day of
the month for which benefits are due. 

(C) continuation of weekly death benefits payments through the end of the month in
which the agreement was approved; 

(D) payment of the last week of death benefits to transition from weekly payment of
death benefits to monthly payments shall be prorated to the end of the month to 
ensure the eligible beneficiaries receives death benefits through the last day of the 
month; and 

(E) calculation of the monthly compensation rate by multiplying the weekly
compensation rate by 4.34821. 
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  (5) The Commission must approve the application to change the frequency of death 
benefit payments. 
 
(b) With the exception of payments made by annuity under subsection (d)(7) of this 
section, at any time after signing the agreement for the monthly payment of death 
benefits, the eligible beneficiary or insurance carrier may notify the other party in writing 
that it no longer agrees to the monthly payment of death benefits. The last monthly 
payment shall be prorated to ensure the insurance carrier pays the appropriate amount 
of DBs. In this case, the insurance carrier shall pay all accrued but unpaid death benefits 
at the end of the current monthly cycle and shall continue to pay death benefits weekly 
as and when they accrue and are due. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier and an eligible beneficiary may enter into a written agreement 
that the carrier shall purchase an annuity for that beneficiary for weekly or monthly 
payment of death benefits. An application for payment of death benefits by annuity 
must be submitted to the Commission for approval in the form, format and manner 
required by the Commission. If less than the maximum weekly death benefit in effect at 
the time of death is being paid, a completed Employer's Wage Statement (Form TWCC-
3) must be filed with the application for payment by annuity. 
(d) An annuity for the payment of death benefits shall meet the following terms and 
conditions. 
  (1) Monthly death benefit payments shall be initiated no later than the 45th day after 
the date on in which the written agreement was approved by the Commission. 
  (2) The company providing an annuity for the payment of death benefits must be 
licensed to do business in Texas and must have a current A. M. Best rating of B+ or 
better or have a Standard & Poor's rating of claims paying ability of A or better. 
  (3) The workers' compensation insurance carrier must guarantee the payments 
provided by the annuity company in the event of default. 
  (4) When benefits are paid to an eligible spouse of the deceased employee and the 
spouse subsequently remarries, the annuity contract must address the payment of a 
lump sum payment equal to 104 weeks of benefits to the eligible spouse and the 
redistribution of benefits at the end of 104 weeks to the remaining eligible beneficiaries, 
if any. 
  (5) If all beneficiaries become ineligible to receive death benefits and an amount equal 
to 364 weeks of death benefits has not been paid, the remaining benefits shall be paid 
by the annuity company without an order from the Commission to the Subsequent 
Injury Fund not later than 30 days after all beneficiaries' eligibility ends. 
  (6) A beneficiary, or the beneficiary's guardian if applicable, shall not be allowed to 
assign the right to receive death benefits from an annuity. All death benefits must be 
paid to the order of the eligible beneficiary or the legal guardian, if applicable. 
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(7) The annuity company shall pay death benefits either weekly or monthly as elected
by the beneficiary in the application for payment of death benefits by annuity. 
(8) If monthly payments are elected by the beneficiary, the transition from weekly to

monthly benefits paid by annuity shall be the same as that for death benefits paid by 
the responsible insurance carrier set out in subsection (a) of this section. 
(e) This section applies only to agreements entered into on or after January 1, 2000, for
payment of death benefits under the provisions of the Act.

Source Note: The provisions of this §132.16 adopted to be effective December 26, 1999, 
24 TexReg 11452 

RULE §132.17 Denial, Dispute, and Payment of Death Benefits 

(a) Upon being notified of a death resulting from an injury, the insurance carrier (carrier)
shall: investigate whether the death was a result of the injury and, if the carrier has not
already done so in compliance with §124.3 of this title (relating to Investigation of an
Injury and Notice of Denial/Dispute) due to the injury being reported separately,
conduct an investigation relating to the compensability of the death, the carrier's
liability for the death, and the accrual of benefits. The carrier shall have 60 days from
notification of the death or from written notice of the injury that resulted in the death
(whichever is greater) to conduct its investigation.
(b) If the carrier believes that it is not liable for the death or that the death was not
compensable, the carrier shall file the notice of denial of a claim (notice of denial) in the
form and manner required by §124.2 of this title (relating to Carrier Reporting and
Notification Requirements). If the notice of denial is not filed by the 60th day as
required, the carrier may not raise an issue of compensability or liability and is liable for
any benefits that accrued and shall initiate benefits in accordance with this section.
(c) A carrier that is made aware of a death under subsection (a) of this section shall
attempt to identify all potential beneficiaries, other than the subsequent injury fund
(SIF), and the carrier shall maintain documentation relating to its attempt to identify
potential beneficiaries.
(d) A carrier that identifies or becomes aware of a potential beneficiary shall notify the
potential beneficiary of potential entitlement to benefits, using a plain language notice
containing language and content prescribed by the Commission. This notice shall be
sent within seven days of the date the carrier identified or was otherwise made aware of
the identity and means of contacting the potential beneficiary.
(e) If the carrier receives a claim for death benefits in accordance with §122.100 of this
title (relating to Claim for Death Benefits), the carrier shall review the evidence provided
by the beneficiary to determine whether the person is entitled to death benefits as
provided in §132.2 through §132.6 of this title (relating to Determination of Facts of
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Dependent Status; Eligibility of Spouse to Receive Death Benefits; Eligibility of a Child to 
Receive Death Benefits; Eligibility of a Grandchild to Receive Death Benefits; Eligibility of 
Other Surviving Dependents to Receive Death Benefits). 
(f) If the carrier believes the claimant is eligible to receive death benefits, the carrier shall 
begin payment of death benefits. If the carrier believes that the claimant is not eligible 
to receive death benefits, the carrier shall file the notice of dispute of eligibility (notice 
of dispute) in the form and manner required by §124.2 of this title (relating to Carrier 
Reporting and Notification Requirements). 
  (1) The carrier shall either begin the payment of death benefits or file the notice of 
dispute not later than the 15th day after the latest of: 
    (A) receiving the claim for death benefits; 
    (B) final adjudication of the carrier's denial of compensability or liability under §124.2 
and subsection (b) of this section; or 
    (C) the expiration of the carrier's right to deny compensability/liability under 
subsection (a) of this section. 
  (2) If the notice of dispute is not filed within 15 days as required, the carrier is liable for 
and shall pay all benefits that had accrued and were payable prior to the date the carrier 
files the notice of dispute and only then is the carrier permitted to suspend payment of 
benefits. 
(g) If the carrier has filed a notice of denial prior to receipt of a claim for death benefits, 
the carrier shall provide a copy of the previously filed notice of denial to the claimant 
within seven days of receipt of the claim for death benefits. 
(h) The 15-day timeframe provided for in subsection (f) of this section applies only to 
claims for benefits based on compensable injuries that occurred on or after September 
1, 2003. For claims based on compensable injuries that occurred prior to September 1, 
2003, the applicable timeframe in subsection (f) of this section is seven days. 
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TITLE 28  INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 133 GENERAL MEDICAL PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER A GENERAL RULES FOR MEDICAL BILLING AND PROCESSING 
 
RULE §133.1 Applicability of Medical Billing and Processing 
 
(a) This chapter applies to medical billing and processing for health care services 
provided to injured employees subject to a workers' compensation health care network 
established under Insurance Code Chapter 1305, and to injured employees not subject 
to such networks, with the following exceptions pertaining only to health care services 
provided to an injured employee subject to a workers' compensation health care 
network established under Chapter 1305: 
  (1) Subchapter D of this chapter (relating to Dispute of Medical Bills); 
  (2) §133.210(f) of this chapter (relating to Medical Documentation); and 
  (3) §133.240(b) and (i) of this chapter (relating to Medical Payments and Denials). 
 
(b) This chapter applies to all health care provided on or after May 2, 2006. For health 
care provided prior to May 2, 2006, medical billing and processing shall be in 
accordance with the rules in effect at the time the health care was provided. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.1 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544 
 
RULE §133.2 Definitions 
 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
 
  (1) Adverse determination--A determination by a utilization review agent made on 
behalf of a payor that the health care services provided or proposed to be provided to 
an injured employee are not medically necessary or appropriate. The term does not 
include a denial of health care services due to the failure to request prospective or 
concurrent utilization review. An adverse determination does not include a 
determination that health care services are experimental or investigational. 
 
  (2) Agent--A person whom a system participant utilizes or contracts with for the 
purpose of providing claims service or fulfilling medical bill processing obligations under 
Labor Code, Title 5 and rules. The system participant who utilizes or contracts with the 
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agent may also be responsible for the administrative violations of that agent. This 
definition does not apply to "agent" as used in the term "pharmacy processing agent." 
 
  (3) Bill review--Review of any aspect of a medical bill, including retrospective review, in 
accordance with the Labor Code, the Insurance Code, division or department rules, and 
the appropriate fee and treatment guidelines. 
 
  (4) Complete medical bill--A medical bill that contains all required fields as set forth in 
the billing instructions for the appropriate form specified in §133.10 of this chapter 
(relating to Required Billing Forms/Formats), or as specified for electronic medical bills 
in §133.500 of this chapter (relating to Electronic Formats for Electronic Medical Bill 
Processing). 
 
  (5) Emergency--Either a medical or mental health emergency as follows: 
    (A) a medical emergency is the sudden onset of a medical condition manifested by 
acute symptoms of sufficient severity, including severe pain, that the absence of 
immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in: 
      (i) placing the patient's health or bodily functions in serious jeopardy, or 
      (ii) serious dysfunction of any body organ or part; 
    (B) a mental health emergency is a condition that could reasonably be expected to 
present danger to the person experiencing the mental health condition or another 
person. 
 
  (6) Final action on a medical bill-- 
    (A) sending a payment that makes the total reimbursement for that bill a fair and 
reasonable reimbursement in accordance with §134.1 of this title (relating to Medical 
Reimbursement); and/or 
    (B) denying a charge on the medical bill. 
 
  (7) Pharmacy processing agent--A person or entity that contracts with a pharmacy in 
accordance with Labor Code §413.0111, establishing an agent or assignee relationship, 
to process claims and act on behalf of the pharmacy under the terms and conditions of 
a contract related to services being billed. Such contracts may permit the agent or 
assignee to submit billings, request reconsideration, receive reimbursement, and seek 
medical dispute resolution for the pharmacy services billed. 
 
  (8) Reasonable opportunity--At least one documented good faith attempt to contact 
the provider of record that provides an opportunity for the provider of record to discuss 
the services under review with the utilization review agent during normal business hours 
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prior to issuing a prospective, concurrent, or retrospective utilization review adverse 
determination: 
    (A) no less than one working day prior to issuing a prospective utilization review 
adverse determination; 
    (B) no less than five working days prior to issuing a retrospective utilization review 
adverse determination; or 
    (C) prior to issuing a concurrent or post-stabilization review adverse determination. 
 
  (9) Retrospective utilization review--A form of utilization review for health care services 
that have been provided to an injured employee. Retrospective utilization review does 
not include review of services for which prospective or concurrent utilization reviews 
were previously conducted or should have been previously conducted. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.2 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544; amended to be effective July 27, 2008, 33 TexReg 5701; amended to be 
effective July 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 2408; amended to be effective March 30, 2014, 39 
TexReg 2095 
 
RULE §133.3 Communication Between Health Care Providers and Insurance 
Carriers 
 
(a) Any communication between the health care provider and insurance carrier related 
to medical bill processing shall be of sufficient, specific detail to allow the responder to 
easily identify the information required to resolve the issue or question related to the 
medical bill. Generic statements that simply state a conclusion such as "insurance carrier 
improperly reduced the bill" or "health care provider did not document" or other similar 
phrases with no further description of the factual basis for the sender's position does 
not satisfy the requirements of this section. 
 
(b) Communication between the health care provider and insurance carrier related to 
medical bill processing shall be made by telephone or electronic transmission unless the 
information cannot be sent by those media, in which case the sender shall send the 
information by mail or personal delivery. 
(c) Health care providers and insurance carriers shall maintain, in a reproducible format, 
documentation of communications related to medical bill processing. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.3 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544 
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RULE §133.4 Written Notification to Health Care Providers of Contractual 
Agreements for Informal and Voluntary Networks 
 
(a) Applicability. This section applies to health care services that are rendered between 
August 1, 2008, and December 31, 2010, pursuant to an informal network or voluntary 
network fee agreement with a health care provider in accordance with Labor Code 
§413.011 and §413.0115. 
 
(b) Person. Under this section "person" is defined as an individual, partnership, 
corporation, hospital district, insurance carrier, organization, business trust, estate trust, 
association, limited liability company, limited liability partnership or other entity to 
whom an informal network or voluntary network's fee arrangement with a health care 
provider is sold, leased, transferred, or conveyed on behalf of an insurance carrier. This 
term does not include an injured employee. 
 
(c) Required Notice. Each informal network or voluntary network, or the insurance 
carrier, or the insurance carrier's authorized agent, as appropriate, shall notify each 
affected health care provider of any person that is given access to the informal or 
voluntary network's fee arrangement with that health care provider within the time and 
manner provided by this section. 
 
(d) Notice. Notice to each contracted health care provider: 
  (1) must include the contact information for the informal or voluntary network, 
including, but not limited to, the name, physical address, and a toll-free telephone 
number accessible to all contracted health care providers; 
  (2) must include the following information in the body of the notice: 
    (A) name, physical address, and telephone number of any person that is given access 
to the informal or voluntary network's fee arrangement with a health care provider; and 
    (B) the start date and any end date during which any person has been given access to 
the health care provider's contracted fee arrangement. 
  (3) may be provided in an electronic format provided a paper version is available upon 
request by the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
(Division); and 
  (4) may be provided through a website link only if the website: 
    (A) contains the information stated in paragraphs (1), (2)(A) and (2)(B) of this 
subsection; and 
    (B) is updated at least monthly with current and correct information. 
 
(e) Documentation. The informal or voluntary network, insurance carrier, or the 
insurance carrier's authorized agent, as appropriate, shall document the information 
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provided in the notice as required by subsection (d) of this section, the method of 
delivery, to whom the notice was delivered, and the date of delivery. For the purpose of 
this section, a notice is determined to be delivered in accordance with §102.4(p) of this 
title (relating to General Rules for Non-Commission Communications). Failure to provide 
documentation upon the request of the Division or failure to provide notice that 
complies with the requirements of Labor Code §413.011 and this section creates a 
rebuttable presumption in a Division enforcement action and in a medical fee dispute 
that the health care provider did not receive the notification. 
 
(f) Time of notification. Under this section: 
  (1) for contracts with health care providers in effect on August 1, 2008, initial 
notification must be made no later than November 1, 2008, and subsequent notices 
provided to health care providers in accordance with this section thereafter on a 
quarterly basis; and 
  (2) for contracts with health care providers entered into after August 1, 2008, initial 
notification must be made no later than the 30th day after the effective date of the 
contract and subsequent notices provided to health care providers in accordance with 
this section thereafter on a quarterly basis. 
 
(g) Noncompliance. The insurance carrier is not entitled to pay a health care provider at 
a contracted fee negotiated by an informal network or voluntary network if: 
  (1) the notice to the health care provider does not meet the requirements of Labor 
Code §413.011 and this section; or 
  (2) there are no required contracts in accordance with Labor Code §413.011(d-1) and 
§413.0115. 
(h) Application of Division Fee Guideline. If the insurance carrier is not entitled to pay a 
health care provider at a contracted rate as outlined in subsection (g) of this section and 
as provided in Labor Code §413.011(d-1), the Division fee guidelines will apply pursuant 
to §134.1(e)(1) of this title (relating to Medical Reimbursement), or, in the absence of an 
applicable Division fee guideline, reimbursement will be based on fair and reasonable 
reimbursement pursuant to §134.1(e)(3) of this title. 
(i) Administrative Violations. If notice to the health care provider does not meet the 
requirements of this section, the insurance carrier may be held liable for administrative 
violations in accordance with Labor Code provisions and Division rules. 
 
(j) Severability Clause. If a court of competent jurisdiction holds that any provision of 
this section is inconsistent with any statutes of this state, are unconstitutional, or are 
invalid for any reason, the remaining provisions of this section shall remain in full effect. 
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(k) Expiration. In accordance with §413.011(d-6), the provisions of this rule shall expire 
on January 1, 2011. This section will continue to apply to health care services that were 
rendered between August 1, 2008, and December 31, 2010, pursuant to an informal 
network or voluntary network fee agreement with a health care provider. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.4 adopted to be effective July 27, 2008, 33 
TexReg 5701 
 
RULE §133.5 Informal Network and Voluntary Network Reporting Requirements to 
the Division 
 
(a) Reporting Requirement. Each informal network and voluntary network must provide 
the following information to the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' 
Compensation (Division): 
  (1) the informal network or voluntary network's name and federal employer 
identification number (FEIN); 
  (2) an executive contact for official correspondence for the informal network or 
voluntary network; 
  (3) a toll-free telephone number by which a health care provider may contact the 
informal network or voluntary network; 
  (4) a list of each insurance carrier with whom the informal network or voluntary 
network contracts, including the insurance carrier's FEIN; and 
  (5) a list of each entity or insurance carrier agent associated with the informal or 
voluntary network working on behalf of the insurance carrier, including contact 
information for each entity. 
 
(b) Reporting Format. Reports, including changes, must be submitted through the 
Division's on-line reporting system accessible through the Division's website at 
www.tdi.state.tx.us. 
 
(c) Reporting Timeframe. Each informal network and voluntary network that has a 
contract with an insurance carrier or an insurance carrier's authorized agent in effect on 
September 1, 2007, must report to the Division in accordance with this section no later 
than August 1, 2008. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, informal and 
voluntary networks must report to the Division no later than the 30th day after the 
effective date of a contract signed with an insurance carrier or an insurance carrier's 
authorized agent. 
 
(d) Reporting Changes. Each informal and voluntary network shall report any changes to 
the information provided under subsection (a) of this section to the Division not later 
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than the 30th day after the effective date of the change in accordance with Labor Code 
§413.0115 and this section. 
 
 
(e) Administrative Violations. If the informal and voluntary network report does not meet 
the requirements of Labor Code §413.0115 and this section, the informal or voluntary 
network may be held liable for any administrative violations. 
 
(f) Expiration. The provisions of this rule shall expire on January 1, 2011. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.5 adopted to be effective July 27, 2008, 33 
TexReg 5701 
 
SUBCHAPTER B HEALTH CARE PROVIDER BILLING PROCEDURES 
 
RULE §133.10 Required Billing Forms/Formats 
 
(a) Health care providers, including those providing services for a certified workers' 
compensation health care network as defined in Insurance Code Chapter 1305 or to 
political subdivisions with contractual relationships under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2), 
shall submit medical bills for payment in an electronic format in accordance with 
§133.500 and §133.501 of this title (relating to Electronic Formats for Electronic Medical 
Bill Processing and Electronic Medical Bill Processing), unless the health care provider or 
the billed insurance carrier is exempt from the electronic billing process in accordance 
with §133.501 of this title. 
 
(b) Except as provided in subsection (a) of this section, health care providers, including 
those providing services for a certified workers' compensation health care network as 
defined in Insurance Code Chapter 1305 or to political subdivisions with contractual 
relationships under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2), shall submit paper medical bills for 
payment on: 
  (1) the 1500 Health Insurance Claim Form Version 02/12 (CMS-1500); 
  (2) the Uniform Bill 04 (UB-04); or 
  (3) applicable forms prescribed for pharmacists, dentists, and surgical implant 
providers specified in subsections (c), (d) and (e) of this section. 
 
(c) Pharmacists and pharmacy processing agents shall submit bills using the Division 
form DWC-066. A pharmacist or pharmacy processing agent may submit bills using an 
alternate billing form if: 
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  (1) the insurance carrier has approved the alternate billing form prior to submission by 
the pharmacist or pharmacy processing agent; and 
  (2) the alternate billing form provides all information required on the Division form 
DWC-066. 
 
(d) Dentists shall submit bills for dental services using the 2006 American Dental 
Association (ADA) Dental Claim form. 
 
(e) Surgical implant providers requesting separate reimbursement for implantable 
devices shall submit bills using: 
  (1) the form prescribed in subsection (b)(1) of this section when the implantable device 
reimbursement is sought under §134.402 of this title (relating to Ambulatory Surgical 
Center Fee Guideline); or 
  (2) the form prescribed in subsection (b)(2) of this section when the implantable device 
reimbursement is sought under §134.403 or §134.404 of this title (relating to Hospital 
Facility Fee Guideline--Outpatient and Hospital Facility Fee Guideline--Inpatient). 
 
(f) All information submitted on required paper billing forms must be legible and 
completed in accordance with this section. The parenthetical information following each 
term in this section refers to the applicable paper medical billing form and the field 
number corresponding to the medical billing form. 
  (1) The following data content or data elements are required for a complete 
professional or noninstitutional medical bill related to Texas workers' compensation 
health care: 
    (A) patient's Social Security Number (CMS-1500/field 1a) is required; 
    (B) patient's name (CMS-1500/field 2) is required; 
    (C) patient's date of birth and gender (CMS-1500/field 3) is required; 
    (D) employer's name (CMS-1500/field 4) is required; 
    (E) patient's address (CMS-1500/field 5) is required; 
    (F) patient's relationship to subscriber (CMS-1500, field 6) is required; 
    (G) employer's address (CMS-1500, field 7) is required; 
    (H) workers' compensation claim number assigned by the insurance carrier (CMS-
1500/field 11) is required when known, the billing provider shall leave the field blank if 
the workers' compensation claim number is not known by the billing provider; 
    (I) date of injury and "431" qualifier (CMS-1500, field 14) are required; 
    (J) name of referring provider or other source is required when another health care 
provider referred the patient for the services; No qualifier indicating the role of the 
provider is required (CMS-1500, field 17); 
    (K) referring provider's state license number (CMS-1500/field 17a) is required when 
there is a referring doctor listed in CMS-1500/field 17; the billing provider shall enter the 
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'0B' qualifier and the license type, license number, and jurisdiction code (for example, 
'MDF1234TX'); 
    (L) referring provider's National Provider Identifier (NPI) number (CMS-1500/field 17b) 
is required when CMS-1500/field 17 contains the name of a health care provider eligible 
to receive an NPI number; 
    (M) diagnosis or nature of injury (CMS-1500/field 21) is required, at least one 
diagnosis code and the applicable ICD indicator must be present; 
    (N) prior authorization number (CMS-1500/field 23) is required when 
preauthorization, concurrent review or voluntary certification was approved and the 
insurance carrier provided an approval number to the requesting health care provider; 
    (O) date(s) of service (CMS-1500, field 24A) is required; 
    (P) place of service code(s) (CMS-1500, field 24B) is required; 
    (Q) procedure/modifier code (CMS-1500, field 24D) is required; 
    (R) diagnosis pointer (CMS-1500, field 24E) is required; 
    (S) charges for each listed service (CMS-1500, field 24F) is required; 
    (T) number of days or units (CMS-1500, field 24G) is required; 
    (U) rendering provider's state license number (CMS-1500/field 24j, shaded portion) is 
required when the rendering provider is not the billing provider listed in CMS-1500/field 
33; the billing provider shall enter the '0B' qualifier and the license type, license number, 
and jurisdiction code (for example, 'MDF1234TX'); 
    (V) rendering provider's NPI number (CMS-1500/field 24j, unshaded portion) is 
required when the rendering provider is not the billing provider listed in CMS-1500/field 
33 and the rendering provider is eligible for an NPI number; 
    (W) supplemental information (shaded portion of CMS-1500/fields 24d - 24h) is 
required when the provider is requesting separate reimbursement for surgically 
implanted devices or when additional information is necessary to adjudicate payment 
for the related service line; 
    (X) billing provider's federal tax ID number (CMS-1500/field 25) is required; 
    (Y) total charge (CMS-1500/field 28) is required; 
    (Z) signature of physician or supplier, the degrees or credentials, and the date (CMS-
1500/field 31) is required, but the signature may be represented with a notation that the 
signature is on file and the typed name of the physician or supplier; 
    (AA) service facility location information (CMS-1500/field 32) is required; 
    (BB) service facility NPI number (CMS-1500/field 32a) is required when the facility is 
eligible for an NPI number; 
    (CC) billing provider name, address and telephone number (CMS-1500/field 33) is 
required; 
    (DD) billing provider's NPI number (CMS-1500/Field 33a) is required when the billing 
provider is eligible for an NPI number; and 

Updated January 4, 2024 218



    (EE) billing provider's state license number (CMS-1500/field 33b) is required when the 
billing provider has a state license number; the billing provider shall enter the '0B' 
qualifier and the license type, license number, and jurisdiction code (for example, 
'MDF1234TX'). 
  (2) The following data content or data elements are required for a complete 
institutional medical bill related to Texas workers' compensation health care: 
    (A) billing provider's name, address, and telephone number (UB-04/field 01) is 
required; 
    (B) patient control number (UB-04/field 03a) is required; 
    (C) type of bill (UB-04/field 04) is required; 
    (D) billing provider's federal tax ID number (UB-04/field 05) is required; 
    (E) statement covers period (UB-04/field 06) is required; 
    (F) patient's name (UB-04/field 08) is required; 
    (G) patient's address (UB-04/field 09) is required; 
    (H) patient's date of birth (UB-04/field 10) is required; 
    (I) patient's gender (UB-04/field 11) is required; 
    (J) date of admission (UB-04/field 12) is required when billing for inpatient services; 
    (K) admission hour (UB-04/field 13) is required when billing for inpatient services 
other than skilled nursing inpatient services; 
    (L) priority (type) of admission or visit (UB-04/field 14) is required; 
    (M) point of origin for admission or visit (UB-04/field 15) is required; 
    (N) discharge hour (UB-04/field 16) is required when billing for inpatient services with 
a frequency code of "1" or "4" other than skilled nursing inpatient services; 
    (O) patient discharge status (UB-04/field 17) is required; 
    (P) condition codes (UB-04/fields 18 - 28) are required when there is a condition code 
that applies to the medical bill; 
    (Q) occurrence codes and dates (UB-04/fields 31 - 34) are required when there is an 
occurrence code that applies to the medical bill; 
    (R) occurrence span codes and dates (UB-04/fields 35 and 36) are required when 
there is an occurrence span code that applies to the medical bill; 
    (S) value codes and amounts (UB-04/fields 39 - 41) are required when there is a value 
code that applies to the medical bill; 
    (T) revenue codes (UB-04/field 42) are required; 
    (U) revenue description (UB-04/field 43) is required; 
    (V) HCPCS/Rates (UB-04/field 44): 
      (i) HCPCS codes are required when billing for outpatient services and an appropriate 
HCPCS code exists for the service line item; and 
      (ii) accommodation rates are required when a room and board revenue code is 
reported; 
    (W) service date (UB-04/field 45) is required when billing for outpatient services; 
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    (X) service units (UB-04/field 46) is required; 
    (Y) total charge (UB-04/field 47) is required; 
    (Z) date bill submitted, page numbers, and total charges (UB-04/field 45/line 23) is 
required; 
     (AA) insurance carrier name (UB-04/field 50) is required; 
    (BB) billing provider NPI number (UB-04/field 56) is required when the billing provider 
is eligible to receive an NPI number; 
     (CC) billing provider's state license number (UB-04/field 57) is required when the 
billing provider has a state license number; the billing provider shall enter the license 
number and jurisdiction code (for example, '123TX'); 
    (DD) employer's name (UB-04/field 58) is required; 
     (EE) patient's relationship to subscriber (UB-04/field 59) is required; 
    (FF) patient's Social Security Number (UB-04/field 60) is required; 
    (GG) workers' compensation claim number assigned by the insurance carrier (UB-
04/field 62) is required when known, the billing provider shall leave the field blank if the 
workers' compensation claim number is not known by the billing provider; 
    (HH) preauthorization number (UB-04/field 63) is required when preauthorization, 
concurrent review or voluntary certification was approved and the insurance carrier 
provided an approval number to the health care provider; 
    (II) principal diagnosis code and present on admission indicator (UB-04/field 67) are 
required; 
    (JJ) other diagnosis codes (UB-04/field 67A - 67Q) are required when there conditions 
exist or subsequently develop during the patient's treatment; 
    (KK) admitting diagnosis code (UB-04/field 69) is required when the medical bill 
involves an inpatient admission; 
    (LL) patient's reason for visit (UB-04/field 70) is required when submitting an 
outpatient medical bill for an unscheduled outpatient visit; 
    (MM) principal procedure code and date (UB-04/field 74) is required when submitting 
an inpatient medical bill and a procedure was performed; 
    (NN) other procedure codes and dates (UB-04/fields 74A - 74E) are required when 
submitting an inpatient medical bill and other procedures were performed; 
    (OO) attending provider's name and identifiers (UB-04/field 76) are required for any 
services other than nonscheduled transportation services, the billing provider shall 
report the NPI number for an attending provider eligible for an NPI number and the 
state license number by entering the '0B' qualifier and the license type, license number, 
and jurisdiction code (for example, 'MDF1234TX'); 
    (PP) operating physician's name and identifiers (UB-04/field 77) are required when a 
surgical procedure code is included on the medical bill, the billing provider shall report 
the NPI number for an operating physician eligible for an NPI number and the state 
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license number by entering the '0B' qualifier and the license type, license number, and 
jurisdiction code (for example, 'MDF1234TX'); and 
    (QQ) remarks (UB-04/field 80) is required when separate reimbursement for surgically 
implanted devices is requested. 
  (3) The following data content or data elements are required for a complete pharmacy 
medical bill related to Texas workers' compensation health care: 
    (A) dispensing pharmacy's name and address (DWC-066/field 1) is required; 
    (B) date of billing (DWC-066/field 2) is required; 
    (C) dispensing pharmacy's National Provider Identification (NPI) number (DWC-
066/field 3) is required; 
    (D) billing pharmacy's or pharmacy processing agent's name and address (DWC-
066/field 4) is required when different from the dispensing pharmacy (DWC-066/field 1); 
    (E) invoice number (DWC-066/field 5) is required; 
    (F) payee's federal employer identification number (DWC-066/field 6) is required; 
    (G) insurance carrier's name (DWC-066/field 7) is required; 
    (H) employer's name and address (DWC-066/field 8) is required; 
    (I) injured employee's name and address (DWC-066/field 9) is required; 
    (J) injured employee's Social Security Number (DWC-066/field 10) is required; 
    (K) date of injury (DWC-066/field 11) is required; 
    (L) injured employee's date of birth (DWC-066/field 12) is required; 
    (M) prescribing doctor's name and address (DWC-066/field 13) is required; 
    (N) prescribing doctor's NPI number (DWC-066/field 14) is required; 
    (O) workers' compensation claim number assigned by the insurance carrier (DWC-
066/field 15) is required when known, the billing provider shall leave the field blank if 
the workers' compensation claim number is not known by the billing provider; 
    (P) dispensed as written code (DWC-066/field 19) is required; 
    (Q) date filled (DWC-066/field 20) is required; 
    (R) generic National Drug Code (NDC) code (DWC-066/field 21) is required when a 
generic drug was dispensed or if dispensed as written code '2' is reported in DWC-
066/field 19; 
    (S) name brand NDC code (DWC-066/field 22) is required when a name brand drug is 
dispensed; 
    (T) quantity (DWC-066/field 23) is required; 
    (U) days supply (DWC-066/field 24) is required; 
    (V) amount paid by the injured employee (DWC-066/field 26) is required if applicable; 
    (W) drug name and strength (DWC-066/field 27) is required; 
    (X) prescription number (DWC-066/field 28) is required; 
    (Y) amount billed (DWC-066/field 29) is required; 
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    (Z) preauthorization number (DWC-066/field 30) is required when preauthorization, 
voluntary certification, or an agreement was approved and the insurance carrier 
provided an approval number to the requesting health care provider; and 
    (AA) for billing of compound drugs refer to the requirements in §134.502 of this title 
(relating to Pharmaceutical Services). 
  (4) The following data content or data elements are required for a complete dental 
medical bill related to Texas workers' compensation health care: 
    (A) type of transaction (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 1); 
    (B) preauthorization number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 2) is required when 
preauthorization, concurrent review or voluntary certification was approved and the 
insurance carrier provided an approval number to the health care provider; 
    (C) insurance carrier name and address (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 3) is 
required; 
    (D) employer's name and address (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 12) is required; 
    (E) workers' compensation claim number assigned by the insurance carrier (ADA 2006 
Dental Claim Form/field 15) is required when known, the billing provider shall leave the 
field blank if the workers' compensation claim number is not known by the billing 
provider; 
    (F) patient's name and address (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 20) is required; 
    (G) patient's date of birth (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 21) is required; 
    (H) patient's gender (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 22) is required; 
    (I) patient's Social Security Number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 23) is 
required; 
    (J) procedure date (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 24) is required; 
    (K) tooth number(s) or letter(s) (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 27) is required; 
    (L) procedure code (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 29) is required; 
    (M) fee (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 31) is required; 
    (N) total fee (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 33) is required; 
    (O) place of treatment (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 38) is required; 
    (P) treatment resulting from (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 45) is required, the 
provider shall check the box for occupational illness/injury; 
    (Q) date of injury (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 46) is required; 
    (R) billing provider's name and address (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 48) is 
required; 
    (S) billing provider's NPI number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 49) is required if 
the billing provider is eligible for an NPI number; 
    (T) billing provider's state license number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 50) is 
required when the billing provider is a licensed health care provider; the billing provider 
shall enter the license type, license number, and jurisdiction code (for example, 
'DS1234TX'); 

Updated January 4, 2024 222



    (U) billing provider's federal tax ID number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 51) is 
required; 
    (V) rendering dentist's NPI number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 54) is required 
when different than the billing provider's NPI number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim 
Form/field 49) and the rendering dentist is eligible for an NPI number; 
    (W) rendering dentist's state license number (ADA 2006 Dental Claim Form/field 55) is 
required when different than the billing provider's state license number (ADA 2006 
Dental Claim Form/field 50), the billing provider shall enter the license type, license 
number, and jurisdiction code (for example, 'MDF1234TX'); and 
    (X) rendering provider's and treatment location address (ADA 2006 Dental Claim 
Form/field 56) is required when different from the billing provider's address (ADA Dental 
Claim Form/field 48). 
 
(g) If the injured employee does not have a Social Security Number as required in 
subsection (f) of this section, the health care provider must leave the field blank. 
(h) Except for facility state license numbers, state license numbers submitted under 
subsection (f) of this section must be in the following format: license type, license 
number, and jurisdiction state code (for example 'MDF1234TX'). 
 
(i) In reporting the state license number under subsection (f) of this section, health care 
providers should select the license type that most appropriately reflects the type of 
medical services they provided to the injured employees. When a health care provider 
does not have a state license number, the field is submitted with only the license type 
and jurisdiction code (for example, DMTX). The license types used in the state license 
format must be one of the following: 
  (1) AC for Acupuncturist; 
  (2) AM for Ambulance Services; 
  (3) AS for Ambulatory Surgery Center; 
  (4) AU for Audiologist; 
  (5) CN for Clinical Nurse Specialist; 
  (6) CP for Clinical Psychologist; 
  (7) CR for Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist; 
  (8) CS for Clinical Social Worker; 
  (9) DC for Doctor of Chiropractic; 
  (10) DM for Durable Medical Equipment Supplier; 
  (11) DO for Doctor of Osteopathy; 
  (12) DP for Doctor of Podiatric Medicine; 
  (13) DS for Dentist; 
  (14) IL for Independent Laboratory; 
  (15) LP for Licensed Professional Counselor; 
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  (16) LS for Licensed Surgical Assistant; 
  (17) MD for Doctor of Medicine; 
  (18) MS for Licensed Master Social Worker; 
  (19) MT for Massage Therapist; 
  (20) NF for Nurse First Assistant; 
  (21) OD for Doctor of Optometry; 
  (22) OP for Orthotist/Prosthetist; 
  (23) OT for Occupational Therapist; 
  (24) PA for Physician Assistant; 
  (25) PM for Pain Management Clinic; 
  (26) PS for Psychologist; 
  (27) PT for Physical Therapist; 
  (28) RA for Radiology Facility; or 
  (29) RN for Registered Nurse. 
 
(j) When resubmitting a medical bill under subsection (f) of this section, a resubmission 
condition code may be reported. In reporting a resubmission condition code, the 
following definitions apply to the resubmission condition codes established by the 
Uniform National Billing Committee: 
  (1) W3 - Level 1 Appeal means a request for reconsideration under §133.250 of this title 
(relating to Reconsideration for Payment of Medical Bills) or an appeal of an adverse 
determination under Chapter 19, Subchapter U of this title (relating to Utilization 
Reviews for Health Care Provided Under Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage); 
  (2) W4 - Level 2 Appeal means a request for reimbursement as a result of a decision 
issued by the division, an Independent Review Organization, or a Network complaint 
process; and 
  (3) W5 - Level 3 Appeal means a request for reimbursement as a result of a decision 
issued by an administrative law judge or judicial review. 
 
(k) The inclusion of the appropriate resubmission condition code and the original 
reference number is sufficient to identify a resubmitted medical bill as a request for 
reconsideration under §133.250 of this title or an appeal of an adverse determination 
under Chapter 19, Subchapter U of this title provided the resubmitted medical bill 
complies with the other requirements contained in the appropriate section. 
 
(l) This section is effective for medical bills submitted on or after April 1, 2014. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.10 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544; amended to be effective December 24, 2006, 31 TexReg 10097; amended 
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to be effective May 1, 2008, 33 TexReg 3443; amended to be effective August 1, 2011, 
36 TexReg 929; amended to be effective April 1, 2014, 38 TexReg 9594 
 
RULE §133.20 Medical Bill Submission by Health Care Provider 
 
(a) The health care provider shall submit all medical bills to the insurance carrier except 
when billing the employer in accordance with subsection (j) of this section. 
 
(b) Except as provided in Labor Code §408.0272(b), (c) or (d), a health care provider shall 
not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are provided. 
In accordance with subsection (c) of the statute, the health care provider shall submit 
the medical bill to the correct workers' compensation insurance carrier not later than the 
95th day after the date the health care provider is notified of the health care provider's 
erroneous submission of the medical bill. A health care provider who submits a medical 
bill to the correct workers' compensation insurance carrier shall include a copy of the 
original medical bill submitted, a copy of the explanation of benefits (EOB) if available, 
and sufficient documentation to support why one or more of the exceptions for 
untimely submission of a medical bill under §408.0272 should be applied. The medical 
bill submitted by the health care provider to the correct workers' compensation 
insurance carrier is subject to the billing, review, and dispute processes established by 
Chapter 133, including §133.307(c)(2)(A) - (H) of this title (relating to MDR of Fee 
Disputes), which establishes the generally acceptable standards for documentation. 
 
(c) A health care provider shall include correct billing codes from the applicable Division 
fee guidelines in effect on the date(s) of service when submitting medical bills. 
 
(d) The health care provider that provided the health care shall submit its own bill, 
unless: 
  (1) the health care was provided as part of a return to work rehabilitation program in 
accordance with the Division fee guidelines in effect for the dates of service; 
  (2) the health care was provided by an unlicensed individual under the direct 
supervision of a licensed health care provider, in which case the supervising health care 
provider shall submit the bill; 
  (3) the health care provider contracts with an agent for purposes of medical bill 
processing, in which case the health care provider agent may submit the bill; or 
  (4) the health care provider is a pharmacy that has contracted with a pharmacy 
processing agent for purposes of medical bill processing, in which case the pharmacy 
processing agent may submit the bill. 
 
(e) A medical bill must be submitted: 
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  (1) for an amount that does not exceed the health care provider's usual and customary 
charge for the health care provided in accordance with Labor Code §§413.011 and 
415.005; and 
  (2) in the name of the licensed health care provider that provided the health care or 
that provided direct supervision of an unlicensed individual who provided the health 
care. 
 
(f) Health care providers shall not resubmit medical bills to insurance carriers after the 
insurance carrier has taken final action on a complete medical bill and provided an 
explanation of benefits except in accordance with §133.250 of this chapter (relating to 
Reconsideration for Payment of Medical Bills). 
(g) Health care providers may correct and resubmit as a new bill an incomplete bill that 
has been returned by the insurance carrier. 
 
(h) Not later than the 15th day after receipt of a request for additional medical 
documentation, a health care provider shall submit to the insurance carrier: 
  (1) any requested additional medical documentation related to the charges for health 
care rendered; or 
  (2) a notice the health care provider does not possess requested medical 
documentation. 
 
(i) The health care provider shall indicate on the medical bill if documentation is 
submitted related to the medical bill. 
 
(j) The health care provider may elect to bill the injured employee's employer if the 
employer has indicated a willingness to pay the medical bill(s). Such billing is subject to 
the following: 
  (1) A health care provider who elects to submit medical bills to an employer waives, for 
the duration of the election period, the rights to: 
    (A) prompt payment, as provided by Labor Code §408.027; 
    (B) interest for delayed payment as provided by Labor Code §413.019; and 
    (C) medical dispute resolution as provided by Labor Code §413.031. 
  (2) When a health care provider bills the employer, the health care provider shall 
submit an information copy of the bill to the insurance carrier, which clearly indicates 
that the information copy is not a request for payment from the insurance carrier. 
  (3) When a health care provider bills the employer, the health care provider must bill in 
accordance with the Division's fee guidelines and §133.10 of this chapter (relating to 
Required Billing Forms/Formats). 
  (4) A health care provider shall not submit a medical bill to an employer for charges an 
insurance carrier has reduced, denied or disputed. 
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(k) A health care provider shall not submit a medical bill to an injured employee for all 
or part of the charge for any of the health care provided, except as an informational 
copy clearly indicated on the bill, or in accordance with subsection (l) of this section. The 
information copy shall not request payment. 
 
(l) The health care provider may only submit a bill for payment to the injured employee 
in accordance with: 
  (1) Labor Code §413.042; 
  (2) Insurance Code §1305.451; or 
  (3) §134.504 of this title (relating to Pharmaceutical Expenses Incurred by the Injured 
Employee). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.20 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544; amended to be effective January 29, 2009, 34 TexReg 430 
 
RULE §133.30 Telemedicine, Telehealth, and Teledentistry Services 
 
 
(a) This section applies to medical billing and reimbursement for telemedicine, 
telehealth, and teledentistry services provided on or after September 1, 2021, to injured 
employees in the Texas workers' compensation system, including injured employees 
subject to a workers' compensation health care network established under Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305. 
 
(b) For the purposes of this section: 
  (1) "telemedicine services" means telemedicine medical services as defined in 
Occupations Code §111.001; 
  (2) "telehealth services" means telehealth services as defined in Occupations Code 
§111.001; and 

(3) "teledentistry services" means teledentistry dental services as defined in 
Occupations Code §111.001. 

 
(c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, a health care provider must bill 
for telemedicine, telehealth, and teledentistry services according to applicable: 
  (1) Medicare payment policies, as defined in §134.203 of this title (relating to Medical 
Fee Guideline for Professional Services); 
  (2) Medicaid payment policies, in accordance with the dental fee guideline in §134.303 
of this title (relating to 2005 Dental Fee Guideline); and 
  (3) provisions of Chapter 133 of this title. 
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(d) A health care provider may bill and be reimbursed for telemedicine, telehealth, or 
teledentistry services regardless of where the injured employee is located at the time the 
telemedicine, telehealth, or teledentistry services are provided. 
 
(e) The provisions of this section take precedence over any conflicting provisions 
adopted or used by: 
  (1) the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in administering the Medicare 
program; and 

(2) the Texas Health and Human Services Commission in administering the Texas 
Medicaid Program. 

 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.30 adopted to be effective May 6, 2018, 43 
TexReg 2587; amended to be effective August 22, 2023, 48 TexReg 4483 
 
SUBCHAPTER C MEDICAL BILL PROCESSING/AUDIT BY INSURANCE CARRIER 
 
RULE §133.200 Insurance Carrier Receipt of Medical Bills from Health Care 
Providers 
 
(a) Upon receipt of medical bills submitted in accordance with §133.10(a)(1) and (2) of 
this chapter (relating to Required Medical Forms/Formats), an insurance carrier shall 
evaluate each medical bill for completeness as defined in §133.2 of this chapter (relating 
to Definitions). 
  (1) Insurance carriers shall not return medical bills that are complete, unless the bill is a 
duplicate bill. 
  (2) Within 30 days after the day it receives a medical bill that is not complete as 
defined in §133.2 of this chapter, an insurance carrier shall: 
    (A) complete the bill by adding missing information already known to the insurance 
carrier, except for the following: 
      (i) dates of service; 
      (ii) procedure/modifier codes; 
      (iii) number of units; and 
      (iv) charges; or 
    (B) return the bill to the sender, in accordance with subsection (c) of this section. 
  (3) The insurance carrier may contact the sender to obtain the information necessary to 
make the bill complete, including the information specified in paragraph (2)(A)(i) - (iv) of 
this subsection. If the insurance carrier obtains the missing information and completes 
the bill, the insurance carrier shall document the name and telephone number of the 
person who supplied the information. 
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(b) An insurance carrier shall not return a medical bill except as provided in subsection 
(a) of this section. When returning a medical bill, the insurance carrier shall include a 
document identifying the reason(s) for returning the bill. The reason(s) related to the 
procedure or modifier code(s) shall identify the reason(s) by line item. 
 
(c) The proper return of an incomplete medical bill in accordance with this section fulfills 
the insurance carrier's obligations with regard to the incomplete bill. 
 
(d) An insurance carrier shall not combine bills submitted in separate envelopes as a 
single bill or separate single bills spanning several pages submitted in a single envelope. 
 
RULE §133.210 Medical Documentation 
 
(a) Medical documentation includes all medical reports and records, such as evaluation 
reports, narrative reports, assessment reports, progress report/notes, clinical notes, 
hospital records and diagnostic test results. 
(b) When submitting a medical bill for reimbursement, the health care provider shall 
provide required documentation in legible form, unless the required documentation was 
previously provided to the insurance carrier or its agents. 
 
(c) In addition to the documentation requirements of subsection (b) of this section, 
medical bills for the following services shall include the following supporting 
documentation: 
  (1) the two highest Evaluation and Management office visit codes for new and 
established patients: office visit notes/report satisfying the American Medical 
Association requirements for use of those CPT codes; 
  (2) surgical services rendered on the same date for which the total of the fees 
established in the current Division fee guideline exceeds $500: a copy of the operative 
report; 
  (3) return to work rehabilitation programs as defined in §134.202 of this title (relating 
to Medical Fee Guideline): a copy of progress notes and/or SOAP (subjective/objective 
assessment plan/procedure) notes, which substantiate the care given, and indicate 
progress, improvement, the date of the next treatment(s) and/or service(s), 
complications, and expected release dates; 
  (4) any supporting documentation for procedures which do not have an established 
Division maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR), to include an exact description of 
the health care provided; and 
  (5) for hospital services: an itemized statement of charges. 
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(d) Any request by the insurance carrier for additional documentation to process a 
medical bill shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) be specific to the bill or the bill's related episode of care; 
  (3) describe with specificity the clinical and other information to be included in the 
response; 
  (4) be relevant and necessary for the resolution of the bill; 
  (5) be for information that is contained in or in the process of being incorporated into 
the injured employee's medical or billing record maintained by the health care provider; 
  (6) indicate the specific reason for which the insurance carrier is requesting the 
information; and 
  (7) include a copy of the medical bill for which the insurance carrier is requesting the 
additional documentation. 
 
(e) It is the insurance carrier's obligation to furnish its agents with any documentation 
necessary for the resolution of a medical bill. The Division considers any medical billing 
information or documentation possessed by one entity to be simultaneously possessed 
by the other. 
 
(f) Workers' compensation health care networks established under Insurance Code 
Chapter 1305 may decrease the documentation requirements of this section. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.210 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544 
RULE §133.230 Insurance Carrier Audit of a Medical Bill 
 
(a) An insurance carrier may perform an audit of a medical bill that has been submitted 
by a health care provider to the insurance carrier for reimbursement. The insurance 
carrier may not audit a medical bill upon which it has taken final action. 
 
(b) If an insurance carrier decides to conduct an audit of a medical bill, the insurance 
carrier shall: 
  (1) provide notice to the health care provider no later than the 45th day after the date 
the insurance carrier received the complete medical bill. For onsite audits, provide notice 
in accordance with subsection (c) of this section; 
  (2) pay to the health care provider no later than the 45th day after receipt of the health 
care provider's medical bill, for the health care being audited: 
    (A) for a workers' compensation health care network established under Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305, 85 percent of the applicable contracted amount; or 
    (B) for services not provided under Insurance Code Chapter 1305, 85 percent of: 
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      (i) the maximum allowable reimbursement amounts established under the applicable 
Division fee guidelines; 
      (ii) the contracted amount for services not addressed by Division fee guidelines; or 
      (iii) the fair and reasonable reimbursement in accordance with §134.1 of this title 
(relating to Medical Reimbursement) for services not addressed by clause (i) or (ii) of this 
subparagraph; 
  (3) make a determination regarding the relationship of the health care services 
provided for the compensable injury, the extent of the injury, and the medical necessity 
of the services provided; and 
  (4) complete the audit and pay, reduce, or deny in accordance with §133.240 of this 
chapter (relating to Medical Payments and Denials) no later than the 160th day after 
receipt of the complete medical bill. 
(c) If the insurance carrier intends to perform an onsite audit, the notice shall include the 
following information for each medical bill that is subject to audit: 
  (1) employee's full name, address, and Social Security number; 
  (2) date of injury; 
  (3) date(s) of service for which the audit is being performed; 
  (4) insurance carrier's name and address; 
  (5) a proposed date and time for the audit, subject to mutual agreement; and 
  (6) name and telephone number of the person who will perform the onsite audit, has 
the authority to act on behalf of the insurance carrier, and shall personally appear for 
the onsite audit at the scheduled date and time. 
 
(d) During the insurance carrier's onsite audit, the health care provider shall: 
  (1) make available to the insurance carrier: all notes, reports, test results, narratives, and 
other documentation the health care provider has relating to the billing(s) subject to 
audit; and 
  (2) designate one person with authority to: negotiate a resolution, serve as the liaison 
between the health care provider and the insurance carrier, and be available to the 
insurance carrier's representative. 
 
(e) On the last day of the onsite audit, the health care provider's liaison and the 
insurance carrier's representative shall meet for an exit interview. The insurance carrier's 
representative shall present to the health care provider's liaison a list of unresolved 
issues related to the health care provided and the billed charges. The health care 
provider's liaison and the insurance carrier's representative shall discuss and attempt to 
resolve the issues. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.230 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544 
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RULE §133.240 Medical Payments and Denials 
  
(a) An insurance carrier shall take final action after conducting bill review on a complete 
medical bill, or determine to audit the medical bill in accordance with §133.230 of this 
chapter (relating to Insurance Carrier Audit of a Medical Bill), not later than the 45th 
day after the date the insurance carrier received a complete medical bill. An insurance 
carrier's deadline to make or deny payment on a bill is not extended as a result of a 
pending request for additional documentation. 
 
(b) For health care provided to injured employees not subject to a workers' 
compensation health care network established under Insurance Code Chapter 1305, the 
insurance carrier shall not deny reimbursement based on medical necessity for health 
care preauthorized or voluntarily certified under Chapter 134 of this title (relating to 
Benefits--Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges, and Payments). For pharmaceutical 
services provided to any injured employee, the insurance carrier shall not deny 
reimbursement based on medical necessity for pharmaceutical services preauthorized 
or agreed to under Chapter 134, Subchapter F of this title (relating to Pharmaceutical 
Benefits). 
 
(c) The insurance carrier shall not change a billing code on a medical bill or reimburse 
health care at another billing code's value. 
 
(d) The insurance carrier may request additional documentation, in accordance with 
§133.210 of this title (relating to Medical Documentation), not later than the 45th day 
after receipt of the medical bill to clarify the health care provider's charges. 
 
(e) The insurance carrier shall send the explanation of benefits in accordance with the 
elements required by §133.500 and §133.501 of this title (relating to Electronic Formats 
for Electronic Medical Bill Processing and Electronic Medical Bill Processing, 
respectively) if the insurance carrier submits the explanation of benefits in the form of 
an electronic remittance. The insurance carrier shall send an explanation of benefits in 
accordance with subsection (f) of this section if the insurance carrier submits the 
explanation of benefits in paper form. The explanation of benefits shall be sent to: 
  (1) the health care provider when the insurance carrier makes payment or denies 
payment on a medical bill; and 
  (2) the injured employee when payment is denied because: 
    (A) of an adverse determination; 
    (B) the health care was provided by a health care provider other than: 
      (i) the treating doctor selected in accordance with Labor Code §408.022; 
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      (ii) a health care provider that the treating doctor has chosen as a consulting or 
referral health care provider; 
      (iii) a doctor performing a required medical examination in accordance with §126.5 
of this title (relating to Entitlement and Procedure for Requesting Required Medical 
Examinations) and §126.6 of this title (relating to Required Medical Examination); 
      (iv) a doctor performing a designated doctor examination in accordance with Labor 
Code §408.0041; or 
    (C) the health care was unrelated to the compensable injury, in accordance with 
§124.2 of this title (relating to Carrier Reporting and Notification Requirements). 

(3) the prescribing doctor, if different from the health care provider identified in 
paragraph (1) of this subsection, when payment is denied for pharmaceutical services 
because of any reason relating to the compensability of, liability for, extent of, or 
relatedness to the compensable injury, or for reasons relating to the reasonableness or 
medical necessity of the pharmaceutical services. 

 
(f) The paper form of an explanation of benefits under subsection (e) of this section, 
§133.250 of this title (relating to Reconsideration for Payment of Medical Bills), or 
§133.260 of this title (relating to Refunds) shall include the following elements: 
  (1) division claim number, if known; 
  (2) insurance carrier claim number; 
  (3) injured employee's name; 
  (4) last four digits of injured employee's social security number; 
  (5) date of injury; 
  (6) health care provider's name and address; 
  (7) health care provider's federal tax ID or national provider identifier if the health care 
provider's federal tax ID is the same as the health care provider's social security 
number; 
  (8) patient control number if included on the submitted medical bill; 
  (9) insurance carrier's name and address; 
  (10) insurance carrier control number; 
  (11) date of bill review/refund request; 
  (12) diagnosis code(s); 
  (13) name and address of company performing bill review; 
  (14) name and telephone number of bill review contact; 
  (15) workers' compensation health care network name (if applicable); 
  (16) pharmacy, durable medical equipment, or home health care services informal or 
voluntary network name (if applicable) pursuant to Labor Code §408.0281 and 
§408.0284; 
  (17) health care service information for each billed health care service, to include: 
    (A) date of service; 

Updated January 4, 2024 233



    (B) the CPT, HCPCS, NDC, or other applicable product or service code; 
    (C) CPT, HCPCS, NDC, or other applicable product or service code description; 
    (D) amount charged; 
    (E) unit(s) of service; 
    (F) amount paid; 
    (G) adjustment reason code that conforms to the standards described in §133.500 
and §133.501 of this title if total amount paid does not equal total amount charged; 
    (H) explanation of the reason for reduction/denial if the adjustment reason code was 
included under subparagraph (G) of this paragraph and if applicable; 
  (18) a statement that contains the following text: "Health care providers shall not bill 
any unpaid amounts to the injured employee or the employer, or make any attempt to 
collect the unpaid amount from the injured employee or the employer unless the injury 
is finally adjudicated not to be compensable, or the insurance carrier is relieved of the 
liability under Labor Code §408.024. However, pursuant to §133.250 of this title, the 
health care provider may file an appeal with the insurance carrier if the health care 
provider disagrees with the insurance carrier's determination"; 
  (19) if the insurance carrier is requesting a refund, the refund amount being requested 
and an explanation of why the refund is being requested; and 

(20) if the insurance carrier is paying interest in accordance with §134.130 of this title 
(relating to Interest for Late Payment on Medical Bills and Refunds), the interest 
amount paid through use of an unspecified product or service code and the number of 
days on which interest was calculated by using a unit per day. 

 
(g) When the insurance carrier pays a health care provider for health care for which the 
division has not established a maximum allowable reimbursement, the insurance carrier 
shall explain and document the method it used to calculate the payment in accordance 
with §134.1 of this title (relating to Medical Reimbursement) or §134.503 of this title 
(relating to Pharmacy Fee Guideline). 
 
(h) An insurance carrier shall have filed, or shall concurrently file, the applicable notice 
required by Labor Code §409.021, and §124.2 and §124.3 of this title (relating to 
Investigation of an Injury and Notice of Denial/Dispute) if the insurance carrier reduces 
or denies payment for health care provided based solely on the insurance carrier's 
belief that: 
  (1) the injury is not compensable; 
  (2) the insurance carrier is not liable for the injury due to lack of insurance coverage; 
or 
  (3) the condition for which the health care was provided was not related to the 
compensable injury. 
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(i) If dissatisfied with the insurance carrier's final action, the health care provider may 
request reconsideration of the bill in accordance with §133.250 of this title. 
 
(j) If the health care provider is requesting reconsideration of an adverse determination, 
the request for reconsideration constitutes an appeal for the purposes of §19.2011 of 
this title (relating to Written Procedures for Appeal of Adverse Determinations). If 
dissatisfied with the reconsideration outcome, the health care provider may request 
medical dispute resolution in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 133, 
Subchapter D of this title (relating to Dispute of Medical Bills). 
 
(k) Health care providers, injured employees, employers, attorneys, and other 
participants in the system shall not resubmit medical bills to insurance carriers after the 
insurance carrier has taken final action on a complete medical bill and provide an 
explanation of benefits except as provided in §133.250 and Chapter 133, Subchapter D 
of this title. 
 
(l) All payments of medical bills that an insurance carrier makes on or after the 60th day 
after the date the insurance carrier originally received the complete medical bill shall 
include interest calculated in accordance with §134.130 of this title without any action 
taken by the division. The interest payment shall be paid at the same time as the 
medical bill payment. 
 
(m) Except as provided by Insurance Code §1305.153, when an insurance carrier remits 
payment to a health care provider agent, the agent shall remit to the health care 
provider the full amount that the insurance carrier reimburses. If the insurance carrier 
remits payment under Insurance Code §1305.153, then the payment must be made in 
accordance with that section. 
 
(n) When an insurance carrier remits payment to a pharmacy processing agent, the 
pharmacy processing agent's reimbursement from the insurance carrier shall be made 
in accordance with §134.503 of this title. The pharmacy's reimbursement shall be made 
in accordance with the terms of its contract with the pharmacy processing agent. 
 
(o) An insurance carrier commits an administrative violation if the insurance carrier fails 
to pay, reduce, deny, or notify the health care provider of the intent to audit a medical 
bill in accordance with Labor Code §408.027 and division rules. 
 
(p) For the purposes of this section, all utilization review must be performed by an 
insurance carrier that is registered with or a utilization review agent that is certified by 
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the Texas Department of Insurance to perform utilization review in accordance with 
Insurance Code Chapter 4201 and Chapter 19 of this title. 
  (1) All utilization review agents or registered insurance carriers who perform utilization 
review under this section must comply with Labor Code §504.055 and any other 
provisions of Chapter 19, Subchapter U of this title (relating to Utilization Reviews for 
Health Care Provided under Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage) that relate to 
the expedited provision of medical benefits to first responders employed by political 
subdivisions who sustain a serious bodily injury in the course and scope of 
employment. 
  (2) In accordance with Labor Code §501.028(b), an insurance carrier must accelerate 
and give priority to a claim for medical benefits: 
    (A) by a member of the Texas military forces who, 
      (i) while on state active duty, 
      (ii) sustains a serious bodily injury, as defined by Penal Code §1.07; 
    (B) including all health care required to cure or relieve the effects naturally resulting 
from a compensable injury. 
 
(q) When denying payment due to an adverse determination under this section, the 
insurance carrier shall comply with the requirements of §19.2009 of this title (relating to 
Notice of Determinations Made in Utilization Review). Additionally, in any instance 
where the insurance carrier is questioning the medical necessity or appropriateness of 
the health care services, the insurance carrier shall comply with the requirements of 
§19.2010 if this title (relating to Requirements Prior to Issuing Adverse Determination), 
including the requirement that prior to issuance of an adverse determination the 
insurance carrier shall afford the health care provider a reasonable opportunity to 
discuss the billed health care with a doctor or, in cases of a dental plan or chiropractic 
services, with a dentist or chiropractor, respectively. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.240 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544; amended to be effective July 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 2408; amended to be 
effective March 30, 2014, 39 TexReg 2095; amended to be effective December 28, 2023, 
48 TexReg 7999 
 
RULE §133.250 Reconsideration for Payment of Medical Bills 
  
(a) If the health care provider is dissatisfied with the insurance carrier's final action on a 
medical bill, the health care provider may request that the insurance carrier reconsider 
its action. If the health care provider is requesting reconsideration of a bill denied 
based on an adverse determination, the request for reconsideration constitutes an 
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appeal for the purposes of §19.2011 of this title (relating to Written Procedures for 
Appeal of Adverse Determinations) and may be submitted orally or in writing. 
 
(b) The health care provider shall submit the request for reconsideration no later than 
10 months from the date of service. 
 
(c) A health care provider shall not submit a request for reconsideration until: 
  (1) the insurance carrier has taken final action on a medical bill; or 

(2) the health care provider has not received an explanation of benefits within 50 days 
from submitting the medical bill to the insurance carrier. 

 
(d) A written request for reconsideration shall: 
  (1) reference the original bill and include the same billing codes, date(s) of service, and 
dollar amounts as the original bill; 
  (2) include a copy of the original explanation of benefits, if received, or documentation 
that a request for an explanation of benefits was submitted to the insurance carrier; 
  (3) include any necessary and related documentation not submitted with the original 
medical bill to support the health care provider's position; and 

(4) include a bill-specific, substantive explanation in accordance with §133.3 of this 
title (relating to Communication Between Health Care Providers and Insurance Carriers) 
that provides a rational basis to modify the previous denial or payment. 

 
(e) An oral request for reconsideration must clearly identify the health care services(s) 
denied based on an adverse determination and include a substantive explanation in 
accordance with §133.3 of this title that provides a rational basis to modify the previous 
denial or payment. Not later than the fifth working day after the date of receipt of the 
request for reconsideration, the insurance carrier must send to the requesting party a 
letter acknowledging the date of the receipt of the oral request that includes a 
reasonable list of documents the requesting party is required to submit. This subsection 
applies to reconsideration requests made on or after six months from the effective date 
of this rule. 
 
(f) An insurance carrier shall review all written reconsideration requests for 
completeness in accordance with subsection (d) of this section and may return an 
incomplete written reconsideration request no later than seven days from the date of 
receipt. A health care provider may complete and resubmit its written request to the 
insurance carrier. 
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(g) The insurance carrier shall take final action on a reconsideration request within 30 
days of receiving the request for reconsideration. The insurance carrier shall provide an 
explanation of benefits: 
  (1) in accordance with §133.240(e) - (f) of this title (relating to Medical Payments and 
Denial) for all items included in a reconsideration request in the form and format 
prescribed by the division when there is a change in the original, final action; or 

(2) in accordance with §133.240(e)(1) and §133.240(f) of this title when there is no 
change in the original, final action. 

 
(h) A health care provider shall not resubmit a request for reconsideration earlier than 
35 days from the date the insurance carrier received the original request for 
reconsideration or after the insurance carrier has taken final action on the 
reconsideration request. 
 
(i) If the health care provider is dissatisfied with the insurance carrier's final action on a 
medical bill after reconsideration, the health care provider may request medical dispute 
resolution in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 133, Subchapter D of this title 
(relating to Dispute of Medical Bills). 
 
(j) For the purposes of this section, all utilization review must be performed by an 
insurance carrier that is registered with, or a utilization review agent that is certified by, 
the Texas Department of Insurance to perform utilization review in accordance with 
Insurance Code Chapter 4201 and Chapter 19 of this title. 
  (1) All utilization review agents or registered insurance carriers who perform utilization 
review under this section must comply with Labor Code §504.055 and any other 
provisions of Chapter 19, Subchapter U of this title (relating to Utilization Reviews for 
Health Care Provided under Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage) that relate to 
the expedited provision of medical benefits to first responders employed by political 
subdivisions who sustain a serious bodily injury in the course and scope of 
employment. 
  (2) In accordance with Labor Code §501.028(b), an insurance carrier must accelerate 
and give priority to a claim for medical benefits: 
    (A) by a member of the Texas military forces who, 
      (i) while on state active duty, 
      (ii) sustains a serious bodily injury, as defined by Penal Code §1.07; 
    (B) including all health care required to cure or relieve the effects naturally resulting 
from a compensable injury. 
 
(k) In any instance where the insurance carrier is questioning the medical necessity or 
appropriateness of the health care services, the insurance carrier shall comply with the 
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requirements of §19.2010 of this title (relating to Requirements Prior to Adverse 
Determination) and §19.2011 of this title, including the requirement that prior to 
issuance of an adverse determination on the request for reconsideration the insurance 
carrier shall afford the health care provider a reasonable opportunity to discuss the 
billed health care with a doctor or, in cases of a dental plan or chiropractic services, 
with a dentist or chiropractor, respectively. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.250 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544; amended to be effective July 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 2408; amended to be 
effective March 30, 2014, 39 TexReg 2095; amended to be effective December 28, 2023, 
48 TexReg 7999 
 
RULE §133.260 Refunds 
 
(a) An insurance carrier shall request a refund within 240 days from the date of service 
or 30 days from completion of an audit performed in accordance with §133.230 (relating 
to Insurance Carrier Audit of a Medical Bill), whichever is later, when it determines that 
inappropriate health care was previously reimbursed, or when an overpayment was 
made for health care provided. 
 
(b) The insurance carrier shall submit the refund request to the health care provider in 
an explanation of benefits in the form and manner prescribed by the Division. 
 
(c) A health care provider shall respond to a request for a refund from an insurance 
carrier by the 45th day after receipt of the request by: 
  (1) paying the requested amount; or 
  (2) submitting an appeal to the insurance carrier with a specific explanation of the 
reason the health care provider has failed to remit payment. 
 
(d) The insurance carrier shall act on a health care provider's appeal within 45 days after 
the date on which the health care provider filed the appeal. The insurance carrier shall 
provide the health care provider with notice of its determination, either agreeing that no 
refund is due, or denying the appeal. 
 
(e) If the insurance carrier denies the appeal, the health provider: 
  (1) shall remit the refund with any applicable interest within 45 days of receipt of notice 
of denied appeal; and 
  (2) may request medical dispute resolution in accordance with §133.305 of this chapter 
(relating to Medical Dispute Resolution - General). 
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(f) The health care provider shall submit a refund to the insurance carrier when the 
health care provider identifies an overpayment even though the insurance carrier has 
not submitted a refund request. 
 
(g) When making a refund payment, the health care provider shall include: a copy of the 
insurance carrier's original request for refund, if any; a copy of the original explanation 
of benefits containing the overpayment, if available; and a detailed explanation 
itemizing the refund. The explanation shall: 
  (1) identify the billing and rendering health care provider; 
  (2) identify the injured employee; 
  (3) identify the insurance carrier; 
  (4) specify the total dollar amount being refunded; 
  (5) itemize the refund by dollar amount, line item and date of service; and 
  (6) specify the amount of interest paid, if any, and the number of days on which 
interest was calculated. 
 
(h) All refunds requested by the insurance carrier and paid by a health care provider on 
or after the 60th day after the date the health care provider received the request for the 
refund shall include interest calculated in accordance with §134.130 of this title (relating 
to Interest for Late Payment on Medical Bills and Refunds). 
 
RULE §133.270 Injured Employee Reimbursement for Health Care Paid 
 
(a) An injured employee may request reimbursement from the insurance carrier when 
the injured employee has paid for health care provided for a compensable injury, unless 
the injured employee is liable for payment as specified in: 
  (1) Insurance Code §1305.451, or 
  (2) Section 134.504 of this title (relating to Pharmaceutical Expenses Incurred by the 
Injured Employee). 
 
(b) The injured employee's request for reimbursement shall be legible and shall include 
documentation or evidence (such as itemized receipts) of the amount the injured 
employee paid the health care provider. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier shall pay or deny the request for reimbursement within 45 days 
of the request. Reimbursement shall be made in accordance with §134.1 of this title 
(relating to Medical Reimbursement). 
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(d) The injured employee may seek reimbursement for any payment made above the 
division fee guideline or contract amount from the health care provider who received 
the overpayment. 
 
(e) Within 45 days of a request, the health care provider shall reimburse the injured 
employee the amount paid above the applicable division fee guideline or contract 
amount. 
 
(f) The injured employee may request, but is not required to request, reconsideration 
prior to requesting medical dispute resolution in accordance with the provisions of 
Chapter 133, Subchapter D of this title (relating to Dispute of Medical Bills). 
 
(g) The insurance carrier shall submit injured employee medical billing and payment 
data to the division in accordance with Chapter 134, Subchapter I of this title (relating to 
Medical Bill Reporting). 
 
(h) This section is effective July 1, 2012. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.270 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544; amended to be effective July 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 2408 
 
RULE §133.280 Employer Reimbursement for Health Care Paid 
 
(a) An employer may request reimbursement from the insurance carrier when the 
employer has paid for health care provided for a compensable injury, and provided 
notice of injury in compliance with Labor Code §409.005. 
 
(b) The employer shall be reimbursed in accordance with §134.1. 
 
(c) The employer may seek reimbursement for any payment made above the Division 
fee guideline or contract amount from the health care provider who received the 
overpayment. 
 
(d) The employer's request for reimbursement shall be legible and shall include: 
  (1) a copy of the health care provider's required billing form; 
  (2) any supporting documentation submitted by the health care provider as required in 
§133.210 of this chapter (relating to Medical Documentation); and 
  (3) documentation of the payment to the health care provider. 
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(e) The insurance carrier shall submit employer medical bill and payment data to the 
Division in accordance with §134.802 of this title (relating to Insurance Carrier Medical 
Electronic Data Interchange to the Division). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.280 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3544 
 
SUBCHAPTER D DISPUTE OF MEDICAL BILLS 
RULE §133.305 MDR—General 
  
(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the 
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
  (1) First responder--As defined in Labor Code §504.055(a). (2) Life-threatening--A 
disease or condition for which the likelihood of death is probable unless the course of 
the disease or condition is interrupted, as defined in Insurance Code §4201.002. 
  (2) Life-threatening--A disease or condition for which the likelihood of death is 
probable unless the course of the disease or condition is interrupted, as defined in 
Insurance Code §4201.002. 
  (3) Medical dispute resolution (MDR)--A process for resolution of one or more of the 
following disputes: 
    (A) a medical fee dispute; or 
    (B) a medical necessity dispute, which may be: 
      (i) a preauthorization or concurrent medical necessity dispute; or 
      (ii) a retrospective medical necessity dispute. 
  (4) Medical fee dispute--A dispute that involves an amount of payment for non-
network health care rendered to an injured employee that has been determined to be 
medically necessary and appropriate for treatment of that injured employee's 
compensable injury. The dispute is resolved by the division pursuant to division rules, 
including §133.307 of this title (relating to MDR of Fee Disputes). The following types of 
disputes can be a medical fee dispute: 
    (A) a health care provider, or a qualified pharmacy processing agent as described in 
Labor Code §413.0111, dispute of an insurance carrier reduction or denial of a medical 
bill; 
    (B) an injured employee dispute of reduction or denial of a refund request for health 
care charges paid by the injured employee; and 
    (C) a health care provider dispute regarding the results of a division or insurance 
carrier audit or review which requires the health care provider to refund an amount for 
health care services previously paid by the insurance carrier. 
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  (5) Network health care--Health care delivered or arranged by a certified workers' 
compensation health care network, including authorized out-of-network care, as 
defined in Insurance Code Chapter 1305 and related rules. 
  (6) Non-network health care--Health care not delivered or arranged by a certified 
workers' compensation health care network as defined in Insurance Code Chapter 1305 
and related rules. "Non-network health care" includes health care delivered pursuant to 
Labor Code §408.0281 and §408.0284. 
  (7) Preauthorization or concurrent medical necessity dispute--A dispute that involves a 
review of adverse determination of network or non-network health care requiring 
preauthorization or concurrent utilization review. The dispute is reviewed by an 
independent review organization (IRO) pursuant to the Insurance Code, the Labor Code 
and related rules, including §133.308 of this title (relating to MDR of Medical Necessity 
Disputes). 
  (8) Requestor--The party that timely files a request for medical dispute resolution with 
the division; the party seeking relief in medical dispute resolution. 
  (9) Respondent--The party against whom relief is sought. 
  (10) Retrospective medical necessity dispute--A dispute that involves a review of the 
medical necessity of health care already provided. The dispute is reviewed by an IRO 
pursuant to the Insurance Code, Labor Code and related rules, including §133.308 of 
this title. 
  (11) Serious bodily injury--As defined by §1.07, Penal Code. 
  (12) State active duty--As defined by §437.001, Government Code. 
  (13) State training and other duty--As defined by §437.001, Government Code. 

(14) Texas military forces--As defined by §437.001, Government Code. 
 

(b) Dispute Sequence. If a dispute regarding compensability, extent of injury, liability, or 
medical necessity exists for the same service for which there is a medical fee dispute, 
the disputes regarding compensability, extent of injury, liability, or medical necessity 
shall be resolved prior to the submission of a medical fee dispute for the same services 
in accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and §408.021. 
 
(c) Division Administrative Fee. The division may assess a fee, as published on the 
division's website, in accordance with Labor Code §413.020 when resolving disputes 
pursuant to §133.307 and §133.308 of this title if the decision indicates the following: 
  (1) the health care provider billed an amount in conflict with division rules, including 
billing rules, fee guidelines or treatment guidelines; 
  (2) the insurance carrier denied or reduced payment in conflict with division rules, 
including reimbursement or audit rules, fee guidelines or treatment guidelines; 
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  (3) the insurance carrier has reduced the payment based on a contracted discount rate 
with the health care provider but has not made the contract or the health care provider 
notice required under Labor Code §408.0281 available upon the division's request; 
  (4) the insurance carrier has reduced or denied payment based on a contract that 
indicates the direction or management of health care through a health care provider 
arrangement that has not been certified as a workers' compensation network, in 
accordance with Insurance Code Chapter 1305 or through a health care provider 
arrangement authorized under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2); or 

(5) the insurance carrier or healthcare provider did not comply with a provision of the 
Insurance Code, Labor Code or related rules. 

 
(d) Confidentiality. Any documentation exchanged by the parties during MDR that 
contains information regarding a patient other than the injured employee for that claim 
must be redacted by the party submitting the documentation to remove any 
information that identifies that patient. 
 
(e) Severability. If a court of competent jurisdiction holds that any provision of 
§§133.305, 133.307, or 133.308 of this title is inconsistent with any statutes of this state, 
unconstitutional, or invalid for any reason, the remaining provisions of these sections 
remain in full effect. 
 
(f) Texas Military Forces. For a claim under Labor Code §501.028, the travel of a member 
of the Texas military forces to or from the member's duty location is considered to be 
in the course and scope of the member's employment if the member is: 
  (1) serving on state active duty and engaged in authorized duty under written orders; 
or 

(2) on state training and other duty. 
 

Source Note: The provisions of this §133.305 adopted to be effective December 31, 
2006, 31 TexReg 10314; amended to be effective May 25, 2008, 33 TexReg 3954; 
amended to be effective July 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 2408; amended to be effective March 
30, 2014, 39 TexReg 2095; amended to be effective December 28, 2023, 48 TexReg 
7999 
 
RULE §133.306 Interlocutory Orders for Medical Benefits 
 
(a) The Commissioner of Workers' Compensation may delegate the authority to issue 
interlocutory orders for accrued and/or future medical benefits to division staff. 
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(b) The division may enter an interlocutory order for accrued or future medical benefits 
when: 
  (1) the division determines that an insurance carrier has disputed medical benefits as 
the result of a liability, compensability, or extent of injury dispute that an insurance 
carrier has raised in accordance with §124.2 of this title (relating to Carrier Reporting and 
Notification Requirements), and the division determines that those medical benefits are 
or were medically necessary and constitute health care reasonably required and are not 
subject to the medical dispute resolution process set forth in Chapter 133, Subchapter D 
of this title (relating to Dispute of Medical Bills); 
  (2) at the conclusion of the medical dispute resolution process: 
    (A) the division determines that an insurance carrier has disputed medical benefits as 
the result of a liability, compensability, or extent of injury dispute that an insurance 
carrier has raised in accordance with §124.2 of this title, and the division deems that the 
disputed medical benefits are or were medically necessary and constitute health care 
reasonably required; or 
    (B) the division determines that future medical benefits for which preauthorization is 
required are medically necessary and constitute health care reasonably required; or 
  (3) an insurance carrier makes an adverse determination for drugs prescribed on or 
after September 1, 2011 and excluded from the division's closed formulary as set forth 
in §§134.510, 134.530, 134.540, and 134.550 of this title (relating to Requirements for the 
Transition to the Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims with Dates of Injury Prior to 
September 1, 2011, Requirements for Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims Not 
Subject to Certified Networks, Requirements for Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims 
Subject to Certified Networks, and Medical Interlocutory Order respectively) and the 
division determines that those medical benefits are or were medically necessary and 
constitute health care reasonably required. 
 
(c) Absent the interlocutory order as set forth in subsections (a) and (b) of this section, 
the division shall enter an interlocutory order only when the injured employee would 
not receive medical benefits that are medically necessary and constitute health care 
reasonably required. 
(d) A party shall comply with an interlocutory order entered in accordance with this 
section on the earlier of the seventh day after receipt of the order or the date the 
division establishes in the body of the order. 
 
(e) The insurance carrier may dispute an interlocutory order entered under this title by 
filing a written request for a hearing in accordance with Labor Code §413.055 and §148.3 
of this title (relating to Requesting a Hearing). 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 245

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=307


(f) An insurance carrier that makes an overpayment pursuant to an interlocutory order 
may be eligible for reimbursement from the Subsequent Injury Fund. An insurance 
carrier must make a request for reimbursement in accordance with §116.11 of this title 
(relating to Request for Reimbursement from the Subsequent Injury Fund). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.306 adopted to be effective July 15, 2000, 25 
TexReg 2115; amended to be effective September 1, 2011, 35 TexReg 11340 
 
RULE §133.307 Medical Fee Dispute Resolution 
 
(a) Applicability. This section applies to a request to the division for medical fee dispute 
resolution (MFDR) as authorized by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act. 
  (1) Dispute resolution requests must be resolved in accordance with the statutes and 
rules in effect at the time the request was filed. 
  (2) In resolving disputes regarding the amount of payment due for health care 
determined to be medically necessary and appropriate for treatment of a compensable 
injury, the role of the division is to adjudicate the payment, given the relevant statutory 
provisions and division rules. 
  (3) In accordance with Labor Code §504.055 a request for medical fee dispute 
resolution that involves a first responder's request for reimbursement of medical 
expenses paid by the first responder will be accelerated by the division and given 
priority. The first responder shall provide notice to the division that the request involves 
a first responder. 
  (4) The 2020 amendments regarding electronic submission of dispute requests are 
effective February 22, 2021. 
 
(b) Requestors. The following parties may be requestors in medical fee disputes: 
  (1) the health care provider, or a qualified pharmacy processing agent, as described in 
Labor Code §413.0111, in a dispute over the reimbursement of a medical bill(s); 
  (2) the health care provider in a dispute about the results of a division or insurance 
carrier audit or review which requires the health care provider to refund an amount for 
health care services previously paid by the insurance carrier; 
  (3) the injured employee in a dispute involving an injured employee's request for 
reimbursement from the insurance carrier of medical expenses paid by the injured 
employee; 
  (4) the injured employee when requesting a refund of the amount the injured 
employee paid to the health care provider in excess of a division fee guideline; or 
  (5) a subclaimant in accordance with §140.6 of this title (relating to Subclaimant Status: 
Establishment, Rights, and Procedures), §140.7 of this title (relating to Health Care 
Insurer Reimbursement under Labor Code §409.0091), or §140.8 of this title (relating to 
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Procedures for Health Care Insurers to Pursue Reimbursement of Medical Benefits under 
Labor Code §409.0091), as applicable. 
 
(c) Requests. Requests for MFDR must be legible and filed in the form and manner 
prescribed by the division. 
  (1) Timeliness. A requestor must timely file the request with the division or waive the 
right to MFDR. The division will deem a request to be filed on the date the division 
receives the request. A decision by the division that a request was not timely filed is not 
a dismissal and may be appealed pursuant to subsection (g) of this section. 
    (A) A request for MFDR that does not involve issues identified in subparagraph (B) of 
this paragraph shall be filed no later than one year after the date(s) of service in dispute. 
    (B) A request may be filed later than one year after the date(s) of service if: 
      (i) a related compensability, extent of injury, or liability dispute under Labor Code 
Chapter 410 has been filed, the medical fee dispute shall be filed not later than 60 days 
after the date the requestor receives the final decision, inclusive of all appeals, on 
compensability, extent of injury, or liability; 
      (ii) a medical dispute regarding medical necessity has been filed, the medical fee 
dispute must be filed not later than 60 days after the date the requestor received the 
final decision on medical necessity, inclusive of all appeals, related to the health care in 
dispute and for which the insurance carrier previously denied payment based on 
medical necessity; or 
      (iii) the dispute relates to a refund notice issued pursuant to a division audit or 
review, the medical fee dispute must be filed not later than 60 days after the date of the 
receipt of a refund notice. 
  (2) Health Care Provider or Pharmacy Processing Agent Request. The requestor must 
send the request to the division in the form and manner prescribed by the division by 
any mail service, personal delivery, or electronic transmission as described in §102.5 of 
this title. The request must include: 
    (A) the name, address, and contact information of the requestor; 
    (B) the name of the injured employee; 
    (C) the date of the injury; 
    (D) the date(s) of the service(s) in dispute; 
    (E) the place of service; 
    (F) the treatment or service code(s) in dispute; 
    (G) the amount billed by the health care provider for the treatment(s) or service(s) in 
dispute; 
    (H) the amount paid by the workers' compensation insurance carrier for the 
treatment(s) or service(s) in dispute; 
    (I) the disputed amount for each treatment or service in dispute; 
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    (J) a copy of all medical bills related to the dispute, as described in §133.10 of this 
chapter (concerning Required Billing Forms/Formats) or §133.500 (concerning Electronic 
Formats for Electronic Medical Bill Processing) as originally submitted to the insurance 
carrier in accordance with this chapter, and a copy of all medical bills submitted to the 
insurance carrier for an appeal in accordance with §133.250 of this chapter (concerning 
Reconsideration for Payment of Medical Bills); 
    (K) each explanation of benefits or e-remittance (collectively "EOB") related to the 
dispute as originally submitted to the health care provider in accordance with this 
chapter or, if no EOB was received, convincing documentation providing evidence of 
insurance carrier receipt of the request for an EOB; 
    (L) when applicable, a copy of the final decision regarding compensability, extent of 
injury, liability and/or medical necessity for the health care related to the dispute; 
    (M) a copy of all applicable medical records related to the dates of service in dispute; 
    (N) a position statement of the disputed issue(s) that shall include: 
      (i) the requestor's reasoning for why the disputed fees should be paid or refunded, 
      (ii) how the Labor Code and division rules, including fee guidelines, impact the 
disputed fee issues, and 
      (iii) how the submitted documentation supports the requestor's position for each 
disputed fee issue; 
    (O) documentation that discusses, demonstrates, and justifies that the payment 
amount being sought is a fair and reasonable rate of reimbursement in accordance with 
§134.1 of this title (relating to Medical Reimbursement) or §134.503 of this title (relating 
to Pharmacy Fee Guideline) when the dispute involves health care for which the division 
has not established a maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) or reimbursement rate, 
as applicable; 
    (P) if the requestor is a pharmacy processing agent, a signed and dated copy of an 
agreement between the processing agent and the pharmacy clearly demonstrating the 
dates of service covered by the contract and a clear assignment of the pharmacy's right 
to participate in the MFDR process. The pharmacy processing agent may redact any 
proprietary information contained within the agreement; and 
    (Q) any other documentation that the requestor deems applicable to the medical fee 
dispute. 
  (3) Subclaimant Dispute Request. 
    (A) A request made by a subclaimant under Labor Code §409.009 (relating to 
Subclaims) must comply with §140.6 of this title (concerning Subclaimant Status: 
Establishment, Rights, and Procedures) and submit the required documents to the 
division. 
    (B) A request made by a subclaimant under Labor Code §409.0091 (relating to 
Reimbursement Procedures for Certain Entities) must comply with the document 
requirements of §140.8 of this title (concerning Procedures for Health Care Insurers to 
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Pursue Reimbursement of Medical Benefits under Labor Code §409.0091) and submit 
the required documents to the division. 
  (4) Injured Employee Dispute Request. An injured employee who has paid for health 
care may request MFDR of a refund or reimbursement request that has been denied. 
The injured employee must send the request to the division in the form and manner 
prescribed by the division by mail service, personal delivery, or electronic transmission 
as described in §102.5 of this title and must include: 
    (A) the name, address, and contact information of the injured employee; 
    (B) the date of the injury; 
    (C) the date(s) of the service(s) in dispute; 
    (D) a description of the services paid; 
    (E) the amount paid by the injured employee; 
    (F) the amount of the medical fee in dispute; 
    (G) an explanation of why the disputed amount should be refunded or reimbursed, 
and how the submitted documentation supports the explanation for each disputed 
amount; 
    (H) proof of employee payment (including copies of receipts, health care provider 
billing statements, or similar documents); and 
    (I) a copy of the insurance carrier's or health care provider's denial of reimbursement 
or refund relevant to the dispute, or if no denial was received, convincing evidence of 
the injured employee's attempt to obtain reimbursement or refund from the insurance 
carrier or health care provider. 
  (5) Division Response to Request. The division will forward a copy of the request and 
the documentation submitted in accordance with paragraph (2), (3), or (4) of this 
subsection to the respondent. The respondent shall be deemed to have received the 
request on the acknowledgment date as defined in §102.5 of this title (relating to 
General Rules for Written Communications to and from the Commission). 
 
(d) Responses. Responses to a request for MFDR must be legible and submitted to the 
division and to the requestor in the form and manner prescribed by the division. 
  (1) Timeliness. The response will be deemed timely if received by the division through 
mail service, personal delivery, or electronic transmission, as described in §102.5 of this 
title, within 14 calendar days after the date the respondent received the copy of the 
requestor's dispute. If the division does not receive the response information within 14 
calendar days of the dispute notification, then the division may base its decision on the 
available information. 
  (2) Response. On receipt of the request, the respondent must provide any missing 
information not provided by the requestor and known to the respondent. The 
respondent must also provide the following information and records: 
    (A) the name, address, and contact information of the respondent; 
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    (B) all initial and appeal EOBs related to the dispute as originally submitted to the 
health care provider in accordance with this chapter, related to the health care in 
dispute not submitted by the requester, or a statement certifying that the respondent 
did not receive the health care provider's disputed billing before the dispute request; 
    (C) all medical bill(s) related to the dispute, submitted in accordance with this chapter 
if different from that originally submitted to the insurance carrier for reimbursement; 
    (D) any pertinent medical records or other documents relevant to the fee dispute not 
already provided by the requestor; 
    (E) a statement of the disputed fee issue(s), which includes: 
      (i) a description of the health care in dispute; 
      (ii) a position statement of reasons why the disputed medical fees should not be 
paid; 
      (iii) a discussion of how the Labor Code and division rules, including fee guidelines, 
impact the disputed fee issues; 
      (iv) a discussion regarding how the submitted documentation supports the 
respondent's position for each disputed fee issues; 
      (v) documentation that discusses, demonstrates, and justifies that the amount the 
respondent paid is a fair and reasonable reimbursement in accordance with Labor Code 
§413.011 and §134.1 or §134.503 of this title if the dispute involves health care for which 
the division has not established a MAR or reimbursement rate, as applicable. 
    (F) The responses shall address only those denial reasons presented to the requestor 
prior to the date the request for MFDR was filed with the division and the other party. 
Any new denial reasons or defenses raised shall not be considered in the review. If the 
response includes unresolved issues of compensability, extent of injury, liability, or 
medical necessity, the request for MFDR will be dismissed in accordance with subsection 
(f)(3)(B) or (C) of this section. 
    (G) If the respondent did not receive the health care provider's disputed billing or the 
employee's reimbursement request relevant to the dispute prior to the request, the 
respondent shall include that information in a written statement. 
    (H) If the medical fee dispute involves compensability, extent of injury, or liability, the 
insurance carrier must attach any related Plain Language Notice in accordance with 
§124.2 of this title (concerning Insurance Carrier Reporting and Notification 
Requirements). 
    (I) If the medical fee dispute involves medical necessity issues, the insurance carrier 
must attach documentation that supports an adverse determination in accordance with 
§19.2005 of this title (concerning General Standards of Utilization Review). 
 
(e) Withdrawal. The requestor may withdraw its request for MFDR by notifying the 
division prior to a decision. 
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(f) MFDR Action. The division will review the completed request and response to 
determine appropriate MFDR action. 
  (1) Request for Additional Information. The division may request additional information 
from either party to review the medical fee issues in dispute. The additional information 
must be received by the division no later than 14 days after receipt of this request. If the 
division does not receive the requested additional information within 14 days after 
receipt of the request, then the division may base its decision on the information 
available. The party providing the additional information shall forward a copy of the 
additional information to all other parties at the time it is submitted to the division. 
  (2) Issues Raised by the Division. The division may raise issues in the MFDR process 
when it determines such an action to be appropriate to administer the dispute process 
consistent with the provisions of the Labor Code and division rules. 
  (3) Dismissal. A dismissal is not a final decision by the division. The medical fee dispute 
may be submitted for review as a new dispute that is subject to the requirements of this 
section. The division may dismiss a request for MFDR if: 
    (A) the division determines that the medical bills in the dispute have not been 
submitted to the insurance carrier for an appeal, when required; 
    (B) the request contains an unresolved adverse determination of medical necessity; 
    (C) the request contains an unresolved compensability, extent of injury, or liability 
dispute for the claim; or 
    (D) the division determines that good cause exists to dismiss the request, including a 
party's failure to comply with the provisions of this section. 
  (4) Decision. The division shall send a decision to the disputing parties or to 
representatives of record for the parties, if any, and post the decision on the 
department's website. 
  (5) Division Fee. The division may assess a fee in accordance with §133.305 of this 
subchapter (relating to MDR--General). 
 
(g) Appeal of MFDR Decision. A party to a medical fee dispute may seek review of the 
decision. Parties are deemed to have received the MFDR decision as provided in §102.5 
of this title. The MFDR decision is final if the request for the benefit review conference is 
not timely made. If a party provides the benefit review officer or administrative law 
judge with documentation listed in subsection (d)(2)(H) or (I) of this section that shows 
unresolved issues regarding compensability, extent of injury, liability, or medical 
necessity for the same service subject to the fee dispute, then the benefit review officer 
or administrative law judge shall abate the proceedings until those issues have been 
resolved. 
  (1) A party seeking review of an MFDR decision must request a benefit review 
conference no later than 20 days from the date the MFDR decision is received by the 
party. The party that requests a review of the MFDR decision must mediate the dispute 
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in the manner required by Labor Code, Chapter 410, Subchapter B and request a benefit 
review conference under Chapter 141 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--
Benefit Review Conference). A party may appear at a benefit review conference via 
telephone. The benefit review conference will be conducted in accordance with Chapter 
141 of this title. 
    (A) Notwithstanding §141.1(b) of this title (relating to Requesting and Setting a 
Benefit Review Conference), a seeking review of an MFDR decision may request a 
benefit review conference. 
    (B) At a benefit review conference, the parties to the dispute may not resolve the 
dispute by negotiating fees that are inconsistent with any applicable fee guidelines 
adopted by the commissioner. 
    (C) A party must file the request for a benefit review conference in accordance with 
Chapter 141 of this title and must include in the request a copy of the MFDR decision. 
Providing a copy of the MFDR decision satisfies the documentation requirements in 
§141.1(d) of this title. A first responder's request for a benefit review conference must be 
accelerated by the division and given priority in accordance with Labor Code §504.055. 
The first responder must provide notice to the division that the contested case involves 
a first responder. 
  (2) If the medical fee dispute remains unresolved after a benefit review conference, the 
parties may request arbitration as provided in Labor Code, Chapter 410, Subchapter C 
and Chapter 144 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution). If arbitration is not elected, 
the party may appeal the MFDR decision by requesting a contested case hearing before 
the State Office of Administrative Hearings. A first responder's request for arbitration by 
the division or a contested case hearing before the State Office of Administrative 
Hearings must be accelerated by the division and given priority in accordance with 
Labor Code §504.055. The first responder must provide notice to the division that the 
contested case involves a first responder. 
    (A) To request a contested case hearing before State Office of Administrative 
Hearings, a party shall file a written request for a State Office of Administrative Hearings 
hearing with the Division's Chief Clerk of Proceedings not later than 20 days after 
conclusion of the benefit review conference in accordance with §148.3 of this title 
(relating to Requesting a Hearing). 
    (B) The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of its written 
request for a hearing to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the 
request for hearing is filed with the division. 
  (3) A party to a medical fee dispute who has exhausted all administrative remedies may 
seek judicial review of the decision of the Administrative Law Judge at the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings. The division and the department are not considered to be 
parties to the medical dispute pursuant to Labor Code §413.031(k-2) and §413.0312(f). 
Judicial review under this paragraph shall be conducted in the manner provided for 
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judicial review of contested cases under Chapter 2001, Subchapter G Government Code, 
except that in the case of a medical fee dispute the party seeking judicial review must 
file suit not later than the 45th day after the date on which the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings mailed the party the notification of the decision. The mailing 
date is considered to be the fifth day after the date the decision was issued by the State 
Office of Administrative Hearings. A party seeking judicial review of the decision of the 
administrative law judge shall at the time the petition for judicial review is filed with the 
district court file a copy of the petition with the division's chief clerk of proceedings. 
 
(h) Billing of the non-prevailing party. Except as otherwise provided by Labor Code 
§413.0312, the non-prevailing party shall reimburse the division for the costs for services 
provided by the State Office of Administrative Hearings and any interest required by 
law. 
  (1) The non-prevailing party shall remit payment to the division not later than the 30th 
day after the date of receiving a bill or statement from the division. 
  (2) In the event of a dismissal, the party requesting the hearing, other than the injured 
employee, shall reimburse the division for the costs for services provided by the State 
Office of Administrative Hearings unless otherwise agreed by the parties. 
  (3) If the injured employee is the non-prevailing party, the insurance carrier shall 
reimburse the division for the costs for services provided by the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings. 
 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.307 adopted to be effective December 31, 
2006, 31 TexReg 10314; amended to be effective May 25, 2008, 33 TexReg 3954; 
amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3833; amended to be effective 
February 22, 2021, 46 TexReg 826 
 
RULE §133.308 MDR of Medical Necessity Disputes 
  
(a) Applicability. The applicability of this section is as follows. 
  (1) This section applies to the independent review of medical necessity disputes that 
are filed on or after June 1, 2012. Dispute resolution requests filed prior to June 1, 2012 
shall be resolved in accordance with the statutes and rules in effect at the time the 
request was filed. 
  (2) When applicable, retrospective medical necessity disputes shall be governed by 
the provisions of Labor Code §413.031(n) and related rules. 

(3) All independent review organizations (IROs) performing reviews of health care 
under the Labor Code and Insurance Code, regardless of where the independent review 
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activities are located, shall comply with this section. The Insurance Code, the Labor 
Code and related rules govern the independent review process. 

 
(b) IRO Certification. Each IRO performing independent review of health care provided 
in the workers' compensation system shall be certified pursuant to Insurance Code 
Chapter 4202 and Chapter 12 of this title (relating to Independent Review 
Organizations). 
 
(c) Professional licensing requirements. Notwithstanding Insurance Code Chapter 4202, 
an IRO that uses doctors to perform reviews of health care services provided under this 
section may only use doctors licensed to practice in Texas that hold the appropriate 
credentials under Chapter 180 of this title (relating to Monitoring and Enforcement). 
Personnel employed by or under contract with the IRO to perform independent review 
shall also comply with the personnel and credentialing requirements under Chapter 12 
of this title. 
 
(d) Conflicts. Conflicts of interest will be reviewed by the department consistent with 
the provisions of the Insurance Code §4202.008, Labor Code §413.032(b), §§12.203, 
12.204, and 12.206 of this title (relating to Conflicts of Interest Prohibited, Prohibitions 
of Certain Activities and Relationships of Independent Review Organizations and 
Individuals or Entities Associated with Independent Review Organizations, and Notice 
of Determinations Made by Independent Review Organizations, respectively), and any 
other related rules. Notification of each IRO decision must include a certification by the 
IRO that the reviewing health care provider has certified that no known conflicts of 
interest exist between that health care provider and the injured employee, the injured 
employee's employer, the insurance carrier, the utilization review agent, any of the 
treating health care providers, or any of the health care providers utilized by the 
insurance carrier to review the case for determination prior to referral to the IRO. 
 
(e) Monitoring. The division will monitor IROs under Labor Code §§413.002, 413.0511, 
and 413.0512. The division shall report the results of the monitoring of IROs to the 
department on at least a quarterly basis. The division will make inquiries, conduct 
audits, receive and investigate complaints, and take all actions permitted by the Labor 
Code and other applicable law against an IRO or personnel employed by or under 
contract with an IRO to perform independent review to determine compliance with 
applicable law, this section, and other applicable division rules. 
(f) Requestors. The following parties may be requestors in medical necessity disputes: 
  (1) In network disputes: 
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    (A) health care providers, or qualified pharmacy processing agents acting on behalf 
of a pharmacy, as described in Labor Code §413.0111, for preauthorization, concurrent, 
and retrospective medical necessity dispute resolution; 
    (B) injured employees or a person acting on behalf of an injured employee for 
preauthorization, concurrent, and retrospective medical necessity dispute resolution; 
and 
    (C) subclaimants in accordance with §§140.6, 140.7, or 140.8 of this title, as 
applicable. 
  (2) In non-network disputes: 
    (A) health care providers, or qualified pharmacy processing agents acting on behalf 
of a pharmacy, as described in Labor Code §413.0111, for preauthorization, concurrent, 
and retrospective medical necessity dispute resolution; 
    (B) injured employees or injured employee's representative for preauthorization and 
concurrent medical necessity dispute resolution; and, for retrospective medical 
necessity dispute resolution when reimbursement was denied for health care paid by 
the injured employee; and 
    (C) subclaimants in accordance with §140.6 of this title (relating to Subclaimant 
Status: Establishment, Rights, and Procedures), §140.7 of this title (relating to Health 
Care Insurer Reimbursement under Labor Code §409.0091), or §140.8 of this title 
(relating to Procedures for Health Care Insurers to Pursue Reimbursement of Medical 
Benefits under Labor Code §409.0091), as applicable. 
 
(g) Requests. A request for independent review must be filed in the form and manner 
prescribed by the department. The department's IRO request form may be obtained 
from: 
  (1) the department's website at http://www.tdi.texas.gov/; or 

(2) the Managed Care Quality Assurance Office, Mail Code LH-MCQA, Texas 
Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030. 

 
(h) Timeliness. A requestor shall file a request for independent review with the 
insurance carrier that actually issued the adverse determination or the insurance 
carrier's utilization review agent (URA) that actually issued the adverse determination 
no later than the 45th calendar day after receipt of the insurance carrier's denial of an 
appeal. The insurance carrier shall notify the department of a request for an 
independent review within one working day from the date the request is received by 
the insurance carrier or its URA. In a preauthorization or concurrent review dispute 
request, an injured employee with a life-threatening condition, as defined in §133.305 
of this subchapter (relating to MDR--General), is entitled to an immediate review by an 
IRO and is not required to comply with the procedures for an appeal to the insurance 
carrier. 
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(i) Dismissal. The department may dismiss a request for medical necessity dispute 
resolution if: 
  (1) the requestor informs the department, or the department otherwise determines, 
that the dispute no longer exists; 
  (2) the requestor is not a proper party to the dispute pursuant to subsection (f) of this 
section; 
  (3) the department determines that the dispute involving a non-life-threatening 
condition has not been submitted to the insurance carrier for an appeal; 
  (4) the department has previously resolved the dispute for the date(s) of health care in 
question; 
  (5) the request for dispute resolution is untimely pursuant to subsection (h) of this 
section; 
  (6) the request for medical necessity dispute resolution was not submitted in 
compliance with the provisions of this subchapter; or 

(7) the department determines that good cause otherwise exists to dismiss the 
request. 

 
(j) IRO Assignment and Notification. The department shall review the request for IRO 
review, assign an IRO, and notify the parties about the IRO assignment consistent with 
the provisions of Insurance Code §4202.002(a)(1), §1305.355(a), Chapter 12, Subchapter 
F of this title (relating to Random Assignment of Independent Review Organizations), 
any other related rules, and this subchapter. 
 
(k) Insurance Carrier Document Submission. The insurance carrier or the insurance 
carrier's URA shall submit the documentation required in paragraphs (1) - (6) of this 
subsection to the IRO not later than the third working day after the date the insurance 
carrier or URA receives the notice of IRO assignment. The documentation shall include: 
  (1) the forms prescribed by the department for requesting IRO review; 
  (2) all medical records of the injured employee in the possession of the insurance 
carrier or the URA that are relevant to the review, including any medical records used 
by the insurance carrier or the URA in making the determinations to be reviewed by the 
IRO; 
  (3) all documents, guidelines, policies, protocols and criteria used by the insurance 
carrier or the URA in making the decision; 
  (4) all documentation and written information submitted to the insurance carrier in 
support of the appeal; 
  (5) the written notification of the initial adverse determination and the written adverse 
determination of the appeal to the insurance carrier or the insurance carrier's URA; and 
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(6) any other information required by the department related to a request from an 
insurance carrier for the assignment of an IRO. 

 
(l) Additional Information. The IRO shall request additional necessary information from 
either party or from other health care providers whose records are relevant to the 
review. 
  (1) The party or health care providers with relevant records shall deliver the requested 
information to the IRO as directed by the IRO. If the health care provider requested to 
submit records is not a party to the dispute, the insurance carrier shall reimburse copy 
expenses for the requested records pursuant to §134.120 of this title (relating to 
Reimbursement for Medical Documentation). Parties to the dispute may not be 
reimbursed for copies of records sent to the IRO. 
  (2) If the required documentation has not been received as requested by the IRO, the 
IRO shall notify the department and the department shall request the necessary 
documentation. 

(3) Failure to provide the requested documentation as directed by the IRO or 
department may result in enforcement action as authorized by statutes and rules. 

 
(m) Designated Doctor Exam. In performing a review of medical necessity, an IRO may 
request that the division require an examination by a designated doctor and direct the 
injured employee to attend the examination pursuant to Labor Code §413.031(g) and 
§408.0041. The IRO request to the division must be made no later than 10 days after 
the IRO receives notification of assignment of the IRO. The treating doctor and 
insurance carrier shall forward a copy of all medical records, diagnostic reports, films, 
and other medical documents to the designated doctor appointed by the division, to 
arrive no later than three working days prior to the scheduled examination. 
Communication with the designated doctor is prohibited regarding issues not related 
to the medical necessity dispute. The designated doctor shall complete a report and file 
it with the IRO, in the form and manner prescribed by the division no later than seven 
working days after completing the examination. The designated doctor report shall 
address all issues as directed by the division. 
 
(n) Time Frame for IRO Decision. The IRO will render a decision as follows: 
  (1) for life-threatening conditions, no later than eight days after the IRO receipt of the 
dispute; 
  (2) for preauthorization and concurrent medical necessity disputes, no later than the 
20th day after the IRO receipt of the dispute; 
  (3) for retrospective medical necessity disputes, no later than the 30th day after the 
IRO receipt of the IRO fee; and 
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(4) if a designated doctor examination has been requested by the IRO, the above time 
frames begin on the date of the IRO receipt of the designated doctor report. 

 
(o) IRO Decision. The decision shall be mailed or otherwise transmitted to the parties 
and to representatives of record for the parties and transmitted in the form and 
manner prescribed by the department within the time frames specified in this section. 
  (1) The IRO decision must include: 
    (A) a list of all medical records and other documents reviewed by the IRO, including 
the dates of those documents; 
    (B) a description and the source of the screening criteria or clinical basis used in 
making the decision; 
    (C) an analysis of, and explanation for, the decision, including the findings and 
conclusions used to support the decision; 
    (D) a description of the qualifications of each physician or other health care provider 
who reviewed the decision; 
    (E) a statement that clearly states whether or not medical necessity exists for each of 
the health care services in dispute; 
    (F) a certification by the IRO that the reviewing health care provider has no known 
conflicts of interest pursuant to the Insurance Code Chapter 4202, Labor Code 
§413.032, and §12.203 of this title; and 
    (G) if the IRO's decision is contrary to the division's policies or guidelines adopted 
under Labor Code §413.011, the IRO must indicate in the decision the specific basis for 
its divergence in the review of medical necessity of non-network health care. 

(2) The notification to the department shall also include certification of the date and 
means by which the decision was sent to the parties. 

 
(p) Insurance Carrier Use of Peer Review Report after an IRO Decision. If an IRO decision 
determines that medical necessity exists for health care that the insurance carrier 
denied and the insurance carrier utilized a peer review report on which to base its 
denial, the peer review report shall not be used for subsequent medical necessity 
denials of the same health care services subsequently reviewed for that compensable 
injury. 
 
 
(q) IRO Fees. IRO fees will be paid in the same amounts as the IRO fees set by 
department rules. In addition to the specialty classifications established as tier two fees 
in department rules, independent review by a doctor of chiropractic shall be paid the 
tier two fee. IRO fees shall be paid as follows: 
  (1) In network disputes, a preauthorization, concurrent, or retrospective medical 
necessity dispute for health care provided by a network, the insurance carrier must 
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remit payment to the assigned IRO within 15 days after receipt of an invoice from the 
IRO; 
  (2) In non-network disputes, IRO fees for disputes regarding non-network health care 
must be paid as follows: 
    (A) in a preauthorization or concurrent review medical necessity dispute or 
retrospective medical necessity dispute resolution when reimbursement was denied for 
health care paid by the injured employee, the insurance carrier shall remit payment to 
the assigned IRO within 15 days after receipt of an invoice from the IRO. 
    (B) in a retrospective medical necessity dispute, the requestor must remit payment to 
the assigned IRO within 15 days after receipt of an invoice from the IRO. 
      (i) If the IRO fee has not been received within 15 days of the requestor's receipt of 
the invoice, the IRO shall notify the department and the department shall dismiss the 
dispute with prejudice. 
      (ii) After an IRO decision is rendered, the IRO fee must be paid or refunded by the 
nonprevailing party as determined by the IRO in its decision. 
  (3) Designated doctor examinations requested by an IRO shall be paid by the 
insurance carrier in accordance with the medical fee guidelines under the Labor Code 
and related rules. 
  (4) Failure to pay or refund the IRO fee may result in enforcement action as authorized 
by statute and rules. 
  (5) For health care not provided by a network, the non-prevailing party to a 
retrospective medical necessity dispute must pay or refund the IRO fee to the 
prevailing party upon receipt of the IRO decision, but not later than 15 days regardless 
of whether an appeal of the IRO decision has been or will be filed. 
  (6) The IRO fees may include an amended notification of decision if the department 
determines the notification to be incomplete. The amended notification of decision 
shall be filed with the department no later than five working days from the IRO's 
receipt of such notice from the department. The amended notification of decision does 
not alter the deadlines for appeal. 
  (7) If a requestor withdraws the request for an IRO decision after the IRO has been 
assigned by the department but before the IRO sends the case to an IRO reviewer, the 
requestor shall pay the IRO a withdrawal fee of $150 within 30 days of the withdrawal. If 
a requestor withdraws the request for an IRO decision after the case is sent to a 
reviewer, the requestor shall pay the IRO the full IRO review fee within 30 days of the 
withdrawal. 
  (8) In addition to department enforcement action, the division may assess an 
administrative fee in accordance with Labor Code §413.020 and §133.305 of this 
subchapter. 
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(9) This section shall not be deemed to require an employee to pay for any part of a 
review. If application of a provision of this section would require an employee to pay 
for part of the cost of a review, that cost shall instead be paid by the insurance carrier. 

 
(r) Defense. An insurance carrier may claim a defense to a medical necessity dispute if 
the insurance carrier timely complies with the IRO decision with respect to the medical 
necessity or appropriateness of health care for an injured employee. Upon receipt of an 
IRO decision for a retrospective medical necessity dispute that finds that medical 
necessity exists, the insurance carrier must review, audit, and process the bill. In 
addition, the insurance carrier shall tender payment consistent with the IRO decision, 
and issue a new explanation of benefits (EOB) to reflect the payment within 21 days 
upon receipt of the IRO decision. The decision of an IRO under Labor Code §413.031(m) 
is binding during the pendency of a dispute. 
 
(s) Appeal of IRO decision. A decision issued by an IRO is not considered an agency 
decision and neither the department nor the division is considered a party to an appeal. 
In a division Contested Case Hearing (CCH), the party appealing the IRO decision has 
the burden of overcoming the decision issued by an IRO by a preponderance of 
evidence based medical evidence. A party to a medical dispute that remains unresolved 
after a review under Labor Code §504.053(d)(3) or Insurance Code §1305.355 is entitled 
to a contested case hearing in the same manner as a hearing conducted under Labor 
Code §413.0311. A party to a medical necessity dispute may seek review of a dismissal 
or decision at a division CCS as follows: 
  (1) A party to a medical necessity dispute may appeal the IRO decision by requesting a 
division CCH conducted by a division administrative law judge. A benefit review 
conference is not a prerequisite to a division CCH under this subsection. 
    (A) The written appeal must be filed with the division's Chief Clerk of Proceedings no 
later than the later of the 20th day after the effective date of this section or 20 days 
after the date the IRO decision is sent to the appealing party and must be filed in the 
form and manner required by the division. Requests that are timely submitted to a 
division location other than the division's Chief Clerk of Proceedings, such as a local 
field office of the division, will be considered timely filed and forwarded to the Chief 
Clerk of Proceedings for processing; however, this may result in a delay in the 
processing of the request. 
    (B) The party appealing the IRO decision shall send a copy of its written request for a 
hearing to all other parties involved in the dispute. The IRO is not required to 
participate in the division CCH or any appeal. 
    (C) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a division CCH shall be conducted in 
accordance with Chapters 140 and 142 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--
General Provisions and Dispute Resolution--Benefit Contested Case Hearing). 
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    (D) At a division CCH, the administrative law judge shall consider the treatment 
guidelines: 
      (i) adopted by the network under Insurance Code §1305.304, for a network dispute; 
      (ii) adopted by the division under Labor Code §413.011(e) for a non-network 
dispute; or 
      (iii) adopted, if any, by the political subdivision or pool that provides medical 
benefits under Labor Code §504.053(b)(2) if those treatment guidelines meet the 
standards provided by Labor Code §413.011(e). 
    (E) Prior to a division CCH, a party may submit a request for a letter of clarification by 
the IRO to the division's Chief Clerk of Proceedings. A copy of the request for a letter of 
clarification must be provided to all parties involved in the dispute at the time it is 
submitted to the division. 
      (i) A party's request for a letter of clarification must be submitted to the division no 
later than 10 days before the date set for hearing. The request must include a cover 
letter that contains the names of the parties and all identification numbers assigned to 
the hearing or the independent review by the division, the department, or the IRO. 
      (ii) The department may at its discretion forward the party's request for a letter of 
clarification to the IRO that conducted the independent review. The department will not 
forward to the IRO a request for a letter of clarification that asks the IRO to reconsider 
its decision or issue a new decision. 
      (iii) The IRO shall send a response to the request for a letter of clarification to the 
department and to all parties that received a copy of the IRO's decision within 5 days of 
receipt of the party's request for a letter of clarification. The IRO's response is limited to 
clarifying statements in its original decision; the IRO shall not reconsider its decision 
and shall not issue a new decision in response to a request for a letter of clarification. 
      (iv) A request for a letter of clarification does not alter the deadlines for appeal. 
    (F) A party to a medical necessity dispute who has exhausted all administrative 
remedies may seek judicial review of the division's decision. Judicial review under this 
paragraph shall be conducted in the manner provided for judicial review of contested 
cases under Chapter 2001, Subchapter G Government Code, and is governed by the 
substantial evidence rule. The party seeking judicial review under this section must file 
suit not later than the 45th day after the date on which the division mailed the party 
the decision of the administrative law judge. The mailing date is considered to be the 
fifth day after the date the decision of the administrative law judge was filed with the 
division. A decision becomes final and appealable when issued by a division 
administrative law judge. If a party to a medical necessity dispute files a petition for 
judicial review of the division's decision, the party shall, at the time the petition is filed 
with the district court, send a copy of the petition for judicial review to the division's 
Chief Clerk of Proceedings. The division and the department are not considered to be 
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parties to the medical necessity dispute pursuant to Labor Code §413.031(k-2) and 
§413.0311(e). 
    (G) Upon receipt of a court petition seeking judicial review of a division CCH held 
under this subparagraph, the division shall prepare and submit to the district court a 
certified copy of the entire record of the division CCH under review. 
      (i) The following information must be included in the petition or provided to the 
division by cover letter: 
        (I) Any applicable division docket number for the dispute being appealed; 
        (II) the names of the parties; 
        (III) the cause number; 
        (IV) the identity of the court; and 
        (V) the date the petition was filed with the court. 
      (ii) The record of the hearing includes: 
        (I) all pleadings, motions, and intermediate rulings; 
        (II) evidence received or considered; 
        (III) a statement of matters officially noticed; 
        (IV) questions and offers of proof, objections, and rulings on them; 
        (V) any decision, opinion, report, or proposal for decision by the officer presiding 
at the hearing and any decision by the division; and 
        (VI) a transcription of the audio record of the division CCH. 
      (iii) The division shall assess to the party seeking judicial review expenses incurred 
by the division in preparing the certified copy of the record, including transcription 
costs, in accordance with the Government Code §2001.177 (relating to Costs of 
Preparing Agency Record). Upon request, the division shall consider the financial ability 
of the party to pay the costs, or any other factor that is relevant to a just and 
reasonable assessment of costs. 
  (2) If a party to a medical necessity dispute properly requests review of an IRO 
decision, the IRO, upon request, shall provide a record of the review and submit it to 
the requestor within 15 days of the request. The party requesting the record shall pay 
the IRO copying costs for the records. The record shall include the following documents 
that are in the possession of the IRO and which were reviewed by the IRO in making 
the decision including: 
    (A) medical records; 
    (B) all documents used by the insurance carrier in making the decision that resulted 
in the adverse determination under review by the IRO; 
    (C) all documentation and written information submitted by the insurance carrier to 
the IRO in support of the review; 
    (D) the written notification of the adverse determination and the written 
determination of the appeal to the insurance carrier or the insurance carrier's URA; 
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    (E) a list containing the name, address, and phone number of each health care 
provider who provided medical records to the IRO relevant to the review; 
    (F) a list of all medical records of other documents reviewed by the IRO, including the 
dates of those documents; 
    (G) a copy of the decision that was sent to all parties; 
    (H) copies of any pertinent medical literature or other documentation (such as any 
treatment guideline or screening criteria) utilized to support the decision or, where 
such documentation is subject to copyright protection or is voluminous, then a listing 
of such documentation referencing the portion(s) of each document utilized; 
    (I) a signed and certified custodian of records affidavit; and 
    (J) other information that was required by the department related to a request from 
an insurance carrier or the insurance carrier's URA for the assignment of the IRO. 
 
(t) Medical Fee Dispute Request. If the requestor has an unresolved non-network fee 
dispute related to health care that was found medically necessary, after the final 
decision of the medical necessity dispute, the requestor may file a medical fee dispute 
in accordance with §133.305 and §133.307 of this subchapter (relating to MDR--General 
and MDR of Fee Disputes, respectively). 
 
(u) First Responders. In accordance with Labor Code §504.055(d), an appeal regarding 
the denial of a claim for medical benefits, including all health care required to cure or 
relieve the effects naturally resulting from a compensable injury involving a first 
responder will be accelerated by the division and given priority. The party seeking to 
expedite the contested case hearing or appeal must provide notice to the division and 
independent review organization that the contested case hearing or appeal involves a 
first responder. 
 
(v) Texas Military Forces. In accordance with Labor Code §501.028, the division will 
accelerate and give priority to an appeal from a denial of a claim for medical benefits. 
  (1) This subsection applies to a claim for medical benefits made by a member of the 
Texas military forces who, while on state active duty, sustains a serious bodily injury, as 
defined by Penal Code §1.07. 
  (2) The division will accelerate and give priority to actions involving all health care 
required to cure or relieve the effects naturally resulting from a compensable injury. 
  (3) The member must notify the division and IRO that the CCH or appeal involves a 
member of the Texas military forces. 
(w) Enforcement. The department or the division may initiate appropriate proceedings 
under Chapter 12 of this title or Labor Code, Title 5 and division rules against an 
independent review organization or a person conducting independent reviews. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §133.308 adopted to be effective December 31, 
2006, 31 TexReg 10314; amended to be effective May 25, 2008, 33 TexReg 3954; 
amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3833; amended to be effective 
January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 103; amended to be effective December 28, 2023, 48 
TexReg 7999 
 
RULE §133.309 Alternate Medical Necessity Dispute Resolution by Case Review 
Doctor 
 
(a) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this section, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
  (1) case review doctor--a commission selected doctor from the commission's Approved 
Doctor List assigned to conduct retrospective review of health care for medical necessity 
under this subsection. 
  (2) claim-specific--pertaining to one injured employee, a single workers' compensation 
claim filed by that injured employee, and a single insurance carrier (carrier), as defined in 
§133.1(a)(10) of this title (relating to Definitions for Chapter 133, Benefits--Medical 
Benefits), that has accepted liability for the claim. 
  (3) retrospective medical necessity dispute--a dispute regarding health care provided 
to an injured employee by a health care provider (HCP), as defined in §133.1(a)(9) of this 
title, for which reimbursement has been denied to an injured employee or HCP by the 
carrier based upon the carrier's determination that the health care is not medically 
necessary. 
 
(b) Applicability. 
  (1) Alternate Medical Necessity Dispute Resolution by Case Review Doctor (AMDR) is 
the exclusive process to resolve claim-specific retrospective medical necessity disputes, 
wherein: 
    (A) the sum of disputed billed charges on a single bill is less than the tier one fee as 
established for the review of health care by an Independent Review Organization (IRO) 
(pursuant to Article 21.58C of the Texas Insurance Code); or 
    (B) the sum of disputed billed charges on multiple bills is less than the tier one fee as 
established for the review of health care by an IRO. Multiple billings may not include 
bills from more than one HCP. 
  (2) This rule applies to AMDR requests filed with the commission on or after October 1, 
2004. 
  (3) The AMDR process is expressly limited to the resolution of retrospective medical 
necessity disputes as defined in paragraph (1)(A) and (B) of this subsection. 
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  (4) This process shall not be utilized for the purpose of reviewing or appealing an IRO 
decision or a State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) decision, nor pending 
decisions before those bodies, regarding retrospective medical necessity disputes. 
  (5) For medical services in which the sum of disputed billed charges, as determined in 
accordance with paragraph (1) of this subsection, is greater than or equal to the tier one 
fee for an IRO review or for requests received prior to October 1, 2004, the requesting 
party must file a separate request that adheres to the medical dispute process outlined 
in §133.308 of this title (relating to Medical Dispute Resolution By Independent Review 
Organizations). 
  (6) All disputes involving issues other than medical necessity shall be filed separately 
and processed under §133.307 of this title (relating to Medical Dispute Resolution of a 
Medical Fee Dispute) and/or §141.1 of this title (relating to Requesting and Setting a 
Benefit Review Conference). 
  (7) Where any terms or parts of this section or its application to any person or 
circumstance are determined by a court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, the 
invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this section that can be 
given affect without the invalidated provision or application. 
 
(c) Effect of Other Disputes. 
  (1) If, by the fifteenth day after the carrier receives the first written notice of the injury, 
the carrier has not disputed liability or compensability of the claimed injury, the carrier is 
liable for all medically necessary care that is provided for the claimed injury until the 
carrier timely disputes liability or compensability of that injury. A request for AMDR 
regarding the medical necessity of health care that was provided to treat the claimed 
injury prior to the carrier's dispute shall proceed to an AMDR final decision and order. 
  (2) If, by the sixtieth day after the carrier receives the first written notice of the injury, or 
a later day if there is a finding of evidence that could not reasonably have been 
discovered earlier, the carrier still has not disputed liability or compensability of the 
claimed injury, the carrier is liable for all medically necessary care that is provided for the 
claimed injury. A request for AMDR regarding the medical necessity of health care 
provided to treat the claimed injury shall proceed to an AMDR final decision and order. 
  (3) If the carrier timely disputes liability for the subject claim, denies compensability of 
the injury, or denies compensability of the body parts or conditions for which the health 
care in dispute was provided, AMDR will not proceed until after final adjudication by the 
commission finds liability and compensability for the injury. 
  (4) A request for AMDR regarding the medical necessity of health care provided for 
body parts or conditions already accepted by the carrier as to liability or compensability, 
or already adjudicated as to liability or compensability, shall proceed to a final decision 
and order. 
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(d) Parties. The following individuals shall be parties to an AMDR: 
  (1) the HCP who has been denied reimbursement for health care rendered; 
  (2) the prescribing/referring doctor, if that doctor is not the HCP who provided the care 
in dispute; 
  (3) the injured employee, if denied reimbursement for health care paid by the injured 
employee; and 
  (4) the carrier. The carrier participates in this process as a responding party and shall 
not be considered a requesting party. 
 
(e) Timeliness. A request shall be filed with and received by the commission no later 
than one year from the disputed health care's date of service. 
  (1) A request by a HCP may be submitted only after exhaustion of the reconsideration 
process as established in §133.304 of this title (relating to Medical Payments and 
Denials). 
  (2) A request by an injured employee shall be initiated by contacting the commission in 
any manner for assistance with the AMDR requirements. The injured employee's initial 
contact establishes the date used to determine timeliness. The injured employee is not 
required to request reconsideration under §133.304 of this title prior to requesting 
AMDR. 
  (3) A party who fails to timely file a request waives the right to AMDR. 
 
(f) Request by HCPs. 
  (1) Two copies of the request for AMDR shall be submitted to the commission in the 
form and manner prescribed by the commission. 
  (2) Each copy of the request shall be legible and shall include: 
    (A) a designation that the request is for AMDR; 
    (B) a copy of all medical bill(s) as originally submitted for reconsideration in 
accordance with §133.304 of this title; 
    (C) copies of written notices of adverse determinations from a carrier (both initial and 
on reconsideration) such as an explanation of benefits indicating that reimbursement is 
denied due to the health care not being medically necessary, or, if the carrier failed to 
respond to the request (either initial or on reconsideration), verifiable evidence or 
documentation of the carrier's receipt of the request; and 
    (D) a maximum of five single-sided documents, which may include a summary, 
supporting the medical necessity of disputed care, clearly identified as the 
documentation to be reviewed by the case review doctor. The prescribing/referring 
doctor shall provide the required documentation to the requesting HCP. 
 
(g) Request by Injured Employee. Requests by the injured employee shall be legible and 
shall include: 
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  (1) a designation that the request is for AMDR; 
  (2) documentation or evidence (such as itemized receipts) of the amount the injured 
employee paid the HCP; 
  (3) a copy of any written notice, if in the possession of the requestor, of adverse 
determinations from a carrier such as an explanation of benefits indicating that 
reimbursement is denied due to the health care not being medically necessary, or, if the 
carrier failed to respond to the request for reimbursement, verifiable evidence or 
documentation of the carrier's receipt of the request; and 
  (4) a maximum of five single-sided documents, which may include a summary, 
supporting the medical necessity of disputed care, clearly identified as the 
documentation to be reviewed by the case review doctor. The prescribing/referring 
doctor shall provide the required documentation to the injured employee. 
 
(h) Assignment. The commission, within 10 days of receipt of a complete request for 
AMDR, shall assign a case review doctor to review and resolve the disputed medical 
necessity. The case review doctor will be selected, at the commission's discretion, from 
among commission-approved doctors having appropriate qualifications. The case 
review doctor shall be considered a doctor performing medical case review for purposes 
of §413.054 of the Act. The doctors utilized by the commission for this process will be of 
sufficient number to service the volume of AMDR requests. The case review doctor shall: 
  (1) be of the same or similar licensure as the prescribing/referring or performing 
doctor; 
  (2) have no known conflicts of interest with any of the providers known by the case 
review doctor to have examined, treated or reviewed records for the injured employee's 
injury claim; 
  (3) not have previously treated or examined the injured employee within the past 12 
months, nor have examined or treated the injured employee with regard to a medical 
condition being evaluated in the AMDR request; and 
  (4) preserve the confidentiality of individual medical records as required by law. Written 
consent from the injured employee is not required for the case review doctor to obtain 
medical records relevant to the review. 
 
(i) Notification Order. 
  (1) The commission, also within 10 days of receipt of a complete request for AMDR, 
shall issue written notification to the parties which: 
    (A) indicates the case reviewer's name, license number, practice address, telephone 
number and fax number; 
    (B) explains the purpose of the case review; 
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    (C) orders the requestor to pay the case review fee to the case review doctor no later 
than 14 days from the date of the order, unless the requestor is an injured employee, in 
which case the carrier is ordered to pay the case review fee; and 
    (D) advises the carrier to forward a written response to the case review doctor. 
  (2) The commission's notice to the carrier shall also include a copy of the AMDR 
request. The notice shall be forwarded to the carrier through its Austin representative. 
The carrier is deemed to have received the notification order and request for AMDR in 
accordance with §102.5(d) of this title (regarding General Rules for Written 
Communication to and from the Commission). 
  (3) Once the notification order has been issued, withdrawals by any party are not 
permitted. 
 
(j) Case Review Fee. The AMDR case review fee is $100.00. 
  (1) An injured employee is never liable for the AMDR case review fee. 
  (2) The case review fee shall be initially paid by the requestor, unless the requestor is 
an injured employee, in which case the carrier pays the case review fee. Untimely 
payment of the case review fee will result in either: 
    (A) a dismissal of the requestor's AMDR request; or 
    (B) the issuance of an order to the carrier requiring payment of the case review fee 
when the requestor is an injured employee. 
  (3) Final liability for the AMDR case review fee shall be determined as provided in 
subsection (n) of this section. 
 
(k) Carrier Response. No later than 14 days from the date of the notification order, the 
carrier shall submit directly to the case review doctor: 
  (1) the $100.00 case review fee with an annotation identifying the case review number, 
when required; and 
  (2) a written response by facsimile or electronic transmission, either explaining why the 
disputed health care is not medically necessary, or indicating that no documentation will 
be submitted for review. The response shall be limited to a maximum of five single-
sided documents, which may include a summary, supporting the carrier's position. The 
carrier may elect to provide this written response. If the carrier elects to not provide a 
written response, the AMDR process will proceed to a final decision and order. 
(l) Case Review. The case review doctor shall review up to five single-sided documents 
provided by each party. 
  (1) If a party's documentation exceeds the limit of a maximum of five single-sided 
documents, the case review doctor shall not review any of the offending party's 
documentation and the case review doctor shall indicate this in the report. 
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  (2) If the case review doctor does not receive a timely response from the carrier, the 
case review doctor shall proceed with the review and issue the report required by 
subsection (m) of this section. 
  (3) To avoid undue influence on the case review doctor, any communication regarding 
the AMDR dispute between a party and the case review doctor, before, during, or after 
the review, is prohibited. 
  (4) Upon completion of the case review, the case review doctor shall maintain a copy of 
the report, all documentation submitted by the parties, the date the documentation was 
received and from whom, and the date and time the report was issued to, and received 
by, all parties. The case review doctor shall forward to the commission, upon request, 
copies of the retained information. 
 
(m) Report. No later than five days after the date the carrier's response was due, the 
case review doctor shall issue a report addressing the medical necessity of the disputed 
health care. 
  (1) The report must include: 
    (A) the specific reasons for the case review doctor's determination, including the 
clinical basis for the decision; 
    (B) a description of, and the source of, the screening criteria that were utilized; 
    (C) a description of the qualifications of the case review doctor; and 
    (D) a certification by the case review doctor that no known conflicts of interest exist 
with any of the providers known by the case review doctor to have examined, treated or 
reviewed records for the injured employee's injury claim. The certification must also 
include a statement that the case review doctor has not previously treated or examined 
the injured employee within the past 12 months, nor has the case review doctor 
examined or treated the injured employee with regard to a medical condition being 
evaluated in the AMDR request. 
  (2) The case review doctor shall forward the completed report and a copy of the 
reviewed carrier's response to all parties and the commission. 
    (A) This information shall be forwarded to all parties and the commission by facsimile 
or electronic transmission. 
    (B) If the party is an injured employee and a facsimile number has not been provided, 
this information shall be provided by other verifiable means. 
  (3) Requests for clarification from the parties will not be accepted by the commission 
or the case review doctor. The commission, at its discretion, may seek clarification from 
the case review doctor and may require the case review doctor to issue an amended 
report within three days of the commission's request. 
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(n) Final Decision and Order. The case review doctor's report is deemed to be a 
commission decision and order, and is effective the date signed by the case review 
doctor. 
  (1) The decision and order is final and is not subject to further review. 
  (2) If the decision and order indicates that none of the disputed care was medically 
necessary, the decision and order will direct the prescribing/referring doctor to 
reimburse the requestor the case review fee only if the requestor is a pharmacy or 
durable medical equipment provider. No other parties shall reimburse, or be entitled to 
reimbursement of, the case review fee. 
  (3) If the decision and order indicates that any of the disputed care was medically 
necessary it will include an order that the carrier pay, in accordance with the 
commission's fee guidelines, for the care that was determined by the case review doctor 
to be medically necessary. The carrier will also be ordered to reimburse the requestor 
the case review fee. 
  (4) A party shall comply with the decision and order within 20 days of receipt. 
  (5) This final decision and order shall not be used by a carrier to prospectively deny 
future medical care. 
 
(o) Dismissal. The commission may dismiss a request for AMDR if the commission 
determines that good cause exists. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.309 adopted to be effective September 12, 
2004, 29 TexReg 8567 
 
SUBCHAPTER G ELECTRONIC MEDICAL BILLING, REIMBURSEMENT, AND 
DOCUMENTATION 
 
RULE §133.500 Electronic Formats for Electronic Medical Bill Processing 
 
(a) For electronic transactions conducted before January 1, 2012, the division adopts by 
reference the following electronic medical bill processing standards as adopted by the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services in 45 CFR §162.1102(b) and 
§162.1602(b): 
  (1) Professional Billing--the ASC X12N 837, Health Care Claim: Professional, Volumes 1 
and 2, Version 004010, May 2000, Washington Publishing Company, 004010X098 and 
Addenda to Health Care Claim: Professional, Volumes 1 and 2, Version 4010, October 
2002, Washington Publishing Company, 004010X098A1. 
  (2) Institutional/Hospital Billing--the ASC X12N 837, Health Care Claim: Institutional, 
Volumes 1 and 2, Version 004010, May 2000, Washington Publishing Company, 
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004010X096 and Addenda to Health Care Claim: Institutional, Volumes 1 and 2, Version 
4010, October 2002, Washington Publishing Company, 004010X096A1. 
  (3) Dental Billing--the ASC X12N 837, Health Care Claim: Dental, Version 004010, May 
2000, Washington Publishing Company, 004010X097 and Addenda to Health Care 
Claim: Dental, Version 4010, October 2002, Washington Publishing Company, 
004010X097A1. 
  (4) Retail Pharmacy Billing--the Telecommunication Standard Implementation Guide 
Version 5, Release 1 (Version 5.1), September 1999, National Council for Prescription 
Drug Programs and the Batch Standard Batch Implementation Guide, Version 1, Release 
1 (Version 1.1), January 2000, supporting Telecommunication Standard Implementation 
Guide, Version 5, Release 1 (Version 5.1) for the NCPDP Data Record in the Detail Data 
Record, National Council for Prescription Drug Programs. 
  (5) Remittance--the ASC X12N 835, Health Care Claim Payment/Advice, Version 
004010, May 2000, Washington Publishing Company, 004010X091, and Addenda to 
Health Care Claim Payment/Advice, Version 4010, October 2002, Washington Publishing 
Company, 004010X091A1. 
 
(b) For electronic transactions conducted before January 1, 2012, the division adopts by 
reference the following electronic medical bill processing standards: 
  (1) Acknowledgment: 
    (A) Electronic responses to ASC X12N 837 transactions: 
      (i) the TA1 Interchange Acknowledgment contained in the standards adopted under 
subsection (a) of this section; 
      (ii) the 997 Functional Acknowledgment contained in the standards adopted under 
subsection (a) of this section; and 
      (iii) the ASC X12N 824--Application Advice, Version 004010, February 2006, 
Washington Publishing Company, 004010X161. 
    (B) Electronic responses to National Council for Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) 
transactions, the Response contained in the standards adopted under subsection (a) of 
this section. 
  (2) Documentation submitted with an electronic medical bill: ASC X12N 275--
Additional Information to Support a Health Claim or Encounter, Version 004050, May 
2004, Washington Publishing Company, 004050X151. 
 
(c) For electronic transactions conducted on or after January 1, 2012, the division adopts 
by reference the following electronic medical bill processing standards as adopted by 
the United States Department of Health and Human Services in 45 CFR §162.1102(c) and 
§162.1602(c): 
  (1) Professional Billing--the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data Interchange 
Technical Report Type 3, Health Care Claim: Professional (837), May 2006, ASC X12, 
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005010X222 and Type 3 Errata to Health Care Claim: Professional (837), June 2010, ASC 
X12, 005010X222A1. 
  (2) Institutional/Hospital Billing--the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data 
Interchange Technical Report Type 3, Health Care Claim: Institutional (837), May 2006, 
ASC X12, 005010X223, Type 1 Errata to Health Care Claim: Institutional (837), ASC X12 
Standards for Electronic Data Interchange Technical Report Type 3, October 2007, ASC 
X12, 005010X223A1, and Type 3 Errata to Health Care Claim: Institutional (837), June 
2010, ASC X12, 005010X223A2. 
  (3) Dental Billing--the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data Interchange Technical 
Report Type 3, Health Care Claim: Dental (837), May 2006, ASC X12, 005010X224, Type 1 
Errata to Health Care Claim: Dental (837), ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data 
Interchange Technical Report Type 3, October 2007, ASC X12, 005010X224A1, and Type 
3 Errata to Health Care Claim: Dental (837), June 2010, ASC X12, 005010X224A2. 
  (4) Retail Pharmacy Billing--the Telecommunication Standard Implementation Guide, 
Version D, Release 0 (Version D.0), August 2007, National Council for Prescription Drug 
Programs and the Batch Standard Batch Implementation Guide, Version 1, Release 2 
(Version 1.2), January 2006, National Council for Prescription Drug Programs. 
  (5) Remittance--the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data Interchange Technical 
Report Type 3, Health Care Claim Payment/Advice (835), April 2006, ASC X12, 
005010X221, and Type 3 Errata to Health Care Claim Payment/Advice (835), June 2010, 
ASC X12, 005010X221A1. 
 
(d) For electronic transactions conducted on or after January 1, 2012, the division adopts 
by reference the following electronic medical bill processing standards: 
  (1) Acknowledgment: 
    (A) Electronic responses to ASC X12N 837 transactions: 
      (i) the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data Interchange TA1 Interchange 
Acknowledgment contained in the standards adopted under subsection (c) of this 
section; 
      (ii) the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data Interchange Technical Report Type 3, 
Implementation Acknowledgment for Health Care Insurance (999), June 2007, ASC X12, 
005010X231; and 
      (iii) the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data Interchange Technical Report Type 3, 
Health Care Claim Acknowledgment (277CA), January 2007, ASC X12, 005010X214. 
    (B) Electronic responses to NCPDP transactions, the Response contained in the 
standards adopted under subsection (c) of this section. 
  (2) Documentation submitted with an electronic medical bill: ASC X12N 275 - 
Additional Information to Support a Health Claim or Encounter, Version 005010, 
February 2008, Washington Publishing Company, 005010X210. 
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(e) Electronic medical billing transactions must: 
  (1) contain all fields required in the applicable standard as set forth in subsection (a) or 
(c) of this section and the data requirements contained in §133.502 of this title (relating 
to Electronic Medical Billing Supplemental Data Requirements); and 
  (2) be populated with current and valid values defined in the applicable standard as set 
forth in subsection (a) or (c) of this section, Chapter 134 of this title (relating to Benefits-
-Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges, and Payments), and the data requirements 
contained in §133.502 of this title. 
 
(f) Insurance carriers and health care providers may exchange electronic data in a non-
prescribed format by mutual agreement. All data elements required in the division 
prescribed formats must be present in a mutually agreed upon format. 
 
(g) The implementation specifications for the ASC X12N and the ASC X12 Standards for 
Electronic Data Interchange may be obtained from the ASC X12, 7600 Leesburg Pike, 
Suite 430, Falls Church, VA 22043; Telephone (703) 970-4480; and FAX (703) 970-4488. 
They are also available through the internet at http://www.X12.org. A fee is charged for 
all implementation specifications. 
 
(h) The implementation specifications for the retail pharmacy standards may be 
obtained from the National Council for Prescription Drug Programs, 9240 East Raintree 
Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260. Telephone (480) 477-1000; FAX (480) 767-1042. They are 
also available through the Internet at http://www.ncpdp.org. A fee is charged for all 
implementation specifications. 
 
(i) The electronic medical bill processing standards adopted in this section are available 
for inspection at the main office of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of 
Workers' Compensation, 7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100, Austin, TX 78744 or any 
subsequent address of the division's main office. 
 
(j) This section is effective August 1, 2011. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §133.500 adopted to be effective August 10, 2006, 
31 TexReg 6230; amended to be effective August 1, 2011, 36 TexReg 929 
 
RULE §133.501 Electronic Medical Bill Processing 
 
(a) Applicability. 
  (1) This section applies to the exchange of electronic medical bill data in accordance 
with §133.500 of this title (relating to Electronic Formats for Electronic Medical Bill 
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Processing) for professional, institutional/hospital, pharmacy, and dental services. This 
section applies to all electronic medical bill processing, including transactions for 
medical services rendered under the provisions of Insurance Code Chapter 1305 or 
rendered to political subdivisions with contractual relationships under Labor Code 
§504.053(b)(2). 
  (2) Insurance carriers shall accept electronic medical bills from health care providers 
transmitted in accordance with §133.500 of this title unless the insurance carrier is 
exempt from the process in accordance with subsection (b) of this section. 
  (3) Health care providers shall submit electronic medical bills to insurance carriers in 
accordance with §133.500 of this title unless the health care provider or the billed 
insurance carrier is exempt from the process in accordance with subsection (b) of this 
section. 
 
(b) Exemptions. 
  (1) A health care provider is exempt from the requirement to submit medical bills 
electronically to an insurance carrier if: 
    (A) the health care provider employs fewer than 10 full time employees; 
    (B) the health care provider provided services to 32 or fewer injured employees 
during the preceding calendar year; or 
    (C) the health care provider can sufficiently demonstrate electronic medical bill 
implementation will create an unreasonable financial hardship and can provide 
supporting documentation such as financial statements and other documentation which 
reflect the cost of implementation. 
  (2) A health care provider who asserts an exemption under this section must provide all 
supporting documentation to the division within 15 days of a division request for 
documentation. 
  (3) An insurance carrier is exempt from the requirement to receive medical bills 
electronically from health care providers if: 
    (A) the insurance carrier is placed in receivership; 
    (B) the insurance carrier was issued an initial license to write workers' compensation 
insurance by the Texas Department of Insurance during the current or preceding 
calendar year; 
    (C) the insurance carrier had less than 32 workers' compensation claims for which 
income or medical benefits were paid during the preceding calendar year; 
    (D) the insurance carrier no longer writes workers' compensation insurance in Texas 
and is only handling runoff claims; 
    (E) the insurance carrier was a certified self-insured employer under Labor Code, 
Chapter 407, or a self-insured group under Labor Code, Chapter 407A, which has 
withdrawn from the certified self-insurance program or group self-insurance; or 
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    (F) the insurance carrier submits a request to the division with supporting 
documentation such as financial statements and other documents which reflect cost of 
implementation and sufficiently demonstrates that electronic medical bill 
implementation will create an unreasonable financial hardship and the Commissioner 
approves the request. 
  (4) An insurance carrier who asserts an exemption under this subsection must provide 
all supporting documentation to the division within 15 days of a division request for 
documentation. 
  (5) Insurance carriers shall submit notification to the division prior to the beginning of 
each calendar year for which they will assert an exemption to the electronic medical bill 
processing requirements. The required notification must include: 
    (A) federal tax identification number of the insurance carrier; 
    (B) contact information, including but not limited to the name, physical address, and 
telephone number; and 
    (C) a description regarding facts related to the exemption under paragraph (3) of this 
subsection asserted by the insurance carrier. 
 
(c) Agents. Health care providers and insurance carriers may contract with other entities 
for electronic medical bill processing. Insurance carriers and health care providers are 
responsible for the acts or omissions of their agents executed in the performance of 
services for the insurance carrier or health care provider. 
 
(d) Electronic medical bill. 
  (1) An electronic medical bill is a medical bill submitted electronically by a health care 
provider or its agent. 
  (2) An insurance carrier shall take final action not later than the 45th day after the date 
the insurance carrier received a complete electronic medical bill. 
 
(e) Acknowledgment. 
  (1) An insurance carrier must acknowledge receipt of an electronic medical bill by 
returning an acknowledgment within two working days of receipt of the electronic 
submission. The time frame for returning an incomplete medical bill contained in 
§133.200 of this title (relating to Insurance Carrier Receipt of Medical Bills from Health 
Care Providers) does not apply to an electronic medical bill. 
    (A) Notification of a rejection is transmitted in an acknowledgment when an electronic 
medical bill does not meet the definition of a complete electronic medical bill or does 
not meet the edits defined in the applicable standard. 
    (B) A health care provider may not submit a duplicate electronic medical bill earlier 
than 45 days from the date submitted if an insurance carrier acknowledged receipt of 
the original complete electronic medical bill. A health care provider may submit a 
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corrected medical bill electronically to the insurance carrier after receiving notification of 
a rejection. The corrected medical bill is submitted as a new, original bill. 
  (2) Acknowledgment of a medical bill is not an admission of liability by the insurance 
carrier. The insurance carrier may subsequently deny a medical bill for liability or other 
issues within the 45-day medical bill processing timeframe contained in Labor Code 
§408.027. 
 
(f) Electronic remittance notification. 
  (1) An electronic remittance notification is an explanation of benefits (EOB), submitted 
electronically regarding payment or denial of a medical bill, recoupment request, or 
receipt of a refund. 
  (2) An insurance carrier must provide an electronic remittance notification no later than 
45 days after receipt of a complete electronic medical bill or within 5 days of generating 
a payment. This requirement applies only to the date the electronic remittance is sent 
and does not modify the medical bill processing timeframes contained in Labor Code 
§408.027. 
(g) Electronic documentation. Electronic documentation consists of medical 
documentation submitted electronically that is related to an electronic medical bill. 
(h) This section is effective August 1, 2011. 
 
RULE §133.502 Electronic Medical Billing Supplemental Data Requirements 
 
(a) In addition to the data requirements and standards adopted under §133.500(a) of 
this title (relating to Electronic Formats for Electronic Medical Bill Processing), all 
professional, institutional/hospital, and dental electronic medical bills submitted before 
January 1, 2012 must contain: 
  (1) the telephone number of the submitter; 
  (2) the workers' compensation claim number assigned by the insurance carrier or, if 
that number is not known by the health care provider, a default value of "UNKNOWN"; 
  (3) the injured employee's Social Security Number as the subscriber member 
identification number; 
  (4) the injured employee's date of injury; 
  (5) the rendering health care provider's state provider license number; 
  (6) the referring health care provider's state provider license number; 
  (7) the billing provider's state provider license number, if the billing provider has a 
state provider license number; 
  (8) the attending physician's state medical license number, when applicable; 
  (9) the operating physician's state medical license number, when applicable; 
  (10) the claim supplemental information, when electronic documentation is submitted 
with an electronic medical bill; and 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 134 BENEFITS--GUIDELINES FOR MEDICAL SERVICES, 

CHARGES, AND PAYMENTS 
 
SUBCHAPTER A MEDICAL REIMBURSEMENT POLICIES 
 
RULE §134.1 Medical Reimbursement 
 
(a) "Maximum allowable reimbursement" (MAR), when used in this chapter, is defined as 
the maximum amount payable to a health care provider in the absence of a contractual 
fee arrangement that is consistent with §413.011 of the Labor Code, and Division rules. 
 
(b) Medical reimbursement for health care services provided to injured employees 
subject to a workers' compensation health care network established under Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305 shall be made in accordance with the provisions of Insurance Code 
Chapter 1305, except as provided in subsections (c) and (d) of this section. 
 
(c) Examinations conducted pursuant to Labor Code §§408.004, 408.0041, and 408.151 
shall be reimbursed in accordance with §134.204 of this chapter (relating to Medical Fee 
Guideline for Workers' Compensation Specific Services). 
 
(d) Examinations conducted pursuant to Labor Code §408.0042 shall be reimbursed in 
accordance with §126.14 of this title (relating to Treating Doctor Examination to Define 
the Compensable Injury). 
 
(e) Medical reimbursement for health care not provided through a workers' 
compensation health care network shall be made in accordance with: 
  (1) the Division's fee guidelines; 
  (2) a negotiated contract; or 
  (3) in the absence of an applicable fee guideline or a negotiated contract, a fair and 
reasonable reimbursement amount as specified in subsection (f) of this section. 
 
(f) Fair and reasonable reimbursement shall: 
  (1) be consistent with the criteria of Labor Code §413.011; 
  (2) ensure that similar procedures provided in similar circumstances receive similar 
reimbursement; and 
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  (3) be based on nationally recognized published studies, published Division medical 
dispute decisions, and/or values assigned for services involving similar work and 
resource commitments, if available. 
 
(g) The insurance carrier shall consistently apply fair and reasonable reimbursement 
amounts and maintain, in reproducible format, documentation of the insurance carrier's 
methodology(ies) establishing fair and reasonable reimbursement amounts. Upon 
request of the Division, an insurance carrier shall provide copies of such documentation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.1 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3561; amended to be effective March 1, 2008, 33 TexReg 364 
 
RULE §134.2 Incentive Payments for Workers' Compensation Underserved Areas 
 
(a) When required by Division rule, an incentive payment shall be added to the 
maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) for services performed in a designated 
workers' compensation underserved area. 
 
(b) The following list of ZIP Codes comprise the Division designated workers' 
compensation underserved areas: 75134, 75135, 75161, 75181, 75212, 75410, 75558, 
75603, 75630, 75650, 75653, 75654, 75658, 75660, 75663, 75666, 75667, 75672, 75687, 
75692, 75704, 75750, 75752, 75763, 75789, 75849, 75915, 75933, 75949, 75964, 75969, 
75973, 75980, 76023, 76055, 76060, 76066, 76088, 76119, 76226, 76239, 76247, 76271, 
76380, 76443, 76534, 76621, 76640, 76657, 76682, 76711, 76932, 76935, 77033, 77050, 
77053, 77078, 77336, 77354, 77363, 77389, 77396, 77466, 77496, 77517, 77561, 77632, 
77808, 77905, 77968, 78025, 78123, 78132, 78140, 78141, 78210, 78220, 78239, 78242, 
78333, 78335, 78343, 78368, 78370, 78383, 78407, 78535, 78574, 78583, 78590, 78605, 
78640, 78669, 78802, 78830, 78836, 78877, 78884, 78935, 78960, 79010, 79107, 79108, 
79114, 79118, 79311, 79367, 79408, 79411, 79511, 79521, 79536, 79561, 79563, 79778, 
79782, 79836, 79838, 79849, 79901, 79922, 79934. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.2 adopted to be effective March 1, 2008, 33 
TexReg 364 
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SUBCHAPTER B MISCELLANEOUS REIMBURSEMENT 
 
RULE §134.100 Reimbursement of Treating Doctor for Attendance at Required 
Medical Examination 
 
(a) When an injured employee's treating doctor is present at a required medical 
examination in accordance with §126.6 of this title (relating to Required Medical 
Examination), the insurance carrier shall reimburse the treating doctor for time as 
follows: 
  (1) at a rate of $100 an hour limited to four hours, unless the insurance carrier pre-
approves extended time; and 
  (2) in quarter hour increments with any amount over 10 minutes considered an 
additional quarter hour. 
 
(b) Reimbursement is limited to the time required to travel from the treating doctor's 
usual place of business to the place of the examination. In addition, it includes the 
duration of the examination and the time required to return from the examination 
location to the treating doctor's usual place of business. The travel shall be by the most 
direct route. This time does not include time spent for meals or other elective activities 
engaged in by the doctor. 
 
(c) The treating doctor shall submit a request for reimbursement in accordance with 
§133.10 of this title (relating to Required Billing Forms/Formats). 
 
(d) The injured employee's treating doctor shall be the only doctor permitted to attend 
and charge for the attendance at the examination. 
 
(e) This section shall apply to all dates of travel on or after May 2, 2006. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.100 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3561 
 
RULE §134.110 Reimbursement of Injured Employee for Travel Expenses Incurred 
 
(a) An injured employee may request reimbursement from the insurance carrier if the 
injured employee has incurred travel expenses when: 
  (1) medical treatment for the compensable injury is not reasonably available within 30 
miles from where the injured employee lives and the distance traveled to secure medical 
treatment is greater than 30 miles one-way; or 
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  (2) the distance traveled to attend a designated doctor examination, required medical 
examination, or post designated doctor treating or referral doctor examination is greater 
than 30 miles one-way. 
 
(b) The injured employee shall submit the request for reimbursement to the insurance 
carrier within one year of the date the injured employee incurred the expenses. 
 
(c) The injured employee's request for reimbursement shall be in the form and manner 
required by the division and shall include documentation or evidence (such as itemized 
receipts) of the amount of the expense the injured employee incurred. 
 
(d) The insurance carrier shall reimburse the injured employee based on the travel rate 
for state employees on the date travel occurred, using mileage for the shortest 
reasonable route. 
  (1) Travel mileage is measured from the actual point of departure to the health care 
provider's location when the point of departure is: 
    (A) the employee's home; or 
    (B) the employee's place of employment. 
  (2) If the point of departure is not the employee's home or place of employment, then 
travel mileage shall be measured from the health care provider's location to the nearest 
of the following locations: 
    (A) the employee's home; 
    (B) the place of employment; or 
    (C) the actual point of departure. 
  (3) Total reimbursable mileage is based on round trip mileage. 
  (4) When an injured employee's travel expenses reasonably include food and lodging, 
the insurance carrier shall reimburse for the actual expenses not to exceed the current 
rate for state employees on the date the expense is incurred. 
 
(e) The insurance carrier shall pay or deny the injured employee's request for 
reimbursement submitted in accordance with subsection (c) of this section within 45 
days of receipt. 
 
(f) If the insurance carrier does not reimburse the full amount requested, partial 
payment or denial of payment shall include a plain language explanation of the 
reason(s) for the reduction or denial. The insurance carrier shall inform the injured 
employee of the injured employee's right to request a benefit review conference in 
accordance with §141.1 of this title (relating to Requesting and Setting a Benefit Review 
Conference). 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §134.110 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3561; amended to be effective March 30, 2014, 39 TexReg 2102 
 
RULE §134.120 Reimbursement for Medical Documentation 
 
(a) An insurance carrier is not required to reimburse initial medical documentation 
provided to the insurance carrier in accordance with §133.210 of this title (relating to 
Medical Documentation). 
 
(b) An insurance carrier shall separately reimburse subsequent copies of medical 
documentation requested by the insurance carrier in accordance with §133.210 of this 
title. 
 
(c) Upon request, the health care provider shall provide the injured employee, or the 
injured employee's representative, an initial copy of the medical documentation without 
charge. The requestor shall reimburse the health care provider for subsequent requests 
of the same medical documentation. 
 
(d) If the injured employee, or the injured employee's representative, requests creation 
of medical documentation, such as a medical narrative, the requestor shall reimburse 
the health care provider for this additional information. 
 
(e) The health care provider shall provide copies of any requested or required 
documentation to the Division at no charge. 
 
(f) The reimbursements for medical documentation are: 
  (1) copies of medical documentation--$.50 per page; 
  (2) copies of hospital records--an initial fee of $5.00 plus $.50 per page for the first 20 
pages, then $.30 per page for records over 20 pages; 
  (3) microfilm--$.50 per page; 
  (4) copies of X-ray films--$8.00 per film; 
  (5) narrative reports: 
    (A) one to two pages--$100; 
    (B) each page after two pages--$40 per page. 
 
(g) Narrative reports are defined as original documents explaining the assessment, 
diagnosis, and plan of treatment for an injured employee written or orally transcribed 
and created at the written request of the insurance carrier or the Division. Narrative 
reports shall provide information beyond that required by prescribed medical reports 
and/or records. A narrative report should be single spaced on letter-size paper or 
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equivalent electronic document format. Clinical or progress notes do not constitute a 
narrative report. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.120 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3561 
 
RULE §134.130 Interest for Late Payment on Medical Bills and Refunds 
 
(a) Insurance carriers shall pay interest on medical bills paid on or after the 60th day 
after the insurance carrier originally received the complete medical bill, in accordance 
with §133.340 of this title (relating to Medical Payments and Denials). 
 
(b) Health care providers shall pay interest to insurance carriers on requests for refunds 
paid later than the 60th day after the date the health care provider received the request 
for refund, in accordance with §133.260 of this title (relating to Refunds). 
 
(c) The rate of interest to be paid shall be the rate calculated in accordance with Labor 
Code §401.023 and in effect on the date the payment was made. 
 
(d) Interest shall be calculated as follows: 
  (1) multiply the rate of interest by the amount on which interest is due (to determine 
the annual amount of interest); 
  (2) divide the annual amount of interest by 365 (to determine the daily interest 
amount); then 
  (3) multiply the daily interest amount by the number of days of interest to which the 
recipient is entitled under subsection (a) or (b) of this section. 
(e) The percentage of interest for each quarter may be obtained by accessing the Texas 
Department of Insurance's website, www.tdi.state.tx.us. 
 
(f) This section shall apply to all dates of service on or after May 2, 2006. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.130 adopted to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3561 
 
RULE §134.150 Reimbursement of Services Provided by a Federal Military 
Treatment Facility 
 
(a) This section applies, regardless of the date of injury, to medical services provided on 
or after January 1, 2020, in a federal military treatment facility (FMTF) as defined in Labor 
Code §413.0112(a) (relating to Reimbursement of Federal Military Treatment Facility). 
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(b) Reimbursement for medical services provided to an injured employee shall be the 
amount of the FMTF's charges as determined under Title 32, Code of Federal 
Regulations, Part 220 (concerning Collection of Reasonable Charges for Healthcare 
Services). Additionally, charges may include interest, administrative penalties, or 
collection fees related to medical benefits. 
 
(c) An FMTF is not required to comply with health care provider billing or 
preauthorization requirements in Chapters 133 (concerning General Medical Provisions) 
and 134 (concerning Benefits--Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges, and Payments) 
of this title. An insurance carrier shall process a medical bill from an FMTF and make 
payment in accordance with Chapters 133 and 134, except as provided in Labor Code 
§413.0112. The insurance carrier shall contact the FMTF to obtain any information 
necessary to process a medical bill and document the name and telephone number of 
the person who supplied the information. 
 
(d) Notwithstanding the requirements of Chapter 133, an insurance carrier shall process 
professional and institutional medical services submitted on a single bill by an FMTF. An 
insurance carrier shall identify reimbursement for professional and institutional services 
separately on the explanation of benefits form. 
 
(e) The insurance carrier may only deny payment of medical services provided by an 
FMTF for reasons of medical necessity, compensability, extent of injury, or liability. 
 
(f) An insurance carrier shall forward to the division, within 14 calendar days of receipt, 
in the form and manner prescribed by the division, the first medical bill for an injured 
employee that it receives from an FMTF. 
 
(g) An insurance carrier shall report FMTF medical bills in accordance with Chapter 134, 
Subchapter I, of this title. FMTF medical bills are subject to §102.9 of this title 
(concerning Submission of Information Requested by the Commission) including 
medical bills not reported in accordance with §134.806(a)(3) (concerning Records 
Excluded from Reporting). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.150 adopted to be effective December 11, 
2019, 44 TexReg 7549 
 
RULE §134.155 Federal Military Treatment Facility Disputes 
 
(a) Disputes over charges billed by a federal military treatment facility (FMTF): 
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  (1) If an insurance carrier denies payment of a medical bill based on medical necessity, 
the medical necessity dispute shall be initiated under §133.308 of this title (concerning 
MDR of Medical Necessity Disputes): 
    (A) Notwithstanding Chapter 133, Subchapter D, of this title (concerning Dispute of 
Medical Bills), an injured employee is not required to request reconsideration prior to 
requesting medical dispute resolution; 
    (B) Notwithstanding §133.308(f)(2)(B), an injured employee may be a requestor in a 
medical necessity dispute, and 
    (C) Notwithstanding §133.308(q), the insurance carrier shall pay all independent 
review organization fees. 
  (2) For all other disputes, a party may request a benefit review conference as described 
under Chapter 141 of this title (concerning Dispute Resolution--Benefit Review 
Conference). 
 
(b) Except as provided in this section, an FMTF dispute will be conducted in accordance 
with the division's rules for dispute resolution in §133.308 or Chapters 140 - 147 of this 
title. 
 
(c) In accordance with Labor Code §504.055 (relating to Expedited Provision of Medical 
Benefits for Certain Injuries Sustained by First Responders in Course and Scope of 
Employment) a request for an FMTF dispute that involves a first responder's request for 
payment of medical expenses will be accelerated by the division and given priority. A 
first responder shall provide notice to the division that the request involves a first 
responder. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.155 adopted to be effective December 11, 
2019, 44 TexReg 7549 
 
SUBCHAPTER C MEDICAL FEE GUIDELINES 
 
RULE §134.201 Medical Fee Guideline for Medical Treatments and Services 
Provided under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act 
 
(a) The commission adopts by reference herein, the Texas Workers' Compensation 
Commission Medical Fee Guideline 1996. The Guideline shall be effective for all medical 
treatments, services, durable medical equipment and pharmaceuticals provided on or 
after April 1, 1996. Medical treatments, services, and durable medical equipment 
provided prior to April 1, 1996, shall be subject to the 1991 Texas Workers' 
Compensation Commission Medical Fee Guideline (December 1991 Version). 
Pharmaceuticals provided prior to April 1, 1996, shall be subject to §134.501 of this title 
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(relating to the Pharmaceutical Fee Guideline). Copies of both guidelines may be 
obtained from the Publication Department of the Texas Workers' Compensation 
Commission, 4000 South IH-35, Southfield Building, Austin, Texas 78704. 
 
(b) An insurance carrier or health care provider which willfully or intentionally violates 
the provisions of this rule commits an administrative violation under Texas Labor Code, 
§415.002 or §415.003, and may be assessed a penalty. In addition, an insurance carrier or 
health care provider which repeatedly violates these statutory provisions may be 
assessed a penalty not to exceed $10,000 under the Texas Labor Code, §415.021, and 
may be subject to the sanctions specified in the Texas Labor Code, §415.023, including, 
but not limited to, restriction or revocation of the right to receive reimbursement under 
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.201 adopted to be effective April 1, 1996, 21 
TexReg 2361 
 
RULE §134.203 Medical Fee Guideline for Professional Services 
 
(a) Applicability of this rule is as follows: 
  (1) This section applies to professional medical services provided in the Texas workers' 
compensation system, other than: 
    (A) workers' compensation specific codes, services, and programs described in 
§134.204 of this title (relating to Medical Fee Guideline for Workers' Compensation 
Specific Services); 
    (B) prescription drugs or medicine; 
    (C) dental services; 
    (D) the facility services of a hospital or other health care facility; and 
    (E) medical services provided through a workers' compensation health care network 
certified pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305, except as provided in Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305. 
  (2) This section applies to professional medical services provided on or after March 1, 
2008. 
  (3) For professional services provided between August 1, 2003 and March 1, 2008, 
§134.202 of this title (relating to Medical Fee Guideline) applies. 
  (4) For professional services provided prior to August 1, 2003, §134.201 of this title 
(relating to Medical Fee Guideline for Medical Treatments and Services Provided under 
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act) and §134.302 of this title (relating to Dental Fee 
Guideline) apply. 
  (5) "Medicare payment policies" when used in this section, shall mean reimbursement 
methodologies, models, and values or weights including its coding, billing, and 
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reporting payment policies as set forth in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) payment policies specific to Medicare. 
  (6) Notwithstanding Medicare payment policies, chiropractors may be reimbursed for 
services provided within the scope of their practice act. 
  (7) Specific provisions contained in the Texas Labor Code or the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (Division) rules, including this chapter, 
shall take precedence over any conflicting provision adopted or utilized by CMS in 
administering the Medicare program. Independent Review Organization (IRO) decisions 
regarding medical necessity made in accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and 
§133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by Independent Review Organizations), which are 
made on a case-by-case basis, take precedence in that case only, over any Division rules 
and Medicare payment policies. 
  (8) Whenever a component of the Medicare program is revised, use of the revised 
component shall be required for compliance with Division rules, decisions, and orders 
for professional services rendered on or after the effective date, or after the effective 
date or the adoption date of the revised component, whichever is later. 
 
(b) For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of professional medical services, 
Texas workers' compensation system participants shall apply the following: 
  (1) Medicare payment policies, including its coding; billing; correct coding initiatives 
(CCI) edits; modifiers; bonus payments for health professional shortage areas (HPSAs) 
and physician scarcity areas (PSAs); and other payment policies in effect on the date a 
service is provided with any additions or exceptions in the rules. 
  (2) A 10 percent incentive payment shall be added to the maximum allowable 
reimbursement (MAR) for services outlined in subsections (c) - (f) and (h) of this section 
that are performed in designated workers' compensation underserved areas in 
accordance with §134.2 of this title (relating to Incentive Payments for Workers' 
Compensation Underserved Areas). 
 
(c) To determine the MAR for professional services, system participants shall apply the 
Medicare payment policies with minimal modifications. 
  (1) For service categories of Evaluation & Management, General Medicine, Physical 
Medicine and Rehabilitation, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesia, and Surgery when 
performed in an office setting, the established conversion factor to be applied is $52.83. 
For Surgery when performed in a facility setting, the established conversion factor to be 
applied is $66.32. 
  (2) The conversion factors listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be the 
conversion factors for calendar year 2008. Subsequent year's conversion factors shall be 
determined by applying the annual percentage adjustment of the Medicare Economic 
Index (MEI) to the previous year's conversion factors, and shall be effective January 1st 
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of the new calendar year. The following hypothetical example illustrates this annual 
adjustment activity if the Division had been using this MEI annual percentage 
adjustment: The 2006 Division conversion factor of $50.83 (with the exception of 
surgery) would have been multiplied by the 2007 MEI annual percentage increase of 2.1 
percent, resulting in the $51.90 (with the exception of surgery) Division conversion 
factor in 2007. 
 
(d) The MAR for Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Level II codes 
A, E, J, K, and L shall be determined as follows: 
  (1) 125 percent of the fee listed for the code in the Medicare Durable Medical 
Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics and Supplies (DMEPOS) fee schedule; 
  (2) if the code has no published Medicare rate, 125 percent of the published Texas 
Medicaid fee schedule, durable medical equipment (DME)/medical supplies, for HCPCS; 
or 
  (3) if neither paragraph (1) nor (2) of this subsection apply, then as calculated 
according to subsection (f) of this section. 
 
(e) The MAR for pathology and laboratory services not addressed in subsection (c)(1) of 
this section or in other Division rules shall be determined as follows: 
  (1) 125 percent of the fee listed for the code in the Medicare Clinical Fee Schedule for 
the technical component of the service; and, 
  (2) 45 percent of the Division established MAR for the code derived in paragraph (1) of 
this subsection for the professional component of the service. 
 
(f) For products and services for which no relative value unit or payment has been 
assigned by Medicare, Texas Medicaid as set forth in §134.203(d) or §134.204(f) of this 
title, or the Division, reimbursement shall be provided in accordance with §134.1 of this 
title (relating to Medical Reimbursement). 
 
(g) When there is a negotiated or contracted amount that complies with Labor Code 
§413.011, reimbursement shall be the negotiated or contracted amount that applies to 
the billed services. 
 
(h) When there is no negotiated or contracted amount that complies with Labor Code 
§413.011, reimbursement shall be the least of the: 
  (1) MAR amount; 
  (2) health care provider's usual and customary charge, unless directed by Division rule 
to bill a specific amount; or 
  (3) fair and reasonable amount consistent with the standards of §134.1 of this title. 
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(i) Health care providers (HCPs) shall bill their usual and customary charges using the 
most current Level I (CPT codes) and Level II HCPCS codes. HCPs shall submit medical 
bills in accordance with the Labor Code and Division rules. 
 
(j) Modifying circumstance shall be identified by use of the appropriate modifier 
following the appropriate Level I (CPT codes) and Level II HCPCS codes. Division-specific 
modifiers are identified and shall be applied in accordance with §134.204(n) of this title 
(relating to Medical Fee Guideline for Workers' Compensation Specific Services). When 
two or more modifiers are applicable to a single CPT code, indicate each modifier on the 
bill. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.203 adopted to be effective March 1, 2008, 33 
TexReg 364 
 
RULE §134.204 Medical Fee Guideline for Workers' Compensation Specific Services 
 
(a) Applicability of this rule is as follows: 
  (1) This section applies to workers' compensation specific codes, services and programs 
provided in the Texas workers' compensation system, other than: 
    (A) professional medical services described in §134.203 of this title (relating to 
Medical Fee Guideline for Professional Services); 
    (B) prescription drugs or medicine; 
    (C) dental services; 
    (D) the facility services of a hospital or other health care facility; and 
    (E) medical services provided through a workers' compensation health care network 
certified pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305, except as provided in §134.1 of this 
title and Insurance Code Chapter 1305. 
  (2) This section applies to workers' compensation specific codes, services and programs 
provided from March 1, 2008 until September 1, 2016. 
  (3) For workers' compensation specific codes, services and programs provided between 
August 1, 2003 and March 1, 2008, §134.202 of this title (relating to Medical Fee 
Guideline) applies. 
  (4) For workers' compensation specific codes, services and programs provided prior to 
August 1, 2003, §134.201 of this title (relating to Medical Fee Guideline for Medical 
Treatments and Services Provided under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act) and 
§134.302 of this title (relating to Dental Fee Guideline) apply. 
  (5) Specific provisions contained in the Labor Code or the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (Division) rules, including this chapter, 
shall take precedence over any conflicting provision adopted or utilized by the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in administering the Medicare program. 
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Independent Review Organization (IRO) decisions regarding medical necessity made in 
accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and §133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by 
Independent Review Organizations), which are made on a case-by-case basis, take 
precedence in that case only, over any Division rules and Medicare payment policies. 
 
(b) Payment Policies Relating to coding, billing, and reporting for workers' 
compensation specific codes, services, and programs are as follows: 
  (1) Billing. Health care providers (HCPs) shall bill their usual and customary charges 
using the most current Level I (CPT codes) and Level II Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding System (HCPCS) codes. HCPs shall submit medical bills in accordance with the 
Labor Code and Division rules. 
  (2) Modifiers. Modifying circumstance shall be identified by use of the appropriate 
modifier following the appropriate Level I (CPT codes) and Level II HCPCS codes. Where 
HCPCS modifiers apply, carriers shall treat them in accordance with Medicare and Texas 
Medicaid rules. Additionally, Division-specific modifiers are identified in subsection (n) 
of this section. When two or more modifiers are applicable to a single HCPCS code, 
indicate each modifier on the bill. 
  (3) Incentive Payments. A 10 percent incentive payment shall be added to the 
maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) for services outlined in subsections (d), (e), 
(g), (i), (j), and (k) of this section that are performed in designated workers' 
compensation underserved areas in accordance with §134.2 of this title (relating to 
Incentive Payments for Workers' Compensation Underserved Areas). 
 
(c) When there is a negotiated or contracted amount that complies with Labor Code 
§413.011, reimbursement shall be the negotiated or contracted amount that applies to 
the billed services. 
 
(d) When there is no negotiated or contracted amount that complies with §413.011 of 
the Labor Code, reimbursement shall be the least of the: 
  (1) MAR amount; 
  (2) health care provider's usual and customary charge, unless directed by Division rule 
to bill a specific amount; or 
  (3) fair and reasonable amount consistent with the standards of §134.1 of this title 
(relating to Medical Reimbursement). 
 
(e) Case Management Responsibilities by the Treating Doctor is as follows: 
  (1) Team conferences and telephone calls shall include coordination with an 
interdisciplinary team. 
    (A) Team members shall not be employees of the treating doctor. 
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    (B) Team conferences and telephone calls must be outside of an interdisciplinary 
program. Documentation shall include the purpose and outcome of conferences and 
telephone calls, and the name and specialty of each individual attending the team 
conference or engaged in a phone call. 
  (2) Team conferences and telephone calls should be triggered by a documented 
change in the condition of the injured employee and performed for the purpose of 
coordination of medical treatment and/or return to work for the injured employee. 
  (3) Contact with one or more members of the interdisciplinary team more often than 
once every 30 days shall be limited to the following: 
    (A) coordinating with the employer, employee, or an assigned medical or vocational 
case manager to determine return to work options; 
    (B) developing or revising a treatment plan, including any treatment plans required by 
Division rules; 
    (C) altering or clarifying previous instructions; or 
    (D) coordinating the care of employees with catastrophic or multiple injuries requiring 
multiple specialties. 
  (4) Case management services require the treating doctor to submit documentation 
that identifies any HCP that contributes to the case management activity. Case 
management services shall be billed and reimbursed as follows: 
    (A) CPT Code 99361. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $113. Modifier "W1" shall be 
added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral HCP shall be $28 when a HCP contributes to the 
case management activity. 
    (B) CPT Code 99362. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $198. Modifier "W1" shall be 
added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral HCP shall be $50 when a HCP contributes to the 
case management activity. 
    (C) CPT Code 99371. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $18. Modifier "W1" shall be added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to a referral HCP contributing to this case management activity 
shall be $5. 
    (D) CPT Code 99372. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $46. Modifier "W1" shall be added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral HCP contributing to this case management activity 
shall be $12. 
    (E) CPT Code 99373. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $90. Modifier "W1" shall be added. 
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      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral HCP contributing to this case management action 
shall be $23. 
 
(f) To determine the MAR amount for home health services provided through a licensed 
home health agency, the MAR shall be 125 percent of the published Texas Medicaid fee 
schedule for home health agencies. 
 
(g) The following applies to Functional Capacity Evaluations (FCEs). A maximum of three 
FCEs for each compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed. FCEs ordered by the 
Division shall not count toward the three FCEs allowed for each compensable injury. 
FCEs shall be billed using CPT Code 97750 with modifier "FC." FCEs shall be reimbursed 
in accordance with §134.203(c)(1) of this title. Reimbursement shall be for up to a 
maximum of four hours for the initial test or for a Division ordered test; a maximum of 
two hours for an interim test; and, a maximum of three hours for the discharge test, 
unless it is the initial test. Documentation is required. FCEs shall include the following 
elements: 
  (1) A physical examination and neurological evaluation, which include the following: 
    (A) appearance (observational and palpation); 
    (B) flexibility of the extremity joint or spinal region (usually observational); 
    (C) posture and deformities; 
    (D) vascular integrity; 
    (E) neurological tests to detect sensory deficit; 
    (F) myotomal strength to detect gross motor deficit; and 
    (G) reflexes to detect neurological reflex symmetry. 
  (2) A physical capacity evaluation of the injured area, which includes the following: 
    (A) range of motion (quantitative measurements using appropriate devices) of the 
injured joint or region; and 
    (B) strength/endurance (quantitative measures using accurate devices) with 
comparison to contralateral side or normative database. This testing may include 
isometric, isokinetic, or isoinertial devices in one or more planes. 
  (3) Functional abilities tests, which include the following: 
    (A) activities of daily living (standardized tests of generic functional tasks such as 
pushing, pulling, kneeling, squatting, carrying, and climbing); 
    (B) hand function tests that measure fine and gross motor coordination, grip strength, 
pinch strength, and manipulation tests using measuring devices; 
    (C) submaximal cardiovascular endurance tests which measure aerobic capacity using 
stationary bicycle or treadmill; and 
    (D) static positional tolerance (observational determination of tolerance for sitting or 
standing). 
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(h) The following shall be applied to Return To Work Rehabilitation Programs for billing 
and reimbursement of Work Conditioning/General Occupational Rehabilitation 
Programs, Work Hardening/Comprehensive Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, 
Chronic Pain Management/Interdisciplinary Pain Rehabilitation Programs, and 
Outpatient Medical Rehabilitation Programs. To qualify as a Division Return to Work 
Rehabilitation Program, a program should meet the specific program standards for the 
program as listed in the most recent Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 
Facilities (CARF) Medical Rehabilitation Standards Manual, which includes active 
participation in recovery and return to work planning by the injured employee, employer 
and payor or carrier. 
  (1) Accreditation by the CARF is recommended, but not required. 
    (A) If the program is CARF accredited, modifier "CA" shall follow the appropriate 
program modifier as designated for the specific programs listed below. The hourly 
reimbursement for a CARF accredited program shall be 100 percent of the MAR. 
    (B) If the program is not CARF accredited, the only modifier required is the 
appropriate program modifier. The hourly reimbursement for a non-CARF accredited 
program shall be 80 percent of the MAR. 
  (2) For Division purposes, General Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, as defined in 
the CARF manual, are considered Work Conditioning. 
    (A) The first two hours of each session shall be billed and reimbursed as one unit, 
using CPT Code 97545 with modifier "WC." Each additional hour shall be billed using 
CPT Code 97546 with modifier "WC." CARF accredited Programs shall add "CA" as a 
second modifier. 
    (B) Reimbursement shall be $36 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated by 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to eight minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
  (3) For Division purposes, Comprehensive Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, as 
defined in the CARF manual, are considered Work Hardening. 
    (A) The first two hours of each session shall be billed and reimbursed as one unit, 
using CPT Code 97545 with modifier "WH." Each additional hour shall be billed using 
CPT Code 97546 with modifier "WH." CARF accredited Programs shall add "CA" as a 
second modifier. 
    (B) Reimbursement shall be $64 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated by 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to 8 minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
  (4) The following shall be applied for billing and reimbursement of Outpatient Medical 
Rehabilitation Programs. 
    (A) Program shall be billed and reimbursed using CPT Code 97799 with modifier "MR" 
for each hour. The number of hours shall be indicated in the units column on the bill. 
CARF accredited Programs shall add "CA" as a second modifier. 
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    (B) Reimbursement shall be $90 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated by 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to eight minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
  (5) The following shall be applied for billing and reimbursement of Chronic Pain 
Management/Interdisciplinary Pain Rehabilitation Programs. 
    (A) Program shall be billed and reimbursed using CPT Code 97799 with modifier "CP" 
for each hour. The number of hours shall be indicated in the units column on the bill. 
CARF accredited Programs shall add "CA" as a second modifier. 
    (B) Reimbursement shall be $125 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated in 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to eight minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
 
(i) The following shall apply to Designated Doctor Examinations. 
  (1) Designated Doctors shall perform examinations in accordance with Labor Code 
§§408.004, 408.0041 and 408.151 and Division rules, and shall be billed and reimbursed 
as follows: 
    (A) Impairment caused by the compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with subsection (j) of this section, and the use of the additional modifier 
"W5" is the first modifier to be applied when performed by a designated doctor; 
    (B) Attainment of maximum medical improvement shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with subsection (j) of this section, and the use of the additional modifier 
"W5" is the first modifier to be applied when performed by a designated doctor; 
    (C) Extent of the employee's compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with subsection (k) of this section, with the use of the additional modifier 
"W6"; 
    (D) Whether the injured employee's disability is a direct result of the work-related 
injury shall be billed and reimbursed in accordance with subsection (k) of this section, 
with the use of the additional modifier "W7"; 
    (E) Ability of the employee to return to work shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with subsection (k) of this section, with the use of the additional modifier 
"W8"; and 
    (F) Issues similar to those described in subparagraphs (A) - (E) of this paragraph shall 
be billed and reimbursed in accordance with subsection (k) of this section, with the use 
of the additional modifier "W9." 
  (2) When multiple examinations under the same specific Division order are performed 
concurrently under paragraph (1)(C) - (F) of this subsection: 
    (A) the first examination shall be reimbursed at 100 percent of the set fee outlined in 
subsection (k) of this section; 
    (B) the second examination shall be reimbursed at 50 percent of the set fee outlined 
in subsection (k) of this section; and 
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    (C) subsequent examinations shall be reimbursed at 25 percent of the set fee outlined 
in subsection (k) of this section. 
 
(j) Maximum Medical Improvement and/or Impairment Rating (MMI/IR) examinations 
shall be billed and reimbursed as follows: 
  (1) The total MAR for an MMI/IR examination shall be equal to the MMI evaluation 
reimbursement plus the reimbursement for the body area(s) evaluated for the 
assignment of an IR. The MMI/IR examination shall include: 
    (A) the examination; 
    (B) consultation with the injured employee; 
    (C) review of the records and films; 
    (D) the preparation and submission of reports (including the narrative report, and 
responding to the need for further clarification, explanation, or reconsideration), 
calculation tables, figures, and worksheets; and, 
    (E) tests used to assign the IR, as outlined in the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment (AMA Guides), as stated in the Act and Division rules in Chapter 
130 of this title (relating to Impairment and Supplemental Income Benefits). 
  (2) An HCP shall only bill and be reimbursed for an MMI/IR examination if the doctor 
performing the evaluation (i.e., the examining doctor) is an authorized doctor in 
accordance with the Act and Division rules in Chapter 130 of this title. 
    (A) If the examining doctor, other than the treating doctor, determines MMI has not 
been reached, the MMI evaluation portion of the examination shall be billed and 
reimbursed in accordance with paragraph (3) of this subsection. Modifier "NM" shall be 
added. 
    (B) If the examining doctor determines MMI has been reached and there is no 
permanent impairment because the injury was sufficiently minor, an IR evaluation is not 
warranted and only the MMI evaluation portion of the examination shall be billed and 
reimbursed in accordance with paragraph (3) of this subsection. 
    (C) If the examining doctor determines MMI has been reached and an IR evaluation is 
performed, both the MMI evaluation and the IR evaluation portions of the examination 
shall be billed and reimbursed in accordance with paragraphs (3) and (4) of this 
subsection. 
  (3) The following applies for billing and reimbursement of an MMI evaluation. 
    (A) An examining doctor who is the treating doctor shall bill using CPT Code 99455 
with the appropriate modifier. 
      (i) Reimbursement shall be the applicable established patient office visit level 
associated with the examination. 
      (ii) Modifiers "V1", "V2", "V3", "V4", or "V5" shall be added to the CPT code to 
correspond with the last digit of the applicable office visit. 
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    (B) If the treating doctor refers the injured employee to another doctor for the 
examination and certification of MMI (and IR); and, the referral examining doctor has: 
      (i) previously been treating the injured employee, then the referral doctor shall bill 
the MMI evaluation in accordance with paragraph (3)(A) of this subsection; or, 
      (ii) not previously treated the injured employee, then the referral doctor shall bill the 
MMI evaluation in accordance with paragraph (3)(C) of this subsection. 
    (C) An examining doctor, other than the treating doctor, shall bill using CPT Code 
99456. Reimbursement shall be $350. 
  (4) The following applies for billing and reimbursement of an IR evaluation. 
    (A) The HCP shall include billing components of the IR evaluation with the applicable 
MMI evaluation CPT code. The number of body areas rated shall be indicated in the 
units column of the billing form. 
    (B) When multiple IRs are required as a component of a designated doctor 
examination under §130.6 of this title (relating to Designated Doctor Examinations for 
Maximum Medical Improvement and/or Impairment Ratings), the designated doctor 
shall bill for the number of body areas rated and be reimbursed $50 for each additional 
IR calculation. Modifier "MI" shall be added to the MMI evaluation CPT code. 
    (C) For musculoskeletal body areas, the examining doctor may bill for a maximum of 
three body areas. 
      (i) Musculoskeletal body areas are defined as follows: 
        (I) spine and pelvis; 
        (II) upper extremities and hands; and, 
        (III) lower extremities (including feet). 
      (ii) The MAR for musculoskeletal body areas shall be as follows. 
        (I) $150 for each body area if the Diagnosis Related Estimates (DRE) method found 
in the AMA Guides 4th edition is used. 
        (II) If full physical evaluation, with range of motion, is performed: 
          (-a-) $300 for the first musculoskeletal body area; and 
          (-b-) $150 for each additional musculoskeletal body area. 
      (iii) If the examining doctor performs the MMI examination and the IR testing of the 
musculoskeletal body area(s), the examining doctor shall bill using the appropriate MMI 
CPT code with modifier "WP." Reimbursement shall be 100 percent of the total MAR. 
      (iv) If, in accordance with §130.1 of this title (relating to Certification of Maximum 
Medical Improvement and Evaluation of Permanent Impairment), the examining doctor 
performs the MMI examination and assigns the IR, but does not perform the range of 
motion, sensory, or strength testing of the musculoskeletal body area(s), then the 
examining doctor shall bill using the appropriate MMI CPT code with CPT modifier "26." 
Reimbursement shall be 80 percent of the total MAR. 
      (v) If a HCP, other than the examining doctor, performs the range of motion, 
sensory, or strength testing of the musculoskeletal body area(s), then the HCP shall bill 
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using the appropriate MMI CPT code with modifier "TC." In accordance with §130.1 of 
this title, the HCP must be certified. Reimbursement shall be 20 percent of the total 
MAR. 
    (D) Non-musculoskeletal body areas shall be billed and reimbursed using the 
appropriate CPT code(s) for the test(s) required for the assignment of IR. 
      (i) Non-musculoskeletal body areas are defined as follows: 
        (I) body systems; 
        (II) body structures (including skin); and, 
        (III) mental and behavioral disorders. 
      (ii) For a complete list of body system and body structure non-musculoskeletal body 
areas, refer to the appropriate AMA Guides. 
      (iii) When the examining doctor refers testing for non-musculoskeletal body area(s) 
to a specialist, then the following shall apply: 
        (I) The examining doctor (e.g., the referring doctor) shall bill using the appropriate 
MMI CPT code with modifier "SP" and indicate one unit in the units column of the billing 
form. Reimbursement shall be $50 for incorporating one or more specialists' report(s) 
information into the final assignment of IR. This reimbursement shall be allowed only 
once per examination. 
        (II) The referral specialist shall bill and be reimbursed for the appropriate CPT 
code(s) for the tests required for the assignment of IR. Documentation is required. 
      (iv) When there is no test to determine an IR for a non-musculoskeletal condition: 
        (I) The IR is based on the charts in the AMA Guides. These charts generally show a 
category of impairment and a range of percentage ratings that fall within that category. 
        (II) The impairment rating doctor must determine and assign a finite whole 
percentage number rating from the range of percentage ratings. 
        (III) Use of these charts to assign an IR is equivalent to assigning an IR by the DRE 
method as referenced in subparagraph (C)(ii)(I) of this paragraph. 
      (v) The MAR for the assignment of an IR in a non-musculoskeletal body area shall be 
$150. 
  (5) If the examination for the determination of MMI and/or the assignment of IR 
requires testing that is not outlined in the AMA Guides, the appropriate CPT code(s) 
shall be billed and reimbursed in addition to the fees outlined in paragraphs (3) and (4) 
of this subsection. 
  (6) The treating doctor is required to review the certification of MMI and assignment of 
IR performed by another doctor, as stated in the Act and Division Rules, Chapter 130 of 
this title. The treating doctor shall bill using CPT Code 99455 with modifier "VR" to 
indicate a review of the report only, and shall be reimbursed $50. 
 
(k) The following shall apply to Return to Work (RTW) and/or Evaluation of Medical Care 
(EMC) Examinations. When conducting a Division or insurance carrier requested 
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RTW/EMC examination, the examining doctor shall bill and be reimbursed using CPT 
Code 99456 with modifier "RE." In either instance of whether MMI/IR is performed or 
not, the reimbursement shall be $500 in accordance with subsection (i) of this section 
and shall include Division-required reports. Testing that is required shall be billed using 
the appropriate CPT codes and reimbursed in addition to the examination fee. 
 
(l) The following shall apply to Work Status Reports. When billing for a Work Status 
Report that is not conducted as a part of the examinations outlined in subsections (i) 
and (j) of this section, refer to §129.5 of this title (relating to Work Status Reports). 
 
(m) The following shall apply to Treating Doctor Examination to Define the 
Compensable Injury. When billing for this type of examination, refer to §126.14 of this 
title (relating to Treating Doctor Examination to Define Compensable Injury). 
 
(n) The following Division Modifiers shall be used by HCPs billing professional medical 
services for correct coding, reporting, billing, and reimbursement of the procedure 
codes. 
  (1) CA, Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) Accredited 
programs--This modifier shall be used when a HCP bills for a Return To Work 
Rehabilitation Program that is CARF accredited. 
  (2) CP, Chronic Pain Management Program--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 
97799 to indicate Chronic Pain Management Program services were performed. 
  (3) FC, Functional Capacity--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 97750 when a 
functional capacity evaluation is performed. 
  (4) MR, Outpatient Medical Rehabilitation Program--This modifier shall be added to 
CPT Code 97799 to indicate Outpatient Medical Rehabilitation Program services were 
performed. 
  (5) MI, Multiple Impairment Ratings--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 99455 
when the designated doctor is required to complete multiple impairment ratings 
calculations. 
  (6) NM, Not at Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI)--This modifier shall be added to 
the appropriate MMI CPT code to indicate that the injured employee has not reached 
MMI when the purpose of the examination was to determine MMI. 
  (7) RE, Return to Work (RTW) and/or Evaluation of Medical Care (EMC)--This modifier 
shall be added to CPT Code 99456 when a RTW or EMC examination is performed. 
  (8) SP, Specialty Area--This modifier shall be added to the appropriate MMI CPT code 
when a specialty area is incorporated into the MMI report. 
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  (9) TC, Technical Component--This modifier shall be added to the CPT code when the 
technical component of a procedure is billed separately. 
  (10) VR, Review report--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 99455 to indicate 
that the service was the treating doctor's review of report(s) only. 
  (11) V1, Level of MMI for Treating Doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to a "minimal" level. 
  (12) V2, Level of MMI for Treating Doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "self limited or minor" level. 
  (13) V3, Level of MMI for Treating Doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "low to moderate" level. 
  (14) V4, Level of MMI for Treating Doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "moderate to high severity" level 
and of at least 25 minutes duration. 
  (15) V5, Level of MMI for Treating Doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "moderate to high severity" level 
and of at least 45 minutes duration. 
  (16) WC, Work Conditioning--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 97545 to 
indicate work conditioning was performed. 
  (17) WH, Work Hardening--This modifier shall be added to CPT Code 97545 to indicate 
work hardening was performed. 
  (18) WP, Whole Procedure--This modifier shall be added to the CPT code when both 
the professional and technical components of a procedure are performed by a single 
HCP. 
  (19) W1, Case Management for Treating Doctor--This modifier shall be added to the 
appropriate case management billing code activities when performed by the treating 
doctor. 
  (20) W5, Designated Doctor Examination for Impairment or Attainment of Maximum 
Medical Improvement--This modifier shall be added to the appropriate examination 
code performed by a designated doctor when determining impairment caused by the 
compensable injury and in attainment of maximum medical improvement. 
  (21) W6, Designated Doctor Examination for Extent--This modifier shall be added to 
the appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when determining 
extent of the employee's compensable injury. 
  (22) W7, Designated Doctor Examination for Disability--This modifier shall be added to 
the appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when determining 
whether the injured employee's disability is a direct result of the work-related injury. 
  (23) W8, Designated Doctor Examination for Return to Work--This modifier shall be 
added to the appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when 
determining the ability of employee to return to work. 
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  (24) W9, Designated Doctor Examination for Other Similar Issues--This modifier shall 
be added to the appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when 
determining other similar issues. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.204 adopted to be effective March 1, 2008, 33 
TexReg 364; amended to be effective July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 4839 
 
RULE §134.209 Applicability 
 
(a) Sections 134.209, 134.210, 134.215, 134.220, 134.225, 134.230, 134.235, 134.239, 
134.240, and 134.250 of this title apply to workers' compensation specific codes, 
services, and programs provided in the Texas workers' compensation system, other than: 
  (1) professional medical services described in §134.203 of this title; 
  (2) prescription drugs or medicine; 
  (3) dental services; 
  (4) the facility services of a hospital or other health care facility; and 
  (5) medical services provided through a workers' compensation health care network 
certified pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305, except as provided in §134.1 of this 
title and Insurance Code Chapter 1305. 
 
(b) Sections 134.209, 134.210, 134.215, 134.220, 134.225, 134.230, 134.235, 134.239, 
134.240, and 134.250 of this title apply to workers' compensation specific codes, 
services, and programs provided on or after September 1, 2016. 
 
(c) If a court of competent jurisdiction holds that any provision of §§134.209, 134.210, 
134.215, 134.220, 134.225, 134.230, 134.235, 134.239, 134.240, and 134.250 of this title 
or its application to any person or circumstance is invalid for any reason, the invalidity 
does not affect other provisions or applications that can be given effect without the 
invalid provision or application and the provisions of §§134.209, 134.210, 134.215, 
134.220, 134.225, 134.230, 134.235, 134.239, 134.240, and 134.250 of this title are 
severable. 
 
(d) When billing for a treating doctor examination to define the compensable injury, 
refer to §126.14 of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.209 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
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RULE §134.210 Medical Fee Guideline for Workers' Compensation Specific Services 
 
(a) Specific provisions contained in the Labor Code or division rules, including this 
chapter, shall take precedence over any conflicting provision adopted or utilized by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in administering the Medicare 
program. Independent review organization decisions regarding medical necessity made 
in accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and §133.308 of this title, which are made on a 
case-by-case basis, take precedence, in that case only, over any division rules and 
Medicare payment policies. 
 
(b) Payment policies relating to coding, billing, and reporting for workers' compensation 
specific codes, services, and programs are as follows: 
  (1) Health care providers shall bill their usual and customary charges using the most 
current Level I Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Level II Healthcare Common 
Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes. Health care providers shall submit medical 
bills in accordance with the Labor Code and division rules. 
  (2) Modifying circumstance shall be identified by use of the appropriate modifier 
following the appropriate Level I (CPT codes) and Level II HCPCS codes. Where HCPCS 
modifiers apply, insurance carriers shall treat them in accordance with Medicare and 
Texas Medicaid rules. Additionally, division-specific modifiers are identified in 
subsection (e) of this section. When two or more modifiers are applicable to a single 
HCPCS code, indicate each modifier on the bill. 
  (3) A 10 percent incentive payment shall be added to the maximum allowable 
reimbursement (MAR) for services outlined in §§134.220, 134.225, 134.235, 134.240, and 
134.250 of this title and subsection (d) of this section that are performed in designated 
workers' compensation underserved areas in accordance with §134.2 of this title. 
 
(c) When there is a negotiated or contracted amount that complies with Labor Code 
§413.011, reimbursement shall be the negotiated or contracted amount that applies to 
the billed services. 
 
(d) When there is no negotiated or contracted amount that complies with Labor Code 
§413.011, reimbursement shall be the least of the: 
  (1) MAR amount; 
  (2) health care provider's usual and customary charge, unless directed by division rule 
to bill a specific amount; or 
  (3) fair and reasonable amount consistent with the standards of §134.1 of this title. 
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(e) The following division modifiers shall be used by health care providers billing 
professional medical services for correct coding, reporting, billing, and reimbursement 
of the procedure codes. 
  (1) CA, Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) accredited 
programs--This modifier shall be used when a health care provider bills for a return to 
work rehabilitation program that is CARF accredited. 
  (2) CP, chronic pain management program--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 
97799 to indicate chronic pain management program services were performed. 
  (3) FC, functional capacity--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 97750 when a 
functional capacity evaluation is performed. 
  (4) MR, outpatient medical rehabilitation program--This modifier shall be added to CPT 
code 97799 to indicate outpatient medical rehabilitation program services were 
performed. 
  (5) MI, multiple impairment ratings--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 99455 
when the designated doctor is required to complete multiple impairment ratings 
calculations. 
  (6) NM, not at maximum medical improvement (MMI)--This modifier shall be added to 
the appropriate MMI CPT code to indicate that the injured employee has not reached 
MMI when the purpose of the examination was to determine MMI. 
  (7) RE, return to work (RTW) and/or evaluation of medical care (EMC)--This modifier 
shall be added to CPT code 99456 when a RTW or EMC examination is performed. 
  (8) SP, specialty area--This modifier shall be added to the appropriate MMI CPT code 
when a specialty area is incorporated into the MMI report. 
  (9) TC, technical component--This modifier shall be added to the CPT code when the 
technical component of a procedure is billed separately. 
  (10) VR, review report--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 99455 to indicate that 
the service was the treating doctor's review of report(s) only. 
  (11) V1, level of MMI for treating doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to a "minimal" level. 
  (12) V2, level of MMI for treating doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "self limited or minor" level. 
  (13) V3, level of MMI for treating doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "low to moderate" level. 
  (14) V4, level of MMI for treating doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "moderate to high severity" level 
and at least 25 minutes duration. 
  (15) V5, level of MMI for treating doctor--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 
99455 when the office visit level of service is equal to "moderate to high severity" level 
and at least 45 minutes duration. 
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  (16) WC, work conditioning--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 97545 to 
indicate work conditioning was performed. 
  (17) WH, work hardening--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 97545 to indicate 
work hardening was performed. 
  (18) WP, whole procedure--This modifier shall be added to the CPT code when both 
the professional and technical components of a procedure are performed by a single 
health care provider. 
  (19) W1, case management for treating doctor--This modifier shall be added to the 
appropriate case management billing code activities when performed by the treating 
doctor. 
  (20) W5, designated doctor examination for impairment or attainment of MMI--This 
modifier shall be added to the appropriate examination code performed by a 
designated doctor when determining impairment caused by the compensable injury and 
in attainment of MMI. 
  (21) W6, designated doctor examination for extent--This modifier shall be added to the 
appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when determining 
extent of the injured employee's compensable injury. 
  (22) W7, designated doctor examination for disability--This modifier shall be added to 
the appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when determining 
whether the injured employee's disability is a direct result of the work-related injury. 
  (23) W8, designated doctor examination for return to work--This modifier shall be 
added to the appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when 
determining the ability of injured employee to return to work. 
  (24) W9, designated doctor examination for other similar issues--This modifier shall be 
added to the appropriate examination code performed by a designated doctor when 
determining other similar issues. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.210 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
 
RULE §134.215 Home Health Services 
 
The maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) amount for home health services 
provided through a licensed home health agency shall be 125 percent of the published 
Texas Medicaid fee schedule for home health agencies. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.215 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839   
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RULE §134.220 Case Management Services  
 
Case management responsibilities by the treating doctor are as follows: 
 
  (1) Team conferences and telephone calls shall include coordination with an 
interdisciplinary team. 
    (A) Team members shall not be employees of the treating doctor. 
    (B) Team conferences and telephone calls must be outside of an interdisciplinary 
program. Documentation shall include the purpose and outcome of conferences and 
telephone calls, and the name and specialty of each individual attending the team 
conference or engaged in a phone call. 
 
  (2) Team conferences and telephone calls should be triggered by a documented 
change in the condition of the injured employee and performed for the purpose of 
coordination of medical treatment and/or return to work for the injured employee. 
 
  (3) Contact with one or more members of the interdisciplinary team more often than 
once every 30 days shall be limited to the following: 
    (A) coordinating with the employer, employee, or an assigned medical or vocational 
case manager to determine return to work options; 
    (B) developing or revising a treatment plan, including any treatment plans required by 
division rules; 
    (C) altering or clarifying previous instructions; or 
    (D) coordinating the care of employees with catastrophic or multiple injuries requiring 
multiple specialties. 
 
  (4) Case management services require the treating doctor to submit documentation 
that identifies any health care provider that contributes to the case management 
activity. Case management services shall be billed and reimbursed as follows: 
    (A) CPT code 99361. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $113. Modifier "W1" shall be 
added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral health care provider shall be $28 when a health 
care provider contributes to the case management activity. 
    (B) CPT code 99362. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $198. Modifier "W1" shall be 
added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral health care provider shall be $50 when a health 
care provider contributes to the case management activity. 
    (C) CPT code 99371. 
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      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $18. Modifier "W1" shall be added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to a referral health care provider contributing to this case 
management activity shall be $5. 
    (D) CPT code 99372. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $46. Modifier "W1" shall be added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral health care provider contributing to this case 
management activity shall be $12. 
    (E) CPT code 99373. 
      (i) Reimbursement to the treating doctor shall be $90. Modifier "W1" shall be added. 
      (ii) Reimbursement to the referral health care provider contributing to this case 
management action shall be $23. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.220 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
 
RULE §134.225 Functional Capacity Evaluations 
 
The following applies to functional capacity evaluations (FCEs). A maximum of three 
FCEs for each compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed. FCEs ordered by the 
division shall not count toward the three FCEs allowed for each compensable injury. 
FCEs shall be billed using CPT code 97750 with modifier "FC." FCEs shall be reimbursed 
in accordance with §134.203(c)(1) of this title. Reimbursement shall be for up to a 
maximum of four hours for the initial test or for a division ordered test; a maximum of 
two hours for an interim test; and a maximum of three hours for the discharge test, 
unless it is the initial test. Documentation is required. FCEs shall include the following 
elements: 
 
  (1) A physical examination and neurological evaluation, which include the following: 
    (A) appearance (observational and palpation); 
    (B) flexibility of the extremity joint or spinal region (usually observational); 
    (C) posture and deformities; 
    (D) vascular integrity; 
    (E) neurological tests to detect sensory deficit; 
    (F) myotomal strength to detect gross motor deficit; and 
    (G) reflexes to detect neurological reflex symmetry. 
 
  (2) A physical capacity evaluation of the injured area, which includes the following: 
    (A) range of motion (quantitative measurements using appropriate devices) of the 
injured joint or region; and 
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    (B) strength/endurance (quantitative measures using accurate devices) with 
comparison to contralateral side or normative database. This testing may include 
isometric, isokinetic, or isoinertial devices in one or more planes. 
 
  (3) Functional abilities tests, which include the following: 
    (A) activities of daily living (standardized tests of generic functional tasks such as 
pushing, pulling, kneeling, squatting, carrying, and climbing); 
    (B) hand function tests that measure fine and gross motor coordination, grip strength, 
pinch strength, and manipulation tests using measuring devices; 
    (C) submaximal cardiovascular endurance tests which measure aerobic capacity using 
stationary bicycle or treadmill; and 
    (D) static positional tolerance (observational determination of tolerance for sitting or 
standing). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.225 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
 
RULE §134.230 Return to Work Rehabilitation Programs 
 
The following shall be applied to Return To Work Rehabilitation Programs for billing and 
reimbursement of Work Conditioning/General Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, 
Work Hardening/Comprehensive Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, Chronic Pain 
Management/Interdisciplinary Pain Rehabilitation Programs, and Outpatient Medical 
Rehabilitation Programs. To qualify as a division Return to Work Rehabilitation Program, 
a program should meet the specific program standards for the program as listed in the 
most recent Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) Medical 
Rehabilitation Standards Manual, which includes active participation in recovery and 
return to work planning by the injured employee, employer and payor or insurance 
carrier. 
 
  (1) Accreditation by the CARF is recommended, but not required. 
    (A) If the program is CARF accredited, modifier "CA" shall follow the appropriate 
program modifier as designated for the specific programs listed below. The hourly 
reimbursement for a CARF accredited program shall be 100 percent of the maximum 
allowable reimbursement (MAR). 
    (B) If the program is not CARF accredited, the only modifier required is the 
appropriate program modifier. The hourly reimbursement for a non-CARF accredited 
program shall be 80 percent of the MAR. 
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  (2) For division purposes, General Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, as defined in 
the CARF manual, are considered Work Conditioning. 
    (A) The first two hours of each session shall be billed and reimbursed as one unit, 
using CPT code 97545 with modifier "WC." Each additional hour shall be billed using 
CPT code 97546 with modifier "WC." CARF accredited programs shall add "CA" as a 
second modifier. 
    (B) Reimbursement shall be $36 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated by 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to eight minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
 
  (3) For division purposes, Comprehensive Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, as 
defined in the CARF manual, are considered Work Hardening. 
    (A) The first two hours of each session shall be billed and reimbursed as one unit, 
using CPT code 97545 with modifier "WH." Each additional hour shall be billed using 
CPT code 97546 with modifier "WH." CARF accredited programs shall add "CA" as a 
second modifier. 
    (B) Reimbursement shall be $64 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated by 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to eight minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
 
  (4) The following shall be applied for billing and reimbursement of Outpatient Medical 
Rehabilitation Programs. 
    (A) Program shall be billed and reimbursed using CPT code 97799 with modifier "MR" 
for each hour. The number of hours shall be indicated in the units column on the bill. 
CARF accredited programs shall add "CA" as a second modifier. 
    (B) Reimbursement shall be $90 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated by 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to eight minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
 
  (5) The following shall be applied for billing and reimbursement of Chronic Pain 
Management/Interdisciplinary Pain Rehabilitation Programs. 
    (A) Program shall be billed and reimbursed using CPT code 97799 with modifier "CP" 
for each hour. The number of hours shall be indicated in the units column on the bill. 
CARF accredited programs shall add "CA" as a second modifier. 
    (B) Reimbursement shall be $125 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be 
prorated in 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and 
reimbursed if greater than or equal to eight minutes and less than 23 minutes. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.230 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
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RULE §134.235 Return to Work/Evaluation of Medical Care 
 
The following shall apply to return to work (RTW)/evaluation of medical care (EMC) 
examinations. When conducting a division or insurance carrier requested RTW/EMC 
examination, the examining doctor shall bill and be reimbursed using CPT code 99456 
with modifier "RE." In either instance of whether maximum medical improvement/ 
impairment rating (MMI/IR) is performed or not, the reimbursement shall be $500 in 
accordance with §134.240 of this title and shall include division-required reports. Testing 
that is required shall be billed using the appropriate CPT codes and reimbursed in 
addition to the examination fee. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.235 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
 
RULE §134.239 Billing for Work Status Reports 
 
When billing for a work status report that is not conducted as a part of the examinations 
outlined in §134.240 and §134.250 of this title, refer to §129.5 of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.239 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
 
RULE §134.240 Designated Doctor Examinations 
 
The following shall apply to designated doctor examinations. 
 
  (1) Designated doctors shall perform examinations in accordance with Labor Code 
§§408.004, 408.0041, and 408.151 and division rules, and shall be billed and reimbursed 
as follows: 
    (A) Impairment caused by the compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with §134.250 of this title, and the use of the additional modifier "W5" is the 
first modifier to be applied when performed by a designated doctor; 
    (B) Attainment of maximum medical improvement shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with §134.250 of this title, and the use of the additional modifier "W5" is the 
first modifier to be applied when performed by a designated doctor; 
    (C) Extent of the employee's compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with §134.235 of this title, with the use of the additional modifier "W6"; 
    (D) Whether the injured employee's disability is a direct result of the work-related 
injury shall be billed and reimbursed in accordance with §134.235 of this title, with the 
use of the additional modifier "W7"; 
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    (E) Ability of the employee to return to work shall be billed and reimbursed in 
accordance with §134.235 of this title, with the use of the additional modifier "W8"; and 
    (F) Issues similar to those described in subparagraphs (A) - (E) of this paragraph shall 
be billed and reimbursed in accordance with §134.235 of this title, with the use of the 
additional modifier "W9." 
  (2) When multiple examinations under the same specific division order are performed 
concurrently under paragraph (1)(C) - (F) of this section: 
    (A) the first examination shall be reimbursed at 100 percent of the set fee outlined in 
§134.235 of this title; 
    (B) the second examination shall be reimbursed at 50 percent of the set fee outlined 
in §134.235 of this title; and 
    (C) subsequent examinations shall be reimbursed at 25 percent of the set fee outlined 
in §134.235 of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.240 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
 
RULE §134.250 Maximum Medical Improvement Evaluations and Impairment 
Rating Examinations 
 
Maximum medical improvement (MMI) and/or impairment rating (IR) examinations shall 
be billed and reimbursed as follows: 
 
  (1) The total maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) for an MMI/IR examination 
shall be equal to the MMI evaluation reimbursement plus the reimbursement for the 
body area(s) evaluated for the assignment of an IR. The MMI/IR examination shall 
include: 
    (A) the examination; 
    (B) consultation with the injured employee; 
    (C) review of the records and films; 
    (D) the preparation and submission of reports (including the narrative report, and 
responding to the need for further clarification, explanation, or reconsideration), 
calculation tables, figures, and worksheets; and 
    (E) tests used to assign the IR, as outlined in the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment (AMA Guides), as stated in the Labor Code and Chapter 130 of 
this title. 
 
  (2) A health care provider shall only bill and be reimbursed for an MMI/IR examination 
if the doctor performing the evaluation (i.e., the examining doctor) is an authorized 
doctor in accordance with the Labor Code and Chapter 130 of this title. 
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    (A) If the examining doctor, other than the treating doctor, determines MMI has not 
been reached, the MMI evaluation portion of the examination shall be billed and 
reimbursed in accordance with paragraph (3) of this section. Modifier "NM" shall be 
added. 
    (B) If the examining doctor determines MMI has been reached and there is no 
permanent impairment because the injury was sufficiently minor, an IR evaluation is not 
warranted and only the MMI evaluation portion of the examination shall be billed and 
reimbursed in accordance with paragraph (3) of this section. 
    (C) If the examining doctor determines MMI has been reached and an IR evaluation is 
performed, both the MMI evaluation and the IR evaluation portions of the examination 
shall be billed and reimbursed in accordance with paragraphs (3) and (4) of this section. 
 
  (3) The following applies for billing and reimbursement of an MMI evaluation. 
    (A) An examining doctor who is the treating doctor shall bill using CPT code 99455 
with the appropriate modifier. 
      (i) Reimbursement shall be the applicable established patient office visit level 
associated with the examination. 
      (ii) Modifiers "V1," "V2," "V3," "V4," or "V5" shall be added to the CPT code to 
correspond with the last digit of the applicable office visit. 
    (B) If the treating doctor refers the injured employee to another doctor for the 
examination and certification of MMI (and IR); and the referral examining doctor has: 
      (i) previously been treating the injured employee, then the referral doctor shall bill 
the MMI evaluation in accordance with paragraph (3)(A) of this section; or 
      (ii) not previously treated the injured employee, then the referral doctor shall bill the 
MMI evaluation in accordance with paragraph (3)(C) of this section. 
    (C) An examining doctor, other than the treating doctor, shall bill using CPT code 
99456. Reimbursement shall be $350. 
 
  (4) The following applies for billing and reimbursement of an IR evaluation. 
    (A) The health care provider shall include billing components of the IR evaluation with 
the applicable MMI evaluation CPT code. The number of body areas rated shall be 
indicated in the units column of the billing form. 
    (B) When multiple IRs are required as a component of a designated doctor 
examination under this title, the designated doctor shall bill for the number of body 
areas rated and be reimbursed $50 for each additional IR calculation. Modifier "MI" shall 
be added to the MMI evaluation CPT code. 
    (C) For musculoskeletal body areas, the examining doctor may bill for a maximum of 
three body areas. 
      (i) Musculoskeletal body areas are defined as follows: 
        (I) spine and pelvis; 
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        (II) upper extremities and hands; and 
        (III) lower extremities (including feet). 
      (ii) The MAR for musculoskeletal body areas shall be as follows: 
        (I) $150 for each body area if the diagnosis related estimates (DRE) method found 
in the AMA Guides fourth edition is used. 
        (II) If full physical evaluation, with range of motion, is performed: 
          (-a-) $300 for the first musculoskeletal body area; and 
          (-b-) $150 for each additional musculoskeletal body area. 
      (iii) If the examining doctor performs the MMI examination and the IR testing of the 
musculoskeletal body area(s), the examining doctor shall bill using the appropriate MMI 
CPT code with modifier "WP." Reimbursement shall be 100 percent of the total MAR. 
      (iv) If, in accordance with §130.1 of this title, the examining doctor performs the MMI 
examination and assigns the IR, but does not perform the range of motion, sensory, or 
strength testing of the musculoskeletal body area(s), then the examining doctor shall bill 
using the appropriate MMI CPT code with CPT modifier "26." Reimbursement shall be 80 
percent of the total MAR. 
      (v) If a health care provider, other than the examining doctor, performs the range of 
motion, sensory, or strength testing of the musculoskeletal body area(s), then the health 
care provider shall bill using the appropriate MMI CPT code with modifier "TC." In 
accordance with §130.1 of this title, the health care provider must be certified. 
Reimbursement shall be 20 percent of the total MAR. 
    (D) Non-musculoskeletal body areas shall be billed and reimbursed using the 
appropriate CPT code(s) for the test(s) required for the assignment of IR. 
      (i) Non-musculoskeletal body areas are defined as follows: 
        (I) body systems; 
        (II) body structures (including skin); and 
        (III) mental and behavioral disorders. 
      (ii) For a complete list of body system and body structure non-musculoskeletal body 
areas, refer to the appropriate AMA Guides. 
      (iii) When the examining doctor refers testing for non-musculoskeletal body area(s) 
to a specialist, then the following shall apply: 
        (I) The examining doctor (e.g., the referring doctor) shall bill using the appropriate 
MMI CPT code with modifier "SP" and indicate one unit in the units column of the billing 
form. Reimbursement shall be $50 for incorporating one or more specialists' report(s) 
information into the final assignment of IR. This reimbursement shall be allowed only 
once per examination. 
        (II) The referral specialist shall bill and be reimbursed for the appropriate CPT 
code(s) for the tests required for the assignment of IR. Documentation is required. 
      (iv) When there is no test to determine an IR for a non-musculoskeletal condition: 
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        (I) The IR is based on the charts in the AMA Guides. These charts generally show a 
category of impairment and a range of percentage ratings that fall within that category. 
        (II) The impairment rating doctor must determine and assign a finite whole 
percentage number rating from the range of percentage ratings. 
        (III) Use of these charts to assign an IR is equivalent to assigning an IR by the DRE 
method as referenced in subparagraph (C)(ii)(I) of this paragraph. 
      (v) The MAR for the assignment of an IR in a non-musculoskeletal body area shall be 
$150. 
 
  (5) If the examination for the determination of MMI and/or the assignment of IR 
requires testing that is not outlined in the AMA Guides, the appropriate CPT code(s) 
shall be billed and reimbursed in addition to the fees outlined in paragraphs (3) and (4) 
of this section. 
 
  (6) The treating doctor is required to review the certification of MMI and assignment of 
IR performed by another doctor, as stated in the Labor Code and Chapter 130 of this 
title. The treating doctor shall bill using CPT code 99455 with modifier "VR" to indicate a 
review of the report only, and shall be reimbursed $50. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.250 adopted to be July 7, 2016, 41 TexReg 
4839 
 
RULE §134.303 2005 Dental Fee Guideline 
 
(a) Applicability of this rule is as follows: 
  (1) This section applies to professional dental services provided in the Texas Workers' 
Compensation system. 
  (2) This section shall be applicable to professional dental services provided on or after 
June 15, 2005. For professional dental services provided August 1, 2003 through June 
14, 2005, §134.202 of this title (relating to Medical Fee Guideline) shall be applicable. For 
professional dental services provided December 1, 1996 through July 31, 2003, §134.302 
of this title (relating to Dental Fee Guideline) shall be applicable. 
  (3) Specific provisions contained in the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (the Act), or 
Texas Workers' Compensation Commission (commission) rules, including this rule, shall 
take precedence over any provision adopted by or utilized by Texas Medicaid in 
administering the Texas Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule. Independent Review 
Organization (IRO) decisions regarding medical necessity are made on a case-by-case 
basis. The commission will monitor IRO decisions to determine whether commission 
rulemaking action would be appropriate. 
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  (4) Whenever a component of the Texas Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule is revised and 
effective, use of the revised component shall be required for compliance with 
commission rules, decisions and orders for services rendered on or after the effective 
date of the revised component. 
 
(b) For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of dental treatments and services, 
Texas Workers' Compensation system participants shall apply the Texas Medicaid Dental 
Fee Schedule in effect on the date a service is provided with any additions or exceptions 
in this section. 
 
(c) To determine the maximum allowable reimbursements (MARs), the following apply: 
  (1) The fees listed for the procedure codes in the Texas Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule 
shall be multiplied by 200%. 
  (2) For products and services for which the Texas Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule does 
not establish a value, the carrier shall assign a relative value, which may be based on 
nationally recognized published relative value studies, published commission medical 
dispute decisions, and values assigned for services involving similar work and resource 
commitments. 
 
(d) Reimbursement for dental laboratory procedures is bundled with the maximum fees 
for the associated dental procedures. No additional reimbursement shall be due. 
 
(e) In all cases, reimbursement shall be the lesser of the: 
  (1) MAR amount; 
  (2) health care provider's usual and customary charge; or 
  (3) workers' compensation negotiated and/or contracted amount that applies to the 
billed service(s). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.303 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3232 
 
SUBCHAPTER E HEALTH FACILITY FEES 
 
RULE §134.402 Ambulatory Surgical Center Fee Guideline 
 
(a) Applicability of this rule is as follows: 
  (1) This section applies to facility services provided on or after September 1, 2008 by an 
ambulatory surgical center (ASC), other than professional medical services. 
  (2) This section does not apply to: 

Updated January 4, 2024 312

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&sch=E&rl=Y
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=402


    (A) professional medical services billed by a health care provider not employed by the 
ASC, except for a surgical implant provider as described in this section; or 
    (B) medical services provided through a workers' compensation health care network 
certified pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305, except as provided in Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305. 
 
(b) Definitions for words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the following 
meanings, unless clearly indicated otherwise. 
  (1) "Ambulatory Surgical Center" means a health care facility appropriately licensed by 
the Texas Department of State Health Services. 
  (2) "ASC device portion" means the portion of the ASC payment rate that represents 
the cost of the implantable device, and is calculated by applying the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) 
device offset percentage to the OPPS payment rate. 
  (3) "ASC service portion" means the Medicare ASC payment rate less the device 
portion. 
  (4) "Device intensive procedure" means an ASC covered surgical procedure that has 
been designated by CMS as device intensive in TABLE 56 - ASC COVERED SURGICAL 
PROCEDURES DESIGNATED AS DEVICE INTENSIVE FOR CY 2008 or its successor. 
  (5) "Implantable" means an object or device that is surgically: 
    (A) implanted, 
    (B) embedded, 
    (C) inserted, 
    (D) or otherwise applied, and 
    (E) related equipment necessary to operate, program, and recharge the implantable. 
  (6) "Medicare payment policy" means reimbursement methodologies, models, and 
values or weights including its coding, billing, and reporting payment policies as set 
forth in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) payment policies specific 
to Medicare. 
  (7) "Surgical implant provider" means a person that arranges for the provision of 
implantable devices to a health care facility and that then seeks reimbursement for the 
implantable devices provided directly from an insurance carrier. 
 
(c) A surgical implant provider is subject to Chapter 133 of this title and is considered a 
health care provider for purposes of this section and the sections in Chapter 133. 
 
(d) For coding, billing, and reporting, of facility services covered in this rule, Texas 
workers' compensation system participants shall apply the Medicare payment policies in 
effect on the date a service is provided with any additions or exceptions specified in this 
section, including the following paragraphs. 
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  (1) Specific provisions contained in the Labor Code or the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (Division) rules, including this chapter, 
shall take precedence over any conflicting provision adopted or utilized by the CMS in 
administering the Medicare program. 
  (2) Independent Review Organization decisions regarding medical necessity made in 
accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and §133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by 
Independent Review Organizations), which are made on a case-by-case basis, take 
precedence in that case only, over any Division rules and Medicare payment policies. 
  (3) Whenever a component of the Medicare program is revised and effective, use of 
the revised component shall be required for compliance with Division rules, decisions, 
and orders for services rendered on and after the effective date, or after the effective 
date or the adoption date of the revised Medicare component, whichever is later. 
 
(e) Regardless of billed amount, reimbursement shall be: 
  (1) the amount for the service that is included in a specific fee schedule set in a 
contract that complies with the requirements of Labor Code §413.011; or 
  (2) if no contracted fee schedule exists that complies with Labor Code §413.011, the 
maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) amount under subsection (f) of this section, 
including any reimbursement for implantables. 
  (3) If no contracted fee schedule exists that complies with Labor Code §413.011, and an 
amount cannot be determined by application of the formula to calculate the MAR as 
outlined in subsection (f) of this section, reimbursement shall be determined in 
accordance with §134.1 of this title (relating to Medical Reimbursement). 
 
(f) The reimbursement calculation used for establishing the MAR shall be the Medicare 
ASC reimbursement amount determined by applying the most recently adopted and 
effective Medicare Payment System Policies for Services Furnished in Ambulatory 
Surgical Centers and Outpatient Prospective Payment System reimbursement formula 
and factors as published annually in the Federal Register. Reimbursement shall be based 
on the fully implemented payment amount as in ADDENDUM AA, ASC COVERED 
SURGICAL PROCEDURES FOR CY 2008, published in the November 27, 2007 publication 
of the Federal Register, or its successor. The following minimal modifications apply: 
  (1) Reimbursement for non-device intensive procedures shall be: 
    (A) The Medicare ASC facility reimbursement amount multiplied by 235 percent; or 
    (B) if an ASC facility or surgical implant provider requests separate reimbursement for 
an implantable, reimbursement for the non-device intensive procedure shall be the sum 
of: 
      (i) the lesser of the manufacturer's invoice amount or the net amount (exclusive of 
rebates and discounts) plus 10 percent or $1,000 per billed item add-on, whichever is 
less, but not to exceed $2,000 in add-on's per admission; and 
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      (ii) the Medicare ASC facility reimbursement amount multiplied by 153 percent. 
  (2) Reimbursement for device intensive procedures shall be: 
    (A) the sum of: 
      (i) the ASC device portion; and 
      (ii) the ASC service portion multiplied by 235 percent; or 
    (B) If an ASC facility or surgical implant provider requests separate reimbursement for 
an implantable, reimbursement for the device intensive procedure shall be the sum of: 
      (i) the lesser of the manufacturer's invoice amount or the net amount (exclusive of 
rebates and discounts) plus 10 percent or $1,000 per billed item add-on, whichever is 
less, but not to exceed $2,000 in add-on's per admission; and 
      (ii) the ASC service portion multiplied by 235 percent. 
 
(g) A facility, or surgical implant provider with written agreement of the facility, may 
request separate reimbursement for an implantable. 
  (1) The facility or surgical implant provider requesting reimbursement for the 
implantable shall: 
    (A) bill for the implantable on the Medicare-specific billing form for ASCs; 
    (B) include with the billing a certification that the amount billed represents the actual 
cost (net amount, exclusive of rebates and discounts) for the implantable. The 
certification shall include the following sentence: "I hereby certify under penalty of law 
that the following is the true and correct actual cost to the best of my knowledge," and 
shall be signed by an authorized representative of the facility or surgical implant 
provider who has personal knowledge of the cost of the implantable and any rebates or 
discounts to which the facility or surgical implant provider may be entitled. 
  (2) An insurance carrier may use the audit process under §133.230 of this title (relating 
to Insurance Carrier Audit of a Medical Bill) to seek verification that the amount certified 
under paragraph (1) of this subsection properly reflects the requirements of this 
subsection. Such verification may also take place in the Medical Dispute Resolution 
process under §133.307 of this title (relating to MDR of Fee Dispute), if that process is 
properly requested, notwithstanding §133.307(d)(2)(B) of this title. 
  (3) Nothing in this rule precludes an ASC or insurance carrier from utilizing a surgical 
implant provider to arrange for the provision of implantable devices. Implantables 
provided by a surgical implant provider shall be reimbursed according to this 
subsection. 
 
(h) For medical services provided in an ASC, but not addressed in the Medicare payment 
policies as outlined in subsection (f) of this section, and for which Medicare reimburses 
using other Medicare fee schedules, reimbursement shall be made using the applicable 
Division Fee Guideline in effect for that service on the date the service was provided. 
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(i) If Medicare prohibits a service from being performed in an ASC setting, the insurance 
carrier, health care provider, and ASC may agree, on a voluntary basis, to an ASC setting 
as follows: 
  (1) The agreement may occur before, or during, preauthorization. 
  (2) A preauthorization request may be submitted for an ASC facility setting only if an 
agreement has already been reached and a copy of the signed agreement is filed as a 
part of the preauthorization request. 
  (3) The agreement between the insurance carrier and the ASC must be in writing, in 
clearly stated terms, and include: 
    (A) the reimbursement amount; 
    (B) any other provisions of the agreement; and 
    (C) names, titles and signatures of both parties with dates. 
  (4) Copies of the agreement are to be kept by both parties. This agreement does not 
constitute a voluntary network established in accordance with Labor Code §413.011(d-
1). 
  (5) Upon request of the Division, the agreement information shall be submitted in the 
form and manner prescribed by the Division. 
 
(j) Where any terms or parts of this section or its application to any person or 
circumstance are determined by a court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, the 
invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this section that can be 
given effect without the invalidated provision or application. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.402 adopted to be effective May 9, 2004, 29 
TexReg 4191; amended to be effective March 10, 2005, 30 TexReg 1290; amended to be 
effective December 30, 2007, 32 TexReg 9696; amended to be effective August 31, 2008, 
33 TexReg 6830 
 
RULE §134.403 Hospital Facility Fee Guideline—Outpatient 
 
(a) Applicability of this section is as follows. 
  (1) This section applies to medical services provided in an outpatient acute care 
hospital on or after March 1, 2008. 
  (2) This section does not apply to: 
    (A) professional medical services billed by a provider not employed by the hospital, 
except for a surgical implant provider as described in this section; or 
    (B) medical services provided through a workers' compensation health care network 
certified pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305, except as provided in Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305. 
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(b) Definitions for words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the following 
meanings, unless clearly indicated otherwise. 
  (1) "Acute care hospital" means a health care facility appropriately licensed by the 
Texas Department of State Health Services that provides inpatient and outpatient 
medical services to patients experiencing acute illness or trauma. 
  (2) "Implantable" means an object or device that is surgically: 
    (A) implanted, 
    (B) embedded, 
    (C) inserted, 
    (D) or otherwise applied, and 
    (E) related equipment necessary to operate, program and recharge the implantable. 
  (3) "Medicare payment policy" means reimbursement methodologies, models, and 
values or weights including its coding, billing, and reporting payment policies as set 
forth in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) payment policies specific 
to Medicare. 
  (4) "Outpatient" means the patient is not admitted for inpatient or residential care. 
Outpatient medical services includes observation in an outpatient status provided the 
observation period complies with Medicare policies. 
  (5) "Surgical implant provider" means a person that arranges for the provision of 
implantable devices to a health care facility and that then seeks reimbursement for the 
implantable devices provided directly from an insurance carrier. 
 
(c) A surgical implant provider is subject to Chapter 133 of this title and is considered a 
health care provider for purposes of this section and the sections in Chapter 133 of this 
title (relating to Benefits--Medical Benefits). 
 
(d) For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of health care covered in this 
section, Texas workers' compensation system participants shall apply Medicare payment 
policies in effect on the date a service is provided with any additions or exceptions 
specified in this section, including the following paragraphs. 
  (1) Specific provisions contained in the Texas Labor Code or the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (Division) rules, including this chapter, 
shall take precedence over any conflicting provision adopted or utilized by the CMS in 
administering the Medicare program. 
  (2) Independent Review Organization decisions regarding medical necessity made in 
accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and §133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by 
Independent Review Organizations), which are made on a case-by-case basis, take 
precedence in that case only, over any Division rules and Medicare payment policies. 
  (3) Whenever a component of the Medicare program is revised and effective, use of 
the revised component shall be required for compliance with Division rules, decisions, 
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and orders for services rendered on and after the effective date, or after the effective 
date or the adoption date of the revised Medicare component, whichever is later. 
 
(e) Regardless of billed amount, reimbursement shall be: 
  (1) the amount for the service that is included in a specific fee schedule set in a 
contract that complies with the requirements of Labor Code §413.011; or 
  (2) if no contracted fee schedule exists that complies with Labor Code §413.011, the 
maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) amount under subsection (f) of this section, 
including any applicable outlier payment amounts and reimbursement for implantables. 
  (3) If no contracted fee schedule exists that complies with Labor Code §413.011, and an 
amount cannot be determined by application of the formula to calculate the MAR as 
outlined in subsection (f) of this section, reimbursement shall be determined in 
accordance with §134.1 of this title (relating to Medical Reimbursement). 
 
(f) The reimbursement calculation used for establishing the MAR shall be the Medicare 
facility specific amount, including outlier payment amounts, determined by applying the 
most recently adopted and effective Medicare Outpatient Prospective Payment System 
(OPPS) reimbursement formula and factors as published annually in the Federal 
Register. The following minimal modifications shall be applied. 
  (1) The sum of the Medicare facility specific reimbursement amount and any applicable 
outlier payment amount shall be multiplied by: 
    (A) 200 percent; unless 
    (B) a facility or surgical implant provider requests separate reimbursement in 
accordance with subsection (g) of this section, in which case the facility specific 
reimbursement amount and any applicable outlier payment amount shall be multiplied 
by 130 percent. 
  (2) When calculating outlier payment amounts, the facility's total billed charges shall be 
reduced by the facility's billed charges for any item reimbursed separately under 
subsection (g) of this section. 
 
(g) Implantables, when billed separately by the facility or a surgical implant provider in 
accordance with subsection (f)(1)(B) of this section, shall be reimbursed at the lesser of 
the manufacturer's invoice amount or the net amount (exclusive of rebates and 
discounts) plus 10 percent or $1,000 per billed item add-on, whichever is less, but not to 
exceed $2,000 in add-on's per admission. 
  (1) A facility or surgical implant provider billing separately for an implantable shall 
include with the billing a certification that the amount billed represents the actual cost 
(net amount, exclusive of rebates and discounts) for the implantable. The certification 
shall include the following sentence: "I hereby certify under penalty of law that the 
following is the true and correct actual cost to the best of my knowledge." 
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  (2) A carrier may use the audit process under §133.230 of this title (relating to 
Insurance Carrier Audit of a Medical Bill) to seek verification that the amount certified 
under paragraph (1) of this subsection properly reflects the requirements of this 
subsection. Such verification may also take place in the Medical Dispute Resolution 
process under §133.307 of this title (relating to MDR of Fee Dispute), if that process is 
properly requested, notwithstanding 133.307(d)(2)(B) of this title. 
  (3) Nothing in this rule precludes a health care facility or insurance carrier from utilizing 
a surgical implant provider to arrange for the provision of implantable devices. 
Implantables provided by a surgical implant provider shall be reimbursed according to 
this subsection. 
 
(h) For medical services provided in an outpatient acute care hospital, but not addressed 
in the Medicare payment policies as outlined in subsections (f)(1) or (f)(2) of this section, 
and for which Medicare reimburses using other Medicare fee schedules, reimbursement 
shall be made using the applicable Division Fee Guideline in effect for that service on 
the date the service was provided. 
 
(i) Notwithstanding Medicare payment policies, whenever Medicare requires a specific 
setting for a service, that restriction shall apply, unless an alternative setting and 
payment has been approved through the Division's preauthorization, concurrent review, 
or voluntary certification of health care process. 
 
(j) A preauthorization request may be submitted for an alternative facility setting only if 
an agreement has already been reached and a copy of the signed agreement is filed as 
a part of the preauthorization request. Copies of the agreement shall be kept by both 
parties. This agreement does not constitute a voluntary network established in 
accordance with Labor Code §413.011(d-1). 
  (1) The agreement between the insurance carrier and the party that requested the 
alternative facility setting must be in writing, in clearly stated terms, and include: 
    (A) the reimbursement amount; 
    (B) a description of the services to be performed under the agreement; 
    (C) any other provisions of the agreement; and 
    (D) names of the entities, titles, and signatures of both parties, and names, titles, 
signatures with dates of the persons signing the agreement. 
  (2) An agreement for an alternative facility setting may be revised during or after 
preauthorization by written agreement of the insurance carrier and the party that 
requested the alternative facility setting. 
  (3) Upon request of the Division, all agreement information shall be submitted in the 
form and manner prescribed by the Division. 
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(k) If a court of competent jurisdiction holds that any provision of this section is 
inconsistent with any statutes of this state, are unconstitutional, or are invalid for any 
reason, the remaining provisions of this section shall remain in full effect. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.403 adopted to be effective March 1, 2008, 33 
TexReg 400 
 
RULE §134.404 Hospital Facility Fee Guideline—Inpatient 
 
(a) Applicability of this section is as follows. 
  (1) This section applies to medical services provided in an inpatient acute care hospital 
with an admission date on or after March 1, 2008. 
  (2) For admission dates prior to March 1, 2008, the law and Division of Workers' 
Compensation (Division) rules in effect for those dates of service shall apply. 
  (3) This section does not apply to: 
    (A) professional medical services billed by a provider not employed by the hospital, 
except for a surgical implant provider as described in this section; or 
    (B) medical services provided through a workers' compensation health care network 
certified pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305, except as provided in Insurance 
Code Chapter 1305. 
 
(b) Definitions for words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the following 
meanings, unless clearly indicated otherwise. 
  (1) "Acute care hospital" means a health care facility appropriately licensed by the 
Texas Department of State Health Services that provides inpatient and outpatient 
medical services to patients experiencing acute illness or trauma. 
  (2) "Implantable" means an object or device that is surgically: 
    (A) implanted, 
    (B) embedded, 
    (C) inserted, 
    (D) or otherwise applied, and 
    (E) related equipment necessary to operate, program and recharge the implantable. 
  (3) "Medicare payment policy" means reimbursement methodologies, models, and 
values or weights including its coding, billing, and reporting payment policies as set 
forth in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) payment policies specific 
to Medicare. 
  (4) "Outlier payment amount" means the amount determined through use of the 
calculations described in subsection (f) of this section. 
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  (5) "Surgical implant provider" means a person that arranges for the provision of 
implantable devices to a health care facility and that then seeks reimbursement for the 
implantable devices provided directly from an insurance carrier. 
 
(c) A surgical implant provider is subject to Chapter 133 of this title and is considered a 
health care provider for purposes of this section and the sections in Chapter 133 of this 
title (relating to Benefits--Medical Benefits). 
 
(d) For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of health care covered in this 
section, Texas workers' compensation system participants shall apply Medicare payment 
policies in effect on the date a service is provided with any additions or exceptions 
specified in this section, including the following paragraphs. 
  (1) Specific provisions contained in the Texas Labor Code or the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (Division) rules, including this chapter, 
shall take precedence over any conflicting provision adopted or utilized by the CMS in 
administering the Medicare program. 
  (2) Independent Review Organization decisions regarding medical necessity made in 
accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and §133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by 
Independent Review Organizations), which are made on a case-by-case basis, take 
precedence in that case only, over any Division rules and Medicare payment policies. 
  (3) Whenever a component of the Medicare program is revised and effective, use of 
the revised component shall be required for compliance with Division rules, decisions, 
and orders for services rendered on and after the effective date, or after the effective 
date or the adoption date of the revised Medicare component, whichever is later. 
 
(e) Except as provided in subsection (h) of this section, regardless of billed amount, 
reimbursement shall be: 
  (1) the amount for the service that is included in a specific fee schedule set in a 
contract that complies with the requirements of Labor Code §413.011; or 
  (2) if no contracted fee schedule exists that complies with Labor Code §413.011, the 
maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) amount under subsection (f) of this section, 
including any applicable outlier payment amounts and reimbursement for implantables. 
  (3) If no contracted fee schedule exists that complies with Labor Code §413.011, and an 
amount cannot be determined by application of the formula to calculate the MAR as 
outlined in subsection (f) of this section, reimbursement shall be determined in 
accordance with §134.1 of this title (relating to Medical Reimbursement). 
 
(f) The reimbursement calculation used for establishing the MAR shall be the Medicare 
facility specific amount, including outlier payment amounts, determined by applying the 
most recently adopted and effective Medicare Inpatient Prospective Payment System 
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(IPPS) reimbursement formula and factors as published annually in the Federal Register. 
The following minimal modifications shall be applied. 
  (1) The sum of the Medicare facility specific reimbursement amount and any applicable 
outlier payment amount shall be multiplied by: 
    (A) 143 percent; unless 
    (B) a facility or surgical implant provider requests separate reimbursement in 
accordance with subsection (g) of this section, in which case the facility specific 
reimbursement amount and any applicable outlier payment amount shall be multiplied 
by 108 percent. 
  (2) When calculating outlier payment amounts, the facility's total billed charges shall be 
reduced by the facility's billed charges for any item reimbursed separately under 
subsection (g) of this section. 
 
(g) Implantables, when billed separately by the facility or a surgical implant provider in 
accordance with subsection (f)(1)(B) of this section, shall be reimbursed at the lesser of 
the manufacturer's invoice amount or the net amount (exclusive of rebates and 
discounts) plus 10 percent or $1,000 per billed item add-on, whichever is less, but not to 
exceed $2,000 in add-on's per admission. 
  (1) A facility or surgical implant provider billing separately for an implantable shall 
include with the billing a certification that the amount billed represents the actual costs 
(net amount, exclusive of rebates and discounts) for the implantable. The certification 
shall include the following sentence: "I hereby certify under penalty of law that the 
following is the true and correct actual cost to the best of my knowledge." 
  (2) A carrier may use the audit process under §133.230 of this title (relating to 
Insurance Carrier Audit of a Medical Bill) to seek verification that the amount certified 
under paragraph (1) of this subsection properly reflects the requirements of this 
subsection. Such verification may also take place in the Medical Dispute Resolution 
process under §133.307 of this title (relating to MDR of Fee Dispute), if that process is 
properly requested, notwithstanding §133.307(d)(2)(B) of this title. 
  (3) Nothing in this rule precludes a health care facility or insurance carrier from utilizing 
a surgical implant provider to arrange for the provision of implantable devices. 
Implantables provided by a surgical implant provider shall be reimbursed according to 
this subsection. 
 
(h) A hospital that is classified by Medicare as a Sole Community Hospital, a Medicare 
Dependent Hospital, or a Rural Referral Center Hospital, shall initially be paid the 
amount calculated for such hospital in accordance with subsections (e) through (g) of 
this section. If the initial payment is less than the cost of the services in question, the 
hospital may request reconsideration in accordance with §133.250 of this title (relating 
to Reconsideration for Payment of Medical Bills) and present documentation of any 
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amount it would have been paid under the Medicare regulations in effect when the 
services were performed. If such a showing is made, the hospital shall be paid the 
difference between the amount initially paid and the amount Medicare would have paid 
for the services as adjusted by the appropriate multiplier. 
 
(i) Notwithstanding Medicare payment policies, whenever Medicare requires a specific 
setting for a service, that restriction shall apply, unless an alternative setting and 
payment has been approved through the Division's preauthorization, concurrent review, 
or voluntary certification of health care process. 
 
(j) A preauthorization request may be submitted for an alternative facility setting only if 
an agreement has already been reached and a copy of the signed agreement is filed as 
a part of the preauthorization request. Copies of the agreement shall be kept by both 
parties. This agreement does not constitute a voluntary network established in 
accordance with Labor Code §413.011(d-1). 
  (1) The agreement between the insurance carrier and the party that requested the 
alternative facility setting must be in writing, in clearly stated terms, and include: 
    (A) the reimbursement amount; 
    (B) a description of the services to be performed under the agreement; 
    (C) any other provisions of the agreement; and 
    (D) names of the entities, titles and signatures of both parties, and names, titles, 
signatures with dates of the persons signing the agreement. 
  (2) An agreement for an alternative facility setting may be revised during or after 
preauthorization by written agreement of the insurance carrier and the party that 
requested the alternative facility setting. 
  (3) Upon request of the Division, the agreement information shall be submitted in the 
form and manner prescribed by the Division. 
 
(k) If a court of competent jurisdiction holds that any provision of this section is 
inconsistent with any statutes of this state, are unconstitutional, or are invalid for any 
reason, the remaining provisions of this section shall remain in full effect. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.404 adopted to be effective March 1, 2008, 33 
TexReg 400 
 
SUBCHAPTER F PHARMACEUTICAL BENEFITS 
 
RULE §134.500 Definitions 
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The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
 
  (1) Brand name drug--A drug marketed under a proprietary, trademark-protected 
name. 
 
  (2) Certified workers' compensation health care network (certified network)--An 
organization that is certified in accordance with Insurance Code Chapter 1305 and 
department rules. 
 
  (3) Closed formulary--All available Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved 
prescription and nonprescription drugs prescribed and dispensed for outpatient use, but 
excludes: 
    (A) drugs identified with a status of "N" in the current edition of the Official Disability 
Guidelines Treatment in Workers' Comp (ODG) / Appendix A, ODG Workers' 
Compensation Drug Formulary, and any updates; 
    (B) any prescription drug created through compounding prescribed before July 1, 
2018 that contains a drug identified with a status of "N" in the current edition of the 
ODG Treatment in Workers' Comp (ODG) / Appendix A, ODG Workers' Compensation 
Drug Formulary, and any updates; 
    (C) any prescription drug created through compounding prescribed and dispensed on 
or after July 1, 2018; and 
    (D) any investigational or experimental drug for which there is early, developing 
scientific or clinical evidence demonstrating the potential efficacy of the treatment, but 
which is not yet broadly accepted as the prevailing standard of care as defined in Labor 
Code §413.014(a). 
 
  (4) Compounding--As defined under Occupations Code §551.003(9), the preparation, 
mixing, assembling, packaging, or labeling of a drug or device: 
    (A) as the result of a practitioner's prescription drug order based on the practitioner-
patient-pharmacist relationship in the course of professional practice; 
    (B) for administration to a patient by a practitioner as the result of a practitioner's 
initiative based on the practitioner-patient-pharmacist relationship in the course of 
professional practice; 
    (C) in anticipation of a prescription drug order based on a routine, regularly observed 
prescribing pattern; or 
    (D) for or as an incident to research, teaching, or chemical analysis and not for selling 
or dispensing, except as allowed under Occupations Code §562.154 or Occupations 
Code Chapter 563. 
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  (5) Generic--See generically equivalent in definition of paragraph (6) of this section. 
 
  (6) Generically equivalent--As defined under Occupations Code §562.001, a drug that, 
when compared to the prescribed drug, is: 
    (A) pharmaceutically equivalent--Drug products that have identical amounts of the 
same active chemical ingredients in the same dosage form and that meet the identical 
compendia or other applicable standards of strength, quality, and purity according to 
the United States Pharmacopoeia or another nationally recognized compendium; and 
    (B) therapeutically equivalent--Pharmaceutically equivalent drug products that, if 
administered in the same amounts, will provide the same therapeutic effect, identical in 
duration and intensity. 
 
  (7) Medical emergency--The sudden onset of a medical condition manifested by acute 
symptoms of sufficient severity, including severe pain that in the absence of immediate 
medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in: 
    (A) placing the patient's health or bodily functions in serious jeopardy; or 
    (B) serious dysfunction of any body organ or part. 
 
  (8) Nonprescription drug or over-the-counter medication--A non-narcotic drug that 
may be sold without a prescription and that is labeled and packaged in compliance with 
state or federal law. 
 
  (9) Open formulary--Includes all available Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 
approved prescription and nonprescription drugs prescribed and dispensed for 
outpatient use, but does not include drugs that lack FDA approval, or non-drug items. 
 
  (10) Prescribing doctor--A physician or dentist who prescribes prescription drugs or 
over the counter medications in accordance with the physician's or dentist's license and 
state and federal laws and rules. For purposes of this chapter, prescribing doctor 
includes an advanced practice nurse or physician assistant to whom a physician has 
delegated the authority to carry out or sign prescription drug orders, under Occupations 
Code Chapter 157, who prescribes prescription drugs or over the counter medication 
under the physician's supervision and in accordance with the health care practitioner's 
license and state and federal laws and rules. 
 
  (11) Prescription--An order for a prescription or nonprescription drug to be dispensed. 
 
  (12) Prescription drug-- 
    (A) A substance for which federal or state law requires a prescription before the 
substance may be legally dispensed to the public; 
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    (B) A drug that under federal law is required, before being dispensed or delivered, to 
be labeled with the statement: "Caution: federal law prohibits dispensing without 
prescription;" "Rx only;" or another legend that complies with federal law; or 
    (C) A drug that is required by federal or state statute or regulation to be dispensed on 
prescription or that is restricted to use by a prescribing doctor only. 
  (13) Statement of medical necessity--A written statement from the prescribing doctor 
to establish the need for treatments or services, or prescriptions, including the need for 
a brand name drug where applicable. A statement of medical necessity shall include: 
    (A) the injured employee's full name; 
    (B) date of injury; 
    (C) social security number; 
    (D) diagnosis code(s); 
    (E) whether the drug has previously been prescribed and dispensed, if known, and 
whether the inability to obtain the drug poses an unreasonable risk of a medical 
emergency; and 
    (F) how the prescription treats the diagnosis, promotes recovery, or enhances the 
ability of the injured employee to return to or retain employment. 
 
  (14) Substitution--As defined under Occupations Code §551.003(41), the dispensing of 
a drug or a brand of drug other than the drug or brand of drug ordered or prescribed. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.500 adopted to be effective January 3, 2002, 
26 TexReg 10970; amended to be effective January 17, 2011, 35 TexReg 11344; 
amended to be effective April 22, 2018, 43 TexReg 2275 
 
RULE §134.501 Initial Pharmaceutical Coverage 
 
(a) For injuries which occur on or after December 1, 2002, the insurance carrier (carrier) 
shall pay for specified pharmaceutical services sufficient for the first seven days 
following the date of injury, regardless of issues of liability for or compensability of the 
injury that the carrier may have, if, prior to providing the pharmaceutical services, the 
health care provider (HCP) obtains both a verification of insurance coverage, and an oral 
or written confirmation that an injury has been reported. For purposes of this rule, 
specified pharmaceutical services are prescription drugs and over-the-counter 
medications prescribed by a doctor that cure or relieve the effects naturally resulting 
from the compensable injury, promote recovery, or enhance the ability of the employee 
to return to or retain employment. 
  (1) In determining the first seven days following the injury, the date of the injury is not 
counted. The first day after the date of injury shall be counted as "day one." The last day 
of the seven-day period shall be known as "day seven." 
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  (2) If the pharmaceutical services are provided after day one, the carrier's 
reimbursement under this section is limited to the date the pharmaceutical services 
were actually provided through day seven. (Example: The pharmaceutical services were 
provided on day four. The carrier's liability for payment under this section would be for 
pharmaceutical services in an amount prescribed that would be the quantity sufficient 
for days four, five, six and seven.) 
  (3) Payment for the specified pharmaceutical services for the first seven days following 
the date of injury shall be in accordance with §134.503 of this title (relating to 
Reimbursement Methodology). The dispensing fee for the initial prescription shall not 
be denied, prorated, or reduced even if the HCP provided pharmaceutical services 
beyond the first seven days following the date of injury and the carrier disputes or 
denies the pharmaceutical services beyond the first seven days following the date of 
injury. 
 
(b) The carrier may be eligible for reimbursement from the subsequent injury fund (SIF) 
for payments made under subsection (a) as provided in Chapter 116 of this title. 
 
(c) The HCP can verify insurance coverage and confirm the existence of a report of an 
injury by calling the employer or the carrier. Upon request, the employer and/or the 
carrier shall verify coverage and confirm any report of an injury. For verifying insurance 
coverage, the HCP can also review the commission's internet-based coverage 
verification system. 
  (1) The HCP shall document verifications and confirmations not obtained in writing by 
indicating how the verification or confirmation was obtained (date obtained, from 
whom, etc.). 
  (2) The HCP shall affirm on the bill for the pharmaceutical services, in the form and 
manner prescribed by the commission, that the HCP verified that there is insurance 
coverage and confirmed that an injury has been reported. 
 
(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the HCP may dispense 
prescription or nonprescription medications in the amount ordered by the prescribing 
doctor in accordance with applicable state and federal law (not to exceed the limits 
imposed by §134.502 of this title (relating to Pharmaceutical Services)). 
 
(e) The HCP and carrier may voluntarily discuss approval of pharmaceutical services 
beyond the seven days following the date of injury as provided in Texas Labor Code 
§413.014(e) and §134.600 of this title (relating to Preauthorization, Concurrent Review, 
and Voluntary Certification of Health Care). 
 
(f) Communication is important to ensure prompt delivery of pharmaceutical services. 
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  (1) Injured employees (employees) are encouraged to immediately report their injury 
to their employer. 
  (2) Employees are encouraged to ask for, and employers to provide, a written 
statement that confirms an injury was reported to the employer and identifies the date 
of injury (as reported by the employee) and the employer's insurance carrier. Verifying 
that there is insurance coverage and/or confirming that an injury was reported does not 
waive the employer's right to contest compensability under Texas Labor Code §409.011 
should the carrier accept liability for the payment of benefits. 
  (3) The carrier's verification of coverage and/or confirmation of a reported injury does 
not waive the insurance carrier's right to further review the claim under Texas Labor 
Code §409.021 and §124.3 of this title (relating to Investigation of an Injury and Notice 
of Denial/Dispute). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.501 adopted to be effective November 7, 
2002, 27 TexReg 10391 
 
RULE §134.502 Pharmaceutical Services 
 
(a) A doctor providing care to an injured employee shall prescribe for the employee 
medically necessary prescription drugs and over-the-counter medication (OTC) 
alternatives as clinically appropriate and applicable in accordance with applicable state 
law and as provided by this section. 
  (1) It shall be indicated on the prescription that the prescription is related to a workers' 
compensation claim. 
  (2) When prescribing an OTC medication alternative to a prescription drug, the doctor 
shall indicate on the prescription the appropriate strength of the medication and the 
approximate quantity of the OTC medication that is reasonably required by the nature 
of the compensable injury. 
  (3) The doctor shall prescribe generic prescription drugs when available and clinically 
appropriate. If in the medical judgment of the prescribing doctor a brand-name drug is 
necessary, the doctor must specify on the prescription that brand-name drugs be 
dispensed in accordance with applicable state and federal law, and must maintain 
documentation justifying the use of the brand-name drug, in the patient's medical 
record. 
  (4) The doctor shall prescribe OTC medications in lieu of a prescription drug when 
clinically appropriate. 
 
(b) When prescribing, the doctor shall prescribe in accordance with §134.530 and 
§134.540 of this title (relating to Requirements for Use of the Closed Formulary for 
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Claims Not Subject to Certified Networks and Requirements for Use of the Closed 
Formulary for Claims Subject to Certified Networks, respectively). 
 
(c) The pharmacist shall dispense no more than a 90-day supply of a prescription drug. 
 
(d) Pharmacies and pharmacy processing agents shall submit bills for pharmacy services 
in accordance with Chapter 133 (relating to General Medical Provisions) and Chapter 
134 (relating to Benefits--Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges, and Payments. 
  (1) Health care providers shall bill using national drug codes (NDC) when billing for 
prescription drugs. 
  (2) Compound drugs shall be billed by listing each drug included in the compound and 
calculating the charge for each drug separately. 
  (3) A pharmacy may contract with a separate person or entity to process bills and 
payments for a medical service; however, these entities are subject to the direction of 
the pharmacy and the pharmacy is responsible for the acts and omissions of the person 
or entity. Except as allowed by Labor Code §413.042, the injured employee shall not be 
billed for pharmacy services. 
 
(e) The insurance carrier, injured employee, or pharmacist may request a statement of 
medical necessity from the prescribing doctor. If an insurance carrier requests a 
statement of medical necessity, the insurance carrier shall provide the sender of the bill 
a copy of the request at the time the request is made. An insurance carrier shall not 
request a statement of medical necessity unless in the absence of such a statement the 
insurance carrier could reasonably support a denial based upon extent of, or relatedness 
to the compensable injury, or based upon an adverse determination. 
 
(f) The prescribing doctor shall provide a statement of medical necessity to the 
requesting party no later than the 14th day after receipt of request. The prescribing 
doctor shall not bill for nor shall the insurance carrier reimburse for the statement of 
medical necessity. 
 
(g) In addition to the requirements of §133.240 of this title (relating to Medical Payments 
and Denials) regarding explanation of benefits (EOB), at the time an insurance carrier 
denies payment for medications for any reason related to compensability of, liability for, 
extent of, or relatedness to the compensable injury, or for reasons related to an adverse 
determination, the insurance carrier shall also send the EOB to the injured employee, 
and the prescribing doctor. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §134.502 adopted to be effective January 3, 2002, 
26 TexReg 10970; amended to be effective January 1, 2003, 27 TexReg 12353; amended 
to be effective March 30, 2014, 39 TexReg 2102 
 
 
RULE §134.503 Pharmacy Fee Guideline 
 
(a) Applicability of this section is as follows: 
  (1) This section applies to the reimbursement of prescription drugs and 
nonprescription drugs or over-the-counter medications as those terms are defined in 
§134.500 of this title (relating to Definitions) for outpatient use in the Texas workers' 
compensation system, which includes claims: 
    (A) subject to a certified workers' compensation health care network as defined in 
§134.500 of this title; 
    (B) not subject to a certified workers' compensation health care network; and 
    (C) subject to Labor Code §504.053(b)(2). 
  (2) This section does not apply to parenteral drugs. 
 
(b) For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of prescription drugs and 
nonprescription drugs or over-the-counter medications, Texas workers' compensation 
system participants shall apply the provisions of Chapters 133 and 134 of this title 
(relating to General Medical Provisions and Benefits--Guidelines for Medical Services, 
Charges, and Payments, respectively). 
 
(c) The insurance carrier shall reimburse the health care provider or pharmacy 
processing agent for prescription drugs the lesser of: 
  (1) the fee established by the following formulas based on the average wholesale price 
(AWP) as reported by a nationally recognized pharmaceutical price guide or other 
publication of pharmaceutical pricing data in effect on the day the prescription drug is 
dispensed: 
    (A) Generic drugs: ((AWP per unit) x (number of units) x 1.25) + $4.00 dispensing fee 
per prescription = reimbursement amount; 
    (B) Brand name drugs: ((AWP per unit) x (number of units) x 1.09) + $4.00 dispensing 
fee per prescription = reimbursement amount; 
    (C) When compounding, a single compounding fee of $15 per prescription shall be 
added to the calculated total for either paragraph (1)(A) or (B) of this subsection; or 
  (2) notwithstanding §133.20(e)(1) of this title (relating to Medical Bill Submission by 
Health Care Provider), the amount billed to the insurance carrier by the: 
    (A) health care provider; or 
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    (B) pharmacy processing agent only if the health care provider has not previously 
billed the insurance carrier for the prescription drug and the pharmacy processing agent 
is billing on behalf of the health care provider. 
 
(d) Reimbursement for nonprescription drugs or over-the-counter medications shall be 
the retail price of the lowest package quantity reasonably available that will fill the 
prescription. 
 
(e) Except as provided by subsection (f) of this section, if an amount cannot be 
determined in accordance with subsections (c)(1) or (d) of this section, reimbursement 
shall be an amount that is consistent with the criteria listed in Labor Code §408.028(f), 
including providing for reimbursement rates that are fair and reasonable. The insurance 
carrier shall: 
  (1) develop a reimbursement methodology(ies) for determining reimbursement under 
this subsection; 
  (2) maintain in reproducible format documentation of the insurance carrier's 
methodology(ies) for establishing an amount; 
  (3) apply the reimbursement methodology(ies) consistently among health care 
providers in determining reimbursements under this subsection; and 
  (4) upon request by the division, provide to the division copies of such documentation. 
 
(f) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, prescription medication or services, as 
defined by Labor Code §401.011(19)(E), may be reimbursed at a contract rate that is 
inconsistent with the fee guideline as long as the contract complies with the provisions 
of Labor Code §408.0281 and applicable division rules. 
 
(g) When the prescribing doctor has written a prescription for a generic drug or a 
prescription that does not require the use of a brand name drug in accordance with 
§134.502(a)(3) of this title (relating to Pharmaceutical Services), reimbursement shall be 
as follows: 
  (1) the health care provider shall dispense the generic drug as prescribed and shall be 
reimbursed the fee established for the generic drug in accordance with subsection (c) or 
(f) of this section; or 
  (2) when an injured employee chooses to receive a brand name drug instead of the 
prescribed generic drug, the health care provider shall dispense the brand name drug as 
requested and shall be reimbursed: 
    (A) by the insurance carrier, the fee established for the prescribed generic drug in 
accordance with subsection (c) or (f) of this section; and 
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    (B) by the injured employee, the cost difference between the fee established for the 
generic drug in subsection (c) or (f) of this section and the fee established for the brand 
name drug in accordance with subsection (c) or (f) of this section. 
 
(h) When the prescribing doctor has written a prescription for a brand name drug in 
accordance with §134.502(a)(3) of this title, reimbursement shall be in accordance with 
subsection (c) or (f) of this section. 
 
(i) Upon request by the health care provider or the division, the insurance carrier shall 
disclose the source of the nationally recognized pricing reference used to calculate the 
reimbursement. 
 
(j) Where any provision of this section is determined by a court of competent jurisdiction 
to be inconsistent with any statutes of this state, or to be unconstitutional, the 
remaining provisions of this section shall remain in effect. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.503 adopted to be effective January 3, 2002, 
26 TexReg 10970; amended to be effective March 14, 2004, 29 TexReg 2346; amended 
to be effective October 23, 2011, 36 TexReg 6949 
 
RULE §134.504 Pharmaceutical Expenses Incurred by the Injured Employee 
 
(a) It may become necessary for an injured employee to purchase prescription drugs or 
over-the-counter alternatives to prescription drugs prescribed or ordered by the 
treating doctor or referral health care provider. In such instances the injured employee 
may request reimbursement from the insurance carrier as follows: 
  (1) The injured employee shall submit to the insurance carrier a letter requesting 
reimbursement along with a receipt indicating the amount paid and documentation 
concerning the prescription. The letter should include information to clearly identify the 
claimant such as the claimant's name, address, date of injury, and social security 
number. Documentation for prescription drugs submitted with the letter from the 
employee must include the prescribing health care provider's name, the date the 
prescription was filled, the name of the drug, employee's name and dollar amount paid 
by the employee. As examples, this information may be provided on an information 
sheet provided by the pharmacy, or the employee can ask the pharmacist for a print out 
of work related prescriptions for a particular time period. Cash register receipts alone 
are not acceptable. 
  (2) The insurance carrier shall make appropriate payment to the injured employee in 
accordance with §134.503, or notify the injured employee of a reduction or denial of the 
payment within 45 days of receipt of the request for reimbursement from the injured 
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employee. If the insurance carrier does not reimburse the full amount requested, or 
denies payment the carrier shall include a full and complete explanation of the reason(s) 
the insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment and shall inform the injured 
employee of his or her right to request medical dispute resolution in accordance with 
§133.305 of this title (relating to Medical Dispute Resolution). The statement shall 
include sufficient claim-specific substantive information to enable the employee to 
understand the insurance carrier's position and/or action on the claim. A general 
statement that simply states the carrier's position with a phrase such as "not entitled to 
reimbursement" or a similar phrase with no further description of the factual basis does 
not satisfy the requirements of this section. 
 
(b) An injured employee may choose to receive a brand name drug rather than a generic 
drug or over-the-counter alternative to a prescription medication that is prescribed by a 
health care provider. In such instances, the injured employee shall pay the difference in 
cost between generic drugs and brand name drugs. The transaction between the 
employee and the pharmacist is considered final and is not subject to medical dispute 
resolution by the division. In addition, the employee is not entitled to reimbursement 
from the insurance carrier for the difference in cost between generic and brand name 
drugs. 
  (1) The injured employee shall notify the pharmacist of their choice to pay the cost 
difference between generic and brand name drugs. An employee's payment of the cost 
difference constitutes an acceptance of the responsibility for the cost difference and an 
agreement not to seek reimbursement from the carrier for the cost difference. 
  (2) The pharmacist shall: 
    (A) determine the costs of both the brand name and generic drugs under §134.503 of 
this title, and notify the injured employee of the cost difference amount; 
    (B) collect the cost difference amount from the injured employee in a form and 
manner that is acceptable to both parties; 
    (C) submit a bill to the insurance carrier for the generic drug that was prescribed by 
the doctor; and 
    (D) not bill the injured employee for the cost of the generic drug if the insurance 
carrier reduces or denies the bill. 
  (3) The insurance carrier shall review and process the bill from the pharmacist in 
accordance with Chapter 133 and 134 (pertaining to General Medical Provisions and 
Benefits--Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges, and Payment, respectively). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.504 adopted to be effective January 3, 2002, 
26 TexReg 10970; amended to be effective March 14, 2004, 29 TexReg 2346; amended 
to be effective October 23, 2011, 36 TexReg 6949 
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RULE §134.506 Outpatient Open Formulary for Claims with Dates of Injury Prior to 
September 1, 2011 
 
(a) For claims with dates of injury prior to September 1, 2011 (for the purposes of this 
section, referred to as "legacy claims"), the open formulary as described in §134.500(9) 
of this title (relating to Definitions) remains in effect until those claims become subject 
to the closed formulary in accordance with §134.510 of this title (relating to Transition to 
the Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims with Dates of Injury Prior to September 1, 
2011). 
 
(b) Health care, including a prescription drug, for legacy claims not subject to a certified 
network shall be in accordance with the division's adopted treatment guidelines under 
§137.100 of this title (relating to Treatment Guidelines) except as provided by 
subsections (d) and (f) of this section. 
 
(c) Health care, including a prescription drug, for legacy claims subject to a certified 
network shall be in accordance with the certified network's treatment guidelines 
pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305 and Chapter 10 of this title (relating to 
Workers' Compensation Health Care Networks). 
 
(d) Drugs included in the open formulary prescribed and dispensed for legacy claims not 
subject to a certified network do not require preauthorization, except as required by 
Labor Code §413.014. 
 
(e) Drugs included in the open formulary prescribed and dispensed for legacy claims 
subject to a certified network shall be preauthorized in accordance with Insurance Code 
Chapter 1305 and Chapter 10 of this title. 
 
(f) Drugs included in the open formulary that do not require preauthorization under 
subsections (d) and (e) of this section and are prescribed and dispensed for legacy 
claims are subject to retrospective review of medical necessity and reasonableness of 
health care by the insurance carrier. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.506 adopted to be effective January 3, 2002, 
26 TexReg 10970; amended to be effective January 17, 2011, 35 TexReg 11344 
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RULE §134.510 Transition to the Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims with Dates 
of Injury Prior to September 1, 2011 
 
(a) Applicability. This section applies to claims with dates of injury prior to September 1, 
2011 (for the purposes of this section, referred to as "legacy claims"), which are subject 
to §134.530 of this title (relating to Requirements for Use of the Closed Formulary for 
Claims Not Subject to Certified Networks), §134.540 of this title (relating to 
Requirements for Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims Subject to Certified Networks), 
and §134.550 of this title (relating to Medical Interlocutory Order) on and after 
September 1, 2013. 
 
(b) Transition of legacy claims. 
  (1) At any time after September 1, 2011 and prior to September 1, 2013: 
    (A) The prescribing doctor should include a statement of medical necessity as defined 
in §134.500(13) of this title (relating to Definitions) with the prescription for drugs 
excluded from the closed formulary. 
    (B) The prescribing doctor or the insurance carrier may contact each other for a 
discussion of ongoing pharmacological management of the injured employee's claim. 
    (C) When a prescribing doctor or insurance carrier is contacted by the other party 
regarding ongoing pharmacological management, the parties must provide each other 
a name, phone number, and date and time to discuss ongoing pharmacological 
management of the injured employee's claim. 
  (2) Beginning no later than March 1, 2013, the insurance carrier shall: 
    (A) identify all legacy claims that have been prescribed a drug excluded from the 
closed formulary after September 1, 2012; and 
    (B) provide written notification to the injured employee, prescribing doctor, and 
pharmacy if known, that contains the following: 
      (i) the notice of the impending date and applicability of the closed formulary for 
legacy claims; and 
      (ii) the information required in paragraph (1)(C) of this subsection. 
 
(c) Agreement. To ensure continuity of care, notwithstanding subsection (a) of this 
section, an insurance carrier and a prescribing doctor may enter into an agreement 
regarding the application of the pharmacy closed formulary for individual legacy claims 
on claim-by-claim basis. 
 
(d) Agreement requirements. 
  (1) The insurance carrier shall document any agreement and the terms, and share a 
copy of the agreement with the prescribing doctor and injured employee. 
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  (2) Health care provided as a result of the agreement is not subject to retrospective 
review of medical necessity. 
  (3) Denial of a request for an agreement is not subject to dispute resolution. 
  (4) If no agreement is reached and documented by September 1, 2013 for a legacy 
claim, the requirements of §§134.530, 134.540, and 134.550 of this title shall apply. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.510 adopted to be effective January 17, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11344 
 
RULE §134.520 Outpatient Closed Formulary for Dates of Injury On or After 
September 1, 2011 
 
The Commissioner of Workers' Compensation hereby adopts a closed formulary as 
defined in §134.500(3) of this title (relating to Definitions) for claims with dates of injury 
on or after September 1, 2011. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.520 adopted to be effective January 17, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11344 
 
RULE §134.530 Requirements for Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims Not 
Subject to Certified Networks 
 
(a) Applicability. The closed formulary applies to all drugs that are prescribed and 
dispensed for outpatient use for claims not subject to a certified network on or after 
September 1, 2011 when the date of injury occurred on or after September 1, 2011. 
 
(b) Preauthorization for claims subject to the Division's closed formulary. 
  (1) Preauthorization is only required for: 
    (A) drugs identified with a status of "N" in the current edition of the ODG Treatment 
in Workers' Comp (ODG) / Appendix A, ODG Workers' Compensation Drug Formulary, 
and any updates; 
    (B) any prescription drug created through compounding prescribed before July 1, 
2018 that contains a drug identified with a status of "N" in the current edition of the 
ODG Treatment in Workers' Comp (ODG) / Appendix A, ODG Workers' Compensation 
Drug Formulary, and any updates; 
    (C) any prescription drug created through compounding prescribed and dispensed on 
or after July 1, 2018; and 
    (D) any investigational or experimental drug for which there is early, developing 
scientific or clinical evidence demonstrating the potential efficacy of the treatment, but 
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which is not yet broadly accepted as the prevailing standard of care as defined in Labor 
Code §413.014(a). 
  (2) When §134.600(p)(12) of this title (relating to Preauthorization, Concurrent Review, 
and Voluntary Certification of Health Care) conflicts with this section, this section 
prevails. 
 
(c) Preauthorization of intrathecal drug delivery systems. 
  (1) An intrathecal drug delivery system requires preauthorization in accordance with 
§134.600 of this title and the preauthorization request must include the prescribing 
doctor's drug regime plan of care, and the anticipated dosage or range of dosages for 
the administration of pain medication. 
  (2) Refills of an intrathecal drug delivery system with drugs excluded from the closed 
formulary, which are billed using Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) Level II J codes, and submitted on a CMS-1500 or UB-04 billing form, require 
preauthorization on an annual basis. Preauthorization for these refills is also required 
whenever: 
    (A) the medications, dosage or range of dosages, or the drug regime proposed by the 
prescribing doctor differs from the medications, dosage or range of dosages, or drug 
regime previously preauthorized by that prescribing doctor; or 
    (B) there is a change in prescribing doctor. 
 
(d) Treatment guidelines. Except as provided by this subsection, the prescribing of drugs 
shall be in accordance with §137.100 of this title (relating to Treatment Guidelines), the 
division's adopted treatment guidelines. 
  (1) Prescription and nonprescription drugs included in the division's closed formulary 
and recommended by the division's adopted treatment guidelines may be prescribed 
and dispensed without preauthorization. 
  (2) Prescription and nonprescription drugs included in the division's closed formulary 
that exceed or are not addressed by the division's adopted treatment guidelines may be 
prescribed and dispensed without preauthorization. 
  (3) Drugs included in the closed formulary that are prescribed and dispensed without 
preauthorization are subject to retrospective review of medical necessity and 
reasonableness of health care by the insurance carrier in accordance with subsection (g) 
of this section. 
 
(e) Appeals process for drugs excluded from the closed formulary. 
  (1) For situations in which the prescribing doctor determines and documents that a 
drug excluded from the closed formulary is necessary to treat an injured employee's 
compensable injury and has prescribed the drug, the prescribing doctor, other 
requestor, or injured employee must request approval of the drug by requesting 
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preauthorization, including reconsideration, in accordance with §134.600 of this title and 
applicable provisions of Chapter 19 of this title (relating to Agents' Licensing). 
  (2) If preauthorization is being requested by an injured employee or a requestor other 
than the prescribing doctor, and the injured employee or other requestor requests a 
statement of medical necessity, the prescribing doctor shall provide a statement of 
medical necessity to facilitate the preauthorization submission as set forth in §134.502 of 
this title (relating to Pharmaceutical Services). 
  (3) If preauthorization for a drug excluded from the closed formulary is denied, the 
requestor may submit a request for medical dispute resolution in accordance with 
§133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by Independent Review Organizations). 
  (4) In the event of an unreasonable risk of a medical emergency, an interlocutory order 
may be obtained in accordance with §133.306 of this title (relating to Interlocutory 
Orders for Medical Benefits) or §134.550 of this title (relating to Medical Interlocutory 
Order). 
 
(f) Initial pharmaceutical coverage. 
  (1) Drugs included in the closed formulary which are prescribed for initial 
pharmaceutical coverage, in accordance with Labor Code §413.0141, may be dispensed 
without preauthorization and are not subject to retrospective review of medical 
necessity. 
  (2) Drugs excluded from the closed formulary which are prescribed for initial 
pharmaceutical coverage, in accordance with Labor Code §413.0141, may be dispensed 
without preauthorization, except as referenced in subsection (b)(1)(C) of this section, 
and are subject to retrospective review of medical necessity. 
 
(g) Retrospective review. Except as provided in subsection (f)(1) of this section, drugs 
that do not require preauthorization are subject to retrospective review for medical 
necessity in accordance with §133.230 of this title (relating to Insurance Carrier Audit of 
a Medical Bill) and §133.240 of this title (relating to Medical Payments and Denials), and 
applicable provisions of Chapter 19 of this title. 
  (1) Health care, including a prescription for a drug, provided in accordance with 
§137.100 of this title is presumed reasonable as specified in Labor Code §413.017, and is 
also presumed to be health care reasonably required as defined by Labor Code 
§401.011(22-a). 
  (2) In order for an insurance carrier to deny payment subject to a retrospective review 
for pharmaceutical services that are recommended by the division's adopted treatment 
guidelines, §137.100 of this title, the denial must be supported by documentation of 
evidence-based medicine that outweighs the presumption of reasonableness 
established under Labor Code §413.017. 
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  (3) A prescribing doctor who prescribes pharmaceutical services that exceed, are not 
recommended, or are not addressed by §137.100 of this title, is required to provide 
documentation upon request in accordance with §134.500(13) of this title (relating to 
Definitions) and §134.502(e) and (f) of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.530 adopted to be effective January 17, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11344; amended to be effective April 22, 2018, 43 TexReg 2275 
 
RULE §134.540 Requirements for Use of the Closed Formulary for Claims Subject to 
Certified Networks 
 
(a) Applicability. The closed formulary applies to all drugs that are prescribed and 
dispensed for outpatient use for claims subject to a certified network on or after 
September 1, 2011 when the date of injury occurred on or after September 1, 2011.  
 
(b) Preauthorization for claims subject to the Division's closed formulary. 
Preauthorization is only required for: 
  (1) drugs identified with a status of "N" in the current edition of the ODG Treatment in 
Workers' Comp (ODG) / Appendix A, ODG Workers' Compensation Drug Formulary, and 
any updates; 
  (2) any prescription drug created through compounding prescribed before July 1, 2018 
that contains a drug identified with a status of "N" in the current edition of the ODG 
Treatment in Workers' Comp (ODG) / Appendix A, ODG Workers' Compensation Drug 
Formulary, and any updates; 
  (3) any prescription drug created through compounding prescribed and dispensed on 
or after July 1, 2018; and 
  (4) any investigational or experimental drug for which there is early, developing 
scientific or clinical evidence demonstrating the potential efficacy of the treatment, but 
which is not yet broadly accepted as the prevailing standard of care as defined in Labor 
Code §413.014(a). 
 
(c) Preauthorization of intrathecal drug delivery systems. 
  (1) An intrathecal drug delivery system requires preauthorization in accordance with 
the certified network's treatment guidelines and preauthorization requirements 
pursuant to Insurance Code Chapter 1305 and Chapter 10 of this title (relating to 
Workers' Compensation Health Care Networks). 
  (2) Refills of an intrathecal drug delivery system with drugs excluded from the closed 
formulary, which are billed using Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) Level II J codes, and submitted on a CMS-1500 or UB-04 billing form, require 
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preauthorization on an annual basis. Preauthorization for these refills is also required 
whenever: 
    (A) the medications, dosage or range of dosages, or the drug regime proposed by the 
prescribing doctor differs from the medications dosage or range of dosages, or drug 
regime previously preauthorized by that prescribing doctor; or 
    (B) there is a change prescribing doctor. 
 
(d) Treatment guidelines. The prescribing of drugs shall be in accordance with the 
certified network's treatment guidelines and preauthorization requirements pursuant to 
Insurance Code Chapter 1305 and Chapter 10 of this title. Drugs included in the closed 
formulary that are prescribed and dispensed without preauthorization are subject to 
retrospective review of medical necessity and reasonableness of health care by the 
insurance carrier in accordance with subsection (f) of this section. 
 
(e) Appeals process for drugs excluded from the closed formulary. 
  (1) For situations in which the prescribing doctor determines and documents that a 
drug excluded from the closed formulary is necessary to treat an injured employee's 
compensable injury and has prescribed the drug, the prescribing doctor, other 
requestor, or injured employee must request approval of the drug in a specific instance 
by requesting preauthorization in accordance with the certified network's 
preauthorization process established pursuant to Chapter 10, Subchapter F of this title 
(relating to Utilization Review and Retrospective Review) and applicable provisions of 
Chapter 19 of this title (relating to Agents' Licensing). 
  (2) If preauthorization is pursued by an injured employee or requestor other than the 
prescribing doctor, and the injured employee or other requestor requests a statement of 
medical necessity, the prescribing doctor shall provide a statement of medical necessity 
to facilitate the preauthorization submission as set forth in §134.502 of this title (relating 
to Pharmaceutical Services). 
  (3) If preauthorization for a drug excluded from the closed formulary is denied, the 
requestor may submit a request for medical dispute resolution in accordance with 
§133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by Independent Review Organizations). 
  (4) In the event of an unreasonable risk of a medical emergency, an interlocutory order 
may be obtained in accordance with §133.306 of this title (relating to Interlocutory 
Orders for Medical Benefits) or §134.550 of this title (relating to Medical Interlocutory 
Order). 
 
(f) Initial pharmaceutical coverage. 
  (1) Drugs included in the closed formulary which are prescribed for initial 
pharmaceutical coverage, in accordance with Labor Code §413.0141, may be dispensed 
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without preauthorization and are not subject to retrospective review of medical 
necessity. 
  (2) Drugs excluded from the closed formulary which are prescribed for initial 
pharmaceutical coverage, in accordance with Labor Code §413.0141, may be dispensed 
without preauthorization and are subject to retrospective review of medical necessity. 
 
(g) Retrospective review. Except as provided in subsection (f)(1) of this section, drugs 
that do not require preauthorization are subject to retrospective review for medical 
necessity in accordance with §133.230 of this title (relating to Insurance Carrier Audit of 
a Medical Bill), §133.240 of this title (relating to Medical Payments and Denials), the 
Insurance Code, Chapter 1305, applicable provisions of Chapters 10 and 19 of this title. 
  (1) In order for an insurance carrier to deny payment subject to a retrospective review 
for pharmaceutical services that fall within the treatment parameters of the certified 
network's treatment guidelines, the denial must be supported by documentation of 
evidence-based medicine that outweighs the evidence-basis of the certified network's 
treatment guidelines. 
  (2) A prescribing doctor who prescribes pharmaceutical services that exceed, are not 
recommended, or are not addressed by the certified network's treatment guidelines, is 
required to provide documentation upon request in accordance with §134.500(13) of 
this title (relating to Definitions) and §134.502(e) and (f) of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.540 adopted to be effective January 17, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11344; amended to be effective April 22, 2018, 43 TexReg 2275 
 
RULE §134.550 Medical Interlocutory Order 
 
(a) The purpose of this section is to provide a prescribing doctor or pharmacy an ability 
to obtain an medical interlocutory order (MIO) in instances where preauthorization 
denials of a previously prescribed and dispensed drug(s) excluded from the closed 
formulary poses an unreasonable risk of a medical emergency as defined in §134.500(7) 
of this title (relating to Definitions) and Insurance Code §1305.004(a)(13). 
 
(b) A request for an interlocutory order that does not meet the criteria described by this 
section may still be requested pursuant to §133.306 of this title (relating to Interlocutory 
Order for Medical Benefits). 
 
(c) An MIO will be issued if the request for an MIO contains the following information: 
  (1) injured employee name; 
  (2) date of birth of injured employee; 
  (3) prescribing doctor's name; 
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  (4) name of drug and dosage; 
  (5) MIO requestor's name (pharmacy or prescribing doctor); 
  (6) MIO requestor's contact information; 
  (7) a statement that a preauthorization request for a previously prescribed and 
dispensed drug(s), which is excluded from the closed formulary, has been denied by the 
insurance carrier; 
  (8) a statement that an independent review request has already been submitted to the 
insurance carrier or the insurance carrier's utilization review agent in accordance with 
§133.308 of this title (relating to MDR by Independent Review Organizations); 
  (9) a statement that the preauthorization denial poses an unreasonable risk of a 
medical emergency as defined in §134.500(7) of this title; 
  (10) a statement that the potential medical emergency has been documented in the 
preauthorization process; 
  (11) a statement that the insurance carrier has been notified that a request for an MIO 
is being submitted to the division; and 
  (12) a signature and the following certification by the MIO requestor for paragraphs (7) 
- (12) of this subsection, "I hereby certify under penalty of law that the previously listed 
conditions have been met." 
 
(d) A complete request for an MIO under this section shall be processed and approved 
by the division in accordance with this section. At the discretion of the division, an 
incomplete request for an MIO under this section may be considered in accordance with 
this section. 
 
(e) The request for an MIO may be submitted on the designated division form available 
on the Texas Department of Insurance's website, 
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/indexwc.html. In the event the division form is not 
available, the written request must contain the provisions of subsection (c) of this 
section. 
 
(f) The MIO requestor shall provide a copy of the MIO request to the insurance carrier, 
prescribing doctor, injured employee, and dispensing pharmacy, if known, on the date 
the request for MIO is submitted to the division. 
 
(g) An approved MIO shall be effective retroactively to the date the complete request 
for an MIO is received by the division. 
 
(h) Notwithstanding §133.308 of this title: 
  (1) A request for reconsideration of a preauthorization denial is not required prior to a 
request for independent review when pursuing an MIO under this section. If a request 
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for reconsideration or an MIO request is not initiated within 15 days from the initial 
preauthorization denial, then the opportunity to request an MIO under this section does 
not apply. 
  (2) If pursuing an MIO after denial of a reconsideration request, a complete MIO 
request shall be submitted within five working days of the reconsideration denial. 
 
(i) An appeal of the independent review organization (IRO) decision relating to the 
medical necessity and reasonableness of the drugs contained in the MIO shall be 
submitted in accordance with §133.308(t) of this title. 
 
(j) The MIO shall continue in effect until the later of: 
  (1) final adjudication of a medical dispute regarding the medical necessity and 
reasonableness of the drug contained in the MIO; 
  (2) expiration of the period for a timely appeal; or 
  (3) agreement of the parties. 
 
(k) Withdrawal by the requestor of a request for medical necessity dispute resolution 
constitutes acceptance of the preauthorization denial. 
 
(l) A party shall comply with an MIO entered in accordance with this section and the 
insurance carrier shall reimburse the pharmacy for prescriptions dispensed in 
accordance with an MIO. 
 
(m) The insurance carrier shall notify the prescribing doctor, injured employee, and the 
dispensing pharmacy once reimbursement is no longer required in accordance with 
subsection (j) of this section. 
 
(n) Payments made by insurance carriers pursuant to this section may be eligible for 
reimbursement from the Subsequent Injury Fund in accordance with Labor Code 
§410.209 and §413.055, and applicable rules. 
 
(o) A decision issued by an IRO is not an agency or commissioner decision. 
 
(p) A party may seek to reverse or modify an MIO issued under this section if: 
  (1) a final determination of medical necessity has been rendered; and 
  (2) the party requests a benefit contested case hearing (CCH) from the division's chief 
clerk no later than 20 days after the date the IRO decision is sent to the party. A benefit 
review conference is not a prerequisite to a division CCH under this subsection. Except 
as provided by this subsection, a division CCH shall be conducted in accordance with 
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Chapters 140 and 142 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--General Provisions 
and Dispute Resolution--Benefit Contested Case Hearing). 
 
(q) The insurance carrier may dispute an interlocutory order entered under this title by 
filing a written request for a hearing in accordance with Labor Code §413.055 and §148.3 
of this title (relating to Requesting a Hearing). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.550 adopted to be effective January 17, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11344 
 
SUBCHAPTER G PROSPECTIVE AND CONCURRENT REVIEW OF HEALTH CARE 
 
RULE §134.600 Preauthorization, Concurrent Utilization Review, and Voluntary 
Certification of Health Care 
 
 
(a) The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
  (1) Adverse determination: A determination by a utilization review agent made on 
behalf of a payor that the health care services provided or proposed to be provided to 
an injured employee are not medically necessary or appropriate. The term does not 
include a denial of health care services due to the failure to request prospective or 
concurrent utilization review. An adverse determination does not include a 
determination that health care services are experimental or investigational. 
  (2) Ambulatory surgical services: surgical services provided in a facility that operates 
primarily to provide surgical services to patients who do not require overnight hospital 
care. 
  (3) Concurrent utilization review: a form of utilization review for on-going health care 
listed in subsection (q) of this section for an extension of treatment beyond previously 
approved health care listed in subsection (p) of this section. 
  (4) Diagnostic study: any test used to help establish or exclude the presence of 
disease/injury in symptomatic individuals. The test may help determine the diagnosis, 
screen for specific disease/injury, guide the management of an established 
disease/injury, and formulate a prognosis. 
  (5) Final adjudication: the commissioner has issued a final decision or order that is no 
longer subject to appeal by either party. 
  (6) Outpatient surgical services: surgical services provided in a freestanding surgical 
center or a hospital outpatient department to patients who do not require overnight 
hospital care. 
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  (7) Preauthorization: a form of prospective utilization review by a payor or a payor's 
utilization review agent of health care services proposed to be provided to an injured 
employee. 
  (8) Reasonable opportunity: At least one documented good faith attempt to contact 
the provider of record that provides an opportunity for the provider of record to discuss 
the services under review with the utilization review agent during normal business hours 
prior to issuing a prospective, concurrent, or retrospective utilization review adverse 
determination: 
    (A) no less than one working day prior to issuing a prospective utilization review 
adverse determination; 
    (B) no less than five working days prior to issuing a retrospective utilization review 
adverse determination; or 
    (C) prior to issuing a concurrent or post-stabilization review adverse determination. 
  (9) Requestor: the health care provider or designated representative, including office 
staff or a referral health care provider or health care facility that requests 
preauthorization, concurrent utilization review, or voluntary certification. 

(10) Work conditioning and work hardening: return-to-work rehabilitation programs as 
defined in this chapter. 

 
(b) When division-adopted treatment guidelines conflict with this section, this section 
prevails. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier is liable for all reasonable and necessary medical costs relating 
to the health care: 
  (1) listed in subsection (p) or (q) of this section only when the following situations 
occur: 
    (A) an emergency, as defined in Chapter 133 of this title (relating to General Medical 
Provisions); 
    (B) preauthorization of any health care listed in subsection (p) of this section that was 
approved prior to providing the health care; 
    (C) concurrent utilization review of any health care listed in subsection (q) of this 
section that was approved prior to providing the health care; or 
    (D) when ordered by the commissioner; 

(2) or per subsection (r) of this section when voluntary certification was requested and 
payment agreed upon prior to providing the health care for any health care not listed in 
subsection (p) of this section. 

 
(d) The insurance carrier is not liable under subsection (c)(1)(B) or (C) of this section if 
there has been a final adjudication that the injury is not compensable or that the health 
care was provided for a condition unrelated to the compensable injury. 
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(e) The insurance carrier shall designate accessible direct telephone and facsimile 
numbers and may designate an electronic transmission address for use by the requestor 
or injured employee to request preauthorization or concurrent utilization review during 
normal business hours. The direct number shall be answered or the facsimile or 
electronic transmission address responded to within the time limits established in 
subsection (i) of this section. The insurance carrier shall also comply with any additional 
requirements of §19.2012 of this title (relating to URA's Telephone Access and 
Procedures for Certain Drug Requests and Post-Stabilization Care). 
 
(f) The requestor or injured employee shall request and obtain preauthorization from 
the insurance carrier prior to providing or receiving health care listed in subsection (p) of 
this section. Concurrent utilization review shall be requested prior to the conclusion of 
the specific number of treatments or period of time preauthorized and approval must 
be obtained prior to extending the health care listed in subsection (q) of this section. 
The request for preauthorization or concurrent utilization review shall be sent to the 
insurance carrier by telephone, facsimile, or electronic transmission and, include the: 
  (1) name of the injured employee; 
  (2) specific health care listed in subsection (p) or (q) of this section; 
  (3) number of specific health care treatments and the specific period of time requested 
to complete the treatments; 
  (4) information to substantiate the medical necessity of the health care requested; 
  (5) accessible telephone and facsimile numbers and may designate an electronic 
transmission address for use by the insurance carrier; 
  (6) name of the requestor and requestor's professional license number or national 
provider identifier, or injured employee's name if the injured employee is requesting 
preauthorization; 
  (7) name, professional license number or national provider identifier of the health care 
provider who will render the health care if different than paragraph (6) of this subsection 
and if known; 
  (8) facility name, and the facility's national provider identifier if the proposed health 
care is to be rendered in a facility; and 

(9) estimated date of proposed health care. 
 

(g) A health care provider may submit a request for health care to treat an injury or 
diagnosis that is not accepted by the insurance carrier in accordance with Labor Code 
§408.0042. 
  (1) The request shall be in the form of a treatment plan for a 60 day timeframe. 
  (2) The insurance carrier shall review requests submitted in accordance with this 
subsection for both medical necessity and relatedness. 
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  (3) If denying the request, the insurance carrier shall indicate whether it is issuing an 
adverse determination, and/or whether the denial is based on an unrelated injury or 
diagnosis in accordance with subsection (m) of this section. 
  (4) The requestor or injured employee may file an extent of injury dispute upon receipt 
of an insurance carrier's response which includes a denial due to an unrelated injury or 
diagnosis, regardless of whether an adverse determination was also issued. 

(5) Requests which include a denial due to an unrelated injury or diagnosis may not 
proceed to medical dispute resolution based on the denial of unrelatedness. However, 
requests which include the dispute of an adverse determination may proceed to medical 
dispute resolution for the issue of medical necessity in accordance with subsection (o) of 
this section. 

 
(h) Except for requests submitted in accordance with subsection (g) of this section, the 
insurance carrier shall either approve or issue an adverse determination on each request 
based solely on the medical necessity of the health care required to treat the injury, 
regardless of: 
  (1) unresolved issues of compensability, extent of or relatedness to the compensable 
injury; 
  (2) the insurance carrier's liability for the injury; or 

(3) the fact that the injured employee has reached maximum medical improvement. 
 

(i) The insurance carrier shall contact the requestor or injured employee within the 
following timeframes by telephone, facsimile, or electronic transmission with the 
decision to approve the request; issue an adverse determination on a request; or deny a 
request under subsection (g) of this section because of an unrelated injury or diagnoses 
as follows: 
  (1) three working days of receipt of a request for preauthorization; or 
  (2) three working days of receipt of a request for concurrent utilization review, except 
for health care listed in subsection (q)(1) of this section, which is due within one working 
day of the receipt of the request. 
(j) The insurance carrier shall send written notification of the approval of the request, 
adverse determination on the request, or denial of the request under subsection (g) of 
this section because of an unrelated injury or diagnosis within one working day of the 
decision to the: 
  (1) injured employee; 
  (2) injured employee's representative; and 

(3) requestor, if not previously sent by facsimile or electronic transmission. 
 

(k) The insurance carrier's failure to comply with any timeframe requirements of this 
section shall result in an administrative violation. 
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(l) The insurance carrier shall not withdraw a preauthorization or concurrent utilization 
review approval once issued. The approval shall include: 
  (1) the specific health care; 
  (2) the approved number of health care treatments and specific period of time to 
complete the treatments; 
  (3) a notice of any unresolved dispute regarding the denial of compensability or 
liability or an unresolved dispute of extent of or relatedness to the compensable injury; 
and 

(4) the insurance carrier's preauthorization approval number that conforms to the 
standards described in §19.2009(a)(4) of this title (relating to Notice of Determinations 
Made in Utilization Review). 

 
(m) In accordance with §19.2010 of this title (relating to Requirements Prior to Issuing 
Adverse Determination), the insurance carrier shall afford the requestor a reasonable 
opportunity to discuss the clinical basis for the adverse determination prior to issuing 
the adverse determination. The notice of adverse determination must comply with the 
requirements of §19.2009 of this title and if preauthorization is denied under Labor Code 
§408.0042 because the treatment is for an injury or diagnosis unrelated to the 
compensable injury the notice must include notification to the injured employee and 
health care provider of entitlement to file an extent of injury dispute in accordance with 
Chapter 141 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution--Benefit Review Conference). 
 
(n) The insurance carrier shall not condition an approval or change any elements of the 
request as listed in subsection (f) of this section, unless the condition or change is 
mutually agreed to by the health care provider and insurance carrier and is documented. 
 
(o) If the initial response is an adverse determination of preauthorization or concurrent 
utilization review, the requestor or injured employee may request reconsideration orally 
or in writing. A request for reconsideration under this section constitutes an appeal for 
the purposes of §19.2011 of this title (relating to Written Procedures for Appeal of 
Adverse Determinations). 
  (1) The requestor or injured employee may within 30 days of receipt of a written 
adverse determination request the insurance carrier to reconsider the adverse 
determination and shall document the reconsideration request. 
  (2) The insurance carrier shall respond to the request for reconsideration of the adverse 
determination: 
    (A) as soon as practicable but not later than the 30th day after receiving a request for 
reconsideration of an adverse determination of preauthorization; or 
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    (B) within three working days of receipt of a request for reconsideration of an adverse 
determination of concurrent utilization review, except for health care listed in subsection 
(q)(1) of this section, which is due within one working day of the receipt of the request. 
  (3) In addition to the requirements in this section and §19.2011 of this title, the 
insurance carrier's reconsideration procedures shall include a provision that the period 
during which the reconsideration is to be completed shall be based on the medical or 
clinical immediacy of the condition, procedure, or treatment. 

(4) In any instance where the insurance carrier is questioning the medical necessity or 
appropriateness of the health care services prior to the issuance of an adverse 
determination on the request for reconsideration, the insurance carrier shall comply with 
the requirements of §19.2010 and §19.2011 of this title, including the requirement that 
the insurance carrier afford the requestor a reasonable opportunity to discuss the 
proposed health care with a doctor or, in cases of a dental plan or chiropractic services, 
with a dentist or chiropractor, respectively. 
  (5) The requestor or injured employee may appeal the denial of a reconsideration 
request regarding an adverse determination by filing a dispute in accordance with Labor 
Code §413.031 and related division rules. 

(6) A request for preauthorization for the same health care shall only be resubmitted 
when the requestor provides objective clinical documentation to support a substantial 
change in the injured employee's medical condition or that demonstrates that the 
injured employee has met clinical prerequisites for the requested health care that had 
not been previously met before submission of the previous request. The insurance 
carrier shall review the documentation and determine if any substantial change in the 
injured employee's medical condition has occurred or if all necessary clinical 
prerequisites have been met. A frivolous resubmission of a preauthorization request for 
the same health care constitutes an administrative violation. 

 
(p) Non-emergency health care requiring preauthorization includes: 
  (1) inpatient hospital admissions, including the principal scheduled procedure(s) and 
the length of stay; 
  (2) outpatient surgical or ambulatory surgical services as defined in subsection (a) of 
this section; 
  (3) spinal surgery; 
  (4) all work hardening or work conditioning services; 
  (5) physical and occupational therapy services, which includes those services listed in 
the Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) at the following levels: 
    (A) Level I code range for Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, but limited to: 
      (i) Modalities, both supervised and constant attendance; 
      (ii) Therapeutic procedures, excluding work hardening and work conditioning; 
      (iii) Orthotics/Prosthetics Management; 
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      (iv) Other procedures, limited to the unlisted physical medicine and rehabilitation 
procedure code; and 
    (B) Level II temporary code(s) for physical and occupational therapy services provided 
in a home setting; 
    (C) except for the first six visits of physical or occupational therapy following the 
evaluation when such treatment is rendered within the first two weeks immediately 
following: 
      (i) the date of injury; or 
      (ii) a surgical intervention previously preauthorized by the insurance carrier; 
  (6) any investigational or experimental service or device for which there is early, 
developing scientific or clinical evidence demonstrating the potential efficacy of the 
treatment, service, or device but that is not yet broadly accepted as the prevailing 
standard of care; 
  (7) all psychological testing and psychotherapy, repeat interviews, and biofeedback, 
except when any service is part of a preauthorized return-to-work rehabilitation 
program; 
  (8) unless otherwise specified in this subsection, a repeat individual diagnostic study; 
    (A) with a reimbursement rate of greater than $350 as established in the current 
Medical Fee Guideline; or 
    (B) without a reimbursement rate established in the current Medical Fee Guideline; 
  (9) all durable medical equipment (DME) in excess of $500 billed charges per item 
(either purchase or expected cumulative rental); 
  (10) chronic pain management/interdisciplinary pain rehabilitation; 
  (11) drugs not included in the applicable division formulary; 
  (12) treatments and services that exceed or are not addressed by the commissioner's 
adopted treatment guidelines or protocols and are not contained in a treatment plan 
preauthorized by the insurance carrier. This requirement does not apply to drugs 
prescribed for claims under §§134.506, 134.530 or 134.540 of this title (relating to 
Pharmaceutical Benefits); 
  (13) required treatment plans; and 

(14) any treatment for an injury or diagnosis that is not accepted by the insurance 
carrier under Labor Code §408.0042 and §126.14 of this title (relating to Treating Doctor 
Examination to Define the Compensable Injury). 

 
(q) The health care requiring concurrent utilization review for an extension for previously 
approved services includes: 
  (1) inpatient length of stay; 
  (2) all work hardening or work conditioning services; 
  (3) physical and occupational therapy services as referenced in subsection (p)(5) of this 
section; 
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  (4) investigational or experimental services or use of devices; 
  (5) chronic pain management/interdisciplinary pain rehabilitation; and 

(6) required treatment plans. 
 

(r) The requestor and insurance carrier may voluntarily discuss health care that does not 
require preauthorization or concurrent utilization review under subsections (p) and (q) 
of this section respectively. 
  (1) Denial of a request for voluntary certification is not subject to dispute resolution for 
prospective review of medical necessity. 
  (2) The insurance carrier may certify health care requested. The carrier and requestor 
shall document the agreement. Health care provided as a result of the agreement is not 
subject to retrospective utilization review of medical necessity. 

(3) If there is no agreement between the insurance carrier and requestor, health care 
provided is subject to retrospective utilization review of medical necessity. 

 
(s) An increase or decrease in review and preauthorization controls may be applied to 
individual doctors or individual workers' compensation claims by the division in 
accordance with Labor Code §408.0231(b)(4) and other sections of this title. 
 
(t) The insurance carrier shall maintain accurate records to reflect information regarding 
requests for preauthorization, or concurrent utilization review approval or adverse 
determination decisions, and appeals, including requests for reconsideration and 
requests for medical dispute resolution, if any. The insurance carrier shall also maintain 
accurate records to reflect information regarding requests for voluntary certification 
approval/denial decisions. Upon request of the division, the insurance carrier shall 
submit such information in the form and manner prescribed by the division. 
 
(u) For the purposes of this section, all utilization review must be performed by an 
insurance carrier that is registered with, or a utilization review agent that is certified by, 
the Texas Department of Insurance to perform utilization review in accordance with 
Insurance Code Chapter 4201 and Chapter 19 of this title (relating to Licensing and 
Regulation of Insurance Professionals). 
  (1) All utilization review agents or registered insurance carriers who perform utilization 
review under this section must comply with Labor Code §504.055 and any other 
provisions of Chapter 19, Subchapter U of this title (relating to Utilization Reviews for 
Health Care Provided under Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage) that relate to 
the expedited provision of medical benefits to first responders employed by political 
subdivisions who sustain a serious bodily injury in the course and scope of employment. 
  (2) In accordance with Labor Code §501.028(b), an insurance carrier must accelerate 
and give priority to a claim for medical benefits: 
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    (A) by a member of the Texas military forces who, 
      (i) while on state active duty, 
      (ii) sustains a serious bodily injury, as defined by Penal Code §1.07; 
    (B) including all health care required to cure or relieve the effects naturally resulting 
from a compensable injury. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.600 adopted to be effective December 23, 
1991, 16 TexReg 7099; amended to be effective April 1, 1997, 22 TexReg 1317; amended 
to be effective January 1, 2002, 26 TexReg 9874; amended to be effective January 1, 
2003, 27 TexReg 12359; amended to be effective March 14, 2004, 29 TexReg 2349; 
amended to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 TexReg 3566; amended to be effective July 1, 
2012, 37 TexReg 2420; amended to be effective March 30, 2014, 39 TexReg 2102; 
amended to beeffective November 1, 2018, 43 TexReg 7174; amended to be effective 
December 28, 2023, 48 TexReg 8001 
SUBCHAPTER I MEDICAL BILL REPORTING 
 
RULE §134.800 Applicability 
 
(a) This subchapter applies to all insurance carriers as defined in Labor Code 
§401.011(27), including insurance carriers that have contracted with or established a 
workers' compensation health care network as defined in Labor Code §401.011(31-a) 
and insurance carriers that provide medical benefits in a manner authorized by Labor 
Code §504.053(b)(2). All insurance carriers are required to report information prescribed 
by the commissioner under Labor Code §413.007 and §413.008 for each medical bill on 
a workers' compensation claim. 
 
(b) This section is effective September 1, 2011. Insurance carriers and trading partners 
may submit medical EDI records in accordance with this subchapter prior to this 
effective date. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.800 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136 
 
RULE §134.801 Purpose 
 
(a) The purpose of this subchapter is to prescribe the reporting requirements for 
information and data submitted to the division and to adopt by reference the 
implementation guide and specifications necessary for successful electronic data 
interchange transaction processing. The reporting of information and data is necessary 
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to maintain a statewide data base of medical charges, actual payments, and treatment 
protocols pursuant to Labor Code §413.007 and §413.008. 
 
(b) This section is effective September 1, 2011. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.801 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136 
RULE §134.802 Definitions 
 
(a) The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the 
following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
  (1) Application Acknowledgment Code--A code used to identify the accepted or 
rejected status of the transaction being acknowledged. 
  (2) Claim Adjustment Reason Code (CARC)--A code that is used on a medical EDI 
record and an explanation of benefits to communicate why the amount paid for a 
medical bill or service line does not equal the amount charged. The term is synonymous 
with service adjustment reason code in the IAIABC EDI Implementation Guide for 
Medical Bill Payment Records, Release 1.0, dated July 4, 2002. 
  (3) Claim Administrator Claim Number--An identifier that distinguishes a specific claim 
within a claim administrator's claim processing system and is used throughout the life of 
the claim. 
  (4) Division--The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
or its data collection agent. 
  (5) EDI--Electronic data interchange. 
  (6) Element Requirement Table--A receiver specific list of requirement codes for each 
data element depending on the bill submission reason code. 
  (7) IAIABC--The International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and 
Commissions. 
  (8) Medical EDI Record--The accurate data associated with a single medical bill which is 
being reported in a Medical EDI Transaction obtained from all sources, including the 
medical bill, explanation of benefits, and insurance carrier's claim file. 
  (9) Medical EDI Transmission--The data that is contained within the interchange 
envelope. 
  (10) Medical EDI Transaction--The data that is contained within the functional group. 
  (11) Person--An individual, partnership, corporation, hospital district, insurance carrier, 
organization, business trust, estate trust, association, limited liability company, limited 
liability partnership or other entity. This term does not include an injured employee. 
  (12) Trading Partner--A person that has entered into an agreement with the insurance 
carrier to format electronic data for transmission to the division, transmits electronic 
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data to the division, and responds to any technical issues related to the contents or 
structure of an EDI file. 
  (13) W3--A Texas-specific claim adjustment reason code to designate the medical EDI 
record as a reconsideration or appeal. 
 
(b) This section is effective September 1, 2015. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.802 adopted to be effective February 20, 1991, 
16 TexReg 671; amended to be effective June 1, 1992, 17 TexReg 3250; amended to be 
effective December 1, 1992, 17 TexReg 7903; amended to be effective July 15, 2000, 25 
TexReg 2139; amended to be effective July 11, 2004, 29 TexReg 6303; amended to be 
effective April 28, 2005, 30 TexReg 2398; amended to be effective May 2, 2006, 31 
TexReg 3561; amended to be effective September 1, 2011, 36 TexReg 4136; amended to 
be effective September 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 595 
 
RULE §134.803 Reporting Standards 
 
(a) Except as provided in this subchapter, the commissioner adopts by reference the 
IAIABC EDI Implementation Guide for Medical Bill Payment Records, Release 1.0, dated 
July 4, 2002 (IAIABC Guide) published by the IAIABC. 
 
(b) The commissioner adopts by reference the Texas EDI Medical Data Element 
Requirement Table, Version 2.0, dated September 2015, the Texas EDI Medical Data 
Element Edits Table, Version 2.0, dated September 2015, and the Texas EDI Medical 
Difference Table, Version 3.0, dated September 2015. All tables are published by the 
division. 
 
(c) The adopted division tables may be found on the division's website: 
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/edi/index.html. 
 
(d) In the event of a conflict between the IAIABC Guide and the Labor Code or division 
rules, the Labor Code or division rules shall prevail. 
 
(e) This section is effective September 1, 2015. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.803 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136; amended to be effective February 17, 2013, 38 TexReg 673; 
amended to be effective September 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 595 
 
RULE §134.804 Reporting Requirements 
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(a) Insurance carriers shall submit an '00' original medical EDI record for each action 
(initial processing, request for reconsideration or appeal, or subsequent orders) taken on 
an individual medical bill. Original medical EDI records shall be reported within 30 days 
after the date of the action. Each iteration of an '00' original medical EDI record must 
contain a different unique medical bill identification number. The amount paid on each 
action related to a medical bill must contain only the amount issued for that event and 
must not contain a cumulative amount reflecting all events related to an individual 
medical bill. Original medical EDI records on subsequent actions must contain a Texas-
specific claim adjustment reason code of 'W3' to designate the medical EDI record as a 
reconsideration or appeal. The Texas-specific claim adjustment reason code must be 
included on the explanation of benefits issued pursuant to §133.250 of this title (relating 
to Reconsideration for Payment of Medical Bills). 
 
(b) Insurance carriers shall submit an '01' cancel medical EDI record if the '00' original 
medical EDI record should not have been sent or contained the incorrect insurance 
carrier identification number. Cancel medical EDI records shall be reported within 30 
days after the earliest date the insurance carrier discovered the reporting error. The '01' 
cancel medical EDI record must contain the same unique bill identification number as 
the '00' original medical EDI record that was previously submitted and accepted. An '00' 
original medical EDI record must be accepted by the division before an '01' cancel 
medical EDI record may be submitted. 
 
(c) Insurance carriers shall submit an '05' replacement medical EDI record when 
correcting data on a previously submitted medical EDI record. Replacement medical EDI 
records shall be submitted within 30 days after the earliest date the insurance carrier 
discovered the reporting error. The '05' replacement medical EDI record must contain 
the same unique bill identification number as the associated '00' original medical EDI 
record. An '00' original medical EDI record must be accepted by the division before an 
'05' replacement medical EDI record may be submitted. 
 
(d) Insurance carriers must submit timely and accurate medical EDI records to the 
division. For the purpose of this section, a medical EDI record is considered to have been 
accurately submitted when the record: 
  (1) received an Application Acknowledgment Code of accepted; 
  (2) contained accurate medical EDI data; medical EDI data may be obtained from all 
sources, including the medical bill, explanation of benefits, and insurance carrier's claim 
file; and 

Updated January 4, 2024 355



  (3) to the extent supported by the format, contained all appropriate modifiers, code 
qualifiers, and data elements necessary to identify health care services, charges and 
payments. 
 
(e) Insurance carriers are responsible for correcting and resubmitting rejected medical 
EDI records within 30 days of the action that triggered the reporting requirement. The 
insurance carrier's receipt of a rejection does not modify, extend or otherwise change 
the date the transaction is required to be reported to the division. The resubmitted 
medical EDI record must contain the same unique bill identification number as the 
previously rejected medical EDI record. 
 
(f) This section is effective September 1, 2015. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.804 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136; amended to be effective September 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 595 
 
RULE §134.805 Records Required to be Reported 
 
(a) Insurance carriers shall submit medical EDI records when the insurance carrier: 
  (1) pays a medical bill; 
  (2) reduces or denies payment for a medical bill, including duplicate bills; 
  (3) receives a refund for a medical bill; 
  (4) discovers that a medical EDI record should not have been submitted to the division 
and the medical EDI record had previously been accepted by the division; 
  (5) reimburses an injured employee for health care paid in accordance with §133.270; 
or 
  (6) reimburses an employer for health care paid in accordance with §133.280. 
 
(b) Regardless of the Application Acknowledgment Code returned in an 
acknowledgment, medical EDI records are not considered received by the division if the 
medical EDI record: 
  (1) contains data which does not accurately reflect the code values used or actions 
taken when the insurance carrier processed the medical bill; or 
  (2) fails to contain a conditional data element and the mandatory trigger condition 
existed at the time the insurance carrier processed the medical bill. 
 
(c) Except in situations where the health care provider included an invalid service or 
procedure code on the medical bill, rejected medical EDI records are not considered 
received and shall be corrected and resubmitted to the division as provided in 
§134.804(e) of this title (relating to Reporting Requirements). Medical EDI records 
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submitted in the test environment are not considered received and do not comply with 
the reporting requirements of this section. 
 
(d) This section is effective September 1, 2015. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.805 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136; amended to be effective September 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 595 
 
RULE §134.806 Records Excluded from Reporting 
 
(a) Insurance carriers shall not report medical EDI records for health care services: 
  (1) rendered outside the United States; 
  (2) related to dates of injury before January 1, 1991; 
  (3) rendered at a Federal health care facility and the health care facility does not 
provide the insurance carrier with the data required to be reported; 
  (4) related to an injured employee's travel reimbursement as provided in §134.110 of 
this title (relating to Reimbursement of Injured Employee for Travel Expenses Incurred); 
or 
  (5) related to a request for reimbursement by a health care insurer in accordance with 
the provisions of Labor Code §409.0091. 
 
(b) Insurance carriers shall not report interest and penalty payments paid on health care 
services, medical cost containment expenses, medical bill review expenses or data 
transmission expenses in medical EDI records. 
 
(c) This section is effective September 1, 2011. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.806 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136 
 
RULE §134.807 State Specific Requirements 
 
(a) A medical EDI transmission shall not exceed a file size of 1.5 megabytes. A 
transaction set shall not contain more than 100 medical EDI records in a claimant 
hierarchical loop. 
 
(b) Insurance carriers shall submit medical EDI transactions using Secure File Transfer 
Protocol (SFTP). All alphabetic characters used in the SFTP file name must be lower case 
and the file must be compressed/zipped. Files that do not comply with these 
requirements or the naming convention may be rejected and placed in appropriate 
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failure folders. Insurance carriers must monitor these folders for file failures and make 
corrections in accordance with §134.804(e) of this title (relating to Reporting 
Requirements). 
 
(c) SFTP files must comply with the following naming convention: 
  (1) Two digit alphanumeric state indicator of 'tx'; 
  (2) Nine digit trading partner Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN); 
  (3) Nine digit trading partner postal code; 
  (4) Nine digit insurance carrier FEIN or 'xxxxxxxxx' if the file contains medical EDI 
transactions from different insurance carriers; 
  (5) Three digit record type '837'; 
  (6) One character Test/Production indicator ('t' or 'p'); 
  (7) Eight digit date file sent 'CCYYMMDD'; 
  (8) Six digit time file sent 'HHMMSS'; 
  (9) One character standard extension delimiter of '.'; and 
  (10) Three digit alphanumeric standard file extension of 'zip' or 'txt'. 
 
(d) The transaction types accepted by the division include '00' original, '01' cancel, and 
'05' replacement. 
 
(e) Insurance carriers are required to use the following delimiters: 
  (1) Date Element Separator--'*' asterisk; 
  (2) Sub-element Separator--':' colon; and 
  (3) Segment Terminator--'~' tilde. 
 
(f) In addition to the requirements adopted under §134.803 of this title (relating to 
Reporting Standards), state reporting of medical EDI transactions shall comply with the 
following formatting requirements: 
  (1) Loop 2400 Service Line Information must not contain more than one type of service. 
Only one of the following data segments may be contained in an iteration of this loop: 
SV1 Professional Service, SV2 Institutional Service, SV3 Dental Service or SV4 Pharmacy 
Service. 
  (2) When reporting compound medications, Loop 2400 Service Line Information SV4 
Pharmacy Drug Service must include a separate line for each reimbursable component 
of the compound medication. The same prescription number for each reimbursable 
component of the compound medication, including the compounding fee, must be 
reported. The compounding fee must be reported using a default NDC number equal to 
'99999999999' as a separate service line. 
  (3) When reporting pharmacy medical EDI records, the following data element 
definition clarifications apply: 
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    (A) DN501 Total Charge Per Bill is the total amount charged by the pharmacy or 
pharmacy processing agent; 
    (B) DN511 Date Insurer Received Bill is the date the insurance carrier received the bill; 
    (C) DN512 Date Insurer Paid Bill is the date the insurance carrier paid the pharmacy or 
pharmacy processing agent; 
    (D) DN638 Rendering Bill Provider Last/Group Name is the name of the dispensing 
pharmacy; 
    (E) DN690 Referring Provider Last/Group Name is the last name of the prescribing 
doctor; and 
    (F) DN691 Referring Provider First Name is the first name of the prescribing doctor. 
  (4) When ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS codes are contained on the medical bill, the 
insurance carrier must report these codes in the associated ICD-9-CM data elements 
using the ICD-9-CM code qualifiers. 
  (5) If the injured employee's social security number is unknown, it must be reported in 
accordance with §102.8(a)(1) of this title (relating to Information Requested on Written 
Communications to the Division). 
  (6) The DN53 data element must be reported on all medical EDI records. 
  (7) The provider agreement code must be reported on all medical EDI records, must 
not be reported with the value of "Y", and must only contain one of the following values: 
    (A) "H" for services performed within a Certified Workers' Compensation Health Care 
Network; 
    (B) "P" for services performed under a contractual fee arrangement, excluding services 
performed within a certified network; or 
    (C) "N" to indicate no contractual fee arrangement for services performed. 
  (8) When an insurance carrier calculated a reimbursement amount by applying the 
most recently adopted and effective Medicare Inpatient Prospective Payment System 
(IPPS) as required in §134.404 of this title (relating to Hospital Facility Fee Guideline--
Inpatient), the DN515 (Contract Type Code) must be reported as "01" and the valid 
Diagnosis Related Group Code for DN518 must be reported. 
  (9) On a professional medical bill, an insurance carrier shall only report up to four (4) 
diagnosis codes on each medical EDI record. 
  (10) On a professional medical bill, an insurance carrier shall only report to the Division 
up to four diagnosis code pointers and those pointers must be reported numerically. If a 
professional medical bill containing more than four diagnosis pointers is reported to the 
insurance carrier, each diagnosis pointer after the first four shall be reported to the 
Division with the value of "1." 
 
(g) This section is effective September 1, 2015. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §134.807 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136; amended to be effective February 17, 2013, 38 TexReg 673; 
amended to be effective September 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 595 
 
 
 
 
 
RULE §134.808 Insurance Carrier EDI Compliance Coordinator and Trading Partners 
 
(a) Insurance carriers may submit medical EDI records directly to the division or may 
contract with an external trading partner to submit the records on the insurance carrier's 
behalf. 
 
(b) Each insurance carrier, including those using external trading partners, must 
designate one individual to the division as the EDI Compliance Coordinator and provide 
the individual's name, working title, mailing address, email address, and telephone 
number in the form and manner prescribed by the division. The EDI Compliance 
Coordinator must: 
  (1) be a centrally-located employee of the insurance carrier who has the responsibility 
for EDI reporting; 
  (2) receive and appropriately disperse data reporting information received from the 
division; and 
  (3) serve as the central compliance control for data reporting under this subchapter. 
 
(c) At least five working days prior to sending its first transaction to the division under 
this subchapter, the insurance carrier shall send a notice to the division. The notice shall 
be in the form and manner established by the division. The notice shall include the 
name of the insurance carrier, the insurance carrier's FEIN, the insurance carrier's 
TxCOMP customer number, the name of the trading partner(s) authorized to conduct 
medical EDI transactions on behalf of the insurance carrier, the FEIN of the trading 
partner(s), and the EDI Compliance Coordinator's signature. The insurance carrier shall 
report changes within five working days of any amendment to data sharing agreements, 
including the addition or removal of any trading partners. The failure to timely submit 
updated information may result in the rejection of medical EDI records. 
 
(d) At least five working days prior to sending its first test transaction to the division 
under this subchapter, the insurance carrier or trading partner sending the medical EDI 
transmission shall send a notice to the division. The notice shall be in the form and 
manner established by the division. The notice shall include the entity's name, FEIN, 
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nine-digit postal code, address, and the technical contact's name, address, phone 
number, and email address. The insurance carrier or trading partner shall report changes 
within five working days of any amendment to the information required to be reported. 
 
(e) Insurance carriers and trading partners must successfully complete testing prior to 
transmitting any production data. Trading partners must receive approval to submit 
data for at least one insurance carrier prior to initiating the testing process. Insurance 
carriers and trading partners must submit each transaction type during the testing 
process which can be successfully processed by the division. The division will not 
approve an insurance carrier or trading partner for production submissions until the 
insurance carrier or trading partner has: 
  (1) successfully submitted ten percent of its anticipated monthly volume per service 
type, not to exceed 100 medical EDI records per service type; 
  (2) received and reviewed the acknowledgments generated by the division; and 
  (3) correctly resubmitted rejected records identified in the acknowledgments. 
 
(f) Insurance carriers are responsible for the acts or omissions of their trading partners. 
The insurance carrier commits an administrative violation if the insurance carrier or its 
trading partner fails to timely or accurately submit medical EDI records. 
 
(g) This section is effective September 1, 2015. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.808 adopted to be effective September 1, 
2011, 36 TexReg 4136; amended to be effective September 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 595 
 
RULE §134.900 Medical Benefit Review and Audit 
 
(a) The division of medical review (the division) shall review and audit medical services, 
to include, but not be limited to: 
  (1) treatments administered; 
  (2) services provided; 
  (3) fees charged; 
  (4) payments made for medical treatment or services provided to injured employees; 
and 
  (5) compliance with other commission rules regulating health care. 
 
(b) The division may conduct a review or audit at the office of an insurance carrier, third 
party administrator, audit company, health care provider, or at any other appropriate 
location as determined by the division. 
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(c) The division shall notify, in writing, the person or entity whose documents are to be 
reviewed and audited, stating when the review and audit will be performed and the 
commission employee to contact. 
 
(d) The division shall be granted access to documents and to information regarding 
health care treatment; fees charged; or payments made, modified, or denied. Pursuant 
to law, failure or refusal to comply with a division request or order for any information is 
an administrative violation subject to penalty as provided by the Act. 
 
(e) The person or entity being reviewed or audited by the division shall furnish division 
personnel, for the duration of the review and audit, with: 
  (1) a contact person to answer questions and respond to the needs of division staff; 
  (2) office space; 
  (3) access to a copy machine; and 
  (4) access to a telephone. 
 
(f) The commission shall charge a reasonable administrative fee, set in accordance with 
Administrative Procedure 5, for the review and audit conducted under this rule. 
 
(g) The intensity of review and audit for compliance with medical policies and fee 
guidelines shall be increased as necessary to induce compliance by the health care 
provider who has established practices and patterns in medical charges or treatments 
inconsistent with medical policies and guidelines established by the commission. 
 
(h) Reports of all probable violations of law and commission rules found during a review 
and audit shall be forwarded to the division of compliance and practices. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §134.900 adopted to be effective October 1, 1992, 
17 TexReg 6364 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 136  BENEFITS--VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION 
 
RULE §136.1 Review of Employer Report of Injury 
 
(a) The division shall analyze each employer report of injury, within 30 days of its receipt, 
for any information indicating that the injured employee had or is likely to have: 
  (1) an amputation of: 
    (A) an arm or leg; 
    (B) three fingers or more; or 
    (C) the large toe or one-third of the foot or more; 
  (2) the loss of use of an arm or leg; 
  (3) a permanent spinal cord injury; 
  (4) a head injury; 
  (5) a heart attack or heart disease; 
  (6) an occupational disease; 
  (7) blindness or significant vision loss; 
  (8) severe or extensive burns; 
  (9) any other condition that indicates an impairment is likely; or 
  (10) any injury resulting in more than 30 days lost time. Such injury shall be reviewed 
and a determination made as to the degree of impairment and the appropriateness of 
vocational rehabilitation services. 
 
(b) Whenever the division finds facts that suggest one or more of the conditions listed in 
subsection (a) of this section, the division shall notify the injured employee and the 
Texas Workforce Commission that the division has identified an injured employee who 
may be assisted by vocational rehabilitation. The notice shall: 
  (1) be made no later than 60 days after the date the division received the employer 
report of injury; and 
  (2) contain the following information: 
    (A) the workers' compensation claim number assigned by the division; 
    (B) the address of the local office of the division assigned to manage the claim; 
    (C) the insurance carrier's name and division assigned identification number (if any); 
    (D) the name, address, and phone number of the injured employee; and 
    (E) the condition listed in subsection (a) of this section, that indicates that the injured 
employee may be assisted by vocational rehabilitation. 
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(c) In addition to the information required by subsection (b) of this section, the division's 
notice to the injured employee shall contain the following: 
  (1) the address and telephone number of the central office of the Texas Workforce 
Commission; and 
  (2) a statement that the division notified the Texas Workforce Commission that the 
injured employee may be assisted by vocational rehabilitation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §136.1 adopted to be effective March 18, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1367; amended to be effective February 3, 2011, 36 TexReg 427; amended to be 
effective April 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 2155 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 137  DISABILITY MANAGEMENT 
SUBCHAPTER A  GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
RULE §137.1 Disability Management Concept 
 
(a) Disability management is a process designed to optimize health care and return to 
work outcomes for injured employees to avoid delayed recovery in the Texas Workers' 
Compensation System. 
 
(b) This chapter is designed to provide disability management tools, such as treatment 
and return to work guidelines, treatment protocols, treatment planning, and case 
management to benchmark, manage, and achieve improved outcomes. The Division 
may use these tools for the following purposes, including, but not limited to: 
  (1) resolving income benefit disputes; 
  (2) resolving medical benefit disputes; 
  (3) establishing performance-based tiers; 
  (4) defining performance-based incentives; 
  (5) determining sanctions or penalties; 
  (6) performing medical quality reviews; or 
  (7) assessing other matters deemed appropriate by the Commissioner of Workers' 
Compensation. 
 
(c) The Division will utilize this chapter to implement and interpret specific provisions 
contained in Labor Code §413.011(a) and (e), and this chapter takes precedence over 
any conflicting payment policy provisions adopted or utilized by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in administering the Medicare program. 
 
(d) Independent Review Organization (IRO) decisions regarding medical necessity made 
in accordance with Labor Code §413.031 and §133.308 of this title (relating to Medical 
Dispute Resolution by Independent Review Organizations), which are made on a case-
by-case basis, take precedence in that case only, over adopted treatment guidelines, 
treatment protocols, treatment planning and Medicare payment policies. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.1 adopted to be effective January 18, 2007, 32 
TexReg 163 
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RULE §137.5 Case Manager Certification 
 
(a) This section applies to all case management services as defined by Labor Code 
§401.011(5-a) that are provided under Labor Code Title 5 to injured employees by an 
insurance carrier on or after September 1, 2011. 
 
(b) This section does not apply to case management services: 
  (1) subject to Insurance Code Chapter 1305; 
  (2) subject to Labor Code §504.053(b)(2); or 
  (3) of a health care provider subject to §134.204 of this title (relating to Medical Fee 
Guideline for Workers' Compensation Specific Services). 
 
(c) Case managers who are certified must be certified by an established accredited 
organization including the National Commission for Certifying Agencies, the American 
Board of Nursing Specialties, or other national accrediting agencies with similar 
standards for case management certification. Case managers must be certified in one or 
more of the following areas: 
  (1) case management; 
  (2) case management administration; 
  (3) continuity of care; 
  (4) disability management; 
  (5) occupational health; or 
  (6) rehabilitation case management. 
 
(d) When conducting evaluations to determine if case management services are 
required, insurance carriers shall utilize case managers who are certified in accordance 
with subsection (c) of this section. 
 
(e) When providing case management services other than those specified in subsection  
(d) of this section, an insurance carrier shall utilize case managers who are: 
  (1) appropriately certified in accordance with subsection (c) of this section; or 
  (2) skilled, non-certified case managers as specified in subsection (f) of this section. 
 
(f) Skilled, non-certified case managers are eligible to provide services other than those 
identified in subsection (d) of this section if: 
  (1) they meet all of the requirements of subsection (c) to sit for a case management 
certification examination, with the exception of work experience; and 
  (2) they are working under the direct supervision of an identified case manager that is 
certified in accordance with subsection (c) of this section in order to meet the 
experience requirements to sit for a case management certification examination. 

Updated January 4, 2024 366

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=137&rl=5


 
(g) Individuals may only be employed or contracted as skilled, non-certified case 
managers as specified in subsection (f) of this section for an aggregate total of 24 
months, beginning with the first month in which the individual first performs case 
management related services that occurs after the effective date outlined in subsection 
(a) of this section. After accrual of the 24 months, these individuals shall not conduct 
case management services until a certification is obtained in accordance with subsection 
(c) of this section. 
 
(h) Insurance carriers shall be responsible for verifying and documenting in writing 
compliance with the requirements of subsections (d), (e) and (f) of this section. Insurance 
carriers shall provide this verification and documentation information to the division 
upon request. 
 
(i) Claims adjusters shall not be used as case managers. This does not prohibit claims 
adjusters from performing claims services that are within the scope of licensure in 
accordance with the Insurance Code Chapter 4101. 
 
(j) Reimbursement policies and maximum allowable reimbursement rates set forth in the 
adopted fee guidelines under §134.204 of this title between the treating doctor and 
other health care providers does not apply to the reimbursement of case managers 
employed or contracted by insurance carriers under this section. 
 
(k) If the requirements of this section are not met, the insurance carrier may be held 
liable for administrative violations in accordance with Labor Code provisions and 
division rules. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.5 adopted to be effective September 1, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11378 
 
SUBCHAPTER B RETURN TO WORK 
 
RULE §137.10 Return to Work Guidelines 
 
(a) Insurance carriers, health care providers, and employers shall use the disability 
duration values in the current edition of The Medical Disability Advisor, Workplace 
Guidelines for Disability Duration, excluding all sections and tables relating to 
rehabilitation, (MDA), published by the Reed Group, Ltd. (Division return to work 
guidelines), as guidelines for the evaluation of expected or average return to work time 
frames. 
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(b) Information on how to obtain or inspect copies of the Division return to work 
guidelines may be found on the Division's website: www.tdi.state.tx.us. 
 
(c) The Division return to work guidelines provide disability duration expectancies. The 
Division return to work guidelines shall be presumed to be a reasonable length of 
disability duration and shall be used by: 
  (1) health care providers to establish return to work goals or a return to work plan for 
safely returning injured employees to medically appropriate work environments; 
  (2) insurance carriers as a basis for requesting a designated doctor examination to 
resolve an issue regarding an injured employee's ability to return to work as well as a 
basis to initiate case management and to refer an injured employee to vocational 
rehabilitation providers; and 
  (3) employers, insurance carriers, health care providers, and injured employees to 
facilitate and improve communications among the parties regarding the return to work 
goals or plans established by health care providers. 
 
(d) The health care provider, insurance carrier, employer, and Division may consider co-
morbid conditions, medical complications, or other factors that may influence medical 
recoveries and disability durations as mitigating circumstances when setting return to 
work goals or revising expected return to work durations and goals. 
 
(e) Disability duration values in the guidelines are not absolute values and do not 
represent specific lengths or periods of time at which an injured employee must return 
to work; the values represent points in time at which additional evaluation may take 
place if full medical recovery and return to work have not occurred. System participants 
may, however, determine additional evaluation is appropriate at any time during a claim. 
The disability duration values depict a continuum from the minimum time to the 
maximum time for most individuals to return to work following a particular injury. An 
insurance carrier may request additional return to work information from a health care 
provider at any time. An insurance carrier may not use the Division return to work 
guidelines as the sole justification or the only reasonable grounds for reducing, denying, 
suspending or terminating income benefits to an injured employee. 
 
(f) For all diagnoses or injuries that are not addressed by the Division return to work 
guidelines, system participants shall establish disability duration parameters and return 
to work goals in accordance with the principles of evidence-based medicine as defined 
by Labor Code §401.011(18-a). 
 
(g) This section is effective on or after May 1, 2007. 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 368

http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/


Source Note: The provisions of this §137.10 adopted to be effective January 18, 2007, 
32 TexReg 163 
 
RULE §137.41 Purpose 
 
The purpose of §§137.41 - 137.51 of this title (relating to Disability Management) is to 
set forth the terms, conditions, and requirements for the return-to-work reimbursement 
program for employers. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.41 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective February 7, 2008, 33 TexReg 930; amended to 
be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
 
RULE §137.42 Definitions 
 
The following words and terms shall have the following meanings only for the purposes 
of the return-to-work reimbursement program for employers: 
 
  (1) Allowable expense--An expenditure of funds, costs incurred, or costs that will be 
incurred by an eligible employer for workplace modifications or other costs that are 
necessary to reasonably assist an injured employee's doctor-identified restrictions that 
are intended to facilitate the early and sustained return to work of an employee who has 
a compensable injury. An indemnity benefit, medical benefit, or health care for which an 
insurance carrier is liable is not an allowable expense under the program. 
 
  (2) Applicant--The employer requesting funds from the return-to-work reimbursement 
program. 
 
  (3) Application--The return-to-work reimbursement program application provided by 
the division for reimbursement, preauthorization, or advancement of funds used or 
proposed to be used by employers for workplace modifications. 
 
  (4) Alternative duty--Job duties that are different from the injured employee's normal 
or regular pre-injury job duties and that are assigned specifically to facilitate the injured 
employee's doctor-identified work restrictions or limitations. 
 
  (5) Eligible employer--Any employer that: 
    (A) is not a state agency or political subdivision of the state; 
    (B) employed at least two but not more than 50 employees on each business day 
during the preceding calendar year; and 
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    (C) has workers' compensation insurance coverage in Texas. 
 
  (6) Division--The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation. 
 
  (7) Modified duty--The injured employee's normal or regular pre-injury job with 
workplace modifications to facilitate doctor-identified work restrictions or limitations. 
 
  (8) Return-to-work reimbursement program (program)--The division's program for the 
reimbursement, preauthorization, or advancement of funds to eligible employers for 
allowable expenses which facilitate the early and sustained return to work of an 
employee who has a compensable injury. 
 
  (9) Return-to-work reimbursement program administrator (administrator)--The 
administrator of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
return-to-work reimbursement program for employers. 
 
  (10) Single employer--An employer operating one or more businesses under the same 
federal employer identification number. In the absence of a federal employer 
identification number, a single employer is established by the employer's social security 
number. 
 
  (11) State appropriation year--The State of Texas' fiscal accounting year that begins 
September 1 and ends August 31 of the following year. 
 
  (12) Workplace modification--Physical modifications to the worksite; equipment, 
devices, furniture, or tools; or other reasonable costs necessary to facilitate an 
employee's return to restricted, modified or alternative duty. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.42 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
 
RULE §137.43 Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program Administrator 
 
The Commissioner of Workers' Compensation shall appoint a qualified employee of the 
Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation to serve as the 
return-to-work reimbursement program administrator to implement the provisions of 
this subchapter. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.43 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
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RULE §137.44 Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program for Employers 
 
(a) Disbursements of funds for the program are dependent on the availability of funds 
identified by the division. 
 
(b) The disbursement that any single employer may receive from the program may not 
exceed $5,000 for all workplace modification expenditures made during the state 
appropriation year for all injured employees. 
 
(c) Disbursements from the program to approved eligible employers shall be made on a 
reimbursement basis, or at the discretion of the commissioner or the commissioner's 
designee on an advancement basis, subject to verification of employer eligibility, 
receipts and expenditures, workplace modifications, the employee's return to work, 
approval of the employer's application, and any other requirements listed in §§137.45 - 
137.50 of this title (relating to the Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program). 
 
(d) Applications shall be processed in the order that completed applications are received 
by the division. 
 
(e) Approved applications shall be funded from the program as funds become available. 
 
(f) Applications may be denied in whole or in part due to the lack of available funds for 
the program or if the division determines that all or part of the application does not 
meet the requirements listed in §§137.45 - 137.50 of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.44 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
 
RULE §137.45 Employer Eligibility for Disbursements from the Return-to-Work 
Reimbursement Program 
 
(a) In order to be eligible to receive a disbursement from the program, an employer 
must: 
  (1) be an eligible employer that has incurred or will incur an allowable expense; 
  (2) have Texas workers' compensation insurance coverage in effect on the date the 
employee is injured and be able to provide proof of coverage; 
  (3) submit an application for funds from the program; 
  (4) timely provide any additional or supplemental information to the administrator that 
may be deemed necessary by the division; and 
  (5) the application must be approved by the division. 
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(b) In order for an expense to be eligible for a disbursement from the program, the 
expense must not have been incurred by the employer beyond one year prior to 
submitting the application to the division. For good cause, the division or the 
administrator may extend this one year requirement. 
 
(c) After approval of an application by the division, release of funds are contingent upon 
the approval of the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. Approval of an application by 
the division is not a guarantee of release of funds from the Texas Comptroller of Public 
Accounts. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.45 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
 
RULE §137.46 Application for Funds from the Return-to-Work Reimbursement 
Program 
 
(a) An eligible employer seeking funds from the program shall submit to the division an 
application as defined in §137.42 of this title (relating to Definitions). 
 
(b) Applications shall be available on the division's website (www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc) and 
through the division. Upon request, the division shall provide an application form to an 
employer. 
 
(c) Applications shall be submitted to the division in the form prescribed by the division 
and must meet the minimum requirements provided in §137.47 of this title (relating to 
the Criteria for Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program Applications). 
 
(d) The date the completed application is received by the division shall be the official 
date for purposes of processing the application. An application shall not be processed 
for approval until all required or requested documentation has been received by the 
division and any other applicable requirements listed on the application have been met. 
 
(e) An application that has information missing or that does not include the information 
described in §137.47 of this title, receipts, or other documentation necessary to support 
the application and to justify the workplace modification may be returned to the 
employer for completion, documentation supplementation, or the application may be 
denied. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.46 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
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RULE §137.47 Criteria for Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program Applications 
 
In order to be processed and approved by the division an application must contain at a 
minimum: 
 
  (1) The date the employee returned to work or will return to work, and the injured 
employee's name, date of injury, and Texas Department of Insurance, Division of 
Workers' Compensation claim number. 
 
  (2) An employer's statement or certification that the injured employee returned to work 
or will return to work in either a modified or alternative duty capacity. 
 
  (3) An employer's statement or certification that the employer was able or will be able 
to sustain the employment of the injured employee as a result of the workplace 
modification. 
 
  (4) A copy of the division's "Work Status Report" as provided by §129.5 of this title 
(relating to Work Status Reports) from the injured employee's doctor that specifies the 
injured employee's physical restrictions or limitations, which necessitated the provision 
of a workplace modification in order for the employee to return to work in a modified or 
alternative duty capacity and additional documentation, if any. 
 
  (5) A detailed description of the workplace modification, including any supporting 
information such as receipts, photos or diagrams of the modification, and how the 
modification facilitates the doctor-identified physical restrictions or limitations. 
 
  (6) Documentation of the expenses, including receipts, that provided the workplace 
modification or other costs necessary to facilitate the injured employee's return to work 
or the estimated costs in making those proposed workplace modifications. 
 
  (7) A signature by the employer or the employer's authorized representative. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.47 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
 
RULE §137.48 Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program Administrator 
Determinations 
 
(a) The administrator shall make determinations regarding the following: 
  (1) the employer's eligibility to participate in the program; 
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  (2) the appropriateness of the workplace modification in facilitating the injured 
employee's return to work based on doctor-identified restrictions; 
  (3) the effectiveness of the workplace modification in facilitating the injured 
employee's early and sustained return to work; 
  (4) the cost of the workplace modification in relation to usual and customary costs of 
the same or similar modification; and 
  (5) the appropriateness of other costs incurred or to be incurred by the employer to 
return the injured employee to work in a modified or alternative duty capacity. 
 
(b) The administrator or designee may make an on-site evaluation or request 
information from the employer or providers of a workplace modification in order to 
verify that: 
  (1) the workplace modification was or will be provided; 
  (2) the workplace modification was or will be a reasonable modification and 
expenditure; and 
  (3) the injured employee returned to work as a result of the workplace modification. 
 
(c) The administrator may utilize the National Institute of Health's "Searchable Online 
Accommodation Resource," U.S. Department of Labor resources, Texas Department of 
Assistive and Rehabilitative Services resources, or similar resources in evaluating and 
verifying workplace modifications and associated costs. The administrator may consult 
with a rehabilitation counselor or specialist when verifying the appropriateness of 
workplace modifications and costs. 
 
(d) The administrator may approve or deny in whole or in part the employer's request 
for funds from the program pursuant to §137.44 of this title (relating to the Return-to-
Work Reimbursement Program for Employers), §137.45 of this title (relating to Employer 
Eligibility for Disbursements from the Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program), 
§137.46 of this title (relating to the Application for Funds from the Return-to-Work 
Reimbursement Program), and §137.47 of this title (relating to the Criteria for Return-to-
Work Reimbursement Program Applications). 
 
(e) Decisions regarding approval or denial of applications, the reason for approval or 
denial of an application, and the amount to be disbursed from the program are final, 
may not be appealed, and are the discretion of the administrator. 
 
(f) Upon completion of the application evaluation, the employer will be notified in 
writing of the approval or denial of the application by the administrator. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §137.48 adopted to be effective February 22, 2006, 
31 TexReg 1037; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
 
RULE §137.49 Optional Preauthorization Plan 
 
(a) An eligible employer, as provided by §137.45 of this title (relating to Employer 
Eligibility for Disbursements from the Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program), who 
participates in the return-to-work reimbursement program for employers may apply to 
the division for a preauthorized reimbursement of allowable expenses from the program 
prior to making workplace modifications designed to accommodate an injured 
employee's return to work. 
 
(b) To apply for a preauthorized reimbursement of allowable expenses, an eligible 
employer must submit to the division a properly completed application as provided in 
§137.47 of this title (relating to the Criteria for Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program 
Applications). The application may be obtained from the division as provided by §137.46 
of this title (relating to the Application for Funds from the Return-to-Work 
Reimbursement Program). 
 
(c) Applications will be reviewed in accordance with §137.48 of this title (relating to 
Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program Administrator Determinations). 
 
(d) Upon receipt of division approval of the application, the employer may begin all 
approved workplace modifications set out in the approved application. Upon 
completion of the approved workplace modifications, the employer may obtain 
reimbursement from the program by submitting to the division sufficient 
documentation and receipts to show that the approved workplace modification has 
been completed. 
 
(e) Upon receipt of the information described in subsection (d) of this section and 
subject to §137.44 of this title (relating to the Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program 
for Employers), the division shall reimburse the employer the costs incurred by the 
employer in making the approved workplace modifications unless the division 
determines that the modifications differ materially from the employer's application. 
 
(f) Release of funds are subject to §137.45(c) of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.49 adopted to be effective February 7, 2008, 
33 TexReg 930; amended to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 TexReg 3061 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 375

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=137&rl=49


RULE §137.50 Optional Advance of Funds Plan 
 
(a) An eligible employer, as provided by §137.45 of this title (relating to Employer 
Eligibility for Disbursements from the Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program), who 
participates in the return-to-work reimbursement program for employers may apply to 
the division for an advance of funds for allowable expenses from the program prior to 
making workplace modifications designed to accommodate an injured employee's 
return to work. 
 
(b) To apply for an advance of funds for allowable expenses, an eligible employer must 
submit to the division a properly completed application as provided in §137.47 of this 
title (relating to the Criteria for Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program Applications). 
The application may be obtained from the division as provided by §137.46 of this title 
(relating to the Application for Funds from the Return-to-Work Reimbursement 
Program). 
 
(c) Applications will be reviewed in accordance with §137.48 of this title (relating to 
Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program Administrator Determinations). 
 
(d) Upon receipt of a completed application and subject to §137.44 of this title (relating 
to the Return-to-Work Reimbursement Program for Employers), the division may 
advance funds to the employer to make approved workplace modifications. The 
employer shall not make workplace modifications that materially differ from the 
employer's approved application unless the employer receives written approval from the 
division for the materially different modifications. 
 
(e) Upon the receipt of the advanced funds from the division, the employer shall 
complete all approved workplace modifications set out in the approved application 
within six months of receiving funds from the division. For good cause, the division or 
the administrator may extend this six-month requirement. Any extension of time for 
completing workplace modifications must be granted by the division in writing and for a 
determinable period of time. 
 
(f) Upon completion of the approved workplace modifications, the employer shall 
submit to the division all receipts for the payments made by the employer for the 
approved modifications. Any funds not spent after the six-month time frame must be 
immediately returned to the division. 
 
(g) Release of funds are subject to §137.45(c) of this title. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §137.50 adopted to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 
TexReg 3061 
 
RULE §137.51 Monitoring and Enforcement 
 
(a) Once an application is submitted, the commissioner or the commissioner's 
designated representative(s), including the administrator, may inspect the applicant's 
business to insure that the funds have been or will be spent according to what was or 
could be authorized. The commissioner or the commissioner's designated 
representative(s), including the administrator, are authorized to make a complete on-site 
review of the operations of each applicant at the place of business where the workplace 
modification has been or will be made, as often as is deemed necessary. 
 
(b) At a minimum, notice of an on-site inspection shall be in writing and be presented 
by the commissioner or the commissioner's designated representative(s), including the 
administrator, upon arrival. On-site inspections shall not be conducted during legal 
holidays as defined in the Government Code §662.003(a). 
 
(c) During an on-site review or upon written request of the commissioner or the 
commissioner's designated representative(s), including the administrator, the applicant 
shall make available all records relating to the requested or spent funds. Employers must 
maintain all relevant records for at least one year from the date of disbursement from 
the division. 
 
(d) An employer commits an administrative violation if any part of the reimbursed or 
advanced funds are not used for the purpose or in the manner that the division 
previously approved in writing. Any unused funds must be returned to the division 
within six months of disbursement and any funds that are used not in accordance with 
the plan approved by the division must be immediately returned to the division. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.51 adopted to be effective April 25, 2010, 35 
TexReg 3061 
 
SUBCHAPTER C TREATMENT GUIDELINES 
 
RULE §137.100 Treatment Guidelines  
 
(a) Health care providers shall provide treatment in accordance with the current edition 
of the Official Disability Guidelines - Treatment in Workers' Comp, excluding the return 
to work pathways, (ODG), published by Work Loss Data Institute (Division treatment 
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guidelines), unless the treatment(s) or service(s) require(s) preauthorization in 
accordance with §134.600 of this title (relating to Preauthorization, Concurrent Review 
and Voluntary Certification of Health Care) or §137.300 of this title (relating to Required 
Treatment Planning). 
 
(b) Information on how to obtain or inspect copies of the Division treatment guidelines 
may be found on the Division's website: www.tdi.state.tx.us. 
 
(c) Health care provided in accordance with the Division treatment guidelines is 
presumed reasonable as specified in Labor Code §413.017, and is also presumed to be 
health care reasonably required as defined by Labor Code §401.011(22-a). 
 
(d) The insurance carrier is not liable for the costs of treatments or services provided in 
excess of the Division treatment guidelines unless: 
  (1) the treatment(s) or service(s) were provided in a medical emergency; or 
  (2) the treatment(s) or service(s) were preauthorized in accordance with §134.600 or 
§137.300 of this title. 
 
(e) An insurance carrier may retrospectively review, and if appropriate, deny payment for 
treatments and services not preauthorized under subsection (d) of this section when the 
insurance carrier asserts that health care provided within the Division treatment 
guidelines is not reasonably required. The assertion must be supported by 
documentation of evidence-based medicine that outweighs the presumption of 
reasonableness established by Labor Code §413.017. 
 
(f) A health care provider that proposes treatments and services which exceed, or are 
not included, in the treatment guidelines may be required to obtain preauthorization in 
accordance with §134.600 of this title, or may be required to submit a treatment plan in 
accordance with §137.300 of this title. 
 
(g) The insurance carrier shall not deny treatment solely because the diagnosis or 
treatment is not specifically addressed by the Division treatment guidelines or Division 
treatment protocols. 
 
(h) This section applies to health care provided on or after May 1, 2007. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §137.100 adopted to be effective January 18, 2007, 
32 TexReg 163 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 140  DISPUTE RESOLUTION--GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
RULE §140.1 Definitions 
 
The following words and terms, when used in this part, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
 
  (1) Benefit dispute--A disputed issue arising under the Texas Workers' Compensation 
Act (Act) in a workers' compensation claim regarding compensability or eligibility for, or 
the amount of, income or death benefits. 
 
  (2) Benefit proceeding--A proceeding pursuant to the Act, Chapter 410, conducted by 
a presiding officer to resolve one or more benefit disputes. Benefit proceedings include 
benefit review conferences, benefit contested case hearings, appeals, and, after January 
1, 1992, arbitration. 
 
  (3) Party to a proceeding--A person entitled to take part in a proceeding because of a 
direct legal interest in the outcome. 
 
  (4) Presiding officer--The division employee, or independent arbitrator, assigned to 
conduct a proceeding. Presiding officers include benefit review officers, administrative 
law judges, appeals panel judges, and arbitrators. 
 
  (5) Special accommodations--Individuals and equipment necessary to allow an 
individual who does not speak English or who has a physical, mental, or developmental 
handicap to participate in a proceeding. The term includes spoken language translators 
and sign language translators. 
 
  (6) Stipulation--A voluntary accord between parties to a benefit contested case hearing 
regarding any matter relating to the hearing that does not constitute an agreement, as 
defined by the Act, §401.011(3), or a settlement, as defined by the Act, §401.011(40). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.1 adopted to be effective May 24, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2607; amended to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 TexReg 3236; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 104 
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RULE §140.2 Special Accommodations 
 
(a) The commission, on its own motion or upon request, will provide special 
accommodations to an individual who intends to participate in a proceeding and who 
does not speak English, or who has a physical, mental, or developmental handicap. 
 
(b) A request for special accommodations may be made by the individual desiring them, 
the carrier, or anyone knowing of the need. 
 
(c) The request: 
  (1) may be made in any manner; 
  (2) should describe the special accommodations needed; and 
  (3) should be sent to the commission no later than 10 days before the date of the 
proceeding. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.2 adopted to be effective May 24, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2607 
 
RULE §140.3 Expedited Proceedings 
 
In addition to expedited proceedings provided by any other commission rule, the 
commission may provide expedited benefit review conferences and benefit contested 
case hearings for resolution of disputes involving compensability, liability for essential 
medical treatment, or any type of issue as defined by commission policy for which the 
executive director or delegate determines an expedited proceeding will serve the best 
interests of the workers' compensation system or its participants. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.3 adopted to be effective May 24, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2607; amended to be effective September 1, 1993, 18 TexReg 5214 
 
RULE §140.4 Conduct and Decorum 
 
(a) The presiding officer may at the beginning of any proceeding and during the course 
of that proceeding establish rules of decorum to be followed during the proceeding. 
The presiding officer may also establish times for beginning the proceeding, for 
recesses, and for ending the proceeding. 
 
(b) Parties and participants in a proceeding shall conduct themselves with dignity, shall 
show courtesy and respect for one another and for the presiding officer, shall follow the 
decorum prescribed by the presiding officer at the proceeding, and shall adhere to the 
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beginning times of the proceeding, and to the times established for each recess and for 
ending the proceeding. 
 
(c) To maintain and enforce proper conduct and decorum at a proceeding, and to 
enforce promptness at a proceeding, the presiding officer may take appropriate action, 
including, but not limited to: 
  (1) issuing a warning; 
  (2) excluding any person from the proceeding; 
  (3) recessing the proceeding; and 
  (4) referring an action for possible enforcement as an administrative violation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.4 adopted to be effective May 24, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2607; amended to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 TexReg 3236 
 
RULE §140.5 Correction of Clerical Error 
 
(a) The executive director or the executive director's designee may at any time revise an 
order or decision to correct clerical error: 
  (1) at the joint written request of the parties; 
  (2) at the request of a party affected by the order or decision; or 
  (3) on his or her own motion. 
 
(b) When a party requests correction of clerical error, the request must: 
  (1) include a copy of the order or decision marked to indicate the alleged error; 
  (2) state the requested correction, and the reasons for making it; 
  (3) be filed with the hearings division; and 
  (4) be sent to all other parties affected by the order or decision. 
 
(c) A party affected by the order or decision may file a response to the request no later 
than 10 days after receipt of the request. 
 
(d) No later than 30 days after the request was filed, the hearings division shall either: 
  (1) issue and deliver to the parties a corrected order or decision; or 
  (2) advise the parties in writing that the order or decision was correct as originally 
entered. 
 
(e) When clerical error is corrected on the motion of the executive director or designee, 
a copy of the corrected order or decision will be delivered to all affected parties. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §140.5 adopted to be effective May 24, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2607; amended to be effective May 1, 1996, 21 TexReg 3436 
 
RULE §140.6 Subclaimant Status: Establishment, Rights, and Procedures 
 
(a) Applicability. This section is applicable to a subclaim pursued under Labor Code 
§409.009, including a subclaim pursued by a health care insurer. 
 
(b) Party status. A subclaimant as described in §409.009 is a party to a claim concerning 
workers' compensation benefits. 
 
(c) Rights in Relation to the Injured Employee. 
  (1) A subclaimant may file and pursue a claim for reimbursement of a benefit that has 
been provided to an injured employee, and is entitled to appropriate dispute resolution 
in accordance with the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (Act) and Division of Workers' 
Compensation (Division) rules. 
  (2) A subclaimant may pursue a claim for reimbursement of a benefit that has been 
provided to an injured employee and participate in the dispute resolution process 
without the participation of the injured employee if: 
    (A) there is no prior written agreement between the injured employee and the 
workers' compensation insurance carrier or no final decision by the Division on the issue 
in dispute; 
    (B) the workers' compensation insurance carrier has denied the entitlement to 
benefits under the Act and Division rules; 
    (C) the injured employee is not pursuing dispute resolution to establish the injured 
employee's entitlement to benefits with reasonable diligence; and 
    (D) the subclaimant has provided the injured employee with written notice of: 
      (i) subclaimant's intent to pursue a claim for reimbursement of a benefit; 
      (ii) warning that a decision rendered may be binding against the injured employee; 
and 
      (iii) contact information for the Office of the Injured Employee Counsel. 
  (3) At a contested case hearing without the participation of the injured employee, the 
subclaimant must show, in addition to other facts: 
    (A) subclaimant provided written notice to the injured employee as specified in 
paragraph (2)(D) of this subsection; 
    (B) it has contacted the injured employee and the injured employee is not pursuing 
the dispute with reasonable diligence; or 
    (C) it has been unable to contact the injured employee through the exercise of 
reasonable diligence. 
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(d) Claims for Reimbursement of Medical Benefits. 
  (1) Subclaimants, other than subclaimants described in §409.0091, must pursue a claim 
for reimbursement of medical benefits and participate in medical dispute resolution in 
the same manner as an injured employee or in the same manner as a health care 
provider, as appropriate, under Chapters 133 and 134 of this title (relating to General 
Medical Provisions and Benefits--Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges, and 
Payments). 
  (2) A health care insurer subclaimant must submit a reimbursement request in the 
form/format and manner prescribed by the Division and must contain all the required 
elements listed on the form. 
  (3) Workers' compensation insurance carriers must process reimbursement requests 
from subclaimants pursuant to Chapters 133 and 134 of this title. 
 
(e) Contested Case Hearing. A subclaimant may pursue a contested case hearing under 
the provisions of Chapters 140 - 143 of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.6 adopted to be effective September 23, 2008, 
33 TexReg 8002 
 
RULE §140.7 Health Care Insurer Reimbursement under Labor Code §409.0091 
 
(a) Applicability. This section applies only to subclaims by a health care insurer based on 
information received under Labor Code §402.084(c-3). 
 
(b) Health care insurer. "Health care insurer" means an insurance carrier and an 
authorized representative of an insurance carrier, as described by Labor Code 
§402.084(c-1). 
 
(c) Reimbursement of Health Care Insurers. A health care insurer may be reimbursed for 
medical benefits provided to or paid on behalf of an injured employee with a 
compensable workers' compensation claim in accordance with Labor Code §409.0091, 
the procedures of §140.8 of this title (relating to Procedures for Health Care Insurers to 
Pursue Reimbursement of Medical Benefits under Labor Code §409.0091), and this 
section. 
 
(d) Certain Defenses Not Allowed. A workers' compensation insurance carrier shall not 
deny a reimbursement request under Labor Code §409.0091 from a health care insurer 
because: 
  (1) the health care insurer has not sought reimbursement from the health care provider 
or the health care insurer's insured; 
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  (2) the health care insurer or the health care provider did not request preauthorization 
under §134.600 of this title (relating to Preauthorization, Concurrent Review, and 
Voluntary Certification of Health Care) or Labor Code §413.014; or 
  (3) the health care provider did not bill the workers' compensation insurance carrier, as 
provided by Labor Code §408.027, before the 95th day after the date the health care for 
which the health care insurer paid was provided. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.7 adopted to be effective September 23, 2008, 
33 TexReg 8002 
 
RULE §140.8 Procedures for Health Care Insurers to Pursue Reimbursement of 
Medical Benefits under Labor Code §409.0091 
 
(a) Applicability. This section applies only to subclaims by a health care insurer based on 
information received under Labor Code §402.084(c-3). 
 
(b) Health care insurer. "Health care insurer" means an insurance carrier and an 
authorized representative of an insurance carrier, as described by Labor Code 
§402.084(c-1). 
 
(c) Request to Workers' Compensation Insurance Carrier. A health care insurer seeking 
reimbursement must first file a reimbursement request with the workers' compensation 
insurance carrier. 
  (1) Form. The request must be in the form/format and manner prescribed by the 
Division of Workers' Compensation (Division) and must contain all the required 
elements listed on the form. 
  (2) Notice. The health care insurer must give notice of the request to the injured 
employee and the health care provider that performed the services that are the subject 
of the reimbursement request. The notice shall include a copy of the reimbursement 
request and an explanation that the health care insurer is seeking reimbursement for 
medical care costs. 
 
(d) Deadlines for Response to Reimbursement Request to the Workers' Compensation 
Insurance Carrier. 
  (1) 90 Day Response Deadline. The workers' compensation insurance carrier must 
respond to a reimbursement request under this section by either paying, reducing, or 
denying payment in writing not later than the 90th day after the date the 
reimbursement request was first received, unless additional information is requested, 
pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection. 
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  (2) Request for Additional Information. The workers' compensation insurance carrier 
may request additional information from the health care insurer if there is not sufficient 
information to substantiate the claim. The health care insurer has 30 days after receiving 
the request for more information to provide the information requested to the workers' 
compensation insurance carrier. Any request for additional information shall be in 
writing, be relevant and necessary for the resolution of the request. A workers' 
compensation insurance carrier shall not be penalized, including not being held 
responsible for costs of obtaining the additional information, if the workers' 
compensation insurance carrier denies payment in order to move to dispute resolution 
to obtain additional information to process the request. It is the health care insurer's 
obligation to furnish its authorized representatives with any information necessary for 
the resolution of a reimbursement request. The Division considers any medical billing 
information or documentation possessed by the health care insurer or one of its 
authorized representatives to be simultaneously possessed by the health care insurer 
and all of its authorized representatives. 
  (3) 120 Day Response Deadline. If the workers' compensation insurance carrier has 
requested additional information from the health care insurer pursuant to paragraph (2) 
of this subsection, the workers' compensation insurance carrier must respond in writing 
to the health care insurer's reimbursement request not later than the 120th day after the 
date the reimbursement request was first received, unless otherwise provided by mutual 
agreement. 
 
(e) Response to a Reimbursement Request. The workers' compensation insurance carrier 
must respond to a reimbursement request by either paying, reducing or denying 
payment. 
  (1) Paying or Reducing Payment. 
    (A) The workers' compensation insurance carrier shall pay the health care insurer the 
lesser of: 
      (i) the amount payable under the applicable Division fee guideline as of the date of 
service; or 
      (ii) the actual amount paid by the health care insurer. 
    (B) If No Fee Guideline. In the absence of a Division fee guideline for a specific service 
paid, the amount per service paid by the health care insurer shall be considered in 
determining a fair and reasonable payment pursuant to §134.1 of this title (relating to 
Medical Reimbursement). 
    (C) Interest. The health care insurer may not recover interest as a part of the payable 
amount. 
    (D) Previous Payments. The workers' compensation insurance carrier shall reduce any 
reimbursable amount by any payments the workers' compensation insurance carrier 
previously made to the same health care provider for the provision of the same health 
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care on the same dates of service. In making such a reduction in reimbursement, the 
workers' compensation insurance carrier shall provide evidence of the previous 
payments made to the health care provider. 
    (E) Notice to Injured Employee and Health Care Provider. The workers' compensation 
insurance carrier must give notice of its response to the reimbursement request to the 
injured employee and the health care provider that performed the services that are the 
subject of the reimbursement request. If the claim is compensable, the notice shall 
include an explanation that the claim is compensable and that the health care provider 
must reimburse the injured employee for any amounts paid to the health care provider 
by the injured employee. 
    (F) The health care provider may submit a reimbursement request to the workers' 
compensation insurance carrier for any money owed under Division fee guidelines for 
the medical services rendered on a compensable claim and is entitled to dispute 
resolution under §133.307 of this title (relating to MDR of Fee Disputes). The workers' 
compensation insurance carrier is liable for full payment in accordance with Division fee 
guidelines and applicable rules for the medical services rendered on a compensable 
claim. 
  (2) Explanation of Benefits. The workers' compensation insurance carrier must provide 
the health care insurer, all health care providers, and the injured employee an 
explanation of benefits (EOB) in the form and manner prescribed by the Division. The 
EOB must provide sufficient explanation regarding the basis for a denial of the 
reimbursement request. 
 
(f) Reimbursement of Injured Employee. If the injured employee's medical care costs are 
reimbursable under Title 5 of the Labor Code, a health care provider must refund to the 
injured employee any payments made by the injured employee to the health care 
provider, including but not limited to, copays and deductibles. Reimbursement must be 
made within 45 days of receipt of the notice that the claim is compensable. 
 
(g) Filing Notice of Subclaimant Status. 
  (1) 120 Day Deadline. A health care insurer must file a written notice of subclaimant 
status with the Division not later than the 120th day after a workers' compensation 
insurance carrier fails to respond to a health care insurer's reimbursement request or 
reduces or denies the requested reimbursement amount. 
  (2) Location for Filing Notice. The notice may be filed with the Division of Workers' 
Compensation at any local Division field office or at the Division's central office in 
Austin, Texas. 
  (3) One Injured Employee Per Notice. A health care insurer must file separate notices 
for each individual injured employee in which the health care insurer seeks subclaimant 
status. 
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  (4) One Notice Per Injured Employee Date of Injury. If an individual injured employee 
has multiple claims based on different dates of injury, the health care insurer must file a 
separate notice for each date of injury for which medical benefits were provided. 
  (5) Form. The notice of subclaimant status must be in the form and manner prescribed 
by the Division. 
 
(h) Request for Dispute Resolution. The rules applicable to dispute resolution vary 
according to the reason for denial of reimbursement. Disputes regarding extent of 
injury, liability, or medical necessity must be resolved prior to pursuing a medical fee 
dispute. A request for medical dispute resolution may be filed in lieu of a request for 
subclaimant status, and shall be considered a request for subclaimant status for 
purposes of this section. 
  (1) Claim or Treatment Not Compensable. 
    (A) A health care insurer must file a request for a benefit review conference pursuant 
to §141.1 of this title (relating to Requesting and Setting a Benefit Review Conference) 
with the Division not later than the 120th day after a workers' compensation insurance 
carrier reduces or denies the requested reimbursement amount based on 
compensability or extent of injury issues. 
    (B) The health care insurer may pursue dispute resolution to obtain an order from an 
administrative law judge regarding compensability or eligibility for benefits in 
accordance with Labor Code Chapter 410 and applicable Division rules. 
    (C) A subclaim dispute based on a denial of reimbursement due to compensability or 
extent of injury is subject to dispute resolution pursuant to Chapters 140 - 143 of this 
title (relating to Dispute Resolution). 
  (2) Lack of Medical Necessity. 
    (A) A health care insurer must file a request for medical dispute resolution with the 
workers' compensation insurance carrier or the insurance carrier's utilization review 
agent not later than the 120th day after a workers' compensation insurance carrier 
reduces or denies the requested reimbursement amount due to lack of medical 
necessity. 
    (B) A medical dispute based on the workers' compensation insurance carrier's denial 
of a health care insurer's reimbursement request due to lack of medical necessity is 
subject to dispute resolution pursuant to §133.308 of this title (relating to MDR of 
Medical Necessity Disputes). 
    (C) A subclaimant shall follow the independent review process allowed for a non-
network health care provider seeking retrospective review of a service under that 
section, with any modifications specified by this subsection. 
    (D) A request for reconsideration is not required prior to a request for independent 
review, notwithstanding the requirements for requesting independent review under 
§133.308 of this title. 
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    (E) A request for independent review may be filed, notwithstanding the timeliness 
requirements for filing a request for independent review under §133.308 of this title. 
    (F) Notwithstanding the provisions of §133.308 of this title, regarding independent 
review organization requests for additional information, if a health care provider is 
requested to submit records, the health care insurer shall reimburse the health care 
provider copy expenses for the requested records. 
  (3) Reduction, Denial or Failure to Respond. 
    (A) A health care insurer must file a request for medical dispute resolution with the 
Division not later than: 
      (i) the 120th day after a workers' compensation insurance carrier fails to respond to 
a health care insurer's reimbursement request or reduces or denies the requested 
reimbursement amount for reasons other than lack of medical necessity; or 
      (ii) 60 days after the date the requestor receives the final decision, inclusive of all 
appeals, on compensability or extent of injury issues raised in accordance with this 
subsection. 
    (B) A medical dispute based on the workers' compensation insurance carrier's failure 
to respond to a health care insurer's reimbursement request or the result of a reduction 
or denial of the requested reimbursement amount for reasons other than those listed in 
paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection is subject to medical dispute resolution pursuant 
to §133.307 of this title, notwithstanding the definition of medical fee dispute in 
§133.305 of this title (relating to MDR--General), and the health care insurer must follow 
the medical fee dispute resolution process allowed for a health care provider under that 
section, with any modifications specified by this subsection. 
    (C) Notwithstanding the requirements of §133.307(c)(2) of this title, a health care 
insurer shall only be required to include with a request for medical fee dispute 
resolution, a copy of the health care insurer reimbursement request as originally 
submitted to the workers' compensation insurance carrier, a copy of the EOB relevant to 
the fee dispute received from the workers' compensation insurance carrier, and 
sufficient information to substantiate the claim. 
    (D) A request for reconsideration is not required prior to a request for medical fee 
dispute resolution, notwithstanding the requirements for requesting medical fee dispute 
resolution under §133.307 of this title. 
    (E) A request for medical fee dispute resolution may be filed, notwithstanding the 
timeliness requirements for filing a request for medical fee dispute resolution under 
§133.307 of this title. 
 
(i) Multiple Entities Seeking Reimbursement for Same Services. If there are multiple 
entities seeking reimbursement for the same services and dates of services for the same 
health care insurer for the same injured employee, the following apply: 
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  (1) When the workers' compensation insurance carrier obtains a release from the 
health care insurer indicating that those specific services have been paid in full, no other 
entity may collect for those specific services. 
  (2) If a dispute remains over the fees to be paid for those specific services, the first in 
time to file a dispute with the Division is the only subclaimant that has a right to dispute 
resolution, and reimbursement, for that injured employee's claim and those specific 
services rendered unless that subclaimant abandons the dispute resolution process prior 
to a final adjudication of the issues. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.8 adopted to be effective September 23, 2008, 
33 TexReg 8002; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 104 
 
RULE §140.9 Requests by Parties 
 
(a) This subsection applies to carriers, carrier representatives, claimants represented by 
an attorney, and claimants assisted by the Office of Injured Employee Counsel (OIEC). 
The parties shall work collaboratively to reach any agreement reasonably necessary for 
the efficient disposition of a case. Unless presented during a proceeding, all requests to 
presiding officers, including rescheduling and continuance requests, discovery requests, 
and other requests, must be in writing and include a signed statement that the 
requester made reasonable efforts to confer with the other party or parties about the 
request. If the requester was unable to confer with the other party or parties, the 
statement must summarize the efforts made to confer. If the parties conferred, the 
statement must: 
  (1) include whether the other party or parties oppose the request; and 
  (2) for a request to reschedule or continue a proceeding, propose a date and time the 
parties are available for the rescheduled proceeding that has been coordinated with the 
division's docketing section. 
 
(b) Requests must be sent to the division and to the opposing party or parties. For 
claimants represented by an attorney, requests must be sent to the claimant and the 
claimant's representative. For claimants assisted by OIEC, requests must be sent to the 
claimant and to OIEC. 
 
(c) Unless otherwise directed or allowed by a presiding officer, any responses to 
requests for rescheduling and continuance must be filed, in writing, with the division 
and delivered to all parties within three days of receipt of the request and any responses 
to other requests must be filed, in writing, with the division and delivered to all parties 
within five days of receipt. 
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(d) Unless precluded by other law, a presiding officer may, in the interest of justice, 
consider a request or response that is not timely filed or which otherwise fails to comply 
with the requirements of this section. The presiding officer may reconsider previous 
rulings made in the absence of this information. 
 
(e) Requests to reschedule or cancel a benefit review conference must meet the 
requirements of §141.2 of this title (relating to Canceling or Rescheduling a Benefit 
Review Conference). 
 
(f) Claimants who are neither represented by an attorney nor assisted by OIEC may 
request a continuance by contacting the division in any manner. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §140.9 adopted to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 
TexReg 104 
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TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 141  DISPUTE RESOLUTION--BENEFIT REVIEW CONFERENCE 
 
RULE §141.1 Requesting and Setting a Benefit Review Conference 
 
(a) Prior Notification. Before requesting a benefit review conference, a disputing party 
must notify the other parties of the nature of the dispute and attempt to resolve the 
dispute. 
 
(b) Who May Request. A request for a benefit review conference may be made by an 
injured employee, a subclaimant, or an insurance carrier. An employer may request a 
benefit review conference to contest compensability when the insurance carrier has 
accepted the claim as compensable. 
 
(c) Subclaimant. A request for a benefit review conference made by a subclaimant under 
Labor Code §409.009 must also comply with the requirements of §140.6 of this title 
(relating to Subclaimant Status: Establishment, Rights, and Procedures). 
 
(d) Request for Benefit Review Conference. A request for a benefit review conference 
must be made in the form and manner required by the division. The request must: 
  (1) identify and describe the disputed issues; 
  (2) provide details and supporting documentation of efforts made by the requesting 
party to resolve the disputed issues, including, but not limited to, copies of the 
notification provided in accordance with subsection (a) of this section, correspondence, 
emails, faxes, records of telephone contacts, or summaries of meetings or telephone 
conversations. For the purposes of this subsection, copies of the notification provided 
under subsection (a) of this section, correspondence, emails, faxes, records of telephone 
contacts, or summaries of meetings or telephone conversations should not include all 
attachments of pertinent information exchanged with the opposing parties as required 
by §141.4 of this title (relating to Sending and Exchanging Pertinent Information); 
  (3) contain the requesting party's signature to show that the party made reasonable 
efforts to resolve the disputed issues before requesting a benefit review conference, and 
provide any pertinent information in their possession to the other parties as required by 
§141.4(c) of this title; and 
  (4) send the request to the division and opposing parties. 
 
(e) Complete Request. A request that meets the requirements of subsection (d) of this 
section is a complete request for a benefit review conference. The division will schedule 
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a benefit review conference if the request is complete and otherwise appropriate for a 
benefit review conference. 
 
(f) Incomplete Request. A request for a benefit review conference that does not meet 
the requirements of subsection (d) of this section is an incomplete request. The division 
will deny an incomplete request. 
  (1) A denied request for a benefit review conference does not constitute a dispute 
proceeding, except as provided by subsection (g) of this section. 
  (2) If the division denies a request, it will provide notice to the parties and state the 
reasons for the denial. 
  (3) On notice from the division, the requesting party may submit a new request for a 
benefit review conference that meets the requirements of this section. 
 
(g) Incomplete Request Denials. If a party disagrees with the division's determination 
that the request was incomplete, or if a party has good cause for failing to meet the 
requirements of subsection (d) of this section, the party may pursue an administrative 
appeal of the division's determination under Chapter 142 of this title (relating to Dispute 
Resolution--Benefit Contested Case Hearing). The party may also request an expedited 
contested case hearing under §140.3 of this title (relating to Expedited Proceedings). 
 
(h) Setting. If a request meets the standards of subsection (e) of this section, the division 
will schedule a benefit review conference: 
  (1) within 40 days after the division received the request; and 
  (2) within 20 days after the division received the request, if the division determines that 
an expedited setting is needed. 
 
(i) Notice. After setting the benefit review conference, the division must provide, by first 
class mail, electronic transmission, or personal delivery, written notice of the date, time, 
and location to the parties and the employer. 
 
(j) Method for Conducting. The benefit review conference will be conducted by 
telephone or videoconference, unless the division determines that good cause exists for 
conducting the benefit review conference in person. Unless the division determines that 
good cause exists for the selection of a different location, an in-person benefit review 
conference will be conducted at a site no more than 75 miles from the injured 
employee's residence at the time of injury. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §141.1 adopted to be effective June 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2876; amended to be effective October 1, 2010, 35 TexReg 7430; amended to be 
effective December 9, 2021, 46 TexReg 8258 
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RULE §141.2 Canceling or Rescheduling a Benefit Review Conference 
 
(a) In this subsection, "good cause" will be determined at the discretion of the benefit 
review officer on a case-by-case basis, including consideration of prejudice to parties, 
and means: 
  (1) objective facts beyond the control of a party, which reasonably: 
    (A) prevent a party from attending the benefit review conference; or 
    (B) would prevent the benefit review conference from accomplishing its purpose, such 
as the need for a reasonable amount of additional time to secure necessary evidence for 
the dispute; or 
  (2) objective facts which make the benefit review conference unnecessary. 
 
(b) The division may cancel a benefit review conference at any time before the benefit 
review conference: 
  (1) on its own motion; 
  (2) at the request of the party who requested the conference; or 
  (3) at the mutual request of the parties. 
 
(c) The division may reschedule a benefit review conference at any time before the 
benefit review conference: 
  (1) on its own motion, or 
  (2) at the request of a party. 
 
(d) A request for cancellation or rescheduling under subsection (b) or (c) of this section 
shall be made by notifying the division in writing, with a copy to all parties, within 10 
days of the date the notice of setting is received. 
  (1) The first request to reschedule a benefit review conference under subsection (d) of 
this section does not have to demonstrate good cause for the request but must comply 
with §140.9 of this title (relating to Requests by Parties). 
  (2) A request to reschedule or cancel a benefit review conference made outside of the 
10-day period, as well as all subsequent rescheduling requests under subsection (c) of 
this section by any party, must: 
    (A) be in writing and in the form prescribed by the division; 
    (B) demonstrate good cause for canceling or rescheduling, as defined by subsection 
(a) of this section; 
    (C) be sent to the division and opposing party or parties no later than five days before 
the scheduled benefit review conference unless good cause is demonstrated for filing 
later; and 
    (D) comply with the requirements of §140.9 of this title. 
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  (3) A claimant who is neither represented by an attorney nor assisted by OIEC may 
request that a benefit review conference be rescheduled or cancelled by contacting the 
division in any manner. 
  (4) A cancellation of a benefit review conference without simultaneous rescheduling 
constitutes a withdrawal of the dispute on the issue. A request to cancel a benefit review 
conference subject to §130.12 of this title (relating to Finality of the First Certification of 
Maximum Medical Improvement and/or First Assignment of Impairment Rating) must 
comply with the provisions of §130.12(b)(3) of this title. 
  (5) Unless otherwise directed by a presiding officer, a party opposing the rescheduling 
or cancellation of a benefit review conference must file any written opposition with the 
division within three days of receiving the cancellation or rescheduling request. 
  (6) The division will notify the parties of a cancellation or rescheduling of a benefit 
review conference in a timely manner. 
  (7) If the benefit review officer denies a request to cancel or reschedule a benefit 
review conference under this section, the benefit review officer will notify the parties in 
writing and state the reasons for the denial. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §141.2 adopted to be effective June 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2876; amended to be effective October 1, 2010, 35 TexReg 7430; amended to be 
effective November 20, 2011, 36 TexReg 7867; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 
44 TexReg 107 
 
RULE §141.3 Failure to Attend a Benefit Review Conference 
 
(a) Applicability. This subsection applies to a benefit review conference that is requested 
before December 1, 2011. 
  (1) When a party fails to attend a benefit review conference without good cause, as 
determined by the benefit review officer, the benefit review officer: 
    (A) shall hold the conference as scheduled; and 
    (B) may recommend the issuance of an administrative violation. 
  (2) A representative who fails to attend a benefit review conference without good 
cause commits an administrative violation. 
 
(b) Applicability. This subsection applies to a benefit review conference that is requested 
on or after December 1, 2011. 
  (1) In this subsection, "good cause" will be determined at the discretion of the benefit 
review officer on a case-by-case basis and means objective facts beyond the control of a 
party, which reasonably: 
    (A) prevented the party from attending the benefit review conference; 

Updated January 4, 2024 394

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=141&rl=3


    (B) prevented the party from requesting the division to cancel or reschedule in 
advance of the benefit review conference; and 
    (C) if applicable, prevented the party from filing a request to reschedule within the 
third business day after failing to attend the scheduled benefit review conference and 
justifies the subsequent delay in filing the request to reschedule. 
  (2) When a party fails to attend a benefit review conference without good cause, as 
determined by the benefit review officer, the benefit review officer shall hold the 
conference as scheduled. 
  (3) A party who fails to attend a scheduled benefit review conference may request to 
reschedule the benefit review conference under the provisions of this subsection. The 
request to reschedule must: 
    (A) be filed with the division as soon as practicable, but no later than the close of the 
third business day after the scheduled benefit review conference, unless good cause 
exists for further delay; 
    (B) be in writing and in the form prescribed by the division; 
    (C) establish good cause in accordance with paragraph (1) of this subsection; and 
    (D) be sent to opposing party or parties. 
  (4) Except as provided by paragraph (5) of this subsection, if a party fails to attend a 
benefit review conference without good cause, the party forfeits the party's entitlement 
to attend a benefit review conference on the issue in dispute. If a party forfeits this 
entitlement, the division will not reschedule the benefit review conference on the issue 
in dispute. 
  (5) A party will not be considered to have forfeited the party's entitlement to attend a 
benefit review conference on the issue in dispute under paragraph (4) of this subsection 
if a benefit review officer is authorized to schedule an additional benefit review 
conference under Labor Code §410.026(b). 
  (6) A party who forfeits the party's entitlement to attend a benefit review conference 
on the issue in dispute does not forfeit the party's right, as provided by the Workers' 
Compensation Act and division rules, to a contested case hearing on the issue in 
dispute. 
  (7) Notwithstanding paragraph (3) of this subsection, the division may refuse to 
reschedule a benefit review conference under this section and may direct the parties to 
proceed to a contested case hearing, if authorized under §142.5(b) of this title (relating 
to Sequence of Proceedings to Resolve Benefit Disputes). 
  (8) A party who fails to attend a benefit review conference without good cause 
commits an administrative violation. 
  (9) If the benefit review officer denies a request to reschedule a benefit review 
conference under this section, the benefit review officer will notify the parties in writing 
and state the reasons for the denial. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §141.3 adopted to be effective June 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2876; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3988; amended to be 
effective November 20, 2011, 36 TexReg 7867 
 
RULE §141.4 Sending and Exchanging Pertinent Information 
 
(a) As used in this chapter "pertinent information" means all information relevant to the 
resolution of the disputed issue or issues to be addressed at the benefit review 
conference, including but not limited to: 
  (1) reports regarding the compensable injury; 
  (2) the injured employee's wage records; and 
  (3) the injured employee's medical records. 
 
(b) Examples of "pertinent information" are listed on the division's website. 
 
(c) All pertinent information, as described in subsections (a) and (b) of this section, not 
previously exchanged, in the possession of the party requesting a benefit review 
conference must be sent to the opposing party or parties before the time the request 
for a benefit review conference is sent to the division. 
 
(d) The opposing party must send all pertinent information in its possession, not 
previously exchanged, to the requesting party and other parties within 10 working days 
after receiving a copy of the request for a benefit review conference. 
 
(e) Not later than 14 days before the benefit review conference, or not later than five 
days before an expedited conference set under §141.1(d)(2) of this title (relating to 
Requesting and Setting a Benefit Review Conference): 
  (1) all pertinent information in the parties' possession not previously sent to the 
division shall be sent to the division; and 
  (2) all pertinent information in the parties' possession not previously exchanged must 
be sent to the other parties. 
 
(f) Additional pertinent information that becomes available thereafter shall be brought 
to the conference in sufficient copies for the division and opposing party or parties. 
 
(g) The benefit review officer may schedule a second conference upon a determination 
that pertinent information necessary to resolve the dispute has not been submitted or 
exchanged. No more than two benefit review conferences may be scheduled for each 
disputed issue. 
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(h) The division will not retain the pertinent information received for the BRC after the 
parties: 
  (1) reach an agreement on the issues; 
  (2) set unresolved issues for a contested case hearing; or 
  (3) fail to reschedule a second benefit review conference within at least 90 days after 
the first benefit review conference. 
 
(i) Effective date. The effective date of this section is October 1, 2010. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §141.4 adopted to be effective June 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2876; amended to be effective October 1, 2010, 35 TexReg 7430 
 
RULE §141.5 Description of the Benefit Review Conference 
 
(a) Definitions. As used in this section, "participant" means an individual entitled or 
permitted to attend and take part in a benefit review conference. Participants include: 
  (1) the parties; 
  (2) the parties' representatives; 
  (3) the employer exercising the right to present evidence relevant to the disputed issue 
or issues; and 
  (4) any other individual, at the discretion of the benefit review officer. 
 
(b) Overview of the benefit review conference. The benefit review conference consists of 
three parts: opening, mediation, and closing. 
 
(c) Opening. The benefit review officer shall: 
  (1) identify the case and introduce the parties and other participants; 
  (2) thoroughly inform the parties and participants of their rights and responsibilities 
under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act; 
  (3) explain the purpose of the conference and the procedures and time frame to be 
observed; 
  (4) identify and describe the disputed issues to be mediated; and 
  (5) elicit each party's statement of position regarding each disputed issue. 
 
(d) Mediation. The benefit review officer shall: 
  (1) ask and answer questions of the parties and other participants; 
  (2) encourage the parties to discuss the disputed issues and ask and answer questions; 
  (3) permit the employer to present evidence relevant to the disputed issues; 
  (4) permit other participants to discuss the disputed issues and ask and answer 
questions, to the extent the benefit review officer deems appropriate; 
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  (5) if necessary, caucus individually with each party; 
  (6) assist the parties to agree on specific options for resolution; and 
  (7) assist the parties in resolving disputed issues by agreement or settlement. 
 
(e) Closing. The benefit review officer shall: 
  (1) assist the parties in reducing agreements or settlements to writing; 
  (2) identify any issues left unresolved; and 
  (3) if available information pertinent to the resolution of the disputed issue(s) was not 
produced at the benefit review conference, require a second benefit review conference 
to be scheduled if a second one has not already been conducted. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §141.5 adopted to be effective June 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2876; amended to be effective September 4, 2006, 31 TexReg 7127 
 
RULE §141.7 Division Actions After a Benefit Review Conference 
 
(a) All Issues Resolved. Division actions if all issues are resolved at the benefit review 
conference. 
  (1) If all issues in dispute are resolved at the benefit review conference by agreement 
or settlement, the agreement or settlement must be reduced to writing and signed by 
each party and their designated representative, if any, and the benefit review officer. 
  (2) The benefit review officer shall make the agreement part of the claim file. If all 
issues in dispute are resolved at the benefit review conference by settlement, the benefit 
review officer shall submit the signed settlement to the commissioner or commissioner's 
designee for handling as provided by Chapter 147 of this title (relating to Dispute 
Resolution--Agreements, Settlements, Commutations). If the commissioner or 
commissioner's designee rejects the settlement, the parties may request: 
    (A) a second benefit review conference, if a second benefit review conference has not 
already been held; or 
    (B) a contested case hearing. 
 
(b) Issues Not Resolved. Division actions if issues are not resolved at the benefit review 
conference. 
  (1) After First Benefit Review Conference. If all issues in dispute are not resolved at the 
first benefit review conference, the benefit review officer may set a second benefit 
review conference or a contested case hearing. 
  (2) After Second Benefit Review Conference. If all issues in dispute are not resolved at 
the second benefit review conference, a contested case hearing will be scheduled by the 
benefit review officer. 
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(c) Written Report. Within five days after the benefit review conference is closed, the 
benefit review officer shall submit the written report and any signed agreements to the 
division's central office in Austin in accordance with Labor Code §410.031 and §410.034. 
 
(d) Copies of Report and Hearing Notice. The division shall send to the injured 
employee; injured employee's representative, if any; the insurance carrier; subclaimants; 
and the employer the following: 
  (1) a file-stamped copy of the report; and 
  (2) notice of the date, time, and location of the contested case hearing. 
 
(e) Effective date. The effective date of this section is October 1, 2010. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §141.7 adopted to be effective June 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2876; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3988; amended to be 
effective September 4, 2006, 31 TexReg 7127; amended to be effective October 1, 2010, 
35 TexReg 7430 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 142 DISPUTE RESOLUTION--BENEFIT CONTESTED CASE 

HEARING 
 
RULE §142.1 Application of the Administrative Procedure Act 
 
The following sections of the Government Code, apply to benefit contested case 
hearings: §2001.201, relating to enforcement of subpoenas. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.1 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990 
 
RULE §142.2 Authority of the Administrative Law Judge 
 
The administrative law judge is authorized to: 
 
  (1) issue subpoenas; 
 
  (2) rule on requests; 
 
  (3) issue orders, including interlocutory orders; 
 
  (4) use summary procedures as provided by §142.8 of this chapter (relating to 
Summary Procedures); 
 
  (5) direct parties to appear at a prehearing conference to resolve evidentiary and 
procedural issues; 
 
  (6) establish time limits for conducting a hearing; 
 
  (7) administer oaths; 
 
  (8) rule on the admissibility of evidence; 
 
  (9) determine the relevancy, materiality, weight, and credibility of evidence; 
 
  (10) request additional evidence; 
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  (11) take official notice of the law of Texas and other jurisdictions, Texas city and 
county ordinances, the contents of the Texas Register, the rule of state agencies, facts 
that are judicially cognizable, and generally recognized facts within the division's 
specialized knowledge; 
 
  (12) examine parties and witnesses, and permit examination and cross-examination of 
parties and witnesses; 
 
  (13) recess, postpone, or dismiss a hearing; and 
 
  (14) take any other action as authorized by law, or as may facilitate the orderly conduct 
and disposition of the hearing. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.2 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.3 Ex Parte Communications 
 
(a) No person, except as otherwise provided in subsection (c) of this section, may 
communicate, either directly or indirectly, with the administrative law judge regarding 
any facts, issues, law or rules relating to the benefit contested case hearing after the 
hearing has been set, and until all administrative and judicial remedies have been 
exhausted, unless all parties to the hearing are present, except where the 
communication is: 
  (1) written; and 
  (2) delivered to all parties, as provided by §142.4 of this title (relating to Delivery of 
Copies to All Parties). 
 
(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, any of the individuals named in 
subsection (a) may communicate with the administrative law judge in any manner 
regarding procedural issues. 
 
(c) An administrative law judge assigned to render a decision in a benefit contested case 
hearing, may communicate ex parte with other division employees for the purpose of 
utilizing their special skills or knowledge in evaluating the evidence. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.3 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
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RULE §142.4 Delivery of Copies to All Parties 
 
A party who sends a document relating to a benefit contested case hearing to the 
division shall also deliver copies of the document to all other parties as provided in 
§140.9 of this title (Requests by Parties). Delivery shall be accomplished by presenting in 
person, mailing by first class mail, facsimile, or electronic transmission. The document 
sent to the division shall contain a statement certifying delivery. The following statement 
of certification shall be used: "I hereby certify that I have on this ______ day of 
____________, _______, delivered a copy of the attached document to (state the names of 
all parties to whom a copy was delivered) by (state the manner of delivery)." 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.4 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.5 Sequence of Proceedings to Resolve Benefit Disputes 
 
(a) Usual sequence. Except as provided in this section, parties to a benefit dispute are 
required to attempt to resolve the dispute by mediation at a benefit review conference 
before proceeding to a contested case hearing or to arbitration by mutual election. 
 
(b) Guidelines for proceeding directly to a benefit contested case hearing. Parties may 
proceed directly to a contested case hearing without attending a benefit review 
conference if the division determines that: 
  (1) mediation would not prove effective to resolve the dispute; 
  (2) necessary evidence cannot be obtained without subpoena; or 
  (3) the situation of the parties or the nature of the facts or law of the case is such that 
the overall policy of the Act would be advanced by proceeding directly to a contested 
case hearing. 
 
(c) Requesting a hearing. A party may request that the division set a benefit contested 
case hearing. The request shall be made in the following manner: 
  (1) If the requester is a carrier, carrier representative, claimant represented by an 
attorney, or claimant assisted by OIEC, the request shall: 
    (A) be made in writing and signed by the requestor; 
    (B) identify and describe the disputed issue or issues; 
    (C) state the reason for requesting the hearing; 
    (D) be sent to the division; and 
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    (E) be delivered to all the other parties, as provided by §142.4 of this chapter (relating 
to Delivery of Copies to All Parties). 
  (2) A claimant who is neither represented by an attorney nor assisted by OIEC may 
request a hearing by contacting the division in any manner. 
 
(d) Division action on a request for hearing. The division will rule on the request and 
notify the parties. A ruling granting the request will include a notice of hearing, as 
provided in §142.6 of this chapter (relating to Setting a Benefit Contested Case Hearing). 
A ruling denying the request may include a notice of benefit review conference. 
 
(e) Response. If a hearing is set upon request, the other party or parties may submit a 
response. The response shall: 
  (1) be made in writing and signed; 
  (2) describe and explain the party's position on the dispute or disputes; 
  (3) be sent to the division no later than five days before the hearing; and 
  (4) be delivered to all other parties, as provided by §142.4 of this title (relating to 
Delivery of Copies to All Parties). 
 
(f) A claimant who is neither represented by an attorney nor assisted by OIEC may 
respond by contacting the division in any manner. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.5 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.6 Setting a Benefit Contested Case Hearing 
 
(a) Setting with prior benefit review conference. The commission shall set a benefit 
contested case hearing to be held: 
  (1) no later than 60 days from the date of the benefit review conference; or 
  (2) if the commission determines that an expedited setting is appropriate, as provided 
by §140.3 of this title (relating to Expedited Hearings), no later than 30 days from the 
date of the benefit review conference. 
 
(b) Setting without prior benefit review conference. For those disputes determined not 
to require a benefit review conference, as defined in §142.5 of this title (relating to 
Sequence of Proceedings To Resolve Benefit Disputes), the commission may set a 
benefit contested case hearing on its own motion, or at the request of a party. When 
requested, the hearing shall be set on a date: 
  (1) no later than 60 days from receipt of the request; or 
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  (2) if the commission determines that an expedited setting is appropriate, no later than 
30 days from the commission's receipt of the request. 
 
(c) Notice of hearing. After setting a hearing, the commission shall furnish to the parties, 
by first class mail or personal delivery, written notice of the date, time, duration, and 
location of the hearing. The notice shall be furnished: 
  (1) at the same time that the notice of the benefit review conference is given; 
  (2) not later than 45 days before a hearing set under subsection (b)(1) of this section; 
or 
  (3) not later than 10 days before a hearing set under subsection (b)(2) of this section. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.6 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463 
 
RULE §142.7 Statement of Disputes 
 
(a) Statement of disputes. The statement of disputes is a written description of the 
benefit dispute or disputes to be considered by the administrative law judge. A dispute 
not expressly included in the statement of disputes will not be considered by the 
administrative law judge. 
 
(b) Statement of disputes after a benefit review conference. The statement of disputes 
for a hearing held after a benefit review conference includes: 
  (1) the benefit review officer's report, identifying the disputes remaining unresolved at 
the close of the benefit review conference; 
  (2) the parties' responses, if any; 
  (3) additional disputes by unanimous consent, as provided by subsection (c) of this 
section; and 
  (4) additional disputes presented by a party, as provided by subsections (d) and (e) of 
this section, if the administrative law judge determines that the party has good cause. 
 
(c) Party response to the benefit review officer's report. A party may submit a response 
to the disputes identified as unresolved in the benefit review officer's report. The 
response shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) describe and explain the party's position on the unresolved dispute or disputes; 
  (3) be sent to the division no later than 20 days after receiving the benefit review 
officer's report; and 
  (4) be delivered to all other parties, as provided by §142.4 of this title (relating to 
Delivery of Copies to All Parties). 
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(d) Additional disputes by unanimous consent. Parties may, by unanimous consent, 
submit for inclusion in the statement of disputes one or more disputes not identified as 
unresolved in the benefit review officer's report. Additional disputes submitted by 
consent shall: 
  (1) be made in writing; 
  (2) identify the dispute and explain the party's position on it; 
  (3) be signed by all parties; 
  (4) be sent to the division no later than 10 days before the hearing; and 
  (5) explain why the issue was not raised earlier. 
 
(e) Additional disputes by permission of the administrative law judge. A party may 
request the administrative law judge to include in the statement of disputes one or 
more disputes not identified as unresolved in the benefit review officer's report. The 
administrative law judge will allow such amendment only on a determination of good 
cause. 
  (1) If the requester is a carrier, carrier representative, claimant represented by an 
attorney, or claimant assisted by OIEC, the request shall: 
    (A) be made in writing; 
    (B) identify and describe the dispute or disputes; 
    (C) state the reason for the request; 
    (D) be sent to the division no later than 15 days before the hearing; and 
    (E) be delivered to all other parties, as provided by §142.4 of this title (relating to 
Delivery of Copies to All Parties). 
  (2) A claimant who is neither represented by an attorney nor assisted by OIEC may 
request additional disputes to be included in the statement of disputes by contacting 
the division in any manner no later than 15 days before the hearing. 
  (3) The administrative law judge will rule on the request, and notify the parties of the 
ruling. 
 
(f) Statement of disputes without prior benefit review conference. The statement of 
disputes for a hearing held without a prior benefit review conference includes: 
  (1) the request for hearing, as described in §142.5(c) of this title (relating to Sequence 
of Proceedings To Resolve Benefit Disputes); and 
  (2) the other party's response, as described in §142.5(e) of this title (relating to 
Sequence of Proceedings To Resolve Benefit Disputes), if any. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.7 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
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RULE §142.8 Summary Procedures 
 
(a) In order to expedite the presentation of a case, the administrative law judge may 
allow summary procedures, including, but not limited to, the use of: 
  (1) sworn witness statements; 
  (2) summaries of evidence; 
  (3) medical reports; 
  (4) agreements; and 
  (5) stipulations. 
 
(b) The administrative law judge may allow the use of summary procedures: 
  (1) on its own motion; or 
  (2) at the request of a party. 
 
(c) A party may request the use of summary procedures in any manner and at any time 
before the hearing. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.8 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.9 Stipulations, Agreements, and Settlements 
 
(a) At any time before or during the hearing, parties may: 
  (1) enter into stipulations, as provided by §140.1 of this title (relating to Definitions); 
  (2) resolve one or more benefit disputes by agreement; or 
  (3) resolve all benefit disputes by settlement. 
 
(b) Stipulations shall be made as follows: 
  (1) Stipulations made before the hearing shall be: 
    (A) made in writing; 
    (B) signed by all parties to the stipulation, or their representative; and 
    (C) sent to the Commission no later than the day before the hearing. 
  (2) Stipulations may be made orally at a hearing and preserved in the record. 
 
(c) Agreements and Settlements shall be made as provided by Chapter 147 of this title 
(relating to Dispute Resolution by Agreement or Settlement). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.9 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990 
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RULE §142.10 Continuance 
 
(a) As used in this chapter, continuance means postponing a hearing from the time or 
date set, and rescheduling it on a later time or date. 
 
(b) The division may continue a hearing: 
  (1) on its own motion; or 
  (2) at the request of a party, if the administrative law judge determines the party has 
good cause. 
 
(c) A request for continuance may be made before or during a hearing. 
  (1) A request made before a hearing by a carrier, carrier representative, claimant 
represented by an attorney, or claimant assisted by OIEC shall: 
    (A) be in writing; 
    (B) state the reason for continuing the hearing; 
    (C) be sent to the division no later than five days before the hearing; and 
    (D) be delivered to all parties, as provided by §142.4 of this title (relating to Delivery 
of Copies to All Parties). 
  (2) A claimant who is neither represented by an attorney nor assisted by OIEC may 
request a continuance before a hearing by contacting the division in any manner. 
  (3) A party may orally request a continuance during a hearing. In addition to showing 
good cause, the party must show that a continuance will not prejudice the rights of the 
other parties. 
 
(d) The administrative law judge will rule on the request and notify all parties of the 
ruling. A ruling granting the continuance will include notice of the date, time, and 
location of the rescheduled hearing. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.10 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.11 Failure To Attend a Benefit Contested Case Hearing 
 
(a) When a party fails to attend a scheduled contested case hearing for which proper 
notice was provided, the administrative law judge shall proceed with the scheduled 
hearing. Following the close of evidence, the administrative law judge shall send written 
notice that the non-attending party has 10 days from the date of receipt of the notice to 
respond in writing and show good cause for the party's failure to attend. 
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(b) Other parties to the proceeding may reply, in writing, to the non-attending party's 
response within three days of receipt of the response. 
 
(c) The administrative law judge shall issue a written ruling based on the filings allowed 
under subsections (a) and (b) of this section. If the administrative law judge determines 
that good cause exists for the failure to attend, the hearing will be rescheduled. If good 
cause is not found, or if the non-attending party does not respond to the notice, the 
administrative law judge shall issue a decision based on the evidence presented at the 
hearing and may recommend the issuance of an administrative violation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.11 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.12 Subpoena 
 
(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, as used in this chapter, shall have the 
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
  (1) Evidence - Testimony or documents, including books, papers, and tangible things. 
  (2) Service - Delivery of a subpoena by an authorized individual to the person to whom 
it is addressed. 
  (3) Subpoena - A division order issued by the administrative law judge requiring a 
person to attend or to produce evidence at a deposition (deposition subpoena) or at a 
hearing (hearing subpoena). 
 
(b) How issued. The division may issue a subpoena: 
  (1) on its own motion; or 
  (2) at the request of a party, if the administrative law judge determines the party has a 
good cause. 
 
(c) Request for subpoena. A party may request a subpoena in the following manner: 
  (1) If the requester is a carrier, carrier representative, claimant represented by an 
attorney, or claimant assisted by OIEC, the request shall: 
    (A) be in writing; 
    (B) identify the evidence to be produced, and explain why it is relevant to a disputed 
issue; 
    (C) state whether the subpoena is for a deposition or a hearing; 
    (D) be sent to the division; and 
    (E) be delivered to all parties, as provided by §142.4 of this chapter (relating to 
Delivery of Copies to All Parties). 
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  (2) A claimant who is neither represented by an attorney nor assisted by OIEC may 
request a subpoena by contacting the division in any manner, and may also request the 
division to arrange for service, if service will be at no cost to the division. 
 
(d) Special provisions for hearing subpoenas. A request for a hearing subpoena shall be 
sent to the division and delivered to the parties, as provided by §142.4 of this chapter 
(relating to Delivery of Copies to All Parties), no later than 10 days before the hearing. 
The administrative law judge may deny a request for a hearing subpoena upon a 
determination that the testimony may be adequately obtained by deposition or written 
affidavit. 
 
(e) Service. Upon granting a request and issuing a subpoena, the administrative law 
judge shall: 
  (1) return it to the requester for service, according to §176.5, Texas Rules of Civil 
Procedure; or 
  (2) send it to the appropriate sheriff or constable, or any person who is not a party and 
is 18 years of age or older for service, if a claimant who is neither represented by an 
attorney nor assisted by OIEC has requested the division to arrange for service, as 
provided by subsection (c)(2) of this section. 
 
(f) Costs. 
  (1) Except as provided by subsection (c)(2) of this section, the party requesting the 
subpoena is responsible for all costs associated with the subpoena, including service, 
witness fees, and mileage. 
  (2) A witness or deponent who is not a party and who is subpoenaed or otherwise 
compelled to attend a hearing or deposition to give testimony or produce documents is 
entitled to receive from the party requesting the subpoena: 
    (A) a fee of $30 a day for each day or part of a day the person is necessarily present 
as a witness or deponent; 
    (B) mileage at the rate set for state employees in the General Appropriations Act, for 
going to and returning from the place of the hearing or the place of the deposition, if 
the place is more than 25 miles from the person's place of residence; and 
    (C) fees for providing expert testimony relating to medical issues shall be paid 
according to guidelines established by the division pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, 
Chapter 413. 
 
(g) A subpoena may be enforced in the manner provided by the Government Code 
§2001.201 and the Texas Labor Code. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §142.12 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.13 Discovery 
 
(a) Description of discovery. As used in this chapter, discovery is the process by which a 
party may, before the hearing, obtain evidence relating to the disputed issue or issues 
from the other parties and witnesses. If the evidence is not produced voluntarily, the 
party may request a subpoena, as provided in §142.12 of this title (relating to 
Subpoena). Discovery includes: 
  (1) parties' exchange of documentary evidence; 
  (2) interrogatories, as prescribed by §142.19 of this title (relating to Interrogatories); 
and 
  (3) witness depositions, as follows: 
    (A) a health care provider may be deposed only on written questions; and 
    (B) other witnesses may be deposed within their county of residence or employment, 
orally or on written questions, if the administrative law judge determines the party has 
good cause to request such testimony. 
 
(b) Sequence of discovery. Parties shall exchange documentary evidence in their 
possession not previously exchanged, as described in subsection (c) of this section, 
before requesting additional discovery by interrogatory, as described in subsection (d) 
of this section, or deposition, as described in subsection (e) of this section. Additional 
discovery shall be limited to evidence not exchanged, or not readily derived from 
evidence exchanged. 
 
(c) Parties' exchange of documentary evidence. 
  (1) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, no later than 15 days after the 
benefit review conference, parties shall exchange with one another the following 
information: 
    (A) all medical reports and reports of expert witnesses who will testify at the hearing; 
    (B) all medical records; 
    (C) any witness statements; 
    (D) the identity and location of any witness known to have knowledge of relevant 
facts; and 
    (E) all photographs or other documents which a party intends to offer into evidence 
at the hearing. 
  (2) Thereafter, parties shall exchange additional documentary evidence as it becomes 
available. 
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  (3) Parties shall bring all documentary evidence not previously exchanged to the 
hearing in sufficient copies for exchange. The administrative law judge shall make a 
determination whether good cause exists for a party not having previously exchanged 
such information or documents to introduce such evidence at the hearing. 
 
(d) Interrogatories. 
  (1) Interrogatories, as prescribed by §142.19 of this title (concerning Interrogatories), 
may be used by all parties, including subclaimants, to obtain information from any other 
party. 
  (2) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, interrogatories must be 
presented no later than 25 days before the hearing, unless otherwise agreed. 
  (3) Answers to interrogatories must be exchanged no later than 10 days after receipt of 
the interrogatories. 
  (4) Answers to interrogatories must be made under oath. 
 
(e) Witness deposition. A party wishing to depose a witness shall request permission for 
deposition from the administrative law judge. The request shall: 
  (1) be made in writing; 
  (2) identify the witness to be deposed; 
  (3) state why the testimony is needed; 
  (4) propose a date, time, and place for taking the deposition; 
  (5) include a copy of the questions to be asked, if the deposition is to be on written 
questions; 
  (6) if needed, include a request for subpoena, as provided by §142.12 of this title 
(relating to Subpoena); 
  (7) be filed with the division no later than 10 days before the hearing; and 
  (8) be delivered to all parties, as provided by §142.4 of this title (relating to Delivery of 
Copies to All Parties). 
 
(f) Additional discovery. The administrative law judge may grant a party permission to 
conduct discovery beyond that described previously upon a showing of good cause at a 
hearing held for this purpose. 
 
(g) Time for discovery when the hearing is expedited or held without a prior benefit 
review conference. The notice setting an expedited hearing, or a hearing held without a 
prior benefit review conference, shall include time limits for completion of discovery. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.13 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective February 18, 1992, 17 TexReg 949; amended to 
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be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108; amended to be effective February 18, 2021, 
46 TexReg 1068 
 
 
RULE §142.14 Permission To Use Court Reporter 
 
(a) A party may request permission to have the hearing recorded by a court reporter 
provided by the party. The party may select, and must bear the cost of, the court 
reporter. 
 
(b) A request for permission to use a court reporter may be made in any manner and at 
any time before the hearing. The administrative law judge will rule on the request, and 
notify the parties only if the request is denied. 
 
(c) A copy of the court reporter's audiotape, or transcript, if produced, shall be furnished 
to the division at no charge. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.14 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 463; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.16 Decision 
 
(a) After the record closes, the administrative law judge shall issue a decision on 
benefits. The decision shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) include findings of fact and conclusions of law; a determination of whether benefits 
are due; and, if so, an award of benefits due; and 
  (3) be signed by the administrative law judge. 
 
(b) On a form prescribed by the division the administrative law judge shall issue a 
separate written decision regarding attorney's fees and any matter related to attorney 
fees. A decision on income or medical benefits may include an interlocutory order at the 
discretion of the administrative law judge. 
 
(c) No later than the tenth day after the close of the hearing, the administrative law 
judge shall file all decisions with the division. 
 
(d) No later than seven days after filing the decision, the division shall furnish to the 
parties, by first class mail or personal delivery: 
  (1) a file-stamped copy of the decision; and 
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  (2) a statement specifying the place, manner, and time period within which an appeal 
must be filed. 
 
(e) A decision issued under this section shall be effective and binding on the date signed 
by the administrative law judge unless superceded by an interlocutory order contained 
in the decision, if any. 
 
(f) A decision regarding benefits not appealed to the appeals panel, as provided by the 
Texas Labor Code, §410.202 and Chapter 143 of this title, becomes final on the sixteenth 
day after the date received from the division of hearings. Parties shall comply with a final 
decision or order within 20 days of the date it becomes final as provided by the Texas 
Labor Code, §410.208. 
 
(g) A decision regarding benefits appealed to the appeals panel as provided by the 
Texas Labor Code, §410.202 and Chapter 143 of this title, is binding on the parties and 
payable during an appeal to the appeals panel unless superceded by an interlocutory 
order contained in the decision, if any. 
 
(h) Parties shall comply with a decision regarding benefits appealed to the appeals panel 
that does not contain an interlocutory order by issuing and delivering payment of 
accrued and unpaid income benefits no later than the fifth day after filing a written 
request for appeal with the appeals panel as provided by the Texas Labor Code, 
§410.202, and Chapter 143 of this title. 
 
(i) Payment of accrued and unpaid income benefits paid in accordance with a decision 
shall include interest pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, §408.064 and §408.081. 
 
(j) Payment of medical benefits pursuant to a decision shall be made in accordance with 
Chapters 408 and 413 of the Texas Labor Code. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.16 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 467; amended to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 TexReg 3990; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.17 Transcript or Duplicate of the Hearing Audiotape 
 
(a) A party or the employer may submit a request to the commission for a transcript of 
the hearing audiotape. The requester shall pay the cost of the transcript, as established 
by the commission. 
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(b) A party or the employer may submit a request to the commission for a duplicate of 
the hearing audiotape. The requester shall pay the cost of the duplication, as established 
by the commission. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.17 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 467 
 
RULE §142.18 Special Provisions for Cases on Remand from the Appeals Panel 
 
(a) Priority setting for case on remand from appeals panel. When the appeals panel 
reverses an administrative law judge's decision and remands the case for further 
consideration, the division shall set the hearing to be held within 30 days of the date of 
the appeals panel's decision. 
 
(b) Notice of hearing. After setting a hearing under this section, the division shall furnish, 
by first class mail or personal delivery, written notice of the date, time, and location to 
the parties. The notice shall be furnished at least 20 days before the hearing. 
 
(c) Statement of issues. For cases on remand from the appeals panel, the statement of 
issues includes: 
  (1) the decision of the appeals panel; and 
  (2) the parties' responses, if any. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.18 adopted to be effective February 12, 1991, 
16 TexReg 467; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
 
RULE §142.19 Form Interrogatories 
 
(a) The division has developed standard interrogatories for parties to exchange the 
following information: 
  (1) the name and contact information of the person answering the interrogatories; 
  (2) the issues in dispute; 
  (3) any certification of maximum medical improvement and impairment rating; 
  (4) any statement obtained from any person on the issues in dispute; 
  (5) the name and contact information for each health care provider the claimant has 
seen since the date of injury, and the conditions the health care provider treated; 
  (6) any recordings, photographs, videotapes, or similar material showing the claimant 
since the date of injury; 
  (7) for each health care provider the claimant has seen during the five years before the 
date of injury for treatment of a body part the claimant believes to be part of the claim: 
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    (A) the health care provider's name and contact information; 
    (B) the dates the health care provider treated the claimant; and 
    (C) the conditions the health care provider treated; and 
  (8) for each expert witness expected to testify: 
    (A) the expert witness' name and contact information; 
    (B) the subject matter the expert witness may or will testify on; and 
    (C) the general substance of the expert witness' opinions and a brief summary of the 
basis for them. 
 
(b) In addition to these standard interrogatories, a party may add up to five additional 
questions. The parties should write the questions in plain language and present them in 
a readable and understandable format. 
 
(c) Parties to a dispute must use the standard form interrogatories developed and 
published by the division in a form and manner consistent with this rule: 
  (1) Claimant's Interrogatories to Carrier; and 
  (2) Carrier's Interrogatories to Claimant. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.19 adopted to be effective July 9, 1991, 16 
TexReg 3397; amended to be effective February 18, 2021, 46 TexReg 1068 
 
RULE §142.20 Interlocutory Orders 
 
(a) The administrative law judge may enter an interlocutory order to pay all or part of 
income benefits or medical benefits. 
 
(b) An interlocutory order contained in a decision supercedes the decision as it pertains 
to the payment of income benefits or medical benefits and remains in effect until: 
  (1) the decision becomes final in accordance with §142.16(f) of this title (relating to the 
Decision); 
  (2) the decision of the appeals panel is issued pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, 
§410.204, and Chapter 143 of this title, if appealed to the appeals panel as provided by 
the Texas Labor Code, §410.202, and Chapter 143 of this title and the decision and order 
are affirmed or an appeals panel decision reverses the administrative law judge's 
decision and renders a decision; 
  (3) reversed or modified by an agreement or settlement, as provided by §147.7 of this 
title (relating to Effect on Previously-Entered Decisions and Orders); or 
  (4) reversed or modified by a subsequent interlocutory order or decision issued after 
remand from the appeals panel pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, §410.203, and 
Chapter 143 of this title. 
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(c) An interlocutory order for payment of income benefits or medical benefits shall be 
effective on the date signed by the administrative law judge. 
 
(d) A party shall comply with an interlocutory order by issuing and delivering payment 
of accrued and unpaid income benefits no later than the fifth day after receiving the 
interlocutory order to pay accrued and unpaid benefits, and shall pay benefits in 
accordance with the interlocutory order as and when they accrue. 
 
(e) Payment of accrued and unpaid income benefits paid in accordance with an 
interlocutory order shall include interest pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, §408.064 
and §408.081. 
 
(f) Payment of medical benefits pursuant to an interlocutory order shall be made in 
accordance with Chapters 408 and 413 of the Texas Labor Code. 
 
(g) An interlocutory order contained in a decision will be distributed to the parties as 
provided by §142.16 of this title (relating to the Decision). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §142.20 adopted to be effective May 10, 2000, 25 
TexReg 3990; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 108 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 143  DISPUTE RESOLUTION REVIEW BY THE APPEALS PANEL 
 
RULE §143.1 Definitions 
 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
 
  (1) Appellant--A party to a benefit contested case hearing who is dissatisfied with the 
decision of the administrative law judge, and files a request for review of that decision 
by the appeals panel. 
 
  (2) Request--The appellant's written appeal for review of the decision of an 
administrative law judge. 
 
  (3) Respondent--The other party to a benefit contested case hearing who must file a 
response to the appellant's request. 
 
  (4) Response--The respondent's written answer to the appellant's request. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §143.1 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1195; amended to be effective May 9, 2004, 29 TexReg 4223; amended to be 
effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 111 
 
RULE §143.2 Description of the Appeal Proceeding 
 
(a) To review the decision of the administrative law judge, the appeals panel considers 
the appellant's request, the respondent's response, and the record of the benefit 
contested case hearing. The parties do not appear in person before the panel. 
 
(b) The appeals panel may: 
  (1) reverse the decision of the administrative law judge and render a new decision; 
  (2) reverse the decision of the administrative law judge and remand to the 
administrative law judge for a second benefit contested case hearing, which shall be set 
as provided by §142.18 of this title (relating to Special Provisions for Cases on Remand 
from the Appeals Panel). The appeals panel may not remand a case more than once; or 
  (3) affirm the decision of an administrative law judge in a case as described by Labor 
Code §410.204(a-1). 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §143.2 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1195; amended to be effective December 13, 2009, 34 TexReg 8739; amended 
to be effective November 20, 2011, 36 TexReg 7876; amended to be effective January 7, 
2019, 44 TexReg 111 
 
RULE §143.3 Requesting the Appeals Panel to Review the Decision of the 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
(a) A party to a benefit contested case hearing who is dissatisfied with the decision of 
the administrative law judge may request the appeals panel to review that decision. The 
request shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) clearly and concisely rebut each issue in the administrative law judge's decision that 
the appellant wants reviewed, and state the relief the appellant wants granted; 
  (3) be filed with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings in the division's central office in Austin 
not later than the 15th day after receipt of the administrative law judge's decision. The 
administrative law judge's decision is deemed to have been received by the parties in 
accordance with §102.5 (relating to General Rules for Written Communications To and 
From the Commission) and §102.3 (relating to Computation of Time) of this title. 
Requests that are timely submitted to a division location other than the Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings, such as a local field office of the division, will be considered timely filed 
and forwarded to the division's appeals panel for consideration, but this may result in 
delay in the processing of the request. Untimely requests, regardless of whether they are 
filed with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings in the division's central office or in a different 
division field office, do not invoke the jurisdiction of the appeals panel and will not be 
reviewed by the appeals panel; 
  (4) be served on the other party or parties on the same day filed with the division; and 
  (5) contain a statement certifying that a copy has been served on the other party or 
parties in person, mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, or transmitted by 
verifiable means. A certificate in substantially the following form shall be used: "I hereby 
certify that I have on this ____ day of ____________, _____, served a copy of the attached 
request for appeal on _______________________________ (state the name of the other party 
or parties on whom a copy was served) by _______________________________ (state the 
manner of service)." _______________________________ Signature 
 
(b) If it is not clear from the request for review that the party has properly served a copy 
of the request on the other party or parties, the division will provide a copy of the 
request expeditiously. 
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(c) A party may make a conditional request for review by the appeals panel even if the 
overall contested case hearing decision is favorable. A timely request that indicates that 
the filing party seeks consideration only if the opposing party files a request for review 
will not be treated as a request for review unless an opposing party timely files a 
request. If an opposing party does file a timely request, the conditional request will be 
treated as a cross-appeal. 
 
(d) A request for review by the appeals panel shall be filed not later than the 15th day 
after the appealing party is deemed to have received the administrative law judge's 
decision. Saturdays and Sundays and holidays listed in Government Code §662.003 are 
not included in the computation of this 15-day period. A request made under this 
section shall be presumed to be timely filed or timely served with the division if it is: 
  (1) mailed on or before the 15th day after the date of deemed receipt of the 
administrative law judge's decision, as provided in subsection (a) of this section; and 
  (2) received by the division not later than the 20th day after the date of deemed 
receipt of the administrative law judge's decision. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §143.3 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1195; amended to be effective December 31, 1991, 16 TexReg 7358; amended 
to be effective March 14, 2001, 26 TexReg 2032; amended to be effective May 9, 2004, 
29 TexReg 4223; amended to be effective December 13, 2009, 34 TexReg 8739; 
amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 111 
 
RULE §143.4 Responding to a Request for Review by the Appeals Panel 
 
(a) The other party shall respond to the appellant's request. The response shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) clearly and concisely support each issue in the administrative law judge's decision 
that the appellant has rebutted in the request, and state why the appellant's relief 
should not be granted; 
  (3) be filed with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings in the division's central office in Austin 
not later than the 15th day after receipt of the appellant's appeal. The appellant's appeal 
is deemed received in accordance with §102.5 (relating to General Rules for Written 
Communications To and From the Commission, §102.4 (relating to General Rules for 
Non-Commission Communications) and §102.3 (relating to Computation of Time) of this 
title. Responses that are timely submitted to a division location other than the Chief 
Clerk of Proceedings, such as a local field office of the division, will be considered filed 
timely and forwarded to the division's appeals panel for consideration, but this may 
result in delay in the processing of the response. Untimely responses, regardless of 
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whether they are filed with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings or in a different division 
office, will not be reviewed by the appeals panel; 
  (4) be served on the other party or parties on the same day filed with the division; and 
  (5) contain a statement certifying that a copy has been served on the other party or 
parties in person, mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, or transmitted by 
verifiable means. A certificate in substantially the following form shall be used: "I hereby 
certify that I have on this ____ day of ____________, _____, served a copy of the attached 
response to a request for appeal on _______________________________ (state the name of the 
other party or parties on whom a copy was served) by _______________________________ 
(state the manner of service)." _______________________________ Signature 
 
(b) If it is not clear from the response that the party has properly served a copy of the 
response on the other party or parties, the division shall provide a copy of the response 
expeditiously. 
 
(c) A response to the appellant's request with the division shall be filed not later than 
the 15th day after the responding party is deemed to have received the appellant's 
request. Saturdays and Sundays and holidays listed in §662.003, Government Code, are 
not included in the computation of this 15-day period. A response made under this 
section shall be presumed to be timely filed with the division if it is: 
  (1) mailed on or before the 15th day after the date of deemed receipt of the 
appellant's request, as provided in subsection (a) of this section; and 
  (2) received by the division not later than the 20th day after the date of deemed 
receipt of the appellant's request. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §143.4 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1195; amended to be effective March 31, 1992, 17 TexReg 2009; amended to be 
effective March 14, 2001, 26 TexReg 2032; amended to be effective May 9, 2004, 29 
TexReg 4223; amended to be effective December 13, 2009, 34 TexReg 8739; amended 
to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 111 
 
RULE §143.5 Decision of the Appeals Panel 
 
(a) Not later than the 45th day after the date the response was filed with the division, 
the appeals panel will issue its written decision, concluding with a separate paragraph 
stating words to the effect: "The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is (NAME 
IN BOLD PRINT) and the name and address of its registered agent for service of process 
is (NAME AND ADDRESS IN BOLD PRINT)", and file a copy with the division. 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 420

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=143&rl=5


(b) If the appeals panel does not issue a written decision by the 45th day after the date 
the response was filed with the division, the administrative law judge's decision 
becomes final, constitutes the decision of the appeals panel, and, for the purpose of 
establishing the time for seeking judicial review, is deemed filed with the division on that 
day. 
 
(c) Not later than the seventh day after the appeals panel files its decision with the 
division, or a decision is deemed filed, as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the 
division shall send to each party a copy of the decision, or a notice that the 
administrative law judge's decision has become final and constitutes the decision of the 
appeals panel. 
 
(d) A decision of the appeals panel that is not appealed for judicial review, as provided 
by the Texas Labor Code §410.252, et seq., becomes final on the 46th day after the 
division mailed the party the decision of the appeals panel. For purposes of this section 
the mailing date is considered to be the fifth day after the date the decision of the 
appeals panel was filed by the division. 
 
(e) A decision of the appeals panel that is appealed for judicial review is binding on the 
parties for the duration of the judicial review. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §143.5 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1195; amended to be effective May 9, 2004, 29 TexReg 4223; amended to be 
effective December 13, 2009, 34 TexReg 8739; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 
44 TexReg 111 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 421



TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 144  DISPUTE RESOLUTION 
 
SUBCHAPTER A ARBITRATION    
 
RULE §144.1 Authority and Duties of Arbitrators 
 
(a) The arbitrator is authorized but not limited to: 
  (1) set the time and location of the arbitration proceeding pursuant to the applicable 
provisions of Labor Code §410.005 and §410.109; 
  (2) compel the parties to exchange all pertinent medical reports and other 
documentary evidence, and proposals for resolving the issues in dispute; 
  (3) conduct, at the arbitrator's discretion, preliminary conferences to identify issues to 
resolve questions concerning evidence and witnesses, and to otherwise expedite the 
arbitration proceeding; 
  (4) exclude individuals other than the parties and the employer from the arbitration 
proceeding; 
  (5) administer oaths; 
  (6) take official notice of the law of Texas and other jurisdictions, Texas city and county 
ordinances, the content of the Texas Register, the rules of state agencies, facts that are 
judicially cognizable, and generally recognized facts within the division's specialized 
knowledge; 
  (7) determine the relevancy and materiality of the evidence offered, without a 
requirement to conform to legal rules of evidence; and 
  (8) accept stipulations by the parties on uncontested issues. 
 
(b) The arbitrator has a duty to: 
  (1) disclose to all parties and the division's chief clerk of proceedings any potential 
conflicts of interest prior to and during the arbitration, including any pecuniary, personal 
or business related interest. Further, to disclose any circumstances that may affect or 
reasonably raise a question as to the impartiality of the arbitrator, including any past or 
present relationships with the parties; 
  (2) protect the interests of all parties, including the advisement of the injured 
employee's rights if not represented; 
  (3) maintain the confidentiality of the arbitration proceeding; 
  (4) encourage brevity, consistent with completeness, at all stages of the arbitration 
proceeding; 
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  (5) ensure that all relevant evidence has been disclosed to the arbitrator and to all 
parties; 
  (6) render an award based upon the evidence and consistent with the terms of the Act, 
and the rules and policies of the division; 
  (7) ensure an electronic recording is made of the proceedings; 
  (8) arrange for the provision of interpreter services if necessary; and 
  (9) comply with standards of conduct and ethical principles of the arbitrator's 
professional group, those set forth in the Act, division rules, and the codes of 
professional responsibility and conduct promulgated by the arbitrator's professional 
association. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.1 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.2 Ex Parte Communications 
 
(a) On any substantive matter regarding facts, issues, law, or rules, an arbitrator may not 
communicate with any party outside the arbitration unless the communication is: 
  (1) in writing; and 
  (2) a copy is delivered to all parties to the arbitration. 
 
(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, any party may communicate with the 
arbitrator concerning any procedural matter. 
 
RULE §144.3 Delivery of Copies of Documents 
 
A party who sends a document relating to the arbitration proceeding to the division's 
chief clerk of proceedings or the arbitrator shall also deliver copies of the document to 
all other parties, or their representatives or attorneys. Delivery shall be accomplished by 
presenting in person, mailing by certified mail, or electronic transmission. The document 
sent to the division's chief clerk of proceedings or the arbitrator shall contain a 
statement certifying delivery using the following format: "I hereby certify that I have on 
the ____ day of ____________, _____, delivered a copy of the attached document to 
_______________________________ by _______________________________ (state manner of 
delivery)." 
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RULE §144.4 Election to Engage in Arbitration 
 
(a) Following a benefit review conference where disputed benefit issue(s) remain 
unresolved, the parties may mutually agree to engage in arbitration on those issues. 
 
(b) Parties agreeing to engage in arbitration must complete and sign a form prescribed 
by the division and file it with the division's chief clerk of proceedings not later than the 
20th day after the last day of the benefit review conference. 
 
(c) A party may submit a response to the disputes identified as unresolved in the benefit 
review officer's report. The response shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) describe and explain the party's position on the unresolved dispute or disputes; 
  (3) be sent to the division's chief clerk of proceedings no later than 20 days after 
receiving the benefit review officer's report; and 
  (4) be delivered to all other parties, as provided by §144.3 of this title (relating to 
Delivery of Copies of Documents). 
 
(d) Except as provided by §144.10 of this title (relating to Stipulations, Agreements, and 
Settlements), the decision to proceed with arbitration in place of a division contested 
case hearing, once filed with the division's chief clerk of proceedings, is binding and 
irrevocable for the resolution of all disputes arising out of the claims that are under the 
jurisdiction of the division. For medical fee disputes arising from Labor Code §413.0312, 
except as provided by §144.10 of this title, the decision to proceed with arbitration in 
place of a contested case hearing at the State Office of Administrative Hearings is 
binding and irrevocable for the resolution of that dispute. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.4 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.5 Statement of Disputes 
 
(a) Statement of disputes. The statement of disputes is a written description of the 
dispute(s) to be considered by the arbitrator. A dispute not expressly included in the 
statement of disputes will not be considered by the arbitrator. 
 
(b) Statement of disputes after a benefit review conference. The statement of disputes 
for an arbitration proceeding conducted after a benefit review conference includes: 
  (1) the benefit review officer's report, identifying the disputes remaining unresolved at 
the close of the benefit review conference; 
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  (2) the parties' responses to the benefit review officer's report, if any; and 
  (3) additional disputes by unanimous consent, as provided by subsections (c) and (d) of 
this section. 
 
(c) Additional disputes by unanimous consent. Parties may, by unanimous consent, 
submit for inclusion in the statement of disputes one or more disputes not identified as 
unresolved in the benefit review officer's report. Additional disputes submitted by 
consent shall: 
  (1) be made in writing; 
  (2) identify the dispute and explain each party's position on it; 
  (3) be signed by all parties; 
  (4) be sent to the division's chief clerk of proceedings no later than 10 days before the 
arbitration proceeding; and 
  (5) explain why the issue was not raised earlier. 
 
(d) The statement of dispute in the arbitration of a medical fee dispute may not include 
a dispute regarding compensability, extent of injury, liability, or medical necessity for the 
same service for which there is a medical fee dispute. Chapter 133, Subchapter D of this 
title (relating to Dispute of Medical Bills) requires parties to resolve such disputes prior 
to requesting medical fee dispute resolution by the division. If a party provides the 
arbitrator with documentation listed in §133.307(d)(2)(H) or (I) of this title (relating to 
MDR of Fee Disputes) that shows unresolved issues regarding compensability, extent of 
injury, liability, or medical necessity for the same service subject to the fee dispute, then 
the arbitrator shall abate the arbitration proceedings until those issues have been 
resolved. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.5 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.6 Assignment of Arbitrator 
 
(a) The division will maintain, in random name order, lists of qualified arbitrators 
established by the division. Not later than the 30th day after an election to engage in 
arbitration is filed, an arbitrator will be assigned from the appropriate list. Each party will 
be notified immediately either personally or by certified mail. 
 
(b) Assignment from the list of arbitrators shall be from the top of the list. When the list 
has been exhausted by assignment of each arbitrator to a case, the list will be randomly 
reordered. 
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(c) Each party to the arbitration proceeding is entitled to one rejection of an assigned 
arbitrator and must exercise such rejection not later than the third day following receipt 
of notification of an arbitrator's assignment. Once a rejection is exercised, the next 
arbitrator from the top of the list will be assigned. 
 
(d) A rejection exercised by a party must be: 
  (1) in writing; 
  (2) signed by the party or authorized representative; 
  (3) personally delivered, sent by certified mail or electronic transmission, not later than 
the third day following receipt of notice of an arbitrator's assignment, to the division's 
chief clerk of proceedings with a copy to all parties. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.6 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.7 Setting the Arbitration Proceeding 
 
(a) Following any rejections as set forth in §144.6 of this title (relating to Assignment of 
Arbitrator), the arbitrator shall schedule arbitration to be held not later than the 30th 
day following the assignment of the arbitrator. 
 
(b) The arbitrator shall notify, in writing, all parties and the employer of the time and 
place scheduled for the arbitration. The notification shall be by personal delivery or 
certified mail. 
 
(c) Unless the assigned arbitrator determines that good cause exists for the selection of 
a different location, arbitration proceedings may not be conducted at a site more than 
75 miles from the injured employee's residence at the time of injury. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.7 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.8 Expediting Procedures 
 
(a) In addition to the use of affidavits, medical reports, stipulations, and agreements, the 
arbitrator may allow, to the maximum extent possible and with due consideration to 
completeness and fairness, expediting procedures, including, but not limited to, the use 
of: 
  (1) unsworn witness statements; and 
  (2) summaries of evidence. 
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(b) The arbitrator may allow use of expediting procedures unless objected to by a party, 
and the arbitrator determines that there is good cause for sustaining the objection. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.8 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358 
 
RULE §144.9 Exchange of Evidence and Proposed Resolution 
 
(a) Not later than the seventh day preceding the arbitration proceeding, each party is 
required to exchange with the other party, and file with the arbitrator: 
  (1) all pertinent medical reports and other documentary evidence in the party's 
possession not previously exchanged or filed; and 
  (2) written proposals for resolving the issues in dispute. 
 
(b) A party failing to comply with this requirement without good cause, as determined 
by the arbitrator, commits an administrative violation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.9 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.10 Stipulations, Agreements, and Settlements 
 
(a) Except as provided by subsections (d) and (e) of this section, at any time before or 
during the arbitration proceeding, parties may: 
  (1) enter into stipulations, defined as a voluntary accord between parties to an 
arbitration regarding any matter relating to the arbitration that does not constitute an 
agreement or a settlement, as defined by Labor Code §401.011; 
  (2) resolve one or more benefit disputes by agreement; or 
  (3) resolve all benefit disputes by settlement. 
 
(b) Stipulations shall be made as follows: 
  (1) in writing; and 
  (2) signed by all parties to the stipulation, or their representatives. 
 
(c) Agreements and settlements shall be made as provided by Chapter 147 of this title 
(relating to Dispute Resolution--Agreements, Settlements, Commutations). 
 
(d) Parties to a medical fee dispute may not enter into a: 
  (1) settlement; or 
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  (2) a stipulation or agreement on a dispute regarding compensability, extent of injury, 
liability, or medical necessity for the same service for which there is a medical fee 
dispute. 
 
(e) Parties to a medical fee dispute may not resolve the dispute by negotiating fees that 
are inconsistent with any applicable fee guidelines adopted by the commissioner of 
workers' compensation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.10 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.11 Continuance 
 
(a) Any request for a continuance by a party must be directed to the division's chief clerk 
of proceedings and served personally by certified mail, or by electronic transmission, on 
all other parties. 
 
(b) A continuance may be granted for up to 30 days only upon a determination of good 
cause. Notwithstanding the existence of good cause, not more than one continuance 
will be granted to each party. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.11 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.12 Failure to Attend Arbitration 
 
A party who fails to attend any session of the arbitration proceeding after electing 
arbitration commits an administrative violation unless the arbitrator determines that the 
party had good cause not to attend. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.12 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.13 Rights of Parties 
 
(a) Each party to the arbitration proceeding is entitled to be present, to have a full, fair, 
and impartial hearing of all relevant evidence, and to present the party's respective 
position on the issue(s) in dispute. 
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(b) Parties to the arbitration are entitled to be represented by counsel or other 
representative authorized under and in accordance with the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act and division rules. 
 
(c) Each party, and the arbitrator, is permitted to call witnesses who have relevant 
information to testify (under oath if required by the arbitrator or requested by a party) 
and to ask questions of any witnesses called. 
 
(d) A party desiring to have a record made of the arbitration proceeding by 
stenographic means may do so and is responsible for arranging for and the expense of 
making a record by such means. A copy of the stenographic report shall be provided to 
the division's chief clerk of proceedings at no charge and may be made available to the 
other parties. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.13 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.14 Usual Order of Proceedings 
 
(a) The arbitration proceeding will begin with pre 
liminary matters including the introduction of copies of the election of arbitration and 
the assignment of the arbitrator, the introduction of all parties and representatives, 
statements for the record of the date, time, and place of the proceedings, and a concise 
statement of the disputed issue(s). 
 
(b) An electronic recording of the proceeding will be made by the arbitrator. 
 
(c) The arbitrator will allow and may assist each party to make a brief opening statement 
setting forth its position on unresolved issues and the issues with respect to which it is 
prepared to stipulate. 
 
(d) The requestor shall be the first party to present all relevant evidence desired in 
support of the claim including the testimony of witnesses. 
 
(e) Following the requestor's presentation of evidence, the other party to the 
proceeding may present evidence desired to be considered by the arbitrator, including 
the calling of witnesses. 
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(f) After each party has presented the evidence desired, the arbitrator may call for 
additional evidence that the arbitrator considers necessary for a proper understanding 
and determination of the issues. 
 
(g) Each party may present closing statements as desired, but the record may not 
remain open for written briefs unless requested by the arbitrator. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.14 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.15 Award of the Arbitrator 
 
(a) Not later than the seventh day after the last day of arbitration, the arbitrator shall 
enter the final award which must: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) be signed and dated by the arbitrator; 
  (3) include a statement of the arbitrator's decision on the contested issues and the 
parties' stipulations on uncontested issues; 
  (4) be sent to the division and all parties by certified mail, or personal delivery; and 
  (5) be filed as a part of the permanent claim file. 
 
(b) The award entered is final and binding on all parties. Except as provided by Labor 
Code §410.121 there is no right of appeal or judicial review. 
 
(c) The arbitrator's award is a final order of the division. 
 
(d) For the purposes of correcting a clerical error, an arbitrator retains jurisdiction of the 
award for 20 days after the date of the award. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.15 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
 
RULE §144.16 Requesting a Copy of the Record 
 
A party or the employer may request a copy of the electronic recording of the 
arbitration proceeding from the division. The requestor shall pay the cost of the 
duplication, as established by the division. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §144.16 adopted to be effective December 31, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7358; amended to be effective May 31, 2012, 37 TexReg 3856 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 147 DISPUTE RESOLUTION--AGREEMENTS, SETTLEMENTS, 

COMMUTATIONS 
 
RULE §147.1 Definitions 
 
The terms "agreement" and "settlement" have the meanings defined in the Texas 
Workers' Compensation Act, §1.03. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.1 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.2 Form 
 
(a) A settlement or a written agreement shall be on a form prescribed by the 
commission. 
 
(b) Settlements shall be prepared on Form TWCC-25, "Benefit Dispute Settlement." 
 
(c) Written agreements shall be prepared on Form TWCC-24, "Benefit Dispute 
Agreement." 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.2 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.3 Execution 
 
(a) In addition to the parties, the employee's representative, if any, shall sign the written 
agreement or settlement. 
 
(b) An employee's representative shall not sign a written agreement or settlement on 
behalf of the employee except upon a finding of extraordinary circumstances by the 
director of the division of hearings. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier's representative shall sign a written agreement or settlement as 
the agent of the insurance carrier, and the insurance carrier shall be bound by the 
written agreement or settlement as provided by the Texas Workers' Compensation Act. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §147.3 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.4 Filing Agreements with the Commission; Effective Dates 
 
(a) An agreement reached before a benefit proceeding has been scheduled may be 
reduced to writing and sent to the commission field office handling the claim. If the 
parties include a request for commission approval, the agreement is effective and 
binding on the date approved by the commission. 
 
(b) A written agreement reached after a benefit proceeding has been scheduled, 
whether before, during, or after the proceeding has been held, shall be sent or 
presented to the presiding officer. The presiding officer will review the agreement to 
ascertain that it complies with the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and these rules; if 
so, sign it, and furnish copies to the parties. A written agreement is effective and binding 
on the date signed by the presiding officer. 
 
(c) An oral agreement reached during a benefit contested case hearing and preserved in 
the record is effective and binding on the date made. 
 
(d) A signed written agreement, or one made orally, as provided by subsection (c) of this 
section, is binding on: 
  (1) a carrier and a claimant represented by an attorney through the final conclusion of 
all matters relating to the claim, whether before the commission or in court, unless set 
aside by the commission or court on a finding of fraud, newly discovered evidence, or 
other good and sufficient cause; and 
  (2) a claimant not represented by an attorney through the final conclusion of all 
matters relating to the claim while the claim is pending before the commission, unless 
set aside by the commission for good cause. 
 
(e) Breach of an agreement approved by the commission, done knowingly, is a Class C 
administrative violation, with a penalty not to exceed $1,000. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.4 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.5 Filing Settlements with the Commission; Effective Dates 
 
(a) A settlement reached before a benefit proceeding has been scheduled shall be sent 
to the commission field office handling the claim. 
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(b) A settlement reached after a benefit proceeding has been scheduled, whether 
before, during, or after the proceeding has been held, shall be sent or presented to the 
presiding officer. 
 
(c) The commission employee receiving a settlement will sign it, mark it with the date 
received, and forward it to the director of the division of hearings. 
 
(d) A properly completed and executed settlement shall be deemed received by the 
director of the division of hearings on the second day after it is filed with any 
commission field office, as provided by subsection (a) of this section, or any presiding 
officer, as provided by subsection (b) of this section. 
 
(e) The director of the division of hearings shall approve a settlement determined to be 
in compliance with the requirements established in the Texas Workers' Compensation 
Act, §4.33(e). 
 
(f) The director may, within 15 days of the date the settlement was received: 
  (1) approve it by signing it, and marking it with the date signed; or 
  (2) reject it by marking it "Rejected," signing it, and marking it with the date signed. 
 
(g) The director shall promptly furnish copies of the approved or rejected settlement to 
all parties by first class mail or personal delivery. A rejected settlement shall be 
accompanied by a written statement of the reasons for rejection. 
 
(h) Unless previously expressly rejected by the director of the division of hearings, a 
settlement is effective and binding on the earlier of: 
  (1) at the close of business day of the date approved by the director of the division of 
hearings; or 
  (2) the 16th day after the date filed with the director of the division of hearings. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.5 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.6 Settlement Conference 
 
The director of the division of hearings may reject a settlement by an unrepresented 
employee pending an informal conference between the employee and an employee of 
the commission. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §147.6 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.7 Effect on Previously Entered Decisions and Orders 
 
(a) A written agreement on one or more disputed issues addressed in a presiding 
officer's decision or order, including an interlocutory order, sets aside the decision or 
order, as it relates to the agreement, on the date the agreement is approved by the 
presiding officer. 
 
(b) A settlement filed before a presiding officer's decision becomes final sets aside a 
presiding officer's decision or order, except for an interlocutory order, on the date 
received by the director of the division of hearings. If the director of the division of 
hearings rejects the settlement, the decision or order shall be immediately reentered. 
 
(c) A settlement sets aside an interlocutory order on the date the settlement becomes 
effective. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.7 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.8 Withdrawal from Settlement 
 
(a) A party to a settlement may withdraw from the settlement at any time before it 
becomes effective by notifying the division of hearings in the commission's Austin 
office. 
 
(b) The employee's death shall be considered the employee's withdrawal from the 
settlement regardless of notice to the division of hearings. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.8 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.9 Requirements for Agreements and Settlements 
 
(a) An agreement or settlement may not: 
  (1) limit or terminate the employee's right to medical benefits; or 
  (2) provide for commutation of any unaccrued income benefits, except for advances, 
accelerations, or payments of impairment income benefits, as provided by the Texas 
Workers' Compensation Act (the Act), §4.27. 
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(b) An agreement resolving a dispute about impairment rating, or a settlement: 
  (1) may not be made until the employee has reached maximum medical improvement; 
and 
  (2) must adopt an impairment rating established by a doctor pursuant to the Act, §4.26. 
 
(c) A settlement: 
  (1) must establish that the carrier is liable for the claim; 
  (2) must establish that the claim is compensable; 
  (3) must establish that the employee is entitled to benefits; 
  (4) must incorporate by reference all prior oral and written agreements between the 
parties; and 
  (5) must state that a final resolution has been reached on all issues in the claim, and 
that the parties waive their rights to subsequent commission proceedings, other than 
those necessary to resolve medical benefit disputes or to enforce compliance with the 
terms of the settlement. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.9 adopted to be effective April 25, 1991, 16 
TexReg 2097 
 
RULE §147.10 Commutation of Impairment Income Benefits 
 
(a) An employee may elect to commute impairment income benefits when the employee 
has returned to work for at least three months, earning at least 80% of the employee's 
average weekly wage. 
 
(b) A request to commute must: 
  (1) be in writing on a commission-prescribed form; 
  (2) state the date the employee reached maximum medical improvement; the 
impairment rating; and the employee's weekly impairment income benefit; 
  (3) be sent to the carrier; and 
  (4) be filed with the commission field office managing the claim. 
 
(c) The commission-prescribed form shall include a warning to the employee that 
commutation terminates the employee's entitlement to additional income benefits for 
the injury. 
 
(d) The employee may contact the commission field office managing the claim to obtain 
or verify the information required to be included in the request. 
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(e) The carrier shall send a notice of approval or denial of the request to the employee 
no later than 14 days after receipt of the request. A notice of approval shall include 
payment of the commuted impairment income benefits. A notice of denial shall include 
the carrier's reasons for denial. A copy of the notice shall be filed with the commission 
field office managing the claim. 
 
(f) If the carrier denies the request, the employee may request the commission to 
schedule a benefit review conference to resolve the issue, as provided by §141.1 of this 
title (relating to Requesting and Setting a Benefit Review Conference). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.10 adopted to be effective December 16, 1991, 
16 TexReg 7018 
 
RULE §147.11 Notification of Commission of Proposed Judgments and Settlements 
 
(a) The party who requested judicial review under Chapter 410, Subchapter F or G shall 
file a copy of any proposed judgment or settlement with the executive director of the 
Commission by filing it with the General Counsel of the Commission not later than the 
30th day before the date on which the court is scheduled to enter the judgment or 
approve the settlement. A proposed judgment or settlement must be sent by certified 
mail return receipt requested. 
 
(b) The insurance carrier or its representative shall file with the General Counsel of the 
Commission a copy of a final judgment or settlement not later than the 10th day after a 
court approves the agreement or settlement. 
 
(c) For suits seeking judicial review filed under Chapter 410, Subchapter F (regarding 
Judicial Review General Provisions) or Subchapter G (regarding Judicial Review of Issues 
Regarding Compensability or Income or Death Benefits), on or after September 1, 1997, 
a judgment or settlement which is not filed with the commission in compliance with 
subsections (a) and (b) of this section is void. 
(d) A party who violates this section may be subject to an administrative penalty, 
including a penalty of up to $1,000 pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, §415.0035 or up 
to $10,000 pursuant to the Texas Labor Code, §415.021 for repeated violations. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §147.11 adopted to be effective February 2, 1996, 
21 TexReg 514; amended to be effective December 2, 1997, 22 TexReg 11714 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 148 HEARINGS CONDUCTED BY THE STATE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
 
RULE §148.1 Definitions 
 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
 
  (1) Act--The Texas Workers' Compensation Act, Labor Code, §§401.001 et seq. 
  (2) ALJ--The administrative law judge designated by the State Office of Administrative 
Hearings to preside over the hearing. 
  (3) APA--The Administrative Procedure Act, as specified in the Government Code, 
Chapter 2001. 
  (4) Chief Clerk of Proceedings--The Chief Clerk of Proceedings within the hearings 
section in the central office of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' 
Compensation. 
  (5) Contested Case--A proceeding held by the State Office of Administrative Hearings 
in which the legal rights, duties, or privileges of a party are to be determined by an 
agency after an opportunity for adjudicative hearing as defined in Government Code, 
§2001.003. 
  (6) Division Representative--The attorney or any representative that may be designated 
by the commissioner or his designee to represent the division. 
  (7) Party--A person or state agency named or admitted as a party. 
  (8) Person--An individual, partnership, corporation, association, governmental 
subdivision, or public or private organization that is not a state agency as defined in the 
APA. 
  (9) Petitioner-- 
    (A) The division is the petitioner in a contested case in which the division seeks to 
impose a sanction or has issued an emergency cease and desist order. 
    (B) In all other cases, the petitioner is the person who has filed a written request for a 
hearing in accordance with these procedures. 
  (10) Respondent-- 
    (A) The respondent is the opposing party to the division in a contested case in which 
the division seeks to impose a sanction or has issued an emergency cease and desist 
order. 
    (B) In all other cases, the respondent is the person responding to the petitioner's 
request for a hearing. 
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  (11) SOAH--The State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.1 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.2 Scope and Applicability 
 
(a) Scope. This chapter governs contested case hearings, which adjudicate disputes 
before SOAH as authorized under the Act. 
 
(b) Coordination with SOAH's Procedural Rules. This chapter governs the following 
procedural matters and also provides related policies of the division on the following: 
  (1) matters arising before a case is transferred by the division to SOAH; 
  (2) matters arising after a proposal for decision or after the entire case is received from 
SOAH; 
  (3) requests for the issuance of a subpoena and related matters; and 
  (4) requests for issuance of a commission requiring deposition and related matters. 
 
(c) Applicability of the APA. 
  (1) The entire APA applies to contested case hearings under Labor Code §§407.046, 
407A.007, 413.031, 413.0312, 413.055, 415.0211, and 415.034. 
  (2) The sections of the APA enumerated in Labor Code §401.021(1) apply to all other 
contested case hearings governed by this chapter. 
  (3) The ALJ renders the final decision in hearings conducted pursuant to Labor Code 
§§413.031, 413.0312, and 413.055. 
  (4) The commissioner renders the final decision in all other cases not specified in 
paragraph (3) of this subsection pursuant to Government Code §2001.062. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.2 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.3 Requesting a Hearing 
 
(a) Hearings Requested by the Division. The division may request a hearing before SOAH 
as permitted by the APA, the Act, and division rules. 
 
(b) Requests for Hearing by Other Parties. Other Parties may file requests for hearings 
before SOAH as permitted by the APA, the Act, and division rules. The request for 
hearing must be in writing. The request for hearing must be filed with the Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings. 
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(c) Date Deemed Filed or Received. When a request for a hearing is addressed to the 
Chief Clerk of Proceedings but is sent to an office other than the Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings, the date filed or received shall be the date the request is received by the 
division. The request for hearing will be forwarded to the division's Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings, but this may result in delay of processing the request. When a request for 
a hearing is not addressed to the Chief Clerk of Proceedings, it will not be considered 
filed or received by the division unless it is actually received by the Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings. Otherwise, a request for a hearing is deemed filed as of the date of the 
division date stamp placed on the document or other evidence of receipt. 
 
(d) Deadlines for Filing. A request for hearing before SOAH must be filed with the Chief 
Clerk of Proceedings within the following time periods: 
  (1) medical fee dispute under Labor Code §413.031 and §413.0312: 20 days after the 
conclusion of the benefit review conference under Chapter 141 of this title (concerning 
Dispute Resolution--Benefit Review Conference); 
  (2) administrative violation: 20 days after receipt of a notice of possible administrative 
violation under Labor Code §415.032 and §180.8 of this title (concerning Notices of 
Violation; Notices of Hearing; Default Judgments); 
  (3) interlocutory order: 20 days after receipt of an interlocutory order for payment 
under Labor Code §413.055; 
  (4) emergency cease and desist order: not later than the 30th day after the date the 
affected person receives the order; 
  (5) division audit or review: 20 days after receipt of a division refund order issued 
pursuant to a division audit or review; or 
  (6) requests for hearing not specified in this subsection: the time for filing a request for 
hearing before SOAH is 20 days after receipt of a notice of the action that the party is 
requesting a hearing on, unless specified in other law. 
 
(e) Requests for Hearing Under Labor Code §413.031 and §413.0312. If the request for 
hearing is based on Labor Code §413.031 and §413.0312, the request must be in the 
form and manner specified by the division and must: 
  (1) contain a statement indicating that it is a request for hearing; 
  (2) include a copy of the findings and decision on which a hearing is being requested; 
  (3) include verification of the date of the conclusion of the Benefit Review Conference; 
  (4) be signed by a requestor or respondent as defined by §133.305 of this title 
(concerning MDR--General), or its representative; and 
  (5) include a certificate of service demonstrating that the request has been sent to the 
other party in accordance with the requirements of §133.307 of this title (concerning 
MDR of Fee Disputes), in substance as follows: "I hereby certify that I have on this ___ 
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day of __________, 20 __, served a copy of the attached instrument on (state the name of 
the other parties on whom a copy was served) by (state the manner of service.)" 
 
(f) Notice of Violation. 
  (1) If a person receives a notice of violation, the person charged must file an answer 
not later than the 20th day after the date of receipt of the notice. The answer must 
either: 
    (A) remit the amount of the sanction to the division or otherwise consent to the 
imposed sanction; or 
    (B) request a hearing. 
  (2) If the person charged does not file an answer to the notice of violation, the division 
shall schedule a hearing at SOAH, pursuant to §180.8(c) of this title (concerning Notices 
of Violation; Notices of Hearing; Default Judgments). 
 
(g) Dismissal of Late Filings. The division, or the ALJ pursuant to paragraph (3) of this 
subsection, shall dismiss a request for hearing filed later than the deadline date. This 
subsection does not apply to requests for hearing submitted in response to a Notice of 
Violation pursuant to §180.8 of this title. 
  (1) The division shall send a letter to the requestor informing the requestor that the 
untimely request will be dismissed unless the requestor provides information about 
timely filing or good cause for untimely filing within 10 working days of the date of the 
letter. 
  (2) If the requestor responds with information about timely filing or good cause, the 
Chief Clerk of Proceedings will send the request for hearing and the additional filing or 
good cause information to SOAH. 
  (3) The SOAH ALJ will dismiss a request for hearing that the ALJ determines to be filed 
later than the deadline date without good cause. 
 
(h) Division Delivery of Request for Hearing to SOAH. The Chief Clerk of Proceedings 
shall send the request for a hearing to SOAH within 20 working days of receipt, unless: 
  (1) the decision has been withdrawn under the provisions contained in §148.8 of this 
title (concerning Withdrawal of Hearing Request); 
  (2) the request for hearing has been dismissed under subsection (g) of this section; 
  (3) the division has notified the parties of a proposed clerical correction to the order or 
decision; or 
  (4) a party has requested a correction of clerical error with the division. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.3 adopted to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 
TexReg 5608 
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RULE §148.4 Correction of Clerical Error 
 
(a) Correction of Clerical Error Discovered by the Division. The division may at any time 
revise an order or decision to correct a clerical error. The division may enter a nunc pro 
tunc order after an order or decision has become final. To initiate the correction, the 
division will notify the parties to the order or decision of the proposed correction. If a 
party objects to the proposed clerical correction, it must do so by the date and time 
specified by the division. The date and time specified by the division may not exceed the 
point at which the order or decision becomes final. 
 
(b) Request for Correction of Clerical Error Discovered by a Party. 
  (1) A party to an order or decision may request the correction of a clerical error from 
the division prior to the point at which the order or decision becomes final. 
  (2) To initiate the correction, the division will notify the parties of the proposed 
correction. If a party objects to the proposed clerical correction, it must do so by the 
date and time specified by the division. The date and time specified by the division may 
not exceed the point at which the order or decision becomes final. 
 
(c) Notification. The division will notify the parties to an order or decision that a clerical 
correction was made by issuing a letter that includes the: 
  (1) date of the original order or decision; 
  (2) erroneous portion as originally stated; 
  (3) corrected portion as it reads; and 
  (4) signature of the authorized division personnel. 
 
RULE §148.5 Notice of Hearing 
 
(a) Notice of Hearing. The Chief Clerk of Proceedings shall notify the parties in writing, 
by verifiable means, of the date, time, place, and nature of the hearing no later than 10 
days before the hearing date. SOAH shall notify the parties of a hearing no later than 30 
days before the hearing date for a hearing under Labor Code §407.046(b). 
 
(b) Contents. The notice of hearing must include: 
  (1) a statement of the time, place, and nature of the hearing; 
  (2) the docket number; 
  (3) the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing will be held; 
  (4) a reference to the particular sections of the statutes and any rules involved; 
  (5) a notice regarding failure to appear and default judgments; and 
  (6) a short, plain statement of the matters asserted. 
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(c) Alternative Submission. In lieu of the Chief Clerk of Proceedings, the division's 
representative may provide the reference to the statutes and any rules involved, nature 
of the hearing, and the short, plain statement of the matters asserted. 
 
(d) Administrative Violation Notice of Hearing; Default. 
  (1) A person who receives a notice of hearing under §180.8(c) of this title (relating to 
Notices of Violation; Notices of Hearing; Default Judgments) must file a written answer 
or other responsive pleading with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings within 20 days of 
receipt of the notice as required by §180.8(c) of this title. 
  (2) Failure to file the required answer or pleading constitutes a default, and the division 
may seek informal disposition by default under §180.8(f) and (g) of this title. 
 
(e) Notice of Hearing under Labor Code §407.046(b) from SOAH. 
  (1) SOAH shall notify, in writing, a certified self-insurer and the Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings of the date, time, place, and nature of a hearing concerning the intent of 
the division to revoke a certificate of self-insurance under Labor Code §407.046. 
  (2) The notice must be sent no later than 30 days before the hearing date. 
  (3) The notice must include: 
    (A) the notice required under Government Code §2001.052, and 
    (B) a notice regarding failure to appear and default judgment. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.5 adopted to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 
TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.6 Venue 
 
Hearings under this chapter are held in Austin, Travis County, Texas. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.6 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.7 Representation 
 
(a) Representation of Injured Employees or Insurance Carriers. Pursuant to Labor Code 
§402.071 and §150.3 of this title (relating to Representatives: Written Authorization 
Required), a person representing an injured employee or insurance carrier in a contested 
case hearing shall not receive a fee for providing representation under this subtitle 
unless the person is an adjuster representing an insurance carrier or licensed to practice 
law. 
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(b) Fee Defined. For the purposes of this section, "fee" means any remuneration received 
directly or indirectly, in cash or in kind. It includes voluntary contributions. The provision 
of representation before SOAH as an extension of, or in addition to, other services for 
which a fee was paid shall be considered receipt of a fee for providing representation as 
specified in Labor Code §401.011(37) and §402.071 and §150.3 of this title. 
 
(c) Representation by Employee. The prohibitions in subsections (a) and (b) of this 
section do not preclude representation by a person who receives a salary as an 
employee of the person represented to perform services in the usual course and scope 
of the employer's business. 
  (1) For the purposes of this subsection, "employee" means a person in the service of 
another under a contract of hire, whether express or implied, or oral or written. 
  (2) The term "employee" does not include: 
    (A) an independent contractor or the employee of an independent contractor; or 
    (B) a person whose employment is not in the usual course and scope of the 
employer's business. 
 
(d) Ombudsman Program. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to limit 
assistance pursuant to Labor Code §404.105. 
 
(e) Administrative violation. A person commits an administrative violation if that person 
receives a fee for providing representation under circumstances prohibited by this 
section. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.7 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.8 Withdrawal of Hearing Request 
 
(a) The petitioner may, at any time before the decision or order is signed, submit a 
written request to withdraw the request for a hearing. The request must be sent to the 
Chief Clerk of Proceedings and to SOAH in accordance with its procedural rules in Title 1 
TAC Chapter 155 (relating to Rules of Procedure). 
 
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, a decision of the 
division's medical fee dispute resolution section in a review of a medical fee under the 
Act may be withdrawn by the division within 15 working days after the division receives 
the request for hearing before SOAH if the request has not yet been delivered to SOAH. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §148.8 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.10 Hearings Subpoenas to Compel Attendance and Subpoenas Duces 
Tecum 
 
(a) Issuance of Subpoena. A request for issuance of a subpoena shall be directed to the 
Chief Clerk of Proceedings in the division's central office. On the written request of any 
party in compliance with the requirements set forth below and upon a showing of good 
cause, the division shall issue a subpoena addressed to the sheriff or any constable to 
require the attendance of a witness and production of books, records, paper, or other 
objects that may be necessary and proper for the purpose of the proceedings. The 
determination of good cause under this section shall include consideration of whether 
the issuance of the subpoena would cause undue burden or expense to the person 
served. 
 
(b) Request for Subpoena. A request for issuance of a subpoena must be in writing, 
addressed to the Chief Clerk of Proceedings, contain a showing of good cause, and 
comply with the following: 
  (1) The request must include the subpoena sought to be issued and be prepared for 
the signature of the Chief Clerk of Proceedings. 
  (2) The subpoena must be addressed to a sheriff or constable for service in accordance 
with Government Code §2001.089. The request must contain the name and address of 
the applicable sheriff or constable. 
  (3) The request must include a good faith, itemized estimate of the amount likely to 
accrue under §148.20 of this title (relating to Reimbursement, Travel Expenses, and Fees 
for Witnesses and Deponents) and include a deposit of the same amount as required by 
Government Code §2001.089(2) (relating to Issuance of Subpoena). The deposit must be 
made by certified check, money order, or other negotiable instrument satisfactory to the 
division. 
  (4) If the subpoena is for the attendance of a witness, the written request and 
accompanying subpoena must contain: 
    (A) the name, address, and title, if any, of the witness; 
    (B) the date, time and place where the person is to appear and give testimony; 
    (C) the docket number of the SOAH proceeding; and 
    (D) a statement showing date of execution and return of the subpoena to the Chief 
Clerk of Proceedings. 
  (5) If the subpoena is for the production of books, records, writings, or other tangible 
items, the written request and accompanying subpoena sought must contain: 
    (A) a specific, detailed description of the items sought to be produced; 
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    (B) the date, time, and place where the person is to appear and give testimony and 
produce the requested items; 
    (C) the docket number of the proceeding; and 
    (D) a statement showing date of execution and return of the subpoena duces tecum 
to the Chief Clerk of Proceedings. 
  (6) The request must contain a description of the reasonable steps taken to avoid 
imposing undue burden or expense on the person served. 
 
(c) Failure to Comply with Subpoena. If a person fails to comply with a subpoena, the 
division, acting through the attorney general, or the party requesting the subpoena, may 
bring suit to enforce the subpoena in a district court in Travis County. This remedy is not 
exclusive. The division may enforce the subpoena in any manner permitted by the Act, 
the APA, or division rules. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.10 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.11 Commissions to Compel Attendance for Deposition 
 
(a) Issuance of Commission Requiring Deposition. A request for issuance of a 
commission requiring deposition must be directed to the Chief Clerk of Proceedings in 
the division's central office. On the written request of any party in compliance with the 
requirements set forth below, the division must issue a commission addressed to the 
several officers authorized by statute to take depositions in accordance with the 
requirements of Government Code §2001.094. On the written request of any party in 
compliance with the requirements set forth below the Chief Clerk of Proceedings shall 
issue a commission to require that the witness appear and produce, at the time the 
deposition is taken, books, records, papers, or other objects that may be necessary and 
proper for the purpose of the proceeding. 
 
(b) Commission Not Required for a Party. The issuance of a commission requiring 
deposition is not required if the witness is a party or is retained by, employed by, or 
otherwise subject to the control of a party. Service of the notice of oral deposition upon 
the party or the party's representative is sufficient. 
 
(c) Deposition of a Member of an Agency, Board, or Division. A member of an agency, 
board, or division shall not be deposed after a hearing date has been set. 
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(d) Requests for Commissions Requiring Deposition. A request for a commission 
requiring deposition must be in writing addressed to the Chief Clerk of Proceedings and 
comply with the following: 
  (1) The request must include the commission requiring deposition sought to be issued 
prepared for the signature of the Chief Clerk of Proceedings. 
  (2) The commission requiring deposition must be addressed to an officer authorized by 
statute to take a deposition in accordance with Government Code §2001.094. The 
request must contain the name and address of the applicable officer authorized to take 
the deposition, the date, time and place where either the witness is to appear and give 
testimony or where the written deposition responses are to be sent, a detailed 
description of any items the witness will be required to produce, and a statement 
showing date of execution and return of the commission requiring deposition to the 
Chief Clerk of Proceedings. 
  (3) The request must include a good faith itemized estimate of the amount likely to 
accrue under §148.20 of this title (relating to Reimbursement, Travel Expenses, and Fees 
for Witnesses and Deponents) and include a deposit of the same amount as required by 
Government Code §2001.094(a). The deposit must be made by certified check, money 
order, or other negotiable instrument satisfactory to the division. 
  (4) The party seeking the commission requiring deposition shall coordinate with the 
other party or parties and with the witness to determine a mutually agreeable location 
and time for the attendance of the witness. The request for commission requiring 
deposition must state whether such coordination has been made and whether the 
proposed location and time is by mutual agreement of the parties and witness. 
  (5) The party seeking the commission requiring deposition that includes a requirement 
for production should coordinate with the other party or parties, and with the person 
from whom production is sought, to determine a mutually agreeable location and time 
for the requested production. The request for the commission requiring deposition must 
state whether such coordination has been made and whether the proposed location and 
time is by mutual agreement with the parties and the person from whom production is 
sought. 
 
(e) Application of the APA. Matters related to deposition conduct, use, opening, and any 
other matters relating to depositions not covered by these rules shall be in accordance 
with the requirements of the APA. 
 
(f) Failure to Comply with Commission Requiring Deposition. If a person fails to comply 
with a commission requiring deposition, the division acting through the attorney 
general, or the party requesting the subpoena or commission, may bring suit to enforce 
the subpoena or commission in a district court in Travis County. This remedy is not 
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exclusive. The division may enforce the subpoena or commission requiring deposition in 
any manner permitted by the Act, the APA, or division rules. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.11 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.13 Recording the Hearing 
 
(a) Arrangement for Court Reporter and Costs. In cases in which a court reporter is 
required, on the division's initiative, at the request of a party, or when required by SOAH 
rules or the ALJ of a case, the division will arrange for a court reporter. The Petitioner is 
responsible for all associated costs including the costs of the court reporter at the 
hearing and the costs associated with preparation of a verbatim record if one is 
required. In cases in which more than one party is seeking affirmative relief, the costs 
will be assessed equally. Nothing in this section precludes the parties from entering into 
their own agreement regarding arrangements for a court reporter or allocation of 
associated costs. 
 
(b) Recording by a Party. A party electing to use a means of making a record that is in 
addition to the means specified in SOAH's rules or by the ALJ is responsible for all 
associated costs. If a verbatim record is made, the party shall provide the division and 
SOAH with a copy of the audiotape or videotape free of charge. If a transcript is made, 
the party shall provide the division with the original of the transcript free of charge. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.13 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.14 Burden of Proof 
 
(a) Burden of Proof on the Division. The division has the burden of proof in a contested 
case in which the division seeks to impose a sanction or has issued an emergency cease 
and desist order. 
 
(b) Burden of Proof on Party Seeking Relief. The burden of proof rests with the party 
seeking relief in hearings conducted pursuant to Labor Code §§408.024, 413.031, 
413.0312, and 413.055. 
 
(c) Burden of Proof on the Certified Self-Insurer. The burden of proof rests with the 
certified self-insurer in hearings conducted pursuant to the following sections of the 
Labor Code: 
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  (1) Section 407.043; 
  (2) Section 407.046; 
  (3) Section 407.133; and 
  (4) Section 407.066. The certified self-insurer has the burden of proof if they request 
the hearing to challenge the position of the division. 
 
(d) Burden of Proof on the Employer. The burden of proof of showing timely filing or 
good cause when an allegation of untimely filing has been made rests with the 
employer in issues under §120.2 of this title (relating to Employer's First Report of 
Injury). 
 
(e) Standard of Proof. The standard of proof in a contested case is preponderance of the 
evidence. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.14 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.15 Final Decision by the ALJ 
 
(a) Decision or Order. The ALJ shall adjourn the hearing after all evidence has been 
received in contested cases held under Labor Code §§413.031, 413.0312, and 413.055. 
 
(b) Decision or Order that May Become Final. The ALJ shall issue a decision or order that 
may become final. 
 
(c) Contents of Decision or Order that May Become Final. The decision or order that may 
become final must include orders that are necessary to implement the decision or order. 
When the decision or order requires any action or compliance, it must contain a period 
of time for such action to be completed, normally not to exceed 30 days from the date 
the decision or order is received, for such action or compliance to be completed. 
 
(d) Furnishing the Decision or Order that May Become Final. 
  (1) The decision or order that may become final will be sent immediately to the parties 
or their representatives by verifiable means that shall be documented in the hearing file. 
  (2) If the decision or order that may become final is furnished by personal delivery, a 
receipt verifying personal delivery and containing the date of delivery and the person, 
any business title, and person's business address that received the delivery shall be 
made by the person who makes the personal delivery, and shall be date-stamped and 
placed in the hearing file. 
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(e) Procedures for Motion for Rehearing. The decision or order that may become final 
will become final if a motion for rehearing is not filed with SOAH within 20 days after 
receipt of the decision or order. The procedures for a motion for rehearing are governed 
by the Government Code, Chapter 2001, Subchapter F, and a motion for rehearing is a 
prerequisite for appealing a decision or order under this section. 
 
(f) Finality of Decision or Order. The finality of the ALJ's decision or order is determined 
by Government Code §2001.144, except as provided by Labor Code §413.031 and 
§133.307 of this title (relating to MDR of Fee Disputes). 
 
(g) Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies. The notification to a party of the ALJ's 
decision or order that has become final under Government Code §2001.144 constitutes 
exhaustion of all administrative remedies, except as provided by Labor Code §413.031 
and §133.307 of this title. 
 
(h) Judicial Review. A party dissatisfied with a final decision or order of the ALJ may seek 
judicial review as provided by the Act in accordance with the Government Code, Chapter 
2001, Subchapter G, Labor Code §413.031 and §133.307 of this title. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.15 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.16 Proposal for Decision or Order by the ALJ 
 
(a) Proposal for Decision or Order. The ALJ shall adjourn the hearing after all evidence 
has been received in contested cases held under the Act not governed by §148.15 of this 
title (relating to Final Decision by ALJ). 
 
(b) Description of Proposal for Decision or Order. The proposal for decision or order 
must be based solely upon the record of the individual case. It must be in writing and 
include: 
  (1) a statement of the reasons upon which the decision is based; 
  (2) findings of fact based on the evidence presented and matters officially noticed. If 
there is evidence presented regarding the ability of a party to pay the amount of a 
proposed sanction or bonding amount in a hearing involving assessment of sanctions 
under Labor Code §415.021, the ALJ shall make findings of fact on those issues; 
  (3) conclusions of law based on the findings of fact and other legal requirements of the 
law; 
  (4) the sanction or order recommended by the ALJ; 
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  (5) a conclusion of whether the division is authorized by the Act or division rules to 
take disciplinary or sanction action against the petitioner; and 
  (6) the proposal for decision or order may also contain: 
    (A) a summary of the evidence presented by each party; and 
    (B) a list of all mitigating circumstances and a list of all aggravating circumstances, 
separately stated, which are necessary for the commissioner to have a complete 
understanding of the case. 
 
(c) Furnishing Proposal for Decision or Order. SOAH shall furnish the proposal for 
decision or order to: 
  (1) the Chief Clerk of Proceedings; and 
  (2) the parties of the hearing. SOAH shall furnish the proposal for decision or order by 
verifiable means and retain information on the date, address, person or entity served, 
and the means of service 
 
(d) Filing of Briefs and Exceptions. If a party files a brief or exception to the proposal for 
decision or order or replies to the exceptions or brief with SOAH, it must also file a copy 
with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings. 
 
(e) Commissioner's Hearing on the Proposal for Decision or Order. 
  (1) A party may submit a request for a commissioner's hearing to consider arguments 
with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings within 10 days after SOAH issues the proposal for 
decision or order. 
  (2) The commissioner may determine if a hearing is necessary to consider arguments, 
whether or not a request for a hearing has been filed. If such a determination is made, 
the commissioner shall consider the case at a posted hearing of the division, no later 
than 120 days after: 
    (A) SOAH provides the division with the proposal for decision or order; 
    (B) the date of the ALJ's comments or response to any exceptions or briefs and any 
replies to such exceptions or briefs; or 
    (C) the expiration of the ALJ's deadline for such response in accordance with Title 1 
TAC §155.507 (relating to Proposal for Decision). 
  (3) If the commissioner determines that a hearing is not necessary, the division will 
notify any requestors and the commissioner shall consider the case after the later of: 
    (A) the issuance of the proposal for decision or order; 
    (B) the date of the expiration of the ALJ's comments or response to any exceptions or 
briefs and any replies to such exceptions or briefs; or 
    (C) the expiration of the ALJ's deadline for such response in accordance with Title 1 
TAC §155.507. 
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(f) Issuance of Decision or Order That May Become Final. The commissioner shall issue a 
decision or order that may become final in contested cases under this section pursuant 
to Labor Code §§407.046, 407A.007, 415.0211, and 415.034. A decision or order that may 
become final will become final in accordance with Government Code §2001.144. In all 
other cases, the commissioner shall issue a final decision or order and no motion for 
rehearing will be considered. 
 
(g) Motion for Rehearing. A motion for rehearing may be filed in contested cases under 
this section pursuant to Labor Code §§407.046, 407A.007, 415.0211, and 415.034. The 
procedures of the Government Code, Chapter 2001, Subchapter F govern a motion for 
rehearing under this section. A motion for rehearing is a prerequisite for filing an appeal 
of a decision or order under Labor Code §§407.046, 407A.007, 415.0211, or 415.034. 
 
(h) Notification. The Chief Clerk of Proceedings shall notify the parties to a contested 
case of the final decision or order of the commissioner by verifiable means. 
 
(i) Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies. The notification to a party of the 
commissioner's final decision or order constitutes exhaustion of all administrative 
remedies. 
 
(j) Judicial Review. A party dissatisfied with a decision or order of the commissioner may 
seek judicial review as provided in the Act in accordance with the APA. Judicial review 
will be in accordance with the Act and the Government Code §§2001.171, 2001.172, and 
2001.174. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.16 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.17 Special Provisions for Sanctions 
 
(a) Unless otherwise stated in a final, unappealable order from the commissioner or a 
court, a charged party must comply with a sanction no later than 30 days after the order 
becomes final and unappealable. 
 
(b) If an order imposing a sanction assesses a penalty against the charged party, the 
charged party must file the amount of the penalty with the Chief Clerk of Proceedings in 
the form of a cashier's check, a certified check, a certified draft, or other form of 
payment authorized by the division. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §148.17 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608; amended to be 
effective January 9, 2019, 44 TexReg 263 
 
RULE §148.19 Transcript or Duplicate of the Hearing Audiotape or Videotape 
 
(a) A party may submit a request to the division for a transcript of the hearing audiotape 
or videotape. The requestor shall pay the cost of the transcript, as established by the 
division. 
 
(b) A party may submit a request to the division for a duplicate of the hearing audiotape 
or videotape. The requestor shall pay the cost of the duplication, as established by the 
division. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.19 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.20 Reimbursement, Travel Expenses, and Fees for Witnesses and 
Deponents 
 
(a) Reimbursement of Witness or Deponent. A witness or deponent who is not a party 
and who is served with a subpoena or otherwise compelled to attend any hearing or 
proceeding to give a deposition or to produce books, records, papers, or other objects 
that are necessary for the proceeding is entitled to receive reimbursement for travel, 
meals, lodging, and other amounts as specified and limited in the Government Code 
§2001.103. 
 
(b) Reasonable and Necessary Expenses and Service. The party requesting the subpoena 
or commission or otherwise compelling the attendance of a witness at any hearing or 
proceeding to give a deposition or produce books, records, papers, or other objects 
shall be responsible for the payment, of any expense, incurred in serving the subpoena, 
as well as reasonable and necessary expenses incurred by a nonparty witness who 
appears in response to the subpoena. 
 
(c) Failure to Pay Expenses. The party requesting the subpoena or commission or 
otherwise compelling the attendance of a witness at any hearing or proceeding to give a 
deposition or produce books, records, papers, or other objects shall pay the witness the 
amount accrued under this section. Failure to pay the witness the amount accrued when 
sought is an administrative violation. 
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(d) Return of Deposit. After the Chief Clerk of Proceedings has received, from the party 
requesting the subpoena or commission to take deposition, sufficient documentation of 
all requests by the witness for payment of witness expenses and sufficient proof of 
payment of all amounts due to the non-party witness or deponent, the division will 
return the amount of any deposit required under §148.10(b)(3) and §148.11(d)(3) of this 
title (relating to Hearings Subpoenas To Compel Attendance and Subpoenas Duces 
Tecum and Commissions To Compel Attendance For Deposition), respectively. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.20 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.21 Expenses to be Paid by Party Seeking Judicial Review 
 
(a) Upon receiving a copy of a petition filed in district court which seeks judicial review 
of a final decision in a contested case decided under this chapter, the division shall 
prepare a certified copy of the entire record of the proceeding under review, including a 
transcript of the hearing audiotape, and transmit it to the reviewing court. 
 
(b) The division shall assess to the party seeking judicial review, expenses incurred by 
the division in preparing this copy, including transcription costs, in accordance with the 
Government Code §2001.177. Upon request, the division shall consider the financial 
ability of the party to pay the costs or any other factor that is relevant to a just and 
reasonable assessment of costs. If the party seeking judicial review is an injured 
employee, the division shall not charge for duplicating the record. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.21 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
 
RULE §148.22 Failure to Appear or Comply with Order or Decision, Administrative 
Violation 
 
A person commits an administrative violation if that person in the status of a party, or 
otherwise within the jurisdiction of SOAH (for example, a witness), in a contested case 
hearing or proceeding before SOAH, fails to comply with an order of the ALJ to include 
any final decisions issued. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.22 adopted to be effective June 9, 2005, 30 
TexReg 3237; amended to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 TexReg 5608 
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RULE §148.23 Division Enforcement of Orders 
 
Any final order of SOAH is a final order of the division and may be enforced by the 
division in any manner permitted by the Act, the APA, or division rules. After conclusion 
of the administrative process, any SOAH order which survives the entry of a final order, 
the sending of a proposal for decision to the division, or the dismissal or withdrawal of 
the case from the SOAH docket, regardless of upon whose motion the dismissal or 
withdrawal was granted, is an order of the commissioner and may be enforced by the 
division in any manner permitted by the Act, the APA, or division rules. Examples of 
enforceable orders include, but are not limited to, orders to reimburse, orders to pay 
reasonable and necessary medical costs, orders to pay administrative fines, orders to 
refund, orders assessing attorney fees, orders assessing costs, and orders imposing 
discovery sanctions. 
 
RULE §148.24 Confidentiality of Records 
 
(a) SOAH shall ensure that the confidentiality provisions of Labor Code, §§402.082 - 
402.092, 411.034, 413.0513, and 413.0514 and the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 20, 
§603.6 and §603.7 (for information obtained from the Texas Workforce Commission or 
its successor agencies) will be followed, including requests for release of documents or 
information made confidential under the Act or other applicable law. 
 
(b) Unless authorized by law, SOAH will not identify the name of a claimant for workers' 
compensation coverage under the Act or other information contained in or derived from 
the division's claim file for such a claimant in listings of docketed cases or in other 
documents distributed to persons other than to the division and the parties to a 
contested case involving that claimant. 
 
(c) If a party or a member of the public files a written request with the Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings and with SOAH that a hearing be conducted as a hearing open to the 
public, the ALJ shall consider that request and issue a ruling prior to the opening of the 
hearing to the public. 
 
(d) Any request for a hearing open to the public shall be filed with the Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings and with SOAH at least seven days prior to the first day of the hearing 
unless the ALJ allows a shorter filing period upon a showing of good cause. 
 
(e) When considering a request that a hearing be open to the public, the ALJ's 
considerations shall include, but are not limited to, whether the hearing would contain 
information made confidential under the Act or other applicable laws. If confidential 
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information would be included, then the ALJ may consider whether any procedure could 
be devised and utilized which would allow a hearing to be open to the public without 
violating the confidentiality provisions of the Act, other applicable laws, other applicable 
regulations, and agreements required by those laws or regulations or without causing 
an undue burden on the division or the parties to the hearing. 
 
(f) While SOAH will have temporary custody of the hearing records, the commissioner 
retains statutory authority as custodian of records and is ultimately responsible, as the 
originating agency, for the release or non-release of the information. Therefore, should 
any information, which may be confidential under the Act, division rules, or other law, be 
requested from SOAH by any person or entity, SOAH shall follow all legal requirements 
necessary to ensure that the confidential information or document is not released, 
unless specifically required by law, and shall provide such request to the commissioner 
immediately upon receipt. 
 
(g) Pursuant to Labor Code §413.031(c), the division shall be responsible for publishing 
any SOAH decisions required to be published by that section on the department's 
website. SOAH shall as soon as practicable deliver to the division a version of the 
decision in an electronic format. 
 
(h) SOAH and the division have responsibilities for compliance with the Texas Public 
Information Act, Government Code, Chapter 552. Each agency maintains information 
that may be considered confidential or exempt from disclosure under laws administered 
by that agency. To the extent required by law, each agency is responsible for replying to 
all public information requests for information maintained by that agency. Each agency 
will promptly notify the other agency of the receipt of a Texas Public Information Act 
request relating to confidential or exempt records obtained from the other agency and 
will coordinate responses as necessary. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §148.24 adopted to be effective July 27, 2014, 39 
TexReg 5608 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 150 REPRESENTATION OF PARTIES BEFORE THE AGENCY--

QUALIFICATIONS FOR REPRESENTATIVES 
 
RULE §150.1 Minimum Standards of Practice for an Attorney 
 
(a) An attorney, in practice before the commission, shall observe: 
  (1) these rules; 
  (2) the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct; and 
  (3) the Texas Lawyer's Creed, promulgated by the Supreme Court of Texas on 
November 7, 1989. 
 
(b) An attorney who undertakes representation of a claimant on a valid compensation 
claim and a third party liability action shall not abandon the compensation claim for the 
purpose of avoiding the maximum attorney fee established under the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act (the Act), §4.09. 
 
(c) An attorney who fails to comply with this rule may be assessed an administrative 
penalty under the Act, §10.07(a)(11). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §150.1 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1196 
 
RULE §150.2 Qualification and Authorization of Attorney To Practice before the 
Commission 
 
(a) An attorney who represents any party before the commission shall be licensed to 
practice law by the State Bar of Texas in order to receive an attorney's fee. 
 
(b) An attorney who represents a claimant for benefits shall notify the commission in 
writing within 10 days of undertaking the representation of the party. The written notice 
shall identify the attorney and the claimant and the injured employee (if different from 
the claimant). 
 
(c) An attorney may be disqualified, after a hearing under the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act (the Act), §10.33, from representing any party before the commission 
for the following activities: 
  (1) knowingly charging a claimant a fee in excess of that allowed by the commission; 
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  (2) knowingly assisting any person in making a false or misleading statement, 
misrepresenting or concealing a material fact, and/or fabricating, altering, concealing, or 
destroying a document, in order to claim benefits; 
  (3) knowingly assisting any person in making a false or misleading statement, 
misrepresenting or concealing a material fact, and/or fabricating, altering, concealing, or 
destroying a document, in order to defeat a claim for benefits; 
  (4) for engaging in conduct described in the Act, §10.07(a)(1)-(10) or (b)(1)-(23), 
whether or not an administrative violation is assessed; or 
  (5) being suspended or disbarred by the State Bar of Texas. 
 
(d) An attorney who is disqualified may apply to the commission for reinstatement, no 
sooner than the expiration of the term of disqualification. However, an attorney who has 
been disbarred by the State Bar of Texas cannot apply for reinstatement to practice 
before the commission unless the State Bar of Texas certifies that the attorney has had 
the license to practice law reinstated. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §150.2 adopted to be effective March 7, 1991, 16 
TexReg 1197 
 
RULE §150.3 Representatives: Written Authorization Required 
 
(a) A representative, as that term is defined in the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (the 
Act), §1.03(40), is authorized under the Act, §2.09(e), to provide services in workers' 
compensation matters if: 
  (1) the person is an insurance adjuster holding a State Board of Insurance license to 
adjust workers' compensation claims, if the adjuster provides, to the commission, a 
written authorization from an insurance carrier to adjust claims. Written authorization is 
not required from an adjuster who is an employee of the insurance carrier; 
  (2) the person is an attorney and complies with the requirements of §150.2(a) of this 
title (relating to Qualification and Authorization of Attorney To Practice before the 
Commission); or 
  (3) the person who is not either an adjuster or attorney files with the commission a 
written power of attorney, or written authorization from the claimant, allowing that 
person access to confidential records. No fee or remuneration shall be received either 
directly or indirectly from a claimant. 
 
(b) A representative that fails to comply with the Act, or violates a rule of the 
commission, may be subject to sanctions, including suspension, as provided by the Act, 
§2.09(f) and §10.07(d). 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §150.3 adopted to be effective July 8, 1991, 16 
TexReg 3399 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 152  ATTORNEY FEES 
 
RULE §152.1 Attorney Fees: General Provisions 
 
(a) To be eligible to earn a fee, an attorney representing any party shall hold an active 
license to practice law in Texas and not be currently under suspension for any reason. 
 
(b) An attorney may receive a fee for representation of any party before the commission 
only after the commission approves the amount of the fee. An attorney shall not receive 
an amount greater than the fee approved by the commission, notwithstanding any 
agreements between the parties, including retainer fee agreements. 
 
(c) The fee approved by the commission shall be limited to 25% of each weekly income 
benefit payment to the employee, up to 25% of the total income benefits allowed and 
shall also be based on the attorney's time and expenses, subject to the guidelines and 
standards set forth in the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (the Act) and commission 
rules. An attorney's fee for representing an injured employee becomes a lien against any 
unpaid income benefits due the injured employee once the carrier receives the 
commission order approving the fee. The carrier must begin payment out of the 
approved income benefits by mailing a check to the attorney within seven days after 
receiving the commission order and thereafter whenever income benefits are paid until 
the fee has been paid or income benefits cease. 
 
(d) An attorney's fee for representing a claimant may upon request by the attorney or 
carrier and approval by the commission be commuted to a lump sum only out of a sum 
certain award or order to pay benefits. This commuted fee may be discounted for 
present payment at the rate provided under the Act, §401.023, and shall not exceed 25% 
of the unpaid sum certain. A commuted fee shall be recouped by the carrier out of the 
future income benefits paid to the represented claimant, not to exceed more than 25% 
out of any single payment. The fee for representing a claimant for death benefits cannot 
be commuted where the only dispute involves identification of the proper beneficiaries. 
 
(e) A client who discharges an attorney does not, by that action, defeat the attorney's 
right to claim a fee for services performed by that attorney prior to discharge. 
 
(f) An attorney for an employee who prevails when a carrier contests a commission 
determination of eligibility for supplemental income benefits shall be eligible to receive 
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a reasonable and necessary attorney's fee, including expenses. This fee is payable by the 
carrier, not out of the employee's benefits, and the fee shall not be limited to a 
maximum of 25% of the employee's recovery. All provisions of these rules, except §152.4 
of this title (relating to Guidelines for Legal Services Provided to Claimants and Carriers), 
apply. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §152.1 adopted to be effective February 22, 1991, 
16 TexReg 774; amended to be effective April 20, 1994, 19 TexReg 2547 
 
RULE §152.2 Attorney Fees: Representation of Claimants 
 
(a) An attorney who represents a claimant shall notify the commission in writing within 
10 days of undertaking representation, and shall provide a copy of the contract of 
employment if requested by the commission. 
 
(b) For purposes of computing the maximum amount of a fee that may be fixed and 
approved for a claimant's attorney, "claimant's recovery" shall not include: 
  (1) the amount of benefits paid to the claimant prior to hiring the attorney; 
  (2) benefits initiated or offered by an insurance carrier when the initiation or offer is 
based upon documentation in a claimant's file, and has not been the subject of a 
dispute with the carrier; 
  (3) any undisputed portion of impairment benefits paid or offered to the claimant 
based upon an impairment rating that is assessed by the carrier, under the Texas 
Workers' Compensation Act (the Act), §4.26(f); 
  (4) the value of medical and hospital benefits provided to the claimant; or 
  (5) lifetime income or death benefits when the carrier admits liability on all issues 
involved, and when the maximum benefit is tendered in writing by a carrier, no later 
than the date on which the carrier is required to contest the claim. 
 
(c) An attorney shall not represent multiple legal beneficiaries on a claim for death 
benefits if it is reasonably foreseeable that a judgment favorable to one legal beneficiary 
would impact unfavorably on another legal beneficiary. 
 
(d) The total amount that the commission approves for the attorney's time and expenses 
constitute the fee, and shall not exceed 25% of the claimant's recovery, except as 
provided in the Act, §4.28(l)(2), and §152.1(f) of this title (relating to Attorney Fees: 
General Provisions). 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §152.2 adopted to be effective February 22, 1991, 
16 TexReg 774 
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RULE §152.3 Approval or Denial of Fee by the Division 
 
(a) To claim a fee, an attorney representing any party must submit to the division a 
complete and accurate application for attorney fees in the form and manner prescribed 
by the division. 
 
(b) An application for attorney fees must include: 
  (1) each attorney's name and bar card number; 
  (2) the law firm name, phone number, and mailing address; 
  (3) the injured employee's name, date of injury, and DWC claim number; 
  (4) the beneficiary's name, type, contact information, and social security number, if 
applicable; 
  (5) the dates of legal service; 
  (6) the hourly rate and number of hours for each attorney and legal assistant providing 
legal services; 
  (7) an itemized list of each legal service performed and expense incurred representing 
the claimant or insurance carrier that identifies the attorney or legal assistant who 
provided the service, the date the service was provided, and the hours or amount 
requested; 
  (8) a certification that every statement, numerical figure, and calculation in the 
application for attorney fees submitted to the division is within the attorney's personal 
knowledge, is true and correct, and represents services, charges, and expenses provided 
by the attorney or a legal assistant under the attorney's supervision; and 
  (9) additional case-specific justification for any fee that exceeds the guidelines for legal 
services. 
 
(c) The division may approve, partially approve, or deny an application for attorney fees 
based on the division's determination of whether the requested time and expenses are 
reasonable according to the guidelines for legal services and maximum hourly rate 
established in §152.4 of this title, Labor Code §408.221 and §408.222, and written 
evidence presented to the division. The division will issue an order approving, partially 
approving, or denying an application for attorney fees. Submission of an application 
requesting fees for the same services or expenses addressed in any previous application 
is prohibited. Attorneys are subject to review for compliance with commissioner rules, 
the Act, and other laws under Labor Code Chapter 414. An order approving, partially 
approving, or denying an application for attorney fees does not limit the commissioner's 
authority to enforce a sanction, administrative penalty, or other remedy authorized by 
the Act. At any time an attorney whose application is found to contain false or 
inaccurate information may be referred to enforcement or other authorities, including 
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licensing agencies, district and county attorneys, or the attorney general for 
investigation and appropriate proceedings. 
 
(d) To contest a division order approving, partially approving, or denying an application 
for attorney fees, an attorney, claimant, or insurance carrier must request a contested 
case hearing through the dispute resolution process outlined in Chapters 140 - 144 of 
this title. A request must be submitted by personal delivery, first class mail, or facsimile 
to the division no later than the 20th day after receipt of the division's order. A claimant 
may request a hearing by contacting the division in any manner no later than the 20th 
day after receipt of the division's order. A contesting party other than a claimant must 
send a copy of the request by personal delivery, first class mail, or electronic 
transmission to the insurance carrier and the other parties, including the claimant and 
attorney, on the same day the request is submitted to the division. 
 
(e) After a contested case hearing under subsection (d) of this section, an attorney, 
claimant, or insurance carrier must request review by the appeals panel pursuant to the 
provisions of §143.3 of this title (Requesting the Appeals Panel To Review the Decision 
of the Administrative Law Judge) to contest the division order approving, partially 
approving, or denying an application for attorney fees. 
 
(f) The division's order approving, partially approving, or denying an application for 
attorney fees is binding during the pendency of a contest or an appeal of the order. 
Notice of a contest or an appeal does not relieve the insurance carrier of the obligation 
to pay attorney fees according to the division order. 
 
(g) Following a contested case hearing or appeals panel review of an order approving, 
partially approving, or denying an application for attorney fees under subsection (d) or 
subsection (e) of this section, the division will issue a final order or decision. If the final 
order or decision of the division requires an attorney to reimburse funds, the 
reimbursement must be made no later than the 15th day after receipt of the final order 
or decision. 
 
(h) This section is effective January 30, 2017. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §152.3 adopted to be effective January 30, 2017, 41 
TexReg 10624; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 111 
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RULE §152.4 Guidelines for Legal Services Provided to Claimants and Insurance 
Carriers 
 
(a) The division will consider the guidelines for legal services outlined in subsection (c), 
the maximum hourly rate for legal services in subsection (d), Labor Code, §408.221 and 
§408.222, and written evidence presented to the division, when approving, partially 
approving, or denying an application for attorney fees. 
 
(b) An attorney may request, and the division may approve, a number of hours greater 
than those allowed by the guidelines for legal services if the attorney demonstrates to 
the satisfaction of the division that the higher fee was justified based on the 
circumstances of the specific claim and Labor Code, §408.221 and §408.222. 
 
(c) The guidelines for legal services provided to claimants and insurance carriers are as 
follows: 
Attached Graphic 
 
(d) The maximum hourly rate for legal services shall be as follows. Hourly rate: 
  (1) attorney--$200; and 
  (2) legal assistant (not to include hours for general office staff)--$65. 
 
(e) Each attorney must bill for hours using that attorney's state bar card number. 
 
(f) This section is effective January 30, 2017. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §152.4 adopted to be effective January 30, 2017, 41 
TexReg 10624 
 
RULE §152.5 Allowable Expenses 
 
(a) As part of the application for attorney fees, an attorney shall submit an itemized list 
of expenses incurred for the preparation and presentation of the client's case. The date, 
nature, and amount of the expense shall be clearly identified. 
 
(b) The commission shall allow those expenses necessary for the preparation and 
presentation of a person's claim or a carrier's defense before the commission, including: 
  (1) travel expenses, at the rate set for state employees by the legislature for state 
employees in the General Appropriation Act, if the attorney is required to attend a 
benefit review conference or hearing more than 25 miles from the attorney's office 
nearest to the location of the conference or hearing; 
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  (2) expenses necessary to present a case at a hearing including subpoena costs, court 
reporter's fee, per diem witness fees incurred, and translator's fee; 
  (3) the costs of records necessary to prepare or present a claim or defense including 
copies of commission files, a record check performed by the commission, medical 
reports (except medical reports required to be provided by commission rule), and copies 
of certificates, licenses, and decrees necessary for perfecting a claim for death benefits; 
  (4) costs of long distance telephone calls to: the client, an attorney or other 
representative of the other party, health care providers, or others necessary to prepare 
the claim or defense; 
  (5) costs of collect long distance telephone calls from the client; and 
  (6) investigative services necessary to establish or dispute a claim. 
 
(c) The commission shall not allow as attorney expenses those expenses that are not 
necessary for the preparation and presentation of a party's individual claim or defense 
before the commission, including: 
  (1) attorney travel, except as permitted in subsection (b)(1) of this section; 
  (2) overhead costs of operating a law office including: rent, utilities, copies, fax, 
telecopier, postage, shipping, local telephone calls, long distance calls to the 
commission, and salaries for general office staff; and 
  (3) medical reports and hospital records that commission rules require to be sent to 
the claimant and carrier. 
 
(d) An attorney's payment of out-of-pocket expenses for items listed in subsection (b) of 
this section does not constitute a loan to the client as prohibited by the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Act, §10.03. 
 
RULE §152.6 Attorney Withdrawal 
 
(a) An attorney withdrawing representation must submit a notice of withdrawal under 
subsection (b) of this section or a motion to withdraw under subsection (d) of this 
section and comply with the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct of the 
State Bar of Texas, including surrendering papers and property to the client as required. 
 
(b) An attorney must submit a notice of withdrawal in the form and manner prescribed 
by the division when: 
  (1) the attorney withdraws representation and a motion to withdraw under subsection 
(d) of this section is not required; or 
  (2) the attorney's representation is terminated by the attorney's client. 
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(c) An attorney must submit a notice of withdrawal under subsection (b) of this section 
to the division by personal delivery, first class mail, or facsimile no later than the 10th 
day following withdrawal. An attorney must provide a copy of the notice to the 
attorney's client and the opposing party by personal delivery, first class mail, or 
electronic transmission on the same day the notice is submitted to the division. The 
notice of withdrawal must include: 
  (1) the attorney's name, bar card number, and contact information; 
  (2) the law firm name, if applicable; 
  (3) the injured employee's name, contact information, date of injury, and DWC claim 
number; 
  (4) the beneficiary's name, contact information, and social security number, if 
applicable; 
  (5) the insurance carrier name; 
  (6) the effective date of the attorney's withdrawal of representation under paragraph 
(1) or (2) of subsection (b); and 
  (7) the attorney's signature. 
 
(d) Except when the attorney's representation is terminated by the attorney's client, an 
attorney withdrawing representation must submit a motion to withdraw to the division, 
and receive a division order granting the motion to withdraw, after notice of a 
scheduled benefit review conference or contested case hearing has been received and 
until resolution of the disputed issues through the division's dispute resolution process 
provided in Labor Code Chapter 410, Subchapters A - E. 
 
(e) The motion to withdraw must provide good cause for withdrawing from the case and 
a certification that states: 
  (1) the attorney's client has knowledge of and has approved or refused to approve the 
withdrawal; or 
  (2) the attorney made a good faith effort to notify the attorney's client and the 
attorney's client cannot be located. 
 
(f) An attorney must submit the motion to withdraw to the division by personal delivery, 
first class mail, or facsimile. An attorney must also provide a copy of the motion to the 
attorney's client and the opposing party by personal delivery, first class mail, or 
electronic transmission on the same day the motion is submitted to the division. 
 
(g) The administrative law judge will determine whether good cause exists for the 
attorney's withdrawal based on Rule 1.15 of the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional 
Conduct and other factors, including: 
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  (1) how close in time the attorney withdrawal is to a scheduled benefit review 
conference or contested case hearing; 
  (2) the amount of attorney fees that have been requested and approved by the 
division; 
  (3) whether the attorney is willing to waive payment of any portion of the approved 
fees; 
  (4) the attorney's reason for the withdrawal; and 
  (5) whether the attorney's client refused to approve the withdrawal, if applicable. 
 
(h) If the administrative law judge determines good cause does not exist for the 
attorney's withdrawal, the attorney must continue to represent the party until resolution 
of the disputed issues through the division's dispute resolution process provided in 
Labor Code Chapter 410, Subchapters A - E. 
 
(i) This section does not prevent the attorney's client from terminating the attorney-
client relationship or notifying the division of the termination of the attorney-client 
relationship. If the attorney's client notifies the division of a termination, the attorney is 
not relieved of the duty to submit to the division a notice of withdrawal under 
subsection (b) of this section. 
 
(j) This section is effective January 30, 2017. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §152.6 adopted to be effective January 30, 2017, 41 
TexReg 10624; amended to be effective January 7, 2019, 44 TexReg 111 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 156 REPRESENTATION OF PARTIES BEFORE THE AGENCY--

CARRIER'S AUSTIN REPRESENTATIVE 
 
RULE §156.1 Carrier's Austin Representative 
 
(a) Each insurance carrier shall designate a person in Austin, Travis County, Texas as its 
representative to the Commission, to act as agent for receiving notice from the 
Commission. 
 
(b) The designation required by this section shall be made in the form and manner 
prescribed by the Commission and contain the representative's name, address, 
telephone number, facsimile number and e- mail address. 
 
(c) Any notice from the Commission, sent to the designated representative's Austin 
address, is notice from the Commission to the insurance carrier. 
 
(d) A person designated under this rule continues as agent for the insurance carrier until 
30 days after the Commission receives notice that the insurance carrier designates 
another representative. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §156.1 adopted to be effective January 1, 1991, 15 
TexReg 7029; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2147 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 160 REPORTS OF INJURY AND OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE--

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
RULE §160.1 Applicability 
 
(a) This chapter applies to an employer as defined by Labor Code §411.001(2) and that is 

subject to Labor Code Chapter 411, Subchapter C. 
 
(b) This section is effective January 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §160.1 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 5592 
 
RULE §160.2 Non-Subscribing Employer's Report of Injury 
 
(a) An employer that does not have workers' compensation insurance coverage (non-
subscriber) and employs five or more employees not exempt from workers' 
compensation insurance coverage shall file with the division a report of each: 
  (1) death; 
  (2) on-the-job injury that results in more than one day's absence from work for the 
injured employee; and 
  (3) occupational disease of which the employer has knowledge. 
 
(b) An employer shall file a report required by subsection (a) of this section with the 
division not later than the seventh day of the month following the month in which: 
  (1) the death occurred; 
  (2) the employee was absent from work for more than one day as a result of the on-
the-job injury; or 
  (3) the employer acquired knowledge of the occupational disease. 
 
(c) A report shall be filed in writing or electronically and shall be in the form and manner 
prescribed by the division. A report must include: 
  (1) the employer's business name; 
  (2) the employer's North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes; 
  (3) the employer's business mailing address; 
  (4) the employer's physical address (if different from mailing address); 
  (5) the employer's telephone number; 
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  (6) the employer's federal employer identification number (FEIN); 
  (7) the name, title, telephone number, signature, and date of signature of the person 
completing the report for the employer; 
  (8) the reporting period; 
  (9) the injured employee's name; 
  (10) the employee's social security number; 
  (11) the employee's date of birth; 
  (12) the employee's date of hire; 
  (13) the employee's sex; 
  (14) the employee's occupation; 
  (15) the employee's hourly wage; 
  (16) the employee's NAICS code; 
  (17) the employee's race/ethnic identification; 
  (18) the address where injury or occupational disease occurred; 
  (19) the type of location of where injury or occupational disease occurred; 
  (20) the date of injury or occupational disease; 
  (21) the date reported by employee; 
  (22) the return-to-work date or expected date; 
  (23) the reported cause of injury; 
  (24) the nature of injury or occupational disease; 
  (25) any equipment involved in the injury; 
  (26) body part(s) affected; 
  (27) the first day of absence from work; 
  (28) the number of days absent from work; 
  (29) whether the injury is an occupational disease; 
  (30) whether the injury resulted in death; and 
  (31) a description of incident. 
 
(d) Employers are responsible for timely and accurate filing of reports under this section. 
A report required by this section is considered filed with the division only when it 
accurately contains all of the data elements specified under subsection (c) of this section 
and is received by the division. 
 
(e) This section is effective January 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §160.2 adopted to be effective June 1, 1992, 17 
TexReg 3252; amended to be effective February 2, 1996, 21 TexReg 515; amended to be 
effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2148; amended to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 5592 
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RULE §160.3 Subscribing Employer's Report of Injury 
 
(a) An employer that has workers' compensation insurance coverage (subscriber) shall 
file a report of injury with the division pursuant to Labor Code §411.032. A subscribing 
employer's report of injury filed in accordance with Labor Code §409.005 and applicable 
division rules satisfies that employer's requirement to file a report of injury under Labor 
Code §411.032, unless the division requests that the employer file a report with the 
division for a specific injury. 
 
(b) For an employee who has waived workers' compensation insurance coverage in 
accordance with Labor Code §406.034, an employer covered by workers' compensation 
insurance, whether by commercial insurance or through self-insurance as provided by 
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, shall file with the division a report of each: 
  (1) death; 
  (2) on-the-job injury that results in more than one day's absence from work for the 
injured employee; and 
  (3) occupational disease of which the employer has knowledge. 
 
(c) The report of injury required by subsection (b) of this section shall be filed in the 
form, manner, and timeframes prescribed by the division in §160.2(b) and (c) of this title 
(relating to Non-Subscribing Employer's Report of Injury) and shall include a statement 
that the injured employee has waived workers' compensation coverage in accordance 
with Labor Code §406.034. 
 
(d) Employers are responsible for timely and accurate filing of reports under this section. 
A report required by this section is considered filed with the division only when it 
accurately contains all of the data elements specified under subsection (c) of this section 
and is received by the division. 
 
(e) This section is effective January 1, 2013. 
 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §160.3 adopted to be effective February 2, 1996, 21 
TexReg 515; amended to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 TexReg 5592 
 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 470

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=160&rl=3


TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 165  REJECTED RISK: INJURY PREVENTION SERVICES 
 
RULE §165.1 Identification and Notification of Certain Policyholders Insured by the 
Texas Mutual Insurance Company Acting as the Insurer of Last Resort 
 
 
(a) The Texas Mutual Insurance Company must provide the division a list of the 
policyholders requiring accident prevention services (rejected risk employers). This list 
must include rejected risk employers that meet the criteria in Texas Insurance Code 
Chapter 2054, Subchapters H and K. 
 
(b) A policyholder subject to Texas Insurance Code §2054.504, whose corporate office is 
located outside of Texas must, on receipt of notification by the Texas Mutual Insurance 
Company of the requirement to get a safety consultation as a condition of insurance, 
provide the Texas Mutual Insurance Company the following information: 
  (1) the name and title of the senior official in Texas with the authority to commit funds 
and to establish policy, procedures, and actions required to implement the accident 
prevention plan and address the exposures identified in the hazard exposure survey; 
  (2) the official's mailing address; and 

(3) the official's business telephone number. 
 

(c) Information required by subsection (b) of this section must be mailed to the Texas 
Mutual Insurance Company at 2200 Aldrich Street, Austin, Texas 78723-3474. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §165.1 adopted to be effective April 25, 1999, 24 
TexReg 3092; amended to be effective March 14, 2001, 26 TexReg 2034; amended to be 
effective September 12, 2004, 29 TexReg 8610; amended to be effective March 26, 2023, 
48 TexReg 1637 
 
RULE §165.2 Safety Consultation 
 
(a) Policyholders who have not had an accident prevention plan developed and 
implemented in the last six months prior to notification shall, not later than 30 days 
following the effective date of the policy, or receipt of notice of identification as a 
Rejected Risk employer, whichever occurs later, complete a safety consultation using a 
source approved by the division pursuant to §164.9 and §164.10 of this title (relating to 
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Approval of Professional Sources for Safety Consultations; and Removal From the List of 
Approved Sources). The consultation may be provided by: 
  (1) the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission's Division of Workers' Health and 
Safety (the division); 
  (2) the Texas Mutual Insurance Company; or 
  (3) another professional source. 
 
(b) Policyholders who have had an accident prevention plan developed and 
implemented within the six months prior to notification of their identification as a 
Rejected Risk employer must obtain division review of the plan for adequacy, to include 
an on-site visit. 
 
(c) The division shall provide the Texas Mutual Insurance Company with a list of 
approved professional sources. If the Texas Mutual Insurance Company elects not to 
provide the policyholder with safety consultation and accident prevention plan 
development services, the Texas Mutual Insurance Company shall include a copy of the 
list with the notification letter to the policyholder. If the Texas Mutual Insurance 
Company elects to provide such services, the list will be provided to the policyholder by 
the Texas Mutual Insurance Company at the request of the policyholder. 
 
(d) The safety consultant, identified in subsection (a) of this section, shall visit the 
policyholder's work place, review existing safety programs, conduct a walk through at 
each appropriate job site to include a hazard exposure survey, and prepare a program 
review report. The report shall be in a written format prescribed by the commission. 
 
(e) The initial program review report must be delivered to the division of Workers' 
Health and Safety no later than 30 days after the policyholder receives the notice of 
identification. An extension of 30 days may be obtained from the division for good 
cause. 
 
(f) The safety consultants identified in subsection (a) of this section may charge the 
employer for consultations provided under this section. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §165.2 adopted to be effective April 25, 1999, 24 
TexReg 3092; amended to be effective September 12, 2004, 29 TexReg 8610 
 
RULE §165.3 Formulation and Components of Accident Prevention Plan 
 
(a) Policyholders who have not had an accident prevention plan developed in the last six 
months prior to notification will, within 30 days of the date of the safety consultant's 
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initial report, develop an accident prevention plan. This plan will be consistent with 
established state safety and health codes and with accepted industry practices. The 
accident prevention plan shall be developed with the assistance of an Approved 
Professional Source as defined in §164.9 of this title (relating to Approval of Professional 
Sources for Safety Consultations), and shall be in the format prescribed by the 
commission. The policyholder shall submit the completed accident prevention plan, 
developed and signed by the policyholder and the Approved Professional Source, to the 
division. The Approved Professional Source's signature on the accident prevention plan 
cover sheet certifies that the accident prevention plan meets the format prescribed by 
the commission. The format shall include the following components and specify the 
individual responsible for each, by position or title: 
  (1) a management component with a written safety policy statement and assignment 
of responsibilities and authority; 
  (2) analysis component which includes a review of safety program documentation, 
existing operations, and injury trends. The analysis will be used to evaluate the 
effectiveness of the existing programs and to detect existing or potential trends. The 
analysis component will contain a statement as to the interval between the 
accomplishment of the analyses; 
  (3) a safety program recordkeeping system component; 
  (4) a safety and health education and training component with a statement as to the 
interval between training sessions; 
  (5) a safety audit/inspection component with a statement as to the interval between 
safety audits/inspections; 
  (6) an accident investigation component to identify the cause factors of injuries, and 
plan and record corrective actions; and 
  (7) a component to ensure review and revision of the safety program when changes in 
operations, equipment, or employee activities are determined or anticipated, to ensure 
continued effectiveness of the program requirements. This component also includes the 
periodic review and revisions of the safety program including a statement as to the 
interval (minimum of annually) between reviews. 
 
(b) Policyholders who have had an accident prevention plan developed and 
implemented within the six months prior to notification as a Rejected Risk Employer and 
verified and approved by the Texas Mutual Insurance Company or the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Commission's Division of Workers' Health and Safety (the division) will 
continue implementation of the plan and obtain an inspection by the division as 
provided in §165.6 of this title (relating to Follow-up Inspection by the Division). 
 
(c) Reference material for the development of an accident prevention plan may be 
obtained from the division. 
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(d) An implementation time line, not to exceed three months after the formulation of 
the plan, shall be developed and included with the plan. 
 
(e) If the policyholder disagrees with any or all of the plan, the policyholder shall sign 
the accident prevention plan cover sheet and attach a statement containing the specific 
reasons for disagreement to the plan and what alternative measures the policyholder 
proposes to meet the objectives of the program. The division will review the areas of 
disagreement and notify the policyholder and the safety consultant of the decision on 
each area of the disagreement. 
 
(f) The policyholder's signature is understood to exclude those areas of the plan for 
which a disagreement has been attached to the plan, pending review by the division or 
a formal appeal. 
 
(g) If the division finds it is practical to do so, the division may direct the policyholder to 
begin implementation of any or all parts of the plan that are not subject to the 
policyholder's disagreement. The time lines specified in the plan shall remain in effect 
for those parts of the plan the policyholder is directed to implement. 
 
(h) The policyholder shall be responsible for filing the accident prevention plan that has 
been reviewed by the Approved Professional Source and signed as meeting the criteria 
in subsection (a) of this section with the division no later than 30 days after completion 
of the safety consultation and no later than 90 days after the policyholder received 
notification of identification as a Rejected Risk employer. Delays requested for good 
cause may be granted by the division. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §165.3 adopted to be effective April 25, 1999, 24 
TexReg 3092; amended to be effective September 12, 2004, 29 TexReg 8610 
 
RULE §165.4 Request for Safety Consultation From the Division 
 
(a) A policyholder notified as a Rejected Risk employer may request that the division 
perform the safety consultation. 
 
(b) The request shall be in writing on the form prescribed by the commission and may 
be delivered to the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission's Division of Workers' 
Health and Safety (the division) by mail, in person, by facsimile, or by electronic 
transmission. The form shall include: 
  (1) the policyholder's name, address, and telephone number; 
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  (2) the name of the contact person at the policyholder's place of business; and 
  (3) the date the policyholder received notice of identification as a Rejected Risk 
employer. 
 
(c) The division shall notify each policyholder who requests services whether the division 
has accepted or rejected the request. The notice shall be in writing and shall be made 
within three working days of the date the commission received the request. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §165.4 adopted to be effective April 25, 1999, 24 
TexReg 3092 
 
RULE §165.5 Reimbursement of Division for Services Provided to Rejected Risk 
Employers 
 
(a) A policyholder shall be required to reimburse the Texas Workers' Compensation 
Commission's Division of Workers' Health and Safety (the division) for the services the 
division renders when: 
  (1) the policyholder requested services under §165.4 of this title (relating to Request for 
Safety Consultation from the Division) and the division provides the consultation and 
formulates an accident prevention plan for the policyholder; 
  (2) the division conducts a follow-up inspection of the policyholder's premises under 
§165.6 of this title (relating to Follow-up Inspection by the Division); or 
  (3) the division investigates accidents at the policyholder's worksite(s) while the 
policyholder is in the rejected risk program. 
 
(b) The commission shall bill the policyholder as listed in the commission's approved fee 
schedule. 
 
(c) The commission shall provide the policyholder with an itemized statement each 
month. The payment is due 30 days after the billing date. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §165.5 adopted to be effective April 25, 1999, 24 
TexReg 3092 
 
RULE §165.6 Follow-up Inspection of the Policyholder's Premises by the Division 
 
(a) The Texas Workers' Compensation Commission's Division of Workers' Health and 
Safety (the division) shall conduct a follow-up inspection to ensure compliance with, and 
effectiveness of, the accident prevention plan developed in response to a safety 
consultation required by the Texas Insurance Code, Article 5.76-3, §8(c). This inspection 
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shall be conducted at the policyholder's premises. The inspection shall be conducted 
not earlier than 90 days or later than six months after the date the accident prevention 
plan is submitted to the division. 
 
(b) The inspection shall be conducted and completed during normal work hours. 
 
(c) The policyholder shall allow the division access to the policyholder's premises, 
including remote job sites, and employees during normal work hours to conduct the 
follow-up inspection. A policyholder who without good cause refuses to allow the 
division access to the policyholder's premises may be served with an order of the 
commission demanding such access. Failure to comply with the commission order will 
subject the policyholder to penalties and sanctions as provided in the Texas Insurance 
Code and the Texas Labor Code. 
 
(d) The division may require the presence of the professional source consultant that 
conducted the hazard survey or assisted with the accident prevention plan development 
during the follow-up inspection. If the professional source is required during the 
inspection, the division will coordinate that requirement with the policyholder and the 
professional source, at the policyholder's expense. 
 
(e) At the time of the inspection, the division may consider as evidence of compliance 
information which includes, but is not limited to, visual verification, written policies and 
procedures, attendance rosters for training programs, employee interviews, and 
purchase orders or receipts for equipment or services necessary to support the accident 
prevention plan. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §165.6 adopted to be effective April 25, 1999, 24 
TexReg 3092; amended to be effective June 5, 2003, 28 TexReg 4294 
 
RULE §165.7 Report of Follow-Up Inspection 
 
(a) As soon as practical, but not later than 30 days from the date of the follow-up 
inspection, the policyholder, the safety consultant, and the Texas Mutual Insurance 
Company, shall be provided copies of the follow-up inspection report by the division. 
 
(b) The report shall be in writing and shall specify whether the policyholder has, or has 
not, implemented the accident prevention plan or other acceptable corrective measures 
approved by the division. 
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(c) If the policyholder is found not to have implemented the accident prevention plan, 
the report shall also contain a list of the specific areas of the accident prevention plan 
which have not been implemented. 
 
(d) Failure or refusal to implement the accident prevention plan is an administrative 
violation with penalty not to exceed $5,000 for each day of non-compliance. The Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission's Division of Workers' Health and Safety (the 
division) shall refer the matter to the Commission's Division of Compliance and Practices 
to pursue the administrative violation if: 
  (1) the policyholder fails or refuses to implement the accident prevention plan or 
approved alternative measures; 
  (2) the policyholder does not cancel coverage within 30 days after the date of the 
division's determination of such failure or refusal; and 
  (3) the Texas Mutual Insurance Company notifies the division that it will not cancel the 
coverage. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §165.7 adopted to be effective April 25, 1999, 24 
TexReg 3092; amended to be effective September 12, 2004, 29 TexReg 8610 
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TITLE 28   INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 166 ACCIDENT PREVENTION SERVICES 
  
RULE §166.1 Definitions of Terms 
 
(a) The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
  (1) Accident prevention facilities--All personnel, procedures, equipment, materials, 
documents, buildings, programs, and information necessary to maintain or provide 
accident prevention services to the policyholder. 
  (2) Nature of the policyholders' operations--Type of business or industry with specific 
reference to potential for accident, injury or disease determined by the standard hazards 
associated with the most hazardous industrial operations in which the policyholder is 
engaged. 
  (3) Premium--The amount charged for a workers' compensation insurance policy, 
including any endorsements, after the application of individual risk variations based on 
loss or expense considerations as defined by Insurance Code §2053.001(2-a). 
  (4) Survey--An on-site visit to a policyholder's worksite in Texas where the risk exists or 
the loss occurred and during which the insurance company's accident prevention 
personnel performs a hazard assessment of the worksite, reviews safety and health 
programs, and makes recommendations to assist in mitigating risks and preventing 
injuries and illnesses. 
 
(b) This section is effective October 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §166.1 adopted to be effective September 1, 1995, 
20 TexReg 5248; amended to be effective December 2, 1997, 22 TexReg 11715; 
amended to be effective October 1, 2013, 38 TexReg 2000 
 
RULE §166.2 Adequacy of Accident Prevention Services 
 
(a) Pursuant to Labor Code §411.061 and §411.068(a)(1), an insurance company writing 
workers' compensation insurance in Texas shall maintain or provide accident prevention 
facilities that are adequate to provide accident prevention services required by the 
nature of its policyholders' operations, and must include: 
  (1) surveys; 
  (2) recommendations; 
  (3) training programs; 
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  (4) consultations; 
  (5) analyses of accident causes; 
  (6) industrial hygiene; 
  (7) industrial health services; 
  (8) qualified accident prevention personnel. To provide qualified accident prevention 
personnel and services, an insurance company may: 
    (A) employ qualified personnel; 
    (B) retain qualified independent contractors; 
    (C) contract with the policyholder to provide personnel and services; or 
    (D) use a combination of the methods provided in this paragraph; 
  (9) written procedures. An insurance company shall maintain written procedures for: 
    (A) notifying policyholders of the availability of accident prevention services; 
    (B) determining the appropriate accident prevention services for a policyholder; 
    (C) the specific time frame and manner in which the services will be delivered to a 
policyholder as required by subsection (b) of this section; 
    (D) providing training programs to policyholders; 
    (E) providing written recommendations to the policyholders, which identify hazardous 
conditions and work practices on the policyholder's premises if the insurance company 
provides accident prevention services; 
    (F) providing written reports to the insurance company and policyholders, which 
identify hazardous conditions and work practices on the policyholder's premises if the 
insurance company contracts out the accident prevention services or retains qualified 
independent contractors; and 
    (G) items set forth in §166.3(a)(2)(G) of this title (relating to Annual Information 
Submitted by Insurance Companies); and 
  (10) written records, reports, and evidence of all accident prevention services provided 
to each policyholder. 
 
(b) Pursuant to Labor Code §411.068(a)(2), an insurance company shall utilize accident 
prevention services to prevent injuries to employees of its policyholders in a reasonable 
manner, which at a minimum, include: 
  (1) Notice of availability of accident prevention services and return-to-work 
coordination services. An insurance company shall include a notice on the information 
page or on the front of the policy containing text identical to the following in at least 
10-point bold type for each workers' compensation insurance policy delivered or issued 
for delivery in Texas: Pursuant to Texas Labor Code §411.066, (name of company) is 
required to notify its policyholders that accident prevention services are available from 
(name of company) at no additional charge. These services may include surveys, 
recommendations, training programs, consultations, analyses of accident causes, 
industrial hygiene, and industrial health services. (Name of company) is also required to 
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provide return-to-work coordination services as required by Texas Labor Code §413.021 
and to notify you of the availability of the return-to-work reimbursement program for 
employers under Texas Labor Code §413.022. If you would like more information, 
contact (name of company) at (telephone number) and (email address) for accident 
prevention services or (telephone number) and (email address) for return-to-work 
coordination services. For information about these requirements call the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (TDI-DWC) at 1-800-687-
7080 or for information about the return-to-work reimbursement program for 
employers call the TDI-DWC at (512) 804-5000. If (name of company) fails to respond to 
your request for accident prevention services or return-to-work coordination services, 
you may file a complaint with the TDI-DWC in writing at http://www.tdi.texas.gov or by 
mail to Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation, MS-8, at 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Austin, Texas 78744-1645; 
  (2) Contact and surveys following fatalities. An insurance company shall contact the 
policyholder within seven working days of knowledge of a work-related fatality and offer 
a survey. Survey offers accepted by the policyholder shall be initiated by the insurance 
company within 60 days of policyholder acceptance of the survey offer. No offer of a 
survey is required if the fatality occurred outside of Texas or was the result of an 
accident on a common carrier, unless the fatality involves an employee of the common 
carrier during the course and scope of normal job duties; 
  (3) Insurance company evaluation of need for service. An insurance company shall 
evaluate a policyholder's need for services in accordance with the procedures required 
by subsection (a)(9) of this section taking into consideration the following criteria: 
    (A) generally accepted industry standards and practices governing occupational safety 
and health, such as: A.M. Best, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), 
Bureau of Labor Statistics data, workers' compensation classification codes, occupational 
safety and health standards, and underwriting requests; 
    (B) nature of losses; 
    (C) frequency of claims; 
    (D) loss ratio; 
    (E) severity of claims; 
    (F) risk exposure; 
    (G) experience modifier; 
    (H) premium; and 
    (I) any other information relevant under the circumstances; 
  (4) Services offered and provided by an insurance company. After evaluating and 
determining the policyholder's need for services, all offers of services and the provision 
of services shall be rendered to a policyholder within a reasonable period of time and in 
accordance with the insurance company's written procedures under this section and 
their annual information submitted under §166.3(a)(2)(G) of this title; and 
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  (5) Services requested by a policyholder. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 
section, an insurance company shall provide to each policyholder accident prevention 
services required by the nature of their policyholders' operations within 15 days from 
the date of a policyholder request for services, if appropriate services can be provided 
without conducting a survey; and within 60 days from the date of a policyholder 
request, if a survey is required. Services can be provided at a later date if circumstances 
require and the later date is agreed upon by the policyholder. 
 
(c) The division may determine adequacy of an insurance company's accident prevention 
services in accordance with the requirements of this chapter and generally accepted 
tools and guidelines of loss control provision and through: 
  (1) review of the initial and subsequent reports of annual information, as required by 
§166.3 of this title; and 
  (2) inspections, as specified in §166.5 of this title (relating to Inspections of Adequacy 
of Accident Prevention Facilities and Services). 
 
(d) Accident prevention services shall be provided to policyholders at no additional 
charge. 
 
(e) An insurance company shall not solicit nor obtain from its policyholders a 
prospective waiver declining all accident prevention services. If an insurance company, 
pursuant to Labor Code §411.063(a)(3), contracts with a policyholder to provide accident 
prevention personnel or services, this contract does not limit in any way the insurance 
company's authority or responsibility to comply with any statutory or regulatory 
requirement contained in this chapter. Insurance companies are responsible for 
maintaining or providing all services, including contracted services, in accordance with 
this chapter. 
 
(f) This section is effective October 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §166.2 adopted to be effective October 1, 2013, 38 
TexReg 2000 
 
RULE §166.3 Annual Information Submitted by Insurance Companies 
 
(a) Initial annual report by insurance company. 
  (1) Not later than April 1, 2014, each insurance company writing workers' 
compensation insurance in Texas as of the effective date of this section shall file with the 
division an initial annual report on its accident prevention services. An insurance 
company that writes its first workers' compensation insurance policy after the effective 
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date of this section shall file with the division an initial annual report on its accident 
prevention services not later than the effective date of its first workers' compensation 
insurance policy. 
  (2) An initial annual report required by this subsection shall be filed in the format and 
manner prescribed by the division and shall include: 
    (A) insurance company's name; 
    (B) group name; 
    (C) name, email, phone number, and mailing address of the primary loss control 
contact for Texas; 
    (D) National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) number; 
    (E) company's A.M. Best rating; 
    (F) changes in ownership, organizational structure, or management of the insurance 
company since the last annual report that affect the provision of accident prevention 
services; 
    (G) for each of the accident prevention services listed in §166.2(a)(1) - (7) of this title 
(relating to Adequacy of Accident Prevention Services): 
      (i) criteria, including the specific time frame and manner, that the insurance company 
will use to evaluate and determine a policyholder's need for accident prevention services 
required by the nature of its policyholder's operations based on frequency and severity 
of claims and risk exposures, including how the insurance company will ascertain the 
date of the final determination; 
      (ii) the specific time frame and manner in which an insurance company will make an 
offer of accident prevention services to policyholders once a determination has been 
made; 
      (iii) the specific time frame and manner in which services will be provided to 
policyholders; 
      (iv) specify each entity that will provide the services, such as the insurance company, 
contracted provider, or contracted policyholder; and 
      (v) how the provision of services to policyholders will be documented; 
    (H) the manner in which an insurance company determines a loss ratio; 
    (I) insurance company qualification requirements for employing or contracting with 
accident prevention personnel; 
    (J) method for assuring that the accident prevention personnel provide the requisite 
level of service to the insurance company's policyholders; 
    (K) total number of workers' compensation policies in effect as of December 31 of the 
report year; 
    (L) number of policies in the following premium groups that received any type of 
workers' compensation accident prevention services: 
      (i) less than $25,000; 
      (ii) $25,000 - $100,000; and 
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      (iii) more than $100,000; 
    (M) total dollar amount spent for accident prevention services for Texas workers' 
compensation policyholders; 
    (N) number of policyholder requests for service; 
    (O) number of policyholder requests for service fulfilled; 
    (P) number of surveys performed; 
    (Q) number of work-related fatalities incurred by policyholders; 
    (R) evidence of the effectiveness of and accomplishments in accident prevention; and 
    (S) contact information of and certification by an insurance company representative 
that the information submitted under this subsection is correct and complete. 
 
(b) Subsequent annual reports by insurance company. 
  (1) Subsequent to an insurance company's initial annual report under subsection (a) of 
this section, an insurance company shall file with the division an annual report on its 
accident prevention services not later than April 1 of each calendar year. 
  (2) An annual report required by this subsection shall be filed with the division in the 
format and manner prescribed by the division and shall include the: 
    (A) insurance company's name; 
    (B) group name; 
    (C) name, email, phone number, and mailing address of the primary loss control 
contact for Texas; 
    (D) NAIC number; 
    (E) information in subsection (a)(2)(E) - (R) of this section that has changed since the 
last annual report; and 
    (F) contact information of and certification by an insurance company representative 
that the information submitted under this subsection is correct and complete. 
 
(c) The initial and subsequent annual reports shall not include the expenses or the costs 
of underwriting visits to a policyholder's premises unless accident prevention services 
are provided during the visit. In that case, the proportionate costs of the accident 
prevention services may be included in the report. 
 
(d) When resuming writing workers' compensation insurance in Texas, any insurance 
company that has not written workers' compensation insurance with exposures in Texas 
for 12 months or more shall submit, not later than the effective date of its first workers' 
compensation policy, the initial annual report required under this section. 
 
(e) Insurance companies are responsible for timely and accurate reporting under this 
section. A report required by this section is considered filed with the division only when 
it accurately contains all of the required data elements and is received by the division. 
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(f) This section is effective October 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §166.3 adopted to be effective September 1, 1995, 
20 TexReg 5248; amended to be effective October 1, 2013, 38 TexReg 2000 
 
RULE §166.5 Inspections of Adequacy of Accident Prevention Facilities and Services 
 
(a) Inspections. The division may conduct inspections to determine the adequacy of an 
insurance company's accident prevention services. 
  (1) The division will conduct an initial inspection of each insurance company's accident 
prevention facilities and the company's use of accident prevention services after the 
effective date of this section. After the initial inspection, the division may conduct an 
inspection of an insurance company's accident prevention facilities and the company's 
use of accident prevention services as often as the division considers necessary to 
determine compliance with this chapter. 
  (2) Affiliated companies of an insurer may be inspected together if the same facilities, 
programs, and personnel are used by each of the companies. 
  (3) At least 90 days prior to an inspection, the division shall notify the insurance 
company in writing of the inspection. The notice shall specify the location of the 
inspection and the date on which the inspection will occur. 
  (4) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the division may conduct 
unannounced on-site visits to determine compliance with the Act and division rules in 
accordance with the procedures governing on-site visits in Chapter 180 of this title 
(relating to Monitoring and Enforcement). 
 
(b) Site of inspection. The inspection of the insurance company's accident prevention 
services shall take place as determined by the division at: 
  (1) the insurance company office in Texas; or 
  (2) the division's Austin headquarters. 
 
(c) Pre-inspection exchange of information. 
  (1) At least 60 days prior to the date set for inspection, in the format and manner 
specified by the division, the insurance company shall provide to the division: 
    (A) a list of policyholders, for the period of time determined by the division, by 
policyholder name, policy number, effective date or expiration date of the policy, 
premium, number of fatalities, principal Texas location, indication of whether the 
insurance company has contracted with the policyholder for accident prevention 
services, and indication of whether that policyholder has requested accident prevention 
services. The list shall be taken from the insurance company's most current records, 
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separated by affiliated companies, arranged in descending order by premium, and 
include all policies; and 
    (B) a copy of all accident prevention services procedures, including any changes since 
the insurance company's last annual report. 
  (2) Within 10 days of receipt of the policyholder list, the division shall select the specific 
policyholder files to be evaluated and notify the insurance company of those selected 
files. 
  (3) For each policy selected by the division, the insurance company shall prepare an 
accident prevention services worksheet in the format and manner prescribed by the 
division. The worksheet shall include the: 
    (A) policyholder name; 
    (B) policy number; 
    (C) number of employees; 
    (D) principal Texas office address or principal corporate office address if there is no 
principal Texas office address; 
    (E) primary NAICS code; 
    (F) A. M. Best Hazard index number; 
    (G) policyholder contact person's name, phone number, and email address; 
    (H) insurance company name; 
    (I) effective date of the policy; 
    (J) name of person completing the form and date completed; 
    (K) service and loss information for policy years as requested by the division, 
including: 
      (i) total premium; 
      (ii) number of claims; 
      (iii) number of and dates of fatalities; 
      (iv) loss ratio; 
      (v) experience modifier; 
      (vi) surveys (list all dates); 
      (vii) recommendation letters (list all dates); 
      (viii) training programs (list all dates); 
      (ix) consultations (list all dates); 
      (x) analyses of accident causes (list all dates); 
      (xi) industrial hygiene services (list all dates); 
      (xii) industrial health services (list all dates); 
      (xiii) policyholder requests (list all dates requested and dates provided); 
      (xiv) underwriting requests (list all dates requested and dates provided); 
      (xv) insurance company determinations in accordance with §166.2(b)(4) of this title 
(relating to Adequacy of Accident Prevention Services) (list all dates need for services 
were determined and dates offered); 
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      (xvi) description of policyholder operations; and 
      (xvii) comments. 
  (4) At least 10 days prior to the date of the inspection, the insurance company shall file 
the completed worksheets with the division. 
 
(d) Information to be made available at the inspection. The insurance company shall 
make available for the time frame specified by the division: 
  (1) the loss control files corresponding to the requested worksheets; 
  (2) a sample policy declaratory page as evidence that each policyholder has been 
provided the notice required by §166.2(b)(1) of this title; 
  (3) a copy of loss runs for each selected policyholder that includes: 
    (A) number of injuries; 
    (B) accident or illness types; 
    (C) body parts involved; 
    (D) injury causes; and 
    (E) fatalities; 
  (4) a copy of all documentation of services provided in accordance with §166.2(b)(2) - 
(5) of this title. 
  (5) samples of policyholder training materials, audiovisual aids, and training programs; 
and 
  (6) other information requested by the division which is necessary to complete the 
inspection. Information requested may include, but is not limited to: 
    (A) records of surveys; 
    (B) consultations; 
    (C) recommendations; 
    (D) training provided; 
    (E) loss analyses; 
    (F) industrial health and hygiene services; 
    (G) return-to-work coordination services information; and 
    (H) the name, location, status (whether employee or contractor), and qualifications of 
each person that provided accident prevention services in the loss control files being 
reviewed during the inspection. 
 
(e) Insurance company policyholder visits and contacts. The division may conduct 
scheduled visits of the jobsite of an insurance company's policyholder and make other 
off-site contacts with a policyholder to obtain information about the insurance 
company's accident prevention facilities and use of services. 
 
(f) Written report of inspection. 
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  (1) The division shall prepare a written report of the inspection and shall provide a 
copy to the insurance company's executive management and to the Texas Department 
of Insurance, Loss Control Regulation Division. 
  (2) The inspection report shall contain the division's determination of adequacy in 
accordance with Labor Code §411.061 and §166.2 of this title, and include specific 
findings and required corrective actions. The inspection report will indicate whether the 
division has issued a final determination of adequacy, a final determination of 
inadequacy, or an initial determination of inadequacy with regard to an insurance 
company's accident prevention services. 
  (3) The division will provide written notification to the insurance company of specific 
deficiencies and recommendations for corrective action if it assigns an initial 
determination of inadequacy. Not later than the 60th day after the date of the initial 
inspection report, the insurance company shall provide written documentation 
evidencing its compliance with the division's recommendations contained in the initial 
inspection report. The written documentation shall detail the corrective actions being 
taken to address each specific finding. If the insurance company believes that it will take 
more than 60 days to implement the recommendations listed in the initial inspection 
report, it shall request an extension from the division. After the end of the correction 
period a final determination of adequacy or inadequacy will be assigned. The division 
shall provide the insurance company with notification of this final determination. 
  (4) The division shall issue a certificate of inspection to each insurance company after 
completion of an inspection in which the accident prevention services are deemed 
adequate. 
  (5) In addition to any sanction authorized by law, a final determination of inadequacy 
may be cause for withholding a certificate of inspection or reinspection. 
 
(g) Reinspection. 
  (1) After an inspection and a final determination of inadequacy of an insurance 
company's accident prevention services, the division shall reinspect the accident 
prevention services of the insurance company not earlier than the 180th day or later 
than the 270th day after the date the accident prevention services were determined by 
the division to be inadequate. 
  (2) Information required under this section to be provided at the time of initial 
inspection is required to again be provided at the time of reinspection in accordance 
with the time frames established within this section. 
(h) This section is effective October 1, 2013. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §166.5 adopted to be effective September 1, 1995, 
20 TexReg 5248; amended to be effective October 1, 2013, 38 TexReg 2000 
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TITLE 28 INSURANCE 
PART 2 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
CHAPTER 180 MONITORING AND ENFORCEMENT 
SUBCHAPTER A GENERAL RULES FOR ENFORCEMENT 

RULE §180.1 Definitions 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, will have the following 
meanings: 

(1) Act--The Texas Workers' Compensation Act, Labor Code, Title 5, Subtitle A.

(2) Administrative violation--A violation, failure to comply with, or refusal to comply
with the Act, or a rule, order, or decision of the commissioner. This term is synonymous 
with the terms "violation" or "violate." 

(3) Agent--A person who a system participant uses or contracts with for the purpose of
providing claims service or fulfilling duties under the Labor Code, Title 5 and rules. The 
system participant who uses or contracts with the agent may also be responsible for the 
administrative violations of that agent. 

(4) Appropriate credentials--The certifications, education, training, and experience to
provide the health care that an injured employee is receiving or is requesting to receive. 
Under Texas Labor Code §408.0043, a physician who performs a peer review, utilization 
review, or independent review of health care services requested, ordered, provided, or 
to be provided by a physician must be of the same or similar specialty as the physician 
who requested, ordered, provided, or will provide the health care service. A dentist must 
meet the requirements of Texas Labor Code §408.0044. A chiropractor must meet the 
requirements of Texas Labor Code §408.0045. 

(5) Commissioner--The commissioner of workers' compensation.

(6) Complaint--A written submission to the division alleging a violation of the Act or
rules by a system participant. 

(7) Compliance Audit (also Performance Review)--An official examination of
compliance with one or more duties under the Act and rules. A compliance audit does 
not include monitoring or review activities involving the Medical Advisor or the Medical 
Quality Review Panel. 
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  (8) Conviction or convicted-- 
    (A) A system participant is considered to have been convicted when: 
      (i) a judgment of conviction has been entered against the system participant in a 
federal, state, or local court; 
      (ii) the system participant has been found guilty in a federal, state, or local court; 
      (iii) the system participant has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no 
contest) that has been accepted by a federal, state, or local court; 
      (iv) the system participant has entered a first offender or other program and 
judgment of conviction has been withheld; or 
      (v) the system participant has received probation or community supervision, 
including deferred adjudication. 
    (B) A conviction is still a conviction until and unless overturned on appeal even if: 
      (i) it is stayed, deferred, or probated; 
      (ii) an appeal is pending; or 
      (iii) the system participant has been discharged from probation or community 
supervision, including deferred adjudication. 
 
  (9) Department--Texas Department of Insurance. 
 
  (10) Division--Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation. 
 
  (11) Emergency--As defined in §133.2 of this title (relating to Definitions). This 
definition does not apply to "emergency" as used in the term "ex parte emergency cease 
and desist orders." 
 
  (12) Frivolous--That which does not have a basis in fact or is not warranted by existing 
law or a good faith argument for the extension, modification, or reversal of existing law. 
 
  (13) Frivolous complaint--A complaint that does not have a basis in fact or is not 
warranted by existing law or a good faith argument for the extension, modification, or 
reversal of existing law. 
 
  (14) Immediate post-injury medical care--That health care provided on the date that 
the injured employee first seeks medical attention for the workers' compensation injury. 
 
  (15) Notice of Violation (NOV)--A notice issued to a system participant by the division 
when the division has found that the system participant has committed an 
administrative violation and the division seeks to impose a sanction in accordance with 
Labor Code, Title 5 or division rules. 
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  (16) Peer Review--An administrative review by a health care provider performed at the 
insurance carrier's request without a physical examination of the injured employee. 
 
  (17) Remuneration--Any payment or other benefit made directly or indirectly, overtly 
or covertly, in cash or in kind, including, but not limited to, forgiveness of debt. 
 
  (18) Rules--The division's rules adopted under Labor Code, Title 5. 
 
  (19) Sanction--A penalty or other punitive action or remedy imposed by the 
commissioner on an insurance carrier, representative, injured employee, employer, or 
health care provider, or any other person regulated by the division under the Act, for an 
administrative violation. 
 
  (20) SOAH--The State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
 
  (21) System Participant--A person or their agent subject to the Act or a rule, order, or 
decision of the commissioner. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.1 adopted to be effective July 29, 1991, 16 
TexReg 3940; amended to be effective March 14, 2002, 27 TexReg 1817; amended to be 
effective September 14, 2003, 28 TexReg 7711; amended to be effective January 9, 2011, 
35 TexReg 11873; amended to be effective February 14, 2012, 37 TexReg 691; amended 
to be effective February 10, 2021, 46 TexReg 928 
 
RULE §180.2 Filing a Complaint 
 
(a) Any person may submit a complaint to the division for alleged administrative 
violations. 
 
(b) A person may submit a complaint to the division: 
  (1) through the division's website; 
  (2) through electronic correspondence; 
  (3) through written correspondence; 
  (4) through facsimile correspondence; or 
  (5) in person and the complaint will be reduced to writing. 
 
(c) A complaint submitted on the form provided by the division or in any other written 
format shall contain the following information as applicable: 
  (1) complainant's name and contact information; 
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  (2) name and contact information of the subject or parties of the complaint, if known; 
  (3) name and contact information of witnesses, if known; 
  (4) claim file information including, but, not limited to, the name, address, and date of 
injury of the injured employee, if known; 
  (5) the statement of the facts constituting the alleged violation including the dates or 
time period the alleged violation occurred; 
  (6) the nature of the alleged violation, including, the specific sections of the Act and 
division rules alleged to have been violated, if known; 
  (7) supporting documentation relevant to the allegation that may include, but, is not 
limited to, medical bills, Explanation of Benefits Statements, copy of payment invoices or 
checks, and medical reports as applicable; 
  (8) supporting documentation for alleged fraud may include photographs, video, 
audio, and surveillance recordings, and reports; and 
  (9) other sources of pertinent information, if known. 
 
(d) Contact information may include, but, is not limited to, name, address, telephone 
number, facsimile number, email address, business name, business address, business 
telephone number, and websites. 
 
(e) A complaint shall contain sufficient information for the division to investigate the 
complaint. 
 
(f) Upon receipt of a complaint, the division will review, monitor and may investigate the 
allegation against a person or entity who may have violated the Act or division rules. 
 
(g) The division will assign priorities to complaints being investigated based on a risk-
based complaint investigation system that considers: 
  (1) the severity of the alleged violation; 
  (2) continued noncompliance of the alleged violation; 
  (3) whether a commissioner order has been violated; or 
  (4) other risk-based criteria the division determines necessary. 
 
(h) A person commits an administrative violation if the person submits a complaint to 
the division that is: 
  (1) frivolous, as defined in §180.1 of this title (relating to Definitions); 
  (2) groundless or made in bad faith; or 
  (3) done specifically for competitive or economic advantage. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.2 adopted to be effective March 14, 2002, 27 
TexReg 1817; amended to be effective January 9, 2011, 35 TexReg 11873 
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RULE §180.3 Compliance Audits 
 
(a) The division shall conduct Compliance Audits of the workers' compensation records 
of system participants and their agents for compliance with the Act and division rules. 
 
(b) The division may conduct a compliance audit at the offices of a system participant or 
at any location the division deems appropriate. During a compliance audit, the division 
may, at its discretion, utilize persons in addition to division staff to provide additional 
expertise. 
 
(c) The division shall provide reasonable notice in advance of a compliance audit. That 
notice shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) be sent at least 10 days before the compliance audit is to be performed; 
  (3) specify the information that must be made available; 
  (4) list the name and telephone number of the audit coordinator; and 
  (5) specify the date, time, location, and conditions of the compliance audit. 
 
(d) The system participant being audited (auditee) shall designate a general contact 
person and a contact person at each relevant location to coordinate the compliance 
audit. That contact person shall: 
  (1) provide reasonable access to requested personnel and information; 
  (2) respond to reasonable needs of auditors on-site or to inquiries by auditors; and 
  (3) be familiar with the system participant's procedures and recordkeeping systems 
related to the scope of the compliance audit. 
 
(e) System participants (which may include those who are not being audited but whose 
records are necessary to conduct an audit of another system participant), upon request, 
shall make available for review claim files and other workers' compensation records in 
the format and manner specified by the division. 
 
(f) Initial findings of the compliance audit will be provided in writing to the auditee. 
 
(g) The auditee may prepare and file with the division a management response to the 
initial findings. The response may include proposed corrective actions. If such a 
response is provided, the division shall review the response and shall adjust its findings 
if deemed appropriate. 
 
(h) Final compliance audit reports may be published on the division's Internet website 
and shall be redacted to not include any confidential claim file information. 
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(i) The division, should it deem it appropriate or upon request of a licensing or 
certification authority, shall provide the appropriate licensing or certification authority 
with a copy of all final compliance audit reports (redacted in accordance with subsection 
(h) of this section) and the auditee's response to the final compliance audit report, if any. 
 
(j) To the extent permitted by the Act and division rules, the division shall submit a bill to 
the auditee for the actual expenses associated with the compliance audit, including 
audit staff time, additional expertise, travel and per diem expenses, and copying costs. 
 
(k) The auditee shall submit payment by check, made payable to the order of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, for the expenses within 25 days after receipt of the bill. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.3 adopted to be effective July 29, 1991, 16 
TexReg 3940; amended to be effective September 14, 2003, 28 TexReg 7711; amended 
to be effective January 9, 2011, 35 TexReg 11873; amended to be effective February 14, 
2012, 37 TexReg 691 
 
RULE §180.4 On-Site Visits 
 
(a) As often as it considers necessary, the division may review the operations of a system 
participant to determine compliance with the Act or division rules. 
 
(b) When reviewing the operations of a system participant to determine compliance with 
the Act or division rules, the division may conduct on-site visits to the system 
participant's premises. On-site visits may be announced or unannounced. 
 
(c) The on-site visit will occur during the system participant's normal business hours. 
 
(d) An on-site visit must not disturb a health care provider's actual provision of health 
care to a patient. 
 
(e) The division shall provide written notice of each announced and unannounced on-
site visit. This notice shall: 
  (1) be sent at least 10 days before the on-site visit unless the on-site visit is 
unannounced in which case the notice will be provided at the time of the on-site visit; 
  (2) specify the alleged violation(s) that is the subject of the on-site visit; 
  (3) specify the types of records that must be made available during the on-site visit; 
  (4) list the name and telephone number of the division staff representative; and 
  (5) specify the date, time, location, and conditions of the on-site visit. 
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(f) The person who is the subject of the on-site visit shall designate a general contact 
person at the premises. During the on-site visit the contact person shall: 
  (1) provide access to requested personnel and information; 
  (2) respond to the needs of division staff and to inquiries by division staff; and 
  (3) be familiar with the system participant's procedures and recordkeeping systems 
that are related to the records and information requested during the on-site visit. 
 
(g) The person subject to an on-site visit shall make available to the division in the 
format and manner specified by the division all records specified in the written notice 
provided under subsection (e) of this section. A written notice may specify for inspection 
any records related to the person's participation in the workers' compensation system, 
including: 
  (1) claim files; 
  (2) medical records and reports; 
  (3) payment records; 
  (4) billing records; 
  (5) electronic records; 
  (6) communications; 
  (7) adjustor notes; 
  (8) accident reports; 
  (9) notifications of lost time; 
  (10) notifications of injuries; 
  (11) payroll data and wage statements; 
  (12) investigative reports; 
  (13) filed division forms; and 
  (14) contracts. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.4 adopted to be effective February 14, 2012, 
37 TexReg 691 
 
RULE §180.5 Access to Workers' Compensation Related Records and Information 
 
(a) Upon written request from the division any system participant shall provide copies of 
or access to all records and information held by that system participant related to issues 
being reviewed or investigated in the format and manner specified by the division. 
(b) The request will identify the records and information to be produced and will provide 
a specific, reasonable date to produce the information. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §180.5 adopted to be effective July 29, 1991, 16 
TexReg 3941; amended to be effective February 14, 2012, 37 TexReg 691 
 
RULE §180.8 Notices of Violation; Notices of Hearing; Default Judgments 
 
(a) A notice of violation (NOV) is a notice issued to a system participant when the 
division finds that the system participant has committed an administrative violation and 
the division seeks to impose a sanction under the Act or division rules. An NOV is not 
required to be issued before or after the issuance of an ex parte emergency cease and 
desist order. 
 
(b) An NOV shall be in writing and include: 
  (1) the provision(s) of the Act, rule, order, or decision of the commissioner that the 
system participant violated; 
  (2) a summary of the facts that establish that the violation(s) occurred; 
  (3) a description of the proposed sanction that the division intends to impose; 
  (4) a statement of the basis for the proposed sanction including: 
    (A) a description of the underlying facts considered by the division for each of the 
factors listed in Labor Code §415.021(c) and (c-2), if applicable, (relating to Assessment 
of Administrative Penalties) and §180.26 of this title (relating to Criteria for Proposing, 
Recommending and Determining Sanctions; Other Remedies) in determining the 
appropriateness of the division's proposed sanction; 
    (B) a description of which factors under Labor Code §415.021(c) and (c-2), if 
applicable, and §180.26 of this title had a mitigating or aggravating effect on the 
division's proposed sanctions; and 
    (C) a description of the division's proposed sanction for each violation or violation 
type in the case of repeated administrative violations. This requirement does not 
prohibit the division from considering the aggregate impact of all administrative 
violations described in the NOV when proposing a sanction if justice requires such 
consideration; 
  (5) the right to consent to the charge and the proposed sanction(s); 
  (6) the right to request a hearing; and 
  (7) other information about the rights, obligations, and procedures for requesting a 
hearing. 
 
(c) The charged party shall file a written answer to the NOV not later than the twentieth 
day after the notice is received. The answer shall either consent to the proposed 
sanction, and remit the amount of the penalty, if any, or request a hearing by being filed 
with the division's chief clerk of proceedings. If the charged party fails to respond to the 
NOV within 20 days of receipt of the notice, the division shall schedule a hearing at the 
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State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) and provide notice of hearing to the 
charged party that meets the requirements of §148.5 of this title (relating to Notice of 
Hearing) and must include the information in subsection (b)(3) and (4) of this section. 
 
(d) A charged party that receives a notice of hearing under subsection (c) of this section 
shall, within 20 days of the date on which the notice of hearing is provided to the party, 
file a written answer or other responsive pleading. Such response shall be filed in 
accordance with 1 TAC §155.101 of this title (relating to Filing Documents) and §155.103 
of this title (relating to Service of Documents on Parties). 
 
(e) For purposes of this section, events described in paragraphs (1) or (2) of this 
subsection constitute a default on the part of a charged party who receives a notice of 
hearing under subsection (c) of this section: 
  (1) failure of the charged party to file a written response as provided by subsection (d) 
of this section; or 
  (2) failure of the charged party to appear in person or by legal representative on the 
day and at the time set for hearing in a contested case at SOAH, regardless of whether a 
written response has been filed. 
 
(f) In the event that a charged party defaults as described by subsection (e) of this 
section, the division may seek informal disposition by default by the commissioner as 
permitted by Government Code §2001.056. 
 
(g) For purposes of this subchapter, "disposition by default" shall mean the issuance of 
an order against the charged party in which the allegations against the party in the 
notice of hearing are deemed admitted as true, upon the offer of proof to the 
commissioner that proper notice was provided to the defaulting party. For purposes of 
this section, proper notice means notice sufficient to meet the provisions of the 
Government Code §2001.051 and §2001.052 and §148.5 of this title (relating to Notice of 
Hearing). 
 
(h) After informal disposition of a contested case by default, a charged party may file a 
written motion to set aside the default order and reopen the record. A motion by the 
charged party to set aside the default order and reopen the record shall be granted by 
the commissioner if the charged party establishes that the failure to file a written 
response or to attend the hearing was neither intentional nor the result of conscious 
indifference, and that such failure was due to a mistake or accident. A motion to set 
aside the default order and reopen the record shall be filed by the charged party with 
the division's chief clerk of proceedings prior to the time that the order of the 
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commissioner becomes final pursuant to the applicable provisions of Government Code, 
Chapter 2001, Subchapter F. 
 
(i) A motion to set aside the default order and reopen the record is not a motion for 
rehearing and is not to be considered a substitute for a motion for rehearing. A motion 
for rehearing is required in order to exhaust administrative remedies. The filing of a 
motion to set aside the default order and reopen the record has no effect on either the 
statutory time periods for the filing of a motion for rehearing or on the time period for 
ruling on a motion for rehearing, as provided in applicable provisions of the 
Government Code, Chapter 2001, Subchapter F. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.8 adopted to be effective July 29, 1991, 16 
TexReg 3941; amended to be effective December 4, 1995, 20 TexReg 9717; amended to 
be effective September 14, 2003, 28 TexReg 7711; amended to be effective January 9, 
2011, 35 TexReg 11873; amended to be effective February 14, 2012, 37 TexReg 691; 
amended to be effective January 16, 2019, 44 TexReg 264; amended to be effective 
January 12, 2020, 45 TexReg 359 
 
RULE §180.9 Proposals for Decision 
 
(a) If a hearing was conducted in conjunction with Labor Code §§407.046, 408.023, 
415.0215, or 415.034, or in another case under the Act that is not subject to Labor Code 
§402.073(b), the commissioner shall review the proposed decision of the administrative 
law judge. If the commissioner modifies, amends, or changes a recommended finding of 
fact or conclusion of law, or order of the administrative law judge, the commissioner's 
final order shall state the legal basis and the specific reasons for the change. 
 
(b) The division shall notify the person by issuing an order that describes the effects of 
the sanction. This order shall be delivered by verifiable means with a copy to the 
appropriate licensing or certification authority. 
 
(c) Failure to comply with the sanction may result in additional administrative violations. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.9 adopted to be effective February 14, 2012, 
37 TexReg 691 
 
RULE §180.10 Ex Parte Emergency Cease and Desist Orders 
 
(a) The commissioner ex parte may issue an emergency cease and desist order upon 
application by division staff if: 
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  (1) the commissioner believes a person regulated by the division under Labor Code, 
Title 5 is engaging in conduct violating a law, rule or order; and 
  (2) the commissioner believes that the alleged conduct under paragraph (1) of this 
subsection will result in harm to the health, safety, or welfare of another person. 
 
(b) The order must contain the following information: 
  (1) the name and last known address of the person against whom the order is entered; 
  (2) the alleged conduct that the commissioner believes the person regulated by the 
division under Labor Code, Title 5 is engaging in that is a violation of a law, rule, or 
order and that the commissioner believes will result in harm to the health, safety, or 
welfare of another person; 
  (3) a statement that the person is to immediately cease and desist from the acts, 
methods, or practices stated in the order; 
  (4) the rights of the person against whom the order is entered with regard to 
requesting a hearing to contest the order. (This statement must include a reference to 
the specific statute, rule, or order found to have been violated, a statement of the legal 
authority and jurisdiction under which the order is issued, specific reference to the time 
limit for requesting a hearing to contest the order, and reference to the statute or 
statutes in which the time limit is contained. This statement must include the fact that 
the burden of requesting the hearing is on the person against whom the order was 
entered); 
  (5) a statement that the order is final on the 31st day after the date the affected person 
receives the order unless the affected person requests a hearing; and 
  (6) a statement regarding the actions that may be taken or sanctions that may be 
imposed against the person against whom the order was entered in the event of 
violation of the order. 
 
(c) A request for a hearing to contest the order must be requested not later than the 
30th day after the date the affected person receives the order and must: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) be directed to the commissioner and filed with the division's chief clerk of 
proceedings; and 
  (3) state the grounds for the request to set aside or modify the order. 
 
(d) On receiving a request for a hearing the division shall serve notice of the time and 
place of the hearing at the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH). The hearing 
shall be held not later than the 10th day after the date the commissioner receives the 
request for a hearing unless the parties mutually agree to a later hearing date. At the 
hearing, the person requesting the hearing is entitled to show cause why the order 
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should not be affirmed and the burden of proof is on the division to show why the order 
should be affirmed. 
 
(e) Agreements to hold the hearing at a later date must be in writing. The person who is 
adversely affected by the issuance of the ex parte emergency cease and desist order and 
who desires a hearing regarding such order must file any such agreement with the 
division's chief clerk of proceedings before the expiration of the 10th day after the date 
the request for hearing is received. 
 
(f) Following receipt of the proposal for decision from SOAH regarding the hearing the 
commissioner shall review the proposed decision of the administrative law judge and 
wholly or partly affirm, modify, or set aside the order. If the commissioner modifies, 
amends, or changes a recommended finding of fact or conclusion of law, or order of the 
administrative law judge, the commissioner's final order shall state the legal basis and 
the specific reasons for the change. 
 
(g) Pending a hearing, the order continues in effect unless the order is stayed by the 
commissioner. 
 
(h) If the person against whom the order was entered submits a motion for stay of the 
ex parte emergency cease and desist order, the motion may be granted by the 
commissioner before the date of the show cause hearing. If the parties agree to a later 
show cause hearing date pursuant to subsection (d) of this section, the motion for stay 
may be granted by the commissioner before the date of the show cause hearing upon 
written motion by any party to the hearing. If the motion for stay is granted, notice shall 
be sent to the requesting party that the order has been stayed in whole or in part and 
what part of the order continues to be in effect. If the motion is not granted before the 
date of the show cause hearing the motion is denied and notice is not required of the 
denial. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.10 adopted to be effective February 14, 2012, 
37 TexReg 691 
 
RULE §180.19 Incentives 
 
(a) The purpose of this section is to develop incentives and emphasize performance-
based oversight to regulatory outcomes. Regulatory outcomes are assessed for the 
following key regulatory goals: 
  (1) provide timely and accurate income and medical benefits; 
  (2) increase timely and accurate communications among system participants; 
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  (3) encourage safe and timely return of injured employees to productive roles; 
  (4) promote safe and healthy workplaces; 
  (5) ensure each injured employee shall have access to prompt, high-quality, cost-
effective medical care; and 
  (6) limit disputes to those appropriate and necessary. 
 
(b) At least once every biennium, the Division shall assess the performance of insurance 
carriers and health care providers based on the key regulatory goals stated in subsection 
(a)(1) - (6) of this section. 
 
(c) Insurance carriers and health care providers who are assessed will be placed into one 
of the following regulatory tiers based upon their level of compliance with the Labor 
Code and related rules and their performance in meeting the key regulatory goals in 
§180.19(a) relative to the performance of all other assessed insurance carriers and health 
care providers: 
  (1) high performers; 
  (2) average performers; or 
  (3) poor performers. 
 
(d) Incentives will be based on the regulatory tier into which the insurance carrier or 
health care provider was placed after being assessed on the key regulatory goals. 
 
(e) In granting incentives, the Commissioner may also consider any other factors that the 
Commissioner finds relevant which leads to overall compliance or which may adversely 
impact the workers' compensation system. 
 
(f) Incentives for insurance carriers and health care providers placed into the high 
performer regulatory tier are: 
  (1) public recognition, and 
  (2) use of that designation as a marketing tool. 
 
(g) Other incentives for insurance carriers and health care providers placed into a 
regulatory tier may include: 
  (1) limited audit exemption for insurance carriers and health care providers placed in 
the average and high performers regulatory tiers, while reserving the Division's 
discretion to audit an average or high performer if deemed necessary; 
  (2) penalties which may be lower than normally assessed for insurance carriers and 
health care providers who have been placed in the high performer regulatory tier; 
  (3) penalties which may be reduced for insurance carriers and health care providers in 
any regulatory tier who self-disclose non-compliance; 
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  (4) flexibility for audits and inspections based on performance and placement in any 
regulatory tier; and 
  (5) any other incentive the Commissioner may deem appropriate. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.19 adopted to be effective January 16, 2008, 
33 TexReg 428 
 
SUBCHAPTER B MEDICAL BENEFIT REGULATION 
 
RULE §180.22 Health Care Provider Roles and Responsibilities 
 
(a) Health care providers as defined in subsections (c) - (e) of this section shall provide 
all health care reasonably required by the nature of the injury as and when needed to: 
  (1) cure or relieve the effects naturally resulting from the compensable injury; 
  (2) promote recovery; or 
  (3) enhance the ability of the injured employee to return to or retain employment. 
 
(b) In addition to the general requirements of this section, health care providers shall 
timely and appropriately comply with all applicable requirements under the Act and 
department and division rules, including, but not limited to: 
  (1) reporting required information; 
  (2) disclosing financial interests; 
  (3) impartially evaluating an injured employee's condition; 
  (4) correctly billing for health care provided; 
  (5) examine an injured employee to determine a date of maximum medical 
improvement and design impairment ratings as and when appropriate; and 
  (6) complying with all applicable provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
 
(c) The treating doctor is the doctor primarily responsible for the efficient management 
of health care and for coordinating the health care for an injured employee's 
compensable injury. The treating doctor shall: 
  (1) except in the case of an emergency, approve or recommend all health care 
reasonably required that is to be rendered to the injured employee including, but not 
limited to, treatment or evaluation provided through referrals to consulting and referral 
doctors or other health care providers, as defined in this section; 
  (2) maintain efficient utilization of health care; 
  (3) communicate with the injured employee, injured employee's representative, if any, 
employer, and insurance carrier about the injured employee's ability to work or any 
work restrictions on the injured employee; 
  (4) make available, upon request, in the form and manner prescribed by the division: 
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    (A) work release data; 
    (B) cost and utilization data; and/or 
    (C) patient satisfaction data, including comorbidity, patient outcomes, return-to-work 
outcomes, functional health outcomes, and recovery expectations; and 
  (5) examine an injured employee to determine a date of maximum medical 
improvement and assign impairment ratings when appropriate. 
 
(d) The consulting doctor is a doctor who examines an injured employee or the injured 
employee's medical record in response to a request from the treating doctor, the 
designated doctor, or the division. The consulting doctor shall: 
  (1) perform unbiased evaluations of the injured employee as directed by the requestor 
including, but not limited to, evaluations of: 
    (A) the accuracy of the diagnosis and appropriateness of the treatment of the injured 
employee; 
    (B) the injured employee's work status, ability to work, and work restrictions; 
    (C) the injured employee's medical condition; and 
    (D) other similar issues; 
  (2) submit a narrative report to the treating doctor, the injured employee, the injured 
employee's representative (if any), the insurance carrier, and the division (if the 
requestor was the division); 
  (3) not make referrals without the approval of the treating doctor and when such 
approval is obtained, ensure that the health care provider to whom the consulting 
doctor is making an approved referral knows the identity and contact information of the 
treating doctor; 
  (4) initiate or provide treatment only if the treating doctor approves or recommends 
the treatment; and 
  (5) become a referral doctor if the doctor begins to prescribe or provide health care to 
an injured employee. 
 
(e) The referral doctor is a doctor who examines and treats an injured employee in 
response to a request from the treating doctor. The referral doctor shall: 
  (1) supplement the treating doctor's care; 
  (2) timely report the injured employee's status to the treating doctor and the insurance 
carrier as required by applicable division rules; and 
  (3) not make referrals without the approval of the treating doctor and when such 
approval is obtained, ensure that the health care provider to whom the referral doctor is 
making an approved referral knows the identity and contact information of the treating 
doctor. 
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(f) The Required Medical Examination (RME) doctor is a doctor who examines the 
injured employee's medical condition in response to a request from the insurance 
carrier or the division pursuant to Labor Code §§408.004, 408.0041, or 408.151. The RME 
doctor shall: 
  (1) perform unbiased evaluations of the injured employee as directed by the RME 
notice issued by the division; 
  (2) not make referrals without the approval of the treating doctor and when such 
approval is obtained, ensure that the health care provider to whom the RME doctor is 
making an approved referral knows the identity and contact information of the treating 
doctor; 
  (3) initiate or provide treatment only if the treating doctor approves or recommends 
the treatment; and 
  (4) not evaluate, except following an examination by a designated doctor: 
    (A) the impairment caused by the injured employee's compensable injury; 
    (B) the attainment of maximum medical improvement; 
    (C) the extent of the injured employee's compensable injury; 
    (D) whether the injured employee's disability is a direct result of the work related 
injury; 
    (E) the ability of the injured employee to return to work; or 
    (F) issues similar to those described by subparagraphs (A) - (E) of this paragraph; and 
  (5) be a doctor licensed to practice medicine in Texas that holds the appropriate 
credentials as defined in §180.1 of this title (relating to Definitions); 
    (A) a dentist that performs dental services under the Act may review dental services 
that may lawfully be performed within the scope of the dentist's license to practice 
dentistry; or 
    (B) a chiropractor that performs chiropractic services under the Act may review 
chiropractic services that may lawfully be performed within the scope of the 
chiropractor's license to engage in the practice of chiropractic. 
 
(g) A peer reviewer is a health care provider who performs an administrative review at 
the insurance carrier's request without a physical examination of the injured employee. 
The peer reviewer must not have any known conflicts of interest with the injured 
employee or the health care provider who has proposed or rendered any health care 
being reviewed. 
  (1) A peer reviewer who performs a prospective, concurrent, or retrospective review of 
the medical necessity or reasonableness of health care services (utilization review) is 
subject to the applicable provisions of the Labor Code; Insurance Code, Chapters 1305 
and 4201; and department and division rules. A peer reviewer who performs utilization 
review must: 
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    (A) be certified or registered as a utilization review agent (URA) by the department or 
be employed by or under contract with a certified or registered URA to perform 
utilization review; 
    (B) hold the appropriate professional license issued by this state; and 
    (C) hold the appropriate credentials as defined in §180.1 of this title. 
  (2) A peer reviewer who performs a review for any issue other than medical necessity, 
such as compensability or an injured employee's ability to return to work, must: 
    (A) hold the appropriate professional license issued by this state; and 
    (B) hold the appropriate credentials as defined in §180.1 of this title. 
 
(h) The designated doctor is a doctor assigned by the division to recommend a 
resolution of a dispute as to the medical condition of an injured employee. At the 
request of an insurance carrier or an injured employee, or on the commissioner's own 
order, the commissioner may order a medical examination by a designated doctor in 
accordance with Labor Code §408.0041 and §408.1225. The credentials, qualifications, 
and responsibilities of a designated doctor are governed by §180.21 of this title (relating 
to Division Designated Doctor List), §180.1 of this title that defines "appropriate 
credentials", applicable provisions of the Act, and other rules providing for use of a 
designated doctor. 
 
(i) A member of the MQRP is a health care provider chosen by the division's Medical 
Advisor under Labor Code §413.0512. All eligibilities, terms, responsibilities, and 
prohibitions shall be prescribed by contract, and the MQRP members shall serve on the 
MQRP as prescribed by contract. A health care provider must meet the performance 
standards specified in the contract to be eligible for selection by the Medical Advisor to 
serve on the MQRP. A member of the medical quality review panel, other than a 
chiropractor or dentist, who reviews a specific workers' compensation case is subject to 
Labor Code §408.0043. Doctors seeking membership on the MQRP must hold 
appropriate credentials as defined in §180.1 of this title. A chiropractor who serves on 
the MQRP and that reviews a chiropractic service under the Act must be licensed to 
engage in the practice of chiropractic pursuant to Labor Code §408.0045. A health care 
provider that serves on the MQRP may only review health care services or treatment 
that may lawfully be performed within the scope of the health care provider's license. 
 
(j) Independent review organizations (IROs) must comply with the applicable provisions 
of Insurance Code, Chapter 4201; Labor Code, Title 5; and Chapters 12, 133 and 180 of 
this title (relating to Independent Review Organizations; General Medical Provisions; and 
Monitoring and Enforcement, respectively). The division or the department may initiate 
appropriate proceedings under applicable provisions of the Insurance Code, Chapter 
4201; Labor Code, Title 5; and Chapters 12, 133 and 180 of this title. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §180.22 adopted to be effective March 14, 2002, 27 
TexReg 1817; amended to be effective August 16, 2006, 31 TexReg 6370; amended to be 
effective January 9, 2011, 35 TexReg 11873 
 
RULE §180.23 Division Required Training for Doctors 
 
(a) Applicability. This section governs authorization relating to certification of maximum 
medical improvement (MMI), determination of permanent impairment, and assignment 
of impairment ratings in the event that a doctor finds permanent impairment exists. 
 
(b) Authorization. Full authorization to assign an impairment rating and certify MMI in 
an instance where the injured employee is found to have permanent impairment 
requires a doctor to obtain division certification by completing the division-prescribed 
impairment rating training and passing the test or meeting the training and testing 
requirements for designated doctor certification under §127.100 of this title (relating to 
Designated Doctor Certification). To remain certified, a doctor is required to complete 
follow-up training at least every two years. 
 
(c) Training. A doctor who has not completed the required training under subsection (b) 
of this section but who has had similar training in the American Medical Association 
Guides from a division-approved vendor within the prior two years may submit the 
syllabus and training materials from that course to the division for review. If the division 
determines that the training is substantially the same as the division-required training 
and the doctor passes the division-required test, the doctor is fully authorized under this 
section. The ability to substitute training only applies to the initial training requirement. 
 
(d) Exceptions. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a doctor who has 
not successfully completed training and testing required by this section for 
authorization to assign impairment ratings and certify MMI when there is permanent 
impairment may receive permission by exception to do so from the division on a specific 
case-by-case basis. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.23 adopted to be effective March 14, 2002, 27 
TexReg 1817; amended to be effective June 5, 2003, 28 TexReg 4294; amended to be 
effective September 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 5476; amended to be effective April 30, 2023, 48 
TexReg 2133 
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RULE §180.24 Financial Disclosure 
 
(a) Definitions. The following words and terms when used in this section shall have the 
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
  (1) Compensation arrangement--Any arrangement involving any remuneration 
between a health care practitioner (or a member of a health care practitioner's 
immediate family) and a health care provider. 
  (2) Financial interest means: 
    (A) an interest of a health care practitioner, including an interest of the health care 
provider who employs the health care practitioner, or an interest of an immediate family 
member of the health care practitioner, which constitutes a direct or indirect ownership 
or investment interest in a health care provider; or 
    (B) a direct or indirect compensation arrangement between the health care 
practitioner, the health care provider who employs the referring health care practitioner, 
or an immediate family member of the health care practitioner and a health care 
provider. 
  (3) Immediate family member--Immediate family member or member of a doctor's 
immediate family means husband or wife; birth or adoptive parent, child, or sibling; 
stepparent, stepchild, stepbrother, or stepsister; father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-
law, daughter-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law; grandparent or grandchild; and 
spouse of a grandparent or grandchild. 
 
(b) Submission of Financial Disclosure Information to the division. 
  (1) If a health care practitioner refers an injured employee to another health care 
provider in which the health care practitioner, or the health care provider that employs 
the health care practitioner, has a financial interest, the health care practitioner shall file 
a disclosure with the division within 30 days of the date the first referral is made unless 
the disclosure was previously made. This annual disclosure shall be filed for each health 
care provider to whom an injured employee is referred and shall include the information 
in paragraph (2) of this subsection. 
  (2) The health care practitioner's disclosures in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall at 
a minimum include: 
    (A) the disclosing health care practitioner's name, business address, federal tax 
identification number, professional license number, and any other unique identification 
number; 
    (B) the name(s), business address(es), federal tax identification number(s), professional 
license number(s), and any other unique identification number of the health care 
provider(s) in which the disclosing health care practitioner has a financial interest as 
defined in subsection (a)(2) of this section; and 
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    (C) the nature of the financial interest including, but not limited to, percentage of 
ownership, type of ownership (e.g., direct or indirect, equity, mortgage), type of 
compensation arrangement (e.g., salary, contractual arrangement, stock as part of a 
salary payment) and the entity with the ownership (disclosing health care practitioner, 
the health care provider who employs the health care practitioner, or an immediate 
family member of the health care practitioner). 
 
(c) Failure to disclose. In addition to any sanctions provided by the Act and rules, failure 
to disclose a financial interest by a health care provider is an administrative violation and 
is subject to a penalty of forfeiture of the right to reimbursement for any services 
rendered on the claim during the period of noncompliance, regardless of whether the 
circumstances of the services themselves were subject to disclosure, and regardless of 
whether the services were medically necessary. 
  (1) Limitations on billing. A health care practitioner who rendered services on a claim 
during a period in which the practitioner was out of compliance with the disclosure 
requirements under this section for that claim, regardless of whether the circumstances 
of the services themselves were subject to disclosure, shall not present or cause to be 
presented a claim or bill to any individual, third party payer, or other entity for those 
services (regardless of whether the services were medically necessary). 
  (2) Refunds. If a health care practitioner collects any amounts that were billed for 
services on a claim provided during a period in which the practitioner was in 
noncompliance with the disclosure requirements of this section for that claim, regardless 
of whether the circumstances of the services themselves were subject to disclosure, the 
practitioner shall be liable to the individual or entity for, and shall timely refund, any 
amounts collected (regardless of whether the services were medically necessary). 
  (3) Rebuttable Presumption. A referral for services to a health care provider by a health 
care practitioner under circumstances which required a disclosure under this section, but 
which was not timely disclosed as required, creates a rebuttable presumption that the 
services were not medically necessary unless one of the statutory and regulatory 
exceptions that apply to referrals in Title 42, United States Code §1395nn(b)-(e) applies 
to the referral in question. Whenever one of these exceptions is revised and effective, 
the revised exception shall be effective for referrals made on or after the effective date 
of the revision. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.24 adopted to be effective March 14, 2002, 27 
TexReg 1817; amended to be effective January 9, 2011, 35 TexReg 11873 
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RULE §180.25 Improper Inducements, Influence and Threats 
 
(a) Pursuant to Labor Code §415.0036, offering, paying, soliciting, or receiving an 
improper inducement relating to the delivery of benefits to an injured employee is 
prohibited. Improper attempts to influence the delivery of benefits to an injured 
employee, including the making of improper threats. This section applies to all system 
participants in the workers' compensation system who have authority under Labor Code, 
Title 5 to request the performance of a service affecting the delivery of benefits to an 
injured employee or who actually performs such a service, including peer reviews, 
performance of designated doctor examinations, performance of required medical 
examinations, or case management. 
 
(b) The following specific acts will be deemed to be an improper inducement, attempt to 
influence or threat: 
  (1) Soliciting or receiving any remuneration (including, but not limited to, any kickback, 
bribe, or rebate) in return for referring an injured employee to a person (either the 
person soliciting or receiving the inducement or another person): 
    (A) for the furnishing or arranging for the furnishing of any item, treatment, or service 
constituting a medical benefit for which payment may be made in whole or in part 
under Labor Code, Title 5 or rules; or 
    (B) in return for purchasing, leasing, ordering, or arranging for or recommending 
purchasing, leasing, or ordering any good, facility, service, treatment or item 
constituting a medical benefit for which payment may be made in whole or in part 
under Labor Code, Title 5 or rules. 
  (2) Offering or paying any remuneration (including, but not limited to, any kickback, 
bribe, or rebate) in return for referring an injured employee to a person (either the 
person offering or paying the inducement or another person): 
    (A) for the furnishing or arranging for the furnishing of any item, treatment or service 
constituting a medical benefit for which payment may be made in whole or in part 
under the Labor Code, Title 5 or rules; or 
    (B) in return for purchasing, leasing, ordering, or arranging for or recommending 
purchasing, leasing, or ordering any good, facility, service, treatment, or item 
constituting a medical benefit for which payment may be made in whole or in part 
under Labor Code, Title 5 or rules. 
  (3) Providing any financial incentive or promising or threatening to provide injured 
employee evaluation reports or other medical opinions that could enhance or reduce 
the injured employee's income benefits or affect the injured employee's work release 
status as an inducement to have the injured employee treat with or be evaluated by the 
health care provider or comply with the health care provider's proposed treatment. 
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  (4) Offering or soliciting an inducement in return for selecting a particular health care 
provider for the furnishing or arranging for the furnishing of any item, treatment, or 
service (including purchasing or leasing) for which payment may be made in whole or in 
part under Labor Code, Title 5 or rules; or offering or soliciting an inducement which 
may reasonably tend to cause a particular health care provider to be selected (excluding 
a convenience necessary to allow for the provision of health care, such as transportation 
to and from the health care provider's facility, translator services related to evaluation 
and treatment, providing claim filing forms or information on rights and responsibilities 
under the Labor Code, Title 5 and rules, if generally available to all patients). Such 
inducement is improper whether offered directly or indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash 
or in kind. 
  (5) Making, presenting, filing, or threatening to make, present, or file any frivolous 
claim or assertion against a system participant, medical peer reviewer, or any other 
person performing duties arising under Labor Code, Title 5 or rules, with the division or 
any licensing, certifying, regulatory, or investigatory body. 
  (6) Making or causing to be made a threat against life, safety, or property directed to a 
system participant related to their performance of duties arising under Labor Code, Title 
5 or rules. 
 
(c) The exceptions that apply to subsection (b)(1) and (2) of this section are those that 
apply to analogous provisions in Title 42, United States Code §1320a-7b(3). The 
exceptions shall apply to subsection (b)(1) and (2) of this section. 
(d) A violation of applicable federal standards that prohibit the payment or acceptance 
of payment in exchange for health care referrals relating to fraud, abuse, and 
antikickbacks is an administrative violation. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.25 adopted to be effective March 14, 2002, 27 
TexReg 1817; amended to be effective January 9, 2011, 35 TexReg 11873 
 
RULE §180.26 Criteria for Imposing, Recommending and Determining Sanctions; 
Other Remedies 
 
(a) The division may impose sanctions on any system participant if that system 
participant commits an administrative violation. 
 
(b) The division may impose the following sanctions against a doctor or insurance carrier 
for any reason listed in Labor Code §408.0231(c) or any other criteria the commissioner 
considers relevant. 
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(c) In addition to a penalty or the other sanctions that may be imposed in accordance 
with other applicable provisions of the Act, the division may also impose the following 
sanctions pursuant to Labor Code §415.023(b) against an insurance carrier or its 
representative, a health care provider, or a representative of an injured employee or 
legal beneficiary if any of those parties commit an administrative violation as a matter of 
practice, meaning a repeated violation of the Act or a rule, order, or decision of the 
commissioner: 
  (1) a reduction or denial of fees; 
  (2) public or private reprimand by the commissioner; 
  (3) suspension from practice before the division; 
  (4) restriction, suspension, or revocation of the right to receive reimbursement under 
the Act; and 
  (5) referral and petition to the appropriate licensing authority for appropriate 
disciplinary action, including the restriction, suspension, or revocation of the person's 
license. 
 
(d) In addition to, or in lieu of, the sanctions in subsections (b) and (c) of this section, the 
division may impose any other sanction or remedy allowed under the Act or division 
rules, including but not limited to assessing an administrative penalty of up to $25,000 
per violation against a person who commits an administrative violation. 
 
(e) When determining which sanction to impose against a system participant and the 
severity of that sanction, the division shall consider the factors listed in Labor Code 
§415.021(c) and other matters that justice may require, including but not limited to: 
  (1) Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessment; 
  (2) the promptness and earnestness of actions to prevent future violations; 
  (3) self-report of the violation; 
  (4) the size of the company or practice; 
  (5) the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 
  (6) evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Act and 
division rules. 
 
(f) When determining which sanction to impose against a system participant and the 
severity of that sanction in claims where the insurance carrier provided notice under 
Labor Code §409.021(a-3), (Notice of Continuing Investigation), the division shall 
consider the factors listed in Labor Code §415.021(c-2). 
 
(g) In an investigation where both an administrative violation and a criminal prosecution 
are possible, the division may, at its discretion, postpone action on the administrative 
violation until the related criminal prosecution is completed. 
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(h) As an alternative to imposing a sanction such as an administrative penalty on a 
charged system participant, the division may, at its discretion, provide formal notice of 
the violation through a Warning Letter. A Warning Letter shall: 
  (1) include a summary of the duty that the division believes that the charged system 
participant failed to fulfill or timely fulfill; 
  (2) identify the facts that establish that a violation occurred; and 
  (3) inform the charged system participant that subsequent noncompliance of the same 
sort may be deemed to be a repeated administrative violation or matter of practice, any 
of which will be subject to sanction. 
 
(i) The division may enter into a consent order with the system participant if the division 
and the system participant have communicated regarding: 
  (1) the relevant statute or rule violated; 
  (2) the facts establishing that the administrative violation occurred; and 
  (3) the appropriateness of the proposed sanction, including how the division 
considered the factors under Labor Code §415.021(c) and (c-2) and subsection (e) of this 
section in determining the proposed sanction. 
 
(j) A consent order may be entered into before or after issuance of an NOV under §180.8 
of this title (relating to Notices of Violation; Notices of Hearing; Default Judgments). 
Consent orders must include: 
  (1) a description of which factors under Labor Code §415.021(c) and (c-2) and 
subsection (e) of this section the division considered aggravating or mitigating when 
determining the proposed sanctions; and 
  (2) a statement that the system participant acknowledges: 
    (A) the division and the system participant communicated regarding the information 
listed in subsection (h)(1)-(3) of this section; and 
    (B) the division considered the factors under Labor Code §415.021(c) and (c-2) and 
subsection (e) of this section. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.26 adopted to be effective January 9, 2011, 35 
TexReg 11873; amended to be effective January 16, 2019, 44 TexReg 264; amended to 
be effective January 12, 2020, 45 TexReg 359 
 
RULE §180.27 Restoration 
 
(a) In accordance with Labor Code §408.0231(d)(2) a doctor, other than a doctor to 
which Labor Code §408.023(r) applies, may apply for the restoration of a doctor privilege 
removed under Labor Code §408.0231 by sending a letter of consideration to the 
Medical Advisor. 
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(b) The request shall be evaluated by the Medical Advisor and /or members of the 
Medical Quality Review Panel. The requestor shall be liable for the cost of the review, 
which may include an audit of the records of the requestor. 
  (1) If, in the Medical Advisor's opinion, the doctor: 
    (A) has all the appropriate unrestricted licenses/certifications; 
    (B) has overcome the conditions that resulted in the sanction; 
    (C) meets all the division's qualification standards and conditions for restoration of 
some or all of the practice privileges removed; and 
    (D) is not out of compliance with the Labor Code, Insurance Code, a department rule, 
or a rule, order, or decision of the commissioner the Medical Advisor may recommend 
that the commissioner lift the sanction(s) or restore some or all of the privileges 
removed or restricted by the sanction(s). 
  (2) If in the Medical Advisor's opinion, the doctor has not met all the requirements for 
restoration of privileges, the Medical Advisor shall notify the doctor by verifiable means 
of the intent to recommend to the commissioner that the sanctions not be lifted or that 
the privileges removed or restricted by the sanction(s) not be restored in whole or in 
part and the reasons for that recommendation. Within 15 days after receiving the notice, 
a doctor may file a response that addresses the reasons given in the recommendation to 
deny lifting the sanction(s) or restoration of some or all of the privileges removed or 
restricted by the sanction(s). The Medical Advisor shall review the response and make a 
final recommendation to the commissioner. A copy of the requestor's response to the 
division shall be provided to the commissioner for consideration. 
 
(c) The commissioner shall consider the matter and shall notify the requestor of the final 
decision by verifiable means, and may send a copy to the appropriate licensing or 
certification authority. If the commissioner does not lift the sanction, the commissioner 
may include in the final decision the conditions that the doctor must meet before the 
division will reconsider lifting the sanctions including, but not limited to, the amount of 
time that the doctor must wait prior to re-requesting lifting the sanction(s) or 
restoration of some or all of the privileges removed or restricted by the sanction(s). 
 
RULE §180.28 Peer Review Requirements, Reporting, and Sanctions 
 
(a) A peer reviewer's report, including a report used to deny preauthorization, shall 
document the objective medical findings and evidence-based medicine that supports 
the opinion and include: 
  (1) the peer reviewer's name and professional Texas license number; 
  (2) certification that the peer reviewer holds the appropriate credentials as defined in 
§180.1 of this title (relating to Definitions); 
  (3) a summary of the reviewer's qualifications; 
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  (4) a list of all medical records and other documents reviewed by the peer reviewer, 
including dates of those documents; 
  (5) a summary of the clinical history; and 
  (6) an analysis and explanation for the peer review recommendation, including the 
findings and conclusions used to support the recommendations. 
 
(b) The insurance carrier shall not request subsequent peer reviews regarding the 
medical necessity of health care for dates of services for which a peer review report has 
already been issued unless: 
  (1) the review is for a different health care service requiring review by a different peer 
review specialty; 
  (2) the insurance carrier needs clarification of the peer review opinion based on new 
medical evidence that has not been presented to the peer reviewer; 
  (3) the peer reviewer failed to fully address the questions submitted by the insurance 
carrier; or 
  (4) for purposes other than determining medical necessity of the health care. 
 
(c) The insurance carrier shall submit a copy of a peer review report to the treating 
doctor and the health care provider who rendered or requested the health care, as well 
as the injured employee and injured employee's representative, if any, when the 
insurance carrier uses the report to deny the compensability or extent of the 
compensable injury or reduce or deny income or medical benefits of an injured 
employee. 
 
(d) A peer reviewer and insurance carrier shall maintain accurate records to reflect 
information regarding requests, reports, and results for peer reviews. The insurance 
carrier and peer reviewer shall submit such information at the request of the division in 
the form and manner proscribed by the division. The division will monitor peer review 
use, activity, and decisions which may result in the initiation of a medical quality review 
or other division action. 
 
(e) The commissioner may impose sanctions on health care providers performing peer 
reviews pursuant to §180.26 and §180.27 of this title (relating to Criteria for Imposing, 
Recommending and Determining Sanctions; Other Remedies; and Sanctions 
Process/Appeals/Restoration, respectively) and other applicable provisions of the Labor 
Code and division rules. The commissioner may prohibit a doctor from conducting peer 
reviews for any of the following: 
  (1) non-compliance with the provisions of §180.22 of this title (relating to Health Care 
Provider Roles and Responsibilities), this section, or applicable provisions of the Act, or a 
rule, order, or decision of the commissioner; 
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  (2) failure to consider all records provided for review; 
  (3) a history of improper or unjustified decisions regarding the medical necessity of 
health care reviewed; 
  (4) failure to hold the appropriate professional license issued by this state; 
  (5) review of health care without holding the appropriate credentials, as defined in 
§180.1 of this title, in a health care specialty appropriate to the type of health care 
reviewed; or 
  (6) any other violation of the Labor Code or division rules. 
 
(f) In accordance with Labor Code §408.0046, an entity requesting a peer review must 
obtain and provide to the doctor providing peer review services all relevant and 
updated medical records. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.28 adopted to be effective August 16, 2006, 31 
TexReg 6370; amended to be effective January 9, 2011, 35 TexReg 11873 
 
RULE §180.50 Severability 
 
Where any provisions of this chapter are determined by a court of competent 
jurisdiction to be inconsistent with any statutes of this state, or to be unconstitutional, 
the remaining provisions of this chapter shall remain in effect. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.50 adopted to be effective January 9, 2011, 35 
TexReg 11873 
 
SUBCHAPTER C MEDICAL QUALITY REVIEW PANEL 
 
RULE §180.60 Definitions 
 
The following terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings: 
 
  (1) Doctor--As defined by Labor Code §401.011(17), a doctor of medicine, osteopathic 
medicine, optometry, dentistry, podiatry, or chiropractic who is licensed and authorized 
to practice. 
 
  (2) Medical Case Review--A review of a particular case by a Medical Quality Review 
Panel (MQRP) member regarding professional medical services, delivery of health care, 
or the quality of a health care practitioner's opinion, recommendation or report. Medical 
case review includes but it is not limited to review of a treating doctor, peer review 
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doctor, designated doctor, another health care practitioner, an independent review 
organization, an insurance carrier, or a utilization review agent. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.60 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839 
 
RULE §180.62 Medical Quality Review Panel 
 
(a) Purpose. The purpose of the Medical Quality Review Panel (MQRP) is to assist the 
medical advisor in the performance of the medical advisor's duties under Labor Code 
§413.0511 in accordance with the provisions of Labor Code §§413.0512, 413.05121, and 
413.05122. 
 
(b) Experts. Members of the MQRP who prepare reports for medical case review will be 
known as MQRP Experts. 
 
(c) Composition. Applicants may be selected and appointed to the MQRP at the 
discretion of the medical advisor and the commissioner of workers' compensation 
(commissioner) in accordance with this section. The MQRP must be composed of health 
care practitioners appointed by the medical advisor and the commissioner in 
accordance with this section. 
  (1) The MQRP must have at least 25 members. 
  (2) The MQRP must, at a minimum, have members in the following health care 
specialty fields: 
    (A) Orthopedic Surgery--A medical doctor (MD) or a doctor of osteopathy (DO) with 
board certification in orthopedic surgery. 
    (B) Neurosurgery--An MD or DO with board certification in neurological surgery. 
    (C) Chiropractic--A licensed doctor of chiropractic. 
    (D) Occupational Medicine--An MD or DO with board certification in occupational 
medicine. 
    (E) Pain Medicine--An MD or DO with a board certification in a subspecialty of 
anesthesiology, neurology, or physical medicine. 
  (3) The MQRP may have members that include other types of health care practitioners 
determined to be necessary by the medical advisor and the commissioner. 
 
(d) Eligibility. To be eligible to serve on the MQRP, a health care practitioner must meet 
the following criteria, as applicable: 
  (1) Possess an unrestricted license to practice in Texas with the appropriate credentials, 
as defined by §180.1 of this title (relating to Definitions); 
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  (2) Be board-certified in a specialty or subspecialty. An MD or DO is board-certified in a 
specialty or subspecialty if the MD or DO holds: 
    (A) a general certificate in the specialty or a subspecialty certificate from one of the 
member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS); or 
    (B) a primary certificate in the specialty and: 
      (i) a certificate of special qualifications from the American Osteopathic Association 
Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOABOS); or 
      (ii) a certificate of added qualifications in the subspecialty from the AOABOS. 
  (3) Be in active practice in Texas. "Active practice" means, within either of the last two 
calendar years, at the time of appointment to the MQRP, the applicant has: 
    (A) actively diagnosed or treated persons at least 20 hours per week for 40 weeks 
duration during a given calendar year; or 
    (B) performed administrative, leadership, or advisory roles in the practice of medicine. 
  (4) The medical advisor and the commissioner may waive the requirements of 
paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection if needed to adequately perform medical case 
review. 
 
(e) Term; Resignation; Removal. 
  (1) MQRP members will be appointed for a maximum term of 10 years. They will serve 
until the expiration of their term, until their resignation, or until their removal from the 
MQRP. The division will review MQRP members periodically during their term to ensure 
their continued eligibility. 
  (2) An MQRP member may submit a new application for membership in the MQRP 
after the term expires. 
  (3) An MQRP member may resign from the MQRP at any time. 
  (4) An MQRP member may be removed from the MQRP for cause at any time. The 
notice of removal will state the date of removal, which may be immediately after the 
member receives the notice or on a specified future date. Causes for removal include, 
but are not limited to: 
    (A) Failure to maintain eligibility under this subchapter. 
    (B) Failure to timely inform the division of conflicts of interest. 
    (C) Repeated failure to timely review medical case review assignments or timely 
submit reports to the division. 
    (D) Repeated failure to prepare the reports in the prescribed format. 
    (E) Other issues deemed sufficient by the medical advisor or commissioner. 
 
(f) Prohibition. An MQRP member must not use his or her position to influence an 
insurance carrier, agent, or other person or entity in connection with a personal or other 
insurance-related matter beyond referring to their position to demonstrate 
qualifications. 
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(g) Quality Assurance Panel. 
  (1) The medical advisor will establish the Quality Assurance Panel (QAP) within the 
MQRP. All members of the QAP are members of the MQRP. They perform all the duties 
of an MQRP member under Labor Code §413.0512, as well as the duties of a QAP 
member under Labor Code §413.05121. 
  (2) A member of the QAP will also be known as an Arbiter. 
  (3) QAP members may provide any services to the medical advisor provided by Labor 
Code §§413.0512, 413.05121, and 413.05122, including, but not limited to: 
    (A) Serving as the chair to the quality assurance committee. 
    (B) Serving as expert witnesses in enforcement actions as appropriate. 
    (C) Providing an additional level of medical expertise and quality assurance to assist 
the medical advisor in the medical advisor's duties under Labor Code §413.0511. 
    (D) Performing medical case review if no other MQRP member is available in a 
specific area of expertise. In this case, the Arbiter would be ineligible from participating 
in the informal settlement process for the subject the Arbiter reviewed. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.62 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839; amended to be effective October 6, 2022, 47 TexReg 6436 
 
RULE §180.64 MQRP Application Process 
 
(a) To apply to the MQRP, a person must submit an application in the form and manner 
required by the division demonstrating compliance with the required qualifications. The 
application must contain complete information as provided by subsection (b) of this 
section. The medical advisor and the Commissioner may select and appoint only 
qualified applicants to the division's MQRP but are not required to accept all applicants 
who meet the requirements specified in this subchapter. 
 
(b) The division's required application form for the MQRP, at a minimum, shall include: 
  (1) contact information for the health care practitioner; 
  (2) information about the health care practitioner's education; 
  (3) a description of the health care practitioner's license(s), certifications, and 
professional specialty, if any; 
  (4) a description of the health care practitioner's work history and hospital or other 
health care practitioner affiliations; 
  (5) a description of any affiliations the health care practitioner has with a workers' 
compensation health care network certified under Chapter 1305 of the Insurance Code 
or a political subdivision as described in Labor Code §504.053(b)(2); 
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  (6) identification of and a description of all current and past medical review affiliations, 
including but not limited to an independent review organization (IRO), utilization review 
agent (URA), licensing board, and insurance carrier; 
  (7) information regarding the health care practitioner's current practice locations; 
  (8) disclosure regarding the health care practitioner's professional background, 
education, training, and fitness to perform the duties of an MQRP member, including 
disclosure of any disciplinary actions or other sanctions taken against the health care 
practitioner by any state licensing board, state or federal agency, and hospital or other 
health care institution, as well as disclosure of any voluntary relinquishments, drug and 
alcohol misuse, malpractice claims history and criminal history; 
  (9) a description of all ownership interests or other financial arrangements, such as 
salaried or contract employment, involving a person or their agent subject to the Act or 
a rule, order, or decision of the commissioner; 
  (10) an authorization for third parties to release information relevant to the verification 
of the information provided on the application to the division; 
  (11) an affirmation that all information provided in the application is accurate and 
complete to the best of the health care practitioner's knowledge; and 

(12) an affirmation of understanding of the legal requirements, including 
confidentiality provisions, for MQRP members. 

 
(c) A credentialing application for hospital credentialing may substitute for some items 
under subsection (b) of this section. 
 
(d) The health care practitioner must inform the medical advisor of any changes to this 
information within 30 days after the change. 
 
(e) The application shall be reviewed by the medical advisor. 
 
(f) The medical advisor and the commissioner have the discretion to select, appoint and 
remove an applicant to the MQRP. 
 
(g) Membership in the MQRP is for a term of 10 years. The acceptance letter will include 
the effective date and expiration date. 
 
(h) Membership in the MQRP is not a guarantee of any number of assignments. 
 
(i) MQRP members shall be entitled to compensation for work assigned by the medical 
advisor at the following hourly rates: 
  (1) Doctors - Medical case reviews, ad hoc work groups, or special projects: $150 per 
hour. 

Updated January 4, 2024 518



  (2) Non-Doctors - Medical case reviews, ad hoc work groups or special projects: $100 
per hour. 
  (3) Limits on hours. A member shall not be paid for more than: 
    (A) five hours for a medical case review of a single case; 
    (B) five hours for ad hoc work group or special project service; or 
    (C) 20 hours in a given calendar month. 
  (4) The medical advisor may approve additional hours in writing upon review of a 
submitted narrative report or a report of an ad hoc work group. 
  (5) Hearings or trial preparation. 
    (A) Doctors - Payment for time spent in hearing or in trial preparation, in providing 
testimony in deposition, hearing or trial: $350 per hour. 
    (B) Non-doctors - Payment for time spent in hearing or in trial preparation, in 
providing testimony in deposition, hearing or trial: $175 per hour. 
    (C) An MQRP member shall not be paid for more than eight hours per day for a 
deposition, a hearing, trial preparation or court testimony. If travel is required, the 
division will pay the member for travel, lodging and per diem expenses in accordance 
with the Texas State Travel Management Program, 34 TAC §20.301 et seq. 

(6) The division may vary the above reimbursement provisions if deemed by the 
division to be in the best interests of the division or the State of Texas. 

 
(j) In accordance with Labor Code §§402.083 - 402.086, 402.091, 402.092, and 413.0513, 
an MQRP member may not disclose confidential information, including a report or other 
documentation prepared by the MQRP member for the division. 
 
(k) All reports and related documents, including electronic and non-electronic data, 
prepared by or furnished to the member for the MQRP, are the sole property of the 
division. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.64 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839; amended to be effective August 22, 2023, 48 TexReg 4484   
 
RULE §180.66 Medical Case Review 
 
The MQRP may perform medical case review for the medical advisor. Medical case 
review may be performed for the purposes of the medical quality review process, 
designated doctor certification and recertification, performance based oversight, or any 
other medical case review necessary to assist the medical advisor in performing the 
medical advisor's duties under the Labor Code. 
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Source Note: The provisions of this §180.66 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839 
 
 
 
RULE §180.68 Medical Quality Review Process 
 
(a) The medical quality review process is medical case review initiated on the basis of 
complaints, plan-based audits, or monitoring as a result of a consent order and 
performed in accordance with criteria adopted under Labor Code §413.05115. The 
medical quality review process does not include medical case review performed for the 
purpose of: 
  (1) certification and renewal of designated doctors; 
  (2) performance-based oversight; 
  (3) administrative violations that do not require an expert medical opinion; or 

(4) complaints about professionalism that do not require an expert medical opinion. 
 

(b) A complaint must be documented in accordance with the provisions of §180.2 of this 
title (relating to Filing a Complaint). 
 
(c) Nothing in this subchapter prevents referrals of complaints to another licensing or 
law enforcement authority. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.68 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839; amended to be effective August 22, 2023, 48 TexReg 4484 
 
RULE §180.70 MQRP Training 
 
An MQRP member must receive training by the division prior to any assignments and at 
least every two years thereafter on the following topics: 
 
  (1) The requirements of this subchapter concerning the medical quality review process 
under §180.68 of this title (relating to Medical Quality Review Process); 
  (2) The division's goals regarding the medical quality review process; 
  (3) Administrative violations that affect the delivery of appropriate medical care; 
  (4) Confidentiality requirements of Labor Code §§402.083, 402.091, 402.092 and 
413.0513; 
  (5) Immunity from liability under Labor Code §413.054; 
  (6) The medical quality review criteria adopted under Labor Code §413.05115; 
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  (7) The current division adopted edition of the American Medical Association Guides to 
the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment and the division's adopted treatment and 
return-to-work guidelines; and 
  (8) Other topics as determined by the medical advisor and commissioner. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.70 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839 
 
RULE §180.72 Conflict of Interest 
 
(a) If the selected MQRP member has a conflict of interest in a case under medical 
review, that member may not review the case or serve as an arbiter. If all MQRP 
members in a particular health care specialty field as the subject of a medical case 
review have conflicts of interest in a case under medical case review, and the division is 
unable to enter into an interagency agreement pursuant to subsection (e) of this 
section, then the division may refer the case to the appropriate licensing authority. 
 
(b) A conflict of interest exists if the selected MQRP member: 
  (1) has a familial relationship within the third degree of affinity with any party or 
witness related to the case; 
  (2) has a relationship with the subject beyond a mere acquaintance; 
  (3) has ever treated the injured employee whose records are being reviewed; 
  (4) in regard to a particular injured employee's claim, has served as a: 
    (A) peer review doctor; 
    (B) designated doctor; or 
    (C) required medical examination doctor. 
  (5) has a financial interest in a matter as set forth in §180.24 of this title (relating to 
Financial Disclosure); 
  (6) is a medical director for an Insurance Carrier, Utilization Review Agent, or a workers' 
compensation health care network certified under Chapter 1305 of the Insurance Code 
or a political subdivision as described in Labor Code §504.053(b)(2). Medical directors 
can perform all functions of the MQRP and the QAP except performing individual 
medical case reviews or serving as Arbiters in a informal settlement conference (ISC); or 

(7) has other issues deemed to be a conflict of interest by the medical advisor. 
 

(c) If an MQRP member selected for a medical case review has a conflict of interest, the 
member must notify the medical advisor of the conflict before taking any further action 
on the case. 
(d) If the medical advisor has a conflict of interest in a case, the medical advisor must 
recuse himself from the case. If the medical advisor recuses himself, the commissioner 
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will delegate the duties of the medical advisor, including enforcement decisions and 
recommendations, for that particular case, to an arbiter. 
 
(e) The division may enter into agreements with other state agencies to access, as 
necessary, expertise in health care specialty fields as determined by the medical advisor. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.72 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839; amended to be effective August 22, 2023, 48 TexReg 4484 
 
RULE §180.74 MQRP Notification of Case Status 
 
The division shall notify MQRP panel members in writing at least quarterly of the status 
of and enforcement outcomes resulting from cases in the medical quality review 
process. A MQRP panel member shall comply with all confidentiality laws that apply to 
information provided under this section including Labor Code §§402.083 - 402.086, 
402.091, 402.092 and 413.0513. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.74 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839 
 
RULE §180.76 Rights and Responsibilities of Persons Involved in the Medical 
Quality Review Process 
  
(a) The person subject to the medical quality review process has the right: 
  (1) to be notified that the person has been selected for the medical quality review 
process; 
  (2) to be notified of the disposition of the medical quality review process; 
  (3) to communicate with the office of the medical advisor at any time during the 
medical quality review process; 
  (4) to be represented by legal counsel, including legal counsel at the informal 
settlement conference (ISC); 
  (5) to receive written notice of an ISC at least 45 days before the ISC, including the time 
and place of the ISC and the nature of the allegations; and 
  (6) to an ISC in accordance with the provisions of this section. The ISC provides persons 
subject to the medical quality review process an opportunity to discuss and resolve their 
medical case review with arbiters. The division may, at its discretion, conduct an ISC 
remotely or in person. An ISC is available under the following conditions: 
    (A) The case has been referred to enforcement. 
    (B) The request for an ISC must be in writing. 
    (C) The division will notify the requester of the scheduled date of the ISC. 
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    (D) The requester has the right to receive copies of all documents that pertain to the 
substance of the case and that were given to the arbiters for review for that particular 
case. 
    (E) All information the requester wishes the arbiters to consider at the ISC must be 
received by the division no later than 15 days before the ISC. The arbiters may refuse to 
consider any information not timely received by the division. 
    (F) The requester may request to reschedule the scheduled date of the ISC for good 
cause shown, in writing, as determined by the division's presiding attorney. Good cause 
means circumstances beyond the requester's control that reasonably prevent the 
requester from attending the ISC and requesting that the ISC be rescheduled any 
sooner. 
    (G) If a requester fails to attend an ISC as scheduled, the requester loses the right to 
an ISC. But failure to attend the ISC does not affect the requester's rights to: 
      (i) communicate with the office of the medical advisor as paragraph (3) of this 
subsection provides; 
      (ii) enter into a consent order with the division; or 
      (iii) defend an enforcement case at the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
 
(b) A person subject to a medical case review must: 
  (1) provide records and information requested from the office of the medical advisor in 
the format and manner specified by the division; 
  (2) provide the records and information within the time period specified in the request; 
and 

(3) attach an accurate and completed business records affidavit to the request for 
records and information.  

 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.76 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839; amended to be effective August 22, 2023, 48 TexReg 4484 
 
RULE §180.78 Effective Date 
 
This subchapter is effective on January 1, 2013. Existing members of the MQRP on that 
date shall continue to serve through the terms of their contracts. New terms of 
membership after January 1, 2013 shall be established through the process in this 
subchapter. 
 
Source Note: The provisions of this §180.78 adopted to be effective January 1, 2013, 37 
TexReg 8839 
 
 

Updated January 4, 2024 523

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=180&rl=78

	28 TAC Chapters 102-180 Cover Page.pdf
	CHAPTER 102 PRACTICES AND PROCEDURES--GENERAL PROVISIONS.pdf
	CHAPTER 104 GENERAL PROVISIONS--RULE-MAKING.pdf
	CHAPTER 109 WORKERS' COMPENSATION COVERAGE FOR STATE EMPLOYEES.pdf
	CHAPTER 110 REQUIRED NOTICES OF COVERAGE.pdf
	CHAPTER 112 SCOPE OF LIABILITY FOR COMPENSATION.pdf
	CHAPTER 114 SELF-INSURANCE.pdf
	CHAPTER 116 GENERAL PROVISIONS--SUBSEQUENT INJURY FUND.pdf
	CHAPTER 120 COMPENSATION PROCEDURE--EMPLOYERS.pdf
	CHAPTER 122 COMPENSATION PROCEDURE--CLAIMANTS.pdf
	CHAPTER 124 CARRIERS: REQUIRED NOTICES AND MODE OF PAYMENT
	CHAPTER 126 GENERAL PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL BENEFITS.pdf
	CHAPTER 127 DESIGNATED DOTOR PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS.pdf
	CHAPTER 128 BENEFITS--CALCULATION OF AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE.pdf
	CHAPTER 129 INCOME BENEFITS--TEMPORARY INCOME BENEFITS.pdf
	CHAPTER 130 IMPAIRMENT AND SUPPLEMENTAL INCOME BENEFITS.pdf
	CHAPTER 131 BENEFITS--LIFETIME INCOME BENEFITS.pdf
	CHAPTER 132 DEATH BENEFITS--DEATH AND BURIAL BENEFITS.pdf
	CHAPTER 133 GENERAL MEDICAL PROVISIONS.pdf
	CHAPTER 134 BENEFITS--GUIDELINES FOR MEDICAL SERVICES, CHARGES, AND PAYMENTS.pdf
	CHAPTER 136 BENEFITS--VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION.pdf
	CHAPTER 137 DISABILITY MANAGEMENT.pdf
	CHAPTER 140 DISPUTE RESOLUTION--GENERAL PROVISIONS.pdf
	CHAPTER 141 DISPUTE RESOLUTION--BENEFIT REVIEW CONFERENCE.pdf
	CHAPTER 142 DISPUTE RESOLUTION--BENEFIT CONTESTED CASE HEARING.pdf
	CHAPTER 143 DISPUTE RESOLUTION REVIEW BY THE APPEALS PANEL.pdf
	CHAPTER 144 DISPUTE RESOLUTION.pdf
	CHAPTER 147 DISPUTE RESOLUTION--AGREEMENTS, SETTLEMENTS, COMMUTATIONS.pdf
	CHAPTER 148 HEARINGS CONDUCTED BY THE STATE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS.pdf
	CHAPTER 150 REPRESENTATION OF PARTIES BEFORE THE AGENCY--QUALIFICATIONS FOR REPRESENTATIVES.pdf
	CHAPTER 152 ATTORNEY FEES.pdf
	CHAPTER 156 REPRESENTATION OF PARTIES BEFORE THE AGENCY--CARRIER'S AUSTIN REPRESENTATIVE.pdf
	CHAPTER 160 REPORTS OF INJURY AND OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE--GENERAL PROVISIONS.pdf
	CHAPTER 165 REJECTED RISK INJURY PREVENTION SERVICES.pdf
	CHAPTER 166 ACCIDENT PREVENTION SERVICES.pdf
	CHAPTER 180 MONITORING AND ENFORCEMENT



