
   
   

 

   
    

  

    
   

  
   

Information Redacted 
Texas Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 No.   2021-6946  

Official Order  
of the  

Texas Commissioner  of Workers’ Compensation 

Date:   7/28/2021 

Subject Considered:  

Lubbock County  
P.O. Box 10536  

Lubbock, Texas  79408-3536  

Consent Order  
DWC Enforcement File  No.  25910  

General remarks and  official action taken:  

This is a consent order with Lubbock County. The commissioner of the Texas Department 
of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) considers whether DWC should 
take disciplinary action against Lubbock County. 

Waiver  

Lubbock County acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws 
provide certain rights. Lubbock County waives all of these rights, and any other procedural 
rights that apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order. 

Findings of Fact  

1. Lubbock County holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of 
Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE §§ 
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas, 
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance. 

2. Lubbock County was not selected to be tiered in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 
2016, or 2018 Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessments. 
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DWC Audit No. MBP-20-110  

3. On  DWC initiated DWC Audit No. MBP-20-110  to determine 
whether  Lubbock County  complied with the Texas Labor Code and related rules on 
the timely  processing  of initial medical bills and  the  timely and accurate  reporting 

• 
of electronic data interchange (EDI) medical bill payment data to DWC. 

4. The  audit examined initial medical bills  submitted to DWC between 
and  DWC identified 100 bills  for audit.  One  bill  failed to 

meet selection  criteria and  was  dropped from the audit sample. The  remaining 99 
bills  were reviewed to  determine Lubbock County’s  compliance. 

5. The audit focused on the timely and accurate processing of initial medical bills and 
EDI reporting. The EDI portion of the audit focused on the timely and accurate 
reporting of medical bill payment data and seven data elements reported to DWC 
(Rendering Line Provider National Provider Identifier Number (NPI), Rendering Line 
Provider State License Number, Referring Provider Last/Group Name, Referring 
Provider State License Number, Billing Provider Federal Employer Identification 
Number, Date Bill Received, and Date Paid or Denied). 

Failure to Timely Pay or Deny Medical Bills 

6. Lubbock County failed to timely process 27% of the initial medical bills within 45 
days of receiving the bill (27 out of 99). 

7. Specifically, Lubbock County issued payments to health care providers less than six 
days late in 13 instances, between six and 15 days late in six instances, and between 
16 and 30 days late in three instances. 

Failure to Timely or Accurately Report EDI Medical Bill Payment Data to DWC 

8. Lubbock County failed to timely report the Rendering Line Provider NPI for 2% of 
the examined bills (two out of 99). 

9. Lubbock County failed to accurately report the Rendering Line Provider State 
License Number for 3% of the examined bills (three out of 99). 
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10. Lubbock County failed to accurately report the Referring Provider Last/Group 
Name for 3% of the examined bills (three out of 99). 

11. Lubbock County failed to accurately report the Referring Provider State License 
Number for 3% of the examined bills (three out of 99). 

12. Lubbock County failed to accurately report the Date Bill Received for 28% of the 
examined bills (28 out of 99). 

13. Lubbock County failed to accurately report the Date of Bill Payment or Denial for 
5% of the examined bills (5 out of 99). 

Assessment of Sanction  

1. Prompt processing and payment of medical bills is imperative to DWC’s goal of 
ensuring that injured employees have access to prompt, high-quality medical care. 

2. DWC relies on medical bill payment information insurance carries submit for many 
purposes, including, but not limited to, providing required information and reports 
to the Legislature; ensuring that health care providers and insurance carriers 
comply with DWC’s medical policies and fee guidelines; creating medical fee 
guidelines; adopting treatment and return-to-work guidelines; and detecting 
patterns and practices in medical charges, payments, and protocols. 

3. DWC relies on claims information insurance carries submit for may purposes, 
including, but not limited to, providing required information and reports to the 
Legislature, ensuring that insurance carriers comply with the Texas Labor Code and 
DWC rules, and detecting patterns and practices in actions taken on claims. 

4. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors 
in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
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• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the  delivery 
of benefits to an injured employee; 

• the history of compliance with EDI  requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting  from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a  sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act an d DWC rules. 

5. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; whether the administrative violation had a negative impact 
on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee; and other matters that justice 
may require, including the size of the company or practice. 

6. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: promptness and earnestness in responding to 
DWC; Lubbock County is a State of Texas government entity; Lubbock County has 
provided training and education to its adjusters and implemented improved 
processes to correctly index, date, and pay medical bills; billing anomalies that 
resulted from a change in vendors have been corrected; and evidence was 
submitted to support that five medical bills that were audited and initially 
determined to be unpaid for more than 180 days were in fact, timely paid. 

7. Lubbock County acknowledges it communicated with DWC about the relevant 
statutes and rules it violated; the facts establish that the administrative violation 
occurred; and the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the factors DWC 
considered under TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e). 

8. Lubbock County acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered 
the factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e). 
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Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE 
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, and 414.002. 

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to 
TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(7), and 28 
TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(h). 

3. Lubbock County has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to 
which it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but 
not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary 
action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by 
the commissioner, and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its representative 
commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its representative 
commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with a provision of 
the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

7. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 408.027 and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 133.240, insurance 
carriers are required to timely process and take final action on a properly 
completed medical bill within 45 days of receiving the bill. 

8. Lubbock County violated TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 415.002(a)(20) and 415.002(a)(22) each 
time it failed to timely process a properly completed medical bill within 45 days of 
receiving the bill. 

9. Pursuant to 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 134.804(d), insurance carriers are responsible for 
timely and accurately submitting medical EDI records to DWC. 

10. Lubbock County violated TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20) each time it failed to 
submit timely and accurate medical EDI records to DWC. 
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Order  

It is ordered that Lubbock County must pay an administrative penalty of $17,500 within 
30 days from the date of this order. Lubbock County must pay the administrative penalty 
by company check, cashier’s check, or money order and make it payable to the “State of 
Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC 
Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030. 

Cassie Brown 
Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

Mackenzie Arthur 
Staff Attorney, Enforcement 
Compliance and Investigations 
Division of Workers’ Compensation 
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Affidavit 

STATE OF :f-tk)S § 

COUNTY OF lill11)�¥,-
§ 

§ 

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared C\A..Vr\S Pa.rrim 
who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows: 

"My name is {JJ{<..\\.S, VMR.IS:i . I am of sound mind, capable of making this 
statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct. 

I hold the office of Cov�JvO<c:>6 and am the authorized representative of 
Lubbock County. I am duly authorized by the organization to execute this statement. 

Lubbock County has knowingly and voluntarily entered into this consent order and agrees 
with and consents to the issuance and service of this consent order.'' 

��ff
Affiant 

 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on £l\)J'\,.Q4 \t-\, . 2021. 

(NOTARY SEAL) 

\ N1fic. s-oil axas 
�1)1131.-1 

tAy � Exl)VtlS 01-31-2022 I 

®KRISTEN WINDHAM 
I 

Signature of Notary Public 

�\NW'dh1fD 
Printed Name of Notary Public 

\ --3\--2D22 
Commission Expiration 

https://l\)J'\,.Q4



