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SUBCHAPTER T. SUBMISSION OF CLEAN CLAIMS 
28 TAC §21.2821 and 
Repeal of §21.2824 

INTRODUCTION. The Texas Department of Insurance proposes to amend 28 TAC 

§21.2821, concerning reporting requirements, and to repeal §21.2824, concerning

applicability. The amendments to §21.2821 expand the claims-related data elements that

a managed care carrier (MCC) must report to the department on a quarterly basis and

require electronic reporting of these data elements in order to determine carrier

compliance with Insurance Code §843.342 and §1301.137. The repeal of §21.2824 removes

outdated rule language.

EXPLANATION. Under Insurance Code §843.342 and §1301.137, carriers are required to 

pay a penalty and applicable interest for the late payment of clean claims. The proposed 

amendments to §21.2821 expand the data reporting requirements under the prompt pay 

reporting system so that the department can adequately determine compliance, lower the 

frequency of some reporting to reduce the regulatory burden on carriers, and provide for 

the data to be entered directly into the department's new electronic database to improve 

efficiency and limit the possibility of data entry errors. The repeal of §21.2824 removes 

language regarding applicability that is outdated. 

In order to verify that the amount paid is correct, the amended rule would require 

that the quarterly report from managed care carriers required under §21.2821(a) include 

the total number of reported late-paid claims and the dollar value corresponding to those 

claims. This dollar value would be submitted for each time frame (i.e., claims paid late 

between 1 and 45 days, claims paid late between 46 and 90 days, and claims paid late 91 

days or greater). The rule also would require the carrier to submit a list of penalty and 
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certain interest payments, with associated claim numbers, so that the department can 

verify the amounts and tie the penalty and interest payments to actual claims paid. 

The amended rule also requires that carriers report the number of complaints 

received regarding failure to pay a clean claim timely. This report will gather the number 

of such complaints received by a managed care carrier, which may not have been 

submitted to the department as formal complaints. Complaint numbers can be an 

indication of the quality of a carrier's claims payment processes. 

While the rule currently requires quarterly reporting of data, it does not address 

reporting of penalty and interest payments for late-paid claims. In practice, carriers have 

been reporting penalty and interest data monthly since the dissolution of the Texas Health 

Insurance Risk Pool and transfer of its obligations and authority to the department. With 

these proposed rule amendments, monthly reporting will no longer be necessary; carriers 

will begin reporting the data quarterly. The department expects that the reduction in 

frequency of reporting will reduce the carriers' burden of compliance over time. 

The proposed amendments also require carriers to submit their quarterly reports 

electronically by entering the data directly into the department's new electronic prompt 

pay reporting database in order to reduce the possibility of data entry errors, enhance the 

department's oversight capabilities, and increase efficiency. 

Without the requirements to report the claims' dollar value, provide the claims 

numbers from which the penalty amount is derived, and engage in electronic data entry 

by the reporter, the only verification of compliance that the department can perform is to 

spot-check claims and claims payments via market-conduct and quality-of-care 

examinations. The new requirements will allow the department to better determine 

compliance with Insurance Code §843.342 and §1301.137. 

Section 21.2821. Reporting Requirements. Amendments to this section require 

the reporting of additional data elements relating to the late payment of clean claims. 
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An amendment to subsection (a) revises the subsection to specify that, in addition 

to submitting quarterly claims payment information, an MCC must submit related penalty 

and interest payment information and information regarding complaints. 

Amendments to the section also add new subsection (e), which lists and describes 

the information that an MCC must provide in the report required by subsection (a) of the 

section to satisfy the expanded data reporting requirements. The information required by 

the new subsection includes the following: 

- the total dollar amount of clean claims the MCC reported after the end of the 

applicable statutory claims payment period, broken down by relevant time period; 

- the penalty dollar amount of each clean claim the MCC paid late to 

noninstitutional preferred providers, broken down by relevant time period; 

- the penalty dollar amount of each clean claim the MCC paid late to institutional 

preferred providers, broken down by relevant time period; 

- the amount of interest, based on the penalty dollar amount, that the MCC paid 

to the department for certain late-paid clean claims that the MCC paid to a 

noninstitutional preferred provider; 

- a list of each claim number the MCC paid late and the associated penalty dollar 

amount; 

- a list of each claim number and the associated amount of interest paid to the 

department for certain late-paid clean claims; and 

- the total number of complaints received by an MCC for failure to pay a claim. 

The amendments to the section add a new subsection (f), which requires that the 

quarterly report required by subsection (a) of the section be submitted electronically in a 

format acceptable to the department as specified on the department's website. 

Finally, the amendments to the section add a new subsection (g), which provides 

that the new reporting requirements in subsections (e) and (f) apply to reports submitted 
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under §21.2821(a) beginning with the report required to be submitted by May 15, 2021, 

for the months of January, February, and March of that year. 

Section 21.2824. Applicability. The department proposes the repeal of §21.2824. 

The repeal of §21.2824 removes outdated provisions regarding applicability. 
 
FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT. Debra Diaz-Lara, 

associate commissioner, Life and Health Division, has determined that during each year 

of the first five years the proposed amendments are in effect, there will be no measurable 

fiscal impact on state and local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the 

sections, other than that imposed by the statute. Ms. Diaz-Lara made this determination 

because the proposed amendments do not add to or decrease state revenues or 

expenditures, and because local governments are not involved in enforcing or complying 

with the proposed amendments. 

Ms. Diaz-Lara does not anticipate any measurable effect on local employment or 

the local economy as a result of this proposal. 

 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. For each year of the first five years the proposed 

amendments are in effect, Ms. Diaz-Lara expects that the proposed amendments will have 

the public benefits of ensuring that the department can better evaluate compliance with 

§843.342 and §1301.137, conserving agency resources, and reducing the regulatory 

burden and costs imposed on MCCs with the expansion of electronic reporting and the 

submission of claims-related information on a quarterly rather than a monthly basis. The 

proposed amendments will also benefit the public by enabling the department, through 

the analysis of complaints reported electronically to the department, to better identify 

problems associated with a carrier's failure to pay clean claims timely. 
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Ms. Diaz-Lara expects that the proposed amendments will impose an initial 

economic cost on MCCs that must implement the expanded reporting in compliance with 

the proposed rule. The initial cost will involve reprogramming computer systems to 

provide for reporting of the additional claims-related data required by the proposed 

amendments. Carriers are already collecting the additional data elements to be reported. 

Once the systems are reprogrammed, the burden of reporting claims-related data to 

comply with the rule on an ongoing basis is expected to remain static. 

It is not feasible for the department to ascertain the actual cost of reprogramming 

computer systems to comply with the proposed amendments; MCCs are better suited to 

determine them. Every carrier has unique internal processes, resources, and technical 

capabilities that are not feasible for the department to evaluate. The exact method of 

compliance is a business decision, including the decision to employ staff or contract for 

some of these services. 

Approximately 136 MCCs electronically report their monthly claims-related data 

to the department. Fewer than five carriers submit their reports by mail. While there may 

be initial costs to implement electronic reporting for those carriers currently reporting by 

mail, those costs are expected to be minimal and to involve reporting electronically 

through a spreadsheet system. 

Though costs to each carrier will depend on the volume and degree of complexity 

of the claims-related information the carrier reports to the department, the department 

estimates the following possible needs: individual employee compensation for an 

administrative assistant at $16.82 per hour, computer programmer at $41.59 per hour, 

and a computer and information systems manager at $71.34 per hour for one to 20 hours 

of work to revise an insurer's internal procedures. The department also estimates 

individual employee compensation for an administrative assistant at $16.82 per hour and 

a computer programmer at $41.59 per hour for one to 20 hours of work to create, modify, 
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and test the code and scripts to run computer applications. These wages are based on the 

latest State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates for Texas published by the 

U.S. Department of Labor (DOL, May 2019) at www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_tx.htm. 

Once carriers have made the programming changes, the reporting system will be 

automated and repetitive for each quarterly report. The reduction in reporting frequency 

from monthly to quarterly is expected to significantly reduce the compliance burden for 

carriers, which the department anticipates will more than offset initial programming costs, 

resulting in an overall reduction in costs for compliance with the rule. 

 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS. The 

department has determined that the proposed amendments will not have an adverse 

economic effect on small or micro businesses or on rural communities. The new 

amendments will not create an increase in cost of compliance. Although insurers may 

have initial programming costs associated with the rule change, the department expects 

the decreased frequency of reporting will more than offset those initial costs, as discussed 

in the Public Benefit and Cost Note section. As a result, and in accordance with 

Government Code §2006.002(c), the department is not required to prepare a regulatory 

flexibility analysis. 

 
EXAMINATION OF COSTS UNDER GOVERNMENT CODE §2001.0045. The department 

has determined that while this proposal may impose an initial cost on regulated persons, 

these initial costs will be more than offset by savings that result from a reduction in 

reporting frequency. Additionally, under Government Code §2001.0045(c)(2), the 

department is not required to repeal or amend another rule because the proposed rule 

amendments will reduce the burden or responsibilities imposed on regulated persons. 
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GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. The department has determined that 

for each year of the first five years that the proposed amendments are in effect, the 

proposed rule: 

- will not create a government program;

- will not require the creation of new employee positions;

- will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to the

agency; 

- will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency;

- will not create a new regulation;

- will expand an existing regulation;

- will not increase the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability; and

- will not positively or adversely affect the Texas economy.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. The department has determined that no private real 

property interests are affected by this proposal and that this proposal does not restrict or 

limit an owner's right to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government 

action. As a result, this proposal does not constitute a taking or require a takings impact 

assessment under Government Code §2007.043. 

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. The department will consider any written comments 

on the proposal that are received by the department no later than 5:00 p.m., central time, 

on  . Send your comments to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov; 

or to the Office of the Chief Clerk, MC 112-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 

149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104. 

To request a public hearing on the proposal, submit a request before the end of 

the comment period to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov; or to the Office of the Chief Clerk, MC 

December 28, 2020
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112-2 A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104. The

request for public hearing must be separate from any comments and received by the

department no later than 5:00 p.m., central time, on  .

If the department holds a public hearing, the department will consider written and oral

comments presented at the hearing.

SUBCHAPTER T. SUBMISSION OF CLEAN CLAIMS 
28 TAC §21.2821 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The department proposes amendments to §21.2821 under 

Insurance Code §§843.151, 1301.007, and 36.001. 

Insurance Code §843.151 provides that the Commissioner may adopt reasonable 

rules as necessary and proper to implement Chapter 843. 

Insurance Code §1301.007 requires that the Commissioner adopt rules as necessary 

to implement Chapter 1301  and  to  ensure  reasonable  accessibility  and  availability  of 

preferred provider services to residents of this state. 

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may adopt any rules 

necessary and appropriate to implement the department's powers and duties under the 

Insurance Code and other laws of this state. 

CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The proposed amendments to 28 TAC §21.2821 

implement Insurance Code §843.151 and §1301.007. 

TEXT. 

§21.2821. Reporting Requirements.

December 28, 2020
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(a) An MCC must submit to the department quarterly claims payment and related

penalty and interest payment information, and information regarding complaints, in 

compliance with the requirements of this section. 

(b) The MCC must submit the report required by subsection (a) of this section to

the department on or before: 

(1) May 15th for the months of January, February, and March of each year;

(2) August 15th for the months of April, May, and June of each year;

(3) November 15th for the months of July, August, and September of each

year; and 

(4) February 15th for the months of October, November, and December of

each preceding calendar year. 

(c) The report required by subsection (a) of this section must include, at a minimum,

the following information: 

(1) number of claims received from noninstitutional preferred providers;

(2) number of claims received from institutional preferred providers;

(3) number of clean claims received from noninstitutional preferred

providers; 

(4) number of clean claims received from institutional preferred providers;

(5) number of clean claims from noninstitutional preferred providers paid

within the applicable statutory claims payment period; 

(6) number of clean claims from noninstitutional preferred providers paid

on or before the 45th day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; 

(7) number of clean claims from institutional preferred providers paid on or

before the 45th day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; 
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(8) number of clean claims from noninstitutional preferred providers paid

on or after the 46th day and before the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory 

claims payment period; 

(9) number of clean claims from institutional preferred providers paid on or

after the 46th day and before the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory claims 

payment period; 

(10) number of clean claims from noninstitutional preferred providers paid

on or after the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; 

(11) number of clean claims from institutional preferred providers paid on

or after the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; 

(12) number of clean claims from institutional preferred providers paid

within the applicable statutory claims payment period; 

(13) number of claims paid under the provisions of §21.2809 of this title

(relating to Audit Procedures); 

(14) number of requests for verification received under §19.1719 of this title

(relating to Verification for Health Maintenance Organizations and Preferred Provider 

Benefit Plans); 

(15) number of verifications issued under §19.1719 of this title;

(16) number of declinations of requests for verifications, under §19.1719 of

this title; 

(17) number of certifications of catastrophic events sent to the department;

(18) number of calendar days business was interrupted for each

corresponding catastrophic event; 

(19) number of electronically submitted, affirmatively adjudicated pharmacy

claims received by the MCC; 
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(20) number of electronically submitted, affirmatively adjudicated pharmacy

claims paid within the 18-day statutory claims payment period; 

(21) number of electronically submitted, affirmatively adjudicated pharmacy

claims paid on or before the 45th day after the end of the 18-day statutory claims payment 

period; 

(22) number of electronically submitted, affirmatively adjudicated pharmacy

claims paid on or after the 46th day and before the 91st day after the end of the 18-day 

statutory claims payment period; and 

(23) number of electronically submitted, affirmatively adjudicated pharmacy

claims paid on or after the 91st day after the end of the 18-day statutory claims payment 

period. 

(d) An MCC must annually submit to the department, on or before August 15th, at

a minimum, information related to the number of declinations of requests for verifications 

from July 1st of the prior year to June 30th of the current year, in the following categories: 

(1) policy or contract limitations:

(A) premium payment time frames that prevent verifying eligibility

for a 30-day period; 

maximum; 

(B) policy deductible, specific benefit limitations, or annual benefit

(C) benefit exclusions;

(D) no coverage or change in membership eligibility, including

individuals not eligible, not yet effective, or for whom membership is canceled; 

(E) preexisting condition limitations; and

(F) other;

(2) declinations due to an inability to obtain necessary information to verify

requested services from the following persons: 
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(A) the requesting physician or provider;

(B) any other physician or provider; and

(C) any other person.

(e) In addition to the information reported under subsection (c) of this section, the

report required by subsection (a) of this section must also include, at a minimum, the 

following information: 

(1) the total dollar amount of the claims described in each of the following

subparagraphs: 

(A) clean claims from noninstitutional preferred providers paid on or

before the 45th day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; 

(B) clean claims from institutional preferred providers paid on or

before the 45th day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; 

(C) clean claims from noninstitutional preferred providers paid on or

after the 46th day and before the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory claims 

payment period; 

(D) clean claims from institutional preferred providers paid on or after

the 46th day and before the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory claims 

payment period; 

(E) clean claims from noninstitutional preferred providers paid on or

after the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; and 

(F) clean claims from institutional preferred providers paid on or after

the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory claims payment period; 
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(2) the penalty dollar amount that the MCC paid to an institutional preferred

provider for each clean claim that the MCC paid to the institutional preferred provider: 

(A) on or before the 45th day after the end of the applicable statutory

claims payment period; 

(B) on or after the 46th day and before the 91st day after the end of

the applicable statutory claims payment period; and 

(C) on or after the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory

claims payment period; 

(3) the penalty dollar amount that the MCC paid to a noninstitutional

provider for each clean claim that the MCC paid to the noninstitutional preferred provider: 

(A) on or before the 45th day after the end of the applicable statutory

claims payment period; 

(B) on or after the 46th day and before the 91st day after the end of

the applicable statutory claims payment period; and 

(C) on or after the 91st day after the end of the applicable statutory

claims payment period: 

(4) the amount of interest, based on the penalty dollar amount, that the

MCC paid to the department for each clean claim that the MCC paid to the 

noninstitutional preferred provider on or after the 91st day after the end of the applicable 

statutory claims payment period; 

(5) a list of each claim number and the associated penalty dollar amount as

reported under subsection (e), paragraphs (2) and (3) of this section; 

(6) a list of each claim number and the associated amount of interest paid

as reported under subsection (e)(4) of this section; and 
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(7) the total number of complaints received by the MCC for failure to pay a

clean claim timely. 

(f) The quarterly report required in subsection (a) of this section must be submitted

electronically as specified on the department's website. 

(g) Subsections (e) and (f) of this section apply to reports submitted under

subsection (a) of this section beginning with the report required to be submitted by May 

15, 2021, for the months of January, February, and March of that year. 

SUBCHAPTER T. SUBMISSION OF CLEAN CLAIMS 
Repeal of 28 TAC §21.2824 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The department proposes the repeal of §21.2824 under 

Insurance Code §36.001. 

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may adopt any rules 

necessary and appropriate to implement the department's powers and duties under the 

Insurance Code and other laws of this state. 

CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The proposed repeal of §21.2824 implements 

Insurance Code §36.001. 

TEXT. 

§21.2824. Applicability.

CERTIFICATION. This agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the proposal and 

found it to be within the agency's authority to adopt. 
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Issued in Austin, Texas, on  . 

James Person, General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 

November 10, 2020




