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Individual Application for All Types of Fire Alarm Licenses 

Instructions 
• Print or type your information. 

• Include all required test and certification documents as indicated on the Fire Alarm License and 
Test Information Guide SF229. These requirements are in Chapter 6002 of the Texas Insurance 
Code and Section 34.600 of Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Alarm Rules. 

• Do not submit your application until you have met all test requirements. Test scores are valid for 
one year from the date the test was taken. 

• All fees are nonrefundable, except for overpayments from mistakes of law or fact. 

• Send one payment to cover fees. Payments for various applications must be combined. 

• Answer questions completely and truthfully. We may deny, suspend, or revoke your license if you 
misrepresent or knowingly give wrong information on this application. 

1. Applicant information (Use your full name as it appears on your driver’s license.) 

 
First name    Middle name   Last name   Suffix 
 
Phone      Driver’s license number and state 
 
Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)     Social Security number1 

Type of license application (Check only one) Fee (TDI code 572) 

 Fire Alarm Technician (FAL)  $120 

 Fire Alarm Monitoring Technician (AMT)  $120 

 Residential Fire Alarm Superintendent – Single-Station (RAS-SS) $120 

 Residential Fire Alarm Superintendent (RAS)  $120 

 Residential Fire Alarm Technician (RAL)  $50 

 Fire Alarm Planning Superintendent (APS)  $120 

 
1 The disclosure of your Social Security number is required by Texas Family code, Section 231.302 and will be used 
pursuant to that code. 

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF229alrmguide.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/IN/htm/IN.6002.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/IN/htm/IN.6002.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=28&pt=1&ch=34&sch=F&rl=Y
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Home address (no PO box) 
 
City     State   ZIP   County 
 
Mailing address 
 
City     State   ZIP   County 
 
Email (Required) 

2. Employer information 
Will this applicant be a designated full-time employee? (Answer no if the individual holds an RAL 
license.)  Yes    No 

 
Company name 
 
Phone       Date of hire (mm/dd/yyyy) 
 
Address 
 
City     State   ZIP   County 

ACR- 
Fire alarm certificate of registration number (Use “pending” if this is a new company application) 

3. Questions 
a. Have you met the National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies (NICET) exam 

requirements for certification? If yes, include a copy of the NICET documents with your 
application. 

 Yes    No 

b. Do you have an Electronic Security Association (ESA) Level II or Level III certification for fire 
alarm systems? If yes, include a copy of the ESA documents with your application. 

 Yes    No 

c. Are you a professional engineer registered in Texas? If yes, include a copy of your registration 
with this application. 

 Yes    No 

d. Do you have a current license or permit issued by the Texas State Fire Marshal’s Office? 
 Yes    No     If yes, enter your license number:   

https://www.nicet.org/
https://esaweb.org/
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e. Have you ever held a license or permit issued by the Texas State Fire Marshal that is not shown 
in question “d.”? 

 Yes    No 

f. Have you ever had a permit or license denied, suspended, or revoked? If yes, please provide 
details on a separate page. 

 Yes    No 

g. Excluding traffic violations: 

• Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense in Texas, in any other 
state, or by the federal government? 

 Yes    No 

• Have you ever had adjudication deferred on a misdemeanor or felony charge or offense in 
Texas, in any other state, or by the federal government? 

 Yes    No 

• Have you ever served probation for a misdemeanor or felony offense in Texas, in any other 
state, or by the federal government? 

 Yes    No 

If you answered yes to any of the questions under “g.”, you must submit a Criminal History 
Information Supplemental form SF261 for each occurrence. 

4. Fingerprints 
All first-time applicants must have their fingerprints taken by IdentoGo. View fingerprint 
information and instructions.  

5. Certification 
Applicant 

• I am familiar with and will comply with the requirements in Chapter 6002 of the Texas 
Insurance Code and Section 34.600 of Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Alarm Rules. 

• I verify that the information on this application and its attachments are true and correct. 

• I understand that knowingly providing a false answer to any question or submitting false 
information or documents with this application may be tampering with a governmental record, 
which is punishable under the Texas Penal Code 37.10. 

 
Applicant signature      Date 

 
Print name 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/sf261crimsupp.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/fingerprint-instructions-sfmo.html
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/fingerprint-instructions-sfmo.html
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Employer 

• I certify that this applicant will be an employee of this company and will be covered by the 
general liability insurance policy of the company. Upon receiving a license, the applicant will be 
designated to represent this company, subject to Chapter 6002 of the Texas Insurance Code 
and Section 34.600 of Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Alarm Rules. 

• I know of no reason why this applicant should be denied a license. 

• I verify that the information on this application and its attachments are true and correct. 

• I understand that knowingly providing a false answer to any question or submitting false 
information or documents with this application may be tampering with a governmental record, 
which is punishable under the Texas Penal Code, Section 37.10. 

 
Signature of authorized company representative                Date 

 
Print name        Title 

6. Payment 
Pay by check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. Mail your completed 
application, additional documents, and payment to the following mailing address: 

State Fire Marshal’s Office 
PO Box 12107 
Austin, Texas 78711-2107 

Your rights 
You can request information we have about you by emailing OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov or writing to: 
Public Information Coordinator, Texas Department of Insurance, PO Box 12030 (mail code GC-ORO) 
Austin, Texas 78711-2030. You also have the right to ask that we fix information we have about you 
that is wrong. To ask for a correction, send (1) your name, mailing address, and your phone number, (2) 
details about what needs to be fixed, and (3) the reason or proof showing why the information is wrong. 
Send this by email to RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov or by mail to: Record Correction Request, Texas 
Department of Insurance, PO Box 12030 (mail code CO-AAL-CC), Austin, Texas 78711-2030. There is a 
different process to change or update information you submitted to the State Fire Marshall’s Office 
(SFMO). To update information submitted to SFMO, email FMLicensing@tdi.texas.gov. There may be a 
fee to update information held by SFMO. 

mailto:OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov
mailto:RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov
mailto:FMLicensing@tdi.texas.gov
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