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Individual Application for All Types of Fire Extinguisher Licenses 

Instructions 
• Print or type your information.

• Include all required test and certification documents as indicated on the Fire Alarm License and
Test Information Guide SF234. These requirements are in Chapter 6001 of the Texas Insurance
Code and Section 34.500 of the Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Extinguisher Rules.

• Do not submit your application until you have met all test requirements. Test scores are valid
for one year from the date the test was taken.

• All fees are nonrefundable, except for overpayments from mistakes of law or fact.

• Send one payment to cover fees. Payments for various applications must be combined.

• Answer questions completely and truthfully. We may deny, suspend, or revoke your license if
you misrepresent or knowingly give wrong information on this application.

1. Applicant information (Use your full name as it appears on your driver’s license.)

First name Middle name Last name Suffix 

Phone Driver’s license number and state 

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Social Security number 1 

Type of license application (Check only one) Fee (TDI code 571) 

 Portable Fire Extinguishers (FEL-B) - Portable fire extinguisher business only $70 

 Fixed Fire Extinguisher Systems (FEL-A) - Portable fire extinguisher, fixed fire extinguisher 
system, and kitchen cooking system business excluding planning. You must have previously 
held a FEL-B license or an apprentice permit for a minimum of six months. 

$70 

 Cooking Systems (FEL-K) - Portable fire extinguisher and kitchen cooking system 
business excluding planning. You must have previously held a FEL-B license or an apprentice 
permit for a minimum of six months. 

$70 

 Extinguisher System Planning (EPL) - Portable fire extinguisher and fixed fire extinguisher 
system business including system planning. $70 

1 The disclosure of your Social Security number is required by Texas Family code, Section 231.302 and will be used 
pursuant to that code. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/sf234extguide.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/IN/htm/IN.6001.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/IN/htm/IN.6001.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=28&pt=1&ch=34&sch=E&rl=Y
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Home address (no PO box) 

 
City      State   ZIP  County 

 
Mailing address 

 
City      State   ZIP  County 

 
Email (required) 

2. Employer information 
 
Company name 

 
Phone      Date of hire (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 
Address 

 
City      State   ZIP  County  

ECR- 
Extinguisher certificate of registration number. (Use “pending” if this is a new company application) 

3. Questions 
a. Have you completed the National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies 

(NICET) examination requirements for certification at Level III for Special Hazard Systems 
layout? If yes, include a copy of the NICET documents with your application. 

 Yes    No 

b. Are you a professional engineer registered in Texas? If yes, include a copy of your registration 
with this application. 

 Yes    No 

c. Do you hold a current license or permit issued by the Texas State Fire Marshal? 

 Yes    No 

If yes, enter your license number   

https://www.nicet.org/
https://www.nicet.org/
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d. Have you ever held a license or permit issued by the Texas State Fire Marshal that is not shown 
in question “c.”? 

 Yes    No 

e. Have you ever had a permit or license denied, suspended, or revoked? If yes, please provide 
details on a separate page. 

 Yes    No 

f. Excluding traffic violations: 

• Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense in Texas, in any other 
state, or by the federal government? 

 Yes    No 

• Have you ever had adjudication deferred on a misdemeanor or felony charge or offence in 
Texas, in any other state, or by the federal government? 

 Yes    No 

• Have you ever served probation for a misdemeanor or felony offence in Texas, in any other 
state, or by the federal government? 

 Yes    No 

If you answered yes to any of the questions under “f.”, you must submit a supplemental 
criminal history information form SF261 for each occurrence. 

4. Fingerprints 
All first-time applicants must have their fingerprints taken by IdentoGo. View information and 
instructions.  

5. Certification 
Applicant 
• I am familiar with and will comply with the requirements in Chapter 6001 of the Texas 

Insurance Code and Section 34.500 of the Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire 
Extinguisher Rules. 

• I verify that the information on this application and its attachments are true and correct. 

• I understand that knowingly providing a false answer to any question or submitting false 
information or documents with this application may be tampering with a governmental record, 
which is punishable under the Texas Penal Code 37.10. 

 
Applicant signature      Date 

 
Print name 

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/sf261crimsupp.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/fingerprint-instructions-sfmo.html
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/fingerprint-instructions-sfmo.html
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Employer 
• I certify that this applicant will be an employee of this company and will be covered by the 

general liability insurance policy of the company. Upon receiving a license, the applicant will be 
designated to represent this company, subject to Chapter 6001 of the Texas Insurance Code 
and Section 34.500 of the Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Extinguisher Rules. 

• I know of no reason why this applicant should be denied a license. 

• I verify that the information on this application and its attachments are true and correct. 

• I understand that knowingly providing a false answer to any question or submitting false 
information or documents with this application may be tampering with a governmental record, 
which is punishable under Texas Penal Code, Section 37.10. 

 
Signature of authorized company representative   Date 

 
Print name       Title 

6. Payment 
Pay by check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. Mail your completed 
application, additional documents, and payment to the following mailing address: 

State Fire Marshal’s Office 
PO Box 12107 
Austin, Texas 78711-2107 

Your rights 
You can request information we have about you by emailing OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov or writing to: 
Public Information Coordinator, Texas Department of Insurance, PO Box 12030 (mail code GC-ORO) 
Austin, Texas 78711-2030. You also have the right to ask that we fix information we have about you 
that is wrong. To ask for a correction, send (1) your name, mailing address, and your phone number, (2) 
details about what needs to be fixed, and (3) the reason or proof showing why the information is wrong. 
Send this by email to RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov or by mail to: Record Correction Request, Texas 
Department of Insurance, PO Box 12030 (mail code CO-AAL-CC), Austin, Texas 78711-2030. There is a 
different process to change or update information you submitted to the State Fire Marshall’s Office 
(SFMO). To update information submitted to SFMO, email FMLicensing@tdi.texas.gov. There may be a 
fee to update information held by SFMO. 

  

mailto:OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov
mailto:RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov
mailto:FMLicensing@tdi.texas.gov
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Use for Type A and Type K license applications only. 
• Complete the table below and submit with the completed application. 

• By signing below, you certify that this applicant is competent to install or service the following 
fixed systems, which your company is currently qualified to install or service. 

• You may provide supporting documents from the manufacturers of pre-engineered fixed 
systems or fixed system equipment that show the applicant has received education and 
training for the installation and service of the products listed below. 

• You may provide evidence that you completed a structured training program. 

Manufacturer / Brand name System type 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

1. Applicant information 

 
First name   Middle name   Last name   Suffix 

 
Company name 

 
Signature of authorized representative    Date 

 
Print name       Title 
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