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Fire Alarm Training School Renewal Application 

Instructions 
• Renewal application fee: $500 (TDI code 572) 

• Print or type your information. 

• Documents required for your company must be current. 

o Your company’s franchise tax account status must be active.  

o Your company’s Assumed Name Certificate must be current. If your certificate is not 
current, you must file a new certificate before we will process your application. 

• Make sure you provide the correct addresses. 

o There is a $20 fee for address changes. 

o If you need to update an address, submit the Company Information Update Form 
(SF227).  

• All fees are nonrefundable, except for overpayments from mistakes of law or fact. 

• Send one payment to cover fees. Payments for various applications must be combined. 

• Answer questions completely and truthfully. We may deny, suspend, or revoke your certificate 
of registration if you misrepresent or knowingly give wrong information on this application. 

1. Company information 

 
Company name 

 
Physical address 

 
City      State   ZIP  County 

 
Mailing address (no P.O. box) 

 
City      State   ZIP  County 

 
Approval number      Expiration date 
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Email (required) 

2. Questions

a. Has there been a change in owners or officers of your company in the last two years?

If yes, list current owners or officers on the Company Information Update Form (SF227).

 Yes   No 

b. Has there been a change in instructors since the last approval?

 Yes    No 

If yes, provide the name and approval number of the fire alarm instructor. 

Name Approval number 

c. Has there been a change in the course content since the last approval?

 Yes   No 

If yes, please attach an outline of the course that includes a detailed description and length of 
time allotted for each subject. 

d. Has there been a change in the course location and / or schedule since the last approval?

 Yes    No 

If yes, please attach the new course location or schedule. 

e. Does your company have fewer than 100 employees?

 Yes   No 

f. If yes, does your company have fewer than 20 employees?

 Yes   No 

g. Is your company independently owned and operated? (Answer no if your company is a
subsidiary, subject to control by another entity, or is publicly traded.)

 Yes   No 

h. Does your company regularly generate less than $6 million in annual gross revenue?

 Yes   No 
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4. Certification 

• I authorize the Texas State Fire Marshal or its representative to enter, examine, and inspect any 
premises, building, room, or establishment used by the company while engaged in the 
business to determine compliance with Chapter 6002 of the Texas Insurance Code and Section 
34.600 of Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Alarm Rules. 

• I am familiar with and will comply with Chapter 6002 of the Texas Insurance Code and Section 
34.600 of Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Alarm Rules. 

 
 
Authorized representative signature     Date 

 
Print name       Title 

5. Payment 

Pay by check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. Mail your application, 
additional documents, and payment to the following mailing address: 

State Fire Marshal’s Office 
P.O. Box 12107 
Austin, Texas 78711-2107 

Your rights 
You can request information we have about you by emailing OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov or writing 
to: Public Information Coordinator, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030 (mail code GC-
ORO) Austin, Texas 78711-2030. You also have the right to ask that we fix information we have about 
you that is wrong. To ask for a correction, send (1) your name, mailing address, and your phone 
number, (2) details about what needs to be fixed, and (3) the reason or proof showing why the 
information is wrong. Send this by email to RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov or by mail to: Record 
Correction Request, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030 (mail code CO-AAL-CC), Austin, 
Texas 78711-2030. There is a different process to change or update information you submitted to the 
State Fire Marshall’s Office (SFMO). To update information submitted to SFMO, email 
FMLicensing@tdi.texas.gov. There may be a fee to update information held by SFMO. 
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