
No.  2021-7086

Official Order 
of the 

Texas Commissioner of Insurance 

Date:  11/18/2021 

Subjects Considered: 

Horace Mann Insurance Company  
Horace Mann Property & Casualty Insurance Company 

Teachers Insurance Company 
1 Horace Mann Plaza 

Springfield, IL 62715-0001 

Consent Order 
TDI Enforcement File Nos. 25518, 25519, and 25520 

General remarks and official action taken: 

This is a consent order with Horace Mann Insurance Company, Horace Mann Property & 
Casualty Insurance Company, and Teachers Insurance Company (the Horace Mann 
Companies).  The Horace Mann Companies improperly used an applicant’s lack of prior 
insurance to determine personal automobile rates.  The Horace Mann Companies have 
paid restitution to the affected policyholders and agree to pay a $25,000 administrative 
penalty.   

Waiver 

The Horace Mann Companies acknowledge that the Texas Insurance Code and other 
applicable law provide certain rights.  The Horace Mann Companies waive all of these 
rights, and any other applicable procedural rights, in consideration of the entry of this 
consent order.  
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Findings of Fact 

1. The Horace Mann Companies are all foreign fire and casualty insurance companies
holding a certificate of authority to transact business in Texas.

2. Texas law, under 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.401(b), prohibits insurers from using an
applicant's lack of prior insurance in determining the appropriate rate for private
passenger automobile liability insurance where the applicant has not been
operating an uninsured motor vehicle in the state for more than 30 days during
the 12 months immediately preceding the date of the application.

3. During the period between February 15, 2015, and June 16, 2020, the Horace Mann
Companies’ personal automobile rate filings considered a policyholder's prior
insurance, including any lapse in insurance, in assigning underwriting levels for
rating purposes.  This affected the final premium a policyholder paid.

4. After objection from department staff in March 2020, the Horace Mann Companies
implemented a process to identify applicants whose lapse in insurance coverage is
not associated with unlawful vehicle operation.  Prior to that implementation, the
Horace Mann Companies were using lapses between 1 and 30 days in determining
the policyholder’s underwriting level.

5. The Horace Mann Companies finished its remediation process by rerating the 613
impacted policies and providing refunds, credits, and write-offs in the amount of
$144,719.90 to policyholders.  The Horace Mann Companies provided the
department with a report detailing the remediation on June 2, 2021.

Conclusions of Law 

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter under TEX. INS. CODE
§§ 82.051-82.055, 84.021-84.044, and 801.052-801.053.

2. The commissioner has the authority to informally dispose of this matter as set forth
in TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056; TEX. INS. CODE §§ 36.104 and 82.055; and 28 TEX. ADMIN.
CODE § 1.47.
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3. The Horace Mann Companies have knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural
rights to which they may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order,
including, but not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intention to institute
disciplinary action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision,
rehearing by the commissioner, and judicial review.

4. The Horace Mann Companies violated 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.401 by assigning a
rate consequence to an applicant’s lack of prior insurance of not more than 30 days
when the applicant has not been operating an uninsured motor vehicle in the state.

Order

It is ordered that Horace Mann Insurance Company, Horace Mann Property & Casualty 
Insurance Company, and Teachers Insurance Company, pay an administrative penalty of 
$25,000, jointly and severally, within 30 days from the date of this order.  The 
administrative penalty must be paid as instructed in the invoice, which the department 
will send after entry of this order. 

__________________________________________
Cassie Brown
Commissioner of Insurance

Recommended and reviewed by: 

________________________________________
Leah Gillum, Deputy Commissioner
Enforcement Division

_______________________________________
Whitney Fraser, Director 
Enforcement Division

_____________________________ __________________________
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