## Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA) Governing Committee

**Purpose:** To make automobile bodily injury and property damage liability insurance required by the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act available to eligible applicants.

<b>Board Member</b>	Member Type	Term Expires	Employer /Affiliation
Mary Carol Awalt	Public (OPIC nominates)	6/26/2026	Self-employed (Mary Carol Awalt, LLC)
Betsy Blair	Public (OPIC nominates)	6/26/2026	Marketing Content Manager, Weaver and Tidwell
Becky Jackson	Public (OPIC nominates) (Chair)	3/24/2025	HHSC, Inspector General
Laura Hausman	Public (OPIC nominates)	3/24/2025	Northern Beef Industries, Inc.
Carmelita Hogan	Public (OPIC nominates)	3/24/2025	Self -employed/personal development training
Janet Dewey	Alternate Public (OPIC nominates)	11/17/2024	Retired, attorney OPIC &TDI
Adam Payton	Producer (TDI- appointed)	3/24/2024	SWBC Insurance Services/Commercial Producer
Kit Morris	Alternate Producer (nominated by IIAT)	March 2025 or when a successor is appointed	West Texas Pride Insurance/ President and Agent
Ramon Montalvo, III	Producer	When IIAT appoints successor	Montalvo Insurance
Michael Burke	Trade Assoc. (appointed by APCIA)	Up for reelection March 2024	The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Mike Voigt	Trade Assoc. (Assoc. Fire & Casualty Co.) [AFACT] (appointed by AFACT)	Up for reelection March 2024	Texas Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Co.
David Weber	Trade Assoc. (appointed by NAMIC) (2 <sup>nd</sup> V. Chair)	Up for reelection March 2024	Hochheim Prairie Insurance

John Lusardi	At-Large Member (Secretary)	Up for reelection	Allstate Insurance
	( ),	March 2024	
Keith Wechsler	At-Large Member	Up for	USAA
(elected)		reelection	
		March 2024	
Brian Ferguson	At-Large Member	Up for	State Farm Insurance Co.
(elected)		reelection	
		March 2024	
Matthew Snyder	At-Large Member	Up for	Farmers Insurance
(elected)	(1 <sup>st</sup> V. Chair)	reelection	
		March 2024	
Michael Hass	At-Large Member	Up for	Liberty Mutual Insurance
(elected)		reelection	
		March 2024	

In accordance with Texas Insurance Code Section 2151.053 and the TAIPA plan of operation, the governing committee shall consist of not less than fifteen and not more than nineteen members:

- 1. eight members who represent the interests of insurers (required by statute);
- 2. five public members nominated by the Office of Public Insurance Counsel (required by statute);
- two members who are general or personal lines property and casualty agents, one selected by the Independent Insurance Agents of Texas (IIAT) and the other by the Commissioner of Insurance (required by statute). The IIAT may elect an alternate for their selected member (permissible by TAIPA plan of operations); and
- 4. up to three alternate public members (permissible by TAIPA plan of operation).

**Terms**: Public members serve two year staggered terms. Agent members and alternate agent members serve one-year terms, and Insurer Representatives are elected annually by association members.