
   
    

  

  
  

   

 
    

    
 

    
 

Information Redacted 
Texas Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 No.  2021-6926  

Official Order  
of the  

Texas Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation 

Date:  7/15/2021  

Subject Considered:  

Federal Insurance Co.  
P.O. Box 619079  

Roseville, California  95661-9079  

Consent Order  
DWC Enforcement File No.  25848  

General remarks and official action taken:  

This is a consent order with Federal Insurance Co. (Federal Insurance). The commissioner 
of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) 
considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Federal Insurance. 

Waiver  

Federal Insurance acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws 
provide certain rights. Federal Insurance waives all of these rights, and any other 
procedural rights that apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order. 

Findings of Fact  

1. Federal Insurance holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department 
of Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE §§ 
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas, 
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance. 

2. Federal Insurance was classified as “average” tier in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 
2014, 2016, and 2018 Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessments. 
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DWC Audit No. IP-20-106 

3. On  DWC initiated DWC Audit No. IP-20-106 to determine 
whether Federal Insurance  complied  with the Texas Labor Code and related rules 
on  the timely payment of initial temporary income benefits (TIBs)  and timely and 
accurate  submission of initial payment information to DWC. 

4. The  audit examined TIBs payments that  Federal Insurance  reported  issuing 
between  and  DWC identified 45  initial TIBs 
payments for audit. A total of  two  initial TIBs payments failed to  meet selection 
criteria and were dropped from the audit sample. The remaining  43  payments were 
reviewed to  determine Federal Insurance’s  compliance. 

5. The  audit focused  on the timely  payment of initial TIBs and electronic data 
interchange  (EDI) reporting. The EDI portion of  the  audit focused on the timely 
reporting  of  initial TIBs payments and accuracy of  five  data elements reported to 
DWC (First Date of Disability, Date of  First Written Notice, TIBs from  Date, TIBs End 
Date,  and Initial TIBs Payment Date). 

Failure  to  Timely Pay Initial TIBs  

6. Federal Insurance  failed to timely initiate TIBs for  33% of  examined payments (14 
out of  43). 

7. Specifically,  Federal Insurance  issued payments to injured employees less than six 
days late in  four  instances, between six and 15 days late in  four  instances, between 
16 and 30  days late in two instances, and over 30 days late in  four  instances. 

Failure  to  Timely or  Accurately  Report  EDI  Data to  DWC  

8. Federal Insurance failed to timely report initial TIBs payments for 14% of examined 
payments (six out of 43). 

9. Federal Insurance failed to accurately report the First Date of Disability for 30% of 
examined payments (13 out of 43). 

10. Federal Insurance failed to accurately report the Date of First Written Notice for 
26% of examined payments (11 out of 43). 
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11. Federal Insurance failed to accurately report the Initial TIBs Payment Date for 7% 
of examined payments (three out of 43). 

Assessment of Sanction  

1. Failure to provide income benefits in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful 
to injured employees and the Texas workers’ compensation system. 

2. Timely submitting information and documents to DWC is imperative for it to 
implement and enforce the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

3. DWC relies on claims information insurance carriers submit for many purposes, 
including, but not limited to, providing required information and reports to the 
Legislature, ensuring that insurance carriers comply with the Texas Labor Code and 
DWC rules, and detecting patterns and practices in actions insurance carriers take 
on claims. 

4. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors 
in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee; 
• the history of compliance with EDI requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 
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o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 
the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

5. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; whether the administrative violation had a negative impact 
on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee; the history of compliance with 
EDI requirements; and other matters that justice may require, including the size of 
the company or practice. 

6. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: promptness and earnestness in responding to 
DWC; Federal Insurance has provided mitigating evidence for the three latest initial 
TIBs payments identified in the audit; and Federal Insurance, via retained counsel, 
has provided ongoing training to its adjusters regarding income benefit deadlines. 

7. Federal Insurance acknowledges it communicated with DWC about the relevant 
statutes and rules it violated; the facts establish that the administrative violation 
occurred; and the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the factors DWC 
considered under TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e). 

8. Federal Insurance acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered 
the factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE 
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 409.021, 414.002, 414.003, 415.002, 
and 415.021. 

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to 
TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(7), and 28 
TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(h). 

3. Federal Insurance has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to 
which it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but 
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not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary 
action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by 
the commissioner, and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its representative 
commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its representative 
commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with a provision of 
the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

7. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 409.021 and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §§ 124.3 and 124.7, an 
insurance carrier is required to initiate payment of TIBs no later than the 15th day 
after it receives written notice of the injury or the seventh day after the accrual 
date, unless the insurance carrier notifies DWC and the injured employee in writing 
of its refusal to pay. 

8. Federal Insurance violated TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20) and (22) each time it 
failed to timely initiate payment of TIBs. 

9. Pursuant to 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 124.2(a) and (b), insurance carriers are required 
to notify DWC and the injured employee of actions taken or events occurring in a 
claim, as specified by rule in the form and manner DWC prescribes. Inherent in this 
duty is the requirement that insurance carriers report this information accurately. 

10. Federal Insurance violated TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20) each time it failed to 
timely or accurately notify DWC and the injured employee of actions it took or 
events that occurred in a claim, as specified by rule in the form and manner DWC 
prescribed. 
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Order  

It is ordered that Federal Insurance Co. must pay an administrative penalty of $19,000 
within 30 days from the date of this order. Federal Insurance Co. must pay the 
administrative penalty by company check, cashier’s check, or money order and make it 
payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department 
of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas 
78711-2030. 

__________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 

Cassie Brown 
Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

Mackenzie Arthur 
Staff Attorney, Enforcement 
Compliance and Investigations 
Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Information Redacted 
Texas Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 
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Affidavit 

STATE OF New Jersey § 

§ 

COUNTY OF Somerset § 

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared _ S_a_ra_K_e_n_d_a_ll_____~ 

who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows: 

"My name is Sara Kendall . I am of sound mind, capable of making this 

statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct. 

I hold the office of Vice President, Claims Compliance Manag~nd am the authorized representative of 

Federal Insurance Co. I am duly authorized by the organization to execute th is statement. 

Federal Insurance Co. has knowing ly and voluntarily entered into this consent order and 
agrees with and consents to the issuance and service of th is consent order." 

Affiant 

7
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on June 2021.--------~ 

(NOTARY SEAL) 

Signature of Notary Publ ic 

Printed Name of Notary Public 

Commiss ion Expiration 

Confidential Informat ion Redacted 
Texas Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 




