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NEW HAMPSHIRE INSURANCE COMPANY
175 Water Street, 18th Floor
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CONSENT ORDER
TDI-DWC ENFORCEMENT FILE NO. 15514

General remarks and official action taken:

The commissioner of workers’ compensation (commissioner) considers whether disciplinary
action should be taken against New Hampshire Insurance Company (New Hampshire).

WAIVER

New Hampshire acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide
certain rights. New Hampshire waives all of these rights and any other applicable procedural rights
in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The commissioner makes the following findings of fact:

1. New Hampshire holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of
Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE §§ 801.051-
801.053, and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance, including workers’
compensation/employers’ liability insurance in Texas.

2z, New Hampshire was classified as “poor” tier in the 2007 Performance Based Oversight
(PBO) assessment, and “average” tier in the 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, and 2018 PBO
assessments.
FAILURE TO TAKE FINAL ACTION ON A REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION
Case 1

3. On [ 1\ Hampshire received a complete request for reconsideration
of a medical bill from a health care provider for the date of service ||| IR
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4. New Hampshire was required to take action regarding payment or denial of the
reconsideration request no later than the 30th day after receipt of the request, which in this

3 New Hampshire took action and issued payment plus interest to the health care provider

on I v hich was 279 days late.
Case 2

6. On IR N\ Hampshire received a complete request for reconsideration of
a medical bill from a health care provider for dates of service between || NN

and [

7. New Hampshire was required to take action regarding payment or denial of the
reconsideration request no later than the 30th day after receipt of the request, which in this

case was on |

8. New Hampshire took action and issued payment with interest to the health care provider

on IR vhich was 70 days late.

FAILURE TO TIMELY PAY BENEFITS
Case 1
9. On or around [ the injured employee received a Notification of Suspension

of Indemnity Benefit Payment (PLN-09) dated from the adjuster incorrectly
stating that impairment income benefits (IIBs) had been paid in full as of that date.

10.  New Hampshire had erroneously suspended IIBs payments to the injured employee but
was still required to continue paying IIBs to the injured employee weekly as and when they
accrued.

1. Payment of IIBs for the benefit week of ||| N ]JEER throvzh IR 25 due on
r In this case, New Hampshire issued payment of 11Bs 16 days late on [}

12. Payment of IIBs for the benefit week of |l through . s due on
B [ this case, New Hampshire issued payment nine days late on ||| R

13.  Payment of 1IBs for the benefit week of | through | vas due on
I 2d was paid two days late on . ;

Case 2
14.  On | < Hampshire received a report from a designated doctor (DD).

15.  The DD certified that the injured employee reached maximum medical improvement on

I it 2 5 impairment rating.
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16.  New Hampshire was required to pay IIBs to the injured employee in accordance with the
DD report no later than five days after receipt of the DD report, or by || lGczczEzNN:

17.  New Hampshire issued partial payment to the injured employee on
but did not come into full compliance until it issued full payment of all accrued 1IBs pIus

interest for the benefit weeks of ||| R t»rovgh I .-

which was 141 days late.

Case 3

18.  From |G :c B <\ Hampshire denied payment for the same

recurring physical therapy services billed by a healthcare provider based on extent of injury
(EOI).

19.  On I New Hampshire received a report from a DD determining that the reasons
relied on by the carrier to deny the medical bills were incorrect.

20.  New Hampshire was required to reprocess all of the medical bills that were denied
inconsistent with the findings of the DD’s report within 21 days from receipt of the DD

report, or by |

21.  Inthis case, the first medical bill was reprocessed and paid on || N ] JEEEE. which was
60 days late.

22.  The second medical bill was reprocessed and paid on || . which was 49 days
late.

23.  The remaining three medical bills were reprocessed and paid on || . which was
18 days late.

BREACHING OF AN AGREEMENT APPROVED BY DWC

24.  On . the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation
(DWC) approved a Benefit Dispute Agreement (BDA) entered into by the injured
employee and New Hampshire.

25.  The carrier had adjusted the injured employee’s average weekly wage (AWW) based on
an alleged bona fide offer of employment (BFOE) and had paid the injured employee an
adjusted amount of S|

26.  The parties agreed, in part, that the injured employee had disability from ||| Gz
through [ and that, since the employer had not made a bona fide offer of
employment to the injured employee, New Hampshire was not entitled to adjust post-injury
weekly earnings.

27.  New Hampshire received the BDA on || 2nd was required to comply with the
BDA within five days of receipt, or by || GzGzNG:
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28.  New Hampshire issued a deficit payment of § ] with interest on [ NG

which was 60 days late.
ASSESSMENT OF SANCTION

29.  Failure to take timely action on requests for reconsideration needlessly delays the medical
fee dispute resolution process.

30.  Failure to accurately provide appropriate income benefits in a manner that is timely and
cost-effective is harmful to injured employees and to the workers’ compensation system of
the state.

31.  Adherence to DWC approved agreements is imperative to minimizing disputes and
resolving them promptly and fairly.

32.  In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC appropriately and fully considered the
following factors set forth in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §
180.26(e):

e the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, consequences,
extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;

o the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
the demonstrated good faith of the violator, including actions taken to rectify the
consequences of the prohibited act;

e the penalty necessary to deter future violations;

o whether the administrative violation has negative impact on the delivery of benefits to
an injured employee;

e the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;

e other matters that justice may require, including but not limited to:

PBO assessments;

the promptness and earnestness of actions to prevent future violations;

self-report of the violation;

the size of the company or practice;

the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and

evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Texas

Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules; and

e to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited act.

0O 0O0O0O0OCO0

33,  In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC found the following factors set forth in TEX.
LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the
seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and
gravity of the prohibited act; the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
and other matters that justice may require including evidence of heightened awareness of
the legal duty to comply with the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules.

Confidential Information Redacted
Texas Labor Code §§402.083 & 402.092




COMMISSIONER’S ORDER

New Hampshire Insurance Company 2 0 1 9 6 0 1 4

TDI-DWC Enforcement File No. 15514
Page 5 of 8

34.  In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC found the following factors set forth in TEX.
LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: the
demonstrated good faith of the violator, including actions taken to rectify the consequences
of the prohibited act; the penalty necessary to deter future violations; whether the
administrative violation has negative impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured
employee; and other matters that justice may require including the promptness and
earnestness of actions to prevent future violations.

35.  New Hampshire acknowledges that DWC and New Hampshire have communicated
regarding the relevant statutes and rules violated; the facts establishing that the
administrative violation occurred; and the appropriateness of the proposed sanction,
including how DWC considered the factors under TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28
TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e).

36.  New Hampshire acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the factors
set forth in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
The commissioner makes the following conclusions of law:

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE §§
402.001, 402.00111, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, 414.003, 415.002, and
415.021.

2 The commissioner has authority to informally dispose of this matter as set forth under TEX.
Gov’T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE § 402.00128(b)(7), and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE
§ 180.26(h).

3. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an administrative
penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.

4, Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its representative
commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule.

5. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its representative
commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with a provision of the
Texas Workers” Compensation Act.

6. Pursuant to 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 133.250, an insurance carrier is required to take final
action on a complete request for reconsideration of the insurance carrier’s action on a
medical bill within 30 days of receipt of the request for reconsideration. The insurance
carrier shall provide an explanation of benefits for all items included in a reconsideration
request in the form and format prescribed by DWC.

! New Hampshire violated TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20) each time it failed to timely
take final action on a request for reconsideration of a medical bill action within 30 days of
receipt.
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8. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 408.081 and 409.023, insurance carriers are required to pay
1I1Bs weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, and without order from the commissioner.

9. New Hampshire violated TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 408.081, 409.023, and § 415.002(a)(22) each
time it failed to continue to timely pay accrued IIBs.

10.  Pursuant to 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 127.10(h), the insurance carrier shall pay all medical
benefits based on conditions to which the DD determines the compensable injury extends.
The insurance carrier shall have 21 days from the receipt of the DD’s report to reprocess
and pay all medical bills previously denied in accordance with the DD’s findings. By the
end of this period, insurance carriers shall tender payment on these medical bills in
accordance with the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act and Chapters 133 and 134 of this
title.

11. New Hampshire violated TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 127.10(h) and TEX. LAB. CODE §
415.002(a)(20) each time it failed to reprocess and timely pay accrued IIBs in accordance
with the DD report within 21 days of receipt of the report.

12. Pursuant to 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 127.10(h), the insurance carrier shall pay accrued
income benefits in accordance with a DD report no later than five days from the receipt of
the DD’s report.

13. New Hampshire violated TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 127.10(h) and TEX. LAB. CODE §
415.002(a)(20) each time it failed to reprocess and timely pay accrued IIBs in accordance
with the DD report within five days of receipt of the report.

14.  Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.010, a person commits a violation if the person breaches
a provision of an agreement approved by DWC.

15.  New Hampshire violated TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 415.002(a)(22) and 415.010 when it failed to
initiate payment of TIBs within five days of receipt of the BDA approved by DWC.
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ORDER

New Hampshire Insurance Company is ORDERED to pay an administrative penalty of $30,000
within 30 days from the date of this Order.

The administrative penalty must be paid by company check, cashier’s check, or money order made
payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of
Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas, 78714-9104.

O svenovi

Cassie Brown
Commissioner offWorkers’ Compensation

Approved as to Form and Content:

res Durd
Staff Attorney, DWC Enforcement
Texas Department of Insurance
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AFFIDAVIT
STATE OF _New York §
COUNTY OF New York g

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared the affiant, who being by me duly
sworn, deposed as follows:

“My name is Nicolas Berg . I am of sound mind, capable of making this
statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct.

I hold the office of Senior Vice President , and am the authorized representative of New
Hampshire Insurance Company. [ am duly authorized by said organization to execute this
statement.

New Hampshire Insurance Company waives rights provided by the Texas Labor Code and other
applicable laws, and acknowledges the jurisdiction of the Texas commissioner of workers’
compensation.

New Hampshire Insurance Company is voluntarily entering into this consent order. New
Hampshire Insurance Company consents to the issuance and service of this consent order.”

A6~

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on sune 1, ,2019.

Affiant

(NOTARY SEAL)

%Ma%%y

Signature of Notary Public ¢

Morda Pedngoea
Printed Name of Notary Public

Noyem be— 4. 203

Commission Expiration Date

Maritza Rodricsucz

Notary Public - Staic | New York
Na O1FCR, 90 705
Qualific /i1 14 .3 County
[ Certificate Fivd it tiow York County
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