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No.   2022-7249  

Official Order  
of the  

Texas Commissioner  of Workers’ Compensation 

Date:   2/23/2022 

Subject Considered:  

State National Insurance Co.  
3 Park Avenue, Floor 38  

New York, New York  10016-5918  

Consent  Order  
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 27625  and 28491  

General remarks and  official action taken:  

This is a consent order with State National Insurance Co.  (State National).  The 
commissioner of  the  Texas  Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’  Compensation 
(DWC)  considers whether  DWC should take  disciplinary action against  State National.   

Waiver  

State National  acknowledges that the  Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide  
certain rights. State National  waives all of these rights, and any other procedural rights  
that apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.   

Findings of Fact  

1. State National  holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of 
Insurance to transact  the business of  insurance pursuant to TEX.  INS.  CODE  §§ 
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance  in Texas, 
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance. 

2. State National  was not  selected to be tiered in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 
2016, 2018,  or  2020 Performance Based Oversight  (PBO) assessments. 
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Failure to Timely Comely with a Final or Binding Contested Case Hearing Decision and 
Order 

3. On issued a contested case hearing decision and order 
(CCH D&O) requiring State National to pay benefits in accordance with the 
decision. State National received the CCH D&O on 

4. The CCH D&O became final on State National was requirec 
--he CCH D&O within 20 days. The deadline to comply wa: 

5. State National paid benefits on which was one day late. 
However, State National came into full compliance when it issued a payment for 
interest on which was 34 days late. 

Failure to Accurately Pay Temooraoi Income Benefits 

6. The injured em lo ee was awarded benefits in a DWC Contested Case Hearing 
Order dated for the benefit eriods of through 

hrough 

7. State National miscalculated the injured employee's average weekly wage (AWW) 
for those benefit periods, which resulted in a reduction of the injured employees' 
true benefit rate (TBR). Based on a complete wage t, State National 
incorrect! determined an AWW of- instead of and an incorrect 
TBR of instead of State National owed benefits in the amount of 

but paid 

8. C::btc f\l::itirm::il i<:<:I 1c�rlit f-on nd an 
interest payment of -on State National miscalculated and 
incorrectly reduced the benefits owed to the injured employee. As a result, State 
National continued paying partial benefits but at an incorrect amount for those 
benefit periods. 

Assessment of Sanction 

1. Compliance with DWC orders is imperative to minimize disputes and resolve them 
promptly and fairly. In addition, failure to provide income benefits in a timely and 
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cost-effective manner  is harmful to  injured  employees and the  Texas  workers’  
compensation system.  

2. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the  following factors 
in  TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity  of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the  delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee; 
• the history of compliance with  electronic data interchange requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting  from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a  sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

3. DWC found the following factors in TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX.  ADMIN. 
CODE  § 180.26(e) to be  aggravating:  the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances,  consequences, extent,  and gravity of the prohibited act; the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; and other matters that justice may require. 

4. DWC found the following factors in TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX.  ADMIN. 
CODE  § 180.26(e) to be mitigating:  matters that justice may require, such as the 
prompt and earnest actions taken  to prevent future violations.  The adjuster was 
negligent in paying  the benefit one day late. However, an additional  delay  in this 
matter was  caused by  the employer’s delay  in sending a complete  and accurate 
wage statement. Once a complete wage statement was obtained, the  interest 
payment was  forwarded  on January 6, 2021. The  TPA  compliance  procedures were 
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examined internally,  and a calendar diary was instituted  to  ensure timely  
compliance with administrative decisions  in  all  future orders.   

5. State National  acknowledges it communicated with DWC about the relevant 
statutes and rules it violated; the facts establish that the administrative violation 
occurred; and the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the factors DWC 
considered under  TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 180.26(e). 

6. State National  acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the 
factors in  TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE 
§§ 402.001, 402.00114,  402.00116,  and 402.00128. 

2. The commissioner has  the authority to dispose of this  case informally pursuant to 
TEX.  GOV’T  CODE  § 2001.056,  TEX.  LAB.  CODE §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and 
28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 180.26(h)  and (i). 

3. State National  has knowingly and voluntarily  waived all procedural rights to which 
it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not 
limited  to,  issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, 
notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the 
commissioner, and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.021,  the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty  against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its representative 
commits an administrative violation each time  it  violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its representative 
commits an administrative violation each time  it  fails to comply with  a provision of 
the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act. 
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7. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  §§ 415.0035(e) and 415.021(a), an  insurance carrier 
commits an administrative violation if it violates, fails to comply with, or refuses to 
comply with a DWC order. 

8. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 410.169 and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 142.16, a party  is 
required to comply with a CCH D&O within 20 days of the order becoming final. 
However, if the CCH D&O involves benefits,  a party  must comply  no  later than the 
fifth day after filing a written request for appeal. 

9. State National  violated TEX.  LAB.  CODE  §§ 415.002(a)(20),  415.002(a)(22), 415.0035(e), 
and 415.021 when it failed to timely comply with a DWC order  for  benefits. 

10. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  §§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16),  an insurance 
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order 
from the commissioner. 

11. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  §§ 408.081, 408.082, and 409.021 and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE 
§§ 124.3 and 124.7, an insurance carrier is required to initiate payment of TIBs no 
later than the 15th day after it receives written notice of the injury or the seventh 
day after the accrual date, unless the insurance carrier notifies DWC and the injured 
employee in writing of its refusal to pay. 

12. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 409.021(e) and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 124.3, an  insurance 
carrier or its representative commits an administrative violation if it fails to pay 
benefits, file a Notice of Denial on the compensability of a  claim, or, as applicable 
pursuant to §409.021(a-3), file a Notice of Continuing Investigation within  15 days 
after it receives written notice of the injury. 

13. Pursuant to TEX.  LAB.  CODE  § 408.103 and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 129.3, the  insurance 
carrier is required to pay the correct amount of TIBs. 

14. State National  violated TEX.  LAB.  CODE  §§ 408.103, 415.002(a)(20), and 
415.002(a)(22)  and 28 TEX.  ADMIN.  CODE  § 129.3 each time it failed to  accurately pay 
TIBs. 
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Order  

It is ordered that State National Insurance  Co.  must pay an administrative penalty of  
$2,500  within 30 days from the date of this order. State National  Insurance Co.  must pay  
the administrative penalty by  company check, cashier’s check,  or money order and make  
it payable to the “State  of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department 
of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC  AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas  
78711-2030.  

__________________________________________ 
Dan Paschal, J.D. 
Deputy Commissioner 
Policy & Customer Services 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

Ronald R. Mackell, Jr. 
Staff Attorney, Enforcement 
Compliance and Investigations 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
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Unsworn Declaration 

§ 

§ 

STATE OF 
------

Texas 

COUNTY OF Tarrant § 

Pursuant to the TEX. Clv. PRAC. AND REM. CODE § 132 .001 (a), (b), and (d), my name is 
�;ce President of Complianc�Kelly Brown . I hold the position nd am the 

authorized representative of State National Insurance Co. My business address is: 

1 900 _DL on D odson D r _____Bedf or d __., Tarrant _TX__76021 

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code) 

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I declare 
under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct. 

D eclarant 

Executed on January 20 2022 . 
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